Search
< Back to Product

Cub Cadet ST 100 Gas Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$349.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$349.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
Cub Cadet 25A-262J710 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (12)
Exceeded Expectations (8)
I'd Buy It Again (6)
Price (6)
Reliable (4)
Cons
Bad Instructions (2)
Heavy (1)
Better String Rapping Or... (1)
Rpm's A Little Lowbogged... (1)
Heavy Hard To Push On Ru... (1)
91% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
57 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Marissa, the String Trimmer Expert
Power Equipment Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
34 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
1534 Helpful Votes
Power Equipment Direct Recommended

The Cub Cadet 25A-262J710 is designed to make short work of thick weeds and overgrown areas that a mower would either not be able to handle or would be restricted by the deck.

The Cub Cadet 25A-262J710 is powered by a premium Cub Cadet 159cc autochoke engine let's you tackle the tough stuff without worrying about clogging. This unit is great when you have areas too large to cut with a handheld trimmer.

An adjustable height cutting head allows for easy adjustment from 2-3/8" to... more
Marissa Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
12341
Joy Duncan
Crossville, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/20/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JUN.
13
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Monster Of A Machine
Great starting, first pull out of the box. Strong enough for my yard and woods. I would recommend it.

Two things, open trim at front cuts quick and hard. Practice in a safe area for a while. I would have liked for it to cut a little lower. It does have an adjustment, but higher. I wouldn't let mine go once I used it.
Joy Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Randy P.
Shelby, NE
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/17/16
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
SEP.
04
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
String Trimmers Direct... No Customer Support!
I ordered STD's Cub Cadet ST 100 (22") 159cc Walk Behind String Trimmer. I received it in a timely fashion. FedEx left it on my concrete floor, in my garage (I was not home). The bottom 1/3 of the box was covered in oil. I moved the box to another farm building and sat it down, again on the concrete, to discover it had left oil all over on my garage floor and farm building concrete floor.

Opened the box to discover the 20 oz. container of engine oil had been punctured, which had left... more
Cons: Low Quality, Bad Instructions, Packaging, No Manuals Or Oil
Marissa, the String Trimmer Expert
Product Expert
Randy,
I apologize for the inconvenience. Unfortunately, we do not have access to the exact string that Cub Cadet includes with this trimmer. We sent you compatible string at no charge to replace the soiled string. We have also shipped the oil and manual to you to rectify the situation. You also have the option to clean the strings off, they are still able to be used.

We emailed the manuals to allow for these to be viewed prior to the printed versions we were also sending. As with the trimmer line, we do not carry the exact oil that shipped with the unit. We sent you the same oil with a different label which will not cause a variation in performance. I apologize once again if you feel we or Cub Cadet did not provide adequate assistance as we have taken all proper steps on our end to rectify the situation. I hope your future purchases prove to be more sufficient.
more
Was this review helpful?
21
Leslie H.
Poplarville, MS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/1/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
22
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
So Far So Good
So far so good. The engine starts first pull every time.

The line that come with the trimmer is garbage and wont last you long. There are much better quality trimmer lines out there.

Very happy with our purchase.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Reliable
Leslie Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Keith K.
Crawfordsville, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/12/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Totally Pleased
I rolled it out of the box, unfolded the handle, put the oil and gas in and started it on the second pull. I have already mowed about 2 acres with it and absolutely no problems. Starts on the first pull every time. And what a work saver! So much better than having 20 lbs slung over your shoulder! Highly recommended.
Keith Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Keith's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I ordered it on Thursday night and it was delivered Monday morning! Great job."
 more
Was this review helpful?
62
Cathy T.
Dayton, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/4/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
08
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome
I had trouble finding a truly heavy duty trimmer...but this is it. It has very sturdy parts and works easily on all terrains. We have a acre and a half plus a creek that is dry half of the time.

This trimmer is so sturdy and does great. We have a cub cadet tiller also, and it's so heavy duty also. This brand is so much better than the others.
Cathy Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
42
John C.
Goldsboro, NC
REVIEWED
MAY.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Does What I Need It To Do, Excellent!
Ordered online and received several days early. Needed some way to weed-eat remote areas once every couple of months (old cemetery, around old cabin, rough terrain with rock). Lawn mower was not a good option and my arm/shoulder could not handle a long period with a weed-eater.

This machine is awesome for what I need. Starts quick,very maneuverable. Just completed a mowing with this machine at an old cemetery that was about 20" high of grass and briars. Finished in about an hour that... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Light Weight, Features
John Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Andy H.
Fairview, UT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/24/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
09
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
Received this trimmer less than a week after ordering it. Had never purchased a club cadet machine before, so was depending on the many reviews of other customers. it delivered undamaged and after just a few minutes of positioning the handle and filling engine with oil which comes with machine and putting gas in the tank it was ready to go.

It comes pre loaded with trimmer string and has five sets of precut string as well. (As a side note I purchased separately a spool of commercial grade... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable, Light Weight
Andy Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Preston O.
Salem, OR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/12/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
11
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Works Like A Champ.
Very well designed, straight-forward piece of gear.

Things to note: before starting up, I added oil as the manual says. Since I didn't want to overfill, I added just a bit to start. I checked the dipstick and it looked like I had it topped up. I fired up the rig - started first pull! - and cleared our back yard for about 15 minutes. I rolled the rig around to the front yard to tackle it, but wanted to check the oil again. The dipstick showed nothing, so I added some, checked, kept adding,... more
Preston Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Rick K.
Jacksonville, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/22/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
17
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Is The Real Deal In String Trimmers!
I had a large vacant lot to clear...overgrown with weeds about 3 feet tall. This thing ate thru the mess like it was butter and I was done in three hours. Two neighbors came over to find out what it was they'd never seen one of these before!
Rick Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Rick's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Assembly consisted of putting oil in the engine, gas in the tank and folding the handle into the up position. And yes, it started on the first pull!! Best of all, it's NOT MADE IN CHINA!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Lonnie T.
El Dorado, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/3/16
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
REVIEWED
AUG.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cub Cadet St-100 Starts On First Pull
I received my Cub Cadet ST-100 yesterday and got it ready to go. I was surprised that it started on the first pull and it continues to start on the first pull every time. I had a problem getting the trimmer string attached yesterday and sat down and read the manual.

It was then that I really looked at the drawing on how to attach the string trimmer line and noticed exactly where the line crossed over itself. If I would have read more and followed the directions, there would not have been a... more
Lonnie Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Terry R.
Magnolia, TX
REVIEWED
AUG.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy Peasey
I shopped among the many many walk behind trimmers available, a lot of them costing much more than this Cub Cadet.

I chose the Cadet for it's simplicity and large number of favorable reviews, but the review that made up my mind was the one where a wife wouldn't let her husband touch her Cadet after she used it for the first time.

She had me at "wouldn't let her husband use her Cadet". It started on second pull when first fired up and has been a real performer since then, and my... more
Terry Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Kathy G.
New Philadelphia, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/23/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Husband Likes This Trimmer
So far my husband is very happy with this gift. He says it does a good job, is easy to start and runs well.
Kathy Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Bucky R.
1005 W. Pecan, Midland, TX
REVIEWED
NOV.
05
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far So Good! Just Missing A Wing Nut For The Handle.
Box looked like it had been opened before I got it. Pulled the trimmer out of the box, found stray bolt in bottom of box. After getting the machine put together, I am missing wing nut for one side of handle. Got the bolt but no wing nut. Using the one by itself for now. Put in gas and oil, started on first pull. Impressed! Works like a dream...
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Price, Durable
Bucky Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Bill
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/26/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
31
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
All I Can Say Is "wow"
First off excellent level of service! I ordered the unit on Wednesday morning and it had already shipped out (3) hours later that same day (even though the site indicated 2-5 business days to ship and it was tracked to arrive by COB on Saturday but arrived Friday afternoon. Talk about prompt service! On to the device... a no brainer to "assemble" out of the box (had it from in box to running in under 5 minutes.

Tackled some seriously over grown areas in a culvert area first (I was... more
Bill Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Bill's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I ordered the unit on Wednesday morning and it had already shipped out (3) hours later that same day (even though the site indicated 2-5 business days to ship and it was tracked to arrive by COB on Saturday but arrived Friday afternoon. Talk about prompt service!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Sharon H.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/25/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
08
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Terrific
This is just the thing for cleaning around ponds and branches. Cranks on first pull so far. Very pleased with the purchase.
Sharon Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Fred M.
Brenham, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/8/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
01
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Not Pleased!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Removed from box, assembled, and filled with oil & gas. Started on the second pull. Ran fine & cut some grass. I shut it down and moved it to front yard. Re-started fine cut some grass & speed started dropping. Manual is a joke, internet no help. Will try help line then tear down & fix. I should have repaired my worn out Ariens or bought locally.
Marissa, the String Trimmer Expert
Product Expert
Fred,
I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused. I am unsure of the exact cause and therefore would recommend reaching out to Cub Cadet directly at 1-877-282-8684, as they will be able to troubleshoot over the phone with you. If there are any other issues with the unit, it will be covered under Cub Cadet's warranty for repairs.

Once again, I apologize for these issues and appreciate your cooperation. Have a great day.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Mark R.
Howe, ID
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/29/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Trimmer
I like many, did some research on as many trimmers as possible prior to making a purchase. Fortunately, I was even able to use a competitors trimmer, as I really wanted to see if wheel size was going to be a factor. Thus far, I've put the Cub Cadet trimmer through its paces on three different occasions, each averaging about 4 hours a time and I've been pretty pleased with the performance overall.

First off, the 14" wheel size is a MAJOR factor, particularly in maneuverability over... more
Mark Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
33
Joshua E.
Hensley, AR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/11/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
05
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quick Delivery
Starts easy. More like a brush cutter than a weedeater. Very satisfied. Mowed the backside of my pond leeve in no time.
Joshua Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Brad B.
Belleville, AR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/6/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
30
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It!
Cant live without it works great starts on first pull every time and I've had it for two years now. I've got 4ac off fence line to trim and really saves on my back best power tool i ever bought.
Brad Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Brad's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Bought the trimmer and in 4days fed ex ii in the drive way ."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Gerardo G.
San Antonio, TX
REVIEWED
APR.
09
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Is A Motha' Of A String Trimmer!!!
I bought this only because the hand held weed eater was not doing the job I needed done. So I purchased this and low and behold it eats through everything....I will never go back to the hand-held weed eater!!!
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Price, Durable
Gerardo Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Victoria M.
Litchfield, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/5/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Great Choice!
I was looking to buy a push mower as there are areas on my property that my John Deere lawn tractor just can't get to. Living on a large rural property I have many areas that are over grown. Although I own a very good heavy duty Stihl string trimmer, it's still very difficult to maintain these areas with a hand held trimmer. This Cub Cadet walk behind string trimmer came up in my internet search for mowers and I thought... "yeah... that might be a better option than a push... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Victoria Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Victoria's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I have never seen or used Power Equipment Direct before. The site came up in my Google search for the product I was looking to buy. I chose PED because they provided comprehensive info about the product I was looking to purchase and had many customer reviews for it. The item I purchased was listed as "out of stock" at time of purchase but had an expected in stock date listed and I was OK with waiting for that amount of time. Well.... I purchased this item on a Tuesday, and, as the site stated, expected it to be in stock and delivered within 7-10 days. Within 24 hrs of purchasing this item I received an email from PED saying that my purchase was in stock and shipped! So, I purchased this item online on a Tuesday and FedEx was pulling up my driveway with it two days later on Thursday. I will use PED again for future needs. Exceptional pricing, super fast FREE shipping... it's a no brainer!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
13
Philip D.
Boernetexas, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/3/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Dandy Trimmer
As advertised. Well packed, easily put together. Two pulls and she's purring. Skukum built, a proud addition to our yard care.
Philip Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Philip's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Outstanding."
 more
Was this review helpful?
13
Kateva Rossi
Johnson City, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/18/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Lifesaver
As a single elderly woman, I live on a 15 acre farm. This is, without a doubt, the BEST piece of equipment I have ever purchased to help me keep my place in order. It is easy to push, easy to start, and will take down waist high weeds. I'd recommend this for anyone.
Kateva Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
13
Gerald K.
Lufkin, TX
REVIEWED
JUL.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Does More Than Expected
Use the trimmer several hours cutting high grass, briars, and small brush. It was amazing. Bought because of videos.

Easy to start and good on fuel. Going to try some of the Oregon trimmer lines. Very easy to change line.
Gerald Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
13
Robert P.
Cleveland, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/24/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
29
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Self Propelled.
Does a great job on flat and level ground. Uneven ground not so much. Too hard to push.
Robert Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
03
Mike G.
Camdenton, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/27/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
01
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
Well, luckily for me I got one of the last available Cub Cadet's before they ran out of them and as of this writing there's a 3 week wait. There's a reason for this....this is one really good machine.

After studying the different brands, I noticed that Cub Cadet has a lot of buyers who stand behind the brand. It arrived, as promised, about 48 hours after ordering (free shipping). One thing you need to know about me is that I'm mechanically challenged, so setup is always an issue. I took... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Mike Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Mike's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I wrote in asking for Joe's experience with the Cub Cadet Wheeled trimmer. He quickly responded that it was believed to be a very good machine but that he had not yet actually had a chance to test one. I appreciated his honesty and decided that I would purchase my machine through them. I am very satisfied and, after dealing with Lowe's and Home Depot, this is really the way to go. The only reason that I gave the website 4 stars instead of 5 is that they need to hire some more help so that Joe can get out and try out all the machines!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
6410
Wade
Waco, TX
REVIEWED
SEP.
03
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Beautiful Little Beast!
This is a great trimmer. Not too heavy or difficult to use. The strings that you have to use are pretty thick and cut through a lot. Even though cutting the strings to the proper length can take a few moments, (set yourself up with a bunch beforehand) actually changing the strings is mega easy. 20 seconds. Changing the cutting height of it is pretty easy also.

I got this because a regular hand held trimmer was just too light business for some of the pseudo-brush weeds. But this thing cuts... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Fast, Reliable
Cons: Expensive
Wade Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
330
Karen R.
Grapevine, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/16/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
28
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Research Paid Off
I researched trimmers for three days and read many reviews. I made the right choice. No complaints from shipping to delivery. I use this trimmer on my ranch and it cuts heavy weeds without issue.

The 3 on features is simply because this trimmer does not have lots of unnecessary extras. Just crank it and the trimmer does what it is designed to do.
Karen Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
321
Don And Jeanette H.
Uvalde, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/26/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
08
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love, Love, Love It
I had been bugging my husband for several months to buy this trimmer to trim the six acres we have.

He finally gave in, and the first time I used it I was hooked.

Starts with one pull, knocks down almost anything, and I can handle it easily.
Don Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Don's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"We live in an remote area and Fed Ex call's and we meet them up on the highway."
 more
Was this review helpful?
270
Rosemary
Placitas, NM
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/25/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
16
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect
I cannot handle those heavy hand held gas powered weed wackers. This is perfect. The starter is amazing. I really appreciated not having to find someone to put it together for me.

It's easier to handle than the lawn mower. It does some heavy duty cutting of weeds. Finally able to keep up with what needs to be done where I live.
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again, Durable
Rosemary Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
220
Lloyd J.
Charlotte, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/11/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
07
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy Starting Mower
Got this for my wife to use at our mountain cabin with steep hills and rough terrain. I used it once and then my wife took it over and now it is hers and she won't let me use it again. Having too much fun with it.

One word of caution though, it will sling gravel at a high rate of speed as the gravel hit the glass in a door up on a porch 3 feet off the ground. Getting new glass next week.

The glass shattered and makes for a really neat look. Didn't think it would turn out that way.
Lloyd Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Lloyd's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Ordered the mower and it was on back order and a likely ship date was given, but the mower came before it was to be shipped. Very happy about that."
 more
Was this review helpful?
191
Vern Jackson
Oxford, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/25/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
06
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Machine
Easy to start, runs quieter than the previous model that I had. I have a large yard that has a lot of overgrowth. Didn't have any problems getting it done. I would recommend. Great product so far.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Light Weight, I'd Buy It Again
Vern Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
170
Juanita Kesseru
Pine, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/18/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
08
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Too Heavy For Me
I'm 67 and 5'3", recently moved to an uneven mountain lot. The weed eater took too much time, so I tried this machine.

It is difficult for me to push across the sloped, bumpy terrain. On a flat surface, it would be great.

Now my husband has to do the work I was going to do.
Cons: Heavy Hard To Push On Rugged Terrain
Juanita Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
171
David N.
Strawberry Plains, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/7/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nelsondl
I purchased the trimmer as an experiment, since I had not used a wheeled trimmer before. I have only tried it out for a short time thus far, but I very pleased with the results. My main purpose in buying it was to mow under fence lines on my farm. It will do the job.

Assemby/start-up was a snap.

I have one recommendation for the manufacturer. The diameter of the handle is too small to hold comfortably.
David Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
120
Dennis B.
Parachute, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/15/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
09
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
A Bummer In My Case
What is not said up front is that it should not be run on an over 15% grade. unfortunately for me better than half my property is beyond that.It was a bummer for me.
Was this review helpful?
165
Matthew C.
Keeseville, NY
REVIEWED
JUN.
19
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cub Cadet, Yardman, Troy-bilt Walk Behind Trimmer
I have had three of these units and am very satisfied. I have worn two out. It fits under apple trees, fences and rocky places where I will not take a regular mower. It can hit a rock and not be damaged. Add a plastic/metal shield around trees to prevent girdling of the tree trunks by the string. Use Spiral shaped line .155 dia. for quietest operation (Sears #71-85906, Husqvarna has equal). Loop the line under the tab, run under the the metal loop, pull tight and loop both ends of the line over... more
Matthew Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
100
Larry H.
Columbiaville, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/24/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Little Machine
We have a deep ditch along the road in front of our property that is/was filled with all manner of weeds, but mostly cattails. We have a disc golf course and any disc that went into the ditch was lost for good. After deciding to clear the ditch we searched for a walk behind string trimmer. I read all the reviews I could find and this one did not have a single negative review that I could find.

I was concerned about purchasing it because the engine size is smaller than some that are... more
Larry Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Larry's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I purchased this machine online and it was delivered free on the second day."
 more
Was this review helpful?
100
Camilo C.
Mercedes, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/29/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
20
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Awesome Trimmer
It's an awesome machine!!! But the only thing wrong with it is the strings fall off real quick like and break off when striking a chain link fence!!!! I went through 12 strings given to me when I purchased the trimmer!!! Bought a roll of .155 string trimmer spool from Home Depot, not really working out either!!! I am crossing the strings as I go thru the loop am I doing something wrong!!???
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable, Reliable, High Quality
Cons: Heavy, Bad Instructions, Better String Rapping Or Locking
Camilo Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Marissa, the String Trimmer Expert
Product Expert
Camilo,
You really are not doing anything wrong, the chain link fences are always going to be an issue for just about every trimmer which requires string. There are some options on the market which allow for a blade to be added to these, but it is not usually recommended due to the possible risk of injury and damage it could cause. It would not be something we are going to carry, but you can typically run across these from time to time on some other websites.
more
Was this review helpful?
123
Chuy C.
Mesilla, NM
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/18/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
02
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cub Cadet
I purchased my walk behind string trimmer three weeks ago and have thoroughly enjoyed it. I have had various brands of weed eaters and lawn mowers, but nothing compares to or does the work of my Cub Cadet. It is very efficient, easy to start, and does the same amount of work in a quarter of the time of other weed eaters or lawn mowers. I just hope that it will last me a good three years or more. Thank you!
Chuy Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Chuy's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Outstanding!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
80
Dale M.
Eastpointe, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/26/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My First Experience With A Walk Behind Trimmer
Found the best price here, and it was out of stock when I placed the order. It came in stock quicker then listed and arrived very quickly with free shipping. Out of the box was a breeze, only needed to pull handle into position and tighten. Filled with the supplied oil, and put gas in. Stated on the second pull, and always still starts on the second pull. Very powerful engine and does as it states it will. String is easy to replace and lasts well. I am very satisfied with this machine and would... more
Dale Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Dale's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Will use again for trimmers if needed, as well as other items Very satisfied with this business."
 more
Was this review helpful?
114
James C.
Kerrville, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/23/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
14
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Item Is A Very Good Choice Of String Trimmers.
It is worth the money for quality and was delivered quickly, runs great performs as advertised.
James Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
81
William D.
Stephenville, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/17/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
11
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Happy So Far
Arrival was timely and in good shape. Minor assembly required, good instructions. It does not require the oil/gas mixture and runs well.
William Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
70
Jerry M.
Cottonwood, AZ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/10/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
22
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cub Cadet 22"
Love the machine, shipping kinda slow.
Jerry Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
70
Dwight F.
Andersonville, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/19/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
31
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cub Cadet (22") 159cc Walk Behind String Trimmer
Assembly easy. Started on first pull. Cut great.

Could use larger diameter wheels for easier movement. Could also use longer handle.

Operation by taller individuals requires bending which is tiring over an entire work period. A longer handle would probable compensate for larger diameter wheels.
Dwight Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Bill Colaner
Mico, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/13/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
02
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Uncertain
When I began my shopping for a string trimmer, it was because I just ruined a lawnmower in less than two hours trying to manage the rocky terrain of a new home I'd just purchased in the Texas Hill Country. This trimmer had a total of 17 "5 star" ratings at the time I ordered and was on backorder until June 26th.

I was very excited when it arrived early and in time for Father's day weekend! Once I'd filled the fluids and gave it a pull, it started right up as advertised. I took it... more
Marissa, the String Trimmer Expert
Product Expert
Bill,
Thank you for your honest review of your purchase and your experience with the purchase. That is great advice for future purchases or purchasers, to always check if a service center is near you. Unfortunately, during the season, most repair centers are backlogged and unable to keep up with the number of repairs they receive daily. I am glad that aside from the unit not starting back up, you were satisfied with the unit.

Once again thank you for the review and have a great holiday weekend!
more
Was this review helpful?
104
Marilyn S.
Oswego, NY
REVIEWED
JUN.
18
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It!
My dad bought one of these weeks ago and I used it for the first time last evening. I love it! I'm a 53 year old female and can't wait to get home tonight to use it again.

Takes a little bit of push to get it over some rough terrain but works like a charm. My concern is I am going to make my yard so big it will take a very long time to mow.
Marilyn Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Paul
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/6/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
02
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Very Good Overall
The machine was well packaged and easy to get up and running. The quality appears to be quite good and it started first pull. I found it quite well balanced to use and it cuts soft material quite well.

Have gone through a lot of cutting strings as the small saplings cut off the strings. It didn't maneuver over rotting logs and deep ruts, but did well on flatter terrain.
Paul Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Linda B.
Nashville, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/3/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
24
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Easy Assembly
We received the string trimmer last week, right on time from the date it was ordered.

We have not used it, we had 6 inches of snow at the time. But, it looks exactly as the picture, no problem getting it ready to use.
Linda Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
61
Ted S.
Woodland Park, CO
REVIEWED
SEP.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Trimmer
I bought this based on number of positive reviews. I live in Colorado on a 1 acre lot that has a lot of stumps and rocks. I mow the whole space about twice a year so it gets pretty high 2.5-3 feet high (have to leave the wild flowers until they are done) This machine cuts it all and with ease. I hit stumps and rocks, but no problem now.

The hand held trimmer just wouldn't cut the large stuff very easy. This literally walks through the tall stuff. neighbors borrow it, and it makes... more
Ted Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
62
Jill F.
Haddon Heights, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/27/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worth Every Penny!
We purchased this to help maintain our new horse farms in Virginia. The terrain is rolling. There's a bunch of rocks that prohibit mowing in the areas. The assembly was simple and it started right up. Cut through anything we challenge it with. Well worth it.
Jill Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Jill's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Quick shipping. No issues."
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Romeo H.
San Antonio, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/22/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wizzard Trimmer
I literally tried three other Walk Behind String Trimmers.

Cub Cadet was above and beyond the others as far as handling, effectiveness of cut and ease of use. I would not consider any other model or type!

After adding in the new oil and gasoline it started on the first pull. Awesome!!
Romeo Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Romeo's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Sales Rep was quick and professional!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Daniel C.
West Valley City, UT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/18/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
Started on the first pull right out of the box. Runs great. It had a little trouble with the really thick weed patches, almost needs to have higher rpm's. I don't want to mess with it and void the warranty. My wife used it and loved it, Very easy to use.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Price, Quiet
Cons: Rpm's A Little Lowbogged Down In Thick Weed Patches
Daniel Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Daniel's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very satisfied with the first use, cleared about 1/2 acre and it handled rough terrain great."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
John G.
Berkeley Heights, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/16/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
26
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Height Of Cut Adjustment Problem And String Breakage .
Good news: Trimmer arrived in good condition and was easy to assemble. Started easily. It came with the spindle on the lowest setting making a very noticeable swath when moving from place on the property. I realize now that a clutch would have been an important feature for me, since restarting the machine 5, 6 or more times is difficult with a bad back.

Bad news: Tried to loosen the spindle to raise it and the wing nuts were impossible to loosen even with pliers. Really chewed them up. Had... more
Marissa, the String Trimmer Expert
Product Expert
John,
I am sorry to hear the unit you purchased has not met your needs. There are some drawbacks to all units unfortunately, and with the start and stop multiple times of the unit, a clutch would have made the job a bit easier on your behalf. In terms of line, I am not aware of any trimmer line that would be thicker or that this unit would be able to accept. I appreciate you taking the time to write us the review.
more
Was this review helpful?
42
Wayne C.
Briggs, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/23/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy Wife
Received trimmer, put it together, added oil and gas, cranked it up and turned it over to my wife. She loves it!
We had a larger, heavier trimmer before which beat her down while this one is lighter and easier to handle. Good to see a smile on her dirty face after trimming around about 60 trees, house and 4 outbuildings, and on both side of a fence line about 300 feet long.
Wayne Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Brad K.
Coaldale, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/29/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent!
I received my Cub Cadet walk behind trimmer a day early. From the time I had it out of the box, full of oil and gassed up with 91 octane with Stabil additive, it was the envy of the neighborhood.

I live between the Sangrede Christo mountains in Colorado so there are a lot of rocks. I have been asked on multiple occasions to take care of neighbors' yards because either their bush hog was getting torn up by the rocks or their lawn mowers couldn't handle the 2'+ high grass we have because of... more
Brad Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Brad's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I would definitely recommend them, and will be using MowersDirect.com for purchase of my next Cub Cadet product. Well built machine, well maintained sight, up to date and will not disappoint! As a buyer, do your part and research different machines before purchase. That is what led me to the Cub Cadet product line and away from John Deere lawn equipment. VERY SATISFIED! Am hoping they will replace the plastic wing nut on the handle assembly which will cause me to have to give them a 100% rating!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Mary Nester
Amboy, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/24/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
26
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fabulous!
It's light weight and easy to maneuver and boy does it cut through the tall weeds and brush. Easy on the back too compared to hand held weeders. Plus it starts right up on the first pull. I'm a female, 5'4" and 62 years old and have no trouble using this on my two acres of property.
Mary Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Cub Cadet 25A-262J710 reviews.Compare our Cub Cadet 25A-262J710 ratings. Find the Cub Cadet 25A-262J710 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct