Search
< Back to Product

Champion 100251 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings - Product Discontinued

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Discontinued
 
$1,299.00
(as of 10:12 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
Champion 100251 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 5
Pros
Fast (7)
High Quality (6)
I'd Buy It Again (6)
Easy To Use (5)
Price (4)
Cons
Heavy (1)
NONE (1)
88% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
24 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Kevin O.
Reidsville, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/26/15
Total Helpful Votes
18 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
DEC.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Impressed At First Sight
I'm pleased with the purchase of this splitter so far, Only problem was it does not come with a hydraulic oil return filter which I believe is a must...so I found this at Tractor Supply then plumbed it in and good to go! Only used it once for about an hour on some very tough curly maple that had been down for about a year and not cut up until recently.

This was some of the hardest stuff I've tried to split with a maul/wedge. I put the splitter to the test and was pleased with the results.... more
Kevin Recommends This Champion Product
Kevin's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very Happy With Splitters Direct, Shipped Very Fast!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
183
Larry L.
Scott, AR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/13/16
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
OCT.
25
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Cold Natured Motor
Received without problem, no damage or short parts. Assembled without problem (had help from 1 person) added hydraulic oil and engine oil and gasoline. Would start only with throttle in idle position and full choke Then it would die because you could not uncooked fast enough.

Would restart with choke off, but it would not take throttle increase for 1-2 minutes. After warm-up, started splitting pecan wood. I thought it would fail several times at full throttle. Does not appear strong... more
Larry Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Steven S.
Burnettsville, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/10/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Product. Worth Taking A Look At. Best Buy For The Price And
Have not found one thing wrong with this product. I have split 6 Cords of wood, starts on first pull. I have split logs with diameter longer than my leg from knee to toe, I'm 6 foot tall, knee to toe 26''. Granted it is mainly ash that I'm cutting but had a few pieces of walnut just as big and didn't see a difference in cutting power.

I would and will buy this product in the future if they continue to build this kind of quality product. LOL my wife just reminded my that the handle should be... more
Pros: Fast, I'd Buy It Again, Price, Durable
Steven Recommends This Champion Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Donald C.
Swansea, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/4/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
20
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Unit
I came in with some broken parts and received it over a month after i paid for it but well worth the wait fast cycle time and easy to assemble assembled it by myself no problem called champion about the broken part got it 3 days later in the mail WELL WORTH THE $$$$
Pros: Fast, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Durable
Cons: NONE
Donald Recommends This Champion Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Kelly
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/22/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just What We Wanted
Assembly was not difficult if you can follow directions. We used Dexron III in case we wanted to use it below freezing. Ran it for about 2-1/2 hours on a tank of gas and split wood continuously, resulting in a huge pile of firewood.

The side racks are VERY helpful, saving loads of extra picking up. Splits very well in both horizontal and vertical positions. I cannot imagine wearing this machine out in my lifetime.
Kelly Recommends This Champion Product
Kelly's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Sold, shipped and delivered all as expected."
 more
Was this review helpful?
60
Walter R.
New Buffalo, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/8/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
31
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Time Will Tell?
Yes it took 2 men to lift the "I" Beam puttogether in about 1 hour. Have used only twice and I am extremely pleased with the splitting power. Engine started on second pull. Yes I have recommended this splitter toa friend.
Walter Recommends This Champion Product
Was this review helpful?
93
Herbert H.
Pahrump, NV
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/17/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Herbert
Had my brother in law on hand so we could unload and assemble splitter when it arrived as instructed. Splitter didn't arrive when he was there because of some delivery mix up. I had to unload and assemble it by myself (no other help). It wasn't an ideal situation, but I was able to get it done because I placed on level ground to do the assembly.

Splitter fired right up, and I started splitting wood that day. I have tamarack, white pine, larch, cedar, birch and a few other variety's of... more
Herbert Recommends This Champion Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Rodney P.
Eckley, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/19/16
REVIEWED
APR.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
100% Satisfied
The splitter is meeting all of my expectations from the reviews I have read. I have only used it a short time.
It was easy to assemble the instructions were very clear
Rodney Recommends This Champion Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Craig H.
Earlham, IA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/13/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Powerful Splitter
Two man assembly for this brute of a splitter. Started first pull, ran smooth and split various types of wood with no problems. Great splitter.
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Fast, High Quality
Craig Recommends This Champion Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Terry V.
Butternut, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/14/16
REVIEWED
APR.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Company Great Splitter
Every aspect from beginning to end was smooth and easy.
Terry Recommends This Champion Product
Terry's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great all around."
 more
Was this review helpful?
21
Michael H.
West Lebanon, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/14/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
07
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Happy With This Purchase
Performs very well plenty of splitting power even at about three quarter throttle.
Pros: High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Price
Michael Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Joe M.
Lake Almanor, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/11/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
03
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
25 Ton Champion Log Spliter
Very fast shipping! Easy to assemble and fired right up. I have split three cords of wood and the splitter has performed great.
Pros: Easy To Use, Fast, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Joe Recommends This Champion Product
Joe's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very good experience!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Steve B.
Santo, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/12/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
03
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quality Log Splitter!
It was simple to assemble all though I had to call my neighbor over to help with the beam. Assemble does require some tools that every homeowner may not have.

After it was assembled and the engine oil and hydraulic fluid were added it started right up and started splitting logs. It has a lot of power.
Pros: Fast, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again
Steve Recommends This Champion Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Karen
Saint Joseph, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/17/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Is A Great Product
We have a lot of wood to split & have never used a wood splitter before and found out how easy it is to use.

Assembling it was easier than we thought too. We would highly recommend this product and the people at Log Splitters Direct were great to work with as well.
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, High Quality, Easy To Store
Karen Recommends This Champion Product
Karen's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Our experience with buying through Log Splitters Direct was a great one. Finding a company online to order such a large and expensive item from is a bit scary since you are putting your trust in them but found out they are great to talk to and work with on getting our product. Thank you to the staff at Log Splitters Direct for making this purchase go smoothly."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Chris S.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/8/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
31
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A- Splitter.....great Value
Flimsy log catchers... other than that a plus
Pros: Features, Price, Fast, I'd Buy It Again
Chris Recommends This Champion Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Frank H.
Washington, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/5/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
31
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Splitter At Excellent Value
I've split 3 face cords and haven't had any issues yet. Engine starts on the first pull every time. Time will tell if it's as true a value as it seems, but my experience so far has been nothing short of great.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Fast, High Quality
Cons: Heavy
Frank Recommends This Champion Product
Frank's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great buying experience. Fast delivery."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Wesley R.
Frazier Park, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/8/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
A bit of assembly, but easy to do. Started on the first pull! Tore through oak and eucalyptus with no problem. Seems like a solid machine. I was surprised with a delivery charge even though the site said free shipping, but other than that all was good.
Wesley Recommends This Champion Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Tom C.
Okanogan, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/22/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Well Worth The Time And Money.
only took me a little over an our to assemble by myself and two days later my wife and I had four cords of wood in the shed.

Put it to the test on a tree full of knots from our yard before taking it to the forest.

It's everything my research boasted! I highly recommend it to those looking for a splitter!
Tom Recommends This Champion Product
Was this review helpful?
00
William C.
Buena Vista, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/3/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
19
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Report On Champion 25 Ton Splittler Model 100251
I am very pleased with my new splitter. I am having leakage from the valve control knob at end of hydraulic control valve. Not sure how to tighten the nut inside of the control.

Also:
even though no issue now, wondering if there is a way to install an inline filter on the hydraulic return line that would catch any metal shavings from normal ware.

All in all, I am very satisfied with the performance and speed of cylinder ram.
William Recommends This Champion Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Jeffrey W.
Dayton, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/22/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Honeybee Company W/ New Honeybee Painted Splitter
Tickled to pieces (like a youthful man with new toy), happy to make the purchase! Assembly was easy. Do wish there was a filter for the hydraulic fluid line like so many other comparable splitters but has not....Carrier trays became distorted and significantly bent after minimal use. My men have no explanation as to how that happened. I like the function of the trays but apparently they should be made of thicker steel to withstand the riggers of production splitting..Still too early to be... more
Jeffrey Recommends This Champion Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Crytal B.
Harlem, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/3/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
29
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fantastic
This machine works like a charm. Whether vertical or horizontal, it has enough PSI to split even the biggest logs. We tow it behind our golf cart to wherever the job is on our property. Very happy with this purchase and would recommend this to anyone wanting a hard working quality product.
Crytal Recommends This Champion Product
Was this review helpful?
00
George C.
Greensburg, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/5/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
14
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Log Splitter
Engine too close to the working area. The logs hit the engine.
George Recommends This Champion Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Felix G.
Pacoima, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/7/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
11
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Buy
Best splitter I've ever had. Great unit - can't say enough.
Felix Recommends This Champion Product
Felix's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Best buy ever."
 more
Was this review helpful?
12
Dexter S.
Shelter Island Heights, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/18/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
09
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Tool
I purchased after reading some positive reviews... easy assembly, great machine, I split a cord in less than an hour... I would recommend to anyone. Well worth the $$$$
Dexter Does Not Recommend This Product
Dexter's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Phenomenal !!!!!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
04
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Champion 100251 reviews.Compare our Champion 100251 ratings. Find the Champion 100251 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct