Search
< Back to Product

DeWalt DXCMV5048055 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Free Freight$1,350.09
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
Free Freight$1,350.09
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$1,389.99
(as of 06:57 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
 
$1,499.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$1,399.99
No Sales Tax* (Except CA,GA)
Visit Site
DeWalt DXCMV5048055 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 5
Pros
I'd Buy It Again (6)
Price (4)
High Quality (3)
Features (3)
Durable (2)
Cons
Heavy (3)
Packaging (1)
The Electric Hook Up Lug... (1)
Loud (1)
Shipping (1)
96% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
26 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jon T.
Burtonsville, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/28/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
MAY.
03
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Should Have Bought 10 Years Ago
All the 302 $400 compressors I have blown up over the years would've paid for six of these and they were no comparison as far as airflow and capacity.

I hardly hear it run and when it does it fills up amazingly quick! The shipping was very quick. It only took three days.

It did come without the screw in air filter though. I called the number in the manual and they overnighted one to me no questions asked.
Jon Recommends This DeWalt Product
Was this review helpful?
52
Robert C.
Otis, OR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/13/16
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
FEB.
24
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Flusstraighing
Took two months to received my compressor and many phone calls trying to figure out where it was. Found out that the first one was damaged setting in a warehouse somewhere. No one doing anything about returning it back to the factory.

After finally receiving the compressor and turning it on, the belt for the compressor would not stay on the pulley. Tryed to adjust the tension on the motor but found that the two did not line up with each other. Moved the motor over and redrilled new holes... more
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Low Quality, Heavy, Unreliable, Expensive
Robert Does Not Recommend This Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Robert,
I'm sorry that you are unhappy with the progress of your order. Our records show that you placed your order on Friday, 12/4 for a unit that we post as shipping in 12-14 business days (Monday thru Friday, excluding holidays). That puts the ship-out window at 12/22 to 12/24.

We sent you an email on 12/10 saying your order had shipped and including the tracking number that R&L Freight would be using, and a link to their website so you could track your order.

R&L Freight shows they delivered the unit on 1/6 but you refused it because it was damaged. You notified us about refusing the shipment on 1/11, and we created a replacement order for you the same day. Since the unit had also gone on sale during that time, we also credited your account for the price difference.

We asked DeWalt to expedite shipment of the replacement and they did a great job getting it off their dock right away. We emailed you the tracking number and link to R&L on 1/13 and it was delivered to you on 1/21.

I spoke with the folks at DeWalt, and they are not aware of any re-drilling that needs to be done to their units. This compressor is covered by a 2 year Factory Warranty, and their manual says to call them at 1-888-895-4549 about any issues with their product. This ensures that you will benefit from the entire warranty period.

We appreciate your business and apologize for any inconvenience.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Robert,
I am sorry to hear that your DeWalt 5 Hp compressor showed up in a damaged state. I can assure you that we run every compressor before they leave our factory. If there was an alignment issue at our factory the belts would have jumped track then. I can only imagine the compressor may have been abused during the shipment. Was there any other visible damage to the unit?

We appreciate your candid review and will be making an inquiry as to how this happened. You may be receiving a call in the near future to find out how we can make this right.

Thank you for the business.
If you are not happy, We are not happy.
more
Was this review helpful?
37
Randy V.
Olive Branch, MS
REVIEWED
NOV.
16
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Value For A 5-hp
Compressor does what it's supposed to do, however it's the loudest 5-HP compressor I've had. I do body and paint work and this is my 3rd in the last 30 years due to moving shops.

Nice features on front panel with 2 quick couplers and pressure regulator for those not wanting to hard plumb the air lines. Builds pressure back up quickly and the water drain on bottom EZ to access.

Overall very pleased with performance.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, Features, Fast
Cons: Heavy, loud
Randy Recommends This DeWalt Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Liam C.
Howard Beach, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/16/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Compressor
I use this compressor for auto repair and it's up there with the best compressors I've ever used.

Solid construction.
Liam Recommends This DeWalt Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Liam,
Great to hear! We engineered this for you, the customer and its great to hear the positive feedback. Please remember to maintain the compressor and you shouldn't have to worry about needing air for a long time!

http://www.aircompressorsdirect.com/Industrial-Air-165-0320/p13374.html
more
Was this review helpful?
31
Billy P.
Pinedale, WY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/23/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAR.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome
DeWalt Air Compressor works great.
Billy Recommends This DeWalt Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Billy,
thank you for the review! Glad you like this workhorse as much as we do! If you maintain this compressor it will stay awesome for years to come.

http://www.aircompressorsdirect.com/Industrial-Air-165-0320/p13374.html
more
Was this review helpful?
21
Gerald K.
Ahwahnee, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/17/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Received In Great Condition
I received the compressor earlier in June but did not do a hook up until 6-14-16. My electrician came over and did the wiring and upgraded the breaker to an appropriate size.

While waiting for the electrical hook up I took the time to run copper pipes with air outlets over my work bench and a second one on the other side of the garage near my wood lathe. I also have a 100' air hose on a self retracting spool in the center of the shop overhead. That gives me a total of 5 outlets including... more
Gerald Recommends This DeWalt Product
Was this review helpful?
22
Mike M.
Carleton, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/21/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
23
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Dewalt Makes A Great Product
Delivery was on time and the crate was excellent.

Hooked up easy, The only thing is the switch to turn on the compressor broke when taking it of to hook up the power. I just need a replacement. I went DeWalt's parts site and i could not find the part number.

Other than that its been great.
Mike Recommends This DeWalt Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Mike,
DeWalt has different divisions for tools and compressors. Please give the compressor folks a call, toll free, at 888-895-4549 and they will be able to get the part you need. Please also have the serial number handy when you call them; they may be able to replace the part under your Warranty.
more
Was this review helpful?
11
Thomas B.
Dunstable, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/17/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JAN.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Work Horse
Update to a previous review: full restoration shop that this compressor is used in. Air tools run all day no delay whatsoever.

Blasting 2 straight hours at a time in a cabinet and outside great volume hardly any lag as with an older compressor I had previously. Won't be disappointed with the DeWalt in any way. Regulated front output connections is a bonus.

Great volume to paint booth kicks on once for a full body prime. I have in a separate room and with the door closed I still listen... more
Thomas Recommends This DeWalt Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Thomas,
We are looking at changing the drain to a ball valve. I have large hands and have a hard time getting them under the compressor. Thanks for the feedback. We came out with an autodrain kit that comes with everything you need to install and operate. Drains automatically!

Part # 072-0026IA
http://www.aircompressorsdirect.com/Industrial-Air-072-0026IA/p15402.html
more
Was this review helpful?
45
Joseph H.
Frankston, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/25/16
Total Reviews
4 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAR.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Dewalt Compressor
Bought the 80 gallon two stage DeWalt Compressor for my ranch shop and paint booth. I already have a 60 gallon compressor for the machine shop but wanted a two stage for the paint booth due to the volume of air produced and the decrease in moisture generated.

Great compressor, well made, and looks to be a real beast but a bit noisy.

Have no issues with Air Compressors Direct buying process, but the shipping company is absolutely horrible (R & L Freight Line). Scheduled the... more
Joseph Recommends This DeWalt Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Joseph,
I am so sorry you had so much aggravation with your delivery! We do a lot of business with R&L, and they usually provide better service than you received.

Please be assured we will bring your comments to R&L's attention and work with them to improve service in your area.

We appreciate your business, and apologize for the inconvenience you've experienced. I believe you will have many trouble-free years of service from your new DeWalt compressor.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Joseph,
Thanks for the positive review on the compressor. We are very proud of this product and are glad you are happy with it! Did you by chance purchase the Maintenance Kit for this compressor? It has all the oil filters and belts to maintain this unit for a year. and it extends the warranty. Peace of mind for a great price.

model # 165-0320

By the way I believe the maintenance kit ships UPS.

Thanks again!
more
Was this review helpful?
14
Ben E.
Wichita, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/3/16
REVIEWED
JAN.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent!!
The compressor showed up on time, ACD was very easy to deal with on tracking info also!

This compressor is very nice, hardly even runs lol
Ben Recommends This DeWalt Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Ben,
Thank you for the review. Even though it hardly runs now be assured when you need the power it will move the air. Glad to hear of your positive experience!
more
Was this review helpful?
14
Thomas B.
Dunstable, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/17/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
DEC.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ready For Anything
This was purchased to replace a 60 gal that had been a loaner that had a big V-type motor on it. This compressor is 75% the noise level. Working on putting the intake outdoors.

Shipping took about three weeks but had Thanksgiving in one of the weeks so I wasn't expecting it quick. Driver with lift gate service was awesome up here in New England area.

I have a full service restoration shop and the volume to my paint booth is great- it only kicked on once thru a full body prime. Haven't... more
Pros: High Quality, Durable, Features, I'd Buy Again But I Don't Think I Have To
Thomas Recommends This DeWalt Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Thomas,
Great review! Put this compressor through the paces! We test these industrial two stage units past 80 percent duty cycle so we don't have to worry about you having a bad experience. Glad you like it as much as we do.
more
Was this review helpful?
26
Gerald H.
El Dorado, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/21/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
17
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Big Fella
Much bigger and heavier unit than i realized. Also loud, but I built an exterior room to contain this compressor, so loudness does not affect me. It would be too loud for inside the shop.

Holding air with no leakage. Packaged well for shipment.

It's my first two stage compressor and it works well- plenty of air for all my saws, drills, and sanding tools.
Gerald Recommends This DeWalt Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Gerald,
Thanks for the positive review, great idea on the outside room. Just make sure the room is heated and the compressor gets the tank drained. Otherwise if it gets below 32 degrees outside sometimes you will get condensation freezing inside the tank. This can cause a problem. Likewise if the room gets too hot. Without proper ventilation the compressor can put out some heat in the summer turning a 100 degree room into a furnace.

Have you considered putting an auto drain on the compressor? Since its installed remotely people sometimes forget to drain the tank daily. An auto drain can be set to do this for you. Simple to install and a cheap solution to a nagging problem.

Auto Drain model # 072-0026IA
more
Was this review helpful?
06
Jim G.
West Henrietta, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/17/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
29
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Replacement For My 25 Year Old Single Stage
I needed a 2 stage 80 gal. compressor to run my pressure blaster that my old compressor couldn't keep up with. I bought the Dewalt because of the high CFM ratings and excellent price.

So far it has performed flawlessly. It keeps up with my pressure blaster with no problems.

The only thing I changed was the drain valve on the bottom of the tank. It's a small light duty knob. I replaced it with a ball valve which works well.

The built in control panel is a great feature.
Jim Recommends This DeWalt Product
Was this review helpful?
200
Dan R.
REVIEWED
JUL.
29
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Compressor .... Shipping Not So Great
Ordered the DeWalt 80 Gallon 5 HP compressor because of:

1) Price
2) Rated CFM
3) Quality of Compressor Pump (it is actually made by Kellogg Compressor if you look at parts list)

The compressor is great and you can see it is well put together and quality job done (no missing or loose parts anywhere, even the shipping box and pallet are very well designed and put together).

The compressor is somewhat nosier than others of same class,not because of the compressor pump (rotates... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Shipping
Dan Recommends This DeWalt Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Dan,
I'm happy to hear the air compressor is performing well.

I checked your file, and I see that the credit to your account to cover the lift gate refund and the additional time and trouble has already been processed. I didn't see where you had submitted a receipt for any additional costs- and I'm sorry, but without a receipt they would not be reimbursed.

We are working with the folks at ABF to improve service in your area, based on your comments. However, It is up to the trucking company to decide where and when they can safely make a delivery. I'm sorry that ABF wouldn't bring their semi down your residential street.

We appreciate your business, and apologize again for the inconvenience you experienced.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Dan,
Dan I am sorry to hear about your shipping experience, sometimes it can be hard to control a third party freight company. I would like to clarify that the pump is in fact not made by Kellog. We manufacture our own pumps as it is much easier to control the quality if it is made in house. This pump actually rotates around 860 rpm. We believe the lower the RPM the longer the life.

Make sure you are buying the maintanence kit with this unit. If bought with the compressor this can extend the warranty out to 4 years! well worth the price.
Part # 165-0320

more
Was this review helpful?
165
Lew H.
Erie, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/29/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Please With Quality
Haven't actually put it to a real test yet but have to say I'm pleased with the quality and workmanship of this unit...
Pros: Features, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy
Lew Recommends This DeWalt Product
Lew Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"Am not sorry having dealt with Air Compressors Direct... nice smooth transaction, and they seem genuinely concerned about my satisfaction. I will deal with them again."
 more
Was this review helpful?
94
Martial B.
Houston, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/5/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
26
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Pleased
Overall, this is the best compressor for the money in this category. Shipping was decently quick and the entire process was easy.

Only complaint was the two really weak and nearly broken pallets the compressor came on. Trying to get that heavy thing off the pallets without toppling the compressor or killing myself was tough. I'd buy again from here though.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price
Cons: Packaging
Martial Recommends This DeWalt Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Jay S.
Brookelandr, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/1/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Jay Smith
Did a lot of reasearch before the purchase. I own a 2-cycle racing outboard engine business, and use die grinders everyday. I relocated my shop. The new owner wanted my old standby compressor left with the sale of the shop so I went shopping for a high CFM compressor the DeWalt fit the bill, and the A rating with the great price sold me.

Ordered it, and within 2 weeks it arrived in great shape, set in place. Wired it up and she fired right up. In the morning, I will go through the first 30... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Durable, Easy To Use, High Quality
Cons: The Electric Hook Up Lugs Were Too Light Duty For The Size Wire I
Jay Recommends This DeWalt Product
Was this review helpful?
53
Bradley K.
Saint James, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/21/15
REVIEWED
APR.
11
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Nice Machine
This compressor is everything I was hoping for. It came when promised, looking good, and works great. I was concerned that it might be loud, but it's noticeably quieter than the smaller unit that it is replacing.
Bradley Recommends This DeWalt Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Bradley,
Thank you for the great review. We sure are proud of our product and are glad you like it as well. Please remember to purchase the Maintenance Kit as this can extend your warranty out to four years when used in accordance with the users manual.

Maint Kit
more
Was this review helpful?
76
Joel
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/14/14
REVIEWED
MAY.
14
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Like It So Far
The drain petcock is difficult, I will be changing it over to a gate valve... it is a little loud but I am putting it outside the shop.
Pros: Price, Fast, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Loud
Joel Recommends This DeWalt Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Joel,
You may find that using anti-vibration pads under the tank's feet will help quiet things down. If it's mounted in a corner, adding sound reducing materials (foam, ceiling tiles, etc.) will help, too.
more
Was this review helpful?
99
Shaun B.
Watertown, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/29/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Compressor
What else needs to be said?

I did get it without a plug for the side hole but got one at Home Depot. Paint marred on the crossmember up top too. But it's an amazing machine, never runs out of air.
Shaun Recommends This DeWalt Product
Was this review helpful?
34
Jose B.
Mcallen, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/22/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Product
It took a month to get here, but it's a good compressor at a very good price
Jose Recommends This DeWalt Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Jose,
thank you for the great review, we are glad you are happy with your purchase! We are working on our lead-times and hope to have that wrapped up shortly. our lead times have decreased and we would like to get the our compressors to you as quickly as possible.

This compressor has a long life and will need to be maintained to ensure trouble free use. Please remember to purchase the maintenance kit to extend your warranty and get the correct filters and oil.

http://www.powerequipmentdirect.com/Industrial-Air-165-0320/p13374.html
more
Was this review helpful?
56
Wade G.
Wisconsin Rapids, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/15/15
REVIEWED
APR.
26
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Compressor, But Difficult To Access Drain
The compressor could have been mounted on a better pallet. Also the drain could be better accessible. Other than that, I like the compressor.
Wade Recommends This DeWalt Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Wade,
Thank you for the valuable feedback! We are looking at ways to make the drain more accessible, possibly extending the feet on the tank. The best solution for draining the condensate is to install an auto-drain as that way there is no need to get down and manually drain.

Autodrain
more
Was this review helpful?
56
Michael B.
Brownsboro, AL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/31/15
REVIEWED
APR.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy
It works so far. It will be a while before I will really use it. Honey dues in front of usage.
Michael Recommends This DeWalt Product
Was this review helpful?
35
Clarence D.
Santa Cruz, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/4/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Significant Upgrade
Operation: Tank bottom drain difficult to operate and brass material poses a potential galvanic corrosion problem with steel tank.

Replaced drain with stainless valve. Followed break-in procedure and purchased start-up kit. Compressor is significant upgrade over old 3HP unit. Recommend.

Shipping: belt guard, box, and pallet damaged. Pallet repair unsafe. Driver skills questionable, and had language difficulty communicating with helper. All safety issues.
Clarence Recommends This DeWalt Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Clarence,
I'm sorry you had issues communicating with your delivery driver, and that your compressor arrived with shipping damage. We will work with our contacts at R&L to improve service in your area.

Please be aware that any changes you make to your unit could affect your Factory Warranty. We would advise any alterations take place after the Factory Warranty period expires.

For those reading this review, we'd like to re-emphasize the advisory we send with your shipping confirmation, and that appears on our Returns Policy page under Damaged Products:
"Do not sign for damaged products. If your product arrives damaged, please (a) REFUSE DELIVERY and (b) Call Us Immediately so we can process the appropriate claims and coordinate an exchange for you."

We want to make sure your compressor arrives in good condition, ready to give you years of dependable service!
more
Was this review helpful?
14
Jerry M.
Omaha, NE
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/4/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Compressor
I run a woodworking shop with two home-built CNC routers and needed an air source that would be able to keep up.

I did a lot of research and found the DeWalt 80 gallon air compressor. We brought it back in the shop, wired it, did the half hour break in period, and it's been a beast ever since.

The extra air ports in the front helps out tremendously when you need that quick air connection without having to string a hose clear across the shop. Plus, regulating the pressure on them is a... more
Jerry Recommends This DeWalt Product
Was this review helpful?
47
Thomas R.
Yale, OK
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/23/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Thanks A Bunch
100% satisfaction, save yourself the trouble of buying retail and moving a 500 pound compressor. Buy direct online from aircompressorsdirect.com - no worries!
Thomas Recommends This DeWalt Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Thomas,
Hope the Compressor serves you well for years to come, thank you for your review!
more
Was this review helpful?
15
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest DeWalt DXCMV5048055 reviews.Compare our DeWalt DXCMV5048055 ratings. Find the DeWalt DXCMV5048055 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct