Search
< Back to Product

DEK CH1 Gas Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Sold Out
 
$1,299.00
(as of 06:37 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
 
$1,258.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$1,369.99
No Sales Tax* (Except CA,GA)
Visit Site
 
$1,280.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
DEK CH1 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (12)
Price (7)
Fast (6)
High Quality (5)
Exceeded Expectations (4)
Cons
Durability (4)
Expensive (2)
Unreliable (2)
Heavy (2)
Low Quality (2)
82% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
29 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Mike K.
Langlois, OR
REVIEWED
APR.
17
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Poor Quality Drive Wheel. 6 Weeks Old. And Useless
This seems solidly built. It's certainly heavy enough. I've used it 4 or 5 times and it eats the scots broom and small limbs that I've cleaned from a tree filled yard in Oregon. However the drive pulley has separated. It peeled apart, looking like a cheap pressed metal assembly.

Given that this is the heart of the beast, you'd think the engineers would have put some beef in it. I'm going to ask for a refund. But suspect I'm stuck with warranty repairs.
Mike Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Jim Nash
Florissant, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/29/13
Total Helpful Votes
77 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
01
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
So Far Not Pleased
The buying experience of this product from Power Equipment Direct was great as they kept me apprised of the purchase and shipment process. The first use of this chipper, it plugged and melted the belt. We changed belts and by the time we had 15hrs of use, the clutch assmbly needed to to replaced as the pulley sheared off leaving it, requiring a new clutch assembly of $115.00.
Cons: Unreliable, Durability, After 15 Hrs Of Use We Just Ordered A New Clutch Assembly And New
Jim Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
774
Mike W.
Reno, NV
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
104 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
09
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Strong Performance, Minor Defects.
I've only ran this machine a couple hours, but I expect many years of dependable service out of this machine. This is my assemble and initial performance review:

Pros:
1) 300lb sturdy shipping crate with wood pallet arrived in good shape.
2) I shoveled 4" to 6" chunks of Oak bark and small chunks of Oak wood into the hopper left over from my firewood splitting and it shredded it into a fine mulch without slowing the motor down but just a bit.
3) The chipper ate a 3"... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Durable, I'd Buy It Again
Mike Recommends This DEK Product
Was this review helpful?
692
John M.
Avon Park, FL
Total Helpful Votes
57 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
10
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Blade Life
We got this chipper thinking it would do what we needed. Wrong! Here in Florida we have lots of Palm trees and it just does not work on them. It will just plug the screen. On the Oak branches the blade dulls after about an hour and major job to change. Also had the belt guard break a couple of times and the main shaft bearing burn out.
Was this review helpful?
573
Philip L.
Laurel, DE
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/22/13
Total Helpful Votes
59 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
15
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Dek 4" Chipper Shredder
In Jan. 2013 I bought a Troy Bilt 3" chipper shredder. It failed in 3 weeks. It lost power and quit and wouldn't restart when it warmed up. Probably due to bad spark. Took it back and exchanged it. The second one blew another Briggs engine. Took it back and got a refund. Would never buy another Briggs engine product.
Bought the DEK and have used it quite happily for a month now. It starts easily and will handle anything that will go in the chute. The big hopper is large and is a straight... more
Was this review helpful?
595
Roy W.
Yorktown, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/31/13
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
61 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
FEB.
14
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Dead Hackberry Trees
Looked at first it would do the job. Then problems started. The unit has major bolt and nut problems. Nuts came off on the the bearing blocks holding the main shaft. Before I could shut the unit down the roll pin on one of the hammer shafts came out and dropping a hammer blade into the mix which was very bad news. Also burned up the drive belt. Then problems with the nuts on the blade bolts. They're a poor grade, threads strip out on them (Made in China is my guess). There parts list online is... more
Pros: Price, Features, Fast
Cons: Durability, Low Quality, Unreliable
Roy Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
534
Paul
Total Helpful Votes
48 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
17
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Dek Chipper
Unit runs and works fine but should have an idler pulley for engaging belt drive. Reason being, if the shredder or chipper tube is loaded and you run out of fuel the unit is jammed.
Otherwise works well.
Was this review helpful?
482
Mike
Reno, CA
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
104 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
SEP.
28
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mike's End Of Season Review
I bought this machine in March. It's 7 months later, and I've chipped and shredded leaves, branches & vines, enough to fill 10 heaping wheelbarrows full of 3/4" mulch.

I am completely satisfied with it's performance. It starts just as easy as when I first bought it and I have not had any real problems. But there are some things to consider:

1. The hopper top opening is 18"x 21" and funnels down to 5"x 6" just above the hog chamber. Because it is only... more
Mike Recommends This DEK Product
Was this review helpful?
351
Susan B.
Salt Lake City, UT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/2/13
Total Helpful Votes
31 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
28
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
A For Order Handling, C For The Product
While I commend Chippers Direct for the shipping and handling of our DEK chipper order and our order was delivered without problems, I think there are aspects in the design, manufacture and packaging of this machine that could be much better.

Our machine came with a major scrape approximately 5 1/4" across from the end of the handle on the side of the chipper funnel for dropping leaves, on the same side as the chipper chute. This suggests a defect in the shipment packaging.

When... more
Was this review helpful?
313
Dale
Total Helpful Votes
27 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
27
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wood Chippin Fools
Even though we could have bought 100 tons of chips, for the price this is perfect for us as we use this machine for making wood chips for our garden. We build up from the soil, not dig into the soil via tilling. We already have manually cleared an acre and chipped up 99.7% of what we have cut down. I had to change a belt my fault and sharpen the both blades once. We have a dump truck load amount already!! Safe as it can be. Simple as it can be. And by God this thing works. Couldn't be... more
Was this review helpful?
273
Jeff
Marlton, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/15/13
Total Helpful Votes
21 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
29
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Dek Ch1 Best Chipper Ever!
I have an acre and a quarter of heavy woods. Lots of trees, branches, and leaves. I read the review and I do believe I bought the best equipment for the job. I am very happy with the performance.
Was this review helpful?
212
Marie P.
College Station, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/24/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
05
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
First Day Mess
Got it out of the box, assembled and put the oil in, filled the gas tank started her up and she purred just fine. After about an hour and a half there was oil all over the bottom of the engine and smoke coming out of the side where the belt is.

Shut her down, checked the oil, and tried to start her back up, this time there was more smoke and sparks started coming out of the side that has the guard and belt. So after the first day, it has to go to a repair shop. Mechanic tells me that the... more
Marie Does Not Recommend This Product
Dale, the Chipper Expert
Product Expert
Marie,
Hello

We are sorry to hear of your issue. This situation would be best addressed by the manufacturer DEK. They maybe able to help expedite the repair process for you. Please contact them at 800-393-0668.

Thank You
more
Was this review helpful?
202
Melvin S.
Farmington, NM
REVIEWED
AUG.
03
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Chipper Hard To Start
This chipper is a beast, it says it can handle up to 4" but that is a bit of a stretch. I ran 2 and 3" branches with no problem at all. I really like the small chips too.

What I don't like is it has been a pain to start. I contacted Dek on Saturday (their manual says they are open 24-7) nope open during the work week but you can leave a message to which they haven't responded.
Pros: Fast
Melvin Recommends This DEK Product
Was this review helpful?
161
Steve S.
Wenatchee, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/19/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
09
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Impressed
I have lots of trees and bushes on my property and it has become more difficult to find the space and time to burn it. So I purchased this chipper, filled with oil and gas. It started right up and made a small pile of mulch out of a very large pile of cuttings, limbs, trees, branches and brush. It was easy to use and I was very impressed. Can't wait to do some more pruning this fall just so I can use this chipper again.
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Store
Steve Recommends This DEK Product
Was this review helpful?
161
Elaine L.
Astoria, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/20/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
17
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Machine Is Great
I had a Toro and it was not worth the money. Within less then two years it burned out went on fire and the company stated it was not used properly. This was a real bull story. This machine is powerful and easy to use. No worries. If you are in need of a cheaper buy this one.
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Durability
Elaine Recommends This DEK Product
Elaine Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast delivery, on time schedule great company to deal with and purchase products."
 more
Was this review helpful?
144
Richard C.
Robbins, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/8/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
03
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Dek Chipper/shredder
I have used this chipper to clear a lot of small trees and bushes and have not had any trouble out of the machine. It runs a lot more quiet than I expected. Have recommended this to several of my friends.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Quiet, Reliable
Richard Recommends This DEK Product
Richard's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I have recommended this site to several of my friends because of the service I received and the reasonable pricing."
 more
Was this review helpful?
91
Juan R. G.
San Antonio, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/21/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
20
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
I have used this machine for a week and it works great. I would recommend this machine to anyone.
Was this review helpful?
102
Stephen
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/9/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
30
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Hard Working
Worked Machine for 3 hours. Put in every type of branch that would fit, no jamming, did not ever have to back off. Real work horse for 3 to 4 inches.
Pros: Exceeded Expectations, Reliable, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Stephen Recommends This DEK Product
Was this review helpful?
81
Richy T.
Millville, NJ
REVIEWED
AUG.
03
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Chipper/shredder Worth Buying
I was looking for a chipper shredder, and every thing I looked at was junk, cheap, big bucks, and low power, then I saw this Stanley machine, and 15 hp, wow. I had a 8 hp c/s a Bolens, it was ok. More power would of been better. I bought the Stanley unit, and let me say.... Now I have a great machine. Thank you Stanley.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price, High Quality
Richy Recommends This DEK Product
Was this review helpful?
1811
Steven Johnson
Kingston, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/7/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
22
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works As Advertised
Works well. Used for 3 hours out of the box with no problems.
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Steven Recommends This DEK Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Melvin S.
Farmington, NM
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/16/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
25
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Machine
Did the trick, have run a lot of branches through it. Only negative was how to figure out the choke, labeling is not clear. Yes I would recommend it, just wear ear muffs, it's loud!
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Fast
Cons: Bad Instructions
Melvin Recommends This DEK Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Cathy P.
Kingsport, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/24/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
04
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It!
Tired of paying for mulch at the nursery, we have so much debris we can use, just need to chop it up. Well this machine is great, it does not disappoint, I can work through the Fall and into some of the winter, making my garden bed ready for spring. Very happy with this investment.
Pros: Easy To Use, Fast, High Quality, Easy To Store
Cons: Heavy
Cathy Recommends This DEK Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Timothy J.
Yakima, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/22/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
13
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Chipper Works Great
This chipper cost a little more that I was willing to pay but it does everything it says it will do with ease. I have only used it about 8 hours with no problems.
Pros: Easy To Use, Fast, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Expensive
Timothy Recommends This DEK Product
Was this review helpful?
62
Donald D.
La Junta, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/8/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
30
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Will It Last
Good and bad. Well made, solid metal, easy to put together. I do worry about the leaves only on the hopper. I put in wood chips elm and small twigs in the hopper. The bag is cheap, the grommets pull away in no time. I took it off after the first run.

Not adjustable for size of chips. It really shreds the wood. Gloves, tools and safety equipment included all incredible cheap. The ear protection snapped at the first cold weather run. The gloves might work for putting on mascara.

Quality... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Easy To Store, 15 Horse Nice
Cons: Durability, Low Quality, The Bag Sucks
Donald Recommends This DEK Product
Was this review helpful?
52
David M.
Wake Forest, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/13/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
03
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Does The Job
Put it together quickly, added fuel and oil and it started right away. It has worked very well.
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality
David Recommends This DEK Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Jay S.
Talbott, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/13/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
27
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Machine. Easy To Use. Couple Of Suggestions.
I bought this chipper to help take care of brush and downed limbs on my new property. It chips up limbs 4 inches in diameter with little slowdown and chips are nice sized to use around the house. The only problem I've had from it is the rubber tabs covering the limb chute have been ripped off one by one as they hang the limb feeding through. I do have 2 suggestions for improvements, though. First, the tow bar- it could stand a little more pitch. When I hook it up to my lawn mower or... more
Jay Recommends This DEK Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Craig D.
Bernville, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/3/15
REVIEWED
APR.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Value
Pro: Runs like a champ!! Gobbles up whatever you can get down the chute.
Cons (2): Narrow wheelbase & chute somewhat restrictive (must prep branches which will not fit down 4" opening)
Craig Recommends This DEK Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Duane G.
Thermopolis, WY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/8/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
06
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Dek Chipper Shredder
This is a excellent product. It does all that I wanted it to do and more. This product was built with pride. I would recommend this product to any one.
Duane Recommends This DEK Product
Was this review helpful?
23
Roy W.
Yorktown, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/31/13
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
61 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JAN.
21
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Dead Hack Berry Trees
Lack of rain over the last 6 years killed around 30 trees on my place. Some were 50 feet tall. The DEK looks like it will do the job as we are still without rain so no burning. South and Central Texas is under a burn ban. Very dry conditions and no outside burning.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Light Weight, Fast
Cons: No Hard Copy On Service And Parts
Roy Recommends This DEK Product
Was this review helpful?
813
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest DEK CH1 reviews.Compare our DEK CH1 ratings. Find the DEK CH1 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct