Search
< Back to Product

Cub Cadet LS27CCHP Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$1,699.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$1,699.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$1,699.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Cub Cadet LS27CCHP Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (5)
Exceeded Expectations (3)
I'd Buy It Again (3)
Quiet (3)
High Quality (3)
Cons
Its Still Brand New (1)
Packaging Could Be Bette... (1)
Packaging (1)
Could Be Faster (1)
Terrible Customer Servic... (1)
80% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
13 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Dale, the Log Splitter Expert
Power Equipment Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
36 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
962 Helpful Votes
Power Equipment Direct Recommended

This splitter has the benefit of Cub Cadet's long history of quality yard tools. It splits a little faster than most units in this category, so over the course of time you will get more work done in the same amount of time.

What we really like about this unit is the built-in log cradles on either side of the beam. Once the wood splits, they keep the pieces on the beam so you can just grab them and stack them without bending over to pick them up.

We also like the diamond-tread steel... more
Dale Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
8420
Darin H.
Columbus, OH
Total Helpful Votes
38 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
APR.
10
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Initial Thoughts After Purchasing A Cub Cadet Log Splitter
Based on the recommendations here, the Cub Cadet was one of the top 3 log splitters.

This weekend I got started working with my new tool, I've been splitting 4 to 8 cords a year by hand and figured my kids could help with a splitter.

The first thing I split was all the knotted, twisted, knarly pieces that I have set aside for years (just not wanting to deal with them by hand). With the splitter running about 80-90% it took care of these with no problem or strain on the engine.
more
Was this review helpful?
380
Syd
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/13/12
Total Helpful Votes
38 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
05
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Purchase
A tornado touched down 1000 feet from the back of our house, which sits in the middle of a hardwood forest (100 footers). We lost 30 trees, many of which simply sheared off 20' above the ground.

There was a big mess of 2' to 4' diameter timber laying around. This is the backdrop for my quick purchase of the Cub Cadet 27-ton log splitter. We're spending weekends slicing up the trunks into wood-stove-length sections, then splitting them up with the Cub Cadet.

I tow the Cub Cadet to... more
Was this review helpful?
384
Michael W.
Mannford, OK
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/12/14
Total Helpful Votes
24 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
28
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Cub Cadet(mtd) Customer Service Rude
Great splitter! Had a minor issue that I contacted Cub Cadet's tech department about. Was treated like a child, very condescending and insulting treatment from 3 levels of their customer service. Ended up paying $200 dollars for a replacement part. I am very pleased with Power Equipment Direct, but, I will never by another Cub Cadet (MTD) product.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Durable, Fast
Cons: Terrible Customer Service From The Manufacturer
Was this review helpful?
243
James W.
Creston, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/8/13
Total Helpful Votes
16 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
11
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy Set Up And Easy To Use - Goes Through Oak Like Butter!
I had procrastinated on getting a log splitter for over two years. After hurting my back splitting wood the old fashioned way with axe and wedges I started my research.

Log Splitters Direct was a great reference. From this site I could assess a wide variety of splitters - even for my limited California CARB requirements. After many nights on Google and other web sites, I chose the Cub Cadet 27 ton horizontal/vertical splitter. I ordered it on Log Splitters Direct and received it via freight... more
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, High Quality
James Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
161
Jim
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/29/13
Total Helpful Votes
17 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
25
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Versatile Splitter
The unit arrived on time, quick to assemble, and we were splitting 24" diameter logs within the first hour. Very good quality, quite, easy to operate, split a pile of old hard wood quickly, and I'm very satisfied.

Get one, you'll be glad you did!
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Fast, I'd Buy It Again
Jim Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
172
Eric P.
Total Helpful Votes
15 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
APR.
02
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Aahhh.... Not That Great
It's now broken for the second time.. The first time it broke I noticed the handled assembly was leaking fluid slightly, and then suddenly the auto return stopped working. I got it fixed with a replacement.

I just broke it out to start splitting this coming years wood, and well, it slowly started leaking, then the auto return stopped, and now it creeps back up very very slowly.

I grease the rail every use, I maintain it to the fullest.. I paid extra for what was supposed to be the... more
Was this review helpful?
153
Jonnathan B.
Bangor, ME
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/10/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
01
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Splitter At A Good Price
I needed a splitter to split about 6 cords a year of mixed hard and soft wood. This splitter cuts through anything without slowing down.
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality
Cons: Could Be Faster
Jonnathan Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
72
Robert B.
Harrisburg, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/3/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
19
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love My Wood
When I purchased this log splitter it was on back order. It took a little over a month till I finally received it. The only negative thing is that they should add a cushion between the high pressure hose and the holder piece. I saw that one of the points on the hex was rubbed almost smooth. I was concerned that I would have a leak or some failure in the near future. That being said, the log splitter worked great. I don't believe I'm going to have any future problems. Yes I recommend.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Packaging, Packaging Could Be Better
Robert Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
72
John
Ellensburg, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/30/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
12
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Powerful And Fast
This LS27CCHP is everything Nick says, and more!! A truly powerful, fast, and well designed piece of equipment. The large 270cc engine can be run at partial throttle and still get great performance. I ordered this splitter and it shipped the next day, a Friday. It was at my house on the following Tuesday, I did the final assembly, and was splitting wood that afternoon. You can't beat Log Splitters Direct.
Pros: Exceeded Expectations
John Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
41
John V.
New Hope, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/20/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
22
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Saves Money
We paid $200 to rent a splitter for one weekend - this one we bought will more than pay for itself within a couple years.
John Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
76
Brian
Indian Harbour Beach, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/15/12
Total Helpful Votes
11 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JAN.
06
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Wood Splitter
This was a Christmas present for my father, to make a long story short, he couldn't be happier. He says it splits would like butter.
Was this review helpful?
1110
Cyrus Lauriat
Boothbay, ME
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/5/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
28
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Grrrrrrrrrrrrreat
Offloaded my splitter from the freight truck and headed home ASAP! Tore apart the packing crate, bolted on the tow bar rolled the splitter out of my truck and to the wood pile!

Added gas, checked the oils, to be safe, pulled the cord, 3 pulls and added logs! Stopped only to remove the pile of split wood that was accumulating around the splitter, kept going.

Great machine so far! Good power, quick action and splits those gnarly oak logs like butter!

PS: I have... more
Pros: Exceeded Expectations, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Price
Cons: Its Still Brand New
Cyrus Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Cyrus's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Awaiting my splitter's arrival seemed like forever!! It was in transit over two weekends! If my first PM was any indication I should get many years of service with proper care and maintenance."
 more
Was this review helpful?
66
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Cub Cadet LS27CCHP reviews.Compare our Cub Cadet LS27CCHP ratings. Find the Cub Cadet LS27CCHP Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct