Search
< Back to Product

Dirty Hand Tools 100466 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$1,759.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$1,759.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$1,804.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$1,804.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$2,627.04
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Dirty Hand Tools 100466 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 5
Pros
Durable (6)
Exceeded Expectations (5)
Easy To Use (3)
I'd Buy It Again (2)
Fast (2)
Cons
Heavy (1)
Should have an hour mete... (1)
Bad Instructions (1)
Would Not Buy Again Or R... (1)
Low Quality (1)
87% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
15 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Steve S.
Colorado Springs, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/10/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
FEB.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Freaky Fast Delivery , A Quality Product!
First off The delivery was way to fast and efficient! Hats off to Log Splitters Direct..
I Chose the Dirty Hands 35 ton Unit, For two reasons, I live in Colorado & it was engineered here in Colorado, Secondly the Design & Craftsmanship. "Stout"

Packaging/crating was well done from the factory.

Assembly was a snap, and fluids were provided. I chose the 35 ton over all the others because I didn't mind paying more knowing that the unit would not have to be overworked in... more
View Image
Steve Recommends This Dirty Hand Tools Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Spencer K.
Greenwood, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/30/15
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
FEB.
03
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Bad Pump
I bought this splitter after reading many great reviews, I'm very familiar with hydraulic systems, I assembled, and ran it fur about 6 hours when the pump started leaking bud to a bad seal, can't repair it as its a Chinese one time use pump. Kinda puts a damper on things when you spend this much in a new tool. Makes me wonder how long other parts will last...

One ither thing is that the fluid gets extremely hot, for this size pump and flow the system should have 3x more fluid capacity...I... more
Cons: Low Quality, Would Not Buy Again Or Recommend To Anyone
Spencer Does Not Recommend This Product
Dale, the Log Splitter Expert
Product Expert
Spencer,
Your Dirty Hand Tools log splitter is still covered under their 3 year warranty. You may contact them at 877-487-8275. The model 100466 has a 5 gallon hydraulic reservoir and the system holds 6.5 gallons.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
John M.
Harpswell, ME
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/27/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Splitter
Easy to set up and the Kohler engine started on the first pull...very impressive. Splits oak and maple logs easily with no strain.
I would highly recommend the 35 ton model with plenty of power. This is a heavy machine and I would recommend that a trailer dolly be purchased to aid in moving the machine around.
John Recommends This Dirty Hand Tools Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Bryan S.
Meridian, MS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/13/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
NOV.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Unit
Quick overview. I did lots of research and there are many options and good equipment out there, but after reading specifications and product reviews over several days - I purchased the Dirty Hand Tools (DHT) 35-Ton Horizontal / Vertical Gas Log Splitter. My next pick would have been the DHT 28-Ton as it also had the larger engine and pump for faster cycling times. But since the price difference was not much, I opted for the heavier 35-ton unit. BTW when ordering - the log cradle listed as... more
Pros: Durable, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Bad Instructions, Should have an hour meter
Bryan Recommends This Dirty Hand Tools Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Gary
Total Helpful Votes
31 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
SEP.
13
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Spitter
I did a ton of research on log splitters and was very impressed with the specs and reviews this log splitter was receiving. I contacted the company out in CO and they were very informative of answering all of my questions. I purchased the 35-ton Dirty Hand Tools largest log splitter which recently just came on line. The splitter arrived on Monday. We had assembled it within 1.5 hours.

Pros:
a) It was packaged well.
b) It was easy and enjoyable to assemble.
c) The splitter is heavy and... more
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Gary Recommends This Dirty Hand Tools Product
Was this review helpful?
310
Chip
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
FEB.
18
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Big Boy Log Splitter!!
Got this thing a few months ago and I have to say it is much larger than I expected, and that is a pleasant surprise in this day and age.

Kohler Command engine is awesome, nice and quiet, and has a huge fuel tank. The Dirty Hand 35-ton will split anything, and we have thrown some real nasty logs on this machine.
Pros: Durable, Exceeded Expectations, Quiet
Chip Recommends This Dirty Hand Tools Product
Was this review helpful?
100
Bobby K.
Smokey MTNS., NC
REVIEWED
FEB.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Will Split Anything
I hardly ever write a review but the DHT customer service group and this splitter deserve some attention and recognition. As does the PED team. After a whole lot of research I settled on this 35 ton bad boy and I must say I made the right decision. This splitter is awesome. Thanks again!
Pros: Durable, Exceeded Expectations, Fast, I'd Buy It Again
Bobby Recommends This Dirty Hand Tools Product
Was this review helpful?
90
T.j.s.
Salina, KS
REVIEWED
APR.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Bigger Than You Need.....but You Need It
Really you don't need a splitter this big, at least not for the wood I split.....but you'll want one. Not only will you want one, but your neighbors will too as I have found out they want to borrow it. 35 tons is big, and will split anything you can throw at it. Kohler Command is a great engine. Nice and quiet too. Can't go wrong with DHT and PED was awesome to deal with. Splitter showed up 4 days after I ordered.
Pros: Durable, Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Use, Fast
T.j.s. Recommends This Dirty Hand Tools Product
Was this review helpful?
50
David B.
Foster, RI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/2/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
AUG.
06
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Heavy Duty
Heavy duty unit I like the log catcher. Every thing on this unit is heavy duty. Easy assembly, well created. It should have come with hydraulic oil, but didn't, so Log Splitters Direct made good for it.

This unit should come with a 4 way because it's a must have. I had to buy that separate, so add that to total cost - still well worth it. They claimed 12 second cycle time. I don't see that.
Pros: Exceeded Expectations, Durable, Easy To Use, Features
Cons: Heavy
David Recommends This Dirty Hand Tools Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Bill L.
Morristown, VT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/5/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Awesome
The only small issue is where the wedge goes from narrow to wide. The wide angle is welded on to the narrow and there is a squared off lip that catches on the wood and causes the whole splitter to shake when it releases.. Could grind it and paint..
Bill Recommends This Dirty Hand Tools Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Stevan D.
Cumberland, RI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/2/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAY.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Tool For Splitting Wood
I had an older, rugged homemade log splitter, and used it a lot, but when I bought this one and put it together, I was impressed at how well built it was. The assembly time was about an hour between four guys and a 30 pack. The power the splitter puts out is more than enough to cut the 24-inch logs that I have seasoned.

I bought the 4-way splitter attachment and that is built well and cuts perfect size logs for stacking. Some of the hydraulic fittings were loose and needed tightening, hence... more
Stevan Recommends This Dirty Hand Tools Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Mike S.
Rdu, NC
REVIEWED
MAY.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Worker
Bought this splitter after a lot of research. The specs are better than anything else out there for the price point. We have split 10-12 cords and it has delivered on the promises. Very happy with PED and the Dirty Hand Tools 35-ton. Thanks.
Mike Recommends This Dirty Hand Tools Product
Was this review helpful?
40
James G.
Crawfordville, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/4/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
35 Ton Gas Log Splitter
I'd have to say that this tool is up to what I hoped it to be. It's the best I've ever used. I'm 66 years old, so believe me I've seen a few. Good product. Jungle Jim.
James Recommends This Dirty Hand Tools Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Henry D.
East Falmouth, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/5/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
30
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Outraged!
It arrived promptly, but I couldn't open it up and assemble it for a few weeks. Labor involved in assembly was considerable. When I had it all together the engine worked fine, and the motor on the hydraulic system was spinning - but NOTHING could make the wedge advance or retreat. Clearly defective and I am furious.
Henry Does Not Recommend This Product
Dale, the Log Splitter Expert
Product Expert
Henry,
We are very sorry about the issues you are having. Please give us a call at your earliest convenience and we can discuss this further. This may just be an adjustment needed in the hydraulics. We can be reached at 800-710-7499 or Dirty Hand Tools technical support will be happy to trouble shoot this with you as well. You may contact them at 877-487-8275.
more
Was this review helpful?
30
Stan B.
Hanford, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/17/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Satisfied!
This splitter could easily be considered a commercial model. Very heavy duty and better performance than many of the models considered “commercial” for a whole lot more money. I studied many splitters on the market, and for the price this is hands down the biggest bang for your buck. I have used it for the last two weekends at 3/4 speed to allow the engine to break in.

Even at that speed I have yet found a log it struggled with. For the little difference in price between the 27 ton models... more
Stan Recommends This Dirty Hand Tools Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Dirty Hand Tools 100466 reviews.Compare our Dirty Hand Tools 100466 ratings. Find the Dirty Hand Tools 100466 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct