Search
< Back to Product

Cub Cadet 526SWE Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Sold Out
Cub Cadet 526SWE Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.0 out of 54.0 out of 54.0 out of 54.0 out of 54.0 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (8)
Price (5)
Fast (4)
Features (4)
I'd Buy It Again (3)
Cons
Unknown Durability (2)
Low Quality (2)
Tires (1)
Tires Will Not Accommoda... (1)
Too Light (1)
83% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
24 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Luke D.
Buffalo, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/19/13
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
DEC.
14
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Video Update To My Earlier Review
Hello!

This is an update to my Power Equipment Direct review published December 1, 2013. The video was done December 14 2013.

The Cub continues to work fine. This video is the tail end of the fourth time I have used it, filmed on my daughter's smartphone.

An unexpected bonus is that it uses a lot less gasoline than the 30 year old Toro it replaced. It still has more than half a tank left after 4 uses and the Toro needed a refill about halfway every other job. To be fair we haven't... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Unknown Durability
Luke Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Luke Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Ordering was easy, my contact with customer service was cordial. They were unable to change payment methods for me from check to credit card without a price increase, sigh.... Unit was crated well and arrived without a scratch. Truck company was perfect. Called the day before delivery, arrived on time. I bought lift gate service and they used a pallet jack to park the unit in my garage. No muss, no fuss"
 more
Was this review helpful?
78
Charles K.
Glen Burnie, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/27/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
17
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Out Of The Box Excellence
Got caught without a snow blower right after the largest snowfall ever recorded at BWI airport fell in Jan 2016. Two days of shoveling convinced the neighbor and I to be prepared for the next storm. After some research, both on line and from friends, Cub Cadet was a clear choice. Ordered from SnowBlowersDirect.com and received it in about 5 days.

Unpacked it, attached the shoot, filled it with gas and cranked it over. Started right up and to put it through the motions I hit a couple of... more
Charles Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Charles's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"So far, so good!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Steve
Lindenwood, IL
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
40 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
01
2012
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Experienced Snow Blower User
I had a 1964 Toro single stage that I kept blowing snow for 42 years. It still ran well, but I couldn't get repair parts. (They don't make engines like that anymore!). I retired it in favor of a new MTD 8 HP Tecumseh, 26" which I used for four years before selling it in anticipation of getting a more user friendly unit. The Toro was very solid and the MTD, while not as robust, served the purpose. I just didn't like the position of the chute rotation crank and it was a hand-full to... more
Was this review helpful?
2910
Nate
Bradford, PA
Total Helpful Votes
24 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
24
2012
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
My Mistake, Don't Make The Same One!
I'm not into posting reviews, but I feel like it's my duty. Calling this thing "JUNK" is being nice. The only positive is, it started on the first try. Not quite 3 inches of lake effect snow seemed to be too much for this "277cc bad boy." It barely threw snow the width of the machine. 4-6 feet was the best I could get. It clogged twice within the hour and a piece of the plastic chute broke day1 during assembly.

I bought it over the Ariens, thinking it would be... more
Was this review helpful?
248
Joe R.
Willmar, MN
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
39 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
FEB.
09
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Defective Cub Blower
I purchased a Cub snow blower and as I started the blower up and began blowing snow the belt got toasted and I had no clue why? I took the blower back to Arnolds of Willmar, and it took almost a week to get it back. Again I fired it up and began blowing out several driveways when the blower would not drive forward like it should and I was almost pushing it to get it to move. I took it in the garage and looked it over when I noticed oil coming from what looked like the seals under the motor. The... more
Was this review helpful?
2511
Salty
Total Helpful Votes
16 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
FEB.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Did The Job !
I purchased this in January, and the big storm hit 2/09/13. We had 24-30 inches here in New Hampshire with that storm.

The Cub Cadet proved very worthy, as we did not only our property but many neighbor's as well.

The power steering was remarkable, how did we ever do without it on older blowers? 277cc was very powerful indeed. The large fuel tank was filled once in the morning and lasted all day. It also has meaty tires on it.

I was very pleased.
Was this review helpful?
163
Steve
Lindenwood, IL
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
40 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
06
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Up-date Of An Earlier Review
I rated this snow blower in a previous review with limited actual use. After several snows, the last being 10 inches of very heavy snow, I have to say I am pleasantly surprised at the performance. The engine performed well with sufficient torque and HP to blow the snow 30 ft. My only concerns now are that the handles are too low and the blue skids are problematic. I will recommend this blower overall.
Was this review helpful?
110
D.r.
REVIEWED
SEP.
17
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Third Blower
This is the third blower I have owned over the last 30 years, and the biggest.

This is the first with the chute control up where you don't have to bend down to change the direction of the chute. I have been disabled & retired because I have a very bad lower back. The the ability to change chute direction on the fly with a flick of the hand is a big plus for me.

Every retiree that decides to stay up north in the snow belt should own a blower at least this capable.
Was this review helpful?
90
Mark S.
West Seneca, NY
REVIEWED
JAN.
04
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Drive Belt Problem
I bought this snow blower from Hodgens in Elma, NY. The drive belt fell off the first time using it. It was repaired promptly. The next time the belt fell off they told me I was blowing too much snow at once. The belt just fell off again in my garage. I cant wait to hear what I did wrong this time.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Quiet, Fast
Cons: Low Quality
Mark Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
70
Gary U.
Yorkville, IL
REVIEWED
DEC.
11
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Worst Snow Blower Ever
From day one mine was a pooch. The drive and snow chute are controlled by cables. Mine have never worked right. Called Cub Cadet. Better luck banging my head on a block wall. The cable stretch out and don't work. The snow chute is constantly moving from where I put it and snow is going all over the place. Not sure how these guys review these items, but they sure must have received a different model than I have. Don't buy!!!! You will be sorry!
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable
Gary Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
82
Mark D.
Apple Valley, MN
REVIEWED
FEB.
22
2012
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Updated Review
We've had a very mild winter and yesterday there was maybe 3 inches of the heavier spring type snow. On the plus side the machine just chugs happily away through even this type of snow, with little hiccups or complaints.

However, the distance thrown is greatly reduced to maybe 5-8 feet out, at best. Yes I know it's heavier snow. I was doing some research on the web about increasing distance, and basically it comes down to the amount of space between the impeller and the chute. So I go... more
Was this review helpful?
61
Philip T.
Breckenridge, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/7/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
29
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Blower Of The Year
I bought and tried several different makes and models of blowers now just this winter. The Cub Cadet is by far the best with balance, quiet, quality and the power steering feature-great. I love this blower.
Pros: Durable, Quiet, Light Weight, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: The Only Thing I Would Like Different Is A Higher Speed Reverse
Philip Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Steven
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/7/12
REVIEWED
FEB.
08
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
The snowblower works great. I really like the electric plug-in starter with no battery. The fingertip trigger is great for turning.

The unit is easy to start, run, and operate. It cuts through light and heavy snow- no problems. There was some light assembly when it arrived. Other than that all I have done is add gas.
Was this review helpful?
40
Mark D.
Apple Valley, MN
REVIEWED
DEC.
04
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just Got One Of These About A Month Ago.
Had an old 8 HP Craftsman that lasted 23 years, and was still running, but it needed service and figured I'd be better off with putting that money into a new one, since sooner than later that old Craftsman would be about done.

Anyway, this was a great value overall. So far we've only had light snow, today was more of a better test as we had maybe 3-4 inches of light snow. The 526 works well, one pull start, handles easily with the power steering. Doesn't throw snow as far as the old... more
Was this review helpful?
30
Ed G.
Eden Prairie, MN
REVIEWED
NOV.
16
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Deal
Needed a new blower since my 10 year old Toro was getting a bit worn out and wanted a larger machine given the new house. Spoke to the folks at SBD and they recommended this machine and I am very happy with it. Easy to use and great features and the best part is I saved a couple of hundred bucks and it was delivered right to my house. Would highly recommend this machine if you have a big driveway and live in a place with a lot of snow.
Was this review helpful?
30
Byron M.
Turtle Lake, ND
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/3/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
30
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Snow Blower
I really like it a lot. Works great and turns fast and tight.
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Start Like It A Lot
Byron Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Mike
REVIEWED
DEC.
03
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fantastic
The big engine doesn't bog down, even in the wet snow. The power steering is awesome and requires little effort to steer. I installed heated grip that made it even better.
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Fast, Reliable
Cons: Expensive
Mike Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Luke D.
Buffalo, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/19/13
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
DEC.
01
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Replacement For A 30 Year Old Toro
This machine is used in Buffalo, NY to keep two duplex houses clear of snow. Each house has a 100 foot driveway and they share 200 feet of sidewalk.

I ordered this machine as a replacement after being told that parts were no longer available to keep my 1973 Toro snow blower running.

I chose this machine because of the power steering. As I get older that was a concern. I chose Power Equipment Direct after choosing the machine because I have had good experiences with them in the past.
more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price
Cons: Unknown Durability
Luke Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Luke Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Ordering was easy, my contact with customer service was cordial. They were unable to change payment methods for me from check to credit card without a price increase, sigh.... Unit was crated well and arrived without a scratch. Truck company was perfect. Called the day before delivery, arrived on time. I bought lift gate service and they used a pallet jack to park the unit in my garage. No muss, no fuss."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Greg G.
Wading River, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/10/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
04
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Snow Blower Needed
Northeast storm dropped 32 inches on us here in Long Island. After hand shoveling for 9 hours I decided to buy a snow blower.
Knowing that inventory locally was low or non existing, I jumped on the web to see if I could find one for the next storm.
Snow Blowers Direct had exactilly what I needed in stock and ready for delivery. When it arrived I was pleased with the way it was crated and how easy it was to assemble. I added some fresh gas with stablizer in it and off I went. The snow blower... more
Was this review helpful?
53
G N
REVIEWED
DEC.
28
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
Purchased unit new in November, used it 6 times so far with excellent results in heavy wet snow and of course powder. Have electric start but don't use it because can get blower going with one pull. Love the power steering option and chute controls, unit is economical on gas too. Had Craftsman blower before and this blower out performs it night and day. Let it snow, look forward to using it.
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable, Price, Reliable
G Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Gary S.
Rutland, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/19/14
REVIEWED
MAR.
02
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It's Great For Price
I love it. I should have gotten the heated hand grips.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Fast, Features
Gary Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Garnet
REVIEWED
FEB.
27
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Performer
Machine is too light and coupled with tires that will not accept chains (the chain would slip between the lugs and not be of any benefit) is difficult to operate in snow that is firm.
Pros: Price
Cons: Too Light, Tires, Tires Will Not Accommodate Chains
Garnet Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Philip G.
Enfield, CT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/16/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
07
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Shipping
Ordered on Monday received on Friday.
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, I'd Buy It Again, Fast
Philip Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Philip Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Found product comparison easy and pertinent. Shipped in a reasonable time frame to my driveway. Website made it easy to checkout using Paypal."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Greg M.
Florence, MA
REVIEWED
NOV.
04
2011
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
October Snowstorm
Got my new Cub Cadet one week before the surprise snow storm hit us. 8" of wet, sticky snow that knocked us out of power for two days. The Cub handled it extremely well. It's a lot lighter and with the power steering is much more maneuverable than my previous Lawnboy blower. It also throws the snow much farther and higher. On the negative side, it seems more cheaply made than the Lawnboy which was an all gear drive and lasted me for twenty, rugged New England winters and is still running.... more
Was this review helpful?
11
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Cub Cadet 526SWE reviews.Compare our Cub Cadet 526SWE ratings. Find the Cub Cadet 526SWE Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct