Search
< Back to Product

Generac Guardian 6462 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings - Product Discontinued

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Discontinued
Generac Guardian 6462 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 5
Pros
Price (25)
High Quality (13)
Quiet (13)
I'd Buy It Again (13)
Reliable (11)
Cons
Heavy (4)
Bad Instructions (3)
To Loud (1)
Doesn't Address Heat Pum... (1)
Paper Check Discount Is ... (1)
95% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
87 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Frank G.
Tannersville, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/12/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
AUG.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Investment Ever!
Thank you Mike and PED. I had a new house built in Poconos PA. This was the deal breaker. Told the builder I have to have it, he told me to order it, they installed it. For those of you that aren't aware of it, but the Poconos are famous for losing power during the storms. Last night and this afternoon, lights out, lights on in a split second. My central a/c is running just fine! 2- refrigerators, one freezer, and the 60" TV! No problem. Better have it and not need it, than need it and not... more
View Image
Frank Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
51
Michael S.
Eaton Rapids, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/30/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
DEC.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
16kw Generac Standby Generator
As of yet we have not had a power outage so I can only tell you about the test run.I have a disconnect box between the meter and the transfer box. When I pulled the disconnect it took about 10 to 15 seconds before the generator kicked in. The power automatically switch to generator. It ran everything in the house with ease. I then turned the disconnect box back to city power. It took about 30 to 45 seconds for the process to complete and the generator to shut down. I am very pleased with this... more
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Quiet
Cons: Fuel economy
Michael Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Bill D.
Lake George, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/6/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
15 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
18
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Add Installation Costs
Arrived on time, nice looking, runs well, no issues there.

But I had neglected to budget for the installation cost:
- electrical hookup: $1700-
- LP gas plumbing (30 ft across house crawlspace): $600
- total of $2300 installation costs

So the total for the job (gen & install) was about $5654-

Sure, I might have been able to do some of that myself and maybe saved $1000, but preferred to let the pros do it according to code.

Result: can sleep knowing that the house will... more
Bill Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
155
Don M.
Richmond Hill, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/19/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Is The Cat's Meow !!!
I spent several weeks reviewing power use need, reliability, price and ability to service. Selected the 16KW and have not been disappointed. Installation is expensive, so if your on a budget, get some quotes BEFORE purchasing a standby gen. I brought up Elec. Gen website and let a few electricians review what I was ordering to get estimates, same with propane set up. Most will come to do a site survey for est. PLEASE check yourself on county/city permits. Some stated they did not need, others... more
Pros: Price, High Quality, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Don Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
60
David M.
Glenpool, OK
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/6/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JAN.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Do Your Homework Before Install
I recently bought the 16KW with the auto transfer switch, I studied the install manual and did the install myself, it all went smooth partly because when I built my house, I had it plumed for a gen. The install went well, it is quite a job, probably best left to the pro's.

Seems to be a well-designed product and very well-built. I've only had one power outage since the install and the generator did everything it was supposed to do. I did not opt for the cellular monitoring system because if... more
Pros: Price, High Quality, Reliable, Features
David Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Micheal T.
Hamilton, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/2/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
FEB.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Already Used It!
Only two weeks after buying Generac we were on with an outage and the next day too! Worked flawlessly.
Micheal Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Micheal,
We're pleased to know that the unit is running smoothly during your unfortunate power outage! Thank you for providing us with your feedback! If you haven't done so already, be sure to register with Generac Nation. If you have any questions about your warranty or the registration process, do not hesitate to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722). For your convenience the registration process can be completed online via the following link: http://www.generac.com/generac-nation-sign-up?cid=frm-105-aa
more
Was this review helpful?
50
Louis M.
Westerly, RI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/17/15
Total Helpful Votes
11 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JAN.
12
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Overall Happy
Unit came in 2 weeks ago. When unboxed however big dent in side of unit and lid. This is my second unit purchased and overall very happy. Note though unbox the unit to check for damage. Was told since I didn't tell driver no claim can be filed. The box was fine so unless I completes unboxed it would not have been found.
Louis Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Robert, the Power Equipment Expert
Product Expert
Louis,
Sorry to hear about damage. For standby generators like these, we always suggest you remove the carton and inspect the unit prior to signing for the item.
more
Was this review helpful?
116
Jeff O.
Belfair, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/2/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generac 16kw
One of the pieces of insulation on the interior falls. That is the only thing that is "bad" about my experience. Totally automatic system, no hassles no troubles.
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable, Features
Cons: Heavy, No Lifting Eyes Hard To Move Into Place
Jeff Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Charles B.
Orange, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/26/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JUN.
30
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Company Ever To Buy From
I ordered a Generac 16 kw generator and got a bonus 3100 psi power washer for free. What was exceptional was delivery service. I had liftgate service and generator was se in garage. I would highly recommend buying from Generators Direct when you need anything they happen to sell.
Charles Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Paul B.
Manchester, CT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/17/16
REVIEWED
APR.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generac 16 Kw
This is the 4th one I've put in. 1st 3 were for customers this last one was for myself. It went in with no issues and runs perfect!
Paul Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Yates P.
Wellington, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/8/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
31
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Status Light Does Not Work
Have one gripe. Status light does not work. It stays off all of the time. My installer notified you 2 weeks ago and haven't heard anything from anyone.
Yates Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Robert, the Power Equipment Expert
Product Expert
Yates,
Most likely your installer contacted Generac directly regarding this issue because it would fall under their Generac 5-Year Warranty. A faulty status light might just be a loose connection in the wiring harness, which is a simple fix. If you have any additional questions, Generac can be contracted directly @ (888) 436-3722
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Yates,
We are sorry to learn of your unit's issues. If your installer is not authorized to perform wiring adjustments on your unit, we would recommend contacting an independent authorized service provider for an applicable remedy. To locate an independent authorized service provider closest to you, use your postal code for searching purposes here: http://www.generac.com/dealer-locator?cid=frm-105-ab . Also, do not hesitate to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722) if there are any other questions or concerns that we can address for you.
more
Was this review helpful?
40
Frank P.
Monterey, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/21/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great
Been buying from my electrical supplier I spend 3 or 4 hundred thousand dollars each year so I should get a good price but you beat them by hundreds of dollars and it came in faster next one goes to you.
Frank Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Carla M.
Viola, AR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/19/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
11
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy Happy Happy!
We ordered this online for my elderly aunt and uncle, after speaking with Cust Serv reps. Very pleased. They were knowledgeable, kind and generator arrived, as promised, perfect shape, a real bargain too, compared to buying from in town retailers. We're going to buy one for ourselves instead of using my husbands welding machine, when power goes out!
Pros: Price, High Quality, Quiet, I'd Buy It Again
Carla Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Nathan B.
Gilmer, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/23/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
17
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Pleased
Researched several months. Decided to buy and I happy to say I very pleased. Shipped quickly and arrived in great shape. We actually purchased 2, a second for my parents. The install was simple and fairly easy to do. I would recommend these with the switch. It takes less than a minute to switch over, although we have not lost power since it has been connected. The test work great.
Pros: Price, Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, Fast
Nathan Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Sammy C.
Pelham, AL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/15/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
20
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Generac
Purchased my 16kw in September it was 2 months before it was installed. Checked out great runs a 4 ton ac with no problem. We had a power outage last weekend it came on operated perfect.
Sammy Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Kevin D.
Bremerton, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/18/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
30
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Peace Of Mind
We now have a solution for the several power outages that hit our area each winter. Before I would wheel my portable generator out into the storm, hook it up start it up check on it constantly, fuel it and protect it from driving rain etc.
Well... that's all in the past thanks to our Generac #6462 16kw generator.

Our Electrical Contractor Thompson Electric, in Poulsbo, Washington did an excellent job installing it for us. We are very pleased with the finished product, thanks to Electric... more
Kevin Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Ellis H.
Agua Dulce, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/6/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
05
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Generator
I live in Agua Dulce, a small horse community north of Los Angeles. I am on a well with a pressure pump that keeps the pressure up so I have water to the house. My horses drink water from a automatic waterer that works when they put their noses in the bowl. If the power goes out for any length of time and they drink a lot, the pressure will go to zero and there will be no water for my horses.

I worry that if we get a large earthquake and I can't get home from work my horses will not get... more
Ellis Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
20
David B.
Seminole, OK
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/18/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generator
Nice unit have not put it to use yet, except for test which worked very well.
David Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Bob G.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/30/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Flawless Transaction
Purchase was simple and very straightforward. Very good website that explained everything I needed to know about a generator. Delivery of the unit was as promised. Unit was delivered to my home and placed exactly where I wanted it. I'm very satisfied!
Pros: Price, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Features
Bob Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Kenneth D.
Lewisburg, WV
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/20/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
03
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just Installed
Have not experienced it running under a outage, but it works in testing and we are very happy with it.
Kenneth Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Robert M.
El Dorado, AR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/9/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
30
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Operates Great!!
Just finished the final hookup today! Test went perfect and is ready for use when we have our next power failure. Best power move I could have made!
Robert Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Jeffrey W.
Rockaway, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/21/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Delivery
Have been talking about this since Sandy. Just received Nat Gas and decided to order. Ordered on Tues afternoon , was delivered on Thursday, unbelievable. Hired an Authorized Electrician, couldn't have gone smoother. Been thru two test cycles, ready for next outage. Very please with product and service .
Jeffrey Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Robert W.
Broken Arrow, OK
REVIEWED
APR.
07
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It
Love unit/ I have not used it yet, only test..
Robert Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
10
D. Swift
Northwest Pa, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/20/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
10
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Enjoying Some Piece Of Mind With Our New Generac Generator
We had this generator installed buy a local electrician. He was experienced with the Generac generator. They did an excellent job in regards to installation and explaining how this thing works. We have not had any power outages to date but we are confident that it won't let us down.
Pros: Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, Features, Fast
D. Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
William M.
Okemos, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/8/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Generac Purchase
I was persuaded to purchase my Generac Guardian 16KW/990 GRD + 200A SE T/SW STL unit because of the great sale price, free lift gate drop off at my residence, 10 year extended guarantee, no tax and additional discount for cash payment. I was very pleased with the delivery and packaging. The unit arrived in perfect shape and the driver was most helpful in final placement of the boxed unit.

I elected to use a stone base for the unit because of ease of construction and drainage properties. ... more
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Quiet, Features
William Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Elizabeth C.
Pelahatchie, MS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/13/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
16kw Standby Generator
We ordered the 16kw, early one morning and they had it on the way here that evening... Got it in on the 3rd day... It's just what the dr ordered... Our electricity goes out a good bit where we live.. We got it installed for a reasonable price, and the tech showed us how it works, and it comes on periodically to keep the battery up.. Not very loud at all.. And it really beats having to drag the old portable one up on the deck and running all those cords in different directions.. This was the... more
Elizabeth Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Thomas G.
Lake Linden, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/12/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Smooth Start
Just got the generator installed and activated last week. Was amazed at how quickly it started and went through its initial 5-minute exercise cycle. It was easy to set the unit up to run its exercise cycle at the time I specified. The noise level is quite low, in fact much lower than my neighbor's generator of a different brand. My only criticism is the lack of clarity in the installation and owner's manuals. I suggest some emphasis be placed on improving the manuals. With so many... more
Pros: Price, High Quality, Reliable, Quiet
Cons: Bad Instructions
Thomas Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Peter K.
Dillwyn, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/2/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
15
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great
So far so good - hope it continues to work. Lightening hit our last unit. It was also a Generac and was close to 10 years old and served us well. We want this one to be as good.
Peter Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Donna F.
Moultrie, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/12/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
07
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Just As Advertised, No Problems, Would Recommend
Not much of a story, wife is handicap, in wheelchair and our needs are many and our home is equipped with all the things we require. We have been thinking about a generator for along time but our power outages are few and usually out less than 1 hour but in the last month we were without power 3 times. (one time for 19 hours). That helped make up our mind and the peace of mind it gives us is worth it. Our power may not go off again but just knowing that we have back-up power means a great deal... more
Donna Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert J.
Sedalia, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/30/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product & Easy Instructions
Great product, best price, delivery went smooth. Happy with our purchase.
Robert Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
11
James Z.
Katonah, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/1/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
06
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generator Direct Made It Easy And Saved Money
Being without power after Hurricane Sandy and the numerous other power outages that occur here, we got tired of not having water, heat and a refrigerator. This unit meets all of our requirements and the transfer switch with load shedding built in allows us to use a smaller generator without sacrificing coverage. The unit was shipped to us in perfect condition and a Generac dealer installation went smoothly. The unit started right up and is ready to make life a lot more comfortable when needed.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Price, Reliable
James Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
8944
Gary L.
Oquossoc, ME
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/29/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
12
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Do Your Homework!!
In starting on my journey to provide my home with standby power I didn't realize the road I would go down.

1st - Check with your gas company as to the size of tank needed to run the generator that your electrician has sized for your home!!( Still haven't resolved this issue)

2nd - When checking out all the deals out there make sure you properly ask the right questions and size tne transfer switch to the amperage of your home not the bargains offered from the suppliers!! (I had to switch... more
Cons: Low Quality, Difficult To Use, Bad Instructions, Packaging
Gary Does Not Recommend This Product
Robert, the Power Equipment Expert
Product Expert
Gary,
When deciding if a standby generator is right for you we always recommend you start by getting an electrician to come out and give you a quote and go over the necessary steps involved when putting one of these units in your home. We offer some "How-To" videos on our website but these will not cover every type of installation.

What to Expect With a Standby Generator Installation

The Cold Weather Kit will help the generator start in climates that drop below freezing during the winter months. Many times I will tell customers to check with other neighbors who have generators and see if they have one installed or check with the electrician to see if they recommend them. I personally would recommend the kit if you are in the Northeast and apologize if the customer service representative did not mention it. I do see that we did send you out the kit as requested.
more
Was this review helpful?
7639
Paul R.
Hartly, DE
REVIEWED
FEB.
26
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Fine Time For Breakdown
Had 17kw installed by professionals 2-1/2 years ago. Has run less than 15 hours. Yesterday power went off, generator came on and shut off 3 times in rapid succession, then quit altogether.

Generac tech says it needs new 'magneto'. This morning, it's snowing hard and I haven't heard from Generac tech yet. Knew I should have gone w/ Kohler! No recommendation from me for Generac!
Paul Does Not Recommend This Product
Robert, the Power Equipment Expert
Product Expert
Paul,
We are sorry to hear of your unfavorable experience with your Generac product. Your best option would be to do just what you've done. Contact a Generac servicing dealer.

It is unfortunate that the generator is in need of a part, but the Generac service team is one of the best around and can easily help rectify your situation.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Paul,
We apologize for the issues that you are currently experiencing with your automatic standby generator. You have alluded to the fact that the generator wasn't able to come on after three attempts- what code is currently displayed on the unit's control panel? At your earliest convenience, please contact us with this information AT 888-GENERAC (436-3722), along with your product's serial number and the name of the independent authorized service provider with whom you are currently working. Once we are able to obtain this information from you, we can explore applicable approaches to providing your unit with the service that it currently requires.
more
Was this review helpful?
404
Arthur B.
Atlanta, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/30/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy To Install, Not Really.
Once you've done it, installation may be easy, but for a first-timer, well, you'll need your patience hat.

The instruction book is FREQUENTLY UNCLEAR, and there are many, many connections that you will need to make and keep track of. The transfer switch's top bonding bridge for the neutral and ground lines is too small, so you'll have to trim each line to fit them in.

At the generator, be prepared to fight to make your connections nest properly in their connectivity areas. So at the... more
Arthur Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Arthur,
Thank you for your detailed review. We are glad that you are pleased with your automatic standby generator. As you have alluded, the installation of a Generac brand automatic standby generator is relatively detailed. Considering this, we always recommend having an independent authorized dealer complete the installation. These professionals have gone through our training courses to become authorized for installation in your local area. We also make this recommendation for warranty-based concerns; if issues are incurred to your unit and it is determined that the cause stems from an error committed by an installer that is not authorized by Generac, warranty coverage will not apply. If you have any additional comments, questions, or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722).
more
Was this review helpful?
345
Edward W.
Meshoppen, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/13/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
26
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Highly Recommend Getting A Pro To Wire It Up
There is more than meets the eye to installation. Get several estimates on installation.....I over paid. Make sure to have a certified inspector in to approve after installation.
Pros: Price, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Ac Shedding Contacts Not Included
Edward Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
4214
Dave Olds
Fenton, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/7/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
17
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Installed 3 Weeks Ago - Already Active Twice
My new 16 KW unit has been in place for three weeks. I did most of the installation myself, but hired a licensed electrician for the actual hookup to the house's wiring.

Once the propane company approved my plumbing and attached their new regulator, we were good to go. Since then, we have had one 8 hr outage due to a storm and a second outage due to an unannounced line maintenance issue. My Generac worked great, just as expected.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Quiet, I'd Buy It Again
Dave Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
294
Len H.
Little Rock, AR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/16/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Outages Cured After Installation Of Generac Guardian Unit
Since installing our Generac Guardian 16kW standby generator Mother Nature and the electric company have managed to behave themselves, so, thus far, our generator has only run during the weekly test period... and it does that fine.

My complaint is of course the silly maintenance fee for mobile monitoring... the parts are expensive enough.. but the annual fee? Sheesh... if Cummins can do it for free then....
Cons: A Bit Louder Than I Had Hoped For
Len Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
231
Bill H.
West Chicago, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/24/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
15
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Absolute Best For A Reasonable Cost
I investigated several whole house generators. Cycle times, tests schedules and everything in between. I settled on the Generac Guardian 16KW with the 200 amp auto switch. Purchased it at electric Generators Direct, Purchased, loaded into my truck and home in 1 day. We located a Generac installation contractor received a very reasonable installation cost and in the course of 1 day the unit was up and running.

Great Job Generac and Electric Generators Direct!!!!!
Pros: Reliable, Price, Quiet, Fast
Bill Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Bill's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Totally Painless, No pressure to buy, easy pick up for my family. Great staff to work with."
 more
Was this review helpful?
3918
Larry G.
Houston, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/6/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Extremely Happy Customer!!!
Ordered the 16 kw package and I am very happy with your customer service and shipping. Unit arrived on time right in the driveway. My customer loved saving money on the genset and I think I have a couple more sold. Will be using Generators Direct from now on!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Pros: Price, Reliable, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations
Larry Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
3618
Billy O.
Inez, KY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/19/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Well Built Unit
I estimated that an 11kw unit would run everything, but went with the 16kw so it wouldn't be running at full capacity. Unit arrived packaged very well, and freight driver unloaded it right where i wanted. unit appears to be built very solid, and included everything it was supposed to (mine included the 200 amp whole-house transfer switch). i was amazed at the size/weight of the switch - i helped my dad install an automatic system 25 years ago, and we used an engine crane to pick up the switch... more
Pros: Price, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Features
Billy Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Billy,
Thank you for providing us with such a detailed review. While we are happy that you have been able to install the unit yourself, please note that the products, specifications, and installation requirements of a desired configuration will vary from one home to the next. Moreover, we recommend working with a local independent authorized dealer in your local area to ensure that you are utilizing the appropriate products and setup for your desired configuration, as dictated by local codes. Lastly, if you have any comments, questions, or concerns about your product, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722). Again, we thank you for your review, as well as your business overall.
more
Was this review helpful?
2811
Raymond B.
Westport, CT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/12/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
02
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product-trouble Free Order Process-quick Shipping!
Needed a great standby unit on my home. Received a nice product at a very good price with Free Shipping! My contractor did a nice easy quick install and the new Generac unit works flawlessly!
Pros: Features, Price, Reliable, High Quality
Raymond Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
247
Cecil K.
Gretna, LA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/25/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
19
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Gulf Coast - Hurricane Country
I live on the Gulf Coast where we have at least 2 hurricanes hit our area each year. If no major storm, then we still lose electrical power due to wind. My Generac allows me to remain home during minor storms and keep my electrical power running.
Pros: Reliable, Durable, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Cons: Heavy
Cecil Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
172
Donald C.
Dahlonega, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/21/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Generac
My Generac 16 kw standby generator system (200A service disconnect+ ac shedding) works perfect for my home with 4 ton heating and air system .
Donald Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
152
Dave W.
Rathdrum, ID
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/31/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
24
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Oil Leak In 12 Hours
Bought this unit. Had a power outage for several days. Used it on and off for 12 hours total usage and had a pool of oil under unit. Had service tech look at it and turns out possible seal leak already. Unknown which seal yet as it blows oil everywhere when operating. So far not too happy with this unit. All is under warranty but trying to find a service tech in our area has been a nightmare most just handle oil changes and minor service. Beware that any warranty service is done by independent... more
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Unreliable
Dave Does Not Recommend This Product
Robert, the Power Equipment Expert
Product Expert
Dave,
Sorry to hear about the issues you're having. The warranty service is provided by Generac servicing dealers. Which are independent dealers, not Generac employees. If you have any trouble finding a dealer who provides service, I'd suggest contacting Generac directly @ 1-888-GENERAC (1-888-436-3722)
more
Was this review helpful?
164
Bruce C.
Beaufort, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/24/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
04
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Added Security
Living on the coast of NC, I am well acquainted with hurricanes and the damage they cause. These storms cause tree damage as well as damage to homes and flooding. Many times, the power can be out for four or five days, while power crews work tirelessly to restore power to our homes.

During these outage periods, temperatures and humidity cause living conditions to reach almost unbearable levels. My regular generator could handle most all of it, except my heat pump. This is why I chose to... more
Pros: Price, Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, Features
Cons: Doesn't Address Heat Pump Installation
Bruce Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
175
David H.
Rogers, AR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/7/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
16 Kw Generac
Just got it moved to a concrete pad, with the help of four strong men. Now I need to find a plumber and Generac installer that will not gouge me in hooking it up? The unit did not have a key to open the cover. Called Generac many times, busy. Finally got someone and had to wait a week for a key to come via snail mail.

A big shipping truck delivered it, and the driver was very nice in using a hydraulic lift to get the generator within 7 ' of the concrete pad. Because of pad slope, he could... more
David Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
David,
We are happy to learn that you have chosen our product! We apologize for the issue you experienced with the unit's key, however, we are glad that we were able to get you an applicable replacement via ground mail. If you are still looking for an independent authorized dealer in your local area for the unit's installation, please note that a detailed list of these dealers can be located online by using your postal code for searching purposes via the following link: http://www.generac.com/dealer-locator?cid=frm-105-ab. Should you require further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722).
more
Was this review helpful?
155
Henry R.
Bagwell, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/1/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
14
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Satisfied Customer
The generator has been installed just over two weeks. It starts as advertised each Wednesday and runs it five minute test. So for so good.

The unit arrived and was handled by the carrier as advertised. Everything was packaged properly thus no trouble being installed.

I hope we never have to use it but its sitting in-wait if needed. The price was the lowest in the industry and am very satisfied the ease of the purchase process. The only change I would suggest is making available the... more
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: To Loud
Henry Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
100
Donald G.
Fowler, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/17/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
07
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
16 Kw Standby Generac Generator
I purchased a Generac Standby generator on April 1st, installed it on April 24th. It works great, very well built. It starts and stops just like it should. I was very well satisfied with the delivery and the person who delivered it. He was very helpful. Thanks so much.
Donald Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Donald,
We are happy to learn of your positive experience. Thank you for providing us with your review! Also, don't forget to register your unit, for warranty-related purposes, by providing the necessary information via the following link: http://www.generac.com/generac-nation-sign-up?cid=frm-105-aa. If you have any questions about the registration process, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722).
more
Was this review helpful?
1710
Harry C.
Monrovia, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/12/14
REVIEWED
APR.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product & Company
After months of research for a LP home backup generator we purchased Generac 6462 from Electric Generator Direct online October 2014.

Purchase was fast with free delivery. Free lift truck delivery was great. Company that delivered A+.

We had a Generac Certified installer that came to the house and reviewed which one would meet our backup needs before we made purchase. Since they installed Generac we have used it twice during power outages.

We love our Generac. No more worrying over... more
Harry Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Harry,
On behalf of Generac, thank you for providing us with your review of the 16kw automatic standby generator. We are happy to learn of your satisfaction with our product. If you have questions about your unit at any time, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722). Also, don't forget to appropriately register your unit. Registering your unit with Generac Nation not only initiates your product's warranty coverage, but it also allows you to receive future consumer alerts and product-related information in the future as well. To register your unit online, please provide the required information via the following link: http://www.generac.com/generac-nation-sign-up?cid=frm-105-aa
more
Was this review helpful?
70
Frank F.
Mt Pleasant, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/11/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
19
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Peace Of Mind
Once I coordinated electrician with gas professional and moved generator to pad ----everything worked 1st time No snags/no issues.

Generator started right up and before you know it I had power to my house!!!! It's nice knowing that if we are on vacation or gone for even a night , that if power goes , we won't have to worry about water pipes freezing or basement flooded.

Read installation directions carefully and if any problems PED was always helpful as well as the Generac 24/7 phone... more
Frank Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
70
Roger O.
North Little Rock, AR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/17/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
08
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generator Installed Today
As the generator was only installed today, any comment on the generator would be premature. However, with that said, the installation went smoothly.

And the unit started without problems and tested all functions properly. The thing that stands out in my mind is the ease of which the transaction with Electric Generators Direct was completed.

The advertising was followed to the letter, the unit was shipped immediately, and it arrived on time. All components arrived intact and without... more
Roger Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
71
Charles D
Elizaville, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/14/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
15
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Electric Outages
Sorry for the delay in the review, just completed the hook-up last week. I did the service change over myself, and it went smoothly. I have experience with electric. Gen plus completed the service last week. All things are good. I hope we have years of power when the utility fails.
Pros: Price, Reliable, High Quality, Easy To Use
Charles Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Charles's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Favorable"
 more
Was this review helpful?
93
Thomas S.
Wausaukee, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/7/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Guadian 16kw
I installed the generator about 100 feet from my home, next to my LPG tank which is behind my storage building. You can not hear it at all inside
(my home) when running!

This set up 100 feet from my home does drive up cost due to the expense for all the wiring involved.

My contractor performed the installation, which was actually straight forward and with the Smart Switch, much less wiring to do.

The initial Generator test went without a hitch and the test to actually power the home... more
Thomas Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
50
William L.
Roy, NM
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/13/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Product Is Great
Had issues finding an electrician to wire unit to x-fer switch as I live in a remote location. All is well after a couple of return trips. On 10/15/15, had our first power outage and power was restored within a minute. Everything worked as described, great unit. We were the only ones in town with lights, Very satisfied.
William Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
61
Robert A.
Ledyard, CT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/3/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Product As Advertised
The shipment and tracking of the generator was very accurate and helpful. The product arrived in excellent condition and the shipper was very helpful with tailgate service and opening the container for inspection. The various manuals provided with the equipment were clear, simple and easy to follow. Both the propane and electrical installers were familiar with the generator since it is a popular item in our area. Installation and testing went off without a hitch and I am very satisfied with the... more
Robert Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
61
L. M.
Las Vegas, NV
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/14/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Peace Of Mind
Installed the Generac about a year ago. In areas like Michigan power goes out frequently and the generator has taken over perfectly at least 6 times that I know of. A great investment for your house/farm.
L. Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Sam M.
Lonoke, AR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/5/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
26
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Hooked Up And Ready
It took a few weeks to get everything in place. I tried to program it this morning and had a problem so I called Generac and a rep walked me thru it. So now I am waiting for a power outage, which we don't have many of, but when one comes along we will be ready.
Sam Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
72
Marshall
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/16/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
25
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It's A Wrap
No surprises here, everything went like clockwork. I would advise anyone considering a generator to first contact your gas provider. In my case (SE Michigan) they informed me it would be 45 days before they could come out and install a new gas meter (increased volume to prevent unit from starving for fuel) Figure $600.00-$700.00 for the larger meter with shutoff for connection to generator. It would be nice if the unit had a cover over the lock mechanisms on the lid. Water gets in the key hole... more
Marshall Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Marshall's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Everything went as advertised from start to finish with the purchase process. No hiccups at all and deliveryman was very helpful."
 more
Was this review helpful?
61
Larry L.
Enid, OK
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/10/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
31
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generac 6462
Simple to hook up to propane. I built a concrete pad because the pre-made one is too cheaply made for my likes. I had to call electric generators direct because they forgot to send my generator. They had my check for one week. They sent it to me the next day and it arrived 5 days later.

The generator is designed quite nicely. It could use a 4" pipe nipple and a better propane supply hose. I put my own supply hose on the generator. I had an electrician do my installation to the pole. I... more
Larry Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Robert, the Power Equipment Expert
Product Expert
Larry,
For check purchases, your order is held for 5 business days to allow the paper check to clear our bank. We're sorry if you weren't made aware of this at the time of purchase.
more
Was this review helpful?
50
Truman L.
Granville, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/25/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Like It A Lot
Our power goes off quite often so we wanted a generator. It has come on and run on Saturdays as planned for 10 minutes. This morning at around 7am our power really went off and there was a short pause and sure enough our Generac came right on! Once the power came back on the Generac turned off and it was seamless............ everything worked perfectly. Glad we got it.
Truman Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Truman,
We are glad to know that your unit is operating efficiently! Thank you for providing us with your review of the 16kw automatic standby generator. If you have not done so already, please be sure to register your unit with Generac Nation. By submitting your registration information, you will be able to not only initiate your product's warranty, but receive future consumer alerts as well. To register your unit online, please visit the following link: http://www.generac.com/generac-nation-sign-up?cid=frm-105-aa
more
Was this review helpful?
62
Arlyn
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/13/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Scary Business
Generator shipped 13 days after my check CLEARED my bank. I thought I was a victim of e-fraud. Poor answers, poor administrative customer service and simple un-truths spoken by business office personnel.
Pros: Price, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Paper Check Discount Is Fraudulent
Arlyn Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Robert, the Power Equipment Expert
Product Expert
Arlyn,
We're very sorry to hear you feel that way. When you select the option for pay by check, a message is displayed notifying you that the order will be held until your check clears.

If you have any further questions or concerns about your order, don't hesitate to contact us. We're happy to assist in any way possible.
more
Was this review helpful?
73
Philip L.
Port Jervis, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/1/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Finally Found Peace Of Mind
We have numerous blackouts during the year, mostly for a short period of time, 2-4 hours. We have occasionally had 4-7 day blackouts. Since we live in a rural area, we use propane for forced air heating and a well pump for water.

During blackouts, I have to drag out our generators, run wires to the well pump, furnace (propane but uses electric to run fan), some lights and 2 sump pumps in the basement and 2 refrigerators. My wife and I are getting too old to be running around like that so... more
Philip Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
51
Paul B.
Poughquag, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/28/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
29
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generac 16kw Standby Reliability
As a licensed electrician, I was tired of installing these for customers but always rigging my house with a portable generator. We lost power for 18 hours, and that was when I'd had enough. I wanted the security of knowing my family would be protected.
Pros: Price, Reliable, High Quality, Easy To Use
Paul Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
117
Frank M.
Pleasant Hill, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/28/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far Good
Installed about 2 months ago.Starts when scheduled for weekly maintenance run. Lost electric service for a few minutes and it kicked right in and shut off when power restored. Really haven't had time to evaluate it, but the installation went well,
the project was a good investment and we feel more secure. Probably have a better sense of the unit after winter.
Frank Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Ward W.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/3/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
06
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It Works.
The 16KW generator and transfer switch arrived on time. I installed the equipment, 3-120 gallon propane tanks, propane regulators and piping and all electrical wiring including control cables and load shedding in a couple of weekends. Had poured concrete pads for tanks and generator a previous weekend.

Once the system was inspected and fueled, the start up was straightforward. The generator started on the first cranking sequence. After performing the instructed checks, we ran the... more
Ward Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Patrick H.
Graton, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/1/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Great Company To Deal With
I actually bought this just minutes before Midnight New Years Eve without a problem as I was trying to beat the clock so I could use this expense for the ending tax year of 2014. I did request that they could send along three referrals for electricians in my area to provide quotes for the installation.

I never did hear from anyone so I'm guessing that there is some sort of break down taking place or there could be no installing dealers in my area. I am 60 miles from San Francisco, and a few... more
Patrick Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Robert, the Power Equipment Expert
Product Expert
Patrick,
Sorry to hear you haven't received your referrals. Please give us a call when you get a chance and we'll figure out what went wrong. We certainly want to help. Thank you for the review.
more
Was this review helpful?
41
Daniel G.
Harrison, AR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/12/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
03
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product, Great Customer Service, Great Price.
The entire process went smoothly, from the web site to the delivery. They even contacted me by phone to verify my order and information. Top notch all the way.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Features, Fast
Cons: Heavy, Only Because Of My Location
Daniel Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
41
John C.
Columbus, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/25/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
28
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Unit, However The Lid Hinge Pin Fell Apart
Installed myself, was a moderately easy thing to do.
Pros: Price, Quiet, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Bad Instructions
John Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
41
John U.
Budd Lake, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/11/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
17
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generac 16kw
Delivery company put it right where I needed it. Product was easy to install. Great price!
Pros: Price, Light Weight, Exceeded Expectations, Installation Was Very Easydelivery Was Also Great Awesome Produ
John Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
1512
Carroll S.
Oakland, ME
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/13/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
26
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generator
I love my new generator ready for the long cold winter.
Carroll Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Edwina G.
Boxford, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/29/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
All Went Smoothly
It arrived as planned in good order. All necessary literature was there to satisfy inspectors and our installer.

Fortunately, we have had no need to use it as our back up generator in the past few months, but have no reason to believe it will not perform as expected.
Edwina Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Maxine C.
Kimberly, WV
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/16/15
REVIEWED
APR.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A+
Never be in the dark again.
Maxine Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Matteo D.
Medley Miami, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/1/15
REVIEWED
APR.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fast And Very Helpful Firm
I am pleased with this company, and will pass on my experience and referral to my friends and family.
Matteo Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Donald H.
Rome, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/6/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
This generator is much quieter than I thought it would be, and I'm very pleased with the unit. The peace of mind it gives me to know that I'll have power for my ox concentrator and heat 24/7.
Donald Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Lois S.
Mariposa, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/8/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
06
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No More Dark Nights
I now have piece of mind.
Lois Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Clarence S.
Harrisburg, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/14/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
05
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just A Little Early.
Generator in place, but due to a hospital delay for the electrician, we are not connected at this time. However I am well pleased with the construction of the generator and it looks like it will give me many years of service. The electrician said he would be able to start his work in a few days. Will be glad to give you more information at a later date.
Clarence Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Clarence's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Purchase of generator online very easy. Purchase and delivery went as stated in your advertisement. Purchase price that included several free items made the price very reasonable. Would be very glad to buy from your company in the future."
 more
Was this review helpful?
42
Scott K.
Point Marion, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/22/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
24
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Value For The Money
Haven't had to use it yet thankfully. However, installation was easy and the weekly tests are performed as scheduled. Nice and quiet and great peace of mind!
Scott Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
31
William R.
Red House, WV
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/11/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Standby Generator From Generators Direct
I received the generator in good condition, Electric Generators Direct did exactly what they said.

A friend and I installed the generator and it performed exactly the way it was supposed to.

Haven't had a power failure yet, but I expect the unit will take care of our power needs.
William Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Alton C.
George West, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/23/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Being Down Here On The Gulf Coast...
i been looking at these for a few years and finally bought one. have it set in place but not hooked up yet...good to do business with these guys
Alton Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
21
David P.
Sagamore Beach, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/5/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
12
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Up And Running
The generator is great. So happy a friend directed me to your site. Set-up was easy, and installation done in short time - before the ground froze. The generator has been completely installed for a few weeks, and other than weekly testing, I'm thankful it has not had to run yet.

After installing the mobile link today, we let her run for a while. Very nice! Quiet too. There are good odds that I won't be home in the event of a storm due to work, but the family will be provided for. Very happy!
David Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Howard H.
Belgrade, ME
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/29/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
21
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Product
I needed a generator that would deliver clean power. The portable unit i had was ok, but poorly controlled.

the install of the 16kw generac was completed and when it first fired up, delivered correct voltage and most of all 60 cycles. We have not lost power yet, but it's a lot better knowing that when i will need it, the Generac will give me clean, regulated power.
Howard Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Elden M.
Port Huron, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/12/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
03
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Not All It's Cracked Up To Be
The friendly lady that we had spoke to excellent customer service for ordering purposes. but after we ordered the units we found out that they went on sale, and they didn't want to give us the $300 difference back. Very poor customer service. The man on the phone told me to send it back.
Elden Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Robert, the Power Equipment Expert
Product Expert
Elden,
We're sorry you feel our customer service has wronged you. The sale was on November 28th, and your purchase was made on November 12. It's a special sale price that can only be obtained during Black Friday and Cyber Weekend, so we don't refund the difference on past orders.
more
Was this review helpful?
98
Carol M.
Huntingdon Valey, PA
REVIEWED
JAN.
15
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Generac Doesn't Honor Their Advertisements!
Generac advertised a free $695 parts and 5 year extended warranty. We just installed this Generac standby generator and when we called about the free extended warranty the people at Generac said we did not qualify!!!!!!

This is false advertising!
Carol Does Not Recommend This Product
Robert, the Power Equipment Expert
Product Expert
Carol,
We are sorry to hear of the warranty confusion that your are having with Generac. Since Generac deals with the warranty we would suggest continuing to deal with them. They set the warranty guidelines and they are better suited to handle issues such as this one.
more
Was this review helpful?
911
John C.
Villas, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/15/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
17
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It's Great
Have to let you know when we have our first power outage.
John Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
35
Hans G.
Macomb, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/7/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
02
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Generator Has Grinding Noise When Started
I bought the generator from Elect Generators Direct because they had the best price received the unit on time. Had it hooked up Sept 1, 2014, when unpack-age had rust on the steel parts and corrosion on the aluminum parts.

Had it installed by a electric company that installs generators in the area. When generator was started had grinding noise and plastic particles appearing in the bottom of case, ran generator for about 15 seconds.

Called Generac warranty number to set up inspection to... more
Pros: Price, Hope It Will Be Warrantee
Cons: Unknown At This Tim
Hans Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Hans,
While we are sorry to learn of the issues that you are currently experiencing, we are pleased to know that you have contacted an independent authorized service provider for any diagnostic or servicing work that may be currently required. If you would like to discuss any concerns that you may have with us directly, please know that we can be reached 24/7 at 888-GENERAC (436-3722).
more
Was this review helpful?
47
Tom D.
Hinckley, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/3/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
09
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Need A Storm
Lot of years with out power
Pros: Price
Tom Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
27
Tom D.
Hinckley, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/3/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
09
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Looks Nice. Need A Storm.
Lots of years power went out and we own a generator.
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Heavy
Tom Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
38
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Generac Guardian 6462 reviews.Compare our Generac Guardian 6462 ratings. Find the Generac Guardian 6462 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct