Search
< Back to Product

Cub Cadet CC148 Gas Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Sold Out
 
$299.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Cub Cadet CC148 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
3.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 5
Pros
Light Weight (8)
Easy To Use (5)
Reliable (4)
Price (4)
Easy To Store (3)
Cons
Unreliable (3)
Durability (2)
Expensive (2)
Low Quality (2)
Packaging (1)
62% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
19 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Paul R.
Frenchville, ME
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
APR.
09
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Junk!
Purchased from Home Depot, worked fine for the first two times I used it. After maybe an hour of use the recoil starter gave out metal fragments ejecting from the front cover.

The recoil to start the unit is of poor design, Had it repaired by a Cub Cadet dealer and after using it a few times, same issue.

I tried to trade it in on another brand tiller but the dealer refused. He was advised to not take these in on trade by the Cub salesmen. less than 10 hours on the tiller.
Pros: Light Weight, Quiet
Cons: Unreliable, Low Quality, Durability, Expensive
Paul Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
20
John F.
Wahoo, NE
REVIEWED
MAR.
17
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Cheap!
Used this tiller for one year. Very finicky at times. Uses a lot of oil. I must pull it backwards to get it to dig well. Brought it out this year and used it for two hours. Suddenly, gas mixed with oil started pouring out of the carburetor. Engine is shot.
John Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Greg D.
Matewan, WV
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Total Helpful Votes
30 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
13
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Junk
Don't waste your money buying this boat anchor! The only thing I'm more disappointed in more than this tiller is the customer service at Tillers Direct. I received my tiller from UPS at 1:04 pm on may 23and put it together a it started on the 4th pull great! That's where it all went south ....QUICKLY! It would only idle and would not take gas when you tried to give it gas it would die. I called Tillers Direct at 1:51pm to tell them about my problem the expert told me it was more than... more
Was this review helpful?
307
David
Soddy Daisy, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/19/13
Total Helpful Votes
17 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
01
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Little Tiller
I recently purchased a tiller from the local hardware store. I took it home and put it together and gave it a try. It seemed to start well and I thought everything was fine. The next morning I took it out to till a small area and it wouldn't start. I noticed oil leaking from somewhere around the motor so I loaded it up and returned it to the store.

I ordered the Cub Cadet and I have used it several times. I love it. It always starts easily and does the job. Can't go wrong with this... more
Was this review helpful?
171
Marianna C.
Kunkletown, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/2/13
Total Helpful Votes
16 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
24
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No Problems
My soil is very rocky, mostly a shale bed. This 'cubby' works great keeping weeds out. I finally have a machine I can EASILY start and does the job with little effort.
Pros: Durable, Features, Easy To Use, Price, Light Weight, Exceeded Expectations, Fast, Reliable, High Quality, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again
Marianna Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
161
E.m.
Golden Valley, AZ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/10/13
Total Helpful Votes
13 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
04
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cub Cadet (6"/12") 29cc 4-cycle Forward Rotating Front Tine Cultivator Review
Thank you Tillers Direct for saving the day. I could not find a single tiller in any of the hardware stores locally. I even drove 30 miles to the next town and couldn't find anything. I went on line to your site and found exactly what I was looking for. I was so excited when my little Cub Cadet arrived delivered to my front door! My husband helped me put it together which took all of 15 minutes and I was off. This is the perfect tiller for the type of project I am doing. Ground prep for a... more
Was this review helpful?
131
Chad R.
Vancouver, WA
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
17
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Poor Starting, And Can't Replace Starting Chord
This tiller is hard to start. Once it's going, it does a reasonable job, but after pulling so many times to start it, the rope broke. I had a hard time getting the end of the chord out so I could tie it back on the handle, and then it didn't recoil easily. There are no instructions with the unit to tell how to replace the chord, and that's one of the things not covered by the warranty. It will go into the next garage sale for $10.00.
Cons: Difficult To Use, Unreliable, Bad Instructions
Chad Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
122
Harold
Gig Harbor, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/5/13
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
01
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
H. Palmer
My Cub Cadet tiller arrived in good shape and was easily assembled. I have used it several times and find it easy to start and it does a fine job in preparing the soil but you must clear any tall grass as the tines are easily wraped. The power has exceded my expectation on this four stroke engine and is simple to handle the 12 inch tilling width in moderate soil. I would definitely recommend this little tiller.
Was this review helpful?
123
Teresa C.
Beaver Dam, KY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/9/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
17
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy To Use
We wanted a tiller we could use after garden was growing. We used it for the first time and it was very easy to use and we were very pleased with it.
Was this review helpful?
91
Butch L.
Lacombe, LA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/31/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
13
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Butch Lemoine
The tiller works fine, well pleased with my purchase.
Was this review helpful?
91
Billy W.
Jonesboro, AR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/29/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
23
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Does Everything Expected
I bought this to break small plots of ground so it would be easier to level them for my business. It starts easy, runs great and works good for what it is. Don't try to till a large garden spot on hard ground, its not heavy enough and isn't designed to replace a bigger machine.
Pros: Light Weight, Easy To Use, Reliable, No Fuel Mixing I Use Non Ethanol Gas In Mine
Billy Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Billy's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Arrived several days before expected."
 more
Was this review helpful?
70
Tony D.
St. Johnsville, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/26/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
26
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Tiller Like No Other
I had wanted a 4 stroke tiller for weeding purposes. So I bought a cc148 from Tillers Direct. I am very pleased with this purchase.
Pros: Light Weight, Reliable, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Tony Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Tony's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"A couple of years ago I bought a Cub Cadet RT65 from Tillers Direct, so when I wanted a light weight weeder I came back to TD. I start with the RT65 and in a week I get out the CC148 and redo the entire garden. This combo works out really well for me due to the massive amount of weed seeds that are left in the ground."
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Rose B.
Tebbetts, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/29/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
20
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Needed A Light Tiller
We have a heavy duty rear-tine tiller. I just needed something for getting rid of the weeds in between rows. I wanted light weight and easy to start. I recommend this tiller for ground that has already been tilled up. I haven't owned it long enough to comment on reliability or durability.
Pros: Light Weight, Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Easy To Start
Rose Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
41
Steve
Tell City, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/18/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
29
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Little Tiller.
I had an Earthquake mini tiller that was hard to start from day one, this Cub starts on the first pull almost every time. Love it !
Pros: Light Weight, Price, Quiet, High Quality
Steve Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
41
Bryan W.
Lawrenceburg, IN
REVIEWED
JUN.
08
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Works Great Very Happy
Started right up, very happy with it.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Light Weight, Reliable
Bryan Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
30
David C.
Havelock, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/28/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
29
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
I Wish I Didn't Have To Write This Review
I bought my Cultivator about 4 months ago, it arrived in a piled heap on my front porch in a box that was open, torn and crushed. I opened it and checked all the parts that were there and there didn't appear to be any damage to the cultivator. I've used it twice, it's very finicky about old gas (old being 1 month) it wouldn't start till I got fresh gas.

Today was my third time using it, knowing it's finicky nature I had went and bought new ethanol free premium fuel for it, it ran fairly... more
Cons: Unreliable, Packaging, Durability, Expensive
David Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
31
James F.
Lithonia, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/31/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
26
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Gardening
This little tiller works good in in the flower bed or in the garden with little or no weeds. It's better than using a hoe. It should have a reverse or something to remove the clogs of grass.
Pros: Light Weight, Easy To Use, Price, Easy To Store
Cons: Low Quality
James Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Bob M.
East Longmeadow, MA
REVIEWED
MAY.
01
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Piece Of Junk
I got this from Home Depot 2 yrs ago for a birthday present.The very first time I used it the rope to start it would not engage,I brought it back to home depot and the maintenance dept fixed it. I watched them do this and it turned out to be a good thing I did because it has happened at least 5 times more.

Which brings me to today May 1st good time to till the garden, right? Wrong. After filling it with fresh fuel and oil I tried to start it for at least 1/2 hr.before it finally... more
Bob Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
10
John C.
Elkton, MD
REVIEWED
APR.
18
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good For A Cultivator
First thing, this is not a tiller it's a cultivator. My background is a shop manager for a landscape company. This machine runs ok it's a 4 stroke so the engines RPMs are lower than a 2 stroke but it still has enough power. The fuel I use is 89 octane. Don't go cheap. All small engines use 89 octane.

Think mine has a problem with the vented cap I can hear a hiss when I open the cap. I might install an echo style vent. If you are buying this as your tiller just have someone ahead of you... more
John Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Cub Cadet CC148 reviews.Compare our Cub Cadet CC148 ratings. Find the Cub Cadet CC148 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct