Search
< Back to Product

GreenWorks 24052 Electric Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Free Shipping$189.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$189.99
No Sales Tax* (Except CA)
Visit Site
 
Free Shipping$189.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$189.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
GreenWorks 24052 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5
Pros
Price (7)
Easy To Use (6)
Light Weight (4)
I'd Buy It Again (4)
Durable (3)
Cons
It Was Very Slow To Oper... (1)
Does Not Shred Dry Pampa... (1)
Durability (1)
81% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
21 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Dale, the Chipper Expert
Power Equipment Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
26 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
769 Helpful Votes
Power Equipment Direct Recommended

The Greenworks 24052 electric chipper provides reliable performance and dependability, and is a clean running alternative to gas powered tools. Clean up yard debris such as twigs, small branches and leaves with ease.

The Greenworks 24052 has a 15 amp motor that provides surprising mulching power - enough power to mulch most debris up to 1-3/8 inches thick. A push feed paddle allows debris to be fed safely into the mulcher. This unit is intended for use on dry materials only, so no wet... more
Dale Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
102
Jeffrey N.
Akron, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/10/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JUN.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Surprising
I am very pleased with my chipper. Design is sound and it has surprising power. Very pleased. I would recommend the giant extension cord that was offered.
Jeffrey Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Sally H.
Hanover Township, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/24/16
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
JUL.
09
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Waste Of Money
It doesn't work at all. I have a bunch of very dry twigs and branches from trimming the hedges (no leaves) and so far I have only managed to "chip" a few twigs maybe 1/16" in diameter and only if I use the paddle. Anything larger just gets stuck and the machine does nothing.
Dale, the Chipper Expert
Product Expert
Sally,
I am sorry to hear the chipper you have ordered is not operating as you expected. The electric units are entry level units designed to handle no larger that a 1" branch. There may be an adjustment that needs to be made for the unit in which you will need to contact Greenworks technical support at 888-909-6757.

Once again I apologize for the inconvenience this has caused and appreciate your honest review.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Aloner
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/22/13
Total Helpful Votes
29 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
15
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No Shredding This Machine
Where do I start? First, the purchase price and shipping were of great value. Second, the chipper arrived in record time. Third, It was not stressful to put together. Instructions, diagrams and highlights were well written That seems to be difficult for some companies to do. You mastered that beautifully. Finally, it worked like I hoped it would. It does shred into a sawdust like material. One small note on twigs is that it doesn't seem to shred twigs very well. Overall, I am glad I bought... more
Was this review helpful?
295
Dave W.
Danville, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/4/13
Total Helpful Votes
20 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
06
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
For The Cost
I pulled out approximately 100' mature, 5 ft tall Junipers and chipped them all with this unit. I also trimmed all my fruit trees and any branches 1.5" or smaller I fed it to this unit and it worked great. It comes with spare blades, which is a plus. This is not a commercial chipper and you need a little patience when using it. For the price of the unit and what I have done with it, it saved me money hiring a landscaper to do the same job.
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Durability
Dave Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
200
John W.
Gaithersburg, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/3/14
Total Reviews
5 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
46 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
26
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
More Than Adequate
Replaced a Harbor Freight Shredder that caught fire from an electrical fault. Works very well with dried brush and small branches up to one inch. Shreds green branches very nicely. Feed opening is a bit small and weirdly shaped so I must breakdown some brush to be able to feed it into the shredder.

Vines, especially smaller ones get wound around the center shaft and sometimes under the plate holding the blades. Easy to clean but an annoying trait.

A plastic part at the exit of the... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, I'd Buy It Again, Fast
Cons: Does Not Shred Dry Pampas Grass Well
John Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
140
Scott
Philadelphia, PA
REVIEWED
DEC.
20
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Solid Chipper
Performs as advertised. Have used it several times and it handles branches up to an inch with no problem. I intentionally do not put anything wider in the chipper.

It is mobile and easy to clean out. Good tool for the price so far.
Was this review helpful?
140
Dale B.
Amarillo, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/14/14
Total Helpful Votes
14 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
07
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Damaged During Delivery.
The box came in damaged and missing a bolt. The box was open on delivery. Everything worked after I went tool box diving for a few washers and nuts.

I would return it if that was a viable option. Tried to
use it and it is in working order. I have pictures.

24052
Pros: Price, Light Weight, Easy To Store
Cons: It Was Very Slow To Operate Took Me An Hour To Chip A Stack
Dale, the Chipper Expert
Product Expert
Dale,
Dale,

If anything is missing or damaged, you can always call us and we would be happy to send out parts or provide a return if this is what you decide. If the trimmer is in working order and you are happy with the product, then we need not take this any further, but if for any reason you are having issues or are missing anything, please let us know and a claim can be filed and the product replaced.
more
Was this review helpful?
141
Henry R.
Lees Summit, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/7/14
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
18 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
APR.
21
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Chipper For Smaller Branches
I have used the chipper for a couple of hours, and it chips very well. Branches need to be free of side branches that will not fit the mouth, but most of mine were prepared for that very well. I'd recommend using ear muff hearing protection, and safety glasses and good leather gloves are essential. I use a 10 ga. extension cord to handle the required 15 amp circuit demand. The instructions guide you on how long an extension cord can be for its gauge wire. This tool will be useful for years... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Henry Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Henry's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great shipping, and the product was as advertised. I am satisfied."
 more
Was this review helpful?
130
Travis T.
Spokane Valley, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/6/14
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
12
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Little Chipper For The $
At first, I wasn't too sure about this and was hoping that it wasn't a mistake buying it. However, the more I used it, the more I liked it. It has two very sharp chipping blades powered by the 15 amp motor that do a great job at quickly destroying branches. There is also a handy way to completely open and clean the chipper, should it get clogged up with leaves or "non-branch" stuff. Overall, I've ended up being happy about this chipper for my uses and I look forward to continue... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Light Weight, Durable
Travis Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
121
Marilyn S.
Kansas City, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/14/15
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
APR.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Really Good Buy
For us having limited mobility because of age and disabilities, the purchase was a great help to tackle an otherwise almost impossible job we could not do!

I hope this chipper lasts FOR SEASONS TO COME. We actually saved $50 less than it would have cost to have it done.
Marilyn Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
100
Scott
Philadelphia, PA
REVIEWED
DEC.
20
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Solid Chipper
Performs as advertised. Have used it several times and it handles branches up to an inch with no problem. I intentionally do not put anything wider in the chipper.

It is mobile and easy to clean out. Good tool for the price so far.
Was this review helpful?
100
Cecil Hensley
Myrtle Beach, SC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/2/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
23
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Home Owner
It's my 2nd one. Saved a lot buying direct from GreenWorks. The plastic spiral separator clogs & causes the chipper to shut down. I am very happy with the chipper & GreenWorks
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price, Fast
Cecil Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
101
Richard G.
Summerfield, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/27/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
19
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Overall Met Expectations
Overall pleased with unit. Tends to clog with fine items or attached leaves and opening the cover requires too many rotations to open the door. Would prefer a faster release of the door.
Pros: Price, Light Weight, Fast, Quiet
Richard Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
91
Leo W.
Dacula, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/31/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
09
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Wife Uses The Chipper More Than I
My wife loves her chipper.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Put Together
Leo Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
91
Bradley S.
Mattapoisett, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/16/15
REVIEWED
APR.
07
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
At First I Thought It Was Good
Upon receipt I tested it out. It worked well. When I set to chip fallen small branches it started out fine; but within 20 minutes of chipping, it slowed down despite only chipping 1/4-inch branches. I stopped using it to let it cool down.

It continued to run slower, and eventually stopped after 40 minutes of use over two hours. I gave up and put it away in disgust. At some point I'll see if it runs. Note that I did buy a recommended sized electrical cord per the owners manual. Not... more
Dale, the Chipper Expert
Product Expert
Bradley,
This could be an issue with the motor and it could just be bad. You do have a 4-warranty on this product. If it is not working as that is what sounds to be the case, please give us a call and we would be happy to help remedy this situation. If you were using the correct size cord and were still having an issue, this is likely a problem with the product and sounds like a defect. Please give us a call at 800-710-7499 and we would be happy to assist you.
more
Was this review helpful?
71
Calvin M.
Huntersville, NC
REVIEWED
JUN.
22
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worth Its Weight In Gold
Hey! this thing is worth it's weight in gold, I use it a lot and it gets the job done.
Was this review helpful?
84
Girard D.
Colorado Springs, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/28/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
19
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Little Machine
It works!! Follow the instructions and you will be pleased.
Girard Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Ronald H.
Alexander, AR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/16/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
11
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
First Time Use
The unit does well on the small items as long as they are dry. I do think I need a larger unit and am investigating just what size I need.
Ronald Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
20
George G.
Easton, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/26/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
17
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Fair Product For A Fair Price
The best in its class.
George Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Dave
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/7/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
28
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Greenworks Chipper
I think this product needs to be taken off of the market as it did very little to satisfy me for what I thought it should do. I tried to use the chipper to chip the elephant grass stems and it would continually get clogged around the center of the bolt that holds the spinner. I know that the instructions say it is not for use with leaves. I didn't try leaves. The chute of the chipper got so clogged with the elephant grass stems, that when I pushed down with the plunger to get the stems... more
Was this review helpful?
1320
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest GreenWorks 24052 reviews.Compare our GreenWorks 24052 ratings. Find the GreenWorks 24052 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct