Search
< Back to Product

Earthquake 9060300 Gas Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$749.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$749.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$799.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$749.99
(as of 06:12 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
Earthquake 9060300 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (35)
Easy To Store (24)
I'd Buy It Again (19)
Exceeded Expectations (17)
Price (17)
Cons
Difficult To Use (9)
Bad Instructions (8)
Durability (4)
Low Quality (4)
Packaging (3)
75% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
131 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Gardenwoman
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
65 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
APR.
20
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Thing Is Chipping Monster!
If it fits in the chute, this thing will chip it!

Easy to start

Easy to maneuver

Very easy to use

We bought this machine last fall and used it to do some yard clean up. Nothing too heavy, just turning piles of leaves into mulch that we in turn composted. The winter here was pretty harsh, with lots of branches falling off, or breaking. We also had a couple of Spruce trees that needed to come down because they were overcrowding the other trees. There were also several Choke Cherry... more
Pros: Price, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Gardenwoman Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
6512
Hanne S.
Cypress, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/7/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Better Than Expected. Can You Ask For More?
I have used the Shredder for about 10 hours now and are very pleased with the results. Hedge cuttings, ornamental grasses, branches, Cycads (Kingpalm), dead plants, leaves, fan palms and banana leaves got chewed up to mulch or soil improvements. Just remember to mix dry and wet material and tear broad leaves as the fan palm in two before you put them in the shredder.

The only thing I dislike is the unfinished way the bag that receives finished chopped mass is attached to the shredder. A... more
View Image
Hanne Recommends This Earthquake Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Hanne,
Thank you for your review! We have come up with a newer model Chipper Shredder with a different style bag attachment and some other upgrades. We look forward to it hitting the market!
more
Was this review helpful?
11
James H.
Medley, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/10/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
06
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Tropical Paradise
I live in Panama, a tropical paradise, except for shedding mango and cashew trees, add to that large teak leaves and palm fronds and you know why I bought this tool. It just arrived out of customs and will begin to use it this weekend, Will write a usage and performance review later,

I have a large composting bin of 12' x 12' x 3' and want to directly unload the chipped and shredded branches & leaves into it.. Will need to fab up something to control the exiting materials. I rated... more
View Image
James Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
25
Ben I.
Riverside, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/13/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
08
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Overall Value
I originally intended to buy the Yard Beast, but it can't be sold in the People's Republic of CA. So I went with the second recommendation. I have no experience with chippers/shredders, so this is based on my expectations only.

Overall build quality seems fine. It's pretty sturdy and mostly metal except for the hopper, which appears to be a pretty tough plastic.

It's not light but I can move it around myself, including up and down a pretty steep path. It shreds very aggressively as... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price
Cons: Bag Failure
Ben Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Kenneth S.
Braselton, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/3/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worked As Expected And Better
I wanted a unit for light duty trimming around the yard and read all the reviews. This model is easy to handle, starts right up and worked as good or better than anticipated. Woody bush limbs caused more chips to be kicked out but all were handled well.

Evergreen branches went very quickly and smoothly. The bag came off once as has been reported as a challenge, but not a big problem. The discharge was a very fine mulch. All together happy with my first couple of uses.
Kenneth Recommends This Earthquake Product
Kenneth's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Shipping notifications and delivery were all as promised. No problems at all."
 more
Was this review helpful?
01
Robert E.
Santa Fe, NM
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/11/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
03
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
One Day Review
I have used this machine for just one full day. I am very, very pleased with the work that this well-made heavy machine will do. I never had one jam or any problem what so ever.

I filled bag after bag of great shredded wood. This machine works as well as the reviews that I read said it would. It feels and looks like it is made for years of service. I am actually looking forward to the days of work I have cleaning up my 5 acres..
Robert Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Gene S.
Naples, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/4/16
REVIEWED
APR.
27
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great For Smaller Jobs
My Earthquake C/S arrived on time and in perfect condition. Setting it up was a breeze and it did a great job of shredding and chipping for about the first 20 minutes. I've learned that this is probably the right solution for smaller jobs, but I'm clearing small bushes and vines. The pieces that are 3" in diameter or less are chipped perfectly - as long as they're straight and don't have any "branches." The shredder also works great - as long as you're putting in nothing but... more
Cons: Can't Handle Vines
Gene Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Dorothy B.
Barto, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/26/16
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Well
Grown son in charge of wood chipping. Grinds exceedingly fine. Great for flower garden mulch. &#128522;&#128522;&#128522;
Dorothy Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Geoff
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/26/13
Total Reviews
4 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
62 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
20
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Super Mulcher - Redux
Just a follow-up on my previous review. I've made a few simple mods that really improve the usability of the chipper on my property.

1. added a Briggs & Stratton oil fill tube (8 bucks) - still need a flex funnel to fill but no longer have fill tube occluding drain port...makes fill measurement easier
2. bolted down the tow bar so that towing is more secure and chipper follows tractor better
3. replaced skinny tires with wide no-flats so that the chipper doesn't sink into soft soil... more
Was this review helpful?
481
Dale R.
Damascus, OR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/19/12
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
36 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
OCT.
03
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Great Until You Need Parts
It has been two years since I ordered this shredder and left a good review. I was happy until I needed replacement hammers.

You may be surprised when this site refers you to another supplier for the parts that are marked up so expensive you may be making your own parts like I am doing. I am hoping this site reconsiders supporting parts at a reasonable price.
Pros: Good Shredder For Small Jobs
Cons: Parts From Another Source Too Expensive
Dale Does Not Recommend This Product
Dale, the Chipper Expert
Product Expert
Dale,
We're sorry to have let you down, but unfortunately we don't have the capability of specializing in parts at this time. You're welcome to shop around for other prices, but please do NOT craft your own parts for your chipper. Doing so could cause serious injury to you or others and could cause further damage to your chipper.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Dale,
We are sorry that you are having trouble locating parts for your Earthquake chipper. You can always get the parts you need directly from us by calling our customer service department at 1-800-345-6007, 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM central time, Monday to Friday.

The J hammers and the triangle hammers are readily available and reasonably priced.
more
Was this review helpful?
313
Jay C.
Silver Spring, MD
Total Helpful Votes
26 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
15
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Unimpressed
After reading all of the great comments I had high expectations. The chipper does not seem very sturdy to me and I'm not sure it will last long.

The biggest issue I have is that it really wouldn't chip. We cleared out some trees and were trying to chip them up. From the beginning when we would put it a branch iot would either sit there or gt sucked in and wrap around the chipper causing it to stall and we would have to manually reach in and try to dislodge and unwrap the branch. I'm now... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Price, Light Weight
Cons: Low Quality, Durability
Jay Does Not Recommend This Product
Dale, the Chipper Expert
Product Expert
Jay,
Never Reach Inside the Machine To Manually Dislodge A Branch. I would suggest reviewing the owner's manual to make sure you're operating this chipper correctly. Here's a few tips directly from the manual:

The chipper is designed to handle tree limbs and branches up to approximately 3 (7,6 cm) in diameter.

Maintain control of the materials you are feeding to prevent them from whipping around.

For additional troubleshooting, Earthquake can be contacted directly @ (800) 345-6007
more
Jay's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"While it was easy to use the website, I'm not sure I would recommend someone spending this much money without seeing the product. I may not have bought it if I saw it first."
 more
Was this review helpful?
261
Rita H.
Quakertown, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/21/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
12
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Chipper Not To Good
Clogs up due to bad fit on chute can't FIX, WONT TAKE 3", nearly stalls on 1 1/2". Chute guard is useless, lays against side of chute, no protection.
Cons: Difficult To Use, Bad Instructions
Rita Does Not Recommend This Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Rita,
Please contact our customer service department at 1-800-345-6007 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM Monday through Friday so that we can help you resolve the issue.

We have more than 1700 service centers around the United States, and we are committed to making your experience a positive one.
more
Was this review helpful?
306
Herb D.
Corona, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/13/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
08
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
H.j.delight
I've used it for several hours now and I'm reasonably happy with some reservations and advice.

On the good side:
Delivery was excellent with the truck delivery being smooth as silk.Great motor on the machine! As many have said, started on first pull and runs very well. It is easy to overpower though but I think that might be the nature of a low powered residential chipper/shredder so take your time with it. Small twigs and branches feed better bushy end first for some reason while... more
Was this review helpful?
252
Bill
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/26/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
03
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Beast
Bought this machine for moderate yard debris and tree branch chipping. It's a beast and devoured several cubic yards of Apple tree limbs giving me a lot of ground cover.

Two disappointments: the bag has a flimsy clasp and broke. The cinch is plastic and broke after about 50 uses. The machine is pretty powerful when discharging so the bag has a tendency to come off if not cinched down tightly. The company should fix this.
Also, I live in the Pacific Northwest. This machine does not... more
Pros: This Thing Is A Beast And Chips Well
Cons: Bag Sucks
Bill Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
200
Tom S.
Flat Rock, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/26/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
09
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Very Effective Chipper
I read many of the reviews and they were helpful. The flex funnel for oil made adding oil no problem, and, a Dremel enlarged the shredder bin holes easily to attach it. Ran the machine for 5 hours first use and only had one jam. I learned to hold back a little on the 2-3 inch size branches so it wouldn't try to self feed too fast, and it worked great. Made fast work of many piles of brush and limbs.
Pros: Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
Tom Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
180
Sean
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/1/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
14
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Chipper
Easy to use and setup. Works like a champ. Only one issue, the throttle vibrates off the max position due to the vibrating of the chipper. I used some duct tape to keep it at max and it works great.
Was this review helpful?
191
Jerome B.
Costa Mesa, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/29/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
22
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Ravenous Beast
This machine has devoured everything I have fed it, including things like wet Gourd vines and fresh Podocarpus leaves, things that caused my previous shredder to gag. The chipper is beyond belief, slicing everything easily.

I do have a few quibbles, though. Assembly and set-up were unnecessarily difficult. The oil filler is tucked away and hard to reach the mounting holes in the feed chute did not line up with the bolts, forcing me to re-cut them. There are also two bolts protruding into... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable, Easy To Store
Cons: Noisy
Jerome Recommends This Earthquake Product
Jerome Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast and easy. What else can I say."
 more
Was this review helpful?
181
Thomas
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/28/12
REVIEWED
JUN.
24
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Really Great Chipper
We had been searching for a chipper to replace an old Sears model for years. Nothing we came across impressed. In the Fall of 2012, we came across reviews for the very popular Earthquake 9060300 and took a chance on it. This is really an awesome chipper. It works as advertised, has very little vibration compared to most chippers, starts right up and has been a great addition to our outdoor equipment collection, especially now that Virginia like many other states restricts open burning... more
Pros: Durable, Price, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Thomas Recommends This Earthquake Product
Thomas Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very good website, easy to shop, easy to order. Chipper ordered arrived as specified and in good condition. We would definitely purchase from Chain Saws Direct again."
 more
Was this review helpful?
182
Paul M.
Basking Ridge, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/11/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
04
2014
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Not Real Happy
I previously owned A Roto-Hoe that did everything well. Chipping and shredding were never any problem. I could just stuff anything in there and cut it or shred it without a problem. Unfortunately the Tecumseh engine quit after 15 years, and they don't make the same model anymore. So I bought this one thinking it would do the job.

I find that you have to put in the twigs one at a time, or it will clog. The protective rubber at the feed openings cause the material to bunch up and I have to... more
Paul Does Not Recommend This Product
Dale, the Chipper Expert
Product Expert
Paul,
We're sorry to hear you're not satisfied with your Earthquake chipper/shredder. If you would like to speak with our chipper expert, Bob, about it at any time, feel free to contact him at (888) 452-8227.
more
Was this review helpful?
183
Kent Z.
Weston, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/19/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect Machine For Yards
Powerful, solid, compact and perfect for yard leaves, twigs and small brush. The Earthquake chipper started on the very first half pull!
Oh yeah, the holes on the hopper are not correct even after the manufacturer obviously tried drilling them a second time, but this was expected upon reading other reviews. The guy who drilled the holes must have also counted the washers since there was one short.
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality
Kent Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
140
Bill W.
Bay City, MI
REVIEWED
MAY.
26
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fun And Easy To Use!
I was looking for a used chipper / shredder and almost drove 2 hours to get the one I wanted. I did my research and read a lot of reviews. Our local Menards had an Earthquake model advertised so I thought I'd look at it and read the reviews before making a long trip. It worried me a little that so many reviews said they had issues with the assembly and the oil fill location. I thought for the price I was going to give it a try before spending twice as much for a used one.
I only had... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Bill Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
131
Brad E.
Alexandria, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/17/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
07
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Good Value If Used Infrequently And For Small-to-midsize Jobs
I got this chipper because I had a large (10' x 20' x 6' high) pile of trimmed tree limbs and a slightly smaller pile of large weeds I needed to get rid of and I had use for low quality mulch. I didn't want to have to hope in vain that the yard waste collection guys would take it all on their once-per-week run, I didn't want it sitting around for weeks, and I didn't want to pay to have someone come get it. In the end, this chipper provided a good permanent solution to that recurring problem... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Reliable
Brad Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
131
Steve
Silver Spring, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/29/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
20
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Bundled The Jungle
Amazing Bamboo Stalk Swallower! We have, rather we had, a stand of bamboo doing what bamboo does -- taking over in this case our back yard. Chopping and carting away 25' clipped to 8' lengths in a pick-up seemed a waste of time and compost. The Earthquake did the trick, instead of stacking a ton of the stuff, we carted the chipper to the edge of the stand and simply cut one stalk at a time and fed it in! We were able to devour everything in about 4 hours. We left a clump for a privacy screen... more
Was this review helpful?
120
Ryan
Bryan, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/25/11
REVIEWED
AUG.
20
2012
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Breaking Apart
I've had this product for a year and a half now and after 4 heavy uses the plastic red feeder bin is breaking apart. Essentially the plastic attaches to metal at the mouth of the brush chipper and the impact of the wood, when chipper blades hit it, is breaking apart the plastic bin.

It is really just a design flaw that it isn't reinforced enough at the mouth of the blades. Replacing the bin isn't cost effective either.

Aside from that one crucial flaw it has worked pretty well.
Was this review helpful?
120
Steven N.
Minneapolis, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/10/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
31
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Powerhouse
Good performer. Powerful. Rips 3" branches without problem. Gas efficient. Easy to move around.

Hopper does not feed into shredder as well as it could. The assembly is not easy...poor instructions, wrong and missing nuts and bolts, plastic hopper holes misaligned.

Chippers Direct has no customer service. Didn't call back. Luckily I live in Cumberland, WI where chipper is made. Nice folks the Earthquake people.
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Price, Light Weight
Cons: Bad Instructions, The Hopper Holes Are Misaligned Wrong Bolts
Steven Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
110
James H.
Lake Charles, LA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/20/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
25
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This One Is A Keeper
I bought the old home place (4 acres - 3 of which are wooded) and have begun clearing the underbrush and saplings. This chipper/shredder is the berries. It does like to chip/shred. I have used it steady for two days of 6-8 hours each, and it just keeps on chipping/shredding. It is hearty and easy to start. A good value for the money.
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again, Price
Cons: Oil Additionchecking
James Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
111
Rocky
REVIEWED
JUN.
26
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
1st Chipper
Performs well for it's purpose. Most of the complaints others have expressed is a result of inexperience. If cost was not a problem I should have bought a bigger unit, but proper attention to branch trimming increases with the smaller diameter units. If you are lazy or tend to be in a big hurry, spend the extra hundreds of dollars. Patience and preparation are key.
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Easy To Store
Cons: Expensive
Rocky Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
100
Paul Van Sweden
Monroe, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/24/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
04
2012
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Chipper Madness
I fired up the Earthquake #9060300 expecting a day of earnest chipping--instead I spent most of the time taking the unit apart and repairing. The bag provided to gather the wood chips was as big as a small garbage bag. The way to attach given bag is a pain--kept coming loose.

Earthquake should simplify this part of the machine and provide a larger bag. I tried attaching other size bags to the unit and wala- off came the bags.

I cannot believe all the positive comments when all I have... more
Was this review helpful?
122
Jeffrey W.
Pepperell, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/30/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
12
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Well...
The unit is powerful enough to do the expected job, but it doesn't clear the debris from the inside of the machine very well. It clogged up and stopped within 15 minutes each of the first two times we used it. I had to take the casing of the chipping area to clear it out. Then we took off the guard from the top and especially had to remove the metal guard from the exit chute to let the shredded material flow out better. Works much better now, but is still starting to slowly clog. Will need... more
Pros: Easy To Store, Powerful
Cons: Difficult To Use, Gets Clogged Easily
Jeffrey Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
101
Robert P.
Aurora, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/9/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
01
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Poor Workmanship
The scoop that you put leaves and smaller items has to be attached to the unit. The holes drilled in the red scoop do not match the bolt attached to the machine. We had to make our own holes to get it to assemble correctly. It is difficult to load in the oil. What the company does not disclose you can purchase long oil check tube. This option is a necessary part to properly add the oil and be able to check the oil level while the machine is level. There is an undisclosed short dip stick. ... more
Pros: I Do Not Know Yet About Operation
Cons: Bad Instructions, Poor Assembly Workmanship, Did Not Disclose The Need For Optional Itmes
Robert Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
112
John L.
Ruckersville, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/1/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
23
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Deal
This is my first chipper and I am very glad I did not get a smaller model. This 3 1/2" model chips/shreds everything smaller than firewood for me (from small starter pieces up to logs). It was a minor struggle to put it together, but it only took about 30 minutes or less. It took more time to figure out how to use it, like if you have a long stick near maximum width and feed it and let go, it will bog down the engine and it will stop. However, if you keep holding the stick, you can pull... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Reliable
Cons: Bad Instructions
John Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
101
John Hering
Minneapolis, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/30/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
02
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wrong Screws Were Sent
I got my chipper, but I could not use it right away because the screws they sent with it were not long enough. I had to go to the hardware store and buy longer screws before I could put it together. Otherwise is works very well.
Pros: Easy To Use, Fast
Cons: Packaging, They Se
John Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
90
Chip
Bennington, VT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/24/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
06
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Difficult To Use
Essentially all material needs to me threaded through the diaphragm 3 inch shoot. The hopper is basically useless and any branch larger than 1/2 inch will cause the machine to stall. The hopper must be removed and the offending branch needs to be removed by hand before you can restart. Hopper makes a shredded mess of material. 3 inch opening makes nice chips.
Spend more money and get a machine that you can really use.
Was this review helpful?
90
Bob M
Pfafftown, NC
REVIEWED
JAN.
10
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Customer Service
I had a major problem with my Earthquake Chipper Shredder. When I called customer service to explain the problem I was transferred to a super nice woman named Sherry. Within one minute she told me I would be sent a new chipper shredder.

Because different departments were involved, I ended up talking with five people. The total time of all the conversations was less than 15 minutes, and each person was both professional and courteous.

The bottom line was that I had a new replacement... more
Was this review helpful?
90
Sandra R.
Littlestown, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/27/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
26
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Monster Chipper
Wow is all I can say what a machine works GREAT starts easy and really does the job. I have to say I am impressed arrived in great shape and delivered in a short amount of time. After assembly I felt that the machine was a little costly for how it looked. However after using the machine for 3 days I am impressed. Works great, starts easy and REALLY does the job it was made to do. I would purchase another one. I am impressed on the power this chipper has. Does a GREAT job.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations, Fast
Sandra Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
80
Dennis J.
Herndon, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/17/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
09
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Needed A Chipper For Yard Cleanup
Read the reviews on this chipper and decided it fit my needs. Easy to assemble not like the reviews, yes the hopper holes needed to be modified but the washers supplied were ample. This chipper has no problems with 2-1/2 -3 inch branches. I will be making my own tow attachment because looking at the one for $99 is a joke. This is a great chipper for my needs.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Durable, Price
Dennis Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
80
Michael R.
Yakima, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/6/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
28
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Juniper Headache
We purchased our property last year and it had over 50 square feet of creeping Juniper, over 7 feet tall in some places. I cut it all down and decided to purchase a chipper/shredder to turn it into usable mulch rather than make several trips to the land fill to dispose of it. I have used the Earthquake chipper/shredder for about 5 hours now and have managed to get rid of about half of the Juniper. A few more hours and I will be rid of it and will also have some attractive mulched areas... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Fast, High Quality
Michael Recommends This Earthquake Product
Michael Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"After I found your site, I did not look anywhere else for chippers but used your information to determine what to buy. I am very pleased with the service you provided."
 more
Was this review helpful?
80
Carolyn
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
REVIEWED
JUN.
11
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Piece Of Equipment!
I got this for my husband for our anniversary after checking reviews and prices on quite a few different brands. I was impressed with the specs on this compared to the price, so ended up purchasing this one, and am very glad I did. My husband is extremely pleased with it. It really eats through branches. There are the odd pieces that don't get mulched up, but not enough to complain about. Overall, an excellent purchase from a great company.....thank you.
Was this review helpful?
80
George
Huntington Beach, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/12/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
12
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great!!!
I have filled about 10 bags so far of Cape Honeysuckle branches up to the maximum diameter of 3 inches and the machine has performed perfectly. I must note you must be cautious when chipping the maximum 3 inch diameter material because the cutting wheel can slow down and jam if the feed rate is not restrained. I am sure this is true with any machine you push the upper limits. I must say I have not had any problems with the bag coming off as reported by many reviewers. You just must be sure... more
Was this review helpful?
80
Courtney G.
Belgrade, MT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/10/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
06
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Purchase
Took down an entire ash tree and used the earthquake to chip all I could. I read all the reviews and talked to customer service to make sure it was what would work for my home. This is a great product. It chipped everything with ease and the top loader was great for all the small debris. At first I was hesitant because it did not have the usual long shoot for branches but this design is a lot easier to work with.

My only suggestion is like many on these boards is the bag has a tendency to... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Price, Light Weight
Cons: Wish The Top Hopper Was Metel, Bag Staying On Poor Design
Courtney Recommends This Earthquake Product
Courtney's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great customer service. Thanks"
 more
Was this review helpful?
81
Russel Towell
Palm Harbor, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/16/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
06
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Earthquake Chipper
I received my chipper last week a day late, but no big deal. All that was needed was to secure the handle with two supplied bolts, and add the supplied oil and fill with gas. Adding oil was a bit tricky as the fill hole is very difficult to access without a very long funnel . I solved this by tilting the machine on its side and only adding the exact amount asked for in the manual using my short neck funnel.

The chipper started first time but it was very loud. I recommend buying hearing... more
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Price, Powerful
Cons: Heavy, Difficult To Fill With Oil
Russel Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
103
Candyce C.
Orlando, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/16/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
28
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy Customer
Had to replace our old, worn out chipper. Selected this based on features, price and customers comments. So far, happy with the performance. My wife likes the ease of starting, compared to our previous chipper.
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Fast, Quiet
Candyce Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
70
Richard S.
Sheridan, WY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/28/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
21
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Extremely Pleased With Purchase
This machine definitely exceeded our expectations. We had returned one to the local big box store as after we got it home and put together, it would NOT start at all.

We like the large diameter wheels making it easy to move to the spot you need it. It is a breeze to start - and we know very well about a hard machine to start.

The Leave hopper on top should be fed slowly so it does not jam - otherwise works well. Power is very important, this machine works very well for our needs -... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable
Richard Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
81
Ihor S.
Woodcliff Lake, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/17/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
21
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No Separate Opening To Check And Fill Oil
It works fine except for one thing:

No separate opening to check and fill oil with easy access... Can I get it additionally and install?
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Difficult To Use, No Dipstick To Check Oil Level
Ihor Recommends This Earthquake Product
Dale, the Chipper Expert
Product Expert
Ihor,
Unfortunately we are unaware of a kit which would be available to make the spout easier to get at and this is one of the downsides to this particular chipper. It is a good machine, but not every aspect was well thought out when it came to simple maintenance.
more
Was this review helpful?
103
Frank
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/17/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
08
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Power For The Price
Just got the unit, so can't speak to reliability or durability, but so far impressed with its performance. The holes for the upper feed shoot almost lined up, so needed to be drilled to get it installed. Otherwise, set up was simple. Started on the first pull each time and ran smoothly. Really handles typical yard clippings well, and mulches them very small, a plus when adding them to a com-poster. If it continues to perform as it has, I will be very pleased with the purchase.
Pros: Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again, Fast, Easy Starting
Cons: Assembly Hiccup
Frank Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
70
Richard C.
Santa Rosa, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/14/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
09
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Hungry Wood Machine
After installation slowed by holes NOT aligning on feed chute and round heads on handle bar, it worked on first pull. It hungrily ate large amounts of small branches of Oak, Pine, and Oleander without a problem.

If engine is hot, it takes 1 pull with the choke on and then 1 with the choke off to restart it.

You do need a round tapered rasp file to enlarge the holes on the feed chute. According to other reviews, this has been a long standing problem since Jan, 2012.
Fix it!

Recommend... more
Pros: Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again, Fast, Features
Cons: Assembly
Richard Recommends This Earthquake Product
Richard Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"Be nice to have automatic tracking instead of having to call the shipper."
 more
Was this review helpful?
70
Zach P.
Upper Marlboro, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/21/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
24
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Chipper/shredder!!
I bought the chipper to help during clean up on my mostly wooded 6 acres. There are mountains of leaves and stacks of branches to clean up in the fall. Once I figured out the gas and choke settings (half on each), the chipper starts on one pull every time I dump the bag. I've also had no trouble with the bag coming off as other posters mentioned. I was initially worried about the shredding ability of this product, but with no reason. It shreds leaves (even damp leaves) with ease and has chipped... more
Zach Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Guylis Johnson
Wilmot, SD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/22/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
21
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Working With The Chipper/shredder
I was really surprised how this machine could grab and chomp up the branches. The only thing we found that we didn't realize was when you put a branch in it has to be free of little branches on it. They don't go into the feed so we had to chop all of them off so that takes a little extra time otherwise it works great!
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Fast, Durable
Guylis Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
71
Joe G.
Elmhurst, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/14/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
21
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
May Have To Return
It started on the fourth try, but would not again after about 15 minutes when it jammed on some small evergreen bush clippings. I was ready to return it after about an hour between my son and I trying to start it when I looked at the spark plug and the wire and realized the clip was too large for the tip of the plug. I pinched it with some pliers and it started on the first try. That's something you expect on an old car, not something right out of the box. Now it seems to have some sort of... more
Pros: Light Weight, Quiet, Features
Cons: Difficult To Use
Joe Does Not Recommend This Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Joe,
Please contact our customer service department at 1-800-345-6007 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM Monday through Friday so that we can help you resolve the issue.

We have more than 1700 service centers around the United States, and we are committed to making your experience a positive one.
more
Was this review helpful?
60
Paul L.
Houston, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/14/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
05
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Powerful At A Low Price
The chipper was easy to start, very powerful but can only chip up to 3", it would be even better if can chip larger branches.
The plastic upper cone shape collector came separately in the box and the assembly holes were cut wrong and took me 2 hours just try to enlarge the holes to fit the screws. The engine is powerful, but parts quality were cheap. For the price, I would say it is a fair deal and just hope the engine will last.
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Price, Light Weight
Cons: Bad Instructions, Packaging, Low Quality, Durability
Paul Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
60
C.s.
Point Pleasant, NJ
REVIEWED
OCT.
04
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Worst Machine
Oil difficult to add. Machine constantly jams on branches 1-1/2". Won't even try a 2 or 3" branch. Have to constantly reach in and manually clear it in order to get machine to work. In 20 minutes machine jammed and shut off 3 times. Bag won't stay attached. Beyond frustrated with this machine. Don't buy it!!

In addition freight company office worker was rude and nasty when trying to set up delivery. Kept telling me I had to pay $50 for lift gate service. I declined telling her the... more
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Bad Instructions, Difficult To Use, Unreliable
C.s. Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
93
Dom
Cheshire, CT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/25/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
30
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Chipper Is Amazing!
I spent 4 hours this weekend chipping the brush/branches in my back yard/woods and this machine just ate them up. The sticks need to be somewhat straight, but that would be the norm for most chippers. This 9 HP chipper has plenty of power and handles a 2" branch. One thing you need to avoid is trying to put a "Y" through the tube. It consistently gets caught. It didn't take me long to figure that out so I just nip them off with my chainsaw before sending them through. After all,... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality, Fast
Cons: A Bit Hard To Pull Start
Dom Recommends This Earthquake Product
Dom Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"See my story above."
 more
Was this review helpful?
60
Ed Miller
Dover, NH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/18/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
30
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Not Good
Terrible assembly instuctions. Material got clogged the first time I used it and had to dismantle to clear the clog.
Pros: Easy To Store, Light Weight, Handles Dry Material Well
Cons: Bad Instructions
Ed Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
93
George R.
East Rockaway, NY
REVIEWED
MAY.
12
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Earthquake 3" Chipper
My wife & I needed to replace our old chipper/shredder, a Craftsman approximately 20 years of faithful service which
was destroyed during Hurricane Sandy (dowsed in salt water, which flooded our rear yard). The new Earthquake is double
the power, more fuel efficient, doesn't jam, starts easy, and is a pleasure to use.
Too new to tell it's reliability, but it is well built, and seems so! Will know definitely within a year or so.
Was this review helpful?
60
Geoffrey
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/26/13
Total Reviews
4 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
62 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
06
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Super Mulcher!
Just received mine and started into a backlog pile of Cedar and Pine windfall, lawn debris and garden clippings. I am delighted at how well it handles everything I feed it. I will retrofit some wider no-flat wheels to make transport over soft forest floor easier. Only real minus so far is the lack of a proper oil fill tube and dipstick. The engine has a machined port for one and not having it is either a shoddy cost-cutting measure, or a wise engineering move if vibration in this... more
Was this review helpful?
60
Thomas P.
Crescent City, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/31/13
REVIEWED
APR.
23
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Finally Got Assembled
Ordered in February and got around to assembling it today. Kind of frustrating because the instructions are vague. Appeared to be missing two lock washers but I had spares. Could see where hopper holes were modified to get aligned thank goodness. Wrestled with it but I got it figured out. And THEN I had to add the oil luckily I have a funnel with a bend in it. Added gas and it started right up.
Used it for about an hour and it devours the branches and twigs. Used the bag which seems to... more
Was this review helpful?
60
Tim
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/2/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
12
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Could Be Better
I received this yesterday assembled with no problems, my two complaints with this chipper, is the way the bag ties off to the machine, this really was not thought out very well and (sort of confirms my suspicion that engineers don't try these out in the field) the bag is constantly blowing off, when a few hooks on top and bottom would correct this issue.

My second issue with this, is the difficulty in starting after it has run for a while, you have to choke it every time to start.

Aside... more
Was this review helpful?
82
Donald
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/15/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
08
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Retired Old People
We purchased a house in Washington with no idea how much work the yard would be. We started hauling limps and leaves to the landfill then decided to look for a chipper. We found it online and read the reviews. We love it, it works great and both of us can use it. Family has another brand and now they are looking at the one we purchased. The shipping was fast also. If you need a chipper this would be the one I would buy.
Was this review helpful?
60
Alfred S.
Newport, RI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/20/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
12
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
It's Ok, But...
First ten hours were fine, until I got a jam. Major effort to open it up for access to clear the jam. Chip bag attachment points are an afterthought, and problem if you don't pay attention. Chip deflector in hopper does not prevent lots of chips flying back at operator. Noisy. Need to wear both eye and ear protection.
Alfred Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
72
Jeff C.
Chesterfield, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/22/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
21
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Bagging System
This is an awesome piece of equipment, works as easily as a standard push lawn-mower for starting up. I haven't run across anything this thing won't mulch/chip. Yeah it vibrates and makes some noise for sure, but it is a chipper.

The ONE complaint I have is their bagging system! I have had it less than a month and have had 2 bags clasp break on me already. Also the left over rope from the bag got sucked into the outlet and was completely chewed. There has got to be a better way.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality
Cons: Bagging System
Jeff Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
50
William R.
Kennett Square, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/13/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Light Duty Shredder!
I have used the shredder for only 4 or 5 hours but I can say that it is as powerful a chipper/shredder that you will find that is not designed for commercial use.

It starts on first pull. I have a large wooded lot and it can be a little difficult to pull around by hand, but it will do the job when you get it there. It will not disappoint.
William Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
72
Joseph M.
Bunnell, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/5/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
26
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Difficult To Start
Chipper would not start. I checked everything three times and no success. Finally I removed the spark plug and adjusted the gap and the chipper started. I regret not buying a chipper with an electric starter.

I am elderly and it is difficult to pull the starter cord properly. I have only used the chipper one time so far for about one and one half hours. It worked fine.
Joseph Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
72
Joye
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/2/13
REVIEWED
APR.
23
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Item
Started with great shipping to the house, easy to assemble with instructions, and it started on the first pull. Husband loves it. Had two projects and handled both jobs as advertised. Would highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful?
50
Dale
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/3/13
REVIEWED
APR.
16
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Does What I Wanted
I get a lot of branches, twigs and leaves and needed something to chip the branches and twig and pulverize the leaves.
This does the job. When doing leaves, I do need to take apart and clean out the fine debris, but it only takes 15-30 minutes.
The holes in the plastic chute did need to be opened up a bit, but otherwise assembly was easy.
Was this review helpful?
50
David
Spokane, WA
REVIEWED
APR.
07
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Chipper Performed Without A Glitch!
After reading many reviews describing starting issues, misaligned bolt holes, and cracks in the vinyl hopper from kick-back from chipping, I was quite pleased to note no issues in assembling the chipper, as the holes aligned properly, and a metal shield extending inside the hopper entrance provided some protection. The assembly instruction manual was far from perfect, but I quickly figured out the process. I used a funnel and a short piece of 1/2 inch plastic pipe for both the initial and 5... more
Was this review helpful?
50
Frank S.
REVIEWED
NOV.
27
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Impressive
I bought the Earthquake chipper/shredder in the spring of 2012. We moved into a house that had had no maintenance inside or out. The yard was overgrown with brush, saplings and fallen branches from 5 huge oak trees and 6 equally huge maples.

I was tempted to go with a known brand like Troy-bilt or Cub Cadet but they were priced out of my range. After talking to reps at PED and Earthquake, I took a chance on this model. I couldn't be happier. This thing is an absolute BEAST. It's... more
Was this review helpful?
50
Dale R.
Damascus, OR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/19/12
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
36 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
09
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Meets Expectations And More
This replaced my aging 8hp Roto-Hoe 3" chipper and large hammer-mill hopper purchased in the 80's for $800. One like it costs over Two Thousand today.

The Earthquake is much slower but gets the job done and the shredded material looks better. I chose this one because it too has hammers called J-hammers. The hammers are small unlike the roto-hoe large hammer array. The hammers are what I call forgiving. You can drop a large hard chunk of root or something and the hammers will work on it... more
Was this review helpful?
50
David H.
San Antonio, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/28/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
19
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Value For A Small Chipper
Started right out of box, added oil, checked for loose nuts, bolts and fasteners. After an hour and a half round trip to the hardware store and 87 cents got me the two muffler bolts that were missing, shame on that factory worker at the plant in China that did not care to install them at all. Other than that the machine works as intended.
David Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
62
Michael W.
Mesa, AZ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/1/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
22
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Won't Start
I have had this for two weekends. The first weekend it started fine. The second weekend I took it out to chip the large pile of branches I cut from my tree. I tried to start and could never get started.

I tried to talk to someone at Briggs and Stratton about this problem and couldn't get through auto answer. I am very disappointed with this chipper. I ordered with the Briggs and Stratton motor because I thought it would be a better motor.
Pros: Easy To Store
Cons: Unreliable
Michael Does Not Recommend This Product
Dale, the Chipper Expert
Product Expert
Michael,
This unit has a 1 year consumer warranty. Try contacting Earthquake Chore Equipment's customer service number at 800-345-6007. Sorry for the bad experience, and let us know if there's anything else we can help you with.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Michael,
Please contact our customer service department at 1-800-345-6007 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM Monday through Friday so that we can help you resolve the issue.


We have more than 1700 service centers around the United States, and we are committed to making your experience a positive one.
more
Was this review helpful?
51
Wes S.
Ennis, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/19/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
11
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Shredder For The Money!
I was very pleased to open up my very nearly fully assembled chipper a couple of weeks ago. After installing 2 bolts (provided) and adding oil I was ready to go. This thing is a beast! It will devour 3" limbs with ease. You do have to make sure that they are straight without knots sticking out or they will get stuck in the feeder chute. The discharge chute for the chips could be elongated (which I may do) so that attaching the bag would be easier. Overall this is a great machine for the... more
Pros: Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again, Reliable, Durable
Cons: Heavy, Chip Chute
Wes Recommends This Earthquake Product
Wes's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy to navigate website, great selection, awesome prices. Customer service is helpful and friendly."
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Bill B.
Schenectady, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/12/14
REVIEWED
APR.
02
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Haven' Yet Used It But...
I wanted to say that if you consider yourself handy, you don't even need the instructions. I looked at the nuts, bolts, washers etc., then looked at what needed to be assembled. All of the nuts and bolts could only be used in one place. (The bolts were NOT short. The hopper needs to be tapped into place so the bolts reach. The bolts are short for a reason). With a glance at the instructions, I had it assembled in less than ten minutes (once out of the box). Then I went back and tightened... more
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Features, Quiet
Bill Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
51
Michael F.
Millington, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/14/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
05
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Very Powerful Machine, But The Bag Does Not Stay On
I purchased this to take the big piles of mulch that were left behind after Sandy, here in New Jersey so I could reduce the mulch down to something that looked more attractive.

My problem has been that it turned the mulch pretty much into dust, so I tried running it slower, then it clogged up on me. So if there is a process you can suggest, please do.

The main problem is that one has to feed soft material pretty slowly, otherwise it will clog up. When used in that manner it works really... more
Michael Recommends This Earthquake Product
Michael's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I ordered this online on a Sunday and it was in my driveway the following Thursday. I am not handy, and it took me only about an hour to get it set up and going. The delivery company communicated and made sure I was here to sign for it when it was delivered."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Len C.
Butler, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/12/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
23
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Hard Starter
Hard to start
Len Does Not Recommend This Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Len,
Please contact our customer service department at 1-800-345-6007 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM Monday through Friday so that we can help you resolve the issue.

We would really like to better understand your starting issue. The chipper has a very heavy duty, heavy weight fly wheel and rotor assembly that requires a slightly different "Pull" when starting compared to other small engine powered machines. Our customer service people can help you with any problems you are having.

We have more than 1700 service centers around the United States, and we are committed to making your experience a positive one.
more
Was this review helpful?
52
Deron G.
Andover, MA
REVIEWED
SEP.
03
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Once I Was Able To Assemble It
I picked this unit due to the number of positive reviews, HP, and price. When I received it I was very disappointed to find that it was missing the bag of loose nuts/bolts/washers to finish assembly. I contacted the manufacturer and they were very helpful, but wouldn't ship overnight or 2-day, only UPS ground. So I ended up having the unit almost 1.5 weeks before I could actually use it.

Assembly was pretty easy, although the instructions did not exactly match how my unit was shipped (some... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, High Quality
Cons: Packaging, Expensive
Deron Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Ariel
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/6/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Earthquake Chipper
It's been doing its job very well. I have no complaints so far.
Was this review helpful?
30
Richard
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/23/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
17
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Powerful Little Guy
For the price and the power I think this was the way to go. I can of course echo the many "they don't make 'em like they used to" complaints, but that is universal, especially on the affordable end of the chipper spectrum. I had read about the attachment hole alignment problem in past posts, the holes were widened before I received it so they lined up well enough after a little additional shaving. I'll echo the need for a long funnel to put the oil in, though I had one on hand... more
Was this review helpful?
30
Ben
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/24/13
REVIEWED
FEB.
14
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Not Bad
I knew I wasn't getting an industrial grade wood chipper. It does the trick although very slow. No problems with the motor or having jams but I'm not using the collection bag. I'd say it's not bad but don't expect to really chip through giant piles of brush in a day.
Was this review helpful?
30
Paul L.
Indialantic, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/14/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
05
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Product
Pretty easy to put together, didn't really use directions. Oil is included, and it started on one pull.

In Florida we have a lot of palmettos. This chipper doesn't like the green rubbery ones, they wrap around the blades and stop the chipper. Fortunately, there is an access to the blades so if that happens you can get the stuff which is causing the problem out.

It also has a variable speed engine & lots of power. This mulcher likes leaves and sticks and does a really good job of... more
Was this review helpful?
30
Clint I.
Oakland, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/29/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
26
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
It Is Great, But . . . .
The little assembling that was needed was no big deal. Added oil and gas and the chipper started on the first pull.

I have only two small gripes. First I needed to use the bag that came with the chipper because I needed to collect the chips and the draw string on the bag lasted less that 1 1/2 days about 8 hours of use before it broke. I still needed to use the bag so I had to use a couple of vise grips to keep the bag attached the the chipper.

My second gripe is that while using the... more
Was this review helpful?
30
John
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/27/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
19
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Pleased
Excellent service and timely delivery.

No problem assembling components other than slippery fingers dropping a nut into the hopper. Took a while to shake it out (not a complaint).

Starts easy and performs as advertised.

I've only used it once, but it easily and quickly takes 2 inch thick branches and makes mincemeat of smaller cuttings/clippings. The mulch is excellent.

I am pleased with the machine and service.
Was this review helpful?
30
Steve
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/17/12
REVIEWED
MAY.
02
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Chipping Monster
I ordered this chipper after reading reviews on it and am very satisfied with it. It is a monster at gobbling up limbs and leaves.

I have a hedge that is 100' long 20' wide and 30' tall that I am starting to trim down. True it is soft wood but it chews up the branches and leaves in no time.

A little trouble starting after it has run for a while so you have to choke it a little to get it to start or as I learned just idle it down when emptying the bag or taking a break. The oil fill is a... more
Was this review helpful?
30
Matt
Naples, FL
REVIEWED
OCT.
22
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
More Than Most Home Owners Need...
I've had this for about a year, just dusted it off and started it up for fall clean up.

Still works like new, just be sure to winterize or what ever you do before long storage.

This chipper still pulls branches right out of my hand... you need to control how fast you feed it, it will stall itself out it is so eager to chip wood. If that happens it just takes a few wrenches and drivers and a little clearing and you are back at it!
Was this review helpful?
30
Richard Gering
Marion, SD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/22/10
REVIEWED
SEP.
13
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I'm Impressed
I got this model for the fact that I have lots of trees, so lots of branches fall in wind storms.

It came in a crate it, and took me about 30 minutes to put it together. I filled it with oil and gas set the throttle to full the choke to full, and it started on the first pull!

I tried the biggest branch I had handy- 3 inches wide and 8 feet long. I stuck it it in the branch slot. I didn't have to push- the machine sucked it in and spit it in the bag in a matter of a few seconds, and that... more
Was this review helpful?
41
Chick Shearer
Fuquay Varina, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/27/10
REVIEWED
MAR.
21
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Light Duty Chipper-shredder
I bought this product because I previously had a Simplicity shredder that I liked and it was almost identical to the Earthquake.

The shredder was easy to assemble and one of its best features is its compact size compared to almost any other model.

It does a good job both chipping and shredding and it should go a long way before needing to be resharpened (based on my Simplicity experience).

I'm no mechanic but I will be able to sharpen it myself. I don't like the fact that the... more
Was this review helpful?
30
Ward S.
Indianapolis, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/25/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Earthquake
Did a great job chipping, but for some reason the pull start can be tough to pull.
Ward Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Gary J.
Boerne, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/16/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
15
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Fine Mulcher
I don't use it for branches - hate that chute with the stiff rubber cover. However, for trimmings from our vast landscape plants, it is great. Creates a very fine mulch. Starts easily. The bag attachment is really bad. After draw stringer broke the first day, I jury-rigged closure with a series of metal clips even then, the bag occasionally slips off due to lack of good retention. Overall, though, I am happy with the unit.
Pros: Exceeded Expectations, Fast
Cons: Draw String On Bag Broke On First Use, Drawstring Broke On Day 1
Gary Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Roger T.
Burleson, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/22/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
13
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Performing Chippper
I really like the unit, very powerful and really chews up the limbs, twigs and leaves. Very happy with it with two exceptions. The Briggs & Stratton engine can be a little hard to start at times and, my biggest complaint is that the collection bag is very poorly designed to attach to the chipper. It has pulled out several times and now with only the third use the fastener has broken which does not allow the string to tighten around the outlet.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Durable
Roger Recommends This Earthquake Product
Dale, the Chipper Expert
Product Expert
Roger,
Roger,

Please feel free to give us a call and we can discuss the issues you are having. This may be something Earthquake is willing to warranty and something we would have no issue looking into for you. The bagging systems on all chippers with like design can be a little tedious at times as we know, so feel free to give us a call.
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Frank H.
Quakertown, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/21/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
22
2014
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Earthquake 205cc Hard To Use
The rubber protect on the feed is useless. The bottom of the feed chute is not fitted, has a gap that catches branches and clogs chute, cant fix. Can't find a service center in my area Quakertown, PA.
Cons: Difficult To Use, Poor Design
Frank Does Not Recommend This Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Frank,
We are sorry that you have had a poor experience with our chipper. Please contact our customer service department at 1-800-345-6007 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM Monday through Friday so that we can help you resolve the issue.

We have more than 1700 service centers around the United States, and we are committed to making your experience a positive one.
more
Was this review helpful?
42
Gerard P.
Mamaroneck, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/11/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
05
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Am A Proud Owner!
Takes a long time to shred a pile of leaves and gets clogged up quickly. Must feed it slowly. My Municipality provides leaf curbside pick up which is faster than shredding them, if one can wait. The shredder does a great job at shredding annual plants at seasons end to provide great mulch for the Spring time.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality
Cons: Takes Long Time To Shred Leaves
Gerard Recommends This Earthquake Product
Gerard Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Product arrived very quickly with no sales tax and free shipping. Questions were even answered in a timely manner. Just purchased a compost bin and tiller so I am excited to use them all in conjunction with each other."
 more
Was this review helpful?
42
Richard H.
Medfield, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/17/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
16
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
First, The Bagger Tie String Broke Before I Had Even Finished
I agree with the prior reviews which pointed out the small wheels and most importantly the engine oil fill plug is extremely difficult to get at .

The string tie on the bagger broke before I had even finished the first tank of gas.
Pros: Easy To Store
Richard Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
20
James E.
Mcmurray, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/13/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
14
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fine Machine
I've just used my chipper shredder for the 1st time today. It started on the 3rd pull, ran for 3 hours and shredded and chipped 14 bushels before it ran out of gas. So far, so good.
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Light Weight, Quiet
James Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Kirby
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/9/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
14
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy To Use
Chips large sticks without having to force them into the machine.
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Price, Light Weight
Cons: The Plastic Hopper Is Suspect But Has Worked Fine So Far
Kirby Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Bruce K.
St Charles, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/9/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
07
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Earthquake Chipper 3"
The chipper works a lot better than expected. 3" handles most jobs. Great for home use and clean up. Is somewhat combersome to move around, high handles would help. Was easy to put together when it arrived. Totally satisfied.
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Bruce Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Butch R.
Tyler, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/12/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
02
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
3" Chipper
Good value for the money. Works as listed. We will see in a couple of months if still impressed.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price
Butch Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Michael C.
Benbrook, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/16/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
08
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Started On The Very First Pull.
This chipper worked great! It was just what I was looking for to turn all my pruned branches into mulch.
Highly recommended.
Pros: Easy To Store, Easy To Use, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Michael Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Chris
REVIEWED
APR.
04
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
4 Aces Rv Park, Kinsley, Kansas
Absolutely great machine. Makes me feel like I was 50 years old again...
Was this review helpful?
20
Steve
Long Island, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/25/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
17
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Performs Well
Purchased the smaller (206cc B&S engine) model. I worried a little about sufficient power, but it was considerably lighter than the one with the more powerful engine for ease of moving around. Large wheels probably make that a non-issue, but the 206cc was powerful enough during use.

It did stall it a couple times with some green branches in the hopper (easily cleared), but overall, it has enough power to add to my mulch pile.

It was easily assembled as only the hopper and the handle... more
Was this review helpful?
20
Angella
Lake Forest Park, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/21/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
17
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Chipper
We ordered this chipper for use in our yard, where we have lots of small vegetation to deal with and tons of leaves in the fall.

So far we've used it to chip a whole tree-worth of small limbs and debris and it worked great! Had no issues starting it, never jammed, and did great with everything we needed.

I heard from other reviews that the bag doesn't like to stay in place, so we just used a small pipe clamp to hold it on, which worked fine. Very secure that way and no issues.
more
Was this review helpful?
20
John
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/24/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
15
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Satisfied
After a week and an email from me I was informed that the product was now in the warehouse. Delivery went well, except that the 18 wheeler couldn't make it to my house.

Assembly was straightforward, after having to ream out one hole as noted by others.

Performance (18 bags of leaves in my case) was very, very dusty but efficient. I avoided clogging of the hopper by feeding in small amounts continuously and being careful about twigs.
Was this review helpful?
20
Jeanne R.
Pittsburgh, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/19/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
13
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Composting Help
I tend a community garden in the senior community. I am 65 years old and keeping up with the cleanup in garden is taking all my time and strength.

Our garden club decided to buy the Earthquake shredder to help with the workload. It was delivered on a Tuesday. I put it together myself and had no problems except for one bolt did not seem to fit properly.

It was easy to move from my Mobile Home to the garden area by hand. Today we used it chop up 12 large artichoke plants and three garbage... more
Was this review helpful?
20
Dave
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/18/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
09
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Bad Ass Chipper
I have been searching for a quality chipper at a decent price for the last few years. Not wanting to spend an awful lot of money on something I might use on occasion. I checked on one I saw for 350.00 and had to go look at it. When I did, I did not like it at all.

I went back online and searched some more checking all the reviews etc. Finally I looked over the Earthquake model from Chain Saws Direct and picked out the Earthquake model # 9060300. The reviews stated trouble with the... more
Was this review helpful?
20
Mike
Holbrook, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/14/12
REVIEWED
MAR.
06
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Wood Chipper
Some hardware was missing, a couple holes didn't line up at assembly and the bag attachment seems like an afterthought. That being said the chipper started on the first pull, ran well and made fast work of some branches.

Although I only had a chance to use it for a short time(weather) I look foward to ustng it and I think it will be a very useful piece of equipment in the long term.

I was also pleased with your promptness of delivery.

CSD RESPONDS: The folks at Earthquake will be happy... more
Was this review helpful?
20
Richard D.
Alford, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/24/12
REVIEWED
FEB.
15
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Does The Job
1) had to ream out irregular hopper hole to get bolt in
2) had to provide my own washers for handle assembly
3) sight inside hopper to make sure metal lip is inside
chute before attaching nuts and bolts
4) note that B & S manual says to change oil after first
5 hours
5) can't feed items if bend exceeds chute capacity.
Have a pile of twisty, zig-zag oak branches over 1/2"
thick cannot process
6) referencing previous complaint, oil easy to change
with... more
Was this review helpful?
20
Timothy H.
New Milford, CT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/2/11
REVIEWED
NOV.
16
2011
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Chews Up Anything
Purchased this after the 10/31 snowstorm in the north east. I have almost 2 acres with tons of trees, and it was going to be impossible to rent a chipper in my area for months with all of the tree damage.

The reason this does not get 5 stars from me is the assembly, and the oil fill.

Regarding the assembly, attaching the hopper was not easy. There is a metal liner in the bottom that goes inside the chipping area, and the plastic hopper goes on the outside. I had to remove the... more
Was this review helpful?
20
John
Wetumpka, AL
REVIEWED
OCT.
31
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Shredder
It shredded anything I could put in it. Only used it a few hours but it did exactly what I wanted it to do. Starts easily but it is loud, you need earplugs. When using the large hopper for smaller limbs, it will kick some back so you should wear eye safety. I had fun using it.
Was this review helpful?
20
Robert C.
Grandview, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/26/11
REVIEWED
SEP.
30
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wow! What A Tool!
Ordered my Chipper/Shredder Sunday 9/25 received it Thursday 9/29. The machine is really quite easy to assemble however, the instructional manual could be a little more user-friendly. The writer appeared to have a poor command of the English language. Very minor points indeed!

I used the machine for a couple of hours today and I LOVE IT? I certainly will not recoup the money I paid for it in one year, but it allows me the opportunity to work at my own pace, work when I choose, on my terms.
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Tj
Franklin, ME
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/10/11
REVIEWED
MAY.
02
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Chipper Shredder
This is an excellent machine. I had a Troy chipper shredder prior to this, and this is a smaller but similar unit. It usually starts on the first pull and the unit is easy to move about the yard, weighing only 132 lbs.

One thing different about the unit I received was the chipper intake chute. I expected it to look like the photo, but it was smaller and had a rubber slit across the opening, which was not usable, so I removed it. Just be careful!

I would recommend this unit.
Was this review helpful?
20
Redoak
Weatherford, TX
REVIEWED
APR.
23
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Earthquake Chipper/shredder
This is a wonderful machine. It makes easy work of getting rid of leaves and tree and shrub trimmings. The chipper turned the tree limbs into 12-inch size chunks, which sure looks good around the base of my trees.

When they say 3 inches on the size of tree limbs they really mean it. If there is a bend in the limb it won't go through. I just pre-trim the limbs prior to going through the chipper so I'm feeding straight pieces into it.
Was this review helpful?
20
Clark Jacobson
Kennewick, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/1/11
REVIEWED
MAR.
21
2011
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Nice Machine
I have lots of trees and branches but also have a lawn care business.

The chipper works great, but one problem is the hopper. The branches vibrate against the hopper at the base an will cause the plastic to crack from the bolt hole on up.

I reinforced the second hopper with tin and self tapping screws. This is the only flaw that I have found with this machine.

I have gone through a stack of branches and a pile of leaves with no hang ups.
Was this review helpful?
20
Allen Schroeder
Louisville, KY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/17/11
REVIEWED
JAN.
20
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fast
I ordered my chipper on Monday, Thursday night I put it together in less than 10 minutes.

The manual was in English, with only 2 Bolts, 2 Nuts, 2 Screws and Voila! you're done & ready to go!
Was this review helpful?
20
Erwin R.
Harrisonburg, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/26/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
17
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Powerful For Its Size
Today was the first time that I was able to use the Chipper/Shredder. Other than the awkward location for the engine oil, I found the Chipper/Shredder to be easy to start and powerful in chipping the branches I fed into it. I am very happy with this product's operation and with its compact size.
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Cons: Oil Location Is Awkward
Erwin Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Robert N.
Oxnard, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/6/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
10
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Whats Wrong With These Briggs & Stratton Engines
This is my third Earthquake 205 cc model 9060300. The unit is the right size for a small home and powerful enough to handle my most chipping needs.

My current one stopped running mid stream in a 30 minute session and my mechanic cant figure it out to fix it. I don't think he has the knowledge.

I even had a previous unit (not working) given to him for parts. I didn't get the extended warranty because when I figured it would crap out i'd just get another one like I did this last time, but... more
Robert Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Tom J.
Dixons Mills, AL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/8/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
17
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Needs An Electric Starter.
I find the start rope very hard to pull. The shredder needs to have an electric starter or a clutch.
Tom Does Not Recommend This Product
Dale, the Chipper Expert
Product Expert
Tom,
If you have an idea on how to improve Earthquake products it is always best to contact the manufacturer. Earthquake can be reached at (800) 345-6007.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Christian Dalessandro
Niskayuna, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/22/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
13
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Power In A Small Package
Already assembled out of the box. Had to remove chipper chute because no oil fill extension tube was included as shown in manual.

Chipped everything I put down the chute. Old, new branches. I was most impressed the way it handled the abundant and tough vines I had stockpiled. DO WEAR THE SAFETY GLASSES THEY PROVIDE.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight, Arrived Quickly And Assembled
Cons: No Oil Extension Tube As Shown In Manual Difficult To Change Oil
Christian Recommends This Earthquake Product
Christian's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Came quicker than I expected"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Andy P.
Marion, IA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/6/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
27
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Chipper, Bad Bag
After a recent storm, we had a lot of downed limbs and branches, so we decided to get a chipper of our own rather than waiting for a tree service.

This machine works great, but the design of the collecting bag connection is poor and after only a few bags full, the drawstring broke, making it impossible to use.

Overall, a good buy.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Bad Design Of Collecting Bag
Andy Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Ruby C.
Santa Rosa, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/27/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
18
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Pleasently Suprised
I needed a great chipper for my mom's property. Well I found this one from Chippers Direct. It's a great chipper.
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight
Ruby Recommends This Earthquake Product
Ruby's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I love the chipper"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Paul H.
Milton, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/14/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
26
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
It Sucks
I wish I would have spent just $60.00 more and bought one at Lowes.
Pros: Easy To Store
Cons: Difficult To Use, Durability, Heavy
Paul Does Not Recommend This Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Paul,
Can you help us understand the nature of the problem that you've experienced? We are always available for support and service! Please contact our customer service department at 1-800-345-6007 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM Monday through Friday so that we can help you resolve the issue.

We have more than 1700 service centers around the United States, and we are committed to making your experience a positive one.
more
Was this review helpful?
54
Robert S.
Lincoln, NE
REVIEWED
APR.
12
2014
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Worst Purchase I Have Ever Made!!!!!!!!!
This is $600 out the window. Menards will not take it back. Do not buy anything that uses gasoline or oil. Menards will not let you return it if you are not satisfied. I purchased mine from the North Lincoln, Nebraska store and received very rude customer service.
Cons: Bad Instructions, Difficult To Use, Low Quality, Durability
Robert Does Not Recommend This Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Robert,
We are sorry that you have had a bad experience with our chipper. Please contact our customer service department at 1-800-345-6007 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM Monday through Friday so that we can help you resolve the issue.

We have more than 1700 service centers around the United States, and we are committed to making your experience a positive one.
more
Was this review helpful?
76
Allen Schroeder
Louisville, KY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/17/11
REVIEWED
JAN.
31
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Second Pull
Well if you read my first review you'll see the assemble of the machine is fast. Now how did it run? The second pull and it started on a cold day.

I thought I would try it without the bag, thinking I would get a pile of wood chips. Wrong answer- this machine chips WOOD. It will handle anything a homeowner puts into it. I love the fact it is so small and compact, I almost wish it was a little taller. Great design!
Was this review helpful?
21
Michael B.
Jackson, MS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/28/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
10
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great For The Price
Clearing property lines and chipping all small trees
the chipper has not failed to crank and has exceded
all my expectations. i would recomend
Michael Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Plainsman
Manhattan, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/1/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
27
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Lots To Say, Will Probably Post A Video
Came assembled except for the handle. That plastic hopper it's bolted to is far tougher than some here give it credit for, but the handle is clumsy.

You won't wheelbarrow this over anything but concrete, and even then have to bend over. I'm 5'8" with long arms but have to stoop to get it laid back enough even to drag backwards. Worst part of the job is humping it 100' to the work site, may weld up something better next winter.

Got a lot to deal with. First 6-7 hrs all piles of dry... more
Pros: High Quality, Fast, Reliable, Durable
Cons: Clumsy To Move
Plainsman Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Wayne G.
Iowa City, IA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/19/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
11
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Earthquake Chipper Review
Likes:
The lower hopper height makes for fast shredding. I like the chipped product size-makes nice mulch. Chips faster than my last unit (Troy-bilt).

Dislikes:
Engine oil fill and check port is not convenient (Briggs & Stratton issue). Debris discharge port and how the debris bag is attached is a joke. I had to use an old bag from a previous Troy-bilt unit. I know the chipper cone chute cover is a safety item but you can't see anything when items aren't pulled in.

Thought I was... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Light Weight, Easy To Store
Wayne Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Joseph B.
Winchester, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/4/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
07
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Chipper
The chipper does not have a direct downward chute - instead, it is off set which causes problems in chipping. The oil plug is very difficult to reach. The engine runs a few minutes and quits. I would not recommend this chipper.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Difficult To Use, Low Quality, Unreliable, Shoot Should Be Realigned
Joseph Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
11
John
Wetumpka, AL
REVIEWED
OCT.
31
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Shredder
It shredded anything I could put in it. Only used it a few hours but it did exactly what I wanted it to do. Starts easily but it is loud, you need earplugs. When using the large hopper for smaller limbs, it will kick some back so you should wear eye safety. I had fun using it.
Was this review helpful?
00
Matt
Naples, FL
REVIEWED
OCT.
22
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
More Than Most Home Owners Need...
I've had this for about a year, just dusted it off and started it up for fall clean up.

Still works like new, just be sure to winterize or what ever you do before long storage.

This chipper still pulls branches right out of my hand... you need to control how fast you feed it, it will stall itself out it is so eager to chip wood. If that happens it just takes a few wrenches and drivers and a little clearing and you are back at it!
Was this review helpful?
00
Edison
Savannah, GA
REVIEWED
OCT.
21
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love My New Chipper/shredder
I love my new Earthquake 206CC Chipper/ Shredder Model #9060300.

It is very easy to operate and it has the power to do the job.
Was this review helpful?
00
Thomas
Richfield, WI
REVIEWED
MAY.
17
2011
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Could Be Better
The good news is it arrived quickly and virtually assembled. Easy to attach the hopper. It starts right up each time with little effort. It also pulverizes everything. Does a good job once the debris makes it to the blades.

Major issue is the inability to dump even a rake full of debris in the hopper. It clogs up so easily, especially with wet leaves. This results in frequently shutting it down or using a large stick or end of the rake to clear it out while running. That is very... more
Was this review helpful?
22
Thomas
Richfield, WI
REVIEWED
MAY.
17
2011
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Could Be Better
The good news is it arrived quickly and virtually assembled. Easy to attach the hopper. It starts right up each time with little effort. It also pulverizes everything. Does a good job once the debris makes it to the blades.

Major issue is the inability to dump even a rake full of debris in the hopper. It clogs up so easily, especially with wet leaves. This results in frequently shutting it down or using a large stick or end of the rake to clear it out while running. That is very... more
Was this review helpful?
11
Redoak
Weatherford, TX
REVIEWED
APR.
23
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Earthquake Chipper/shredder
This is a wonderful machine. It makes easy work of getting rid of leaves and tree and shrub trimmings. The chipper turned the tree limbs into 12-inch size chunks, which sure looks good around the base of my trees.

When they say 3 inches on the size of tree limbs they really mean it. If there is a bend in the limb it won't go through. I just pre-trim the limbs prior to going through the chipper so I'm feeding straight pieces into it.
Was this review helpful?
00
Edward S. Sr.
Hanover, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/5/12
REVIEWED
FEB.
26
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Eartquake Chipper
Thanks for the fast free delivery . This unit works better then the one I had . (fact that it pulls the limes in is great.) another 5 star rating.
Was this review helpful?
12
Edison
Savannah, GA
REVIEWED
OCT.
21
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love My New Chipper/shredder
I love my new Earthquake 206CC Chipper/ Shredder Model #9060300.

It is very easy to operate and it has the power to do the job.
Was this review helpful?
01
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Earthquake 9060300 reviews.Compare our Earthquake 9060300 ratings. Find the Earthquake 9060300 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct