Search
< Back to Product

Generac XG7000E Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$1,269.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock$1,269.00
No Sales Tax* (Except CA)
Visit Site
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$1,269.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$1,269.00
(as of 06:07 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
 
$1,424.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Generac 5798 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 5
Pros
High Quality (2)
Reliable (1)
I'd Buy It Again (1)
Durable (1)
Easy To Store (1)
Cons
Heavy (1)
Noisy (1)
Junk (1)
Expensive (1)
Unreliable (1)
80% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
23 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Cecelia E.
Dobson, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/2/15
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
FEB.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
New Xg7000e Generac
I love it---So far, very easy and dependable start and run, and easily maneuverable. Only disappointment is that the battery does not charge automatically while the generator runs---have to use the adaptor. My former Generac EXL6500 from late '90's charged the battery automatically. So appreciate your fast shipping service.
Cecelia Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
00
William M.
Hampton, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/3/16
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
FEB.
15
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Generac Is Piece Of Junk
The high dollar generator was delivered to me two months ago and it would not produce any current. I took it to a shop as per instructions from Generac and it has not been fixed. They said that they had to order the rotor in the generator and have not received it.

Why are these generators not checked when they are manufactured? I paid $ 1300.00 for piece of junk. Never buy this brand.
Pros: There Are None
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable, Expensive, Junk
William Does Not Recommend This Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
William,
We are sorry to learn of the issues that you are currently experiencing with your personal unit. Please know that our product's are produced and checked at our manufacturing facilities. If issues are experienced after the product is shipped or setup, we would recommend contacting an independent authorized service provider in your local area for any diagnostic or servicing work that your personal unit may require. Please know that these authorized parties can provide any warranty coverage that applies to your personal unit. Since you have already contacted an authorized party for service, we would recommend following-up with them to inquire about the shipping status of the replacement parts that your unit currently requires. Moreover, we encourage you to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722) with the serial number of your unit if you would like to discuss your personal experience in further detail. We do apologize for your frustration and any inconvenience that this unfortunate scenario may have caused.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jim
Branchburg, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/8/13
Total Helpful Votes
20 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
30
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Good Generator
Over the last two years we experienced 3 power outages each lasting over 5 days. After Hurricane Sandy I decided that was enough. I did a lot of research both online and print, and Generac was the generator that kept coming in at the top of the reviews. I had an electrician estimate what size unit I needed and I ordered the 7,000 running watt generator. It was delivered about one week after my order and was delivered to the house by a great trucking service that was willing to wheel it up... more
Was this review helpful?
203
Steve P.
Flanders, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/3/11
Total Helpful Votes
18 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
08
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
I ordered a Generac XG700E after the 2011 Halloween snow storm here in NJ. The unit was back-ordered, but when I received it I was very pleased with it.

I had a little difficulty getting it started the first time, but I think that was due to getting fuel system primed. I ran it a few times to test it, and loaded it up pretty good with a welder and halogen spot lights. No problems.

As luck (or lack of luck!) would have it, one year to the day we were hit by Hurricane Sandy. I am on my... more
Was this review helpful?
182
John
Stockholm, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/29/13
Total Helpful Votes
15 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
20
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Electric Start Xg7000
Arrived in great shape, set it up in a half hour. Tough to get started first time, I think the gas needed to sit in it for a while first. Since then, it starts right up. No choke necessary when warm outside. Average noise I guess, about the same as my 4k generac. Connected to house and put under a good load, did great. Very happy with it, bring on the power outages! (Not really)
Was this review helpful?
150
Anthony
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/29/12
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
30 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
07
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Unit So Far
I opted for this unit over the 7500 watt unit due to it being built in the US. Unit took a few minutes to get started the first time, but has fired up on one pull since. I am very happy with the unit. Motor runs great and it has enough juice for my needs. Delivery was great. Driver was really courteous.

Great experience soo far......
Was this review helpful?
161
Richard S.
Kings Park, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/30/13
Total Helpful Votes
11 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
28
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Prepare For The Weather
Sandy knocked out our power for 11 days. I decided to be prepared. I researched portable generators and Consumer's Reports rated Generac very highly. I couldn't get a stationary whole house generator. My electrician recommended the XG7000. He said it would run most of the important services in the house. Starting it took a few ties but ran well after that. I would highly recommend this product. He also installed a transfer system to hook up to the houses electrical service.
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, High Quality, Easy To Store
Cons: Heavy
Richard Recommends This Generac Product
Richard Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I purchased it from Electric Generators Online. It was delivered promptly and in perfect condition."
 more
Was this review helpful?
110
Greg
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/30/12
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
18 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
27
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My New Xg7000e Named Sandy
After last year's October snow storm and power outage we decided we needed a generator. I did my homework and initially decided on the XG6500. Of course I waited and decided to buy a new snowblower first (also from powerequipmentdirect.com).

Along came Sandy and the XG6500 was out of stock, but the XG7000E was available. I ordered it on Tuesday (the morning after we lost power - classic!) and it arrived at the terminal for pick up on Friday (3 days before EGD said).

I set up the unit per... more
Was this review helpful?
110
Kyle
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/31/12
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
12
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Generator
The generator was shipped fast and in perfect condition; and it started up easily.

I had no problems with flooding as other reviewers stated. It has plenty of power and compact design. Oil changes couldn't be easier- there is a drain hose that you drain the engine with.

Design of the whole system is A+++
Was this review helpful?
100
Bill S
Stephenfield Mb., ND
REVIEWED
AUG.
28
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Generator
Got home last winter to a power out. -34c, generator was stored in a unheated shed and wasn't run for a few weeks. It started right up. I was impressed a lot of cars won't start at -34c without being plugged in.
Pros: Durable, Reliable, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Noisy
Bill Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
91
Don
Stafford, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/28/12
REVIEWED
JAN.
01
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Buy And Quick Delivery
We have been putting off buying a good generator.
We finally went for it and it was a great buy.
I got a quick delivery and put it to use right away. I could not be happier.
Now we are ready for a big snow storm.
Hopefully we get the snow and not the power outage.
But, if it comes we are ready!
Was this review helpful?
91
Anthony
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/29/12
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
30 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
07
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Does The Job
Hooked this up to a Generac XG 7000E watt generator. It wasn't difficult. The only issue I had was the conduit included wasn't long enough to meet my needs. I am very happy with the unit. Service from EGD was great for both the generator and transfer switch
Was this review helpful?
70
John M.
Hanover, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/3/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
24
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No Worries
After Hurricane Sandy hit the East coast, leaving so many without power including myself, my wife and I decided to invest in a portable generator. I chose the Generac XG 7000E after researching many models and I'm very happy with this versatile generator.

The ability to use this generator for home use and to take it out to jobs to use when there is no power was a no-brainer.
Combined with the Gen-Tran kit 30-25 kit this is one great package I highly recommend.

The Gen-Tran allowed us... more
Was this review helpful?
72
Walter
Pine Bush, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/20/10
REVIEWED
OCT.
12
2010
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Won't Start
After following installation and start up procedures, i.e fill with oil, gas, connect starter wire, would not start when cranked over. I checked plug, it was dry, no gas getting to cyclinder. The fuel on off switch was in on position, as it should be to start. I then looked behind fuel switch and saw the out hose going to carb. was pinched. I squeezed together with my fingers to get crimp out and hit start at same time, it started right up. This to me is a design problem, the out hose has to... more
Was this review helpful?
50
Gw
Great Cacapon, WV
REVIEWED
FEB.
16
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
We lose power fairly frequently. We need to run the water pump, two refrigerators and freezer, and enough lights in the kitchen and bath to be comfortable (our heat is wood).

Our first generator is a Generac 4000 Watt (great machine, too) but I felt we were near the max at times. This new one will give us the reserve we need.

Plus, the electric start is a real selling feature.
Was this review helpful?
40
Kenny
Cataumet, MA
REVIEWED
FEB.
11
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Storm Of 2013
I have had my Generator for just over a year, and this was the first time that I actually got to use it for a long period. I lost power for 37 hours during this major snow storm here in Massachusetts. This machine is one of the best investments I have ever purchased. The only problem I had is with the pull start. Other than that this is a great generator for my needs.
Was this review helpful?
30
William
Thornton, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/17/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
26
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Happy
Hey Jim,

Set up my generator today. Really easy setup. A little hard to start at first but after a couple of minutes it started up right away. 20 degrees in Philly. I highly recommend EGD and Generac. I ordered it late Thursday night and it shipped out next day. The first company called me on Tuesday to deliver it. I'm really happy with my new purchase. Louder then I expected but I knew it would be louder then a Honda. It was 1/3 the cost so I will be able the handle the noise. Thanks... more
Was this review helpful?
30
Darrell
REVIEWED
OCT.
12
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Well Pleased
I purchased an XG7000e Generac Generator to run my house during outages. I have a 2-ton Lennox A/C unit, a furnace, 240V well pump, two freezers, one refrigerator, and also ran numerous lights and TV with this unit.

I am an electrician and didn't think it would start the A/C unit. It does and runs at 3/4 load after it starts the unit. It runs at the same noise level as a Black Max generator with a Honda engine.

I am very well pleased.
Was this review helpful?
30
John
Havre Degrace, MD
REVIEWED
SEP.
28
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
I had a great experience with Electric Generators Direct from the customer service agent all the way to the trucker who delivered the unit to my door, great job, keep up the good work...Thanks..
Was this review helpful?
30
Mark
Abingdon, MD
REVIEWED
SEP.
27
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Love This Generator
Bought this Generator the night before Hurricane Lee hit our town. Stood in line from 4 am till store opened. All they had was Generac 7000 watt generators, took it home and set up was easy. Started right up and ran quite a few items in my home, generator ran for 17 hours without any problems. I give this Generac a 5 star. Now I will install a transfer switch before my next outage.
Was this review helpful?
30
Mark
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/13/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
04
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Service, Suspicious Manufacturer
The service I got from Electric Generators Direct was first class. The generator shipped the same day and the delivery driver was courteous and professional. There was no damage to the unit and it started right up after assembling the wheels. I am impressed that Generac included an extra oil filter and extra air filter.

I am annoyed with Generac customer service, though. It wasn't until after I purchased this that I learned about Total Harmonic Distortion and high efficiency furnace control... more
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Mark,
Please feel free to contact Generac Tech Support directly, toll free, at (888) 436-3722 x5381. You should be able to get the more specific response you are looking for.
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Donald F.
Lewis Run, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/1/15
REVIEWED
APR.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Generator For The Money
This unit is a great buy! Put in a little gas and the oil that came with the generator, and it fired up by the second or third revolution. Starts so fast you hardly know the starter engaged. More electrical power than needed.
Donald Recommends This Generac Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Donald,
Thank you for providing us with your review of the XG7000E portable generator. We are happy that you are pleased with your purchase! Don't forget to register your unit with Generac Nation for future consumer alerts and warranty-related information. To register your unit online, please provide the information required here: http://www.generac.com/generac-nation-sign-up?cid=frm-105-aa
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Dominic
Lacombe, LA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/26/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
18
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Satisfied
Well satisfied with the quality and operation. I appreciated having free lift-gate. Came in handy transferring from the semi to my pickup. The driver from R & S was very helpful and courteous. Was also pleased at the attitude of customer service.Whenever I called they were knowledgeable and patient. Would recommend this product and company very highly.
Was this review helpful?
10
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Generac 5798 reviews.Compare our Generac 5798 ratings. Find the Generac 5798 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct