Your Cart @ Power Equipment Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
< Back to Product

Generac 6212-0 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
$277.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock$277.99
No Sales Tax* (Except CA)
Visit Site
 
In-Stock /
$277.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$277.99
(as of 06:42 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
 
$277.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Generac 6212-0 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (18)
I'd Buy It Again (8)
Reliable (7)
Features (6)
Durable (5)
Cons
Expensive (17)
Bad Instructions (4)
Durability (1)
These Are Pricey (1)
Unreliable (1)
88% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
52 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Mike, the Generator Expert
Power Equipment Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
103 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
8474 Helpful Votes
Power Equipment Direct Recommended

Cold weather kits are specific to your generator. This one ranks top on our list because it is designed for the Generac generators 8-20kW, which are one of our best sellers. This kit will help put your mind at ease and allow you to get ready for that winter blast! It includes a battery warming pad as well as an oil filter heater.
Mike Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
5545
Lonny W.
Greensburg, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/22/14
Total Reviews
6 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
31 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
NOV.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Well Worth The Cost
We had our generator installed the week before Christmas 2013. Shortly after the first of the year our temps dropped to zero and below for a few weeks. When the generator started for the exercise cycle, being brand new, it did start, but seemed to labor while cold cranking. I ordered this 6212 kit from Electric Generators Direct and was well pleased with their service. Shortly after receiving the shipment, our temps raised to a balmy forty degrees. It was during this time frame that I chose to... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Reliable, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations
Lonny Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
33
Larry A.
Lima, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/21/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
NOV.
12
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Grossly Overpriced Product!!!
Simple enough to hookup but this particular product is grossly overpriced. A simple heater with wires...shouldn't be more in the $100.00 range...not $277.00
Was this review helpful?
75
Denis B.
Penacook, NH
REVIEWED
MAY.
15
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Poorly Made
After one winter the oil heater stretch band broke, can't find oil filter heater only anywere. Price for the kit should have a much higher quality. Wonder if the battery heater is working? It was an easy install kit going to be hard to live with.
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Denis,
I'd suggest contact Generac directly @ 888-436-3722
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Denis,
We're sorry to learn that your oil heater has been stretched to the point of breaking. So that we can help you obtain a replacement, please contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722) with the serial number of your automatic standby generator.
more
Was this review helpful?
01
James B.
Long Lake, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/11/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Keeps Cranking!
Purchased this product for new 20kw unit. Live in the Adirondacks of New York, where winter temps routinely drop below and WELL below zero. First week of ownership had a -10 night and the unit came up to RPM first thing in the AM. Great,
functioned as advertised.
James Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
23
Charles B.
Downingtown, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/29/15
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
REVIEWED
NOV.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Protect The Investment
I live in southeastern PA. While it is not Minnesota, our winters do involve sub-freezing periods that can last for weeks at a time. While many of my friends who own generators do not have cold weather kits installed, I decided to take the extra step to keep the oil and battery warm.
Charles Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
02
Gregory F.
Arvada, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/11/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
OCT.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy Installation
The installation of these devices were a snap.
Gregory Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
02
William L.
Roy, NM
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/16/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
OCT.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cold Weather Kit
Another month or two it will be cold enough to really see how it works. Comforting to have it in place as it gets very cold on occasion. That is when the power goes out....if generator starts, I will assume all is working as described..
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Comfort Level
Cons: Bad Instructions, Had A Bit Of Issue With Wiringi Think It Is Working Ok
William Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
02
Nicholas P.
Saint Maries, ID
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/30/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
13
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Didn't Make A Difference
The parts didn't make a difference the generator still won't start. I guess I'll be calling a mechanic.
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Nicholas,
Sorry to hear about the issues you're having with your generator. Hopefully you've experienced excellent service from that model for the last few years. You can Click Here - For Generac Dealer Locator
more
Was this review helpful?
03
Gary F.
Hill City, SD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/2/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JAN.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generac Cold Weather Kit
The kit is working great. We have been having a cold winter. Temps below zero every night for the most part. The generator fires up and runs right on schedule every two weeks with no problem.
Gary Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
03
Michael D.
Winchester, NH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/10/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
DEC.
31
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Oil Filter Heater
Initially installed the Cold Weather Kit. Within minutes the oil filter heater began working. Temp was around 34 degrees. The heater was so hot that you could not grab the filter without getting a slight burn if you kept your hand on it for a while. I was very suprised on how hot the oil filter heater got..I did call Generac about the heater , because I was concerned about the heat coming from the heater and the tech was not suprised on how hot the oil filter heater was.

Temperatures here... more
Michael Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
03
William H.
Weirton, WV
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/2/15
Total Reviews
6 Reviews
REVIEWED
DEC.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
If You Live In Colder Climates, You Have To Install This
I just purchased a new 22 kW Generac generator for my house and I live in northern West Virginia so the winters can get cold. The best way to make sure your generator will start is to install the Cold Weather Kit for Air-Cooled Home Standby Generators like I did, you will not regret it.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Reliable, Durable
Cons: No Cons
William Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
03
William R.
Liberty, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/30/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Pricey
It got delivered fast, easy to put on, but a little expensive. I do worry about the flat pad burning a hole in the battery. But I'm sure they have that taken care of. So far very satisfied.
William Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
03
Daniel W.
Linthicum Heights, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/5/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cold Weather Kit For Generac - Good Investment
If your area temps drop to 32 degrees or below, consider a cold weather kit from Electric Generators Direct. Easy to install and helps keep your stand-by unit ready to run.
Daniel Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
03
John
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/27/12
REVIEWED
MAR.
04
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Not A Good Value For The Money
While this is not the fault of Electric Generators Direct, the price for this accessory is over the moon for what it is. I bought this because I thought I must, for using my generator in the cold Midwest. Upon hindsight, though, and upon reflection after installing these two heaters, I think I could have done without.

What you see in the item photo is what you get. A battery heater and an oil filter heater, with pigtails to plug into the generator power supply.

My installer told me that,... more
Was this review helpful?
925
Richard F.
Duluth, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/21/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
03
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Cold Weather Kit
Battery heater seems like it would work OK, the oil filter heater is somewhat of a joke. Would be much better off with a dip stick heater or a magnetic heater for the block. Should have the option to by the battery heater separate with other options.
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable
Cons: Expensive
Richard Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
260
Lonny W.
Greensburg, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/22/14
Total Reviews
6 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
31 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
07
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Accessory For Cold Climates.
We had a 20KW Generac standby generator installed in December 2013. Within the next three weeks we saw our temperatures plunge as much as fourteen degrees below zero. This had me a little concerned for the health of the starting ability of our new generator. Forecasters called for more subzero weather for the coming week. I immediately ordered the cold weather start kit, hoping for a break in the weather so this could be installed. January 22nd we had that opportunity when the heat was on at 39... more
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Expensive
Lonny Recommends This Generac Product
Lonny's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I have purchased from Power Equipment direct before, and once again I received the very same great customer service. It is refreshing to receive this kind of great service in today's environment. Thank you"
 more
Was this review helpful?
130
Danny S.
Milltown, IN
REVIEWED
NOV.
28
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Blows My Fuses
I have had great service from EGD, and this is no fault of theirs, BUT:

This kit is now three days old, and every time the temp dropped below 3, the oil filter heater has over-amped, blowing the N1 and N2 fuses in the ATS. This causes the generator to start, run, and never shut down, since it can't "see" the utility voltage with the N1 and N2 fuses blown. I also got no error messages, since the generator is supposed to start when it can't sense utility voltage. The oil filter... more
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Danny,
We are sorry to hear of the issue you have had with this cold weather kit. If you do need further assistance with the kit we are available to help at 800-710-7499. If you have issues with the performance or design you would be best served contacting Generac directly because they warranty and manufacture the product. Generac can be reached at 888-436-3722.
more
Was this review helpful?
153
Louis L.
Wayland, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/25/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
16
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cold Weather Kit
I live in Michigan so this kit is a must. The weather here never gets above freezing in the winter, so this kit will help keep the oil warm and also the battery for a faster and safer start-ups. The item is over priced but if it last 5 years it will pay for it's self.
Pros: Features, Quiet, Light Weight, Reliable
Cons: Expensive, Bad Instructions
Louis Recommends This Generac Product
Louis Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great place to buy from, fast shipping and great products, thanks."
 more
Was this review helpful?
111
Ken C.
Quemado, NM
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/24/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
31
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Needs Longer Wires
The way the instructions had you route the wiring was first of all cumbersome and then no instructions were given as to how to actually hook it up. Once I figured that part out though it was fairly straight forward albeit I wish the wires had been a foot longer. If they had, it could have been dressed in and made to look good. As is, the wires were barely long enough to go to the termination points following the channel provided. Haven't finished hooking up the generator as yet so the final... more
Pros: Features
Cons: Expensive, Difficult To Use, Bad Instructions
Ken Recommends This Generac Product
Ken Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Absolutely great to deal with. Lots of information on the site, including manuals. Very fast delivery too. I had the unit a full week ahead of the expected delivery date."
 more
Was this review helpful?
102
Robert R.
Cincinnati, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/10/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
01
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Weather Kit For Air-cooled Home Standby Generators
I installed this Weather Kit in 10 minuets then checked an hour later, with temp below 30 degrees both heaters were heating up properly.

I am hoping that they are durable and last at the least several years as these heaters are VERY pricey for what they are and the warranty is way way too short for such a pricey item.
Pros: Easy To Use, Shipping Is Extremely Fast
Cons: Expensive, Warranty To Short
Robert Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
93
William B.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/17/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
26
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cold Weather Kit Review
I installed the Generac 6212 - cold weather kit on my generator November 25.

The last two nights were zero degrees. I checked, and the heaters were working great. The generator started up with no problem.

It started just like it was not cold. I'm very pleased.
William Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
82
Marshall
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/2/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
25
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Decisions Decisions Decisions
I originally didn't order this option, the more I thought about it I decided to add it. I would feel pretty bad if it's -20F and a power outage only to have my unit not fire up because the battery and oil were too cold. The price is really too high for this item but you're rolling the dice if you live in cold country.
Marshall Recommends This Generac Product
Marshall's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"No problems, shipped and arrived promptly."
 more
Was this review helpful?
82
Jay M.
Ashley, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/1/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
18
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Easy To Install, If!!
Instructions suck, if you don't look 1-3 times!!!! For the price of this product, they could use a color printer, but GREED WINS OUT!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Jay Recommends This Generac Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Jay,
We're sorry to hear that you're unhappy with the quality of instructions provided by the manufacturer. We'll do our best to relay your concerns to the manufacturer, and hopefully they'll start printing them in color soon.

If you need any further guidance or would like to speak to a product expert, don't hesitate to give us a call.

Thank you for your review.
more
Jay's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Took a while to write this review because of temperature. It works at 32 degrees it kicks on, but owning a diesel, if the engineer of this product had a degree, it would have a heated dipstick, not a filter cuff."
 more
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Jay,
It's designed only for Generac Air-Cooled standby generators built in 2008 or later, and you must change to 5W-30 synthetic oil when you install it. These notes are on the product page on our site, but can also be found in the owners manual. The heaters start when the temperature falls below an acceptable level, which means it only runs when it needs to in order to keep your generator's battery or crankcase from getting too cold.
Was this review helpful?
71
Ed M.
Wyanskill, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/23/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
15
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Heaters
Oil & Battery hearters are a good extra, little expensive for the items.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Reliable
Cons: Expensive
Ed Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
93
George K.
Windfall, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/22/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
14
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
22 Kw Generator
Purchase, delivery, & installation went very smooth. Accompanying manuals are not very clear on several issues. You are instructed to obtain the serial numbers from the generator & transfer switch.

Had to call Generac & was informed when you purchase the generator & switch as a unit that the serial number of the generator covers them both.

Well PLEASED with the unit. Also all unit are shipped with petroleum based oils installed but the manual instructs you that... more
George Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
72
Don S.
Meyersdale, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/17/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
26
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Decided To Buy One
I listened to my new 11kw generator start one morning when the temp was in the mid teens. I thought it started rather sluggish so I decided to buy the cold weather kit. Kit arrived promptly and was fairly easy to install. I changed the filter and oil to 5w 30 synthetic as instructed. Now when it goes through its test cycle when it cold it starts flawlessly. I would recommend this product where temps fall below 20 degrees.
Don Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
72
Nubar T.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/12/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Record Breaking Cold
This winter has been one of the coldest and most treacherous winters in New England. We live in Connecticut and have experienced day after day of below freezing and single digit cold.

Having the Generac 6212 - Cold Weather Kit installed on our standby generator gives us great peace of mind that our generator will start in this record breaking cold when a power failure occurs.

We highly recommend adding this feature to our friends and interested parties.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Reliable, Light Weight
Nubar Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
73
Ronald M.
Lamoine, ME
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/8/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
29
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Relax!
We love our Generac standby generator. I can now relax during power outages!
Ronald Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
62
Charles S.
Franklin, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/11/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
24
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
If You Need It You Will Be Glad You Have It
It seems a bit pricey for what you get, but if you need it you will be glad that you have it.
Pros: Features, Easy To Use
Cons: Expensive
Charles Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
62
Fred L.
Yorktown Heights, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/11/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
01
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Generac 6212 Cold Weather Kit
I don't know at what temp the heaters go on. Temp has been down to 18f and still no heat from either heater. I would like to know the temp at which they turn on?
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Expensive, Unreliable
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Fred,
We will have one of our product experts give you a call to let you know the information you need to know on this unit. Typically these will turn on at 32 degrees, but again we will be reaching out to look into this further. If you have any further questions, please send us an email or give us a call.
more
Was this review helpful?
30
Donald M.
Brighton, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/8/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
30
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Fast Service With Great Documentation
I ordered my heater package and it came quickly and with great instructions.
Donald Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
30
James C.
Glen Cove, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/16/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
19
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Heater For Oil Filter For 20kw Generac Generator
The heating pad for the oil filter has an elastic stretch band that you do not see in this picture to make it fit snug on the oil filter. On the one I bought lasted less then a year and then broke. I used tow zip locks to hold it around the oil filter.
James Recommends This Generac Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
James,
We are sorry to learn of your experienced issues. If you would like to discuss the best way to acquire an applicable replacement, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722) with the serial number of your automatic standby generator.
more
Was this review helpful?
64
Rodney
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/20/15
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Must Have In Michigan
I installed a Generac system for my mother-in-law and found out that when it got down below 20 deg. it would fault out (rpm sense fault), would reset the fault and try it again and would still fault out.

I finally put some heat by the engine, and after a while it started right up and ran without any faults until the next week when it would do it's weekly cycle and then fault out again.

Finally, I put the cold weather kit on and all of the problems went away, so I guess it pays to put... more
Rodney Recommends This Generac Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Rodney,
We're glad to hear it's working out for you well. These kits are very necessary in cold northern states. They make all the difference.

Thanks for writing a review. Your feedback helps out so much with other customers, and we truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

Best wishes, and have a fantastic summer.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Rodney,
Thank you for providing us with your review of the Cold Weather Kit. As you have alluded, we would recommend the use of a Cold Weather Kit if the generator is having issues running when extremely cold temperatures are experienced. The crankcase heater and block heater included in these kits help to ensure that the unit will be prepared to operate in below-freezing temperatures. While we are sorry to learn of the issues that you initially experienced when the unit was operating in extreme cold, we are happy to know that you have been able to acquire the recommended parts for operating the unit in a colder environment. If you have any additional comments, questions, or concerns. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722).
more
Was this review helpful?
42
Gary B.
Acworth, NH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/3/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
24
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Simple Install
Went in in about 15 minutes and works like a charm. The generator cranks and starts much better @ -19 deg
easy connect up to line in with push style connectors.
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Expensive
Gary Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Dean D.
Cadott, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/5/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
06
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cold Weather Kit
Update from my 8/7/2014 review. It is now 2/6/15. The cold weather heater has worked as expected. I don't use the battery heater, I only use the filter heater.
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Expensive
Dean Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Francisco J.
Silver Spring, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/27/14
REVIEWED
MAR.
11
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Does The Job!
This has been a much colder than usual winter here in the mid-atlantic. Normally I wouldn't need a cold weather kit for our climate but I'm glad we purchase this kit.
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Expensive
Francisco Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Jet
REVIEWED
FEB.
27
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Cold Weather Kit
Very easy to install less than 5 mins.
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Expensive
Jet Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Brian F.
Spokane, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/24/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
21
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Glad I Bought It
I'm glad I got the cold weather kit, as it can get pretty chilly up here in the Inland Pacific Northwest. Frankly the items themselves seemed just a bit fraglile, but since they're inside the protective case, shouldn't be a problem if you don't put excessive strain on then.
Pros: Features
Cons: Durability
Brian Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Joseph C.
Montrose, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/22/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
20
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Definately Needed
The 20K generator is located in a remote area that last year saw 2-weeks of -20 degrees and was needed. However, now it is much warmer and not needed so I have no track-record to report.
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, Quiet, Light Weight
Cons: Expensive
Joseph Recommends This Generac Product
Joseph's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Can't test until winter..."
 more
Was this review helpful?
11
Adam C.
Cropseville, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/15/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
29
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Pros And Cons
I purchased this cold weather kit in hopes to heat the oil for easier starting. If you look at the height of the oil filter In relation to the oil level in the pan/crankcase the filter is a lot higher than the oil. The only oil that is warm is in the filter itself since this wraps around the oil filter.

This does nothing for the oil in the crank case or the crankcase temp itself. It's still just as cold as the outside temp. After I installed this the engine turned over the just as slow as... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable, Fast
Cons: Expensive, Bad Instructions
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Adam,
Generac has thoroughly tested this new design and they feel that this works best for their air-cooled generators. They improved this heater because the older design had numerous issues with them falling off and not adhering to the engine block.

If you feel that this is not working properly I suggest calling Generac direct at 888-436-3722 and let them know.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Adam,
We are disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction with our cold weather kit. We would like to assure you that we have manufactured and tested these kits for use in cold temperature environments and recommend them for use in areas where temperatures commonly fall below freezing. If you are concerned about the functionality of this accessory, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722).
more
Was this review helpful?
23
Jarvis D.
Olmstedville, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/20/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Satisfied So Far
Service and price were very good. Have not hooked up until snow is gone.
Jarvis Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
01
William C.
Titusville, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/2/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
13
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Easy Installation Works Great
I had an 11kW standby generator installed in December, and decided to add this kit a few weeks later.

It was pretty easy to install, and works well. My generator starts up fine for self tests on very cold days below 10 degrees Fahrenheit.
Pros: Easy To Use, Works Well
Cons: Expensive
William Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Eric D.
Delmar, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/8/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cold Weather Kit
I believe this is a very good product to keep the generator ready in the winter especially in the north east where the weather this year has been very cold.
Eric Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Dale A.
Fleetwood, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/14/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
07
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Again Nice!
First one contractor has installed, but he liked it and said he will start asking customers as a good option. Although it maybe slightly over priced!.
Dale Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
12
Kenneth M.
Winfield, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/23/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
15
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ok
Works good.
Kenneth Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
12
Dean D.
Cadott, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/5/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
07
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cold Weather Kit
Installed my cold weather kit today. What I got in the mail was a battery heater, filter heater, enough wire to hook both heaters up and a new filter to change oil. All you need to purchase is 2 qts of oil and you are ready to go. As far as value goes, I think It foots the bill. When winter gets here, I'll be glad it's doing its job.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Durable
Cons: Expensive
Dean Recommends This Generac Product
Dean's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast dependable service."
 more
Was this review helpful?
12
Edward W.
Windham, NH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/29/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cold Weather Gear
Ease of installation......
Edward Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
24
Rick G.
Charlotte, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/11/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
12
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
I'm Sure It Helps, But How Much?
I have only installed Kohler generators in the past and questioned why they have a carburetor heater, which makes sense with temperature drop of the fuel changing from a liquid to a vapor and the venturi effect going through the throat of the carburetor.

I questioned Jeff here who said that Generac did extensive testing and it wasn't needed. I don't know how much the oil filter heater is going to do with it wrapped around the oil filter without the oil circulating unless their is some... more
Rick Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
02
Ronald E.
Copenhagen, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/4/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
08
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Support Product!
These are a must in cold climates for reliable start ups!
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Expensive, These Are Pricey
Ronald Recommends This Generac Product
Ronald's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Enables the Generac to start when called for."
 more
Was this review helpful?
36
Roger M.
Prattsville, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/30/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
11
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Price!
Can't really say just yet but it did start in the exercise and it was 28 degrees....We'll see when the cold weather really hits in mountains in upstate NY !
Pros: Price
Roger Recommends This Generac Product
Roger Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Already recommended EGD to friends !"
 more
Was this review helpful?
39
Richard M.
Pelham, NH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/2/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
15
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It Works
I hope my 20,000 kw is as reliable and durable as it ease of use and my experience so far..
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Richard Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
311
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Generac 6212-0 reviews.Compare our Generac 6212-0 ratings. Find the Generac 6212-0 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct