Search
< Back to Product

Earthquake W1265V Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings - Product Discontinued

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Discontinued
Earthquake W1265V Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 5
Pros
Reliable (1)
Exceeded Expectations (1)
Price (1)
Easy To Use (1)
Cons
Durability (1)
73 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Norman
Total Helpful Votes
13 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
10
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good "home Owner" Splitter
Splits small to medium logs OK. When trying to split a larger log (larger than 2X the wedge height) The log rode up on the top of the wedge and the beam bent. See Photo.

As long as one is splitting only logs less than 20 inches in Diameter this is a very good splitter.

LSD RESPONDS: With larger logs, it's wise to split off slabs from the sides to reduce the mass of the log, before you try to split the center.
View Image
Was this review helpful?
130
Brian
REVIEWED
JUN.
02
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Quick Split 12 Ton
Bought this barely used 3 years ago. Since I have owned it I had to replace the push plate which has been completely redesigned from the original and is now one solid piece, no problems now but before the push plate had bolts which would break 1 or 2x's year. I also sheared off the angle brackets attached to the splitting wedge and had to weld some heavy gauge pieces back on which helps to split the wood. The front leg busted off, very cheaply made. Replaced it with a trailer tongue wheel. The... more
Was this review helpful?
51
Howard B.
Warrenton, OR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/6/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
27
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Earthquake Wood Splitter
My Wood Splitter Arrived Within a Week or So After Ordering It, in Good
Condition. It Was Easy to Put Together, and Works Like a Charm. Very
Pleased With It and Happy We Found You On the Web. Thanks.
Was this review helpful?
40
James
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/25/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
17
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Back Saver For Newly Retired Guy
The splitter arrived on time, and it went together well. I'm not a muscle man, but I was able to do the assembly solo. The thing got going on the first pull, and I knocked off about half a cord of fresh Red Oak fairly quickly. As others have noted, the front support strut is a bit wobbly, but can be addressed by the positioning of a piece of un-split wood. Finally, the whole operation runs at fairly low sound levels. I recommend this nicely-priced machine without reservation.
Was this review helpful?
40
Allan
Oreland, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/7/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
20
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Three Cords Split
Splitter exceeded all expectations. Performs very well even though manufactured outside USA. Reasonable price. Delivery was excellently handled. Was able to handle 20" log, although at age 77, I struggled a little. Much better to have help when lifting wood onto Splitter. Would recommend to anyone.
Was this review helpful?
30
Rich W.
Salineville, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/18/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
09
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Earthquake 12-ton
I haven't had a chance to really use the splitter yet but just wanted to say that the assembly was very easy, I had it together and running in about 1 hour.
I like the adjustable height and the telescoping hitch length.
For the money it appears to be just what I needed, easy to move around and transport.
I would recommend Log Splitters Direct because their prices are the best I have found.
Was this review helpful?
20
Robert
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/18/13
REVIEWED
APR.
22
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quick Split Beauty
I split a lot of wood for my family with an axe. After some research, I ordered the Quick-Split 12 ton. I had to buy some different clamps for the hoses. That was the only problem. Once I got the machine going with the new clamps on the hydraulic hoses, it was a beauty. The clamps that come with the machine are hard to adjust and tighten. I was able to split hard Hickory and Oak with no problem. Now getting firewood is enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?
20
Joannie
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/30/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
14
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Log Splitter
Just wanted everyone to know we love our log splitter it has sure paid for itself. Just put the log on and it does the rest all we have to do is stack the wood. Glad we bought it.
Was this review helpful?
10
Gary
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/3/13
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Log Splitter
The Earthquake splitter is great. My wife and I split some wood that had multiple knots and was in our "can't use" pile and the splitter had no problem. We split about a cord in an hour and finally enjoyed the chore of splitting.
Was this review helpful?
10
Ron W.
Wheeling, WV
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/9/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
20
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine, Reasonable Price.
Fast delivery. Easy to assemble. Runs great. Does the job as expected. Very well pleased except......the ram bolts are poor quality. The bolts stripped and the nuts fell off after only a few hours of operation.. Stronger nuts and bolts are needed to withstand the pressure.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable
Cons: Durability
Ron Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Kevin
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/29/13
REVIEWED
APR.
19
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love This Splitter
This little splitter really does the job, totally satisfied so far. Nice job of fast shipping from Log Splitters Direct.
Was this review helpful?
00
Joe E.
Judith Gap, MT
REVIEWED
APR.
15
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Splitter
First splitter I've owned and like it very much. The clamps that came with the splitter blew after the first crank. After replacing the clamps, the splitter ran like a champ. Split everything I threw at it.
Was this review helpful?
00
Mike Y.
Milltown, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/8/13
REVIEWED
APR.
02
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Log Splitter
Easy to assemble, easy to use. Good for occasional log splitting.
Was this review helpful?
00
Marty
Advance,, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/20/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
18
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My New Log Splitter
I received my log splitter in the fastest possible timing. Ordered it Wednesday, late afternoon and it arrived Friday at noon from IL to NC. A buddy helped me assemble it and the motor kicked over and started immediately. I had a little trouble finding 10w hydraulic fluid but NAPA had it. Once I put the fluid in everything worked beautifully. I split Oak, Maple, Walnut and Apple no problem. I'm very pleased with the unit and the price is great.
Was this review helpful?
00
Tom
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/15/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
13
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Keep On Splitting Ecellent For Off Road Splitting With A Quad!!
As soon as I received this splitter I put it together (there is not much to assemble but I took my time ). The next day I fired it up and went to town. I was splitting 24" logs with knots and cut threw them like butter! When you buy this splitter it comes with oil for the motor but you need to buy hydrolic fluid (6) quarts for the splitter. The motor runs great, starts 1 pull. A little tweaking and it purs like a kitten. The one good thing about it, is you can pull it behind your quad... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Brian
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/7/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
01
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Log Splitter
Hello,

Thank you for providing a great product at a great price. The Log Splitter was easy to put together and it works really well. The shipping company you go through is not so good. They make you wait around all day & still do not show up in the time frame that they said they would.
Was this review helpful?
00
Brian
Beaver Springs, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/1/13
REVIEWED
FEB.
27
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Little Splitter
Love this little splitter. Has no problems splitting oak which is all I burn. Very good product and great price. Fast shipping. Highly recommend it!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert S.
Notie, OR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/27/13
REVIEWED
FEB.
20
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Just What I Needed
This log splitter is perfect for what I need. It arrived within a week, assembled easily (though the instructions are a little sketchy in a couple of places), fired right up, and splits wood just like I needed. I have 5 acres in Oregon with almost all Douglas Fir, and it goes right through the biggest stuff I've tried. It's made in China, so it's a little crude around the welds and certainly not a professional wood lot machine you could use all day every day for years. The frame stand is... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Elizabeth
Upper Chichester, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/14/12
REVIEWED
JAN.
28
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Liz
Hi, I purchased the Earthquake log splitter for my husband as a birthday gift. It arrived very quickly (as promised) and was well packed. It took us about 2 1/2 hours to put it together and we had to refer to the picture on the box a few times to see if we were doing it right.

My husband is thrilled with his log splitter and has used it many times since receiving it.

Thank you for a great product and for a great website that is full of information and user friendly!
Was this review helpful?
00
John
Bethlehem, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/3/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
25
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Skeptical
LOVE IT! Log splitter arrived in a timely fashion. Assembled easily and turned over on 2nd pull. Well worth the money paid for it. One tiny drawback is the support leg in front (a little cheesy), but easily remedied by supporting towing receiver on log cut to length.

Been splitting oak, maple, poplar, and ash. Rips through all like butter. One small glitch in registering warranty but easily fixed with one phone call to manufacturer. KUDOS!,
Was this review helpful?
00
Blake
Cushing, OK
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/2/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
24
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Earth 12 Ton Gas Splitter
Unless there are a couple of strong guys to unload the splitter go ahead and spring for the lift gate delivery. My driver was helpful and offered to remove the one large box from the pallet. The unit comes in several large pieces and requires some assembly.

All parts were provided including the engine mounting bolts which my instructions indicated were not supplied. After assembly, check the float chamber and make sure it is tight. This log splitter started right up with one pull of... more
Was this review helpful?
00
James Owen
Pompton Lakes, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/22/12
REVIEWED
JAN.
14
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Log Splitter
I received the splitter in a large box and it was very easy to put together. It took about 30 minutes. I picked up the required hydraulic oil and gas and the motor started first time.

I split a 1/2 cord of wood in and hour. I like the extra height of the splitter deck, it makes it much easier on your back. Overall great power.
Was this review helpful?
00
Charlene
Plattsmouth, NE
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/25/12
REVIEWED
JAN.
11
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Earthquake W1265v
Extremely satisfied with the splitter. Haven't found any wood big or small no matter the hardness that the splitter won't split.

The Viper engine runs great. I would recommend this splitter to anyone.
Was this review helpful?
00
David
Denison, IA
REVIEWED
JAN.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Pretty Good Log Splitter
I have had my log splitter for about 3 months. It is fun to use. Some of the directions for putting it together aren't correct or just not there, but common sense will get you through it. It is pretty powerful. It will almost split anything I throw at it. I only had two pieces of hard knotted elm wood it couldn't split. One was about 16 in diameter and 18 inches long. It wouldn't split it in half, but when I repositioned it it cut it into 3rds. I had a smaller 12 in diameter 18 in long piece... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Mark
Richland Springs, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/9/12
REVIEWED
DEC.
30
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Love My Log Splitter
My wife bought this for me as a Christmas present to save my shoulder. We have been cutting down trees and clearing land.
I love this log splitter because it makes the job so easy. It saves my shoulder and arm in the process.
Was this review helpful?
00
Laurie
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/3/12
REVIEWED
DEC.
25
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Splitter
I have only used this splitter a few times but it starts easily and splits pretty much anything I've put through it, including 20" elm.
The unit seems to sip the gas. I am very happy with it.
The assembly instructions are terrible and the front leg of it is somewhat wobbly, but the unit itself is great!
Was this review helpful?
00
Chris
Hopatcong, NJ
REVIEWED
DEC.
20
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Earthquake Log Splitter
Painless ordering put it together about an hour.
Next day added fluids. Then split about 2 cords of
Wood. Some real big oak and this little splitter didn't miss
a beat. 2 thumbs up.
Was this review helpful?
00
Bill M.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/20/12
REVIEWED
DEC.
12
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Working Out Great
My log splitter arrived within a week and is working out great. It was easy to assemble and splits great.

For the price I believe it was a very good buy.
Was this review helpful?
00
Deanne H.
Wellston, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/28/12
REVIEWED
DEC.
11
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Buy
We needed an economical log splitter that worked...and we found it,. It is an excellent buy, it split everything we needed it to with ease.

It's a very nice machine. Thank you from a happy customer.
Was this review helpful?
00
Jason
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/27/12
REVIEWED
DEC.
04
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good For The Price
I've only split about one cord so far. It seem to have plenty of power to bust through green juniper.

But, the frame is a little janky. It wobbles a lot, and the front leg is flimsy. I figured for 75 to 100 dollars I could build a solid frame and be able to tow behind a vehicle. As long as the ram and motor last I'll be happy.

LSD RESPONDS: This unit was not designed for on-road towing; the tires and axle are not rated for road use. Modifying the log splitter will void your warranty.
Was this review helpful?
00
Deborah
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/13/12
REVIEWED
DEC.
04
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
Love it! Received it in only 3 days and, it works beautifully.
Was this review helpful?
00
William W.
Nashport, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/9/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
21
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
65 Year Old Disabled Guy
My son and I bought the Earthquake splitter. We had it together in 25 minutes.

We checked everything and bled the fluids; and we thought we would try it out the day we received it. Well, I put the oil in it, then gas. My son pulled the cord and away it went.

We started splitting the small stuff- no problem at all. Each piece of wood got bigger, and still no problem. Now, I'm talking about splitting wild black cherry logs- that is some pretty tough wood. Also, it wasn't quite cured yet;... more
Was this review helpful?
00
William
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/23/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
14
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Log Splitter
The log splitter is great! It was delivered as advertised and the delivery individual was very courteous and helpful.

It was easy to assemble (there were a few problems but nothing significant) and it just took a couple of hours. Serviced the fluids. It took 1.5 quarts more than advertised.

The engine started on the 3rd pull and I have been splitting logs ever since. I recommend this splitter to anyone.
Was this review helpful?
00
Matt
Ophir, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/17/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
12
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Plenty Of Splitter
I was skeptical, but for the price I gave it a shot. It has plenty of power to split gnarly juniper. It barely bogs down on anything.

I've split 4 cords already and it's hardly broken in, it starts with a couple of pulls.

It's light enough that 2 guys can easily throw it in the back of a pickup, which you'll need to do because you're definitely not towing it on the road.
Was this review helpful?
00
Rozella C.
Rushville, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/12/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
02
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
Great product! I would definitely recommend it to anyone who has the need to split a lot of wood.

It fires up on the first pull and idles well.
Was this review helpful?
00
Joseph M.
Crescent Valley, NV
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/7/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
28
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy Camper
I needed a wood splitter simply because I was tired of the sledge and wedge-o'matic action. This machine is smooth, and reliable from what I can offer any advice to anyone so far. I am pleased with the price and the size. An elevated work platform makes operating the splitter an easy job.

The ONLY negative I can think of is the small brass breather valve on the side of the hydraulic tank. I would keep tightening it, it would back off until finally it fell out and was GONE. I went to a... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Manuel
Edgewood, NM
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/13/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
25
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
I am very pleased with my wood splitter. It was easy to assemble and works Great!

It saved my back from a lot of pain. I've split at least 7 cords with it. I recommend it to anyone- you won't be disappointed.

Good price also. I give it a 10.
Was this review helpful?
00
Larry
Luther, OK
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/9/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
20
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
Not much to say- easy assembly, started with the second pull on the rope; works great.
Was this review helpful?
00
Susan H.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/6/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
16
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Handled All The Wood I Had
I am really pleased with my splitter. It is slow as molasses but it gets the job done.

I waited to write the review until I had some hardwood instead of pine. I was given some green walnut and it handled it just fine. I also worried about whether I could start a gas engine myself, and it started on the second pull.

The foot that it balances on is not real sturdy but it handled all the wood I had. For the price I couldn't have done better.
Was this review helpful?
00
Paul S.
Alpharetta, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/14/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
06
2012
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Earthquake W1265
Have been unable to get Viper engine to run properly. Engine starts after several pulls and then just surges and will not run continuously at operating speed. It is brand new.
Was this review helpful?
00
Sandra J.
Rochester, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/6/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
27
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Women Take Notice!!
I love it!!! I am a 67 year old woman and put the splitter together myself!! I did need a neighborhood fella to lift a very heavy part for me, but I did the rest easily. It took about 3 hours but was quite simple.

The unit is very light in comparison to other splitters I was looking at, but that did not seem to affect its ability to split even the knottiest wood (if that is a word). It is relatively quiet, very quick and I have not had one piece that seemed to give it any trouble.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
James S.
Rochester, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/3/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
25
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Splitter
I split about 2 face cords of hardwood, with no problems. It split logs 16" in diameter.

The only thing I don't like is the pins used for different postions are hard to use, and the stand leg could be a little stronger.
Was this review helpful?
00
Paul T.
Troy, ME
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/15/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
17
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Back Loves It
This is one of the best purchases I have made! It is a great tool and surpasses all expectations.

I can tow it into the woodlot and it splits the toughest rounds. I can split standing upright and my back loves it.
Was this review helpful?
00
Dave C.
Athelstane, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/4/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
16
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Up-north Wisconsin
I am very satisfied with this model, it splits everything that a full size splitter would. . .

It's well worth its price.
Was this review helpful?
00
Eric
Griswold, CT
REVIEWED
AUG.
27
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far, So Good
I purchased this log splitter and had it delivered very quickly right to my garage.

I have split two cords of green wood with it so far and have had only excellent results- and not one problem to report.

I have put 12"-24" pieces of wood through it and it splits the logs like a champ; so far, so good. And, it really isn't all that loud either, when running For long periods of time...

Overall I would highly recommend this log splitter to anyone in the market looking for a... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Fred
Grand Rapids, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/11/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
24
2012
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Fred
When I was assembling the log splitter, the manual was so dark that I could not make out the pictures. The text was blurry, like double vision. I had to go to Sears to see the model and make notes to assemble this product. I have some vibration, because of the front leg is not steady. I also did not receive the log cradle that was shown on the web pape and listed in the manual. I hope other buyers have better luck with their purchase.
Was this review helpful?
22
Marie
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/19/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
23
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
... But I'll Still Keep My Husband Around.
As my husband and I reached our 6th decade, we've been investing in labor saving devices to help out when we get old. This year we bought the log splitter. I cut all the wood and my husband has had the job of splitting. We burn about 5 cords per year here in the cold Midwest.

When our Earthquake arrived, we put it together in about 4 hours and I started using it the next morning. I immediately split 3 Gator loads without breaking a sweat. It has amazing power for such a compact piece of... more
Was this review helpful?
00
John B.
Hardinsburg,, KY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/20/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
22
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No Stopping Me
I picked up my woodsplitter at the depot and had a friend with the proper tools put it together. It took him 25 minutes. After calling around for several hours I finally found the 10 w hydraulic fluid. Rural King sells it.

Well, there was no stopping me. The little gas-sipping motor started on the second pull and it is a GODSEND. It splits everything I have.

For the money a great value....for me...saves my back. Thank you for making a small, well-built woodsplitter for a decent price... more
Was this review helpful?
00
John G.
Painted Post, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/5/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
12
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sweeeet !
Read the reviews, somewhat impressed. Bought the unit, only three days to show up. Poorly packaged but everything was there.

READ the directions. Assembled easily. Added fuel and oil to engine, Hydraulic oil to reservoir, Engine started on second pull. Ram bounced a bit till I got the air worked out. (cycle back and forth with bleeder open)

Inserted the first log and pulled the lever and YEEE HAAAH !!! Thing works amazing. Split up to 20" white oak
without a problem.

I would... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Don K.
Col Grove, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/30/12
REVIEWED
JUN.
08
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Log Splitter
its a great little log splitter; haven't found anything it didn't split yet- splits bigger logs than i want to pick up.
Was this review helpful?
00
Marty
Laporte, IN
REVIEWED
APR.
23
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
You Won't Be Disappointed.
Go out and get yourself this splitter while supplies last. You will not be disappointed. I believe the manufactures try to oversell log splitters.

I wanted a much larger splitter but for the price I thought I would give it a shot. WOW.

Don't forget splitters are rated for how long the stroke is also. If you only can get a 18 inch long log in your would burner this little splitter will split just about anything in diameter.

Go ahead try 20" diameter by 18" long. NO PROBLEM.
Was this review helpful?
00
Fred Y.
Arvada, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/20/12
REVIEWED
APR.
10
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wow!
wow Wow WOW - I LOVE IT!!!!!
Was this review helpful?
00
Doug
Bremerton, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/17/12
REVIEWED
MAR.
10
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
72 Year Old Home Owner
I am a person of few words. This log splitter works "GREAT".
Was this review helpful?
00
Norm
Pleasant Hill, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/17/12
REVIEWED
FEB.
07
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quiet Operation
Have run this log splitter for about three hours straight..........not a problem.......no complaints. Runs quiet compared to others. Have only split about a cord.......looking forward to a long service life????????

Good price when compared to others.
Was this review helpful?
00
Jon S.
Sag Harbor, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/11/11
REVIEWED
JAN.
19
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Started Off Bad, Ended Great
First, Log Splitters Direct are Very fast shippers. Unit made it Eastern Long Island, New York in two or three days. The bad part was that the engine was bad (no fault of Log Splitters Direct).

I contacted Ardisam Earthquake and spoke to their great tech support. The engine needed a total replacement and because of no service dealer in my area, they sent me a ups label to send them back the bad engine and they sent a new one right out. I put new engine on and it runs great.

Unit has... more
Was this review helpful?
00
John L.
Abingdon, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/19/11
REVIEWED
JAN.
09
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
1st Log Splitter
I finally got my own log splitter after searching for the best buy. The ease of assembly and awesome design make the Earthquake one fantastic machine.

I've been busting logs over 20" diameter like there's no tomorrow.

I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful?
00
Tim
Richmond, KY
REVIEWED
DEC.
12
2011
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Earthquake Log Splitter First Days
First, it arrived in very good condition.

Putting it together was OK. but manual could have been clearer about how to mount the engine.

Currently having warranty work done on it because it is leaking from the cylinder and was low on splitting power.

LSD RESPONDS: Many units will have a bleeder valve on the hydraulic cylinder that is closed for shipping, but needs to be opened during use. If it's not opened prior to use the hydraulic fluid will not compress properly and may leak.
Was this review helpful?
00
Big Al
Glasgow, VA
REVIEWED
DEC.
01
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Completely Satisfied
Ordered and received quickly. Paid lot less than advertised for elsewhere.

I had another Earthquake machine that over ten years have proved dependable. This one has a quiet, easy-to-start engine, great hydraulics (I can bust up big logs and no hesitation), is convenient to haul behind my ATV (a fairly small one), quick to assemble and appears to have low upkeep.

No problems here.
Was this review helpful?
00
Mark
Dora, AL
REVIEWED
NOV.
23
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Earthquake Log Splitter ++++++++++
i just purchased this splitter last week and love it.

i mainly split hickory for my local BBQ joint and have been doing it by hand and decieded it was time to buy a gas powered unit and i love it for the price and for the size logs it will split it's the best deal on the internet.

i have put a hickory log 15'' in diameter and 21'' long with knots and still no problem i would recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful?
00
Kevin S.
Arbovale, WV
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/23/11
REVIEWED
OCT.
02
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wow
Decided to put this to the test with normal sized wood we get instead of nice safe sized piece. Went right through it without having to turn it for a second cut.

Tried it on another piece that was cut down earlier this fall, wind twisted and half green. Worked great.

Thought it was going to be a waste of money, changed our mind real fast. Have used other, large splitters and this one worked just as good as they did.

Posting pictures and a video on my Facebook.
Was this review helpful?
00
Mike B.
Windfall, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/19/11
REVIEWED
SEP.
10
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It
I love the splitter but where do I find spare parts?

LSD RESPONDS: Earthquake products are distributed in the US by Ardisam, Inc. in Wisconsin. They can be contacted, toll free, at 800-345-6007.
Was this review helpful?
00
Merle H.
Lincoln, MT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/26/11
REVIEWED
JUN.
27
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Log Splitter Is Fun
I recently purchased a 12 ton gas log splitter for my home use. When it got here I put it together in about 30 minutes. I filled it up and bled out the air to get it ready to use.

Once I had the splitter all ready I put a 21 inch log in it to put it to the test. It split so fast and easy I couldn't believe it. I had so much fun splitting wood that I split a whole cord and then stacked it.

I burn 5 cords of wood each winter in Montana and would for sure recommend this splitter to any... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Frank
Central City, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/27/11
REVIEWED
JUN.
19
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great, Light Weight, Easy To Set Up
It's great, light weight, and easy to set up.

My land has all oak trees. I have split fresh and seasoned trees without any problem.

For the money you can't beat this splitter.
Was this review helpful?
00
David
Cottage Grove, OR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/14/11
REVIEWED
JUN.
06
2011
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Nice Looking Thats About It.
Put it together not hard to do. Only one problem wont start. Will have to contact service center . That is if they have one in Oregon. Problem seems to be in carburetor
Was this review helpful?
00
John H.
Shell Lake, WI
REVIEWED
MAY.
13
2011
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Serious Users Beware
After two years of use, the control valve developed a serious leak. The dealer said he has seen this same problem several times and recommended a patch that did not work. I had to spend over $250 for the replacement part. Disappointed after two years of use and perhaps 20 full cords slit during the two years. When it wasn't leaking it worked fine.
Was this review helpful?
00
Jeremy
Green Bay, WI
REVIEWED
APR.
20
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worth Every Penny
this splitter is simply awesome. For its size there is nothing it won't split.

Reliable, powerful, and compact. For the price I would get this over a bigger splitter if I were to do it again.
Was this review helpful?
00
Pete
Hudsonville, MI
REVIEWED
APR.
16
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Bang For The Buck
I have borrowed neighbor's wood splitters and decided it was time to buy my own. My neighbors all had the big 22 ton splitters.

I bought this one and took up to my cottage. I had 6, 120' tall trees with a diameter of 16/18" across cut down. I fired up my Earthquake (one pull) and wow, what a nice sounding engine (very quiet).

I placed a 18 " diameter log on it and it split great. I am a happy camper.
Was this review helpful?
00
Martin P.
Alumbank, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/10/11
REVIEWED
APR.
02
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Looking Forward
I've only got to use it a couple of hours, but it has split everything I put on it so far.

The real test will come in a few more weeks. I live in PA and have a variety of hardwood to split on it, and will put it through its paces; but so far I'm impressed.
Was this review helpful?
00
Rebecca
N.Wilkesboro, NC
REVIEWED
FEB.
06
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Gift
I bought the log splitter for my Dad's birthday. The splitter so far works great.
Was this review helpful?
00
Al
Durham, CT
REVIEWED
DEC.
31
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Splitter
I received the splitter as a gift. When I first assembled the splitter I thought it might not have the power I needed. Boy was I wrong! I can't find anything it wont split!

The height is also great, I can split standing up. The double towing is nice too, I pull it and a trailer at the same time with my quad!

I would recommend the splitter to anyone.
Was this review helpful?
00
Rick
Boise, ID
REVIEWED
MAY.
03
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Recommended To Anyone!
I am very satisfied with the log splitter, have not found anything it doesn't split with ease.

The only thing I would change is the height of the wedge, it seems it would split a bit better if it were a bit taller.

I love that the tongue is extendable, it makes for great ease of handling. The fact that it adjusts to two heights for splitting is also a real bonus.

I would recommend it to anyone!
Was this review helpful?
00
Marty Rabis
Middlefield, CT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/27/10
REVIEWED
APR.
18
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
One Of The Best Things Ever
I love the log splitter, it is one of the best things I ever bought.
Was this review helpful?
00
David
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/28/13
REVIEWED
APR.
24
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Splitter
Easy to assemble and easy to use. Great little log splitter. I am very happy with it.
Was this review helpful?
01
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Earthquake W1265V reviews.Compare our Earthquake W1265V ratings. Find the Earthquake W1265V Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct