Search
< Back to Product

Honda HHT35SLTAT Gas Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
Honda HHT35SLTAT Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 5
Pros
Quiet (17)
High Quality (13)
Easy To Use (13)
I'd Buy It Again (9)
Reliable (8)
Cons
Expensive (9)
Heavy (9)
Factory Trimmer Line (1)
Unreliable (1)
Low Quality (1)
90% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
57 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Marissa, the String Trimmer Expert
Power Equipment Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
34 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
1535 Helpful Votes
Power Equipment Direct Recommended

The Honda HHT35SLTAT has all of the attributes you will ever need in a 4-cycle trimmer.

The superior Honda 35cc GX35 Mini 4-Cycle Engine offering excellent torque and the heavy duty gear box both add to this tools durability.

The Honda HHT35SLTAT is an ergonomically designed well balanced trimmer made with commercial quality with the residential home user in mind.
Marissa Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
8821
Tom R.
Gales Ferry, CT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/12/16
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
OCT.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Real Machine
Have had several different weed whackers over the past few years. After they expired in a year or so, went with a reliable name and the referrals of this organization. It is a great reliable machine. Takes a real beating and is reliable. The more I use it the better it runs.

Not so with those other machines purchased in discount stores or lumber stores. Not to mention, brand names. Because I have purchased other items from PED in the past, I knew I could depend on their guidance and... more
Tom Recommends This Honda Product
Tom's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The only issue I had with this transaction is that shipping was supposed to be free, but I was charged for it."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jim G
Templeton, CA
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
APR.
17
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Designed To Explode When Warranty Expires
I bought my first 4 stroke Honda weed eater only to have it explode within days of warranty being expired. Up until now I had excellent experience with any Honda motor that I have owned. So I decided that perhaps I did something wrong. I bought a second Honda HHT35S. And again, warranty expired...BAM, this one exploded as well.

I do take care of my equipment, good fuel, oil and air cleaner. I own 20 acres of property in California has thick weeds. Most of which I mow with my tractor.... more
Was this review helpful?
23
Tom R.
Gales Ferry, CT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/12/16
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
REVIEWED
OCT.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quality Equipment
I picked this based. On the advise of PED. The brand name was also a factor. This s a tough machine. Not cheap in quality as he others I have had in the past that only last a year or so. The more I use it, the better it performs.
Tom Recommends This Honda Product
Tom's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I have purchased other equipment from PED and have been pleasantly pleased with service and advises."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Craig S.
Coral Springs, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/13/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Trimmer
I bought this to do some brush cutting and trimming. I'm really impressed with the unit. It starts easily and runs quiet and has plenty of power. It's a heavier unit but with the shoulder strap, it's very manageable. I bought the brush kit and a carbide tipped 10" blade.

If you want a unit just for weed whacking go with the lighter 25cc unit. If you want a multi-functional unit for heavy duty weed whacking and brush cutting then this is your unit.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Fast
Craig Recommends This Honda Product
Craig's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great price, fast shipping, thanks"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
John D.
Goffstown, NH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/28/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
20
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Honda String Trimmer
This machine was exactly what I was looking for, the engine very quiet and easy to use. It comes with a shoulder strap that has a quick release clip. Awesome, I love it.
John Recommends This Honda Product
John's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"This machine is the best"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert M.
Covina, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/23/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Made In The Usa
This is one fantastic tool. I have a 30cc Ryobi 4-cycle weed eater 20+ years, and I love it. But this Honda kicks ass. It's a little lighter, better on gas, the line 095 last longer, power is just awesome, it's very quiet at full power, and has very little vibration. Half or 3/4 power is all I need to do most of my trimming.

After two tries, I finely figured out how to rewind the line so it doesn't get jammed (no better way to enjoy a cold beer). The cost was much higher ($100) than I wanted... more
Pros: Quiet, High Quality, Reliable, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Expensive, Line Rewinding Sucks
Robert Recommends This Honda Product
Robert's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very happy with you guys. Your selection is awesome in every dept. I'm 68, and my only regret is I didn't find you 25 years ago .... The good news is a lot of my tools are worn out, and as they die I will be looking to you for replacements... Thank you for giving me the best bang for my buck."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Lee L.
Grand Prairie, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/25/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Powerful & Dependable
Delivered fully assembled, I added the included oil, filled the gas tank and it started on the first pull. Immediately I noticed how quiet this trimmer is, much quieter than any line trimmer I ever owned for a gas powered unit. It's a little heavier but feels solid in the hand and balances nicely.

I didn't need to attach the included shoulder strap but its a nice addition for those that have large areas to trim. Its powerful enough that it will handle most trimming jobs around the house at... more
Lee Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Scott C.
Jurupa Valley, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/11/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JUL.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Honda Trimmer.....
Works Great. I have a large amount of trimming to do around my Hardscape/Landscaped Yard. One fault is it is a little on the heavy side, but if you do use the supplied strap that issue is solved. Just makes it a little tougher to edge.

And the other is the head leaves a little to be desired. But this is still a good machine and works well. This was a replacement for my Husqvarna that gave up and was not worth the cost of repairs after 7 years of service. That machine was a 2 Cycle.
Pros: Quiet, High Quality, Easy To Use
Cons: Heavy
Scott Recommends This Honda Product
Scott's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great service, the same as I got for my Honda lawn mower purchase..... perfect...... thank you......."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Thai T.
Dayton, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/21/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Honda Hht35sltat 35cc String Trimmer
This's the best string trimmer I ever have I'm happy to make right choice
Thai Recommends This Honda Product
Thai's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Honda they're the best choice in tools"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Richard P.
Marrero, LA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/2/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
27
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Runs Well, String Spool Doesn't
I am very pleased with the motor and power of the trimmer. But like so many other reviewers have said the head for the string stinks. I am constantly having to stop to untangle the line because it stops feeding. It is hard to rate the product because I rate the motor a 5 and the head a 1.
Richard Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Beverly G.
Sweet, ID
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/20/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
23
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
This Is My Second Honda String Trimmer
As a woman it is not easy to handle all products such as this. I am able to use it and start it, a big plus. This new one releases the string much easier which I really like. The new string doesn't seem to be as strong so is used up much faster. Other than that it is a good trimmer.
Beverly Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
00
David S
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/24/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
17
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Good
I am impressed with this trimmer. I agree with the other reviewers that the string head is not the greatest. I bought the blade and the blade kit as well based on that. I found in heavy brush, if you put the string trimmer in the middle of the brush, it will stall the motor, which is likely the source of complaints about lack of power.

Once you get the hang of it, and not be overly ambitious when trimming, it works very well. The blade and blade kit work OK. I wish the blade was bigger.... more
David Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Troy R.
Inver Grove Heights, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/18/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
10
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Homda
Atringer
Troy Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
00
William K.
Kent, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/10/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
03
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Heavy And Powerful
It uses a little more gas than some others, but does a lot more in a little bit of time so being heavy doesn't matter as much. It has more power than most people would need.
William Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Jeff C.
Owenton, KY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/26/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Trimmer
Have only used a couple months, but has preformed as I would expect a Honda to - well. The only thing that caught me off guard is that the head rotates counter clock wise great for a lefty but will take a right handed person some getting use to. Also, this is the first 4-cycle for me, and so far I like not mixing gas - just fill it up and go. Nice.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Jeff Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Keith P.
Cape Coral, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/1/16
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great
Just the head sucks. Going to buy a new head where the string comes out when I bump it other than that it,s great .
Keith Recommends This Honda Product
Keith's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"good"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Matt
Tulsa, OK
REVIEWED
APR.
08
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Check Your Fuel Hoses. Hope This Helps
Hi, I haven't purchased this specific trimmer, or purchased anything from PED for that matter. I have though, read literally hundreds, and hundreds of reviews on these Honda trimmers. I have also purchased a Husky trimmer that has a Honda motor on it (224L) it has a 25cc Honda GX25 engine as opposed to the aforementioned Honda in previous reviews which has the GX35 engine, which as logic would assume has 35cc. the fuel hoses on these engines have a tendency to be cut long and kink which... more
Matt Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Betsey K.
Roosevelt, AZ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/23/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Its A Honda
Delivery was pretty fast,it came fully assembled.I put in the oil and added some gas after reading the directions ofcourse pumped the bulb and pulled the string and it was running.I could not be more pleased now if it just last like a Honda. I HAVE OWNED ECHO, HUSKY, AND STIHL AND THEY DON'T COMPARE.
Pros: Quiet, High Quality, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Betsey Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert K.
Wisconsin Dells, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/10/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
One Year And Counting
Had several trimmers, Stihl, Jonsered, and Toro. Toro lasted a year at most. Stihl would only start when the stars were in perfect alignment. Jonsered started pretty good and made it over 20 years. Now understand, I'm not leaving bad reviews for the above, it's just that I am in my 60's and do a lot of trimming all summer at my farm and require a tool to work around 50% of the time. The other 50% I will concede could be my fault.

It's just that I have always been frustrated with trimmers. I... more
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Reliable, Exceeded Expectations
Robert Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Larry W.
Fairhope, AL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/23/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
You Get What You Pay For !
Honda Power Equipment speaks for itself. This is my first 4- stroke trimmer. Like I said it speaks for itself. I put oil and gasoline in it and it started on first pull just out of the box.

Doesn't get any better than that especially after cutting with it.

Spring Trimmers DIRECT are a pleasure to deal with. I changed my order during processing and they covered me. You can bet I will buy from them again.
Larry Recommends This Honda Product
Larry's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"You guys & gals are the best I have worked with, I can't say anything better. ROLL TIDE !"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Chris G.
Clovis, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/20/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
11
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Rancher
This is the one to buy. I have had them all. I have 20
acres and this thing does the job. I have worn out
at least 12 trimmers over my life.
Chris Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Bryan
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/20/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Product
I purchased this trimmer because I wanted a reliable, high-powered 4 cycle string trimmer. The Honda name along with several online reviews convinced me that this is going to be a durable piece. In my brief use of it so far, it feels solid. It started up for me right away and it feels quite powerful. I paid the extra money for the 35cc model, rather than the 25cc model, and I don't regret it. The tall, thick grass I used it on was obliterated. It is little heavy, at right around 15 lbs,... more
Was this review helpful?
262
Brent
Black Forest, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/5/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
27
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent For Acreage
I bought this as an upgrade when I moved to 5 heavily wooded acres. This unit is heavier than my old 2-stroke, but it's worth every pound.

It cuts through anything, it's very quiet and smooth, and it starts right up every time. If you spent years frustrated and battling with a 2-stroke string trimmer you will never regret stepping up to one of these.
Was this review helpful?
252
William L.
Des Moines, IA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/14/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
16
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worth The Investment
After using a 25cc Honda trimmer for a few years, I went for the larger 35cc version when I needed another one. Increased power noticeable when cutting heavy grass/vegetation, but I also feel the added weight. Can't go wrong with either one, IMO, but I would say most female/smaller/older users would probably be better off with the 25cc trimmer.

These are quiet, easy-starting, reliable machines -- over time, the extra up-front cost is more than worth it. No mixing gas/oil, no two-stroke... more
Pros: High Quality, Quiet, Reliable, An Easy Starter Like All Hondas
Cons: Expensive, Heavy, A Little Heavy But Otherwise Great Machine
William Recommends This Honda Product
William's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very helpful phone representative, got my questions answered and order placed very quickly. Fast shipping also."
 more
Was this review helpful?
151
Freda A.
San Jose, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/1/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
23
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Engine Good - Trimmer Head Terrible
The engine works great. starts up easily, as one would expect from a Honda. The string trimmer head is completely useless. Failed almost immediately and very difficult to re-string.
Purchased a Rino-Tuff , Pivotrim X4 Trimmer Head for $19.99.
Now works as it should.
Honda should take note..........
I am giving it a low rating because it really is useless without a working trimmer head.
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable
Cons: Useless Trimmer Head
Marissa, the String Trimmer Expert
Product Expert
Freda,
I am sorry you were dissatisfied with the operation of the trimmer head on the Honda HHT35SLTAT. We appreciate your review on this item.
more
Was this review helpful?
152
James S.
Hernando, MS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/16/12
REVIEWED
APR.
06
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Honda Hht35sltat
Quiet, runs smooth, cuts great.
Was this review helpful?
141
Elizabeth Jule
Trail, OR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/20/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
01
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
Needed a reliable, well built, light weight trimmer and Honda is the BEST!
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Quiet, Reliable
Elizabeth Recommends This Honda Product
Elizabeth Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy to find what you want and quick shipping. Great experience."
 more
Was this review helpful?
132
Kyoei
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/27/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
19
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
What A Bad Experience
The trimmer is on the heavier side but with the strap is well balanced and you will not feel the weight. It is easy to control and very comfortable. Was a great experience using it when it worked.

My landscaping requires a fair amount of trimming. I was about 45min into the work as the engine gave up on me. I was able to start it up again but it would stall as soon as I tried to run the trimmer at full speed. At the end it was a game of how softly do I have to press the 'speed' control... more
Was this review helpful?
2818
Dan H.
Locust Grove, OK
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/22/15
REVIEWED
APR.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Trimmer
My 32-year-old green machine finally died - couldn't find any replacement parts. Spent several weeks looking for a new mower and decided on the Honda. I do not regret the choice.
Pros: Quiet, High Quality, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy
Dan Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
101
Jeff
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/14/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
05
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Not Really Up To My Expectations
I use a trimmer not just for general lawn work but also when I clear out the trail that runs the length of my hunting land. I went with a 4-stroke trimmer for the convenience of not having to mix oil into the gas and I went with a Honda based on reputation.

I've used it twice so far and yes, I don't have to mix the oil and gas. That's nice, but to me this trimmer doesn't quite have the power I hoped for. I have to cut through Cattails and other fibrous weeds and I have to take it slow... more
Pros: Quiet, High Quality
Cons: Bad Instructions, Expensive
Was this review helpful?
179
Gerald Andrews
Banning, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/11/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
03
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Knew What We Were Purchasing
Honda HHT35SLTAT we owned previously - then it was stolen from us. This was a replacement unit - we use it to clear our 1/2 acre lot. Add proper amount of oil, sta-bil, gas & she starts rght up on the first pull. We can clear the lot quickly - it does exactly what we want it to do. Works great in the front yard.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: None
Gerald Recommends This Honda Product
Gerald Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Excellent service, quick delivery - will recommend to everyone we know."
 more
Was this review helpful?
114
Bobby H.
Fultondale, AL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/23/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
24
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Trimmer
Very easy to set up and get started. Took me all of about 7 min. and I was knocking weeds down.

I love it so far. But then again, it's a Honda, and they are the best in most everything.
Bobby Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
71
Al Dos S.
Dale, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/5/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Workhorse
Workhorse right out of the box. Very happy with the performance, noise level, and flexibility. Used on farm for brush, grass, and general trimming.
Al Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Francisco V.
Mission Viejo, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/9/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
01
2014
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Lousy Service
I bought the trimmer and it did not work. I have not been able to use it, it stalls when you press the accelerator. I sent an email to String Trimmers Direct and they sent me the number to call Honda and deal with them.

They will not help me with the problem that I have with the trimmer. Do not buy machines that use gas or oil over the internet.
Marissa, the String Trimmer Expert
Product Expert
Francisco,
Honda manufactures and warranties the trimmer, which is why we suggest you contact them with malfunctioning issues. Due to federal regulations, we can't take returns through the mail of items containing gas or oil.

If for any reason you can't resolve things with Honda, please give us a call and we'll be happy to further assist you.
more
Was this review helpful?
83
Gilberto Pichardo
Brooklyn, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/30/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
20
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent
After buyng multiple brands of trimmers, I finally found one that's reliable and of good quality. Honda.... I had to pay more, but it's worth it. Thank you PED!
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Reliable, Fast
Cons: Heavy
Gilberto Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Jason S.
Cleveland, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/24/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
17
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worth Buying A Second One
I love it! It's better than a curved shaft trimmer, better power once it warms up! The only part is restringing the reel on the trimmer head, but that comes par for the course! Replace the string that is on trimmer with a better line due to the fact that it melted/ welder together during use.
Pros: High Quality, Reliable, Durable, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Factory Trimmer Line
Jason Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
61
Andrew L.
Newtown, CT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/22/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
30
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quality, Durability, Power, And You Get What You Pay For.
I bought this trimmer to replace a very noisy and faulty Ryobi product that I had as a hand me down. I have a two acre lot with significant edging and wanted a straight bar trimmer with the power to tackle the job. I decided to splurge on the Honda given the quality of prior hardware and the company from which I've dealt with in the past. This trimmer truly is easy to set up and use. It has more than enough power to tackle almost any task even though I haven't had to run it at full speed... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, High Quality, Fast
Cons: Expensive
Andrew Recommends This Honda Product
Andrew's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Used the direct service for several large home purchases, i.e. snowblower, power washer, string trimmer, etc..very happy with the information and reviews. Delivery has gone smoothly as well."
 more
Was this review helpful?
61
Brian Kisner
Fort Collins, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/6/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
29
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Weak On Power
I decided to try this trimmer over a Husqvarna because of all the great reviews. Apparently the people that wrote the reviews have never had to cut tall grass or large weeds. I have a Husqvarna at another property and it has more power and does an awesome job. The Honda is good to trim the grass around the house but don't expect to use it for tough jobs.
Marissa, the String Trimmer Expert
Product Expert
Brian,
Thank you for taking the time to write an honest review. Hondas are well known for their name, everyone is aware of the Honda engine but for each application a different trimmer will be best. Thank you for shedding some light on the Honda capabilities verses those of a Husqvarna.
more
Was this review helpful?
40
Tai D.
Selma, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/22/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Is Like Having A Ferrari In Your Shed
So far I really enjoy this 35cc compare to 2 of my other trimmer in the past. No mixing just put in the gas and slaughter them weeds. Run smooth no vibration, easy to start and very easy & comfortable to handle. Try it out you will surrender your other trimmer for sure.
Tai Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
51
Glend T.
Macomb, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/17/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quite And Powerful
This is my first trimmer, and I know Honda always pushes the limit in the name of performance and quality.

This is no exception. I love it, and I wish they had the riding lawn mower as well here in the states. The Honda Mean Mower.
Glend Recommends This Honda Product
Glend's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very satisfied with my business with PED. Very well professional. Now this is my favorite store for the house equipment."
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Shayne H.
Johnstown, OH
REVIEWED
MAY.
03
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Elite Trimmer
Honda makes great equipment, I own a tiller,self propelled mower and a generator from honda and all of them are excellent machines.
And this trimmer is also.
Pros:
1. The first thing I noticed outside of the excellent quality build was the lack of noise, It is almost unnerving how quiet this thing idles compared to all my other trimmers.
2. Easiest starting trimmer I own,You can almost start it just by picking it up by the string.
3. 4 cycle engines are nicer to have then 2 cycle,No more... more
Pros: Quiet, High Quality, Durable, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Expensive, Heavy
Shayne Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Loren L.
Hot Springs, AR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/29/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quiet Excellence
Love this trimmer! Well balanced, gasoline only, HONDA, says it all !
Loren Recommends This Honda Product
Loren's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy ordering experience and punctual shipping. Thank You"
 more
Was this review helpful?
41
Jay J.
Bfe, NV
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/20/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It's A Honda!
The 4 cycle trimmer starts and runs flawlessly. The semi-auto line release head is another story. Do NOT waste your time. Of course, based on the reviews, i knew that when i bought it.

Replace the head with a Pivotrim pro running .105" Nylon lines and/or a Pivotrim head with the quick-release plastic blades. Either of these will do fine.

If you get the head with the plastic blades, watch your RPM on the trimmer. The blades can really make rocks and larger debris fly.
Pros: It's A Honda
Cons: Expensive
Jay Recommends This Honda Product
Jay's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I bought my Honda Trimmer via the net on Ebay. PED was offering free shipping and no sales tax. That saved me quite a bit over buying it at the Home Depot for the SAME price + sales tax. Shipping via FedEx (which I do NOT recommend, BTW/use UPS) was very fast. Good job, guys."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Kenneth B.
Old Saybrook, CT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/5/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
28
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
A Powerful Trimmer
String Trimmers Direct shipment was fast and efficient, seems like I had just hung up the phone when it arrived.

After putting oil and gas into the trimmer, it started first try (wonderful engine), but the strings were short so then followed the procedure tapping on hard ground to extend trimming string. One string grew longer, the other disappeared!! .... Spent the next couple of hours sorting out directions and found the nylon string had been poorly wound (cross-bound) on the spindle,...... more
Kenneth Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Vincent P.
Saint Johnsville, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/19/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
18
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
First Honda Last Honda
My husband and I were excited about receiving the Honda string trimmer. When we received the Honda trimmer it came packaged carefully, we read all the instructions several times prior to use. However, the first day using the trimmer it ran for a short time then cut out. It started easily and was quiet but each time my husband or I tried to trim it would shut off. Seems as though the machine was not getting enough gas. It sounds as though it might be the carburetor. We now need to find a... more
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Expensive, Low Quality, Unreliable
Marissa, the String Trimmer Expert
Product Expert
Vincent,
We are sorry to hear about the issue you are having with the string trimmer and would be happy to assist. Our product expert Joe will be contacting you later today to discuss further.
more
Was this review helpful?
98
Kevin C.
Parma, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/19/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
More Power Than I Expected
My previous line trimmer was a Craftsman 25cc unit. Compared to the electric one I had prior to that it was quite a step up in performance. The Honda proved to be a huge step up compared to the Craftsman. It's a bit heavier but it gets the job done much faster and with better results.

The motor rotates in the opposite direction of my old trimmer so it did take a little adjusting to get used to that. Winding the line into the head was also a bit tricky but with some trial and error it's easy... more
Kevin Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Nellie M.
Richland, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/18/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Hooray!!!
Starts on one easy pull. A bit heavy but worth it.
Nellie Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Tony L.
Cherry Hill, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/23/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
14
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Honda Hht35sltat
Great trimmer, but a little on the heavy side. Overall, loved the power and function of the trimmer. Very happy with the purchase.
Pros: Quiet, High Quality, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy
Tony Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Donald S.
Empire, AL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/11/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
06
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worth The Money
I bought the trimmer when my Echo trimmer failed after 9 years. It started with two pulls and is very powerful. I can't get over how quiet it is at idle.

I am 68 years old and have to take frequent rests but the trimmer always restarts with one pull. I am using ethanol free gas in it to eliminate carb problems. To my mind, this is the best trimmer you can buy.
Donald Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Thomas C.
Van Buren, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/12/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Trimmer
I love the trimmer. It has tons of power and runs very smooth. It's a bit on the heavy side, but using the included strap makes it no big deal. I love that it runs so good on regular low octane pump gas which has ethanol in it. It runs better on the regular pump gas than my truck does.

The string that comes wound on the trimmer head is junk, but the head itself seems to work good once I replaced the string with some Oregon Gatorline. It makes a huge difference.

I've ran several tanks of... more
Thomas Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Ker Y.
Appleton, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/19/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Trimmer
Well worth the $, it super quiet and cuts weeds at half the speed of my old Craftsmen. Heavy but not bad especially with the included chest strap. Starts on first two pulls and hums away when cutting. Perfectly balanced and you got the Honda reliability behind it.
Ker Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Matthew H.
Peabody, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/7/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great 4-cycle Trimmer
Trimmer arrived in 3 days with free shipping. Easy setup with included pre-measured oil. Original string was twisted and a nightmare to use.

Replaced it with Gatorline and has been working great, quiet and no more line problems. Need to be careful not to over rev when trimming and how to angle for edging best. engine is very powerful
Matthew Recommends This Honda Product
Matthew's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Site was easy to use but you need to watch adding accessories to your cart as the shipping on those are not free and can take away from the free shipping deal quickly. Trimmer shipped next day and was delivered in 3 days, pretty good for free shipping"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
James E.
Cleveland, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/17/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
This thing has plenty of power, a little heavy, but not too heavy. Will trade weight for no vibration and easy, and I mean easy, start. You can't go wrong with this purchase. Power Equipment Direct was great purchase and quick delivery will purchase from them in the future well already have for mower blades.
Pros: Quiet, High Quality, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy
James Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Joseph N.
Macomb, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/14/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Initial Impressions, 4 Cycle Vs. 2 Cycle
I thought it was time to switch to a 4 cycle trimmer. I've had a 2 cycle Stihl since 2000 which had become impossible to start, even with a new spark plug. I believe a large part of that 'hard to start' issue was old 2-cycle fuel, but the trimmer was the only 2-cycle machine I had and I was hesitant to put even a small amount of "old" 2-cycle fuel into my car to burn it off and get new 'fresh' 2-cycle. It might take me three or four years to burn a gallon of the 2-cycle mix.
more
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use
Cons: Expensive, Heavy
Joseph Recommends This Honda Product
Marissa, the String Trimmer Expert
Product Expert
Joseph,
If you're looking for an affordable edger that's low-maintenance, an ELECTRIC EDGER has plenty of power without the hassle of gas and oil, and the cord isn't bad to deal with if you're only edging a few times a year.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Johnathan W.
Akron, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/9/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Buy!
Very happy with this purchase. Trimmer started on the first pull! Hasn't happened for me very often when purchasing new lawn equipment. Motor is powerful and very quiet.

This is a heavier model, the strap helps but for a smaller person it may become tiresome. Works great for me though! Would recommend to others!
Johnathan Recommends This Honda Product
Johnathan's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"StringTrimmersDirect.com was fantastic. Lightening fast shipping and best of all NO TAX! Would definitely recommend to others. I will be back! Thank you!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Mark J.
Columbia, SC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/21/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
18
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Honda 35cc 4 Cycle String Trimmer
Great tool for small and large jobs. Easy start and very powerful. Really like not have to mix gas and oil.
Mark Recommends This Honda Product
Mark's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very easy web site to navigate and fast service delivery."
 more
Was this review helpful?
11
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Honda HHT35SLTAT reviews.Compare our Honda HHT35SLTAT ratings. Find the Honda HHT35SLTAT Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct