Your Cart @ Power Equipment Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
< Back to Product

Dirty Hand Tools 100481 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$279.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$279.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$279.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$279.99
(as of 06:52 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
 
$332.49
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Dirty Hand Tools 100481 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 5
Pros
Price (7)
Easy To Use (5)
Easy To Store (4)
I'd Buy It Again (3)
Fast (3)
Cons
Does Not Work Well Abouv... (1)
Two Hand Operation (1)
Won't Tke Larger Logshav... (1)
Won (1)
Wedge Needs To Be Sharpe... (1)
93% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
29 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Dale, the Log Splitter Expert
Power Equipment Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
36 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
920 Helpful Votes
Power Equipment Direct Recommended

If you burn wood in your fireplace, fire pit, or chiminea you will be amazed at how useful the Dirty Hand Tools 100481 5-ton electric log splitter is!

The Dirty Hand Tools 100481 can be plugged it into any household outlet, so you can work inside a garage, work shop or shed where it's warm, turning small seasoned logs into useful firewood.

The 6-1/2" flat proof wheels let you move and store the Dirty Hand Tools 100481 with ease. Keep it out of the way until you need it.
Dale Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
6331
Malcolm H.
Ashville, AL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/5/14
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
OCT.
27
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It's A Work Horse!
Wow...I'm so impressed. Never used log splitter before, I wish I had got one years ago... Easy to setup, safe to use, great product and price.
View Image
Malcolm Recommends This Dirty Hand Tools Product
Was this review helpful?
120
Keith S.
Andover, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/12/16
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
MAR.
04
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Not What It Is
Not happy with product after it was delivered. Product description says on/off switch reality on as long as you hold button down. Operations require 1 hand on power switch and 1 hand on ram lever.

Non returnable product because after ups and you get it out of box there's no returning this to manufacturer or LogSplittersDirect. Be prepared to purchase your own on/off switch . Or grow a 3rd arm to manage log.
Dale, the Log Splitter Expert
Product Expert
Keith,
Many log splitters on the market today require two-handed operation. The Boss Industrial electric splitters offer one-handed operation. Model: EC5T20 is similar to your 5 ton Dirty Hand Tools model.

You may return your DHT log splitter to us but it will be subject to a restocking fee.

"Opened" products and accessories can be returned within 30 days of delivery*, but will be subject to a 25% restocking fee to cover testing, cleaning and repackaging expenses. Simply return the item to us, shipping prepaid & using the most convenient shipping method available to you. Some products include free shipping, so if you return one of these products our actual outbound shipping costs will be deducted from your return refund. Opened returns must be in salable condition with original materials and packaging."


RETURN POLICY
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Joan N.
Blue Ridge, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/4/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
I am amazed at how easy it is to use. I am a 68 year old woman who finally fulfilled a lifelong dream of owning a cabin in the woods. I had several diseased oak trees taken down and cut into 12-18 inch lengths. The Dirty Hands Log Splitter made splitting them for firewood way too easy. Now I am ready for winter!
Joan Recommends This Dirty Hand Tools Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Stephen S.
Feeding Hills, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/2/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
OCT.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
5 Ton Splitters
The Dirty Hand Tools model 100-481lived up to its advertised expectations as a 5 ton splitter. It did well on softer woods well past 8 diameter and let you know when that chunk of Oak or Poplar wasnt gonna go. I could easily recommend it for most families household needs either at home, or chucked in the SUV for the camp or cottage.

I chose it because:
- Other brands offered a 4 way splitter option. A 5 ton might split Bamboo into quarters, but if you need that feature, move up to a 10... more
Pros: Fast, I'd Buy It Again, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Packaging
Stephen Recommends This Dirty Hand Tools Product
Stephen's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Diversified product line and excellent/easy to manage comparability. Very satisfied with knowledgeable staff."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Steven C.
Middlesex, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/14/16
REVIEWED
APR.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great!
Just used it over the course of 3 days to split a new cord of wood and it worked excellent! I would definitely recommend it for the price.
Steven Recommends This Dirty Hand Tools Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Walter H.
Almond, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/3/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Splitting Wood
Bought this splitter to replace a previous one. It was recommended by a local dealer.

Only used once, but it worked fine then. I expect it will continue to do so. Most of the electric log splitter appear to be made along the same lines.

The Dirty Hands splitter was recommended, can be serviced locally and the price was much better than the rest.

So far so good. I am happy with my purchase.
Walter Recommends This Dirty Hand Tools Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Frank M.
Payson, AZ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/27/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Product
I received the log splitter which was delivered to my front door already assembled.

The only thing I had to do was put the rear wheels on and plug it in!

It works like a champ and I am impressed by it's performance.
Frank Recommends This Dirty Hand Tools Product
Frank's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Had a pleasant experience with this Website."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Kenneth T.
Florissant, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/15/14
Total Helpful Votes
21 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
APR.
01
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Little Splitter
Received a cord of wood, ( 18"L rounds ). They were supposed to be no more than 10" diameter. Shortly after delivery it snowed 12" so I had a few weeks of thaw before I began stacking. To make a long story short, approximately 1/2 of the cord is closer to 12 to14" dia. They don't fit in my wood burner so I went online and bought my Dirty Hand Tools Splittter. Put it in the shop on a workbench, turned on the radio, turned on the heat, it works like a champ. FAST DELIVERY,... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Kenneth Recommends This Dirty Hand Tools Product
Was this review helpful?
211
Brooke F.
Burien, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/13/14
Total Helpful Votes
14 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
29
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
After All The Research, This Is The One
I did as much due-diligence and research on electric log splitters as I possibly could. There are many brands out there from manufacturers I've never heard of so I had no bias or preconceived notions. The choices for electric log splitters is a narrower field than the gas powered models. After receiving the box I quickly assembled the wheels and was off to split some rounds. The instructions were easy to follow and I was ripping through my stack of seasoned Fir and Cedar in no time. I love it!... more
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Fast
Brooke Recommends This Dirty Hand Tools Product
Brooke's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Good experience."
 more
Was this review helpful?
140
Pauline M.
Cataldo, ID
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/9/14
Total Helpful Votes
13 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
11
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Neat
It is so fast. Very powerful and easy to use. We really like it . Husband had a heart attack, so he can not chop with an axe. It was a great buy. I did shop around for the price.
Pros: Price, Easy To Store, Quiet, Fast
Pauline Recommends This Dirty Hand Tools Product
Was this review helpful?
130
Mark S.
Cripple Creek, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/8/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
29
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Splitter, Great Price, Great Deliver
I ordered this splitter online. I was amazed that there was no tax and no delivery charges (especially since this weighs in at more than 100 lbs).

They called me the day after my order to verify that I in fact placed the order, which I thought was a common sense way of preventing fraud.

The splitter arrived 2-3 days later. I was stunned and prepared to wait a week or two as heavy equipment often requires shipping that is a real pain in the behind.

The splitter works great and I've... more
Mark Recommends This Dirty Hand Tools Product
Was this review helpful?
90
Stan C.
Allyn, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/18/14
REVIEWED
APR.
02
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Log Splitter For Old Guys
I think it's a good value and easy to use for an older (80+) person like me in spite of having to hand-split the larger rounds first.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Light Weight, Easy To Store
Cons: Wedge Needs To Be Sharper, Exploxive Force At Times, Won, Won't Tke Larger Logshave Hand Split Firtst
Stan Recommends This Dirty Hand Tools Product
Was this review helpful?
90
Robert M.
Hawthorn Woods, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/26/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
18
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
As Billed
This Dirty Hand splitter performs as described. I had no problem splitting 20" seasoned oak all morning long. It ran much quieter than expected. The ram returns to ready as you position the next split faster than a big gas splitter.

I did it in the warmth of a garage. No problem lifting it into a SUV to move to a second location to split there as well.

I raised the unit on to a set of stools to eliminating stooping to move all the splits.

Be sure to tip it up on end to check... more
Robert Recommends This Dirty Hand Tools Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Michael R.
New Fairfield, CT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/14/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
02
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Didn't Realize How Much I Needed This!
My 3rd item from PED and I am very happy with the companies.

I bought this electric splitter to replace my splitting maul. I've used it about 20 times over the last 2 months and I love it. I am now starting fires much easier, and I use it inside my garage because it is electric, which helps me do it in warmth, and no snow/rain/wind. It is also much more accurate than my maul.

I haven't found a piece of wood I couldn't split yet, but of course I am splitting wood that has been split... more
Michael Recommends This Dirty Hand Tools Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Kyle J.
Aledo, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/30/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
07
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Not Enough Power
Called Dirty Hands directly and asked if I could upgrade to a gas log splitter and if I could return this one, they said they would get back with me and never did. Not at all happy with that company.

Just a courteous call back saying yes or no would have been fine, just don't leave me hanging. I guess they don't realize what customer satisfaction means and how customer referrals are pretty good for advertising their products.
Kyle's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Not a bad splitter for older wood, but would not split small hickory logs for my smoker, it did okay on the older oak logs, I would really like to upgrade to the Ariens 22-ton gas horizontal / vertical log splitter, but I guess you guys would not pay for the shipping of the Dirty Hands log Splitter back to your company."
 more
Was this review helpful?
72
Richard S.
Mastic, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/9/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
30
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Tool For The Money.
I purchased this splitter because I was getting tired of hand splitting my firewood. It worked great right out of the box. Just had to put the two wheels on, and was good to go. I have a few large oak rounds that it could not handle, but I expected that. I have a hard time with them, even with a maul and splitting wedge. It's good for anything less than ten inches around. I actually enjoyed using it.
Richard Recommends This Dirty Hand Tools Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Pedro E.
Bandera, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/28/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
20
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Log Splitter
Received the item in top condition and it preforms the same way GREAT. I am very glad I purchased this product. I wish I had got this item for my use long ago. I am very pleased with this splitter and plan to get a lot of further great performance out of this product.
Pedro Recommends This Dirty Hand Tools Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Brian M.
Coon Rapids, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/19/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
09
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love This Splitter
I buy a cord of split wood every year but typically half or more of this is not to the size I prefer for our winter recreational fires. Renting a large splitter from the local rental place is overkill so I went looking on-line for options. I came across this splitter and read some pretty good reviews, liked the price, so I gave it a shot. Needless to say I love this splitter. It went through my "to be split" pile without any problems. It also has a very small footprint for storage... more
Brian Recommends This Dirty Hand Tools Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Paul R.
Palmyra, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/18/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
09
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Power
5 ton good for small 8 inch logs - not any more..
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Features, Light Weight
Cons: Does Not Work Well Abouve 8 Inch Logs
Paul Recommends This Dirty Hand Tools Product
Paul's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I would advise anyone to get a more powerful machine."
 more
Was this review helpful?
52
James L.
Cortlandt Manor, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/14/15
REVIEWED
APR.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect
The log splitter is even better than I imagined.

I'm glad it works at all though, because whoever delivered it (UPS) threw it around a lot and the box was badly damaged and oil was all over the inside contents.

I'm a city guy living in the country and this product just made the wood splitting process almost like fun instead of a chore.
James Recommends This Dirty Hand Tools Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Michael E.
Abington, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/27/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
18
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Dirty Hands 5-ton -- Pretty Good Splitter
I got the 5-ton to use at my mother's house. She has many trees on the ground due to the ice and snow storms last winter. I needed an electric splitter that is compatible with the house current and did not want to get a gas-powered splitter. I am able to split a good amount of the logs on the property. However, if the house wiring were more robust, I definitely would have gone with the 7 ton or better.
Michael Recommends This Dirty Hand Tools Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Jon R.
Rochester, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/13/14
REVIEWED
MAR.
29
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Our Splitter
Happy.
Pros: Durable, Price, Reliable, Easy To Store
Cons: Two Hand Operation
Jon Recommends This Dirty Hand Tools Product
Jon's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Awesome store."
 more
Was this review helpful?
86
Ken B.
Parker, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/3/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Machine
Very rugged and capable. I have split about 2 truck loads of wood with this splitter so far. Not a single problem with any of it. Logs up to 22" are a piece of cake. Excellent price and high quality. I highly recommend this splitter for anyone with small to medium (non-commercial) needs. Outstanding value at just over $300 delivered w/no tax.
Ken Recommends This Dirty Hand Tools Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Bill W.
Rodney, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/31/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
22
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect Splitter For My Needs.
This is the perfect splitter to handle the job. Being electric, I split all my wood in the garage, away from the weather. I usually buy one face cord at a time, and this works just right for me.

The splitter is very well made. The shipping was very quick and was received earlier than expected. The price was right, too.
Bill Recommends This Dirty Hand Tools Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Arnold M.
Evergreen, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/16/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
07
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Handy Little Splitter
Convenient little splitter for casual around home log splitting. Does well, even on larger diameter logs.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again
Arnold Recommends This Dirty Hand Tools Product
Arnold's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I'd like a low-cost waterproof cover."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Anthony P.
Wappingers Falls, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/25/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
23
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Big 2 Small
I take my large logs and split them in half and log does the rest. I love it.
Anthony Recommends This Dirty Hand Tools Product
Anthony's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"It works great as long you use it by spec it great I break down my larger log before I put on the splitter it great."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Dudley M.
Lynnfield, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/13/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
15
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
5 Ton Electric Splitter Review
I've had this for a couple months now and have split between 1 and 2 cords of wood. The splitter works great for a home owner who wants to split medium size logs for the fireplace or wood stove.

The one failure I have experienced is with the footer pads breaking out of the holders. Also it is a heavy unit so moving it into your work area can be challenging.
Dudley Recommends This Dirty Hand Tools Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Rollo
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/7/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
21
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Kindling For Wood Stove
I am 63 and I was chopping kindling for 4 hours in the cold to get 5 days worth of kindling. Now I sit in a warm shop with my Dirty Hands Tools Log Splitter and split enough kindling for 5 days in 45 minutes. Need I say more.
Rollo Recommends This Dirty Hand Tools Product
Was this review helpful?
22
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Dirty Hand Tools 100481 reviews.Compare our Dirty Hand Tools 100481 ratings. Find the Dirty Hand Tools 100481 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct