Search
< Back to Product

Earthquake CS4518 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Exclusive to these retailers
 
$273.59
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$189.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Earthquake CS4518 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
3/5
Quality
3/5
Performance
3/5
Value
3/5
Overall
2.7 out of 52.7 out of 52.7 out of 52.7 out of 52.7 out of 5
Pros
Price (3)
Easy To Use (2)
It's Small Enough To Fit... (1)
Exceeded Expectations (1)
I'd Buy It Again (1)
Cons
Unreliable (3)
Bad Instructions (2)
Low Quality (2)
Difficult To Use (2)
The Saw It Took 12 Day N... (1)
22% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
23 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Eduard L.
Memphis, TN
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
MAY.
31
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Oiler Leaks, The Saw Wouldn't Start
It seems like my experience with this saw is similar to what other people say in here.

1. Very weak engine. This saw wouldn't cut anything bigger than 8 inch in diameter. Stalls easily with if you put a very mild load on it.
2. The oiler was leaking from day one. So, you always have to keep some plastic cover in your truck and in your garage.
3. The worst problem with this saw is that it wouldn't start! Sometimes, it will start after 5-7 pulls, sometimes 20 minutes would do the trick!
more
Eduard Does Not Recommend This Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Eduard,
I am sorry about the trouble you have been having. If you could please call our customer service at 800-345-6007 we have a great technical support team that would be happy to help you.
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Rick M.
Eagle Grove, IA
Total Helpful Votes
22 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
02
2012
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Chainsaw Performance Low
In the past I have run the cheaper Poulans and have had pretty good luck. Just thought I'd try one of these saws on sale, thought I'd spend the extra money based on the reviews I saw here.

I am really disappointed in this saw. "This is not a promo for Poulan saws they are what they are". I worked an 8 hour day cleaning up some 8 to 10 inch cottonwood trees, soft dry stuff. The Oregon bar and chain do a smokin job. This is why I rate the saw a 2. The engine stinks, its... more
Was this review helpful?
221
Rick Buck
Carthage, NY
Total Helpful Votes
21 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
28
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Imposible To Start
This saw is impossible to consistantly start, If you dicide to buy one make sure you purchase a second one of good quality that will start. I have put two recoils on this saw, the recoil will fail before it starts. I have owned this saw less than two years and have about one hour running time with it, and three times that trying to get it to start. I have 40 plus years of experiance in the maintanance area.
Rick Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
211
Kenny B.
Branford, CT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/29/13
Total Helpful Votes
16 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
APR.
20
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Nice - But Hard To Start
After reading several reviews of this brand of chainsaw, I would've thought it would be a great fit in what I needed for the small intrusive trees and thicket I have on my property. After putting it together, following the start up instructions, and more than several attempts to start up, the chainsaw wouldn't start. This would go on for hours, even after checking and rechecking procedures, plug, and assembly. As a last resort, a shot of start up fluid allowed it to roar to life. After a few... more
Was this review helpful?
160
David Whitford Sr
Sanford, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/13/13
Total Helpful Votes
15 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
31
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Unhappy
The saw is not worth the money you buy it for. It doesn't start half the time, the oiler leaks most of the time.
Was this review helpful?
150
Matt R.
Brazil, IN
Total Helpful Votes
13 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
FEB.
23
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Husky Stihl Replacement
I've cut wood for about 7 years to heat my house, last year at the end of the year I generally ran with a Husky 357. Two commercial Stihl saws and on occasion a junky but newish 14" Echo trim saw... Last year I had some help cutting. A buddy would fill up the saws with oil and gas while I grabbed another and kept cutting thus cutting 2-3 times as much wood in the same amount of time not stopping to tighten chains. Slowly, one by one the saws quit running or failed to start after using the... more
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Difficult To Start The First Time You Start It
Matt Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
130
Hayward Shaw
Edmondson, AR
Total Helpful Votes
13 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
FEB.
11
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Why Did I Buy This Chainsaw?
I brought an Earthquake chainsaw because of the price. I thought it was quite a bargain. But it is hard to start and bogs down easily. When I get it started, I use 89 octane gas in a 50:1 ratio as recommend but it performs poorly. Maybe I should have taken it back but what can you expect for $100-110. But since reading these reviews I hope there's something I can do myself. The nearest chainsaw dealership is about 30 miles away.
Was this review helpful?
130
Jimmie Johnston
Cibolo, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/31/12
Total Helpful Votes
13 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
26
2012
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Poor Performance
Had problems from the start!
-Chain would not track true over the clutch sprocket, chain would bind and not rotate
-Had to change out the chain
-Engine seemed to labor and bog down, would not cut through moderate hard wood. Very poor performance for a 45CC engine
-Chain would bind about half way though a 6-8 in log and stop. Have to raise the bar out of the cut to get it rotating
-Clutch has excessive slippage and when downward pressure is exerted the chain stops

I have been notified... more
Was this review helpful?
130
Paul
Sioux Falls, SD
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
16
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Do Not Buy This Saw Unless You're A Masochist
I bought this from Menard's as a pre-run unit. I didn't need it to cut down a whole forest, just some medium trees. After running for 5-10 minutes it shuts off, and good luck getting it started again. I about pulled my arm out of the socket and it still didn't start. Nothing seems to be wrong with the motor, spark plug, or fuel system-it just will not start. I will spend more money on a better brand and have something that will work and be WORTH repairing!
Pros: It's Small Enough To Fit Into My Garbage Can
Cons: Low Quality, Difficult To Use, Unreliable
Paul Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
120
John
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/8/13
Total Helpful Votes
11 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JAN.
30
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Startup Difficulties
Right out of the box, the saw was easy to assemble and get ready for work, except for some difficulty putting the chain guard back on place. I did have an issue trying to start the saw the first time.

Tried 3 different mixes of gasoline without any help. I eventually took spark plug out and observed that there was no gap between the electrodes-- hence no spark. I set the proper gap- .28 inches - and thereafter, I have had no problem with the saw. I have already used it to cut down 4... more
Was this review helpful?
110
Donald
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/2/12
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
23
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Trouble Starting; Doing It Incorrectly
The chainsaw was delivered on time.

I had trouble starting it and called for service- they were very helpful. I was doing it incorrectly. Thanks for the help; the unit works great.
Was this review helpful?
121
Bill
Tallahassee, FL
REVIEWED
JAN.
26
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Very Pleased So Far
My Poulan with an 18" bar died a lingering death at a bad time. A friend recently gave me access to large amounts of excellent and free oak firewood on his property but gave me a deadline within which I had to cut it. Unfortunately, I could not take advantage of the opportunity without a functioning saw. I bought the Earthquake CS4518 based in part on Mike's recommendation here and other favorable reviews.

So far, the saw has performed as advertised. The only problem ( a minor... more
Was this review helpful?
101
Kathlee B.
REVIEWED
JUL.
28
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Dont Waste Your Time
Purchased this saw and found it useless. It was hard to start the first time we used it. Used it for about ten minutes and turned it off to adjust chain and could not get it started again. Smartest thing I did was to return it to Menards where I had purchased it less than two hours prior and get a full refund. Not worth it nothing but trouble.
Kathlee Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
72
Chris
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/15/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
05
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Surviving Sandy
I bought this saw a few weeks ago to do some light work around the yard and a wooded area at the back of my property. Then ex-Hurricane Sandy hit my Long Island NY home.

I was lucky in that the house wasn't damaged and we got power back in a few days, but I had several good sized oaks down. After a few days I'm well stocked with firewood and very happy with my purchase.

The saw starts very easily and has plenty of power, it cuts very well. It is a bit heavy for a full day's work, but... more
Was this review helpful?
61
Derek
REVIEWED
JUL.
12
2012
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Hasn't Started Yet
Bought the chainsaw a month ago and it has yet to start. Mixed with 50:1 ratio and it didn't start, thought I may have had my ratio off so I drained and tried with my ratio again but still hasn't started. I will be calling their CS but very disappointed that I even have to go this route
Was this review helpful?
50
Roy C.
Stillwater, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/18/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
08
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Quality
It took 1/2 day to start the saw the first time. Now it starts on the first pull. Why wouldn't the factory run each prior to shipping?
Pros: Easy To Use, Price
Cons: Unreliable, Bad Instructions, The First Time I Started, The Saw It Took 12 Day Now It Starts On The First Pull
Roy Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Rosemarie Jesus
Rio Rico, AZ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/26/10
REVIEWED
SEP.
25
2010
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
My Chainsaw
I do like the chainsaw, it cuts very well, but, when I shut it off for a minute or two it will not start again until the next day. Am I doing something wrong?

I only gave this chainsaw a three because of it not starting again after shutting it off, otherwise I would have given it a five.

CSD REPONDS: You should be able to start the saw again right away. Once the saw has been running, please make sure you turn the Choke off before you try to start it again.

If that doesn't solve the... more
Was this review helpful?
30
Russell F.
Williamson, WV
REVIEWED
JUL.
22
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Without A Doubt The Sorryest Chainsaw I Have Ever Owned
I am 66 years old I have owned some of the best chainsaws there was. This Earthquake 18 inch saw is by far the biggest pile of junk I have ever tried to work with. I have had this for 2 years, it has sat in my garage all of the time. You can not get it started. When it does start, it is way under powered for the 18 inch bar. In 2 years it might have run all of 2 hours. You can't get started, big waste of money.
Russell Does Not Recommend This Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Russell,
I am sorry to hear about the trouble. It sounds as though it may need a carb adjustment. After the products sit for a while the carb may need to be readjusted or replaced if it was stored with gas.
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Syed
REVIEWED
NOV.
14
2014
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
What A Disappointment--do Not Buy This Product!!!
DO NOT buy this product. It does NOT function. It is impossible to start this piece of junk! Now, I am stuck with it and can NOT return it. I've tried to return it and called the manufacture both of them told me that the only option I have is to pay a repair company to diagnose this brand new chainsaw.

I don't know how to use a chainsaw, that's why I had an expert who works with chainsaw on a daily basis to get this thing working. I watched him take it out of the box, add whatever oil... more
Syed Does Not Recommend This Product
Dale, the Chain Saw Expert
Product Expert
Syed,
We are sorry to hear of the issue you are having with your saw. We do suggest contacting Earthquake directly due to the fact they manufacture and warranty the product. They can be reached at (800) 345-6007.
more
Was this review helpful?
31
Jon Meltzer
Ovid, MI
REVIEWED
DEC.
26
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Waste Of Time & Waste Of Money...
November 2013. I bought this chainsaw at Menards to cut a 12" tree in my front yard. All I wanted was to make 4 cuts so I could haul the branches to the backyard. I assembled the saw as described by the manual and the chainsaw would not start. I double checked the assembly instruction, re-mix the gas/oil ratio and the couldn't get it to start. No matter how much I pulled, the motor won't turn. Instead of calling the people at Earthquake, I went back to Menards and explain the problem to... more
Pros: Price
Cons: Unreliable, Low Quality, Difficult To Use, Bad Instructions
Jon Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Randy S.
Grayson, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/24/11
REVIEWED
NOV.
05
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Firewood Time
It's a great saw for the price, cuts as good as Husgavarna at half the price.

Cranked on the second pull and been going strong.
Was this review helpful?
20
Cody Pendleton
Iowa City, IA
REVIEWED
JAN.
30
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Favorite Little Saw
I give this chainsaw a 5 because it runs great starts right up every time even in the cold weather.

I love it way more than my Poulan Pro 18 in. 42cc. I will never purchase a Poulan again, the price and performance of the Earthquake is far superior.
Was this review helpful?
10
Mark
Ny, NY
REVIEWED
APR.
26
2011
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Worthless Junk
Got this chainsaw from Chainsaws direct based on the reviews and could not be more disappointed.

1. It's a pig to start. You can spend 5 minutes pulling away at it before it gets warm enough to catch.
2. The S62 chains dull really quick. I've cut down and logged 3 trees (maybe 40 cuts) and got through 3 chains already.
3. The brake assembly is very flimsy. The friction brake is surrounded by plastic and if you run the engine against the brake at all it melts the housing (as I found... more
Was this review helpful?
22
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Earthquake CS4518 reviews.Compare our Earthquake CS4518 ratings. Find the Earthquake CS4518 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct