Your Cart @ Power Equipment Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
< Back to Product

Cub Cadet SC500Z Gas Self-Propelled Lawn Mowers Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$429.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$429.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$449.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Cub Cadet 12ABC62J710 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 5
Pros
Price (7)
Easy To Use (7)
Features (6)
I'd Buy It Again (5)
Light Weight (4)
Cons
Durability (4)
Bad Instructions (3)
Difficult To Use (3)
Unreliable (3)
Low Quality (3)
77% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
62 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Steve H.
Port St Lucie, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/28/15
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
NOV.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Really Liking It...
Have had two opportunities to use the new mower and am impressed with how strong the drive unit performs. No problem going up and down my steep swale. I have to be a little careful driving across the face of the swale but other than that it works great. Very maneuverable, easy to spin around and reverse course. It has reduced mowing time by 10-15 minutes which will make a weekly chore a little less burdensome.
Steve Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Steve's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Mower arrived exactly when promised. Assembly took only about 15 minutes. Mower started on first pull YAH!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Joe P.
Macomb, MI
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
MAY.
01
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Cheap Build
When I first bought this lawn mower I loved it. It was delivered on time and started right up. Problem is it is cheaply built. Too much plastic. I have replaced the side discharge three times and have come to the conclusion that I will just rivet the current one to the mower when it falls off.

The electric starter is plastic and has busted twice. I had to replace the battery after the first season. Now it won't pull or electric start. I am now having to take it to a dealer for the third... more
Pros: Easy To Store
Cons: Durability, Low Quality, Unreliable, Too Much Plastic And Inferior Construction
Joe Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
30
Randy B.
Statesville, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/29/16
REVIEWED
APR.
21
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Mowing A Smallish Yard
The Cadet was relatively easy to assemble. It seems to be working well other than the front swivel wheels do not swivel so easily. We applied some lubricant and it improved, but they are manufactured with quite a bit of play and no grease fittings, so they tend to bind and impede your change of direction.

They would work much better if they were mounted in bearings or bronze sleeves with grease fittings. I thought the whole idea of swivel wheels was to make it easier to turn.
Pros: Price, Quiet, Plre, Prepackaged Engine Oil
Cons: Difficult To Use, Wheels That Don't Swivel
Randy Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Jeff
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/7/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
09
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Ok Mower
I bought this mower for a project because of the swivel front casters. Unfortunately they are very cheaply made and don't swivel easily and bind up. Also the plastic on this mower gives a lot of flex to the chassis not sure if this will be a good thing long term.

I haven't used the mower much since its spring and I just purchased it. The mower is easy to start and cuts nicely. I am just disappointed in how cheaply it is constructed.
Jeff Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Eric N.
Lake Geneva, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/6/16
REVIEWED
APR.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Decent Mower
I bought this mower for a change from the normal Toro's I've bought in the past and the Cub Cadet name. First off, right out of the box I noticed that the front swivel tires didn't seem right when I unlocked them from straight mode. Sure enough the first time I mowed with it, the metal brackets that hold the wheels straight or allow them to swivel would catch the metal swing arms when it was in the swivel mode.

So when I'd try to turn the mower without picking up the mower like you usually... more
Pros: Features, Durable, High Quality
Cons: Bad Quality Control On The Front Swivel Tire Mounts
Eric Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Eric's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I love this website and the quick service! My mower was delivered within 1 day!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Joel R.
Killeen, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/11/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
07
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
In Love With The Swivel Wheels!
Recently started a mowing business and this mower is a life saver! Great speed and power! Cuts my work time down by at least 25%
Joel Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Matt L.
Saint Petersburg, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/22/16
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
REVIEWED
AUG.
05
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
A Decent Choice
Plenty of power, starts easily, muffler aimed to front so quieter than average, turns well on those front wheels. Only small complaint is height of those front wheels isn't easy to change.
Matt Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert G. Senior
Kissimmee, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/13/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cub Cadet Sc500z
Bought an old used worn out unit and used it until motor was too noisy. I read the good and bad comments , but liked the wheels so much that decided to order a new one.

I've used it twice on my 100x150 ft lot in Kissimmee. I first covered the complaint problems listed on the comment sheets and made the main one about the wheels sticking (easily fixed with a hammer) and it works great.

I'm only 86 and hope I live long enough to need a new one.
Robert Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Dennis J.
Hodgenville, KY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/19/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
03
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
This is my first Cub Cadet mower and so far love it. I have a small yard, (1/4 acre), with several tree's and bushes and it works great for maneuvering obstacles. My only complaint is occasionally the front wheels won't pivot completely which makes it difficult to cut straight lines. Plenty of power to rear wheels that don't slip, even in damp grass. I love the variable speed control. The bagger works great and easy to install and remove when emptying.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight, Durable
Dennis Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Kevin S.
Silver Spring, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/30/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nearly Perfect
I had a similar swivel wheel for over 14 years that I liked a lot. When it came time to replace it I bought a feature packed non-swivel wheel, self propelled mower that I grew to hate the first season I had it. I was happy when the drive shaft on the mower broke in the third year of ownership. I knew right then I was going to get another swivel wheel mower.

This mower is even better than the first one I had. It starts first pull every time. It is effortless to use. It has plenty of power... more
Kevin Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Kevin's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Buying from Mowers Direct was a good online purchasing experience. Their price was very good and the delivery was fast."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Mark M.
Yucaipa, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/16/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
08
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Its Not A Toro
Replaced my Toro with this mower. Have used three times now, the caster wheels take some getting used to, but I think I like them. Engine bogs down in tall grass.

The grass bag is kind of small, and a lot of clippings accumulate on the mower instead of going into the bag. A pretty good mower overall, but I miss my old Toro.
Cons: Handle Doesn't Fold For Storage
Mark Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Mark's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"My only gripe was that it came a day later than the web site promised."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Tom S.
Warner Robins, GA
REVIEWED
JUL.
07
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Not My Mower
My Mower is disconued, probably for a good reason. I bought the 21 " mower without the front swivel wheels.. Worked for almost 3 years and then I noticed a drive wheel was cracked, backordered for almost a month waiting for a wheel, got it back and it had no drive.. took it back to the Cub Cadet shop and they replaced the drive belt, the next week the gas cap disappeared it fell through the fairing.

The gas tank fell off, both brackets were broken, Cub replaced.. the next cutting I... more
Tom Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Lawrence K.
Englewood, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/6/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cub Cadet Mower
I like the swivel wheels. I am replacing a MTD swivel wheel mower
Lawrence Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Curtis W.
Gretna, NE
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/25/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love My Mower.....
I have two houses I like to keep my yards up. And I like to mulch my yards , and it does that very very well and the swivel wheels are great to get around things plenty of horse power, the drive is much nicer than the older model ,takes a little getting use to but it's great .Buy one it's a nice rig.O ya starts first pull every time.
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Reliable
Cons: Heavy
Curtis Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Curtis's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast shipping."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Willy Y.
Island City, OR
REVIEWED
JUN.
14
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Island City, Or. Willy Young
I have same issue as Paul, the bag is poorly designed and won't even fill half way before it starts blowing grass out the bottom of the deck... When removing bag there is two or three.

Handfuls of grass that needed to be scooped up, very poor bagging. Just view a side profile of the mower with bag attached and anyone can see the bag is designed poorly. I have 1-2 hrs on mine and am trying to return it to PioneerWest. Also moves too fast in slow speed.
Willy Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Cory H.
Eau Claire, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/20/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
13
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Mower
I like front casters. I have a lot of gardens, trees, shrubs etc to mow around and these make it easier. Starts easy enough, usually first pull. The self propelled mechanism takes a little getting used to, but I can mow easily with one hand. Good power from the engine.

The only negative is the design of the fuel tank. My last mower I could mow my yard twice before needing to refuel. Due to the angle of the fill neck on the tank you can't fill it completely. I have to put fuel in 2-3 times... more
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Features
Cons: Small Fuel Tank
Cory Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Cory's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I was Leary about buying a mower online. I called with some questions and the representative was very polite and knowledgeable. Shipping only took 2 days and was free! Good value as I'm sure shipping a mower can't be super cheap."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert D.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/14/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It
The swivel wheels help with maneuverability. The self-propel will go at your pace... Stops when you do and goes fast when you want to. We will see how it does long term in Florida, but so far so good.
Robert Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Brenda A.
Deep Gap, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/10/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower!!
This Cub Cadet is a great mower, easy to handle, easy to maneuver and it cuts great as well. I'll admit I am a little disappointed with the front swivel wheels, they don't want to straighten back out after making a turn. So I keep them locked in the strait position and it works just fine.
Brenda Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Clifford S.
Calabash, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/4/16
REVIEWED
APR.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Mower
Arrived on time, very easy to assemble, started on first pull.
Clifford Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Denise S.
Montgomery, AL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/10/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cub Cadet Mower
We purchased this mower and are waiting to use it. The person across the street has one and he loves it. We had a JD mower like this one, and my wife loved it. Can't wait to use it!
Denise Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Bennett D.
Carencro, LA
REVIEWED
MAR.
03
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
1 Year Old Mower
Just wanted to share my experience with the cub cadet service. I bought the mower a year ago, everything worked fine. I only burn no ethanol fuel ( as per the manual ). My machine is garage kept and we'll maintained. After 2 months of no use. I could not get it to start (pull rope not electric ). I contacted cub cadet and followed the prompts and was able to speak to a very nice gentleman who assured me he would take care of this issue. After verifying the model and serial number he proceeded... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, Caster Wheels And Progressive Drive
Cons: Durability, Unreliable, Expensive, Terrible Customer Service And Support
Bennett Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
12
James B.
Montgomery, AL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/18/16
REVIEWED
APR.
08
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Cu Cadet Sc500z
I have an old cub cadet model 997 for more than 11 years and it still operates well after slow to get a first start. It's the best mower I have owned in forty-five plus years. I hope this mower does as well. I love my cub cadet.
James Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
02
Michael L.
Galloway, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/21/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
13
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
We Shall See
I didn't open the mower box immediately upon delivery but waited a week or 2 when I was ready to work on equipment. I was very disappointed to see that the packet of oil was sliced open and its contents were leaked all over mower, owners manual, and everything else inside the box. The assembly was cake. I do have concerns about the strength of the handle though. Seems flimsy. Rest of mower seems top notch.
Michael Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
25
Wayne S.
Littleton, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/7/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
12
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Smoothest Mower Ever
Third Cub Cadet for me. Not that they don't last I'm really old and my son always used them for summer jobs. If this holds up as well as the last two then everyone should have one. I've only used it about 10 times so getting to the 500 level like previous mowers will take awhile. The only goofy thing is changing the oil. Drain plug sits in a place that says it's going to be a messy job. Other than that it's hard to believe how smooth the self propelled is and it has plenty of power for the... more
Wayne Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
264
John J.
Longwood, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/2/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
27
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Caster Wheels Help With Turns
My lawn is sandy in ares and having caster wheels helps make turns. My old Toro would bog down and was hard to turn in sandy lawns.
Pros: Features, Price, I'd Buy It Again, Caster Wheel Make It Easier To Mow
Cons: Front Wheel Height Adjustment Very Time Consuming
John Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
80
Steven
REVIEWED
MAY.
27
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
I've used this mower for 6 mowings now and it works great. I got the electric start option, which I highly recommend. You press a button and the mower fires right up, every time. Your Granny could start the engine with this mower.

It is about 50 dollars more, but totally worth it. The cut is very nice. I mulch everything and have cut foot tall grass with no problems. Even wet grass at 8 inches was no problem. The power to pull itself uphill is plenty. I have a pretty step hill to... more
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Quiet, Price
Steven Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Steven's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Shipped very fast and intact."
 more
Was this review helpful?
102
Rob W.
Fallsington, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/19/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
11
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Came Damaged But Runs Good
I think the delivery company through it on my porch as the front left wheel solid steel rod was bent took wheel off straightened it the best I could then went to hardware store and got a lock washer ....you guys should send me a new front wheel with the attached steel rod ....I bumped the side discharge cover on the fence cost while cutting the edge of yard totally my fault but the side discharge cove ripped totally off real cheaply connected so I am going to have to order that also .....the... more
Rob Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Rob,
We would be happy to have a new wheel assembly sent out to you. If you have any further questions or need anything else, please let us know.
more
Was this review helpful?
70
Jason R.
Shoshone, ID
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/17/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
08
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Mower
Switched from a Toro front wheel drive. Big improvement over the front wheel drive. The self paced drive is a little difficult to get used to, mostly because our lawn isn't smooth and level but I do like the mower and really like the caster wheels.
Jason Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Jason's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Quick delivery. Packaging arrived with no damage and in from the factory packaging. Beat the box store pricing by $50!!!!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
81
Danny C.
Angleton, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/5/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
04
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
This Mower
It blows blue/grey smoke every time it starts. To light in front end pops up over the slightest bump. In less than 30 days in use the under side mower deck paint is peeling and the welds are flaking with rust. The yellow engine cover was not installed correctly and vibrated severely, pulled emblem back and installed correctly. Great idea with swivel wheels just poorly assembled and mass manufactured.
Danny Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Danny,
Danny,

Please give us a call and we would be happy to assist you with the issues you are having. When it comes to the engine blowing blue/gray smoke, this is typically attributed to the air filter possibly having oil on it. This can be as simple as just changing the air filter. Please give us a call and we can assist. At the very least send you out a new filter.
more
Was this review helpful?
125
Charles D.
Columbia, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/24/15
REVIEWED
APR.
20
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Very Satisfied.
This mower has done a great job for me so far. The self-propel function at the rear wheels is great you just rotate the top handle forward a bit and the wheels engage. It starts on the first pull. Auto-adjusting choke. It mulches, bags, or side-discharges.

I've used it for about a month now (4 mows) and it has been working great. I'm pleased with the purchase.
Charles Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
60
Tom C.
Brick, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/12/14
REVIEWED
MAY.
29
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Better Than I Thought
I want to amend my original review-I have used the mower five times now and I must say that it mulches as well as if not better than mowers costing 2x's the price. You get used to the machine after a few mows and it is very easily maneuvered. The cut is excellent. The instructions, the lack of identified mowing heights, and lack of quality stand. Bottom line is I would now recommend this mower if you want a light machine, mulch and have a lot trees etc. to mow around.
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Fast
Cons: Low Quality, Bad Instructions, Durability
Tom Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
60
Scott G.
Us, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/20/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
12
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome
I have had quite a few mowers and this one is by far the best, no clippings left behind, starts on the first pull every time, even the first pull out of the box, love the swivel wheels to, great mover!
Scott Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Scott's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very easy to deal with, supper fast shipping, had like the next day."
 more
Was this review helpful?
50
David C.
Kearney, NE
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/3/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
24
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
This mower is everything I expected to be. Works great, love the caster wheels for easy turn around and the three-in-one. For easy use from mulch to bagging or regular mowing. I recommend this to anybody that is looking for a new mower.
David Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
David's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very pleasant, the personnel was very knowledgeable and answered all my questions."
 more
Was this review helpful?
50
Brian Slocum
Depew, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/27/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
08
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Took me a few minutes to get used to the front wheel system, but now that I have, it saves me time when mowing the lawn. I would recommend it for sure!!
Brian Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Brian's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Cheaper than Home Depot, and fast free delivery!!! Awesome!!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
50
Michael P.
Chesterfield, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/16/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
08
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excelent
Excellent except one defect. if you will. The pull line gets hooked on the bag prongs when you try and remove it. Otherwise, it's okay!
Michael Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
40
Donald G.
Tampa, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/29/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
20
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy To Use Mower
This mower is very easy to use. It starts on the first pull every time. The rear drive wheels work on uneven ground and the 0 turn front wheels make it easy to mow along curves and trees.

There is plenty of power to cut thick St Augustine lawns and mulch without picking up clippings. The best mower I have owned and I am 68 years old.
Donald Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
30
Howard G.
Jacksonville, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/16/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Filled The Bill
This was my 4th Cub Cadet mower. That kind of says it all. The engine can't be beat - best in the industry. With this model, the front swivel wheels make it easier to negotiate tight turns and mowing tighter around trees, etc. I'll be back to Cub Cadet with any future equipment needs.
Howard Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Howard's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast free shipping"
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Steven M.
Cibolo, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/20/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Product
I recently started my own mowing company and the cub cadet has really performed well! I was a bit skeptical of the "start in one to two tries" but without fail it started on the very first try! Very impressive. It comes with a oil canister so all you have to do is add gas. No oil and gas mix which is nice. I think I'm going to stick with cub cadet from now on. Next step is a zero turn!
Steven Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Steven's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Mower came in on time. The only thing that had me worried was that the box was extremely beat up! It may have been the carrier and not mowers direct but in any case the cub cadet is definitely tough and durable! Another thing I had an issue with was that FedEx just left the package sitting at the end of the driveway like it was trash!! I was pretty upset about that but luckily I was home to get it right away. He didn't even knock on the door."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Curtis W.
Omaha, NE
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/25/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy Cub Owner
Very happy with new Cub Cadet. This is my 2nd Cub Cadet with swivel wheels. My 1st one ran 13 years then the drive went out. I like this new drive with the walking speed. Starts 1st pull every time. It seems to be lighter & very easy to use.
Curtis Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
David B.
Mobile, AL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/28/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Help With Blowing Grass!
I really like my new Cub Cadet self-propelled walk-behind. The only problem I have with this mower is the grass, as you are cutting the grass it blows all around the bagger so now I have to use dust masks in order not to be chewing the grass clippings . Any suggestions on how to fix this little bitty problem?
David Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Steve W.
Media, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/6/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
30
2014
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Lousy Lawnmower
This Cub Cadet mower is poorly designed and does an awful job cutting the grass. The swivel wheel feature is ideal for my lawn, however this mower was an extremely regrettable choice.

As many other reviews mention, adjusting the front wheel height is a chore. This inconvenience is hardly the most annoying feature. The mower is grossly under powered and struggles with week-high growth of grass.

The drive system is also lousy, providing too much power at low speeds (cutting around... more
Steve Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Steve,
We're sorry you feel this way. The Cub Cadet SC500Z is a highly rated mower with very good customer reviews.

If you're unhappy with the performance or the build, this mower does come with a 3-year consumer warranty. Give Cub Cadet a call at (877) 428-2349.

For further assistance, or if you have any questions, feel free to call us toll free at (800) 837-8247.
more
Was this review helpful?
75
Brad G.
Oberlin, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/16/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
02
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Like It
Its all GOOD, I like the swivel wheels.
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Durable, Exceeded Expectations
Brad Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Greg M.
North Olmsted, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/28/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
19
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
I had this mower with a different brand label (Yardman) which I purchased in 1999. Always ran well and I like the caster front wheels. After 15 years, the drive assembly wore out and I figured it would be more expensive to fix than it was worth. So I donated it to the local community college horticulture program and was delighted to find it was still being manufactured under the Cub Cadet label. Ordered it on a Monday and had it waiting in the driveway on Wednesday! Set up was easy and it... more
Greg Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Greg's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Ordered on Monday, had it on Wednesday! Can't get better service than that!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Ernest H.
Islip, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/21/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
11
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Need Light Weight Mower Because Partial Handicap
Needed a small swivel wheel mower for my yard and Cub Cadet was the right choice. Easy start and speed control is good, just took a few minutes to adjust to it.
Ernest Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Harold
Revillo, SD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/11/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
02
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Country Living
Very easy to put together and does a great job of mowing. A reverse especially and throttle would be nice feature to add. It always starts for me on the second pull but, sounds like it's ready to depart for the moon. That and no reverse are really the only two things I don't like about the mower. Is it worth the money and would I recommend it to a friend? I would have to say yes because if you have trees to mow around, you can't beat those swivel front wheels.
Pros: Price, Light Weight, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Harold Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Robert G.
Montgomery, AL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/9/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Bought this aprilish of last year(2014). Shipping company beat the crap outta the box but the mower was ok. Easy to assemble. Oil was in the box and was just enough to fill crankcase. Added fuel and it fired on the first pull! the year of use i got out of it (it was stolen out of my garage, along with my pressure washer about a week ago) i had no problems.

Always fired on the first or second pull. Even after sitting all winter. (i do use sta-bil fuel which helps keep the fuel fresh and... more
Robert Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Robert's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very fast to ship! Shipping company needs to learn to handle boxes with a little more respect. Even with the box beat to hell, their was no damage on the mower."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Daniel J.
Mulberry, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/21/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
18
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cub Cadet Sc500z
Before I purchased this mower, I was mowing (for two seasons) my 1/2 acre lawn with a walk- behind weed eater. My lawn is primarily pasture grass with many plants and trees. The surface is quite rough and much of it is sloped (approximately 5 degrees on avg.) due to having a septic system/drain field and 150 feet of ditches.

It was pretty hard to maintain a straight line with the weed eater on these sloping areas and I was concerned that it might be the case with the swiveling front... more
Daniel Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Daniel's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Website is well laid out and they had a very good selection available. I made my selection, checked out, and received my mower (free shipping) in a few days."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Jack B.
Montevallo, AL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/23/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cub Cadet Sc500z
Was looking for a mower with a better self propel drive than my old Toro mower. This one fit the bill and so far I'm pleased with it's performance. Lighter, goes faster, turns easier and mows well. Would recommend this to a friend.
Jack Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Robert M.
Pembroke, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/20/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
18
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mower
Love it. Easy to use.
Robert Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
21
David C.
Lees Summit, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/10/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cub Cadet Self-propelled
Love the mower, doesn't take any time to mow the lawn, and I love the feature of attaching the hose for cleaning.
David Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Terry
Parker, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/26/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
30
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower At A Great Price!
I have had this mower for two months. The drive is better than those on mowers that cost considerably more. It starts on the first pull and it recycles very well, even in tall grass. This mower exceeded my expectations.
Terry Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Leonard K.
Accokeek, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/6/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
27
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Not The Power I Thought
I'm having problems with it pulling. I changed the settings and it pulls a little better but I plan on taking it to a mechanic to have it checked.
Leonard Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Leonard,
Leonard,

If you need any assistance in either locating a servicing dealer or assistance otherwise, please feel free to give us a call.
more
Was this review helpful?
21
Dennis G.
Clermont, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/26/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
17
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Mower
We wanted an easier way to cut our grass, but don't have enough yard to justify a riding mower. We have lots of curved flowerbeds, trees and concrete. Having to stop and lift the front end of our old mower got really tiring. This Cub Cadet has swivel front wheels that make it all that much easier to deal with.

My only complaint is that I wish it came with larger diameter tires. It has 7" in front and 8" in back. We have a really thick lawn and the mower really could have used... more
Dennis Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Ruth M.
Eagle River, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/18/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
11
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Recreation Crew Loves It
Great tool for mowing around signs in the campgrounds. The boss said he wants to get one for himself for home.
Ruth Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Ruth's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great prices"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
La
REVIEWED
JUL.
18
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
One Hand Driving
Weight distribution -- only with rear wheel drive -- and front swivels make for much easier one hand mowing. 15 years ago back problems forced a choice: lawn service or an easy to use machine. Evenest cut when set high which also means less watering. Down sizing to smaller yard for more time for water sports and skydiving.
La Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Was this review helpful?
21
Billy T.
Spring, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/4/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It
So... I've had this mower for about 6 months now and have to use it once a week. I LOVE IT!! It has cut my mowing time in half, starts on the first pull, great speed control and the zero-turn has me much less spent after the mow. Would HIGHLY recommend this mower.
Billy Recommends This Cub Cadet Mower
Billy's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I compared mowers and sites for weeks before deciding to get this mower (and get it from this website). Found this site to have the best price. Shipping was surprisingly fast. I'm extremely satisfied. Add to Favorites ..."
 more
Was this review helpful?
11
Thomas B.
Deer Park, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/22/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
24
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
So Far, So Good
So far, my Cub Cadet has performed well. The only disappointment is I found out too late that the engine was made in China.

My experience with Mowers Direct was exceptional. Delivery was less than a week.
Thomas Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
13
Tom C.
Brick, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/12/14
REVIEWED
MAY.
22
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Ok Not Great
Mower requires assembly even with bag-parts and whole mower seems cheaply put together. Plastic ties for cables-the wheels do not have heights nor do manuals. The wheels also appear off with respect to height adjustment they appear even with fronts set one higher than rear. On plus side, front wheels allow easy turns and the mower is light-starts readily on 2nd pull-drive system feels cumbersome but it may just require additional times using it.
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight
Cons: Low Quality, Bad Instructions, Durability
Tom Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
810
Joe P.
Macomb, MI
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAY.
22
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Great Mower But Shameful Side Discharge Cover.
I purchased this lawnmower about this time last year. Loved it the first time we used it. The second time we used it we bumped up against the fence and the side discharge fell off.

I tried to reinstall it but it is made of plastic and the fingers it has to attach to mower is also plastic.
I went to local distributor to buy replacement which they have plenty of (seems like this is a very common occurrence). Cost less than $20 to replace.

After putting this on mower we never go along... more
Joe Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
58
Cheri Z.
Northglenn, CO
REVIEWED
JUN.
16
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Not Pleased!!
Purchased this as the second Cub Cadet, Very pleased with the first, but this one is a JOKE. It says it is "self propelled" where it is NOT!!! It is supposedly "Effortless Drive Control, 'my speed' ". Seeing how I have a fused neck and back issues, as well as have a nice hill on my property, I was wanting something that I can use and not have a problem. I do not have the strength to pull the cord, so thought the auto start would also be a great thing. Used it ONCE, it had... more
Cons: Heavy, Difficult To Use, Unreliable, Packaging
Cheri Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
26
Lucien F.
Columbus, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/26/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
29
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Mower
Would I buy another NO . Hard to handle when you try to go forward. You have to push the handles forward at the same time. Hard to control the speed.
Pros: Price
Cons: Bad Instructions, Difficult To Use
Lucien Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
15
Paul K.
Algona, IA
REVIEWED
APR.
12
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Cub Mower
Starts easy, and easy on gas. Excellent mulcher leaving few clippings. Side discharge plugs easily and the bagger is lousy. They need to go back to the older design and fill the bag from the top. Can't get the bag even half full.
Paul Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
28
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Cub Cadet 12ABC62J710 reviews.Compare our Cub Cadet 12ABC62J710 ratings. Find the Cub Cadet 12ABC62J710 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct