Search
< Back to Product

Cub Cadet SC500HW Gas Self-Propelled Lawn Mowers Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$389.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$389.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$399.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Cub Cadet 12ABD22J710 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 5
Pros
I'd Buy It Again (23)
Easy To Use (18)
High Quality (13)
Price (11)
Exceeded Expectations (9)
Cons
Difficult To Use (2)
Heavy (1)
Instructions Have Requir... (1)
Durability (1)
Not Enough Settings On W... (1)
94% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
98 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Pete W.
Puyallup, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/12/15
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JUL.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Lawnmower
I bought this Cub Cadet to replace a well worn John Deere, and I couldn't be any happier. It always starts on the first pull, and it sure seems to climb our steep front yard well. I had to paint the wheels black to make it go faster or at least look fast.
View Image
Pete Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
32
Katie
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/26/16
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
JUN.
21
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Not Much Lift
After owning a Honda mower that had throttle problems, I decided on the Cub Cadet . I've used it 3 times now, and it has a problem lifting the grass blades to cut them all. I inevitably have to go back over an area. It doesn't matter how slow I walk or how quickly. It doesn't matter if I'm mulching or bagging.

Instead of taking me less time with the self-propelled feature, than my old push mower, it takes me a bit longer because of going back over or having to make the path of the mower,... more
Katie Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Clinton W.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/14/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
07
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Works Great
It keeps up with my fast pace. The rear wheel drive gets caught and stops once in a while when a stick or something gets in the wheel. I also painted the wheels black for added speed and superior neighborhood jealousy.
View Image
Clinton Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
11
Kenneth M.
Philip, SD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/9/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent For My Daughter. Has A Relatively Small But Hilly Yard
Excellent choice for my daughter. Her yard is relatively small but quite hilly. Works perfect in her situation
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Fast, Quiet
Kenneth Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Kenneth's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very good buying experience"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Charles H.
Williamsville, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/12/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Amazing Machine
This purchase is my first experience with Cub Cadet products and with PED. I was concerned how well this lawn mower would start without an engine speed control, manual choke or primer button. I was also very concerned about how well the Variable Speed Self-Propelled Drive System would perform. I imagined hard starting and that I might have to fight the drive system as I maneuvered around the many obstacles I have in my lawn. Despite my concerns however, due to the overwhelming positive... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Charles Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
50
Dena R.
Cedar Rapids, IA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/17/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
13
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Purchase I've Made All Year!
I did a LOT of online and in-person research when making my decision. I would buy this mower again without hesitation. I also really appreciate the Mowers Direct website. It provided all the information I needed, helped me compare mowers and the purchase/delivery experience was flawless. Thank you for the great service!

This mower exceeded my expectations from day one and there are a lot of things I need from a mower. I have two hills, a very bumpy lawn surface, and many trees/flower... more
Dena Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Steve N.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/14/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
08
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Natural Born Hiller
I went from a Honda 3-in-1 self propelled mower to this cub cadet. Nothing against the Honda but it was front wheeled drive and was terrible on my steep inclines (which is really my fault for buying it in the first place). This Cub Cadet takes on hills like a mountain goat.

I put this together and it started on the second pull. I have done about 6 cuts with it so far and still love it. It doesn't mulch as well as the Honda's double blade but it is certainly adequate.
Steve Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Jeff S.
Council Bluffs, IA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/15/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
07
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
10 Stars
As of now we love it, guess im gettin old cuz im excited about how amazing this mower is. Maybe our old one was just that bad.
Jeff Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Philip H.
Jacksonville, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/6/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Machine
I don't generally write reviews about products, but this one I just had to say a few words. I had an old Toro Mower that I have been babying along for the past couple of years. This spring, it finally gave up the ghost. After extensive research I decided on this mower and Boy! am I glad that I did. There is just nothing negative that can be said about it. It arrived as stated, delivery was quick. Set up was easy. Out of the box, add gas and oil, one pull and mow the lawn.

Speaking of the... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, High Quality, Price
Philip Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Dave W.
Chillicothe, OH
REVIEWED
MAY.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Mower Ever
Did a lot of research before buying this mower... first pull every time. Takes a couple of times to get used to it, but it's great for small hills and tough terrain... would definitely buy another one. l got lucky, and mine was on sale. 5 minutes and it's ready to roll..
Dave Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Robert R.
Wayne, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/9/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAR.
31
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome
1st pull right out of the box, when they say 1 pull for three years believe it, I'm 73 and this is the best lawn mower iv ever had, and believe me iv had them all.. LOVE IT, and the quality is superior to any. And the ease and shipping from mowers direct is second to none.. Well deserved &#11088;&#65039;&#11088;&#65039;&#11088;&#65039;&#11088;&#65039;&#11088;&#65039; Rating!!!
Robert Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Robert's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"AWESOME ALL ARROUND ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Garey B.
Mount Joy, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/26/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
31
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Typical Cub Cadet Quality And Features
Purchased this mower as a Fathers Day gift to myself after my previous mower had fallen apart. The motor still ran well, but the adjustable height mechanism had broken several times, the back wheels had fallen off and the self propel had stopped working. I'm not hard on equipment, but after several repairs and some new wheels, which broke a second time, it was time for a replacement.

I chose this unit on the name and price point and could not have made a better choice. It starts on the first... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, Fast, Features
Garey Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Garey's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy buying experience, fast and free shipping, great selection. Who needs anything else?"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Nelson K.
Hanahan, SC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/17/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
11
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Effortless
Needed a new mower after my Toro' s second transmission failed. I had read good things about Cub Cadet and thought I would give them a try. I must say it is the most effortless mower I have ever owned. Time will tell, but it is already an improvement over my Toro, even when it was new.
Nelson Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Salvatore
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/14/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
17
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Incredible!
Granted it has been a long time since I had to mow a lawn, and I'm sure the performance of self propelled lawnmowers has improved over the years, but I must say I am impressed with this machine. I have approximately 3/4 acre ranging from sloped in the front to flat in the back. This cub cadet provides plenty of power and controls that are so intuitive you literally dont have to think about it at all. It handles all the terrain with ease and will mow as fast as you can walk.

I... more
Salvatore Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Ricky H.
Leland, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/27/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
17
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
So Far So Good
ez to assemble, performs well
Ricky Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Judson P.
Cumming, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/25/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
17
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
This mower is nice. I've had it a month or two and mowed about 6 times now I'm guessing. It always cranks up on first try which is awesome. The self propelled "part" (being the handle - not sure what the name of it is) took about 2 minutes to get used to. I was worried because I read a few reviews that said it was a challenge but it's really not. I would highly recommend this mower to anyone.
Judson Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Judson's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great experience. Great information on all different mowers. Will use mowers direct next time for sure."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Daniel M.
Bossier, LA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/25/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower, Terrible Bagging
My Honda quadracut just quit midsummer and I needed a new one. This cub cadet cuts great, never bogs down and is kinda fun to operate. It mulches well also. I am a bagger though and this is one of the worst. It will only fill the bag 1/2 full and the grass seems to stop up in the chute. I mow twice a week so I am talking little bitty pieces of grass also.i would recommend this without hesitation if you are a fan of mulching.
Daniel Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
John H.
Oakridge, OR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/25/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
31
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Mower
I am generally impressed with this mower. It is being used hard and time will tell if it holds up. I have worked as a mechanic and I am very particular when buying a product like this. While I have not owned a large variety of mowers I have worked on quite a few I did not like. I also previously purchased a Cub Cadet riding lawnmower which I like very much. Cub Cadet has done a good job here and I recommend this product.
John Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Larry M.
Parkersburg, WV
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/3/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Had To Have
Shopped for a long time and compared many mowers. When a friend showed his mower to me, I was sold. It was a must have.
Larry Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Larry's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great mower. I love it. Arrived on time and in very good condition and was easy to assemble. The lawn has never looked better. Free shipping and no tax was a big incentive."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Gary R.
Mount Vernon, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/6/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
30
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Mower
Bought this little guy to supplement what the big 54" Cub Cadet Zero Turn Tractor could not do in tight spaces. I've only used it in "bagger" mode...and it's excellent in every way.
Gary Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Gary's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"This little guy starts on the first or second pull every time. It's easy to use and easy to clean. Excellent mower."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Randy S.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/28/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
21
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Mower Is Good
We bought this mower and we like it. The self propelled is a go at your own pace, and the mower starts on the first pull.

Only con is that the bagger doesn't pick up as well as I think it should. Haven't used water spout on top of the deck to clean it yet, but I'm a little old school that water and bearings don't mix
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, High Quality, Reliable
Randy Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Ruth
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/13/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good On Hills
This mower is delightfully low weight. It starts easily every time. And goes up my hills like a trooper. And it definitely uses less gas than my previous Honda.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Light Weight, Reliable
Cons: Wish The Handle Folded Up For Easier Storage
Ruth Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Kenneth L.
Commack, Li, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/22/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Love This Mower
I live on an half acre with a hill and often need to drive up the slope. My old mower needed a lot of help. The Cub Cadet helps me up the hill. It slows down when I slow down. It does not dig up the lawn with the drive wheels. I do not even notice when the bag is getting full because it does not bog down. The blade is very sharp and cuts the lawn evenly at any speed. It always starts on the first pull.

Pay attention to the height position on the front wheels. I keep it on level 3 but a... more
Kenneth Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Karen H.
Pasadena, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/23/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ideal Slope Cutting Mower
When cutting my half-acre property I use a 42" lawn tractor, but have an area along the property front with a slope to steep for the tractor. Purchased this mower specifically for cutting that sloped area and found it to be the ideal tool for the job.

This mowers large wheeled rear drive provides ample traction for it to pull itself along the slope, and the fixed front wheels allow the mower to hold its cut line without turning downhill. Cut height adjustment is quick and smooth.... more
Karen Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Karen's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"Although initial order was delayed do to product being "out of stock", product arrived in good condition and without additional issues."
 more
Was this review helpful?
11
Robin W.
Rosedale, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/28/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
11
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
I am a 58 year old woman and first time lawn mower. My husband became very ill and the lawn service rates became unaffordable. This mower was easy to assemble, just a few bolts to attach.

The self propelled feature works well for uneven terrain. Handle folds down for easy storage. It's not to heavy to maneuver. Very pleased with this purchase.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Light Weight
Robin Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Robin's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Loved the no tax and free shipping I relied on this site to help me make an informed decision."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Robin W.
Rosedale, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/28/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
11
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
I am a 58 year old woman and first time lawn mower. My husband became very ill and the lawn service rates became unaffordable. This mower was easy to assemble, just a few bolts to attach. The self propelled feature works well for uneven terrain. Handle folds down for easy storage. It's not to heavy to maneuver. Very pleased with this purchase.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Light Weight
Robin Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Robin's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Loved the no tax and free shipping I relied on this site to help me make an informed decision."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Gregory C.
Weber City, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/11/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
07
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Works exactly as described. The self-propel feature is very responsive to your walking speed. The mower is a high-quality product.

I have no complaints. Buy it!
Gregory Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Gregory's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Shipped promptly........I highly recommend Mowers Direct."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Kevin
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/23/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
05
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
First Cut
This replaced Toro 20332 self propelled mower. This machine is far superior in every way other than the Toro being a bit more maneuverable and the drive being perhaps a bit more seamless (maybe me just getting used to it). Mower has plenty of power does not bog down and never feels like you are pushing it like the Toro.

Does not bounce around like Toro. It almost feels like it has shocks on it. One nice thing did not expect was the grass slides right out of the catcher without any... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Fast, Quiet
Kevin Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Howard B.
Laytonsville, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/6/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
03
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Starts With One Pull!
After taking the mower out of the box, adding the motor oil (included) and gasoline, it started with just one tug of the starting cord. I've now used it three (3) times and am very pleased with it. The self propelled feature works better than my previous mowers.

I miss the ability to increase the engine speed when cutting very heavy grass (the engine runs at one speed only). Also note that one is not to wash the mower with a garden hose, least you get the paper (automotive style) air... more
Howard Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Howard's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great buying experience. Ordered on-line, received an e-mail acknowledgement almost immediately, then a shipping notice and tracking number. I was pleasently surprised how quickley it came and the box was in perfect condition."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael M.
Ranson, WV
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/1/16
REVIEWED
APR.
29
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Sc500hw
Out of the box, it looked great! I assembled it, then I noticed the front axle assembly was bent. Mowers Direct was very understanding. I didn't want to go through the hassle of returning it, so they sent me a new front axle which went on easily. The mower started on the first pull - I'm happy!
Pros: I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Some Quality Control Issues
Michael Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Michael's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy to deal with."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Lynne N.
Omaha, NE
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/5/16
REVIEWED
APR.
28
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Pretty Nice Mower
Went together easily. Started first time. Like the height adjustment mechanism. Lawn looks really good after it is mowed. The self-propel handle works well, but steering is a little weird until you get the hang of it. Overall happy with this unit.
Lynne Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Dean F.
Fort Calhoun, NE
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/24/16
REVIEWED
APR.
18
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Almost Perfect For My Trimming Needs
I needed a high wheel rear drive for my hilly acreage edge trimming areas. I took a chance on this model because it had the best reviews and cost was not a factor. This mower has started on the FIRST or second pull every time. cuts well. Wheels adjust easily and stay there solidly. I would buy this one again.

If I had to give one "con" It would be the drive system. Its not bad but it is kind of quirky on the elevations and bumpy areas. Just a little jerky with the speed control.... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Reliable, Quiet
Cons: Bad Instructions
Dean Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Dean's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"A little slow to ship but the mower came undamaged. I'll take undamaged over fast every time. All the parts were there. The oil was included separately. The instructions did not match my mower model but I think anyone could figure out how it goes together. The price was better than my big box store. Mowers direct meet my expectations. A nice thing to have happen these days!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert R.
Wayne, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/9/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAR.
31
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awsome!
Love it, Best lawn mower i've ever had. When they say 1st pull for three years, I'm a believer, some slight assembly, and yep you got it 1st pull rite out of the Box, I'm 73 and it's the last one I'll ever need I say it again LOVE IT!
Robert Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Robert's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fastest shipping ever great price and awesome product couldn't be happier...⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Darrell S.
Beaufort, SC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/28/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
"better Quality Mower"
The shipping / packaging needs much improvement! But the mower itself is a "Dandy", as my Father would have said.

At first blush you can see a better quality mower than most all others today. Only mower I have purchased that has started on the very first pull. And all subsequent starts, have also been a one pull, that's all, affair. Almost a treat to mow the lawn.
Darrell Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Gary M.
Port At Lucie, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/19/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
12
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy With This 500hw
I have a thick St Augustine lawn with a steep swale line and the front drive mowers I've been using are like no-drive. This High Wheel rear drive is advertised as a top tough terrain mower and it is just that.

It cuts great, the variable speed is easy to use and it generates all the pull needed and more. The bagging is much better than I'm used to, quick and easy without the wet grass clogging I've been dealing with.

This is a well designed walk behind walk behind that is priced... more
Gary Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Gary's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The company did everything committed"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
John H.
Chesterfield, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/15/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
07
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Nice Mower...
I purchased this mower to handle my 1/4 acre yard. It arrived in perfect condition. Assembly was easy. One of the main chores for this mower was to mulch and bag my leaves. I let the lawn get to overwhelmed with leaves for this mower to be effective. It didn't mulch fine enough, got clogged occasionally, and after mulching the leaves it didn't pick them up very efficiently.

The bag would fill after 2 passes. The mower required it be shut down each time to empty the bag. It does start... more
John Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
John's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"great price, good reviews, quick shipping. no problems at this point."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Sandra J.
Canal Fulton, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/24/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Mower I've Ever Had
I've had lots of mowers. This one by far exceeds any of them!
Sandra Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
01
Thomas C.
Hendersonville, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/15/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Smart Mowing
My wife purchased this mower for me after my previous mower lost its self-propelling capability. She said she did not like seeing how flushed I got after pushing the mower up the side yard incline.

I was apprehensive about ordering an item like this online, but can tell you that is a thing in the past after getting and using this mower!!
This mower starts with the first pull and is ready to work smart saving me much energy. I have found that I use less gas operating this mower and that... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Store
Cons: None
Thomas Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
01
William O.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/20/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent So Far.
The high reviews on this mower are legitimate. I have only had it for a few weeks, but the initial impression is very good. I have a very steeply terraced lawn in the front and back along with some tree root obstacles, and the combo of high rear wheels with rear wheel propulsion makes this mower climb like a mountain goat.

The mower has lots of power, which may be because it is very light in weight, combined with a good motor and proper gearing in the transmission. The drive disengages... more
William Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
William's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The mower price was fair. A few dollars cheaper than brick & mortar stores that didn't have it in stock. It arrived when it was supposed to. I got one update, maybe two, regarding shipping status. I recommend."
 more
Was this review helpful?
01
Rodney H.
Pataskala, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/3/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
17
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Good Mower
I bought this mower after doing allot of research... I had a Toro that lasted 12 years... Went to the store and bought a Troy-Bilt, a nice one, and it was complete crap. Then looked around for the mower I had, which was discontinued. I looked online and saw this one.

My 1st impression when I got it was all the plastic it had, but after a month of wet grass mowing (Ohio weather stinks), it has been great. It blows through grass, even wet grass, and I didn't use bag... the deck wash is very... more
Rodney Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Rodney's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Mowers Direct/Leaf Blower Direct is the one-stop place to buy a mower... great place to shop."
 more
Was this review helpful?
01
Ronald W.
Anderson, SC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/21/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
13
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
How Many Pulls To Start ?
I've used my mower three times.......First time, two pulls to start, one pull after that ! !
It's a reallllly great mower. I'm not a lawn mower expert, so I have limited mower experience, but I have never had a better one.
Ronald Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Ronald's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I really have zero friends, so can only recommend if a stranger asks. But if I have a chance I will recommend the Cub Cadet and Mowers Direct."
 more
Was this review helpful?
01
James W.
Alexandria, LA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/15/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
09
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Started first pull out of box. Wish I had this a long time ago.
James Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
01
Dan
REVIEWED
JUL.
07
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cub Cadet Sc500hw Vs Honda Hrr2169vka
Iím the type of person who researches and researches and researches before making a purchase. Therefore in my search for a lawn mower I did a lot of, you guessed it, research. Based off many online reviews, top ten lists and Consumer Reports and budget, my search ended up at the Honda HRR2169VKA.

I have to say I was impressed at the build quality of this mower. It appeared well built and started on the first pull. However unfortunate, thatís where praises for this mower ended. I had... more
Dan Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
150
Gary H.
East Nassau, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/6/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
27
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Fine For Ideal Conditions
I've used the mower 3 times now and in my opinion there are a few issues with the design of the machine that you may want to consider before making a purchase.

First, and most important, the surface you use to impel the machine is also the steering surface. Not a problem if your yard is smooth, flat and relatively free of obstructions (trees, bushes, ornamental rocks etc).

But if your yard is bumpy you will find that the impeller/steering mechanism bounces and flops around considerably.... more
Gary Does Not Recommend This Mower
Gary's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The only drawback is the lack of a return policy. Don't get me wrong - I'm not complaining, I knew that going in. I took a gamble that I'd like the machine but it didn't work out for me. Had I liked the mower I'd feel like I got a great deal. As it is I am now stuck with a machine that I don't like and that doesn't really meet my needs. So I have to sell it for a loss and a get a new mower. Unfortunately now I don't want to take another chance on getting a mower on line. It's back to bricks and mortar for me."
 more
Was this review helpful?
161
Mak
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/16/14
REVIEWED
MAY.
28
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Machine With Only One Flaws!
This Cub Cadet performs great but has an annoying flaw. The bag seems to clog almost always before the bag is even close to full. All the other features are great and it runs strong and moves with power and ease.
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Fast, High Quality
Cons: Only Con I Would Say Is The Bag Clogs Up Very Easy
Mak Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
150
Garey B.
Mount Joy, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/26/14
REVIEWED
MAY.
30
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Was So Impressed, I Mowed My Lawn Twice!
My previous mower has been a reliable unit, but over the last few years, the self propel has stopped working and most recently, the height adjustment on the front wheels broke for the second time and it just wanted to turn right all the time. After that happened on Memorial Day, I said to myself it was time to replace it. I had entertained the idea of replacing it last year, so I had already compared units and knew the mower I wanted, so shopping around wasn't necessary. A local Big Box Store... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Fast, I'd Buy It Again
Garey Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Garey's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Knowing what I wanted ahead of time made shopping super easy and the free shipping and lower price than anywhere else made the choice a breeze!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
110
Matthew S.
Sandwich, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/1/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
22
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ditches Made Easy
This is by far the best mower that I have ever had. Going over the bumps in the yard is a breeze. The ditches that we have are cut with ease. The larger rear wheels combined with the rear wheel drive pulls straight out of the incline of the ditches.

Steady and true, easy to handle, the cut quality of the Cub Cadet is far superior to any mower. My two boys 14 and 12 even look forward to cutting the grass. Chores made easy
Matthew Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
90
Larry
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/3/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
29
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
If You Can Walk, You Can Mow
Bought this for my sister with a large yard. When I tried it, I was amazed. Starts on first pull. Self propel is amazing. If you can walk, you can mow... As this mower takes near zero effort to push. What I found also as a great bonus is the ability to push and trim from one position just with the self propel, around trees, etc. Will buy another for my daughter!!
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations
Larry Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
90
Pat K.
Marathon, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/8/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
09
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great General Purpose Mower
I bought this mower for use at a lake property my wife and I own. I wanted a mower with the high rear wheels and rear wheel drive. I preferred the Cub Cadet because there is no separate warranty for the engine and the mower components. If I need warranty work I just take it to a Cub Cadet dealer.

The service from Mowers Direct was nothing but phenomenal. I placed the order on a Tuesday just before 5 p.m. and the mower was at my door Thursday at 8 a.m. I found it very easy to assemble... more
Pat Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Pat's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Ordering my mower at 5 p.m. on a Tuesday and receiving it at 8 a.m. less than 2 days later is unbelievable to me. Great buying experience!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
80
Daryl D.
New Britain, CT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/5/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
I'm 52-years-old been mowing with push mowers since I was 10 this is hands down the best mower I have ever used.

Have steep hills and it goes up with no effort amazing. Starts on first pull every time. Mulches with no clumps. Awesome mower, highly recommend.
Daryl Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Daryl's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Best place to buy a mower"
 more
Was this review helpful?
70
Matthew S.
Pensacola, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/12/15
REVIEWED
APR.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine!
I did a lot of research to get the mower I wanted. I chose the Cub Cadet SC500HW because 1) previous experience with Cub products, 2) features that precisely met my needs, 3) mower unit and engine made in the USA, and 4) the numerous positive reviews from other owners.

Price was not a huge issue, as comparable mowers with Honda engines (no Kohler or Briggs for me!) were in the same range.

Similar to another reviewer, the local big box home improvement store had this for $10 more than... more
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, Features, Reliable
Cons: Packaging, Parts Loose Or Lost During Shipping, Insufficient Oil Shipped With Unit
Matthew Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
50
William Lepinske
Ruskin, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/24/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
04
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Mower Out There For The Money
After much research, this mower made by MTD is a super reliable machine, and performs really well!
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Reliable, Great Price Qualitysuper Fast Shipping
Cons: Packing Left Alot To Be Desired Although Not Damaged
William Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
William's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Amazingly enough, the mower arrived with no damage, but the carton was not up to the quality of this machine, but without a doubt, a great purchase. Thank you, P.E.D"
 more
Was this review helpful?
50
Edward R.
Red Oak, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/21/15
REVIEWED
APR.
06
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Buy
I love this machine. Very easy to handle and maneuver. The self-propelled lawnmower makes doing the yard easy.
Edward Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
40
Brian H.
Marietta, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/29/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
I love this mower. It has great power. My lawn was quite overgrown while I was shopping for a new mower, and this mower cut through it like butter. Glad I got this one.
Pros: High Quality, Easy To Use, Fast, Quiet
Brian Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Brian's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast service, my mower arrived two days ahead of the delivery date. Also, the website was easy to navigate. I will definitely buy my next mower from here."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
James B.
Cleveland, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/17/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
20
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
To Early To Give A Review But Seems To Be A Good Mower....
The reason I bought this mower is the power drive set up. It is just like the Lawnboy I have had and used for years. The self drive is activated by pushing the handle forward and it moves the same speed you choose to walk. So, no levers to fold an uncomfortable hold with your hands. It appears to be well made and built. Only used once so time will tell.
James Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
James's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The best place to buy for price and value and fast shipping."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Kenneth L.
Depew, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/11/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
03
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Yes -- And Not So Sure !
Mower arrived in perfect condition and once unboxed, assembly was duck soup. After oil and gas added, mower started with the first pull. Used just twice so far and it is cutting and mulching as advertised. Now for the --not so sure part.The bag capacity is small, so depending on the size of the area your mowing will determine how many trips you make to dump the bag. The handle used to propel the mower forward is a radical departure from the mowers I've ever used. I find a bit awkward to press... more
Kenneth Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
30
Deborah W.
Pollock, LA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/7/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
29
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Light Weight But And Easy To Operate
We have several acres that need mowing and we needed an addition to our riding mower. When I got this mower I was so surprised that it was so easy and safe and cuts beautifully. As a woman, I would recommend it to anyone. The only thing is that it would be nice to have the option of an electric start.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations, Light Weight, High Quality
Deborah Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Deborah's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Sight easy to use, customer service easy to access and answer any questions. Would definitely recommend."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Anthony J.
Jackson, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/13/14
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower!
After reading reviews and researching for the mower with good quality plus value. The mower starts right up, cuts good, and great self propel.
Pros: Durable, Price, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable
Anthony Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Anthony's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I found this sight very helpful. I went back and forth until I came across this website. I got great information for Mowers Direct."
 more
Was this review helpful?
52
Penny S.
Gravois Mills, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/29/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love This Mower!
I love this mower! I have a hilly and rocky yard and it goes right up the hill. Ordering from Mowers Direct made the experience of buying a new mower easy. There were plenty of reviews to read and the ordering process was so easy. I also loved not paying delivery charges and this heavy mower was delivered down multiple stairs to my front door.
Penny Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Don E.
Springfield, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/15/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
27
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Self Propelled Model
I received my mower in the window of time as promised. I have used the mower 4 times now and it does a good job. Using the gear handle is a bit cumbersome, but after the second time mowing my lawn, I'm starting to get the use to it.

When my mower arrived, there were several loose parts in the bow and one of the mounting bolts was lodged in the rear wheel drive shaft. I thought I was going to have to send it back, but after about an hour of work, I was able to dislodge it and extract it from... more
Don Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Joseph C.
Baytown, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/24/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
15
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It !
I purchased it as a back up for my John Deere riding mower. I'm 84 and have arthritis in shoulders & right knee with just under an acre to mow. Lots easier to ride than walk behind but my Cub Cadet does a better looking lawn and really not too hard to operate, especially when it almost always starts on the first pull.
Joseph Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Joseph's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Can't beat the quality, price and free shipping."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Evan W.
Berwyn, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/17/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
08
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Why'd I Wait So Long?!?
For the last year or so, I've been mowing my property with a reel mower. At first, I loved the novelty of it but as mows took longer and longer (anywhere from 3-5 hours, dependent on the heat and number of beers consumed) the fun aspect went away.

I finally had enough and broke down and purchased the Cub Cadet SC500 HW. It always starts on the first pull and gives a nice clean cut. The pace mechanism is pretty nice, although just a touch too fast at full throttle. Now I can get my lawn done... more
Evan Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Ben C.
Omaha, NE
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/26/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easily The Best Mower!
This mower is amazing. Self propelled basically runs itself, all you are doing is guiding it. Big bag but not so big that it is too heavy.
Makes my neighbors jealous.
Ben Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Ben's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"You guys are awesome! You had the best price on the mower I wanted. Free shipping that was super fast. As much as I want this mower to last forever, I fear not because I will be right back with you guys. Thanks alot for a smooth and easy transaction."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Karl W.
Amherst, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/1/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Impressive Value
Had for many years a Snapper mower. I felt the Cadet was a much better value overall and gave it a try. It starts on a half pull, it's quiet and though the adaptive self propelled speed takes a little getting used to it now after a few mows is wonderful and saves me cutting time. The clean mulching action surpasses my Ninja dual blade system of the old Snapper.
Quite simply this Cub Cadet is a wonderful mower, no objections at all!
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Price
Karl Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Karl's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Shipped out instantly! Box was u damaged and mower worked perfectly!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
James L.
Orlando, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/26/15
REVIEWED
APR.
30
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Came A Day Early
Was shipped a day early, so it came a day earlier. Unfortunately FedEx dumped it in my doorway (UPSIDE DOWN). The box was really screwed up and that's why he dumped it and ran. I was keeping my fingers crossed and took pictures before I removed the 1 piece of tape still holding the box top together.

I checked all the parts and assemblies, and other than scratches and scuffs, everything appeared normal. Put it together, oiled and gassed it, and it ran like a top. Other than a bent grass bag... more
James Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
James's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I will be back to Mowers Direct when I need further lawn care items. I'm just fortunate that the Mower was not badly damaged by FedEx's handling."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Michael R.
Greenwell Springs, LA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/21/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
14
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Crazy Fast Shipping! Love The Mower So Far.
First off, thanks to Mowers Direct for crazy fast free shipping and a good price to boot! Also, very smart move having a Google certified Trusted Store. I'm a Google fan and trust them, so in turn trusted this site immediately.

Okay, on to the mower...it's very nice. I've not had a new mower in 10 years and a lot has changed since then. I choose this mower for reputation, reviews, and the self-assist drive. Most of the other mowers seem to have variable speed with no selector, only... more
Pros: High Quality, Price, Features, Durable
Cons: Instructions Have Requirement To Keep Stabil In Every Tank
Michael Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Michael's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great site! Thanks!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
21
John H.
Old Forge, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/12/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
03
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cub Cadet Sc500hw
Simple to assemble. Started on the first pull. Easy height adjustment. Mowing the lawn was a pleasure. Handled the difficult contour of my lawn with ease. I highly recommend this mower. Very happy!
John Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
John's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Very Happy!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
John N.
Akron, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/13/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
17
2014
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Not Pleased.
Just got it. It's assembled and started right up and cuts very nicely. I assumed that you could set the drive bar in one position but it pivots back and forth as you mow. It never feels like you have a firm grip on the machine because your hands and wrists are constantly moving back and forth. I have a lot of pain in my wrists after mowing my small yard. Either I'm doing something wrong with my machine (please tell me) or this machine is not for me. The big black and yellow plastic 'shield'... more
John Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Dennis M.
Youngsville, LA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/27/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
08
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Hmmm What To Say, What To Say
I Love it. Well I love it right now. I've used it 3 times and it's owned up to what has been said, "starts first crank". I love it from the color to the way it's built like the front handle to lift, the rear wheel drive. It actually is enjoyable cutting the yard. Thanks Mower Direct and Cub Cadet. I'll be shopping your way for the next product I need!
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Features, Easy To Store
Dennis Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Jeff A.
Charlotte, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/23/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Mower I've Owned.
My old Toro crapped out and after shopping the box stores I wasn't happy with what I was seeing. I have owned Toro's, Honda's,etc over the years but never a Cub Cadet. Did a little research and decided this was my winner.

When it showed up I had it unpacked and mowing in 30 minutes. It is easily the best mower I have ever owned and am thrilled. Best value of any mower. The box came a little beat up but there wasn't a scratch on it.
Jeff Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Stephen W.
Decatur, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/13/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great!
Easy to assemble, started on second pull. 2 weeks later got it out to cut the grass and it started in the first pull. Effortless to use and I have a hilly yard. Highly recommended.
Stephen Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
James M.
Chicago, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/9/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
31
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cub Cadet
its a great lawn mower. ive been cutting grass for 70 years. its easier than using a pay phone.
James Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Gregg C.
Columbia, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/10/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just A Good Mower!
Bought this mower a couple months ago and pleased with the purchase. Starts in one pull, cuts great, and maneuvers around my yard with ease. The push speed control took a few times to get use to, but is a great feature.

Great choice for the average suburban yard!
Gregg Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Keith L.
Lindale, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/8/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Choice!!!!
I live in an area that has very sandy, soft soil. Pushing a mower in that is like pushing on a beach. I knew I wanted a self propelled mower, and from experience I knew rear wheel was the way to go. I chose this model due to others' reviews, but also for the Honda engine.

First pull starts, etc. What I didn't realize was how much I would appreciate the variable speed. The faster you walk (or slower), the mower adjusts to your pace. Side Note: I would buy from Mowers Direct again before... more
Keith Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Keith's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"As I said above, when I need another mower it will be from Mowers Direct. Easy to navigate website, easy to compare models, easy to purchase, GREAT communication. My mower was back ordered (because it is a very popular model), they told me when it would be shipped and it was. Simple... NO drama!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert G.
Montgomery, AL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/31/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower!
Like most, FedEx doesn't know how to handle a box. Mine was beat all to crap and the "this side up" arrows, that are all over the box? Well, I guess there are some FedEx drivers that cannot read. Mowers Direct had it to my door on the second day!!! Cannot beat that!

Anyways, put it together, added the oil (which is the perfect amount), added fuel, and it fired on the first pull! I had the SC500Z but it was stolen, I didn't like the caster wheels so I ordered this one. My only... more
Robert Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Robert's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Besides the damage to the box, which Mowers Direct has no control over, everything was great! It was on back order, once it was in, I had it the second day! WOW! Wish all companies were this efficient!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert C.
Staten Island, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/6/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
19
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Lawnmower Ever
I read the reviews, but experiencing it for myself was even better. I love this lawnmower. My old one was self-propelled but I had to push it up inclines. Not my Cub Cadet SC500HW (21") 159cc High Wheel Self-proelled. I can't even open it up to full speed because it goes faster than I can keep up with for any length of time. My mowing time was reduced by 30 min. on a normally 1.6 hour lawn. It shipped very fast about 3 days, each to put together and away you go.
Very satisfied.
Robert Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Robert's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very satisfied in all categories. Ships fast, runs fast, and fast to put together. You won't be sorry to have purchased one."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Richard W.
East Palestine, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/20/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Best Mower I Have Ever Owned!!!!!!
Bought this Cub Cadet, Arrived in a couple of days.. Easy to put together.. Was mowing in no time with a one-pull start... I have hills and I am 59 years old... This Mower mows by itself!!!!

A pleasure to operate... I love the controls... Just walk behind ... No more effort and sweating... I can't say enough about this Mower... BUY IT... Worth every penny.
Richard Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
22
David S.
Westminster, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/12/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Like Going From An '85 Taurus To A New Vette
Wow what a mower. Arrived in 3 days. Easy to put together. Only issue I found was that the crankcase still had a lot of oil left in it, so when I added the new bottle the oil level was overfilled. That was not good.

Other than that, the unit is a dream. Easy to start, easy to use (after about 3 times of mowing to get used to the throttle handle). My mowing time has been cut in half and the clippings are so small that after I mulch I don't need to blow around the edges any.

The high... more
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations, Fast
David Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Steve L.
Fairhaven, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/28/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
22
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Cub Cadet Sc500hw
and potential The Cub Cadet was purchased for a property that had been neglected for a number of years. The SC500HW is one of few rear wheel drive mowers with large rear wheels in a price range that met my requirements. The mower has been used for the past month as a pseudo bush hog and has been able to handle 2' + high grass and small brush without an issue.

It also provides a nice even cut on average length grass. One item to note is the SC500 unlike some other brands utilizes a blade... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, Features, Durable
Steve Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael D.
Compton, AR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/30/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Arrived Promptly In Good Condition
I am very pleased with the service for the lawnmower, but I have not had time to set it up, so this story is pretty early in the process.

No complaints about the store or price or delivery. All outstanding.
Michael Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Michael's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great company."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
John C.
Dike, IA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/22/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Experience
Great experience. Great price. Great mower!
John Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Anthony S.
Purcell, OK
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/22/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
14
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
New Cubby!
If this mower holds up like last one and always starts I will be happy time will tell! My last mower still cuts fine just uneven! Tried to remedy this with wheel bushings to no avail
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Price, Light Weight
Cons: Durability
Anthony Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Thomas S.
Lubbock, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/28/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cub Cadet Lawn Mower
This Lawn Mower has met all expectations. The only minor item that I have found was in the shipping carton. The grass bag frame had punched a hole in the right rear wheel liner. (This has no effect on the operation of the unit.) This mower has never started on the first pull, but will start on the second.

This is not a problem for me as my old mower needed 15 to 16 pulls to start. I like the control over forward movement of the drive system. One can go as slow as needed or fast as... more
Thomas Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
11
Michael M.
Downingtown, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/31/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Received our new mower very quickly from Mowers Direct. Easy to assemble out of the box, and started on the first pull. Love the self propel feature. Wide cutting deck and large rear wheels make it easy to navigate my yard. Great product great company.
Michael Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Patrick A.
Seminole, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/7/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
18
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Unit!!!
So far, so good. Not a single problem with this unit! Although I have less than 10 square feet of yard, it runs like a champ. It starts on the first pull. I am completely satisfied with this model.
Patrick Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
William F.
Stanhope, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/28/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Mower Works Like A Champ
The mower is easy to use.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Easy To Store, Durable
William Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
William's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The mower is excellent I opened the box, put the oil and gas in, it started right up, and away I went"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Stephen P.
Rochester, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/26/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
18
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent
great mower
Stephen Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Stephen's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"this is the best self propelled mower I have ever owned, and I've had quite a few. and I love the deck cleaning system works great."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Steven M.
Omaha, NE
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/21/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
12
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Have owned Toro and Honda for past 20 years. This is by far the better machine. Easy start, one pull right out of the box. Mulches like no other, even when taller or thicker grass, doesn't leave that annoying strip that doesn't spread out evenly. the propulsion speed handle takes a mowing or two to get used to, but it really works well.

No regrets.
Steven Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Steven's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"F A S T shipping. Great recommendations about the product. Will definitely buy here again"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Richard B.
Perry, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/1/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cub Cadet Self-propelled Mower
The mower I wanted.
Richard Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Richard's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Ordered mower I wanted, tax free, shipped free. Received in three work days."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
William L.
Acworth, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/1/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
04
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Would Think Again About Buying This One
The day we received it the plastic broke on the marker for 1 that you raise the height of the grass. I know we will not cut it that short but it shouldn't have broke.

Last week when we were cutting the screw came out of the side of the top that hold the yellow plastic to the side rail and of course it was lost in the grass and can not be found. The grass bag does not hold much. We had an old cadet for a long time and it was a lot better than this one, It was made of steel.
William Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
William,
Thank you for the review, I will have our Product Expert call you to see what can be done.
more
Was this review helpful?
11
Roger B.
Broomfield, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/9/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
01
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Exceeds Expectations To This Point
I say to this point, because I've only used it three times. It arrived a day sooner than promised (which was great, because my previous mower had died, and my grass was long...)

It was super simple to get ready, with even the oil provided, and I was mowing within minutes. I like the front-wheel drive and engaging mechanism better than the old John Deere I had, it's easy to start, quiet, easy to set the height, and generally user friendly. We'll see how well it stands up over the coming... more
Roger Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Roger's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Couldn't have been better. Selection, price, speed of delivery, and a great mower."
 more
Was this review helpful?
11
Jeff G.
Alamosa, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/11/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
29
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Stop Shopping!
Stop shopping around, order this mower and make your purchase here! My 2nd Cub Cadet, and it is better than the first! Excellent cutting, even in the thickest of grass. Plenty of power for both the self-propelled feature and the cutting motor. This machine is even reasonably fuel efficient! Mowers Direct has the lowest cost and no shipping fees as well! They quoted that I'd receive my mower in about 7 days, I received it in 4 days! You WILL NOT beat this deal for such quality!
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations, Price, High Quality
Jeff Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Jeff's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Mowers Direct ROCKS!!! I've sent 3 friends to the site!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Charles R.
Wolcott, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/9/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
31
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Quality Cutting Machine
I mow 16 lawns a week.This is the cleanest cut, easiest to use mower I have ever used! The front wheel drive is a little different but very easy too (serious). Thank you Cub Cadet.
Charles Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
11
Donna G.
Turtle Creek, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/29/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
26
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Hubby Volunteers To Mow Lawn!
We bought this as a replacement for a name brand mower that we ended up calling names because of its tempermental attitude. This mower runs circles around the other. It mows our large lot in 30 minutes as opposed to 2 hours previously. It mulches great, the self propelled feature is superior and the hose clean out is great. Would highly recommend it to others.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Store, Takes Slopes Like A Champ
Donna Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Dianne S.
Magnolia, TX
REVIEWED
JUL.
21
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Disappointed
This is actually my first self-propelled mower and I selected Cub Cadet based on reviews, What no one mentioned in the review is that the highest lever setting for the wheels is too short in the Texas heat, especially without decent rain. The grass is baking unless I water it vigorously.

Also, trying to go around curves while propelling the mower forward can be difficult. The biggest plus-easy assembly, and of course, great service at Mowers Direct. So to avoid resetting the pin for the... more
Pros: Fast
Cons: Heavy, Difficult To Use, Not Enough Settings On Wheel Lever
Dianne Does Not Recommend This Mower
Dianne's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast delivery With this model purchased, I wish the height of wheel settings would have been stated. I would have chosen differently."
 more
Was this review helpful?
23
William G.
Bohemia, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/8/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
30
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Club Cadet
Quick delivery, mower runs great.
William Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
01
Nick K.
North Plainfield, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/30/14
REVIEWED
MAY.
12
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Place To Buy A Lawnmower
Needed a new mower. One stop place to browse and contemplate options. My selection arrived just days later - No Need to figure out how to wrestle a large box into my car.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Light Weight, I'd Buy It Again
Nick Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Nick's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Informative and easy to use website, great price, fast delivery."
 more
Was this review helpful?
67
Ronald D.
Athol, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/22/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
04
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Self Propel
Who ever invented the way this mower is engaged to self propel never used a mower. It's like your pushing the mower. I don't think this mower is worth the money and am very disappointed with it.
Pros: Self Propel Sucks
Cons: Difficult To Use, Expensive, Not For Older People
Ronald Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
18
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Cub Cadet 12ABD22J710 reviews.Compare our Cub Cadet 12ABD22J710 ratings. Find the Cub Cadet 12ABD22J710 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct