Search
< Back to Product

Earthquake 12802 Gas Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Free Shipping$279.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$299.99
No Sales Tax* (Except CA)
Visit Site
 
Free Shipping$279.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$279.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$282.35
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Earthquake 12802 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (10)
Light Weight (8)
Plenty Of Power (6)
Price (6)
Exceeded Expectations (4)
Cons
Unreliable (3)
Durability (2)
Difficult To Use (2)
Bad Instructions (1)
Must Till With Larger Ti... (1)
86% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
22 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Mark B.
Monroe, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/4/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
APR.
13
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best For Home Garden
Quiet, powerful, ergonomic and VERY convenient. I'm very impressed with the ease and speed of operation and my Wife agrees.
Mark Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Kip S.
Sugar Grove, WV
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/27/16
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
MAY.
09
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Limited Uses
I suppose I was expecting too much from this little machine and therefore set myself up for disappointment. I have to say that Tillers Direct was wonderful in filling my order and I am very pleased with their service. However, the product itself is quite another matter. Despite the 40cc engine size, the fact that it is a 4 stroke engine diminishes most of the torque. Small 2-3" stones will constantly jam up the tines and I have to stop to pry them out.

I get maybe 10 feet and have to... more
Pros: Light Weight, Quiet, Easy To Store
Cons: Unreliable, Low Quality, Difficult To Use, Durability
Kip Does Not Recommend This Product
Kip's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"prompt shipping with no problems"
 more
Was this review helpful?
01
David P.
Morrisville, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/1/16
REVIEWED
APR.
30
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Satisfied
Was apprehensive on the purchase as i was not familiar with the name. That said I must say that I am more than satisfied. The unit starts easily, and is easy to control. It is a rugged little machine. I would not hesitate recommending this cultivator.
David Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Steve S.
Hillsboro, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/23/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
17
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy To Use
After getting our new cultivator, I put gas and oil in it and it started on the 2nd pull. My wife loves it because it starts so easily and handles well.
Steve Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Edwin K.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/26/16
REVIEWED
APR.
20
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
First Project - Clay
Bought the Earthquake to till/cultivate a non-productive corner of the back yard. Out of the box through putting together was easy with slightly above average instructions. Started strong on second pull. We did use a shovel to break up the topsoil, but the Earthquake dug into the chop and underneath clay just fine with quite good power.

It's a little light weight to expect real tilling, but 8-9 inches deep was fairly simple. Also bought edger attachment. First look at that is that it... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Plenty Of Power, 4-cycle Engine No Oilgas Mixing
Cons: Calls For Premium No Ethanol Gas, Edger Attachment Is Too Expensive
Edwin Recommends This Earthquake Product
Edwin's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Purchase through Tillers Direct was a good experience with fast, no problem results."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Guy S.
Pittsburgh, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/29/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Purchase
used it yesterday for the first time. It started immediately and ran great for the duration. It took about 15 minutes to get the wheel and drag bar adjustment the way it needed to be, but after it was easy to use and clean. It used a little more gas than I expected, but that may be because it was the first run.
Guy Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Robert M.
Lynchburg, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/9/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
30
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Tool
Moving from Florida to Virginia I encountered red clay for the first time. Clearly I needed a tool to till the clay and mix in soil and other organics. Nothing to complain about with the Earthquake MC440.

Follow directions and she starts very easily easy to control and light weight makes it even easier. It mulches to a pretty fine soil so blending in peat moss and other stuff that allows the soil to breath is an easy goal to achieve.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Plenty Of Power, Exceeded Expectations
Robert Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Sharon B.
Eden, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/19/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Little Machine.
This is exactly what we were looking for to till around the landscaping. We have solid clay and wanted to till in some of the mulch from prior years.

It works great for small areas like this. It was very easy to put together probably about 10 minutes from taking it out of the box. We are very happy with it.
Sharon Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Rosario F.
Creston, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/22/16
REVIEWED
APR.
13
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Best Equipment Item In Gardening
I put out then gas in it ran it adjusted the RPM's up a little now have 12 hours on it ! It's better than any other product I've had ! Without mixing gas , just prime pull once and go ! It's the best ! For even us old people with bad backs !!!
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Plenty Of Power, Exceeded Expectations
Rosario Recommends This Earthquake Product
Rosario's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"This item is a one pull start and easy to use ! The best thing is not mixing oil & gas ! It runs quiet also compared to a 2 cycle & is controllable ! Buy one this is a great item !"
 more
Was this review helpful?
11
Fred Y.
Oxford, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/5/13
Total Helpful Votes
26 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
26
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Earthquake 4 Cycle Tiller
I bought this tiller for my wife. She was wanting a small tiller for the flower garden that would be easy to handle and operate. No one likes having to mix oil and gas for those greasy 2 cycle engines so this was the perfect choice. She loves this tiller. Only one thing to complain about . . . . . the air/fuel mixture was not correct and the tiller was starved for fuel and stalling at high rpm. The adjustment screw has a very unusual head making it difficult to adjust. I used plastic... more
Was this review helpful?
260
Paul F.
Guntersville, AL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/13/14
Total Helpful Votes
11 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
06
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect Fit
I found this item to be a perfect fit for the tasks it was purchased for. We have a number of annual beds that my wife likes to loosen up before planting. Our hard clay Alabama soil can make this quite the chore. This unit made this chore a breeze, with plenty of power for the task. I like the ease of the four stroke engine and not having to mix the gas & oil too. I would recommend this unit to anyone with a small vegetable garden or plant beds.
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Price, Powerful
Paul Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
110
Tracy B.
Sedan, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/1/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
12
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fantastic Tiller.
I am a disabled vet and have lost 80% of the use of my legs. This tiller is light weight and extremely easy to use. It starts very easy and I have no real issues with the operation. It is quite powerful and it balances me. I have a few movement issues as you can imagine. I fire it up, easy onto the gas and lean back, the tiller does all the work and and drags me along with it. All I have to do is keep it in a straight line. I have had difficulty with the other tillers I have used, in most... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable, Fast, High Quality
Tracy Recommends This Earthquake Product
Tracy's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The tiller arrived in 3 days. Extremely fast service and I am grateful for the speed of delivery."
 more
Was this review helpful?
80
A.t.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/9/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
05
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Does What It Was Made For
I bought this for the wife so that she could till her flower beds between mulching and till weeds between rows in her garden. It's light and maneuvers well. Only con is it is a little hard to start.
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Durable, Exceeded Expectations
A.t. Recommends This Earthquake Product
A.t.'s Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great shipping and product, problem free."
 more
Was this review helpful?
80
Robert S.
Fennville, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/24/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
05
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Tiller The Wife Can Use
Perfect for the wife, she loves it.
Pros: Price, Light Weight, Plenty Of Power, Exceeded Expectations
Robert Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Bruce S.
Cambria, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/16/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
06
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
The Good Tiller
Easy to use. Have No problems yet. I love it.
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, Light Weight, Fast
Bruce Recommends This Earthquake Product
Bruce Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Get 1, You will love it.."
 more
Was this review helpful?
60
Mike K.
Burlington, KY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/6/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
27
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect For Gardens
This tiller was very adequate for not only cultivating the soil but light tilling. I have only used it 6-7 times but each time it starts on first or second pull and runs great.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Plenty Of Power, Plenty Of Power
Cons: Trottle Lever Needs Guard
Mike Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Dale C.
Jay Em, WY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/11/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
24
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Works Fine
Lightweight
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Light Weight
Dale Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Tom L.
W Bountiful, UT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/16/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Little Cultivator
Works great for garden weeding in smaller areas. Slightly heavier than the 2-cycle it replaced, but much easier to start. Plenty of power.
Tom Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Jerry S.
Elkview, WV
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/31/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Well Pleased.....
I like it. It has plenty of power and plenty of RPM's. Not having to mix oil and gas is a plus. A great little cultivator.
Jerry Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Mark F.
Pittsburg, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/3/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
05
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Earthquake Tiller Shakes It Up
So the big question was whether to go Mantis or try the less publicized Earthquake. I'm very happy with the Earthquake.

Assembly was straightforward and quick. Added the included oil, gassed it up, and fired it up. I have used it for 2 two hour sessions so far and it performed great.

As a bonus, the 4 stroke motor seems quieter than a two stroke. The Earthquake has plenty of power and is set up well for comfortable tilling.

Four hours of operation time is not much of course, but so... more
Mark Recommends This Earthquake Product
Mark's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"Good company. I'm glad I found Tillers Direct. Product shipped very quickly."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert R.
Webster, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/4/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
27
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Problems With Pull Cord
I have used this product twice, total time is less than 1 hr. It work well and my wife liked it also. I wanted a 4 stroke unit, because of the difficulty starting a 2 stroke. I went to use it the other day, and I could not pull the pull cord to start. It felt like it was jammed . Yes, I put oil in the unit before running.
Had to call to get information on warranty service, and took the unit to the local repaired shop suggested by the company. They said it would take 2 to 3 weeks before I... more
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Price
Cons: Unreliable, Durability
Robert Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
35
Charles Carbone
Burke, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/10/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
02
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Weak Tiller/cultivator
Have had garden in same location for almost 20 years. Instead of renting I thought I would try this since ground has been tilled repeatedly over the years. It barely scratched the surface.
Cons: Difficult To Use, Unreliable, Bad Instructions, Must Till With Larger Tiller Before Using This One
Charles Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
212
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Earthquake 12802 reviews.Compare our Earthquake 12802 ratings. Find the Earthquake 12802 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct