Your Cart @ Power Equipment Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
< Back to Product

Generac Guardian 6729 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings - Product Discontinued

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Discontinued
 
$4,459.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$4,457.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$4,624.94
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$4,011.30
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Generac Guardian 6729 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (2)
High Quality (2)
Reliable (2)
Quiet (1)
Features (1)
Cons
Loose Terminal On Starte... (1)
Expensive (1)
Small (1)
Wiring Skematic To (1)
100% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
19 Reviews  Sort by 
 
William R.
Liberty, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/1/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
DEC.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Buy, Awesome Deal
I looked for weeks, then found this one for the right price..It was at my house in 4 days!..I installed it myself with only miner issues.. Very happy with this unit, I also put the heaters on. Everything works as it should. This is my 2nd unit I've had on 2 different homes and I would do this again..
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Wiring Skematic To, Small
William Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
William's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"I called up with one issue and I couldn't get an answer, so they gave my another number to call."
 more
Robert, the Power Equipment Expert
Product Expert
William,
Sorry we couldn't answer your installation question as we are not a servicing dealer. Installation related questions are best answered by Generac.
Was this review helpful?
50
Frank D.
Franklin Square, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/16/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Piece Of Mind
A breeze to install and no worries about losing my electric this winter.
Frank Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Tal T.
Tenafly, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/4/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Service
We got a new generator and shipping and customer service was very good. We will recommend them.
Tal Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Jack I.
Chapel Hill, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/30/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JUL.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
President
As a contractor this is the second unit bought and installed for clients. Works great and easy to install. Due to the weather this year unit had to work four times so far and all with out a fault.
Jack Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Gary M.
Little River, SC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/26/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
13
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
20kw Generac
Been wanting to purchase a generator for some time now, then Electric Generators Direct offered a free Generac Pressure Washer with the purchase so that was my sign. I ordered one right away for this deal. Glad I did now when we are away from home we don't have to worry about the power being off while we are away, and coming home to a refrigerator and freezer full of nasty smelling food. Also a good feeling that while we are home we will always have power.

Generac is a very nice generator... more
Gary Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Robert, the Power Equipment Expert
Product Expert
Gary,
Since this is the basic (steel) enclosure, the fascia is not included and sold separately. The Aluminum enclosure model includes the fascia base trim.
more
Gary's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Ordering was easy, and saving more money by paying cash was a plus. Shipping was fast once items shipped."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Glenn C.
Farmingdale, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/20/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
20
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Way To Buy A Generator
Generator was easy to order and pay for. Delivered in a timely fashion right to my door. I found out about this service from a friend who bought the same model four years ago. He is very happy with it.
Glenn Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Tracy S.
Wheeling, WV
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/3/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAY.
05
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
20 Kw
I have put a lot Generac generators in first time didn't come with bottom skirt. Nor did I see ground lug on bottom outside corner am I missing something?
Tracy Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Robert, the Power Equipment Expert
Product Expert
Tracy,
The 20kW version with the Steel Enclosure does not include the skirt.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Harold H.
Oak Leaf, TX
Total Helpful Votes
144 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
OCT.
13
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
One Of The Best Investments I Have Made.
Power has gone out 3 times since we installed the generator in February 2013. Today (10-13-14), power went out for 15 hours. We were asleep and did not notice when it came back on.

Checked oil after generator shut down, did not burn any. It feels great to not have to adjust your daily life when power goes out. My investment in this generator was well worth the money.
Pros: Durable, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable, High Quality
Cons: Expensive
Harold Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
144118
Wilbur K.
Elizabeth, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/20/14
Total Helpful Votes
133 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
01
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Pleased With Generac 20kw
Generator arrived in great shape shortly after my check cleared. Installation with a licensed electrician was straightforward. First start required access code, which we had not gotten beforehand...bypassed and started in "Manual" mode. Minor glitch (loose spade terminal on starter) needed to be repaired prior to firing up. After repair, the unit started easily and ran smoothly on LP fuel. A start-up checklist on the generator would be helpful.

After obtaining access code,... more
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Quiet
Cons: Loose Terminal On Starter Prevented Start On First Try
Wilbur Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
133110
Bryan S.
Newark, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/27/14
Total Helpful Votes
114 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
19
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
My Generac
I do not normally purchase items on line because I hate giving out credit card information. This was a large purchase on line using a credit card. I was nervous to say the least. Electric Generators Direct and their freight company were excellent. Both keeping me up to date pertaining to order and shipping status.

I definitely recommend ELECTRIC GENERATORS DIRECT. I saved $900.00 ordering from them vs purchasing locally from a big home improvement store. I ran the gas lines myself then... more
Bryan Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
11498
F Madison B.
Augusta, GA
Total Helpful Votes
110 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
25
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
20 Kw Generator
My electrical power company pulled my meter at 9:30 am and the inspector arrived at 11:30.Everything OK'd. Power company called at 12 noon and a snafu occurred and the meter was not replaced until 3:30 pm. My electrician said however generator was powering my home! so glad I purchased this product!
F Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
11096
Thomas C.
West Greenwich, RI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/1/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Bad Winter
We installed this generator last December and had one of the worst winters on record. Fortunately we never lost power. However just the other day a truck hit a pole not far from our house taking out the power for 11 hrs. The generator did its job . It passed its test with flying colors. Great generator.
Thomas Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Thomas,
While we are sorry to learn of the recent incident that left your area without utility power for an extended period of time, we are happy that our automatic standby generator was able to provide you with ample power throughout the outage! Thank you for providing us with your review. Also, if you haven't done so already, please be sure to register your unit with Generac Nation by providing the information required via the following link: http://www.generac.com/generac-nation-sign-up?cid=frm-105-aa. Completing your registration will allow you to initiate your product's warranty coverage and receive future consumer alerts. If you have any questions about the registration process, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722).
more
Was this review helpful?
110
Henry S.
Baton Rouge, LA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/10/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
09
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Faulty Product
The Generac Guardian 20kW was installed on August 13, 2015. I had to replace the battery because the battery shipped with the generator was bad. I have not been able to get the generator to perform its weekly exercise

After calling Generac with my complaint they sent a technician who discovered that the control board was bad. I am now waiting for a replacement control board. Fortunate we have not had a power outage that would require the use of the generator.
Henry Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Henry,
We apologize for any inconvenience that your experience may have caused. However, we are pleased to know that you have reached out to the appropriate parties for any warranty coverage that may apply to the servicing work that your personal product currently requires. If you would like to inquire about the servicing of your unit, we would recommend contacting your chosen service provider. Furthermore, if you would like to discuss your experience with us in further detail, please be sure to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722) with the serial number of your personal unit.
more
Was this review helpful?
100
Larry L.
Portland, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/26/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
I installed the generator and transfer switch myself. Everything worked great the first time I started it up. Directions were easy to follow and simple to do.
Larry Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
111
Jack Pool
Yorkville, IL
REVIEWED
OCT.
13
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
We're Ready For The Storms!
We recently purchased a 20 kw home standby gas-powered generator.

We have not as yet had a power failure so we haven't had to observe the unit in action. We are however confident, based on the quality of the Generac unit and the reputation of our installer, that when the time comes we will be enjoying full electrical power.
Jack Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
7666
Wayne K.
Mt. Sterling, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/22/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
30
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Purchased New 20 Kw Generac
Unit came in good condition, and I followed tracking information. Installed well and passed all tests. Using in place of previous PTO unit, which is obviously more convenient.
Wayne Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
7770
Fredrick B.
Harvey, LA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/26/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generac Guardian™ 20kw Steel Home Standby Generator System
Excellent Ordering Process.
Fredrick Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
51
David B.
Williamston, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/23/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
16
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
20 Kw
Great
David Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
33
Kenneth Lange
Box Elder, SD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/28/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
31
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Just Sitting There
Looks good is about all I can tell you. Have not had any bad weather to find out how I like it.
Kenneth Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
124129
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Generac Guardian 6729 reviews.Compare our Generac Guardian 6729 ratings. Find the Generac Guardian 6729 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct