Your Cart @ Power Equipment Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
< Back to Product

Earthquake MC43 Gas Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$189.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$189.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$189.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$201.39
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$191.76
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Earthquake MC43 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 5
Pros
Price (20)
Easy To Use (14)
Exceeded Expectations (12)
I'd Buy It Again (10)
Light Weight (9)
Cons
Unreliable (7)
Low Quality (7)
Durability (5)
Difficult To Use (3)
Customer Service (1)
81% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
109 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Robert, the Tiller Expert
Power Equipment Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
22 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
1631 Helpful Votes
Power Equipment Direct Recommended

The Earthquake MC43 2-cycle gas cultivator is ideal for working in smaller gardens and areas where space is limited.

The Earthquake MC43 gas cultivator is a garden superstar when it comes to weeding, working in fertilizer or mixing soil. Its small size and lightweight design allow it to easily maneuver through the rows of your garden without damaging your plants.

The Earthquake MC43 cultivator features a high performance 43cc Viper 2-cycle engine that delivers the right amount of... more
Robert Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
12627
manufacturers review image

Leif R.
Director Of Sales
From The Manufacturer
Mc43 Mini-cultivator
Pound for pound, the MC43 is the most powerful and versatile tool in the garden.

Our 43cc two cycle Viper engine is packs plenty of power to cultivate, aerate, weed, and amend garden soils, or turn compost heaps with ease.

The engine-forward design of the tiller keeps the tines down in the soil, and prevents the cultivator from bouncing. That way, you can work closer to your plants and that means less hand weeding.

Tines are forged, so they stand up to the rocks and roots without... more
Was this review helpful?
284
Tommy F.
Port Wentworth, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/10/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
APR.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Earthquake Mc43 Tiller
I purchased an Earthquake Tiller model MC43 from Tiller's Direct it came in very fast took me 10 minutes to put together added gas and oil mixture pulled three times and it fired right up this is one powerful little tiller I could not stall it down works great especially for my garden beds. thanks guys I love this machine.
View Image
Tommy Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Kerry S.
Denver, IN
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
MAR.
02
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Poor Quality
Bought this mini 43cc tiller from menards and as others found out they won't take it back because it has had gas put in it used this tiller under 6 times not more than a hour of run time total and it locked up so took it to they repair center menards said to take it to and they called to let me know it wouldn't be under warranty because it got hot and locked up due to poor quality oil but everything I own has run on this gas and oil I only buy high quality stihl oils in fact they double the... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Kerry,
I am very sorry about the trouble you had. I am very happy that you decided to call us and we were able to replace the unit for you. Please if you have any problems in the future call us at 800-345-6007. We are happy to help our customers.
more
Was this review helpful?
122
Jeff D.
Lumberton, NJ
REVIEWED
MAY.
09
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Nice Cultivator But Tines Broke On First Use.
I saw the reviews and thought I would purchase this cultivator to replace my 14 year old on I bought from Sears. Read all the directions, started up nicely and went to work. Tilled my raised bed vegetable gardens very well. After about getting half way through I noticed it was not working as well when I started.

When I checked out the cultivator I noticed that two of the tines on one of the inner wheels had broken off. I was shocked that this would happen after all the good reviews I read... more
Pros: Price, Easy To Use
Cons: Low Quality, Durability, Tines Broke After 1st Use
Jeff Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Kathy E.
Camden, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/11/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Like It!
Our little Earthquake MC43 is a good little tiller. Perfect for what we need. I LIKE it!
Kathy Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Pete R.
Marmora, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/9/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
31
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fantastic Cultivator!!!
My Earthquake cultivator is a fantastic machine!!! It replaced a Sears unit that I just gave up on. Hurt my shoulder trying to start it.
The Earthquake on the other hand was easy starting (after reading the instruction booklet). I like the position of the starter rope, easy to reach. This machine is easy to handle, it did the job I wanted to do. (starting my veg. garden). I would recommend the Earthquake MC 43 to anyone interested in buying a mini cultivator.
Pete Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
30
June B.
Cordele, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/21/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
13
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Satisfied
I have been very satisfied with the cultivator. Has been easy to start and just what I needed for a small garden.
June Recommends This Earthquake Product
June's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Was very pleased with how soon it was sent"
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
James T.
York, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/20/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
11
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Little Tiller
Very easy to get up and running. Works really well for the size.
James Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Jon L
New York, NY
REVIEWED
APR.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Does Alot Of Work For A Little Machine
This little machine kicks butt!! it did 400 sq ft of yard/garden on one tank of gas. I used it to regrade my yard which i then reseeded and it tilled the entire flower garden for the wife. It was also cheaper than any other similar model.
Jon Recommends This Earthquake Product
Jon's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast shipping, great service."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Connie P.
Baxley, GA
REVIEWED
MAR.
20
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Very Disappointed
I had high hopes for this little tiller, but, was very disappointed. I'm a 61 year old woman, hoping I could start this machine without my husbands help. Finally I had to ask him to start it for me. After about 15 pulls it finally started.

And like a lot of the other reviews, was very impressed with the job it did. Later on in the same day was going to use it again. It hasn't cranked since. It has less than 2 hours work on it. Tomorrow, I'm taking it back to the store where I... more
Pros: Price
Cons: Unreliable, Won't Crank
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Connie,
We do value our customers. I hope that you will consider calling our customer service at 800-345-6007. We would be more than happy to help you get up and running again. Our techs are very knowledgeable and can usually diagnose the problem over the phone. Indeed, our techs believe, based upon your description, that the engine may not be getting enough RPMs (300+) to engage at the time of starting. We have a very easy and quick fix if that is in fact the problem. I would be happy to send you one of our Hypercoils, which installs easily in place of the original recoil. The Hypercoil has less resistance, making the recoil much easier to pull and supplies the 300+ RPMs from the middle to the end of the pull of the recoil instead of from the beginning to the end of the pull. Please give us a call at 800-345-6007 and we can try and solve your issue.
more
Was this review helpful?
30
Jeremy U.
Toledo, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/13/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
03
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Solid Little Machine
Haven't used the tiller much but so far its performed up to expectations. Fires right up and runs good. It was a breeze to get set up and ready to go. A few nuts and bolts to get the handle put together and that was essentially it. Put some fuel in it, followed the directions for starting and beat the crap out of it for a half hour.

It does just what i needed it to do. Till up a couple of the wife's flower beds and got our city sized garden (12 x 25 or so) ready for the new season. Its a... more
Jeremy Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Ronald R.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/18/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
31
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Small, But Powerful
This mini cultivator works great. We have a small garden that had been cultivated 2 years ago with a tractor set up. We needed something smaller because we have the area all fenced in and didn't want to take down the fencing.

This Earthquake cultivator did the trick. It went right through it and we were able to plant the garden again. It does a great job, very impressed.
Ronald Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Rickey H.
Ravenna, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/9/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
30
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
No Problembs
Great little tiller/cultivator
Rickey Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Donald J.
Powell, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/15/16
REVIEWED
APR.
09
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fuel Efficient
Light weight, easy to transport to garden areas. Does an excellent job of tilling the soil once the heavy weeds and roots are removed. Drag stake adjustment could be easier to place in position. A swing down and lock system would be more convenient.

Lost one handle bolt and washer(s) and company quick to send replacements. I should have checked all handle knobs for tightness prior to each tilling. Overall, a great product that I enjoy using.
Donald Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Mike H.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/15/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
08
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Earthquake
I so far love the Litte tiller. I'm getting old and with the right mosture and time it tills like a big over priced tiller. Love it.
Mike Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Carlos T.
Jewett, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/15/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Earthquake Mc43
read reviews and bought this. garden was overgrown with weeds and thats why i bought it. i now have a garden again. rocks will get bound in it so its best to pick them out. great machine and do not see any purpose spending much more $ to get same results.
Carlos Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Sandra R.
South Euclid, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/25/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Item
I bought this for my husband. He loves it. Great for edging and getting in between plants in the flower beds and garden. Highly recommend this item.
Sandra Recommends This Earthquake Product
Sandra's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast shipping. Great place to shop."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Jody W.
Delavan, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/3/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Flower Beds.
I bought this to use in my flower beds, and it works great. It would work just as well going around plants in a garden. After shopping around, I found this to be a better product for less money than anywhere I looked. It was shipped out amazing fast,very simple to put together and I couldn't be happier with not only the product but also the company.
Jody Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Ben M.
Westfield, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/21/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
13
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Cultivator
Came within days of ordering, easy setup. Watched YouTube video & he said take a hammer to clear rocks that get stuck, which saved me, as it happened twice. This machine has power and can break up virgin dirt, but it does take awhile for the tines to break up hardened clay, but it can.
Ben Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Sandra R.
South Euclid, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/25/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Item
Got this as a gift for my husband. He loves it. Starts right up and easy to handle. Highly recommend this item.
Sandra Recommends This Earthquake Product
Sandra's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great gift for my husband. He loved it."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Bob G.
Phelps, NY
REVIEWED
MAY.
25
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Great Unit If You Can Get It Started!
Once you get it started it will provide much power, not to be confused with a big roto-tiller however. It is by far the hardest, most toughest engine to start that I have ever owned, so beware.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Bob,
I am sorry to hear about the trouble you had starting the machine. Please call our customer service at 800-345-6007. We have an excellent to that will work with you and ensure that the mini cultivator starts easily for you.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Gary K.
Prairie City, OR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/28/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
20
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Small Tiller, Happy
For being a small tiller it works good just have to take time. Its heaver than most small ones, but thats good.so far its been good
Gary Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Richard S.
W. Wareham, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/16/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Earthquake Mc43
This is a great little machine for the money. I find it does a much better job if I pull it backwards.
Pros: Price, Exceeded Expectations, Light Weight, I'd Buy It Again
Richard Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Gene V.
Morrisville, VT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/17/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
10
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Raised Beds
I bought this machine to rototill my raised beds. I found out that my soil (compost) is too lite for the machine to move forward by the blades. Therefore, I had to pull the machine backwards. That did what I wanted it to do in the raised bed, but harder work.
Gene Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Johann E.
Charlotte, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/28/16
REVIEWED
APR.
30
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Earthquake Tiller
Great little tiller. This tiller isn't built for big jobs, but for flower beds it's wonderful.

You can get in and around your flowers and destroy the weeds or just break up the soil. Very handy!
Johann Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Robert J.
Manchester Township, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/25/16
REVIEWED
APR.
08
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Mc43 Tiller
First one was NG. Sending me a new one. Hope this one will work
Robert, the Tiller Expert
Product Expert
Robert,
Please let us know if you have any problems with your new replacement tiller.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Robert,
I show that you received the replacement mini cultivator and called to register it with us. I am happy to see that the product is working great for you. Please contact us with any questions in the future that we may assist you with.
more
Was this review helpful?
32
Robert C.
Omaha, NE
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/1/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
23
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Works Well
The price was very reasonable. Would like it better if it would cut deeper through the clay soil. Use the shovel to pierce the ground first, then use the earthquake. I thought it did a great job for its size. I would recommend it . Starts right up. The primer is tucked away, took a moment to find it. Still things for me to learn about the earthquake.
Robert Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Carl W.
Independence, KY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/7/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy
The tiller started the second pull and unsecured good. Worked up a 10x12 sod yard for planting, and it was up for the task. Light and easy to store.
Carl Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Thomas M.
Notasulga, AL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/28/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
20
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Out Of The Box
My tiller arrived very quickly,was very easy to put the handle together.It started quickly right out of the box.It came with the oil to mix with the gas.I have used it several times for long periods and it performs very well. I would advise wearing gloves to cut down on the vibration from turning up the soil.All and all money well spent on this machine.
Thomas Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert
Glen Head, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/26/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
I'm sure I pushed this little machine much harder then the designers intended and it did I great job. I think its worth the money. Assembly was easy, fuel, 3 pulls and it working.

If you have an area with a lot of roots they can get tangled between the center tines but its really not a big problem. no regrets on this purchase.
Robert Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Steven H.
Hornell, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/25/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
Use it to go in between rows. I am disabled can not get down to pull weeds. This helps me out. Now I just run it between rows takes all the weeds out thanks steven.
Steven Recommends This Earthquake Product
Steven's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"WORKS GREAT FOR WEEDING"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Terry M.
Holladay, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/21/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Needed Quick
Couldn't find any small tillers locally in the big box stores, so I went online. Tillers Direct met the need and price expectations. Reviews showed the MC43 not starting easily but mine has not failed to start on the first or second pull yet and has done the job.
Terry Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Karen P.
Clark, WY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/17/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Little Machine
The weeds were overtaking my garden. In just 2 days, I was able to take back my garden and it also was great to plant new grass!
Karen Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Hank G.
Zanesville, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/12/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
05
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Earthquake Work Very Well!
Easy to put together and it does a great job in the garden! I recommend the product!
Hank Recommends This Earthquake Product
Hank's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Works well!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Carol M.
Oquawka, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/6/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Earthquake Cultvator
Just right for what I wanted for my small garden.
Carol Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Harrison W.
Gering, NE
REVIEWED
JUN.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best I've Owned
This is the best of the three I have owned for a Mini tiller. Troy built (worm gear stripped), Ryobi (hard start lasted one season). Earthquake is very easy start, light weight but can go as deep as you want in soft soil to crusted soil. Works harder than it looks like it can do.
Harrison Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Dick C.
Shoals, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/3/16
REVIEWED
APR.
30
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Love My Mini Cultivator
Had a Craftsman cultivator (this one is the best i have every used great bargain thanks).
Dick Recommends This Earthquake Product
Dick's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy to start and to use perfect....."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Mark H.
Edgewood, KY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/1/16
REVIEWED
APR.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just What I Was Looking For.
I was looking for a mini roto-tiller to loosen the soil in the beds around my house before mulching. The earthquake MC 43 did a great job. It was easy to put together in minutes and I have had no problems with it starting after the initial first time start.

Reading the instruction manual is a must as there is important helpful information about adjustments you can make as well as maintenance. I would buy this product again.
Mark Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Ron S.
Kansas City, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/27/16
REVIEWED
APR.
18
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Tiller
Nice tiller but a hard starting
Cons: Hard Starting
Ron Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Larry A.
Rockford, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/21/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mini Tiller
Earthquake mini tiller works great. If you hold it in a position, it digs in. If you have loose soil, it does a great job of weeding between rows. Engine starts easily. Good value for the money.
Larry Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
-10
Rick
Spanaway, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
REVIEWED
JUN.
12
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
What A Little Tilling Monster
When I purchased this tiller, I wasn't sure what I'd get for $200.00 , I mean heck my string trimmer cost more than that!
I decided to take a chance and get it.
Well, it took all of 5 minutes to put together, three pulls to get it started the first time and I then I put it to a real test.
I tackled some seriously overgrown flower beds with big chunks of grass and root balls and weeds a foot high, and this little tiller, ripped through all of them like a monster on steroids.
What use to take... more
Was this review helpful?
430
Slpless
REVIEWED
NOV.
11
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Huge Improvement In Customer Service
I would like to amend my previous posting in that after that review I was contacted by Leif Ringstad, Director of Sales for Earthquake. He was very professional and genuinely concerned as to what he could do to make things better. He replaced the cultivator and we are hoping that in the spring we will find that the one we had happened to be a lemon and we will find satisfaction this go around. Thank you Leif for standing by your product.
Was this review helpful?
240
Ken
REVIEWED
JUL.
29
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Bucky Badger On Steroids!
I've used this cultivator for 3 years on three gardens, the largest one is 40ft x 200ft. This little machine is like a cross between the Energizer Bunny and Bucky Badger on steroids. It chews away the total time spent cultivating more so than any other machine or method I've ever used, and I've been gardening for over 50 years. Will I buy another? Well of course I will, if this one ever decides to quit on me. But so far, it's still going and going as though it was still brand new.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Durable, Light Weight
Ken Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
240
Slpless
REVIEWED
SEP.
11
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Very Poor Product And Service
We purchased this product as an attempt at giving Ardisam a second chance after purchasing a rototiller from them that was a flop. On the second time we used this cultivator the choke became stuck. Still being under warranty we called Ardisam and asked them to repair/replace it. Instead they gave us verbal instruction on how to repair it ourselves. When the repair did not work we called again and again asked them to repair/replace it. This time they asked us to ship it to Rapid City South... more
Pros: Brings In 50 Cents For Scrap Metal
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable, Durability, Do Not Cover Thier Own Waranty
Was this review helpful?
234
Joel
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/29/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
20
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Does A Good Job, But...
After putting this little guy together, the right handle (bar) was quite a bit lower (horizontally) than the left. Since I wasn't too keen on tilling like I felt I had to lean to the left, I sent an e-mail asking about how to fix, and the reply was (something like)... it doesn't affect the functionality... which to me meant - "deal with it". So I reefed on the handle to get it approx. level.

It does a good job tilling, but my only issue now is that it's a bear to start (and yes,... more
Was this review helpful?
171
Larry C.
Whittemore, IA
REVIEWED
APR.
06
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It Is Awesome Little Digger,
I ordered it online and was a little concerned about buying it on line. I am so glad I did. It met every expectation I was wanting, I can't wait to plant my garden, weeds look out.
Pros: Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again, Durable, Its A Real Digger
Cons: None Of The Above
Larry Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
140
Jody
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/29/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
19
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Husband Is In Love
My husband is digging around everything in the yard and garden. He only has one complaint and that is that it is hard to start sometimes but he still loves it.
Pros: Exceeded Expectations, Price, Easy To Use, Features
Jody Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
120
Nancy L.
Bemidji, MN
REVIEWED
JUL.
03
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Older User
I am a 58 yr old woman with some mild arthritis in my hands..general good health otherwise. I liked the tiller once it was started but I am unable to get it started. Just pulls too hard and doesn't have an easy start for me. May be a good tiller for others but we will probably sell this one and go to a key start. I was mostly disappointed with the product.
Pros: Price
Cons: Difficult To Use
Was this review helpful?
110
Elaine E.
Wood River, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/13/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
15
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Awesome!
This tiller is well worth the money. It tills through anything and is quick. It is difficult to start the first time around but easy after that. I bought this so I could till myself instead of waiting for my husband or sons to do it for me. They do have to help me start it but after that it is mine. They even prefer to use this over our big tiller!
Pros: High Quality, Reliable, Durable, Fast
Elaine Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
110
Bruce D.
Winter, WI
REVIEWED
MAY.
24
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Junk!
I've had this machine for about a month and can't even explain what a pile of crap it is. The wheels won't stay in their slot. It takes about 50 pulls to start it, and it don't dig up soil worth a crap unless it's loosened up with a shovel first. If I could only take it back. Bought it at Menard's, who's return policy is, if you put gas in it you can't return it.
Robert, the Tiller Expert
Product Expert
Bruce,
Mini cultivators are generally used for stirring loose soil and mixing in amendments. If you're looking to break hard ground, look into a rear-tine or at least a front-tine tiller.

Let us know if you need assistance finding the right tiller for the job.
more
Was this review helpful?
122
John K.
Albion, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/6/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
27
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Weeding Tiller
I bought this specifically for weeding in garden. We had silt loam and only a few rocks. I've had no problems with this machine. I follow manual's starting instructions and it starts each time with 2 - 3 pulls. It has a drag bar which makes control easy which I like.If it holds up it will be an excellent buy.
Pros: Price, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again, Reliable
Cons: Handles Too Short For Taller Person
John Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
100
Bradford R.
Holyoke, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/23/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
04
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Weed Killer
I am 63 yrs. old with a huge garden. Went on vacation and weeds took over. Looked at other machines at twice the price, but decided on this one. I leave the big tiller in the shop now and threw away my hoe. So far love this little guy! See what next year brings, but so far(8 times) it starts easy every time!
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality, Love This Little Machine Threw My Hoe Away
Cons: Can't Find A Con So Far
Bradford Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
122
Jake
REVIEWED
JUN.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wow
I bought this last week. Used it for the first time today. Amazing. It chewed through all the weeds in the garden. I found it works best at wide open throttle and just let it eat.

Started right up over and over. I think the problem some may have had with hard starting is low octane ethanol fuel. I use premium 91 octane without ethanol in all my small engines.
Jake Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
101
Kenn S.
Matthews, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/2/14
REVIEWED
MAR.
27
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Ka-put After 10 Minutes: Resolved
I had posted a review on March 22, 2014 stating that the Earthquake MC-43 mini cultivator performed will initially, then stopped and I could not get it started again. I ended up contacting the manufacturer on Facebook because their customer service voice mail box was full. The Director of Sales got in touch with me and we chatted about the issues I had.

My primary concern and reason for a less than stellar review previously wasn't so much because of the tiller stalling and being difficult to... more
Pros: Price, Power
Kenn Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
101
Paul S.
River Falls, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/19/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
11
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Gas Tank
Only complaint is that the filler neck of the gas tank is at an angle that makes it hard to fill with a typical gas can with a bent spout.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Features, I'd Buy It Again
Paul Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
91
Roger V.
Daytona Beach, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/12/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
04
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Bad Luck
Tiller came in with the handle broken. They did fix it under warranty for free. When I got it home, it was hard to start. I tilled up some dirt to test it, and it leaked gas bad. Now I have to take it back for repair. You can make your own decision on buying one...
Pros: Price, Light Weight, Easy To Store
Cons: Unreliable, Low Quality, Difficult To Use
Robert, the Tiller Expert
Product Expert
Roger,
Sorry to hear you've had these problems. If you continue to have these problems, give us a call and we'll do what we can to help.
more
Was this review helpful?
70
John J.
Oakland, AR
REVIEWED
MAR.
24
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Expect A Little Better For The Price!
Good yard machine for small yards/gardens however, once assembled tiller is not very easy to start. My first use of machine provided better than satisfactory results! Vibration of tiller resulted in 1 handle bolt vibrating loose and vanishing into the yard! Wrote off as "my" fault, didn't have bolt "Gorilla" tight, I guess! Second use, again not easy to start, yet completed job it was needed for! Third use, After 3 pulls on pull start, rope broke leaving me holding the... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Light Weight, Easy To Store
Cons: Durability, Low Quality
John Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
70
Terry R.
Waynesboro, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/3/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
26
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Gardener
Extremely pleased with tiller. Received in 4 days
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Terry Recommends This Earthquake Product
Terry Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Excellent. Very pleased with tiller. Received within 4 days."
 more
Was this review helpful?
70
Gene M.
Mountainair, NM
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/28/14
REVIEWED
APR.
12
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great ' Lil" Tiller
Exceeded my expectations....powerful little guy...easy to handle.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Gene Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Paul S.
Auburn, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/24/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Earthquake
I wanted a tiller for my garden...but didn't want to spend a lot of money...This little machine did everything I asked for and more...A great purchase and worth every penny... Don't shy away from this product.
Paul Recommends This Earthquake Product
Paul's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Buy this tiller."
 more
Was this review helpful?
61
Jeanette G.
Hot Springs National Park, AR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/8/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Love It!
I have never gardening before but now I have a big lot&#9786;&#65039; So I decide to make a garden to grow my own vegetables. My garden is 20x30, and I have never used a rototiller... I search all over for small do the job right and easy to use.

I love it is all that n more!!! Totally Recommended!!!
Jeanette Recommends This Earthquake Product
Jeanette's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"It was a great shopping experience from beginning to end."
 more
Was this review helpful?
51
Stephen D.
Scituate, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/27/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
08
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Have Not Used It Much
Ok
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Easy To Store
Stephen Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
40
D Ca
Hastings, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/11/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
10
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Tillers Direct And Manufacturer Are Great To Work With
I have almost an acre of garden with a lot of potato sized rocks that get stuck in this machine. Would be great if there was a release or a reverse to help dislodge rocks. Since there is not, the only way to get the rocks out is to use a hammer and a large screwdriver to pound them out.

My tiller was a month out of warranty when the transfer case separated/broke in half, probably weakened by the pounding rocks out of the machine.

Tillers direct was great about sending me another copy of... more
Pros: Price, Light Weight, Easy To Store, Motor Starts Up Every Time
Cons: Rocks Get Jammed Between Tiller And Motor And Are Hard To Remove
D Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Dog Big
Hastings, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/11/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
23
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Tiller
Working good, except the drag bar fell off and i can not find it.
Dog Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Al
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/18/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
09
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Little Unit
I am impressed with this little rascal. Took out to the hunting blind and tilled a little plot in some pretty tough growth, did a nice job. Also have a small plot in a fenced area where I cannot get my larger tiller and again the little muncher did a great job. I like that I can manhandle the unit pulling back into some of the soil where it has hopped. Also, small enough that it is easy to carry. So far a great little tiller.
Was this review helpful?
40
William F.
Imperial, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/1/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
27
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best $200.00 Investment Made In A Long Time
This cultivator is almost a replica of the one I purchased 20-30 years ago from Heckingers store. It was manufactured by Western International Incorporated. It was a 10"-1.6 H.P. CUL-TIL-VATOR MODEL 1016-06. Did some of your engineers come from Western International?

Almost a duplicate machine. I liked your wheel height ajustment better. It is truly a great little machine. Only 2 things I wasn't satisfied with that I changed.

# 1 The shut off switch was in a very awkward... more
Was this review helpful?
40
Tom S.
Irwin, PA
REVIEWED
APR.
01
2012
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Disappointed Gardner
I took the "BAIT" on the sales pitch to my great in name ONLY Earthquake cultivator. From day one this nice looking machine has been a nightmare. The electric start upsell feature has NEVER worked, compelling me to use the pull cord to start it. The machine does have a lot of power when it eventually starts. I have 24 raised beds meaning I have to start and stop a lot. Well, the recoil starting device broke because it is made of very cheap quality material. Went through the hassle of... more
Was this review helpful?
62
Anthony C.
Battle Creek, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/22/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Earthquake Mc43 (6"/10")
I love it, It does a great job chopping up weeds and you can get close to your plants and chop them weeds, It not hard to handle it moves it self, I love it, Thank you.
Anthony Recommends This Earthquake Product
Anthony's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very satisfied. I love how it works, thank you."
 more
Was this review helpful?
41
Dave L.
Berea, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/27/11
REVIEWED
JUL.
08
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Earthquake Tiller
Great little tiller for the cost. I use it for the flower beds and re-seeding small spots of the lawn. Good buy and great service from PED.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality
Cons: Non
Dave Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
30
James B.
Orange, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/4/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
04
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Found A Diamond In The Dirt
This is by far the best tiller I have ever owned. Would not buy anything else.
Pros: Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again, Fast, Reliable
James Recommends This Earthquake Product
James's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"best tiller I ever owned. Light weight and powerful."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Norm H.
Las Vegas, NV
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/13/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
05
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Little Machine!
I have a small garden 10' x 50' with a greenhouse covering. And so I have a garden year around. I have used this machine twice and it works very well.
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality, Light Weight
Norm Recommends This Earthquake Product
Norm Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"This is a great little machine, it is powerful and does the job quickly."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Tim Frakes
Granger, IA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/4/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
02
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Tiller Rocks!!!!
Used a Mantis for last 5 years, had problems for the last 3. So far so good on the Earthquake, but have only used it 4 times. Much better value for what you get than the Mantis.
Pros: Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Use, Fast, Reliable
Tim Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Jennifer J.
Dalhart, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/23/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
07
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Earthquake Is A Mini Power Tiller !!
After reading the reviews I purchased this cultivator - I have a large back yard with sandy/clay hard soil,. The earthquake arrived and as others have said was easy to put together. I had a bit of a time getting it to start the first time, but after that I can start it fairly easily. I did not get the button start, but the standard pull cord.

This machine did an amazing job breaking up the hard soil, and I could not be more pleased with my purchase. I would definitely recommend this to my... more
Was this review helpful?
30
Tim
York, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/24/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
30
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Earthquake
Just got my Earthquake today. Fast shipment no hassles. Open the box put the handles on, gas up, she fired right up. Now they call it a cultivator for a reason. It will not replace a full size tiller. In my case several weeks ago I borrowed a tiller and started a garden where lawn used to be. Me being lazy at times only planted a portion of my patch. Weather being one concern and time another. Anyway the grass was taking back over part of my garden. I had tried the old fashioned way with a hoe... more
Was this review helpful?
41
Shannon C.
North Little Rock, AR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/9/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
21
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Small Tiller Bliss!
This little machine is nothing short of awesome. Used it for putting
in a large yard of Zoysia and then small garden along with flower
beds. Works great. Was easy to start and runs like a champ!
Was this review helpful?
30
Gustavo E.
Hammonton, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/5/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
18
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worth The Money
This little tiller does all that I expected it to based on the reviews I read before my purchase. It is lite and easy to use.
Was this review helpful?
30
Clarence
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/5/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
08
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Little Cultivator
This works great on keeping the weeds under control in soil that has been previously tilled.

It is not useful for compacted soil and I was not expecting it to be.
Was this review helpful?
30
Kenn S.
Matthews, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/2/14
REVIEWED
MAR.
22
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Ka-put After 10 Minutes
I bought the Earthquake MC-43 mini-cultivator mainly on price, engine size, and because PED recommended it as a low-end yet dependable machine. I've had Toro and Mantis tillers in the past so have some experience.

Because this little tiller is mainly for stirring soil and weeding, I had broken the sod for a new garden area by hand, using a "garden claw" that basically breaks up the soil with 6 spike-like tines in a screw motion. Effective but time consuming. Once this was... more
Pros: Price
Cons: Unreliable, Difficult To Use, Customer Service
Was this review helpful?
31
Ronald Rice
Calais, ME
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/30/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
30
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
Starts easy, works better than I expected
Pros: Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Use, Price
Ronald Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Ron
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/17/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
20
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mc-43 Cultivator
With the price you will not expect much. Do expect to be surprised. If the gas is mixed properly and you don't try to dig a well with it, appreciate what it will do. Has even worked as a tiller for me on occasion. My soil is clayey and hard to work before getting compost into it. The cultivator did much more than I had hoped. Don't know much about the other products, but If I have a need I will take a close look.
Was this review helpful?
31
Julie
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/10/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
01
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Nice Small Tiller
The tiller arrived quickly. It was easily assembled and you really didn't need any tools just like the box said! I was slightly disappointed in that the plastic housing that covers the air cleaner and holds the on/off switch was cracked when we took the machine out of the box. I have to use heat or duct tape to keep it from dangling. It is relatively easy to start and runs very well. The throttle is easy to control and has a nice range, ie it's not just "fast" or... more
Was this review helpful?
20
Allan
Brighton, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/18/13
REVIEWED
APR.
09
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Small Tiller
Received about a week after ordering in good shape. Easy to assemble out of the box. Starts easy and works good. Nothing more to say.
Was this review helpful?
20
Tad
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/18/13
REVIEWED
APR.
08
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Great Garden Tool
I have a large involved landscaped yard with many perennial garden areas. The MC 43 mini cultivator has proven itself to be really useful in breaking up the soil and maneuvering around plants emerging from existing areas and preparing the soil for new gardens. It's been great having one and I think the MC 43 is especially good with the rear wheels which makes it easier to move around.
Was this review helpful?
20
Paul
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/8/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
30
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Like
Had the same tiller prior to this one but made the mistake of lending it to a friend and they used the wrong fuel which killed the engine. But I loved using it. Easy to start and plenty of power. Just waitng for the weather to improve so I can get started in my garden. I have no worries about this tiller. Even bought one for my son!
Was this review helpful?
20
Bill
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/9/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
02
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Earthquake Mc43 Tiller
This tiller was what I expected. A machine for small to medium sized gardens. It's a good product and I'd recommend it to others.
Was this review helpful?
20
Stuart U.
Maryville, OR
REVIEWED
SEP.
14
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Birthday Gift
So far I have ussed the cultivator only once but, it worked like a champ. More work will be done with it, for the fall garden.

This beats hands-down using a hoe and rake.
Was this review helpful?
20
Jim
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/19/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
09
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It's Great
It is perfect for my needs!
Was this review helpful?
20
George
Edmond, OK
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/12/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
23
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Power Plus
I didn't know what to expect at first, simply because the price seemed quite low for the machine's description.

I'm here to tell you this little tiller is the most powerful I've ever owned and is quite durable. I've had several different tillers similar to this one that just didn't hold up to the jobs they were put through.

It's a great little tiller and is quite a work horse. It's the Best I've ever owned.
Was this review helpful?
20
Jay
Fairfield, CT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/17/12
REVIEWED
JUN.
11
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Tiller
It did the job, very well, plus i got the edger attachment, and it was very good, did 3 gardens with it already!!!!!
Was this review helpful?
20
Mark R.
Crawfordsville, IN
REVIEWED
MAY.
25
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Little Tiller
I bought this tiller after looking at several different models. To be honest I have a small garden and just did not want to pay out a lot of money for a tiller and this one was the lowest priced. I have about 6 hrs on the machine so far and here is what I have found so far. Putting the machine together was easy, the handle is light weight material but fairly sturdy. The tiller part is pre assembled. I mixed the fuel as directed and filled the tank the first mix of oil came with the unit. more
Was this review helpful?
20
Jeffrey M.
Orange, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/16/12
REVIEWED
APR.
06
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It
After I received my tiller, it was so easy to put together i.e. just the handles. I put the proper mixer in with the gas and after pumping the fuel bubble, not sure its proper name, after six pull starts it started right up. Several weeks later I had to use the tiller one pull start and it started right up, and worked great in my garden.

I would not only recommend this product to someone else but I can't say enough about your web site. The only problem I did notice, and it wasn't with... more
Was this review helpful?
20
Andrew
Green Bay, WI
REVIEWED
MAY.
31
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Useless!
Side by side to a shovel rake or hoe, this tiller loses every time. People complain its hard to start which is most likely because they're not used to small two stroke engines. However, there is limited power to this device and would work best as a leaf sweeper or something else.

While I'm by no means telling anyone to try, and you do at your own risk, I can hold the blades and own the throttle to fully engaged without the blades moving from thumb and index. Need I say more? Turns in Peat... more
Pros: Light Weight, Easy To Store
Cons: Unreliable, Low Quality, Dysfunctional
Was this review helpful?
32
Lee Y.
Delavan, IL
REVIEWED
MAY.
02
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Piece Of Junk
First one came dead in the box. Got replacement, it ran one season and died. Extremely hard to start if you can get it to. Has problem getting fuel. Don't waste your money.
Pros: Light Weight, Fast
Cons: Durability, Unreliable, Low Quality
Was this review helpful?
32
William M.
Baden, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/6/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
19
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Power From A Small Tiller
Made my project easier and finished faster than I thought it would take. Great little machine.
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Powerful For Its Size
Cons: Handles Are Not Adjustable For Different Anles
William Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Bill H.
Waterboro, ME
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/31/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
22
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Buy!!!
This little guy really tears it up and you can use it in really tight places. Thanks a bunch and God bless.
Pros: Price, Light Weight, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Bill Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Dean R.
Nashville, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/20/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Troy-bilt Cultivator Died
The transmissions repair parts were too expensive and the model we had is no longer made. I researched what was comparable and on paper the MC43 seemed to be an upgrade at a better price than the Troy-Bilt was 15 years ago. My MC43 arrived in a timely fashion with easy assembly. It has more power than the Troy-Bilt and is easier to handle, and has better balance. We are very satisfied at this point.
Was this review helpful?
21
Gail N.
Flint Hill, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/17/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
09
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Old Man With A Big Garden
I was not familiar with the Earthquake brand but my experience with two Mantis and one Honda tiller was enough to convince me to try it. The price made me a bit skeptical but the machine has performed better than the other three more expensive machines. The engine has much more power and after six hours of operation I am very satisfied with the product.
Was this review helpful?
10
Rich T.
Forked River, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/27/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
19
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Usefull Addition
Tiller started easy and performed well. Size was just right to till in between rows of veggies in garden. Keeps weeds down without getting on hands and knees. Is a great addition to my gardening tools.
Was this review helpful?
10
Marie
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/2/12
REVIEWED
JUN.
23
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Earthquake Mc 43
I must amit that I was surprised how this machine worked. I had not heard of Earthquake before. The control of the Mc 43 has been great. I must say it works very well and does a great job

Marie H
Was this review helpful?
10
Aleander K.
Plano Usa, IL
REVIEWED
MAY.
12
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mc43 43cc Tiller 3 In One
I believe this is one of the best kind of tillers for small jobs. The wheels are more handy and can be lifted up with out removing from the machine while tilling.

This machine can be converted for mulching as well as edging with additional accessories.
Was this review helpful?
21
Tom E.
Irwin, PA
REVIEWED
FEB.
24
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Laughable Lemon
From day one, problem after problem, many trips to the far away repair shop. The company did stand behind the issues until the warranty ran out. Replaced carburetor, gas cap twice, transmission, gas lines, filter, the electric start NEVER WORKED even after service, replaced battery, recoil start twice and when I was running it in a raised bed it literally broke in two. That's when the laughing came in as opposed to having an anger seizure. Even though out of warranty, they did fix it saying it... more
Pros: Price, Fast
Cons: Unreliable, Durability, Low Quality, Heavy
Was this review helpful?
11
Brian U.
Springfield, WV
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/11/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
29
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just What I Need For Narrowing My Garden Rows. No Hoeing
Just till between the rows every week or two and you will not have any major weed pulling projects to do in your garden. Garden size 50 ft X 100 ft
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Durable, Reliable
Was this review helpful?
22
Scott M.
Dallas, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/1/13
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far, So Good
This is my second Earthquake tiller/cultivator. My original had a key start. I opted for the MC43 and it has performed like I thought it should. I have only used it 3 times to date and it appears to work just as good as my old one did.
Was this review helpful?
00
Dorothy
Holt, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/26/12
REVIEWED
JAN.
29
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ms
Still in box. Waiting until spring. It was a Christmas gift for husband.
Michigan is way too cold to try it out. lol

Dorothy
Was this review helpful?
44
Joel F.
Roebuck, SC
REVIEWED
JUN.
05
2012
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Different Story Here
I purchased an MC-43 and was amazed initially at the power. However after very little use it suddenly seized up. It was under warranty and they told me to take it to the local designated repair shop. They said the cylinder was scored and suggested I improperly mixed the gas/fuel but their own tests found it was the correct mix. Nobody knew what was problem. They gave me a brand new one and after very little use it would not start,gas was blowing out the muffler. The company sent em a free... more
Was this review helpful?
22
Cecil B.
Des Moines, IA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/29/12
REVIEWED
MAY.
22
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
Easy to assemble, easy to start, and does a good job. Very satisfied!
Was this review helpful?
00
H.s.
Kathleen, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/11/12
REVIEWED
MAY.
02
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great
What can I say but its great. In fact its better than I expected. I have tilled my garden twice.
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael L.
Gardnerville, NV
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/23/12
REVIEWED
APR.
23
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just Right For The Job
Great reliable machine! This machine has made my yard work so much easier. We have been putting in a lawn, plants, and a garden here in Nevada. Our ground is relatively hard packed and this machine dug it all up. One of my better investments for the house.
Was this review helpful?
00
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Earthquake MC43 reviews.Compare our Earthquake MC43 ratings. Find the Earthquake MC43 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct