Search
< Back to Product

Generac Guardian 6461 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings - Product Discontinued

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Discontinued
 
$3,627.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$3,699.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$3,527.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Generac Guardian 6461 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 5
Pros
Price (5)
High Quality (3)
Features (3)
Easy To Use (3)
Durable (2)
Cons
The Only Con Would Be So... (1)
Aluminum Main Feed Wires (1)
Wires from switch not lo... (1)
100% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
18 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Robert, the Power Equipment Expert
Power Equipment Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
103 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
8934 Helpful Votes
Power Equipment Direct Recommended

Generac Power Systems offers two versions of a 16 kW home standby generators.

The 16 kW generators are extremely popular because they pack enough power to run a 4-ton air conditioner.

This model sells the best for a few reasons:

1. Automatic Transfer Switch
Guardian's 100-Amp Distributed Load Center ensures the easiest, trouble free installation. You simply pick 16-circuits that you want to power during an outage. Most people choose this option.

If you want to power more than... more
Robert Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
17010
Kevin
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/14/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
FEB.
17
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Impressed!!
Ordered Generator on 1/14/16 online and paid by check to save 2%. Unit delivered on 1/29/16 via truck with lift gate. Un-crated unit, all in perfect condition.

Installed 16 circuit automatic transfer switch, prepared site and set generator. Installation was easy and experienced no problems, directions were "dead on". Probably took 12 hours (took my time) to install and only needed assistance when setting the generator.

Highly recommend Electric Generators Direct, they were... more
Kevin Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Douglas B.
Barnstead, NH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/10/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
NOV.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works As Advertised
The generator came quick, real fast service. Haven't had to use it yet, but it starts up every other Wednesday and runs for 5 minutes. It was fairly easy to install and straight forward. We had to replace all the wires from the switch because of the distance and we also put a quick disconnect on the side of the house in case of an emergency. I was going to install it myself but, with the short wires and code putting it at least 6 feet from the building, I used an electrician that was... more
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Features, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Wires from switch not long enough
Douglas Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Ed L.
Coatesville, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/11/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
06
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Solid Product
I opted to save some money by paying with a check. This could have turned into a costly mistake, since the generator was not shipped when the hold period expired. Due to that I ended up installing during the Holidays, and beat the freeze up by two days.The packaging and delivery were first class, without so much as a scratch or tear in the cardboard packaging ( rare when shipping by freight).

My only complaint so far about the generator was that Generac supplies aluminum wiring for the main... more
Pros: Price, Features, Easy To Use, High Quality
Cons: Aluminum Main Feed Wires
Ed Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Jeff T.
Rodney, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/11/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
05
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Worked As It Should
Everything worked as it should. I ordered the cold weather starting package with the Generator. All generators should come set up to accept this kit. They should be pre-wired with accessible jacks, no panel removal no looking around for the right terminal. It took nearly 5-weeks to get the Generator after I ordered it.
Jeff Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Douglas B.
Barnstead, NH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/10/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
NOV.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Feel Bettery Having It
It came very quickly. It surprised me that it was here, in NH, in two days. The electrician says the manufacturers are much slower. Hooking it up went smooth and it started right up and supplied power upon testing it. I was a little bummed that I can't use the synthetic oil I have for other things because the manufacturer requires their oil only for warranty. I'll have to buy theirs. Haven't had a power outage yet, but probably will over the winter.
Pros: Price, High Quality, Durable
Douglas Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Jeff A.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/21/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Good So Far!
The free shipping was a big plus and worked well-the generator arrived about 10 days after ordering and was in perfect shape. This generator was pretty easy to install owing to the bulk of the electrical hookup being done by the factory. About 2 days after installation we had a power outage and sure enough it powered up as designed!
Jeff Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Kenneth E.
Spring Creek, NV
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/15/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
New Gen Set
I reveived the generator about a week ago. It came in good shape. The installion instructions were good and I just poured the pad and installed the transfer panel.I will let you know how the rest goes.
Kenneth Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
William N.
Westport, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/13/15
Total Reviews
4 Reviews
REVIEWED
JAN.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Delivery Process
Generator arrived in perfect condition parallelized and dropped at the end of my driveway as requested. Unit is now in place on its cement pad awaiting plumber to connect to the gas main of the house, will write review once completed on how she runs and performs.
Great job electric generators direct. 5 stars..... Since this purchase I've bought a ariens snowblower from the same people and love it.
William Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Craig
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/28/14
Total Helpful Votes
31 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
SEP.
22
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Should Be Well Worth It!
Just installed a 16kw Generac #6461. I did all the work myself except for the gas run from the meter to the unit. I am a retired electician, so it was a fairly straight forward installation. The gas line was done by a pro plumber.

The unit fired right up and the check out procedure was completed with no problems. I would recommend reading the instructions repeatedly ( 6 times or more) if you are going to do the work yourself. Should be well worth the time and money. Time will tell.
Pros: Features, Quiet, Price, High Quality
Cons: The Only Con Would Be Some Instructions Needed Clarifcation
Craig Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Craig's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Electric Generators Direct delivered everything as promised. I wouldn't hesitate to buy from them again or to recommend them to someone."
 more
Was this review helpful?
315
William B.
Townsend, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/29/14
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
25 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
20
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
William Bronold Tonsend Wisc.i Purched
I purchased a generator from Electric Generators Direct, and the people were very nice to deal with. They helped me by explaining how to set it up, and it was very easy. They also got me a cold weather kit. The generator and pack were delivered very quickly, and all was in good condition. Would deal with them any time will recommend to anybody that going to buy one also looking at other things they sell.
William Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
174
Charles P.
St. Joseph, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/28/14
Total Helpful Votes
13 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
20
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
New Automatic Generator
It is just now installed and works. I now have peace of mind about any outage either when I am home or gone.

The cost was competitive and the device is endorsed by consumer report.
Charles Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
132
David E.
Tiffin, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/8/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
29
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Everhart's Electrical Service
I purchased this unit to be installed for a customer. They are very happy and satisfied.

They even wrote me a check and paid their bill in full.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price, Reliable
David Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
2716
James O.
Boonville, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/21/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generac Generator
I received it on time, and it runs great. I can rest better knowing that I have it. Thanks for a good product.
James Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
90
Richard P.
Mccall, ID
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/6/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generac Works First Time
The Generac arrived exactly as promised. The installation and wiring by the electricians went well and it all looks neat and tidy. We flipped off the main breakers and away goes the generator. At 12:00 am the first of the month the generator stared right up for 10 minutes and then shuts down. To this point I couldn't be happier. It would be nice to have some sort of indicator that tells you if the generator did go off while you were away.
Richard Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Richard,
Thank you for your positive feedback. If you are interested in knowing whether or not your unit has operated while you are away from the unit, you have one of two options. First, the generator's control panel holds a History/Run Log, which can be accessed to identify the times at which the unit has operated. However, if you would like to access this information remotely, we would recommend considering our Mobile Link™ Remote Monitoring Device, which allows you to receive alerts on your phone, computer, or mobile device. To learn more about this particular accessory, please visit the following link: http://www.generac.com/all-products/parts-accessories/mobile-link . If there are any questions that we can answer for you, we can be reached 24/7 at 888-GENERAC (436-3722). Again, we thank you for your thoughtful submission.
more
Was this review helpful?
80
Francis Y.
Ruby, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/16/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
19
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Have Two!
I have 2 now - a 17kw and a 16kw

If I did not like the first I would not have bought the 2nd one.
Francis Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
125
Maurice R.
Cranston, RI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/6/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Insurance Policy
Had a 16kw generator installed and will probably never lose power again. Unit is all I thought it would be and gives me peace of mind.
Maurice Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Maurice,
We are pleased to learn that our product gives you peace of mind! Thank you for providing us with your review! If you haven't done so already, please be sure to register your unit with Generac Nation via the following link: https://register.generac.com/?cid=frm-105-aa . If you have any questions about the registration process, please contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722).
more
Was this review helpful?
50
Michelle B.
Traverse City, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/5/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
06
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Generac 16kw
Love the generator. It is quiet and very nice. I was very disappointed to look at the website today and see it was on sale for $400 less than what I paid and was told that I could not get that price though I received my generator 2 weeks ago. Other than that, very happy.
Michelle Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Generac Guardian 6461 reviews.Compare our Generac Guardian 6461 ratings. Find the Generac Guardian 6461 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct