Your Cart @ Power Equipment Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
< Back to Product

Generac Guardian 6439 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings - Product Discontinued

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Discontinued
 
$2,457.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$2,457.00
No Sales Tax* (Except CA,GA)
Visit Site
 
$2,258.10
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Generac Guardian 6439 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 5
Pros
Quiet (7)
Price (7)
Easy To Use (6)
I'd Buy It Again (5)
Reliable (5)
Cons
Low Quality (2)
Basic Wireless Monitor I... (1)
Wireless Monitoring Need... (1)
Bad Instructions (1)
I Don't Think The Instru... (1)
92% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
25 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Brooks W.
Marion, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/18/15
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
FEB.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Dependable Generator
I am an electrical contractor and have installed many of these units. I have never had a customer call back to tell me that the generator did not start in an outage. I have had them thank me when it did come on though!!
Brooks Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Michele
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/22/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Yippee
Finally. It's in and now I'm hoping for a power failure. We were able to wire up the whole house and I am confident that while away on Fire assignments, or vacation, everything in my house will work for the house sitters....automatically. Plus if a wildland fire is in the area, and we lose power, we will still have the ability to use our well for fire protection and turn on the roof sprinklers.
Michele Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Kevin L.
Springfield, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/20/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
DEC.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
11kw Generac
I bought this generator to back up our computer room in a small business setting. Very easy to install. Quite a few bad reviews but I bought a Generac 17KW six years ago for my house and it has operated flawlessly with almost 200 hours. So Bang for the buck we decided to go with another Generac. If you live in a cold climate I recommend the cold weather kit seems to work perfectly. The only thing I would like to see Generac offer, is a monitoring system that works, possibly hardwired. We bought... more
Kevin Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Peter W.
Amherst, NH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/1/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far So Good
Our new Generac Guardian 11KW generator comes on automatically for it's weekly test. I don't need to go out and start it myself or put fuel in it. It is tied into the 100Amp switch and a starter kit. It a a great standby generator which is connected into our Natural Gas line so no fuel worries.
Peter Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Kenneth F.
Seymour, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/9/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
NOV.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love The Generac Generator
We purchased the generator to operate our two sump pumps in our basement plus extra bonus of the whole house protection if the electricity goes out.
Kenneth Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Ray P.
Canandaigua, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/2/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect!!
We ordered using the pay by check method. Everything was perfect. Good communication every step of the way. Delivery was smooth. Install was straight forward.
Ray Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Ray,
We thank you for your thoughtful feedback! We're pleased to learn of your positive experience with our product and its installation. To ensure that your unit is properly registered with Generac Nation, please visit the following link: http://www.generac.com/generac-nation-sign-up?cid=frm-105-aa . If you have any questions about your product's registration, please know that we can be reached directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722).
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Robert M.
Blair, OK
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/28/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
05
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Generator But Be Aware!
Built my house in 2012 and installed a Generac GenReady Multi-Breaker Load Center and Transfer Switch which was supposed to allow for a trouble free installation of a guardian generator at a later date. However, after completion of the generator installation this year, there was a warning on the control pad that said "charger missing AC". After troubleshooting, it was determined that there is supposed to be a wire that connects to the transfer switch (T1) from the generator. The... more
Cons: Not Compatible With Generac Genready Load Center
Robert Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Frances P.
Bristol, RI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/22/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Let There Be Light
Finally on line, winter moving in. First snow of the year to hit the ground here in R.I. Starting off like last year, only difference when the power goes off we will still have electric. Even if it doesnt it feels great knowing we are prepared. No more extension cords, wondering if you have enough gas, available, and will the old gen start.
Frances Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Mike G.
Chicago, IL
REVIEWED
FEB.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
You Are On-guard With Generac
Live on N/W side of Chicago near Forest preserve, where it seems the power goes out quite a bit during winter and fall. Well last winter the power went out,and within 2hours the house was down to 55 degree's, all I could hear was my neighbors Generac purring like a cat, keeping them warm. That's when i decided it was time to buy the generator. Call Wolfgang Schnaufer Generac dealer who professionally installed unit. It was a pleasure doing business with him and his worker's.
Building Service's... more
Mike Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
-20
C F
Basking Ridge, NJ
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
69 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
OCT.
09
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Very Unreliable Product
I reviewed this item when I first got it and gave it a poor review because it leaked oil. Well things just keep getting worse. Since I had the oil leak the battery started leaking acid as well. After several weeks Generac agreed to replace the generator. They did this and when the new generator arrived, it had a blown fuse which the installer had to replace.

One week later when I tested it to power up the house the transfer switch broke and I had no power at all. The installer... more
Cons: Low Quality, Very Unreliable Product
C Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
383
Craig F.
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
69 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
22
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Leaks Oil
Installed product two weeks ago. On the installation test oil began leaking out. The installer reconnected some hoses that loosened and left. On the second week of testing the oil continues to leak I have been in touch with Generac for the two weeks since the incident and they have not responded at all other than to say they are reviewing the problem.
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable, Durability
Craig Does Not Recommend This Product
Robert, the Power Equipment Expert
Product Expert
Craig,
I would suggest getting in contact with your installer or a Generac service dealer in you area. There could be a manufacturing defect in your generator or you might have a loose fitting, hose or oil filter. This would be a fairly easy problem to diagnose. And if it is a defect, it would be covered under warranty.
more
Was this review helpful?
313
William M.
New Bern, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/7/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
18
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ready...
Generator arrived as promised. Opened up the package and set it in place. Wired up the transfer switch. Piped in the gas. Bled the line. Followed the start up procedure and.... we were running on stand by power. The generator is rated at 11 KW. Started my a/c and was running all other items in the house. We do have a gas water heater and stove. That is one of the reasons we went with the smaller generator. The fuel consumption is a little better than the larger models. It has been in place now... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, I'd Buy It Again
William Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
William Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"My experience with the transaction would best be described as flawless. The order process was seamless and hats off to the delivery truck driver. I paid extra for the lift gate service. Totally worth it. The truck driver was very helpful and even pulled it over to the pad so all I had to do was move it about six inches. Would have given him six stars if I could. Good service and a company that delivers when they say they will. I would recommend them to anyone looking to buy a generator product."
 more
Was this review helpful?
240
Tom M.
Marlton, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/19/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Experience!
We bought the backup generator for our mountain hunting camp in Pa. It backs up both the house and a new 1500sf barn we put up. I couldn't have had an easier experience in picking and ordering the generator and transfer switch. The entire process was a pleasure and the setup couldn't have been any easier. We have not needed it yet but winter is fast approaching so our only use so far was the setup and monthly test mode both were successful. We would recommend this product and company to anyone... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality
Tom Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
110
Shirley W.
Farmington Hills, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/20/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
25
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Energized!!!
After a six day outage due to a storm decided to commit to the insurance of standby power.

Since installation all weekly cycles have been flawless. When the next incident arrives we'll have 90% of our electric needs met.
On the whole a solid insurance against the uncontrollable.
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations, Fast
Cons: Heavy
Shirley Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
100
Ben K.
Guilford, CT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/25/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
27
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Bad Board On Delivery
My purchasing experience went as expected. Delivery took place as per the carriers scheduled delivery appointment. Unfortunately, once my authorized Generac installer/tech made all the connections my generator would not start due to a "bad board". The good news is my certified Generac installer/tech warehouses spare parts and was able to replace the part and get us up and running.
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Bad Board From Factory
Ben Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
111
Diane P.
Itasca, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/3/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
15
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Is A Replacement!
We had to replace our older (11yrs) generator. It is so comforting coming home knowing if the power is off, our generator will kick on and keep the house running!
Pros: Price, Durable, Quiet, Reliable
Cons: None
Diane Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Diane Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"This is the second generator we purchased from you folks. Once again we are 100% pleased. Your web site is easy to order from and our generator arrived quickly and in perfect condition. Thank you"
 more
Was this review helpful?
80
Alejandro A.
Cresskill, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/20/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
27
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Machine
After I installed the generator there has been only like 2 hours of blackout. But i have tested several times and have work flawlessly.
Installation was done by a professional installer and it really made a difference. I did some of the basic stuff and saved some money on the way.
Cons: Wireless Monitoring Needs A Paid Subscription, Basic Wireless Monitor Is Useless And Rather Dumb
Alejandro Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Alejandro's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I was able to get some good advices from you guys and really help me on the process. Not only was a clean sale but also I was able to get some general after sale support on several related devices and on my generator itself."
 more
Was this review helpful?
50
James D.
Enfield, CT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/14/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
01
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Peace Of Mind
I did a lot of research before I bought this unit. After being without power during the ice storm a few years back we wanted to make sure we would not have to endure another such experience. The order process was easy. I paid extra for the lift gate service. Totally worth it. The truck driver was very helpful and even helped me pull it over to the pad so all I had to do was move it about six inches. Polite, courteous, helpful and extremely friendly. Good service and a company that delivers... more
Pros: Price, Quiet, Reliable, Easy To Use
James Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
James Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy purchase process. Excellent product information. Reasonably and competitively priced. Excellent response time to questions asked."
 more
Was this review helpful?
50
Wes
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/6/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
04
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Colorado Countryman
A great generator. I am 72 years old and installed this unit by myself, although the advertising might be a little misleading. The unit weighs 400lbs. and is not easy to move or set in place. You will need some electrical and plumbing experience. The instructions call for a gas pressure tester and a voltage frequency meter (do you have them?). I may or may not be your average home owner, but yes, it is doable. The good news is that the unit has been in for a couple months and works great
Pros: Price, Quiet, Reliable, High Quality
Wes Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Robert, the Power Equipment Expert
Product Expert
Wes,
To protect your investment and your home, we always suggest having a certified electrician or installer.
more
Was this review helpful?
50
Norris W.
Magazine, AR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/2/14
REVIEWED
APR.
18
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Instructions
The pictures on the transfer switch don't match the transfer switch just as they are and it made it a little difficult to hook up.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, I Like The Speed Of The Transfer
Cons: Bad Instructions, I Don't Think The Instructions Are As Clear As Need To Be
Norris Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Robert, the Power Equipment Expert
Product Expert
Norris,
We always suggest having a licensed electrician or certified installer had the installation.
more
Was this review helpful?
51
Gary G.
Charlotte, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/31/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
Great product, work great, looks great.
Gary Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Ken K.
Lewiston, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/25/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
29
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
Everything as advertised, well built, quiet and durable.
Ken Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
41
Daniel M.
Ivoryton, CT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/28/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
19
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Helpful
Dealing with Direct was Great, very fast service. Sale people are very helpful when order and sent all the info on tracking whit in the same day ordering. Thank You
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Daniel Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Daniel Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"A ++++ rating"
 more
Was this review helpful?
52
Carol M.
Seaside Park, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/31/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
21
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Aftermath Of Superstorm Sandy
Super storm Sandy made me realize I never wanted to be without backup power again. Our electrician highly recommended this generator and we're glad we took his advise. Fortunately it hasn't been put to the test yet, but I'm confident it will do the job when needed.
Pros: Quiet, Features, I'd Buy It Again
Carol Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Carol Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Delivery was prompt and very efficient, and website easy to process the order."
 more
Was this review helpful?
53
Jack G.
Hampshire, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/28/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
18
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Unit & Easy To Install
I replaced a home design generator that has keep me safe for the past 28 years. After researching I picked Generac as I know other people that have one and like it.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Quiet, Reliable
Cons: Need Better Instructions On Connecting The Battery Charger
Jack Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Generac Guardian 6439 reviews.Compare our Generac Guardian 6439 ratings. Find the Generac Guardian 6439 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct