Search
< Back to Product

Generac Guardian 6237 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings - Product Discontinued

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Discontinued
 
$2,397.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$2,397.00
No Sales Tax* (Except CA,GA)
Visit Site
 
$2,719.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$2,204.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Generac Guardian 6237 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 5
Pros
I'd Buy It Again (24)
Easy To Use (17)
Price (14)
High Quality (11)
Exceeded Expectations (10)
Cons
Packaging (4)
Bad Instructions (4)
None (3)
Heavy (3)
Too Loud (1)
92% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
62 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Robert, the Power Equipment Expert
Power Equipment Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
103 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
8934 Helpful Votes
Power Equipment Direct Recommended

The Guardian 8 kW Emergency Power System is the smallest home standby generator offered by Generac Power Systems with their OHVI industrial engine.

It starts automatically -- just the like the bigger versions -- and protects mission critical appliances from power failure.

Here's the major difference. The 8 kilowatt version can restore power to 10 mission-critical circuits, including a sump pump, refrigerator, furnace fans, lights and more.

The 17 kW version can restore power to 16... more
Robert Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
25431
Rae Lyn
Block Island, RI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/29/15
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JAN.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nor' Easter
In the middle of a major snow storm. Its been blowing a solid 40 mph for hours, gusts to 60. On a small island out in the Atlantic. Generac has been running like a champ, best investment since my pellet stove .
Rae Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Paul H.
Lancaster, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/29/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Generator, Installed Several Hundred Of Them
Been installing the 8KW units from the start of production. They have been a great economy based packaged unit. Generac has discontinued them. The 8KW continues to have a high demand. I wish Generac would reconsider.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, High Quality, Features
Cons: None
Paul Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Robert, the Power Equipment Expert
Product Expert
Paul,
Generac has replaced the 8kW with the Generac 9kW
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Joseph G.
Warwick, RI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/31/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
31
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy Installation
Install was incredibly easy and straight forward. My only complaint was that I would have like to be able to pick a transfere switch with more circuits as part of the packaged deal. Unfortunately I have not lost power yet to try it out although it runs all circuits I need plays more when I kill the master to test it.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Price, Quiet
Joseph Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Larry K.
Clio, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/18/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mostly Good
I didn't like that I had to go online to make the generator work in automatic. Back door method of forcing the registration.
The lever to switch from NG to LP works so hard I was afraid I was going to break it before I could get it switched. There is also no click or other feedback to let you know you have rotated it enough. It says 180 degrees but just when is that. I could be at 178 degrees, and if so is that ok?
There is no way to shorten the conduit wire between the switch and the... more
Larry Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Robert, the Power Equipment Expert
Product Expert
Larry,
The activation is required for warranty tracking. 180 degrees would be a 1/2 turn from the original position that the switch was set. For additional questions regarding your installation, Generac can be reached directly @ 888-436-3722
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Sam O.
Sevierville, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/24/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Running Smooth Now
I had a little time delay getting replacement parts after first start up failed to turn off due to a failed component. Once that was replaced have had no issues, runs weekly test just fine.
Sam Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Steve B.
Lake Tapps, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/8/14
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
APR.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Buy Ever
We had used gas generators for years. We decided to install a natural gas standby generator in case I was not home. Best buy we've ever done. Works better than advertised.
Steve Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Thomas S.
York, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/7/13
Total Reviews
5 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
48 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
APR.
05
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Saved More Than The Day!
When a winter storm hit late in 2014, high winds and icing conditions caused multiple power outages in our area, including one that lasted five days. Our Generac Guardian 8KW Standby System saved not only the day, but the better part of a week, a refrigerator and freezer full of perishables, five nights in a hotel and meals eaten out for the whole period. Ours was the only house with lights and occupants in the area throughout that whole week, and many neighbors stopped by to find out why. ... more
Thomas Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Thomas,
It sounds like the unit is definitely serving its purpose! Thank you for providing us with your positive feedback; we are pleased to learn of your satisfaction with your 8kW automatic standby generator. At your earliest convenience, would you mind dropping sending us an email at ProductReviews@Generac.com? We would like to learn more about your ownership experience. Either way, we appreciate your business and thoughtful review!
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Glenn H.
Port Henry, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/9/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
14
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Unit
Easy install, everything started and switched like clock work!
Glenn Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
10
David L.
Franklin, CT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/13/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
05
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easiest Install!!!
I don't think Generac can make it any easier for us electricians than this package right here.
David Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Steve C.
Ardmore, OK
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/11/13
Total Helpful Votes
57 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
OCT.
02
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Satisfied Customer
Arrived on time without any damage. Everything was there. I had the pad already made and set the generator. Made all the electrical connections and then tested the unit. It started right up the first time.

I have it running on LP Gas.. Using it for backup power for a water well and storm cellar..
View Image
View Image
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Reliable, High Quality
Steve Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
5722
Tom
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/25/13
Total Helpful Votes
75 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
SEP.
07
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
8 Kw Generac
Just had our first outage a few weeks after installation. Last Sunday morning, we heard a crash in the yard, a huge box elder fell over, severing our electric feed. A few seconds later, our new Generac started, and then the lights were back on! Our "mission critical" circuits are all backed up, and we are happy campers.

Installation was straightforward. My most difficult task was site preparation, our land is very hilly & uneven.

One oversight by Generac, the transfer... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, Features
Tom Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Robert, the Power Equipment Expert
Product Expert
Tom,
Yes, the transfer switch instructions do state the following so our concern would be how you have the unit wired.

Page 7
3. Note position of transfer mechanism main contacts by observing the moveable contact carrier arm.
• Manual operation handle towards the top of switch mechanism - LOAD terminals (T1, T2) are connected to utility terminals (N1, N2).
• Manual operation handle towards the bottom of switch mechanism - LOAD terminals (T1, T2) are connected to emergency terminals (E1, E2).

**Your utility and emergency connections to N1, N2 and E1, E2 may be backwards.
more
Was this review helpful?
753
Richard R.
Doylestown, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/27/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
19
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good, But With Reservations
Arrived with minor shipping damage to base due to fork lift attack, since repaired. Documentation emphasizes do not drag unit off pallet, lift it instead, but you don't know this because the documentation is hidden in the battery compartment behind the front panel, which you first need to remove. A simple little sticker on the outside could have told you that. The same sticker could also have told you that to lift it you need 2 iron pipes 1" diam x 36" to go through the chassis holes,... more
Pros: Quiet, Features, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Bad Instructions, Packaging
Richard Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
786
James D.
Houston, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/23/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
04
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Basic Generator
This runs almost everything in my house (3500 sq ft) except the central Ac units. It will run a couple of small window units if needed. I installed it myself and that is fairly easy to do if your handy. All wiring labeled for easy hookup, and I used a 3/4" flexible gas line for the natural gas.
Works good and hopefully last a long time.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Reliable, Easy To Install
James Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
515
Tom S.
York, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/7/13
Total Reviews
5 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
48 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
OCT.
27
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Hard To Beat This One!
I received my 8KW Generac Guardian Standby Generator, No. 6237, on the date promised, and in perfect condition. Though I used a licensed electrician to install and wire it, and a licensed plumber to run the natural gas line, there was nothing complicated about the installation and, if I had the time to do so, I believe I could have installed it myself. The generator went successfully through load and self-checks, a "simulated" power failure, and a weekly exercise, all without a... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Reliable, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Tom Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Tom Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The experience was perfect in every way, from order through delivery."
 more
Was this review helpful?
335
David A.
Teaticket, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/8/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
19
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
8kw Standby Gas Generator
After having the generator back ordered finally arrived. Had it pro installed. The 5' cord to the transfer switch was too short.Code reguires that the generator must be 5' from the house,6' would have been better.You should also offer a longer prewired cord from the generator to the panel.Needed 5 more feet. This upped the installation costs. Got the wireless module. A nice feature, but not a mention of the costs for the service, free 12mos then $99 a year. We will see how it goes when we have... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Features, Price
Cons: Bad Instructions, Packaging
David Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Robert, the Power Equipment Expert
Product Expert
David,
It's clearly stated on the Mobile Link's Product Page that this is a fee after the first year...

1st Year Of Monitoring Is Included With Purchase
•Annual & monthly plans from as little as $8/month
more
Was this review helpful?
303
Jim K.
Bloomington, IL
REVIEWED
FEB.
27
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Heat Kit
Purchased Generac in 2012. Installer/seller neglected to tell us, here in Illinois, equipment doesn't really want to start on a 10 degree, 5 degree day. You may purchase a heat kit for a couple hundred dollars to cure this problem. Don't know cost of install.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Jim,
For our automatic standby generators, if you expect the temperature to drop below freezing, we recommend utilizing a 5W-30 Synthetic oil, which can be used year round. We also recommend using a cold weather kit, which includes a battery warmer and a crankcase heater. Using the correct oil and cold weather kit will help to ensure that the generator will start, and run, in below-freezing temperatures. Please note that such an installation is not mandatory, and making such an addition to your configuration can be completed at any time by an independent authorized dealer. For the pricing of a particular product and an associated installation, we would recommend contacting an independent authorized dealer closest to you. To locate the nearest independent authorized dealer, please use your postal code for searching purposes here: http://www.generac.com/dealer-locator?category=1-?cid=socialmedia-Resi-Locator. If you have any other product-related inquiries, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722).
more
Was this review helpful?
273
Roger S.
Houston, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/18/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
30
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
I Only Wish...
This is for Generac, not for the folks that sold this one to my customer. I've been installing generators for a long time. I installed 2 Generac's for my family, they bought them, not me. When are you going to build a NEMA 3R transfer case and satisfy the need for us folks here in Texas were 98% of all homes have outside services. I recommend Kohler, not Generac do to that fact. On all the outside services, I have to purchase a NEMA 3R can, install the transfer switch in it and then... more
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Read My Comments Above
Was this review helpful?
235
Andrew L.
Saddle Brook, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/5/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
26
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Unit
Customer satisfaction as always. Great unit in time of need.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Andrew Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Andrew Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I have ordered and installed many with free delivery and great service every time. Our business will continue."
 more
Was this review helpful?
2710
Bob
Plymouth, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/31/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
04
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Investment
I had a approved Generac dealer electrician install for $1800. He had to bore thru my foundation. The switch for choosing propane or natural gas arrived broken.He got it taken care of under warranty. A Generac factory rep did this work. We just got blasted with gale winds and 2 ft. of snow. But, didn't need the generator as so far electricity stayed on. Last Feb. we lost power for 5 days. It's comforting hearing it start up and run it's test every week. Good investment. Total cost w/ electric,... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, Easy To Store, Fast
Cons: Packaging
Bob Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Bob Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Service would have been 5 stars except for the delivery. Delivery was about a week and 1/2 from order placement. Web-site is good resource for reviews and videos of equipment and maintenance."
 more
Robert, the Power Equipment Expert
Product Expert
Bob,
The average "estimated" delivery window for a large piece of equipment, in-stock, is 3 - 5 business days depending on weather and local circumstances. Order was placed over a holiday weekend (Labor Day) and unit shipped the next business day.
Was this review helpful?
237
Robert O.
Willoughby, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/15/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
26
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generac
Pleasantly surprised at ease of installation process and how well built unit seems to be. Runs quiet and does everything instructions it will do. I've read many reviews and was skeptical but took a shot. So far, so good. Time will tell!!
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Quiet, Features, Exceeded Expectations
Robert Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Robert Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Quick and easy everything. Thanks!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
183
Elwood
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/24/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
17
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Relieved To Have It Installed
After the experience of hurricane Sandy we are relieved to have the generator installed. Hope we don't need it but good to have the peace of mind it brings.
Was this review helpful?
2712
Raymond C.
Amsterdam, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/31/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
05
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Problem With Harness Connection On Outdoor Poer Box
Generator was easy hookup! Good instructions. Had installed winter start kit and programmed unit to test run wed afternoons. Noticed generator starting up every morning and had to shut off and turn back to start. Called tech support 3 times and got same answer (bad fuse) which was not problem..

After problem solving central air conditioning for 40 years I started checking wiring and found 1 pin(yellow wire) was flush with plastic housing while the other 2 pins where sticking out in normal... more
Raymond Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
141
John W.
Mountain Top, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/23/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
05
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Still Not Running
Even before I installed my generator I got a transfer switch recall. I finally got the dealer here to install the system and it won't run. Seems there is another recall and it won't be running anytime soon. A total of $5000 invested and I don't have an operable generator. The service technician told me this is not the greatest unit and has a bunch of recalls. I would suggest trying another brand of generator. I will be posting a YouTube video on my experience.
Robert, the Power Equipment Expert
Product Expert
John,
Sorry to hear about the recall on your generator.

We as an online dealer do not get notified immediately from the manufacturer regarding recalls on the product. The reason for this is because we are not a servicing dealer and do not service the generators.

I would recommend calling Generac direct at 888-436-3722 to make sure that the person servicing the unit and handling the recall is in fact an authorized Generac Service Center. Below is a link that will help you find a local Service Center also if you want to have someone else come out and repair the unit.

Generac Service Center Locator
more
Was this review helpful?
152
William M.
Doylestown, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/3/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
13
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Above Ground Electric
We have Lost power every year for the past 4 yrs. I work at a hospital so I can't call out when the weather is bad. This generator gives me the peace of mind that my kids are going to be warm and my beer is going to be cold during an outage. Not bad as far as hook up. Get professional unless your kind of handy and can read. Generator has a sleek look. It's also pretty cool when you shut the power off and this thing kicks on. Waiting for an outage.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Reliable, High Quality
Cons: None
William Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
130
Robert B.
Vienna, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/4/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
16
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Generator & Easy To Install
It is easy to install and run. Puts out plenty of power. No flickering lights or anything. Great all around product running all the lights, two furnaces and one air conditioner.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Durable, Easy To Store
Robert Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Robert Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Best price I could find online for this particular generator."
 more
Was this review helpful?
174
Herbert M.
Philadelphia, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/30/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Installed Two
Ordered two 8 kW generators. One for my daughter's house and one for me. I installed both with a plumber's help on the gas line and electrician's help for the rest.

It was very easy to do. I installed concrete pads first, then set generators and made connections. Everything is up and running, waiting for next storm!
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use
Cons: Wish It Came With Synthetic Oil
Herbert Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
132
Tom S.
York, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/7/13
Total Reviews
5 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
48 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
26
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Follow-up After A Full Year Of Ownership
It's now been over a year since my Generac Guardian 8 kW generator (Model 6237) was installed. We have experienced several power outages during this first year, one of which lasted five (5) days. The generator operated without a fault, and continues to do so.

I've replaced the crankcase oil with 5W-30 synthetic, changed the oil filter, and cleaned the housing once since installation. Neighbors have stopped by to understand how it happened that, during the long outage, we stayed at home... more
Pros: Price, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality, Reliable
Cons: None
Tom Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Tom's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Delivery was as promised, and without incident. Customer service was outstanding. Who could ask for anything more?!?"
 more
Was this review helpful?
133
Ron M.
Falls Church, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/10/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Newly Installed
Because we have a hot water baseboard heating system, that means we have copper pipes full of water lining every exterior wall in our house. So, if in the middle of winter we had an extended power outage, we could have water pipes bursting in multiple places.
We have a portable generator to provide power for our heating system, but that is only good if we are home and not out of town.

So, we opted to install a standby generator and a friend who is also a professional electrician... more
Ron Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
91
Carol K.
Edison, NJ
REVIEWED
JAN.
27
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No More Blackouts
After going through 10 days with no electricity after hurricane Sandy, I was looking for a generator that would be easy to have. Being a widow, I am not able to handle a portable so I began looking for an affordable alternative. Went to the County Fair and met Corbin Electircal Services from Manalapan, NJ and they had on display the model I bought. Part of the reason I purchased it was because of the excellent reputation Corbin Electrical has and I knew they would not sell a product that... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Features, Price, High Quality
Carol Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
80
Ralph F.
Carmel, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/5/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
17
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
8kw
I needed to replace a 15 year old Generac generator in a hurry. the new one arrived quickly the way it was packaged was incredible.
Pros: Reliable, Features, Durable
Cons: Expensive, Noisy, Doesn't Come With Generator Pad, No External Gfi Outlet Like The Larger Kw Generators Come With
Ralph Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
113
Jason G.
Burns, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/25/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
Ordering and receiving the product was quick and simple. Delivery was great with lift gate service. Met delivery guy at the end of my driveway because he couldn't get up to the house and we slid it into the back of my truck. Works great. The only installation issue that I had was the battery charger was showing a fault when first installed. It was the T1 fuse in the transfer switch that controls the charger.

Took it out and re-installed it which solved the problem. I've already... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Price
Jason Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
70
Wayne C.
Maryland, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/17/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
07
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
All Was Ehhh
Disturbed by there not being the tailgate service, that was suppose to be there. Broke two of my straps getting it out of the 18 wheeler. Talked to someone there, they didn't really seem interested.
Wayne Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
70
Julia M.
Deep River, CT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/10/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Experience
Price was good, delivery was on time, installation went well. Great product. I would recommend purchasing from this company to everyone. Just got it running about three days ago, but my son has had one of the same for two years now.

Thanks,

Julia
Julia Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Kenneth S.
Ajo, AZ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/13/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
14
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Company
I have ordered over 24 of these units ranging from 7kw to 22kw and this company has always had great service and communication.
Kenneth Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Steve H.
St James City, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/25/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
13
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Mobil Link Problems
The mobile link worked as advertised the first 2 weeks, notifying me when the generator exercised. It hasn't notified me since although it's history shows it has exercised. I have tried to contact Generac several times to troubleshoot the problem but have yet to get a response.
Steve Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Tony
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/15/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
18
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generac 8k W/ Auto Switch
We just moved to Vermont from CA. and purchased a home as a fulltime home in the woods of Vermont.
With the threat of severe weather, both winter and summer I thought it was prudent to invest in a Backup Electrical Generator. After looking around I found the most favorable prices on EGD. I ordered the 8K unit as our home is has a complete LP gas baseboard heater, with a Hearthstone wood burning stove, the largest drawing item in our home is the Well Pump, everything else is general lighting,... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Tony Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
50
John
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/9/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No Worries
I did the installation myself. It's a big job. Unless you are very comfortable in your breaker box, I would not recommend it. I did have a plumber run the 1" line off the natural gas meter to a stub at my generator location. One surprise was the 3/4" gas inlet at the generator considering the flexible rubber line is 1/2". The factory said they use the same plumbing inside the box as they do for the bigger gensets but the final 1/2" line is still appropriate for the... more
John Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
73
Raymond S.
New Haven, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/13/15
REVIEWED
APR.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Satisfied!
Everything went well with the installation and is preforming great. I would recommend this to anyone!
Raymond Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Raymond,
We are happy to learn of your satisfaction with our product! Don't forget to register your unit with Generac Nation for future consumer alerts and warranty-related information. Registration can be completed online via the following link: http://www.generac.com/generac-nation-sign-up?cid=frm-105-aa.
more
Was this review helpful?
51
J
REVIEWED
MAY.
28
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good But Very Very Loud
I bought this unit because, among other attributes, it was advertised as putting out only 62 db. This thing puts out over 80 db with no question. As a result of the foregoing, I was not granted a permit to install it by my local jurisdiction. It was too late to return the generator as I had to install it to find out it was too loud. A catch 22. Had the literature been more honest, I would not have purchased this generator. This is not an indictment of Electric Generators Direct, as they... more
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Much Louder Than 62db Over 80db At 25 Feet, Too Loud
Robert, the Power Equipment Expert
Product Expert
J,
Generac tries to be as honest as possible when publishing their dB ratings. Depending on where the generator is installed, it can produce a higher or lower dB rating.
more
Was this review helpful?
95
Edward S.
Schwenksville, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/14/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
11
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
100% Happy
So far 100% happy with this purchase, I will give it a couple of months and give another review.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again
Edward Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Edward Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy online purchase, shipped on date promised, no damage, great!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Steven B.
Fremont, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/1/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
12
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generator
Liked the fact that it was prewired, made it so much quicker and easier. Very quiet. Its one of those investments you hope you never need, but glad I got it.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations, Fast
Steven Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
51
Doug H.
Quakertown, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/28/14
REVIEWED
APR.
22
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Easy To Install - Difficult To Perform Maintenance.
This generator like many of the Generac generators requires you to check and adjust the valve clearances about 6 months after installation. The owners manual includes instructions for doing this. Unfortunately after purchasing and installing this generator I have not been able to find any place that will sell me the valve cover gaskets so I can follow the instructions and check the valve clearances. Since this valve clearance check is required by Generac these parts should not only be readily... more
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Very Difficult To Get Parts
Robert, the Power Equipment Expert
Product Expert
Doug,
The 8kW (model 6237) requires a valve clearance adjustment once after the first 25 hours of operation, and again every 400 hours of operation thereafter.

There are instructions/directions provided in the product's documentation for performing a valve clearance adjustment.

The part number for a rocker cover gasket would be 0C3150. If you haven't already, you can search for a local dealer to identify and order any parts that you might need.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Doug,
Please know that any parts required for maintenance can be obtained through an independent authorized service provider in your local area. To locate an independent authorized service provider closest to you, please use your postal code for searching purposes via the following link: http://www.generac.com/dealer-locator?cid=frm-105-ab. Moreover, per the product's owner's manual, Generac's 8kw automatic standby generator, model number 6237, will require a valve clearance adjustment after the first 25 hours of operation, and every 400 hours of operation after this initial maintenance is provided. If you do not have access to your product's owner's manual, please use the unit's model number to search for the product's documentation here: http://www.generac.com/service-support/product-support-lookup?cid=frm-105-ac.
If you are still facing issues regarding such adjustments after referring to this documentation and contacting a local independent authorized service provider, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722) for further assistance.
more
Was this review helpful?
52
John W.
Trenton, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/11/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generator Delivered
My new generator was delivered as promised with lift gate service and rolled into my garage at no extra charge. I am waiting for the electrical permits to begin my installation.
John Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Gary M.
Calais Pmb31996, ME
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/29/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Purchanging Security For My Home.
Ordered my 8kw standby generator, received it on time with no trouble, the electrician said it was very easy to install, lp gas was hooked up and we are in business, the team at Electric Generators Direct answered all my questions every time I called and was always friendly ... Thanks, Gary
Gary Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Steve H.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/25/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
13
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Satisfied
Installation was simple, engine started right up and checkout was flawless.

In installation guidelines booklet page 19 shows fuel flex connector up stream of shutoff where page 20 shows the flex connector downstream. I believe page 20 is correct.

I do think a 120V outlet on the genset would be handy.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Steve Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Linda F.
Brant Rock, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/22/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
05
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generac Generator
I could not be happier knowing I will be so comfy, even in the dead of winter, I shall have power to heat our home and keep us warm..
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations
Linda Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Matthew L.
Perkasie, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/7/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
20
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy To Install
This was my first install for a home standby generator and I was surprised by the ease of the installation. I have installed generator panels for portable generators so I have some experience. This was a simple install with a few phone calls to Generac, who were very helpful when it came to programing the generator with the code and start times.The day after the install was complete a storm came thru our area and power went out for 12 hours. They called me and were very happy with the product.... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Price, High Quality
Matthew Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Matthew's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I hate to say it but the only problem I had was the person who I talked to on the phone who took the order. She must have been new because she didn't know what went with the generator. I had to ask for the pad and was told that there was no cold weather kit for that generator. I didn't feel comfortable with the order so I called back the next day just to check on the order and make sure I had all I needed. I got a very knowledgeable person who helped me. All and all it was a very good experience"
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
June W.
Davisburg, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/16/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
10
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Painless Installation
Bill Economou at Northern Lights did the install. Every thing went well.Out of the 5 companies Direct Gen gave me for the installation, only 2 returned my call. As it turned out Bill was the first to contact me and the closest. He and his crew were professional and knowledgeable and the job was finished ahead of schedule. I would highly recommend this company.
Pros: Price
Cons: Some What Loud
June Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Robert B.
North Tonawanda, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/3/14
REVIEWED
MAY.
15
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
Straightforward install and technical assistance was very helpful when I called with a minor issue.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Heavy
Robert Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Keith L.
Weston, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/18/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy To Install
Quick and easy setup to keep essential loads powered during a power outage. Simple installation,runs great!
Keith Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Gregory F.
Arvada, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/11/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy Installation
Well documented wiring and description of where everything goes.
Gregory Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
43
Ralph D.
Saginaw, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/8/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
12
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
3dbear@att.net
Very nice constructed unit. Did not want whole house unit but for my application it works just fine. Satisfied with performance and sound. Just hope it continues. Installed it myself good install manuals.
Ralph Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Phil F.
Edgewood, NM
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/18/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
29
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Exercising Your Generator
After reading the owners manual over and over I still cannot get to the edit screen on the generator display that would allow me to program exercise cycle's.

Very frustrating. I have to remember to manually start generator at least twice a month. I know the program is in there somewhere. It's just difficult to find.
Cons: Bad Instructions, Heavy
Phil Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Robert, the Power Equipment Expert
Product Expert
Phil,
Phil,
Sorry to hear about your issues. From the manual..."Upon first power up of the generator, the display interface will begin an installation wizard. The installation wizard will prompt the user to set the minimum settings to operate the generator. These settings are: Current Date/Time and Exercise Day/Time. The maintenance intervals will be initialized when the exercise time is entered.The exercise settings can be changed at any time via the “EDIT” menu.

I'd suggest contacting Generac directly @ 888-436-3722. They should be able to walk you through exactly how to set it up.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Phil,
We apologize for any frustration that you have experienced when attempting to set the exercise time for your personal unit. To set the exercise, we recommend going to the control board, and pressing ESC (escape). Then use the arrow keys till you see SUB MENUS flashing; hit ENTER on SUB MENUS. Once in SUB MENUS, use the arrow keys till you see EDIT flashing, hit ENTER on EDIT. Once in EDIT, you will use the arrow keys till you see EXERCISE TIME flashing, hit ENTER on EXERCISE TIME. Once in the EXERCISE TIME screen, it will go through select hour, select minute, and select day. Make sure you hit enter on each one. Once you do this, you can hit ESC all the way through, until you see HOURS OF PROTECTION. Also, please know that you should set the unit’s clock appropriately as well; if the unit’s clock is off, the unit will not exercise at your desired time. These directions are also listed under the “Setting the Exercise Timer” portion of the “Operation” section in your unit’s owner’s manual. To locate your unit’s documentation online, please use your product’s model or serial number via the following link: http://www.generac.com/service-support/product-support-lookup?cid=frm-100-ac . Should you require further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722). We are available 24/7.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Donna J.
Burlington, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/15/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Satisfied!
In our area, we are prone to power outages...This Generac Guardian standby generator is exactly what we needed...Electric Generators Direct made the ordering & delivery process extremely easy...all around very satisfied
Donna Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Shaun B.
Horton, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/25/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
8 Kw Purchase And Install.
The generac generator is top notch and was very easy to install. The quality is great and very easy to find information help.
Shaun Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Clay G.
Webster, NH
REVIEWED
JUL.
06
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
8kw Generator
Just had my new generator installed by Mike and crew from K&M generator out of Wakefield, N.H. Amiee from the office, and Mike have been very professional and responsive to any questions or concerns I have had. The generator looks very nice, the price including all installation was fair and reasonable, and we look forward to many years of worry free use from this product. We are no long dreading the power losses we experience all to often in Webster, N.H.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations
Clay Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Tom B.
Angola, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/21/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
14
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Service
I just purchased a 8 kw generator system from Electric Generator Direct, and the customer service was great. Received just what I ordered and shipped within a couple of days after I placed my order.

The price was very competitive with well informed sales reps. Thanks again.
Tom Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Jim W
Waynetown, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/28/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
30
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Value
Arrived on time without any damage. Everything was there. I had the pad already made and set the generator. Made all the electrical connections and then tested the unit. It started right up the first time.

I have it running on LP Gas.. Using it for backup power for a water well and the TV - hahaha!
Jim Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Steve B.
Lake Tapps, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/8/14
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
SEP.
16
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Buying Experience
I have something similar to ALS so I had to install a unit to replace my Onan 6500. I spent hours online and decided this unit met what I needed.

This company made all the changes I requested. Their delivery company was first rate and even made room in our garage for storage. When I move, Electric Generators Direct will, again, supply the standy by unit.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Reliable, Quiet
Cons: Easy To Steal With Four Guys
Steve Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Steve's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I have something similar to ALS so I had to install a unit to replace my Onan 6500. I spent hours online and decided this unit met what I needed. This company made all the changes I requested. Their delivery company was first rate and even made room in our garage for storage. When I move, Electric Generators Direct will, again, supply the standy by unit."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Ronald B.
Portsmouth, NH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/12/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
24
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generac Model No. 0062370
I had a gasoline Generac generator, but due to my age found it difficult to lift and insert gasoline. For not that much more money bought this generator. It is quiet and makes a very attractive item in my back yard. Other than starting by itself once a week, have not needed it yet. But, I know I will and am very confident it will serve me well.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Ronald Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Ronald's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I ordered this generator online and had it in TWO days. I am extremely pleased!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
11
Franklin W.
Buzzards Bay, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/29/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
29
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Good
It looks very good. I am waiting for a power outage to see how it works. If it works as good as it looks, I'll be very happy.
Cons: Packaging, Bad Instructions, Heavy
Franklin Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
1113
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Generac Guardian 6237 reviews.Compare our Generac Guardian 6237 ratings. Find the Generac Guardian 6237 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct