Search
< Back to Product

GenTent GT10KB1UTB Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Free Shipping$154.94
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
Free Shipping$154.94
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$184.94
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
GenTent GT10KB1UTB Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (3)
Durable (3)
High Quality (2)
I'd Buy It Again (2)
Light Weight (1)
Cons
None to display.
83% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
13 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Gary V.
Neshanic Station, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/29/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
SEP.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Video Instructions!
The written instructions were just a bit intimidating but used with the videos, I have to say it worked perfectly.
Gary Recommends This GenTent Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Don H.
Holmdel, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/3/13
Total Helpful Votes
13 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
24
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Product So Far
I have a Westinghouse 7500E generator (not listed above, but included in the GenTent instructions). I haven't used the generator yet, but the product is a great idea, and the installation was simple and straightforward after I watched the installation videos. Mark's responsiveness to my questions about the product was great! So far it looks like an A+.
Was this review helpful?
136
Edward G.
Newton, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/9/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
11
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Protection From The Elements
With this product, you are not just rain and snow proof but windproof. Have the generator in my garage and I just wheel it out with the shield on onto my driveway and am ready for start. Does not add much to the overall dimensions so storage is great.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again
Edward Recommends This GenTent Product
Was this review helpful?
61
Thomas S.
Bliss, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/9/15
Total Reviews
13 Reviews
REVIEWED
NOV.
23
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
No Good In Gustie Winds
My generator has to sit outside in gusty winds The gen tent gets blowen off in gusty winds. It needs to be fastened to the generator so it can't get yanked off in high winds. People by these generators because they need power in bad weather. They can't sit outside and have to hold the cover on the generator
Thomas Does Not Recommend This Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Thomas,
The Gen-Tents should stay secure in gusty winds. You may want to make sure you're using the correct Gen-Tent for your generator and make sure it is installed correctly. If you have any more questions, Gen-Tent can be reached directly @ 781-33G-TENT
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Thomas,
Let's review your installation. GenTent has been 3rd party lab tested for over 70mph direct winds as pulled on an open bouncing trailer. This is equivalent to well over 100mph forecast winds. I'll personally be in touch to work through this with you.
thanks
Mark Carpenter
Owner

Update: I reached out to the customer but did not hear back. I believe the GenTent may not be installed correctly as Thomas stated "It needs to be fastened to the generator so it can't get yanked off in high winds". That is exactly what the GenTent does -- using the included mounting hardware, the entire setup is fastened securely.
more
Was this review helpful?
40
Ken G.
Union, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/11/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
02
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Videos Are Great!
Sometimes I just like to 'see' someone walk through steps instead of reading about what needs to be done. The series of videos created for the GenTent made it simple to assemble. Thanks!
Ken Recommends This GenTent Product
Was this review helpful?
52
George C.
Kearneysville, WV
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/5/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
27
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfection
A great tent! I bought this for my Generac XT 8000E and the installation couldn't be easier. It's a well made product and it's made in the U.S.A!!

What's not to like.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
George Recommends This GenTent Product
Was this review helpful?
52
Danny B.
Cabot, AR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/10/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
31
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Best Protection For Your Generator
I recently bought a new LIFAN ES8000E generator. I was thinking I'd have to build a cover to put it under to keep out the rain.

Thankfully I found out about GenTent.

I received my GenTent two weeks ago. The install was simple, good fit and, though I have yet to use it in the rain, I have no doubt the GenTent will do its job.

The GenTent is made of good quality material, water proof and will protect my generator. And, it is portable i.e. the GenTent can be carried on the generator. The... more
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Light Weight, High Quality
Danny Recommends This GenTent Product
Danny's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"When I gave Electric Generators Direct the make and model of my generator, I was shipped the exact GenTent I needed for my generator."
 more
Was this review helpful?
42
Patrick F.
Oak Harbor, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/19/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product And Customer Service.
Product was easy to install. Video was very helpful. One of the brackets broke during installation. Contacted Mark on a Friday night. Mark responded the next day. The part was under warranty and mailed out on Monday.

The product is available in many colors and looks nice. It is very windy this time of the year in the Northwest and holding up nicely. Thanks again for your prompt and excellent customer service.
Patrick Recommends This GenTent Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Ralph C.
Covington, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/13/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
16
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
New Generator Tent
I received the tent a couple of weeks ago and found it easy to install. I wanted this to protect my generator when it was connected to my home outside. There wasn't any protected place close enough to my house to allow a short cable for connection.

I haven't had a chance to use the generator on a rainy day, but this tent is convenient and looks like it will protect my portable champion generator from shorting out the electrical parts. It allows me to place my generator in the exact... more
Ralph Recommends This GenTent Product
Was this review helpful?
42
Ken M.
Mount Joy, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/2/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Assembled Well - No Problems
I was holding off buying a tent for my Generac XP10000E and recently lost electricity. Had to disconnect the generator twice because of interspersed storms. What good is a generator if you can't use it during a rain storm? So I ordered the Gentent. Watched the video first so assembly was fairly easy. It should perform as advertised and am ready to try it out on the next storm.
Ken Recommends This GenTent Product
Was this review helpful?
10
David R.
Marine City, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/12/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
When you have power out it never fails it is bad weather and for the outside environment this is one great product.
David Recommends This GenTent Product
David's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great service!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Ralph
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/11/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
24
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great And Easy To Install
Provides protection as advertised. Good quality.
Ralph Recommends This GenTent Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Edward W.
Califon, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/12/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
04
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Gen Tent
The Gen Tent should do it's job. It is a $200.00 piece of junk.
Edward Does Not Recommend This Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Edward,
Please feel free to contact us at 800-710-7499 to see if we can help with the issue you are having with the GenTent you purchased. If there is a design flaw or defect the manufacture is available to help as well. GenTent can be reached at (781) 334-8368.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Edward,
I appreciate your input and would be glad to receive and consider any specifics you might like to share. The GenTent is a no compromise, high quality product and we are happy to stand behind it.

Thank You,

Mark Carpenter
Inventor and Owner
GenTent Safety Canopies LLC
more
Edward's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great company had a problem with first generator they took it back with no problems."
 more
Was this review helpful?
22
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest GenTent GT10KB1UTB reviews.Compare our GenTent GT10KB1UTB ratings. Find the GenTent GT10KB1UTB Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct