Search
< Back to Product

General Pump DCLTG24A4 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
$189.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$189.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$189.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
General Pump DCLTG24A4 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5
Pros
Durable (5)
Easy To Use (5)
High Quality (3)
I'd Buy It Again (2)
Price (1)
Cons
Heavy (6)
Difficult To Use (5)
Bad Instructions (3)
Durability (2)
Unreliable (2)
81% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
21 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Power Equipment Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
122 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
5395 Helpful Votes
Power Equipment Direct Recommended

Made for the Pros. When you won’t compromise quality and durability, this is the telescoping wand for you.

This has everything you could ever need: adjustable height, ability to apply detergents, and lightweight enough to use all day without the ‘bend’ that the fiberglass wands make you play with.

A telescoping wand that is retractable to allow you to adjust to best suit your task lessening the strain your body is taking as well as eliminating the back and forth guessing game of how far... more
Brian Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
478
Patrick H.
Schenectady, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/25/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
APR.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Keep Your Feet On The Ground
This commercial grade telescoping wand worked well right out of the box. It made pressure washing my own home quick and safe.

The locking detents are key to keeping the pole locked at the proper height. There are no twist locks to contend with or come loose. The belt that came with the unit is helpful and reduces fatigue. Once you get the belt set up to your height and preference you are left to just guide the wand.

One suggestion to the belt manufacturer is to widen the shoulder strap... more
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy, Add Fetures To Back Belt For More Comfortable Use And Longevity
Patrick Recommends This General Pump Product
Patrick's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Well done folks. You delivered a quality product at a fair price. I am taking my operation commercial in the coming weeks and hope you will be with me in this endeavor."
 more
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Patrick,
We're here to help- best of luck in your new venture!
Was this review helpful?
10
William K.
Clinton, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/7/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
31
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cleans 2nd Story Without A Ladder
Got this to clean the siding on my 2 story house, tired of trying to work off of extension ladders with the pressure washer wand. This unit gets all the way to the top without me leaving the ground.

The included shoulder harness does work, but you have to take the time to set it up correctly to fit your body. A full harness probably would be a little easier to set up and use. At nearly $200 the mfg could have sprung for a little better harness without giving up much on the profit end.
more
Pros: Durable
Cons: Expensive
William Recommends This General Pump Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Peter H.
Plymouth, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/14/15
Total Reviews
10 Reviews
REVIEWED
OCT.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Handle This
Got to be a man to handle this... works great tho.
Peter Recommends This General Pump Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Leslie P.
Meridian, MS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/1/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quality Product But You'd Better Be In Shape
Professional well defines The Giraffe. Solid build with quality parts. Everything worked as described. Locking tabs worked well.

The weight fully extended was however tough. I'm 61, but in good shape. Getting the Wand up to vertical was no problem. But, if you move from vertical to any degree of horizontal, you better be an Olympian. The water weight was tough to lift and hold.

Thank goodness I only had a few eaves to clean. This unit worked very well cleaning my brick chimney.... more
Cons: Heavy
Leslie Recommends This General Pump Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Rick W.
Bloomfield, CT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/12/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Moved The Trigger Handle & Belt Clip
I really like the 24ft extension for reaching high places. The trigger handle was too low and the belt clip would go above it, which was very uncomfortable.

I moved the trigger 12" higher and put the belt clip below it. Now it is surprisingly comfortable to use. We wash houses from 15 - 20ft away and have no trouble controlling the wand.

I imagine if you were blasting the surface it would be very hard to control.
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable, High Quality
Cons: Needed To Move Trigger Handle
Rick Recommends This General Pump Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Scott R.
Powell, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/28/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
19
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome But Heavy
The quality is amazing and it did a great job but man it's way too heavy. I was able to prop it against my gutter to wash my 2nd floor of my house so I got the job done but was blown away by its weight.

I used the harness but it don't seem to help. I'm 6'5" 350lbs so not a tiny man by any means. I'd still say a great product but wish I'd have ordered the fiberglass one. Great co and very fast shipping.
Scott's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great product but wouldn't recommend to a friend due to weight. Not the co's vault."
 more
Was this review helpful?
60
Sam B.
Franklin, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/27/15
REVIEWED
APR.
19
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Unit
I purchased this to wash my 2 story colonial. The unit worked great not much whip (exception when fully extended). The belt is a must, although the clasps allowed the straps to slip, quick fix was to adjust them to where I wanted and then tie a knot in the strap.

I used a turbo tip with my Honda 2300psi washer and the unit cleaned everywhere. When the unit was fully extended it became a bit hard to control but manageable. I do have a new respect for knights and how they had to... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: No Warning When You Extend A Section Too Far
Sam Recommends This General Pump Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Erik H.
Roseburg, OR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/8/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
30
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Product
It's heavier than my fiberglass pole, but I was able to put an extension on the end of it with out it whipping around.
Erik Recommends This General Pump Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Jack
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/20/14
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
AUG.
29
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Not For The Weak At Heart
For the Pros! I weigh 300#, and this rascal was like being strapped to a 747. Dirt does not stand a chance on the 2nd story. Used the Gutter Bend with a 'Whirley Bird' head to clean gutters. It was easier control in the Gutters until you got to a brace (stop spraying before jumping the brace). The "trees' in the gutters came unglued!

The Belt with the wand is terrible! I use the harness for my string trimmer held down with a metal buckled belt. The torque sometimes caused the locks to... more
Jack Recommends This General Pump Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Jim C.
Calverton, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/26/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
07
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Piece Of Equipment
Excellent quality heavy-duty works exceptionally well. Very heavy fully extended.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use
Cons: Heavy
Jim Recommends This General Pump Product
Was this review helpful?
61
Rob W.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/23/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
17
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Good Product But Rough Around The Edges
Before purchasing, I had read many of the conflicting reviews about the Giraffe and wondered how experiences could vary so much. But it's since become a lot more clear.

The product seems to be well constructed - sturdy. However, you'd better leave yourself a couple hours to figure out how to assemble it, because the instructions are horrible.

Moreover, I also purchased the quick-connect gutter cleaner, and couldn't connect it because the fittings didn't match up, which required some... more
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: Difficult To Use, Bad Instructions, Heavy, Poor Belt System
Rob Recommends This General Pump Product
Was this review helpful?
51
Tom H.
North Bend, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/6/15
REVIEWED
APR.
27
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Harness Needs To Be Upgraded. It Is Useless But Needed.
The clips do not stay in place. The straps do not stay in place. The supplier MUST know this is a bad belt/harness. Totally useless.
Cons: Difficult To Use, Bad Instructions, Harness Should Be A Big Help To Stabelize The Unit But Is Useless
Was this review helpful?
40
Tam N.
Houston, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/1/14
REVIEWED
MAY.
13
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Bad Assembly
The pressure Pole was heavy duty. But many of the parts came apart the first time we use it. I have to fabricate my own locking clips so I can extend the pressure pole.
Cons: Difficult To Use, Unreliable, Durability, Parts Separate When First Put To Use
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Tam,
Please make sure you've followed the assembly instructions so the locking pins will work correctly. If you didn't get a copy of the instructions you can download a copy under the Specs tab for the Giraffe Telescoping Wand itself.

If you have assembled it correctly, then please contact the folks at General Pump, toll free, at (888) 474-5487 for any replacement parts you may need.

We appreciate your business, and apologize for any inconvenience!
more
Was this review helpful?
51
Dan V.
Menasha, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/12/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
25
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Extremely Difficult To Handle: Beware
I bought the 24' to clean out 2nd story rain gutters. Read all the reviews about its' weight and that it was difficult to handle but decided to try it anyway. I should have listened to the reviews. Right out of the box the trigger handle didn't work so the unit was always blasting water out of the nozzle. Physics takes over when you try to extend the unit. I wasn't worried about damaging the roof or taking out a window like the reviews warned as much as taking out a shoulder. I did manage to... more
Cons: Difficult To Use, Heavy
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Dan,
I am very sorry to hear that you are not satisfied with your purchase. They can be difficult to handle as you stated. Also, once the pressurized water is going through it, it makes them even more unruly. This is a professional grade telescoping wand for people who do need heavy duty construction and are used to using them.
more
Was this review helpful?
30
Craig
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/12/15
REVIEWED
APR.
18
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wow, An Ox Out Of The Box!
I needed a brute strength extension lance for my warehouse and this thing is a beast. Very solid.

Whatever problems this line had before seem to have been fixed.
Craig Recommends This General Pump Product
Craig's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Sometimes a google search worked better than PED's search engine. Other than that, the research and reviews seem to be honest and the recommendations practical and to the point. To date I have purchased a compressor (Chicago Pneumatic), pressure washer (DeWalt), power washer extension lance (GP), and a paint sprayer (Campbell Hausfeld)."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Wayne B.
Wausau, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/28/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
30
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Unruly Beast
I've used the wand on the gutters and exterior of my house, and for a few projects around the cabin. Easily reaches 2nd floor gutters and eaves. Becomes very flexible and hard to control when fully extended, deflects over a foot when pressurized. Belt is useful, but poorly designed. At least mine is holding together. Plastic compression nut holding the tip broke the first time I used it. Still much better and faster than working on a ladder. Probably worth what I spent, but just barely. ... more
Wayne Recommends This General Pump Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Chawaui D.
Houston, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/25/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
19
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Nice Wand
This is our first telescoping wand that we've used or purchased and it worked well for us. A 24' wand is LONG but it came in handy with no problems.
Chawaui Recommends This General Pump Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Jesse W.
Ferndale, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/8/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
23
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Aluminum Pole Is Great But That Is About It.
Hardware for the tip assembly fell out first use and the tip was flopping around, had to leave the job to get new bolts. Also the slide locks for the extensions do not lock in place very well, they skip holes as it slides ect. The aluminum pole is way better than a fiberglass pole. People complain about it being heavy, they need to man up.
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Unreliable, Durability, Expensive
Jesse Recommends This General Pump Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Corry V.
Loganville, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/12/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
03
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Good Piece Of Equipment But Not For A Novis.
Overall pretty happy with the wand. The belt is junk it shouldn't even be included. I have a fall protection harness that I rigged up so when this thing is fully extended i can control it with no problem.

There is a pretty big learning curve to this when its fully extended so don't expect to pull it out of the box and have a three story wall done in an hour or two. I have bad knees so it saved me going up and down on a ladder.
Pros: Durable, Price
Cons: Difficult To Use, Heavy, Bad Instructions, Belt Broke With In 5 Minutes Of Use
Corry Recommends This General Pump Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Justin W.
Charlotte, IA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/5/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
25
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Nice Product
This is a nice working tool. I have used this where I cant get at with the boom truck. It is a solid wand with barely any flex. I went with the fiberglass due to the reviews of the aluminum one being to wobbly and flex too much. I couldn't be happier with my decision.
Justin Recommends This General Pump Product
Was this review helpful?
12
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest General Pump DCLTG24A4 reviews.Compare our General Pump DCLTG24A4 ratings. Find the General Pump DCLTG24A4 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct