Search
< Back to Product

Generac Guardian 6485 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
$20.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock$20.99
No Sales Tax* (Except CA)
Visit Site
 
In-Stock /
$20.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$20.99
(as of 06:47 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
 
$20.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Generac Guardian 6485 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 5
Pros
High Quality (7)
I'd Buy It Again (6)
Price (3)
Exceeded Expectations (2)
Easy To Store (2)
Cons
None (1)
Expensive (1)
Difficult To Use (1)
No Cons (1)
100% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
19 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Mike, the Generator Expert
Power Equipment Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
103 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
8905 Helpful Votes
Power Equipment Direct Recommended

This home standby maintenance kit is for Generac 20kW standby generators but our recommends applies to similar maintenance kits in other sizes as well.

This kit has everything you need to do the annual maintenance required for your home standby generator except the oil. You will need to buy that locally.

Included in this kit:
•(1) Air Filter
•(1) Oil Filter
•(1) Oil Funnel
•(2) Spark Plug
•(1) Chamois
•(1) Instruction Manual
•(1) Preventative Maintenance Reminder Sticker

Not... more
Mike Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
183
Thomas L.
Weaverville, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/6/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JUN.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Advice
The folks at Generators Direct questioned me about our new home and its electric load. They made a couple of cost effective recommendations and we purchased a unit. They did not try to 'oversell' us. We returned to them for the annual maintenance kit and it was quick to appear. We will be back.
Thomas Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
20
William H.
Weirton, WV
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/2/15
Total Reviews
6 Reviews
REVIEWED
DEC.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Believe In Planning Ahead
I just wanted to make sure that I was fully prepaired for when I have to do maintainence on my new 22kw Generac Whole House Generator.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, Easy To Use, Easy To Store
Cons: No Cons
William Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Wim L.
Orchard Park, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/9/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Product
Product is complete and accurate. Arrived as promised.
Wim Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert S.
Yellville, AR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/30/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
78 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
OCT.
11
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
22kw
When you buy the best generator from the best supplier, keep it running with the proper supplies from the best place.
Great service and pricing.
Robert Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Richard W.
Ellijay, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/6/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
SEP.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
22kw Maintenance Kit Parts Are A Sure Fit
Oil and air filter change using the Generac Gurardian maintenance kit was a time saver. I did not use the spark plugs included in the kit since the original plugs are like new. Peace of mind knowing original equipment parts are a sure fit.
Richard Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Brian F.
Spokane, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/24/14
Total Reviews
6 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
23 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
21
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good But Could Be Better
I like the idea of a maintenance kit - just one more reminder to keep it in tip top shape, and it makes it so much more convenient to have the parts on hand rather than having to track them down at a dealer or on the website. Only issue is I guess I was surprised the kit did not also include Generac's recommended oil for the oil changes. So now, I still have to track something down and make sure I'm getting the right thing before I can proceed when scheduled maintenance comes due.

I'm... more
Cons: Difficult To Use
Brian Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Brian,
Genera had previously made kits without oil and kits with oil. We haven't been notified that the kits with oil are available for the new models. With that being said, all oil recommendations can be found in the owner's manual. Here's what Generac suggests...

SAE 30 above 32บ F (0บ C)
10W 30 between 40บ and -10บ F (4บ and -23บ C)
Synthetic 5W 30 for all temperature ranges

Some people like to run the 10W30 in the summer time and the 5W30 Synthetic (Which the Cold Weather Kit suggests). Since you don't experience 100+F temps on a daily basis in the summer, the 5W30 would be a good choice all year round.
more
Was this review helpful?
102
Dale A.
Fleetwood, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/14/14
Total Reviews
4 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JAN.
07
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great To Have On Hand
This seemed like a good value to me. My contractor could not sell it to me for this price and he was fine to let me buy it.
Great!
Dale Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
51
Robert R.
Charleston, WV
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/8/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
30
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
As Advertised
I checked around for prices, and this site was by far the better deal and included everything. My only problem was the inability to use Paypal.

I spoke to the staff regarding several questions I had and ordered the unit.

It was delivered on the early side of the quoted time frame, and I was kept aware of it's arrival time at every stage.

It is in and working fine.
Robert Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
51
David B.
Freehold, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/15/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
17
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Product
Just finished installation of the generac 20K generator. Turned the natural gas valve on waited a moment or two and started the generator. It started right up. Let it run for several minutes and then shut it off. It is on automatic to run once a week for fifteen minutes. Seems to run well at this time. I am satisfied with its performance so far. Only time will tell how reliable it will be. When an emergency develops and it is called upon to run then,and only then, will I know how good this... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
David Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
51
David Reinhardt
Rapid City, SD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/17/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
07
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Maintenance Kit
Good kit.
Pros: High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Expensive
David Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
52
Lonny W.
Greenurg, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/23/13
Total Reviews
7 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
35 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JAN.
13
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Highest Quality
Having just had a 20KW Generac Generator installed, I knew how important it would be to have a maintenance kit on hand should a long term outage occurs. Proper maintenance is important to keeping your standby generator operating in your favor.
Pros: High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Durable, Exceeded Expectations
Lonny Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Lonny Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fasting shipping on the planet."
 more
Was this review helpful?
42
Sharry B.
Chillicothe, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/19/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generator Maintenance
We shopped everywhere in our local city for this kit, even the place where we bought the generator, and no one had it. After searching the web, Direct had what we needed. Placed my order, and received it right away. Thanks, Electric Generators Direct.
Sharry Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
21
James A.
Virginia Beach, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/16/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
07
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Maintenance Kit
It had everything we needed to do the job and the got it to me fast.
Pros: High Quality
James Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Richard S.
Silsbee, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/22/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
14
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
On Time Delivery
What can one say about a maintenance kit. It arrived on time without damage!
Pros: High Quality
Richard Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Michael G.
Covington, LA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/4/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
17
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Deal
I just had a generator installed and was looking for a supply of filters for the upcoming hurricane season. Great deal.
Pros: Price, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: None
Michael Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Goebel Z.
Regina, KY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/17/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generac Guardain 20kw
We are very pleased with the generator. We had to use it during a storm, which lasted about 4 days. Very good service.
Goebel Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
22
Dennis L.
Fairfax, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/1/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
25
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
22kw Standby Generator
My 22KW Generac has not been put to the test yet because we haven't had an outage, but we were very pleased with the price and are very happy to have it up and running. We were also pleased with Electric Generators Direct very timely delivery.

The Master Electrician who recommended Electric Generators Direct and installed it will be back after the holidays to do some other electrical work on our house. I'll ask him if he would recommend anything else from Electric Generators Direct and... more
Dennis Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
33
Joseph C.
Montrose, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/22/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
20
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Always Have One On Hand
I am ready for the next service!
Pros: High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Price, Easy To Store
Joseph Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Joseph's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"In my hands in just 3 days!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
11
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Generac Guardian 6485 reviews.Compare our Generac Guardian 6485 ratings. Find the Generac Guardian 6485 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct