Your Cart @ Power Equipment Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
< Back to Product

Generac Guardian 6438 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings - Product Discontinued

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Discontinued
 
$2,997.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$2,997.00
No Sales Tax* (Except CA,GA)
Visit Site
 
$3,259.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$2,697.30
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Generac Guardian 6438 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 5
Pros
Price (22)
Easy To Use (15)
Reliable (14)
Quiet (14)
I'd Buy It Again (12)
Cons
No Cons Whatsoever (8)
Bad Instructions (2)
Dead Control Panel (1)
Wiring Diagrams Could Be... (1)
Dead (1)
96% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
73 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Ricky P.
Flora, MS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/21/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
NOV.
06
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generac 11 Kw
Purchased 11 kW Generac, hook up was a breeze for electrical. Really liked gas hookup, no extra regulator for LPG. It went through one exercise mode all okay. One week later, we lost power for 14 hours. The unit run perfect I was impressed
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Features
Ricky Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Ricky,
14 hours is a long time to go without power! We are glad that our product could be there for you when you needed it most. If you haven't done so already, please be sure to register your unit with Generac Nation to initiate your product's warranty. This process can be completed online via the following link: https://register.generac.com/?cid=frm-105-aa . Thank you for your positive review!
more
Was this review helpful?
63
Edward L.
Jackman, ME
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/22/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
AUG.
09
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mind Reassuring
No worries with this unit.
Edward Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Craig S.
Frederic, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/2/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generac 11kw
I'm very happy with this 11kw Generac Guardian. I could not pass up on this the price was right it runs everything that i need, and the free shipping right to my house was great. Plus no taxes.

Great deal, plus the electrician that you recommended, Steve Balyo Electric, did a great job and was very knowledgeable on how to wire up this generator. Yes i would recommend him to anyone.
Craig Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
33
Greg Z.
Holton, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/17/14
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
NOV.
14
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Met My Expectations
Purchased the generator in November, 2014 with the 200 A transfer switch and Mobile Link monitor. Delivery was prompt, free and easy. It was installed on November 13, 2014 and seven days later we lost power. Generator performed as expected and took power load in 15 secs. and carried house for 6 hours in the middle of the night. Could not hear it run it was so quiet.

A few months later while we were wintering in FL I got an alert from Mobile Link that power had been lost at our Michigan... more
Greg Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Greg,
While we are sorry to learn of the outages that you and your family have experienced, we are thrilled to know that the unit has been operating admirably when they've occurred! Thank you for providing us with your review, and don't forget to register your unit to initiate the product's warranty! To do so online, please visit the following link: https://register.generac.com/?cid=frm-105-aa
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Larry A.
Lima, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/21/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
NOV.
12
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Prices-fast Shipping!
The generator came 2nd day delivery. The driver provided liftgate service with roll away pallet truck, took it up my driveway & placed within 5 feet of my final location. Installation was pretty straight forward, after getting the gas line ran, we were up & operational next day. Great pricing & delivery service.
Larry Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Donald K.
North Tonawanda, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/2/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Purchase
Very happy so far. Met and exceeded my expectations. Great value.
Donald Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Elwood S.
Kinde, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/17/16
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAY.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Now I'm Fully Prepared
I love my Generac generator. It was fully installed and started up for it's exercise period this morning. I also like the battery charging system and the shut down if the oil pressure drops. The programmer is easy to understand and change. I'm asthmatic and need my concentrator. Thank You again.
Elwood Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Robert S.
San Clemente, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/17/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
High Quality Product
I just installed a Generac 11kW generator. I was really impressed by the quality of the product right down to the quality of the bolts used. The commercial power went out 3 days after installation for 8 hours. I had power the entire time...that felt really good!
Robert Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Kevin S.
Lenore, ID
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/31/14
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
APR.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Still Running Great.
I am writing this review as a follow up to my review dated 1/3/15 because what you really need to know is how does it continue to perform?

After two years our 11kw propane fired generator continues to perform with no problems. About 6 months ago after the weekly startup and test run I noticed a green/yellow light. I checked the panel and found battery needed charging. I completed the charge the warning light has not appeared again.

We have outages several times each year due to high... more
Kevin Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
12
Budd M.
Millersburg, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/22/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generator
i was happy with every thing shipping handling would do it again.
Budd Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
12
Cesar N.
Weston, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/4/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generac Guardian 11kw
Excelent Product. I recommend Electric Generators Direct and de Generac Guardian 11kW.
Cesar Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Frank P.
Little Rock, AR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/22/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Feeling Of Safety!
The generator has been installed for 2 months without having to use it but it is a good feeling to hear the tests come on!
Frank Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Clark H.
Medical Lake, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/29/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generac Standby Generator
I needed standby power to operate my well pump, water heaters and furnace plus a few lights and plug ins. The 1100kw Generac is perfect for my needs and then some!
Clark Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Clark,
We are thrilled to learn of your positive experience with our product! Thank you for providing us with your review. If you haven't done so already, be sure to properly register your unit with Generac Nation. For your convenience, the registration process can be completed online via the following link: http://www.generac.com/generac-nation-sign-up?cid=frm-105-aa . If you have any questions about your product or the registration process, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722). Again, we thank you for your thoughtful feedback!
more
Clark's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Everything was superb!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
34
Larry C.
Topeka, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/29/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far So Good
Installed with assistance from plumber for Natural Gas line (had to increase capacity from existing and have gas company replace meter), and Electrical Contractor who installed a new 200 amp breaker box between meter and Gererac Transfer switch. One contractor proposed mounting the transfer outside by the meter housing as it is rated as NEMA 3R for exterior use.

However, the technician said he would like to mount the Transfer switch inside as he had mounted one outside and moisture got in... more
Larry Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Dean C.
Millerstown, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/30/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Unit, Local Shipping Bad
Very fast shipping from GD to PA, was here in 3 days. I live on a farm with rural roads and have a very good gravel driveway to my house. The local trucking co even with lift-gate service refused to come up my drive to unload unit.

I had to put on the bed of my pickup or otherwise the box would be beside the road in my corn field!! I then had to use a loader tractor to get it off my truck to site at my house. This needs improved!! Very happy with unit and installation by Powerton... more
Dean Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Robert, the Power Equipment Expert
Product Expert
Dean,
We currently do NOT offer White Glove Service for freight items. You are responsible for getting the products from the curb to your garage.
more
Was this review helpful?
12
Kevin W.
Preston Hollow, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/25/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generac Generator
Got it in great condition and the shipping was fast. I didn't get to hook it up right away but when I did it was a great machine and gave me a Great Piece of Mind. I really love doing business with PED. The products are always quality and the shipping is always lighting fast. Thank You and keep up the Great work.
Kevin Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
12
Jeffery R.
Grayling, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/10/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Electric Generators Direct Delivers
I am very happy with my purchase from Electric Generators Direct. They followed thru and kept me informed about ship date and delivery. Also took advantage of the pay by check option. Even thou it looked like the generator I bought was back ordered after I payed for it. They still shipped mine on time.
Jeffery Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
34
Odell K.
Harrogate, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/11/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Surprise Use
Local power company programmed 1 hour outage at 2:00 AM Sunday morning, (2) days after we had unit installed. Unit started up and run perfectly (wife had to wake me up to hear it) I turned on all the appliances we had planned to use the generator for and everything worked just fine. Unit is well made. It definitely will not disturb our nearest neighbor who is 150 away.
Odell Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
12
Robert
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/17/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
30
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Expectations Met
Recieved the shippment quickly and efficiently - everything was there and box was not damaged.
Great trucking company -driver went out of his way to drop the shipment close to the house.

No visible damage on carton but unit appears to have twisted since the front pannel does not sit straight - every thing is level but can see where pannel rides higher in one corner. Not enough to impact product integrity - just as long as my wife does not see the lines do not matcg up - I am okay.
Rate... more
Robert Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
12
Lee F.
China, ME
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/16/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
30
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Standby Generac 11k
Unit has been installed for 3 weeks - Running weekly as programmed - Waiting for next power outage to test - Unit arrived in good shape.
Lee Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
12
John N.
New Bern, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/2/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
04
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just What I Needed
Just purchased this 11 KW Generac generator. My biggest problem was figuring out what size I needed to run my 3 ton AC. some websites said that an 11 KW would and some said that it would not. Electric Generators Direct said it would and they were right it will run my whole house.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Bad Instructions
John Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
603
Stefan H.
Lovingston, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/15/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
26
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Generator But
Consult with a Generac technician or electrician very familiar with generators as the instructions for this model are incredibly bad. Really bad.
I own a solar and electrical contracting company so generators are nothing new for us but Generac and this model prompted me to write a review because this is NOT a diy project. At least not with the instructions provided. By saying "adhere to local and NEC codes" for the electrical is lazy in my opinion and has nothing to do with... more
Pros: High Quality, Features, Reliable
Cons: Bad Instructions
Stefan Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Robert, the Power Equipment Expert
Product Expert
Stefan,
We always suggest having a generator installed by certified Generac installer.
more
Was this review helpful?
5713
Spencer A.
Amelia, LA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/3/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
03
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Our 11 Kw Generac Gurdian Generator
We are truly satisfied with our new 11 KW generator. Setting generator onto location spot was not a problem, my 12 year old grandson and myself were able to do this. The electrical wiring was not a problem at all due to the manuals that come with the generator. Simple and easy to understand all the manuals and drawings.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Price, High Quality
Spencer Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
444
Ken
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/19/13
REVIEWED
FEB.
13
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Generator
I bought one for my daughters house and installed it myself with no problems. Easy installation and good instructions. I liked it so well that I bought another one for my house to replace an existing generator. I think it is a great value for the money. I installed both my daughters and mine with the automatic transfer switch which on my old generator it was a manual transfer switch. Powers the whole house with no problem along with my well pump.
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Features, Exceeded Expectations
Ken Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
434
Carl
Myers, CT
REVIEWED
JAN.
06
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
10 K Generac / Auto Transfer
We live in the upper, most wooded part of Connecticut. To say power outages here is common is an understatement. I lived with a gasoline 6800 watt unit for years. My wife could not put it into operation unless I was home. I finally said enough and purchased The Generac 10 K with auto transfer. Wow what a unit. It starts itself weekly, does its own trouble shooting, ,tells you when to change oil and starts weather I am home or not. My wife is ecstatic. Made points with her and I am happy too. Ya... more
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Quiet, I'd Buy It Again
Carl Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
435
Catherine A.
Bowling Green, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/31/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
26
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
They Thought I Was Crazy To Order This Online...
Last winter we lost power for 2 days. I am 59 and my husband is 68. He is still working but we both realize we are getting a little long in the tooth to be slip sliding around outside trying to yank on a generator cord, in the dark, in the cold, in the rain, sleet and snow. Then there is the very real possibility of one of us falling trying to rig up temporary electricity and trying to drag that person into a vehicle to get to a hospital when the roads are less than inviting. So we both made... more
Pros: Price, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: No Cons Whatsoever
Catherine Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Catherine's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I have told everyone who will listen about How Wonderful Electric Generators Direct is and our experience with you. I hope you make a KaZillion Dollars and stay in business Forever! You truly deserve it!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
447
Malcolm D.
North Kingstown, RI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/5/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
03
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Product
The generator arrived within a week. It was well packed. The installation was fairly easy (according to the Electrician & Plumber). It has only run on the weekly test so far and hopefully I will not need it very often, but cannot judge further until the power goes out!!
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Price
Malcolm Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
5115
John H.
Inlet, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/6/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
28
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Guardian 11kw Model #6438
I purchased the Guardian 11kw model #6438 in August of 2014 and did all the prep. work (ie: dug the ditch for the conduit and gas line as well as prepared the concrete slab per specification. However had a licensed electrician to hock up the generator to the meter and house entrance.

This was a complicated project and would not recommend performing this by yourself as the weekend tool man. Everything went like clock work and came on without an issue. By the way the price was the great.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Fast
Cons: Would Not Try To Hock Up To Meter By Your Self
John Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
John's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I contacted the technical team several times to discuss all the features and options so as to make the best choose, the team was extremely knowable and made the process so easy."
 more
Was this review helpful?
313
Allain
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/24/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
03
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Poor Quality Control
Some one along the quality control line did not check to see if the key locks that secure the generator enclosure lid worked properly.

One of the two lid locks was so tight it took a wrench to turn the key even after the lid was depressed to relieve the pressure on the lock. The second lock worked as it should but did NOT work with the spare set of keys supplied with the unit. I am worried now that this small issue is a sign of more serious quality control issues yet to come. Time will tell.
Pros: Too Early To Tell
Cons: Key Locks Do Not Work, Poor Quality Control
Allain Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
4216
Kenn H.
Volcano, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/30/13
REVIEWED
FEB.
14
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generac Has By Back
Moved back to the woods. 3500 feet elevation, lots of outages. Got on line, found you, caught a special & will live happily ever after. I just turned 79. I look out to see the little green lite all day long.
Pros: Price, Quiet, Reliable, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: No Cons Whatsoever
Kenn Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
305
Stephen O.
Brockton, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/6/14
REVIEWED
MAY.
18
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Generator
I wanted a generator that would power the whole house. I bought a portable Generac 7500 watt 10 years ago and used it several times over the years. It always started and never quit running even after several hours. I upgraded to the 11kw Generac and after installing it and using it during a recent power outage I knew I made the right decision. The generator was flawless started right up and ran very quietly. The installation was easy and the directions were very complete from the size of gas... more
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Reliable, Durable
Cons: No Cons Whatsoever
Stephen Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Stephen's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The website was easy to use and after looking at different Generacs I decided on the 11kw. It was easy to purchase and was shipped quickly."
 more
Was this review helpful?
295
Richard J.
Honor, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/9/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
22
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Completely Self Sufficient
This Generac is a stand alone system, selfsufficient, with minimal maintenance required. Exactly what we needed for living Up North with some crazy weather, with an occasional 3 day power outage and some road closures.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Fast, I'd Buy It Again
Richard Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
273
Bill
REVIEWED
MAR.
19
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
-20 Below Started Right Up!
Had this baby installed last summer. Long cold winter in Illinois. One morning -20 below -35 below wind chill out goes the power! The Generac fired right up within 10 seconds and ran until power back on! Thank you Generac!
Pros: Price, Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, Reliable
Bill Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
296
Alfred B.
North Berwick, ME
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/29/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
06
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
More Than I Bargained For
They finished installing my 11kW yesterday, and it works like a charm. We can hardly hear it running, it switches from one source to the other without a hitch. Great investment.
Alfred Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
3212
Muriel G.
Hackettstown, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/17/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
01
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Generator Does Not Run
Register generator 3 weeks ago the generator ramp in 3 minutes started making a banging noise shut it down try to restore it it will not start call Generac headquarters numerous times no help at all not happy they gave me telephone numbers to a Generac dealers in my area two of them don't even service Generac I need this fixed or replaced
Muriel Does Not Recommend This Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Muriel,
We are sorry to learn of the issues that you are currently experiencing with your automatic standby generator. Please know that we are unable to diagnose your unit's issues or provide warranty coverage over the phone. Considering this, we do recommend contacting an independent authorized service provider in your local area for any diagnostic or servicing work that may be required. Moreover, these trained professionals are able to provide any warranty coverage that may apply in accordance with the product's warranty policy. If the options that we have provided to you over the phone are unable to provide the services that you currently require, please know that additional servicing options can be located online via the following link: http://www.generac.com/dealer-locator?cid=frm-100-ab . If you have any additional comments, questions, or concerns, or if we can help you in any other way, please feel free to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722). We do apologize for any frustration that may have stemmed from this unfortunate experience.
more
Was this review helpful?
3016
Gordon F.
Marlow, OK
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/2/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ready For Ice Storms
My friends at Bishop Electric just finished with electrical hook up of my Generac. I could not be more pleased. We could carry on a conversation with the Gen running with cover off. It is much quieter than I expected. The only thing I will have to do after a power outage is reset all the clocks. Power shuts off and in 8 sec. Gen is up and running. No way I could be happier. Oh by the way, my electrician has a Generac.
Gordon Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Gordon,
Thank you for your positive feedback! We wish to also remind you that you can receive additional information and consumer alerts, by joining Generac Nation. To get started, you can register your unit here: http://www.generac.com/generac-nation-sign-up?cid=Resi-BazaarVoice-GNsignup
more
Was this review helpful?
228
Jon H.
Worthington, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/8/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
30
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Generator
I got the electricity switched over last week. That was the only part I needed a professional to do, mostly because of the required inspection sticker and removal of the meter.

The generator started on the first try. Everything works like a charm. It works exactly as advertised, automatically switching over when the power goes out, and back when the power comes back on. And my wife is very happy, which is what really counts.
Jon Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
185
Dennis
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/31/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
11
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generac Guardian Best In Class
Real fast, my buddy has a Kohler. I was going to buy the same one. I'm a contractor here in NY on LI, mentioned it to my electrician who happens to be a Generac Dealer He showed me a few his company installed, the Generac's have way more over Kohler.

It's like buying a portable generator. Honda is the Best.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Wrong Instructions
Dennis Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
218
Warren D.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/8/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
21
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Thar She Goes!
I recently bought a 200A generator from your company. When I heard it might be damaged in transit, your people took no chances and had it redirected back to the company while a new one was sent out to replace it. It is finally installed and running. Just in time for the power outage season up here in Maine: WINTER! Now I can't wait to see this unit running without me going out into an ice storm to get the old gasoline unity up and running.
"Wicked good", this!
Warren Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
175
Terry M.
Lompoc, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/24/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Well Worth The Money
We bought this because the power was always going out here. My brother-in-law is a electrical contractor and came all the way up from San Diego and hooked it up.

This 11 kw runs the whole house now and we just love it. Great machine and I have a large 200 gal LP tank that supplies the house & generator.
Pros: Price, Quiet, Reliable, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: No Cons Whatsoever
Terry Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
143
Donna W.
Clinton, CT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/5/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
16
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Peace Of Mind Guarantee
Terrific, timely customer ordering process. Very courteous, thorough, fast delivery, really like delivery notification program. Great product - affordable pricing - my system is in place and available - a great peace of mind for winter heating/water needs, etc. Thanks for your helpfulness, and two family members will also be contacting you for their generator needs shortly. Many thanks.
Pros: Price, Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, Features
Donna Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
132
Don R.
Levittown, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/22/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Job
Thank you for doing such a great job. Will buy from Electric Generators Direct again. Thank you for great service, and the carrier that delivered. Super Job!!
Don Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
166
Thomas Y
Frederick, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/29/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
22
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Like My Generator Alot
Generator was very easy to set up.The instructions manual tells you everything I think you need to know. The 200A service disconnect was easy to install, but you do need an electrician to help, you have to pull your meter.But it is worth it, you can power your whole panel instead of just a few circuits,just do not use what you do not need at that point in time.
Thomas Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
133
Ron M.
Lamoine, ME
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/15/14
REVIEWED
APR.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Generac 6438 Performance
I love my Generac 11kw Stan by Power Generator model 6438 is great. I recently began having problems with it. Orange light comes on and says error 2400 Fuse. Come to find out after several hours trying to figure out why the ORANGE light, we find out it's the software.

A problem with the software required I find a repair man, which I have, to fix the problem. I purchased this Generac 11 kw in September 2014 and was installed the following weekend. Never a problem just a software issue.
more
Ron Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Ron,
We would like to apologize for the issues that you have experienced with your automatic standby generator. As you have alluded, Generac's Error Code 2400 alludes to a fuse problem. Please note that the cause(s) of this alarm will vary from one scenario to the next; all instances are not directly associated with a software issue. Considering this, we would recommend first verifying whether the 7.5 amp fuse is blown on the generator’s control panel, or if the N1, N2, or T1 fuses are blown in the transfer switch if/when this particular alarm occurs. If after performing these tasks the problems persist, we would then recommend verifying that the N1, N2, and T1 control wiring running from the generator to the transfer switch is providing the correct amount of voltage to/from the generator and transfer switch. If all of these fuses are appropriately applied and the wiring is configured for optimal operation, we would then recommend attempting to clear the alarm, by putting the unit into the OFF position and pressing the ENTER button. If you are unable to remedy the situation by performing these steps, we would then recommend contacting an independent authorized service provider in your local area for further diagnostic work. To locate an independent authorized service provider closest to you, please use your postal code for searching purposes via the following link: http://www.generac.com/dealer-locator?cid=frm-105-ab
more
Was this review helpful?
113
Jason A.
Clifton, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/22/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
13
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Product Is Great But Shipping Is Another Story
After I finally got my generator ( after waiting for scheduled drop offs which the shipping company never showed) I was very pleased with product. Electric Generators Direct should look for a different shipping outfit because that can adversely affect there business.
Pros: Price, Quiet, Durable, Reliable
Jason Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
169
James W.
Valley Center, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/27/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product For The Price
Purchased 11kW home standby. Very happy with
quality of product. Easy to install. Runs quiet.
James Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
83
Hollis C.
Searsmont, ME
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/24/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
06
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Power Outage
We lost power in a blizzard on 11/2 and our new generator kicked in immediately. The whole neighborhood was out for 3 days, but we were warm and cozy in our home.

We love our new generator.
Thank you!
Hollis Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
72
Robert M.
Mason, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/4/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
04
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Without A Problem.
We live in the country in Michigan. Brutal winters, you bet. We got this to avoid babysitting a generator. Works like a good watch with minimal oversight.

Had a problem finding a qualified installer on this site, so if you're in rural Michigan, I recommend looking at Generac's website for the ones listed there.
Pros: Price, Quiet, Easy To Use, Reliable
Cons: No Cons Whatsoever
Robert Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
83
Kevin S.
Lenore, ID
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/31/14
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JAN.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Addition To Our Home
We purchased our 6438 generator and transfer switch about a year ago after a five day power outage due to a wind storm. I did all of the site work myself (generator pad--propane lines--underground electrical conduit) which was unique to our particular installation.

I had no problem with any of the instructions but I did take the time to get very familiar with them. We did hire an electrician to help with the electrical when it was time to do the final "hook up". That portion took... more
Pros: Quiet, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality
Cons: No Cons Whatsoever
Kevin Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
40
David B.
Watertown, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/7/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
22
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
One Of The Best Investments
Electric Generators Direct,

I just finished installing my Generac standby generator system a few days ago. This unit is outstanding and fairly easy to install. ( I had an electrician oversee the electrical hookup !) This unit works perfectly, just as your info on your website states! You made ordering and shipping easy!

I HAVE and will Continue to recommend you to anyone I know interested with purchasing one of these units!
David Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
73
Gregory Z.
Holton, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/17/14
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
NOV.
14
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Outstanding Product
Our 11KW Generac whole house standby generator with 200 amp transfer switch was installed yesterday. Since we are already in sub freezing temps here in Michigan, I already feel more comfortable knowing our home is protected from power outages.

The unit has excellent features and really does operate completely automatically. It operates very quietly while powering our entire home. I will definitely have peace of mind when away from the home for extended periods of time and have all of our... more
Gregory Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
84
Kevin K.
Binghamton, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/10/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
03
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Package
Bought the 11KW generator package with 200 amp transfer switch and was very happy with PED service. The price was right and shipped right to the house. I would recommend them to anyone looking for one of these.
Kevin Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
84
Paul B.
Albion, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/4/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
04
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Power Loss
Lost power on July 1st. Generator performed flawlessly for 2 days.
Pros: Price, Quiet, Easy To Use, Reliable
Cons: No Cons Whatsoever
Paul Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
73
Larry G.
Timbo, AR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/30/15
REVIEWED
APR.
20
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Product
Would like to thank Electric Generators Direct for prompt, timely service. Installed new generator have only made it operate power has not been out , but I'm sure it will be soon. Choose the 11 for the difference in fuel consumption. Seems to run our whole house just fine. Should have installed one sooner. The peace of mind knowing my freezers will be okay if I'm not at home is great.

Thanks again Electric Generators Direct!
Larry Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Nancy M.
Harrison, ME
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/30/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generac 11k
Recent purchase
Very happy with the customer service and delivery
Would recommend this company
Nancy Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Ken R.
Bruce, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/20/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
03
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Experience
From the online order to the day it was delivered, it was an excellent experience. The sales staff was very friendly and informative when I spoke to them on the phone. I was amazed at how fast I received my order. It was only a few days! The lift gate service was great too! I will make more purchases from them and highly recommend them. The generator works great! Thanks!!
Pros: Price, Quiet, Easy To Use, Reliable
Cons: No Cons Whatsoever
Ken Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Art K.
Hagaman, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/25/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
29
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Purchase In Years
I searched locally and on the net, but I found the best price at Electric Generators Direct for my Generac whole house generator.
My experience with this dealer was perfect.

The website was user friendly and fast. The product was processed and shipped fast. The delivery was on time along with lift gate service. After installation, we were up and running without failure.

Lastly, If you have any questions they have the answers. Thank you Electric Generators Direct.
Art Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Art's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I already made recommendations. Your the best."
 more
Was this review helpful?
41
Richard P.
Schnectady, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/12/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
01
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just Finished, Instalation Went Well
The installation was completed on 12/31/2 all went well. Instructions were complete.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Reliable
Richard Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
85
Gilbert B.
Byron, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/1/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
01
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Dead Out Of The Box
Purchased this unit on August 1st of 2015, completed installation this past weekend, followed instructions carefully, charged and connected battery, installed fuse, all indicator lamps are lit Auto/Manual/Off, external indicator lamps are all lit, the green, red and yellow are all lit indicating a fault.

No LCD shows up on the panel, appears the control panel on the generator is dead. Customer service says to call a certified Generac repair shop. Not a good start. I'm a trained... more
Pros: Price
Cons: Dead, Dead Control Panel
Gilbert Does Not Recommend This Product
Robert, the Power Equipment Expert
Product Expert
Gilbert,
We're sorry to hear you've had a negative experience. Chances are, the customer service representatives there aren't authorized to give repair advice due to liability reasons. They prefer you take it in to their certified/authorized repair shop so they can have someone who's worked with these units take a look at it and determine if it can be repaired.

By bringing it to an authorized repair location, they will more than likely cover it under warranty. Try taking it there, and feel free to contact us should you need further assistance with this process.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Gilbert,
We are sorry to learn of your experienced issues. Please know that our customer service representatives are not professionally trained to diagnose your unit's issues over the phone. Moreover, while we manufacture these products, we do not provide diagnostic or servicing work, as these tasks would need to be performed by an independent authorized service provider in your local area. These professionals have gone through in-depth training to not only determine the cause of a unit's issues, but to provide any warranty coverage that may apply as well. Considering this, we do recommend contacting the independent authorized service provider closest to you to ensure that your unit is serviced appropriately. To locate an independent authorized service provider locally, please use your postal code for searching purposes via the following link: http://www.generac.com/dealer-locator?cid=frm-100-ab . If you would like to learn more about the servicing process, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722).
more
Was this review helpful?
119
Danny R.
Dexter, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/21/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Generator
We just got our first ice storm since I purchased the 11kw Generac Standby Generator in Nov. 2014. It performed for about 5 hrs. just as it was advertised to do. I have no complaints at all. It runs very quiet.

If it continues to perform this way, it will be one of the best purchases I have made. We have been down in single digits in temperature, and it has started up, without a problem, every Wednesday at 12:00 and runs for 12 minutes.

I would recommend this generator and this... more
Danny Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Danny,
Thank you for submitting a thorough review of your automatic standby generator. Don’t forget to join Generac Nation, obtain warranty-related information, and receive consumer alerts, by registering your unit properly via the following link: http://www.generac.com/generac-nation-sign-up?cid=Resi-BazaarVoice-GNsignup
more
Was this review helpful?
31
Richard P.
Portage, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/8/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
13
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
11kw-natural Gas
Still waiting for our electrician to do the hookup. The generator was definitely crated well. I was surprised there wasn't an outlet inside the gray panel, everyone I've seen has had one.
Other than that, we're looking forward to the piece of mind of not having to baby sit our two underground water pumps that are inside the house.
Richard Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
53
Gary O.
Conover, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/17/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
07
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Job !!!
Very happy with purchase!
Pros: Price, Quiet, Reliable, Features
Gary Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Gary Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"GREAT JOB !!!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
97
Roger A.
Park City, MT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/30/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
06
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generac Guardian 11kw
We were in need of a Generator because where we live, we have frequent power outages. We have sump pumps and when the power goes out, the water rises!

So far, the lightning caused one outage for a moment. And sure enough, the generator kicked in. That was a wonderful sound. I think we will be very thankful in the future with the Generac 11KW.
Roger Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Roger,
We are pleased to learn that our unit operated admirably during your time of need! Thank you for providing us with your submission! Also, be sure to register your unit with Generac Nation to ensure that you are able to initiate your product's warranty. For your convenience, registration can be completed online: http://www.generac.com/generac-nation-sign-up?cid=frm-100-aa
more
Was this review helpful?
10
David W.
South Branch, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/5/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
18
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fast Shipper
Very good machine works great,
David Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Eric B.
Oregon City, OR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/3/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
26
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product, Great Price, Reliable
Bryant Power Services bought and installed this product. It replaces an older coleman powermate unit that did not work. Electric Generators Direct got this unit to us quickly and flawlessly to get our customer back in business without much wait time. Thank you. Great service
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Reliable, High Quality
Eric Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
43
Edward W.
Windham, NH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/29/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
I love my new generator...it's quality built...can't wait for a power failure!
Edward Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert W.
Nashua, NH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/26/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just Installed
Your recommended Installer was outstanding Gallagher Electric was outstanding. No power outages yet, but the weekly test run is so smooth all the clocks keep running and the lights do not even flicker.
Robert Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Byron R.
Honeoye Falls, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/14/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
All Good
Generator arrived ahead of schedule. The recommended installer, Reliable Power Sytems, did a great job. We're completely satisfied!
Byron Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Kevin G.
Center Moriches, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/23/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Deal On The Market
Very good deal, extremely fast delivery and best price on the market.
Kevin Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Jarvis D.
Olmstedville, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/20/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Satisfied
Good service and price will not hook up until snow is gone.
Jarvis Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Bill H.
Conway, AR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/8/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
30
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Price
Contacted to check on shipping, very friendly and helpful.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Features
Cons: Wiring Diagrams Could Be Improved On, Wiring Diagrams Could Be Improved
Bill Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Bill's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast free shipping, no tax, and best price."
 more
Was this review helpful?
44
Mark
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/11/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
29
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Everything They Said It Would Be
Great generator.
Mark Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
24
Thomas Y.
Frederick, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/29/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
04
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
11kw Generator
Don't know yet. It will be getting installed in a few days. My electrician says it is easy to hook up.
Thomas Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
37
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Generac Guardian 6438 reviews.Compare our Generac Guardian 6438 ratings. Find the Generac Guardian 6438 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct