Search
< Back to Product

Boss Industrial ED8T20 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$619.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$619.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$669.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$721.84
(as of 06:42 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
Boss Industrial ED8T20 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (14)
Durable (5)
Exceeded Expectations (5)
Price (4)
Easy To Store (4)
Cons
Heavy (5)
Expensive (3)
Bad Instructions (1)
Hard To Move (1)
The Motor Is Too Dam Lou... (1)
95% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
46 Reviews  Sort by 
 
manufacturers review image

John Collier
Sales And Customer Service
From The Manufacturer
100% Of Reviewers Recommend This Log Splitter
The 8 Ton ED8T20 is one of the best log splitters on the market, but don't take our word for it. Read the reviews posted here by your peers. At the time of this "review" there are 29 customers that have bought and used our 8 Ton dual action log splitter. Every single one of them has said they would buy it again, and they would recommend others to buy the product.

At Boss Industrial, we are not only trying to build the best log splitter on the market today, we are also trying to... more
Was this review helpful?
71
Michael S.
Brush Prairie, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/24/15
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
AUG.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Splitter That Does
Mounted this gem in a 9 cu ft riding mower trailer. Added side boards to prevent split wood from falling to ground. It split year old Pine up to 18" x 18" nicely, however 3 pcs my my hand wedge n maul wouldn't even split.
View Image
Michael Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Michael,
Thank you for the review - they are all appreciated. Nice set up with the trailer. Just make sure you have a long enough and thick enough extension cord!

If you have any questions or need anything feel free to let us know.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Todd W.
Hampton, IA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/5/14
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
OCT.
09
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Powerful But Quit Working
I bought this log splitter and the stand/roller in November of 2014. The reviews on this website were great and I felt this would be a great unit. From the beginning I was impressed with the power. However, right away I noticed that the ram when going from front to back would continue to run when I let go of the handle and that the motor would stall when it hit the end of its cycle. The only way to get it to work again was to re-start the unit.

I called the representative since it was still... more
Todd Does Not Recommend This Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Todd,
UPDATE: Machine is up and running like new. Thanks again Todd for buying a Boss!



I am happy to help you with your machine. I think I also know why your machine is acting the way it is.

If the machine continued to travel, the handle wasn't releasing and returning back to neutral. Perhaps it was rubbing on the guard or something that was not allowing it to return?

As for the machine needing to be turned off - if the machine hit the end of it's cycle and pressure was still being applied. Essentially trying to push the rod through the end of the cylinder. Trying to push metal against metal.

The machines overload protector was being triggered, and that is why you had to turn it off, and let the overload protector reset before it will continue working. It is a safety device that is built into the machine. It was doing exactly what it was supposed to do to protect the internal seals.

I am assuming that is also why the machine is now moving slow - you have probably blown a seal in the cylinder or valve by repeatedly pushing the pressure limits once the machine hit the end of its cycle. It is not made to touch the blade on purpose, there is a safety space between the wedge and pushing block to protect users and the machine.

You can call us directly at 800-780-2677.

Thank you for buying a Boss,

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Dennis S.
Victorville, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/19/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
03
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Choice Made
After some research, I purchased The Boss Industrial 8-Ton Dual Action Electric Log Splitter. I have used it twice this winter with good results. It has exceeded my feelings about quality, as I have a slight prejudice against the country of origin. The pros- strong enough for the little splitting I do, ease of maintenance, ease of storage. When I received unit, most of the Hydraulic oil had leaked out, or not filled properly from factory.

Little disappointed that I had to go out and buy a... more
Dennis Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Dennis,
Thank you for the review. We appreciate all of them. Great feed back. A longer stroke would have made the unit to big for many car trunks. Most people have 16-18 inch logs for an indoor fire place or wood stove. Sorry about the oil - happy to help with if if you contact our service department. You can email us at service@boss-industrial.com. If you ever need anything feel free to let us know.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Joseph D.
Corpus Christi, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/17/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
I had a 7 horse Boss that I loved. My daughter borrowed it, and realizing I wasn't getting it back, I ordered the 8 horse.

It has been a beast so far! I love the fact that it splits coming and going, and although it's only 1 more horse, it preforms much bigger than that.
Joseph Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Joseph,
Thank you for the review... and by horse - you mean ton, right? The machines are rated on splitting force in tons.

I am glad you are happy, and love that your daughter "relocated" dads tools the same way my brothers and I have relocated my fathers tools over the decades! Nice to know we are not the only ones that shop at "Dad's Tool Rental of Never Return!"

Thanks for buying a Boss...AGAIN!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Phil L.
Estacada, OR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/28/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
20
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just Like Advertised
My dual action 8 ton splitter arrived a little later than I expected but was delivered to my garage and off loaded using a hand truck to the exact site I wanted it placed. After removing the very substantial metal frame and packing I put it right to work and was surprised at the speed and ability to split some twisted fir and large maple rounds. It works just like the video. I don't know why I didn't get this sooner and by the way don't try to put a second car in my garage now it is full of... more
Phil Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Phil,
Thank you for the review. I am sorry that you lost your spot in the garage, but I am glad we are responsible for helping with the split wood!

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Gary G.
East Setauket, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/30/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
DEC.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Tool
great tool
Gary Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Gary,
Short and sweet!

Thanks for the review and thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Gary's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"great tool so far ...been thru 1/4 cord"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Ed
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/16/14
Total Helpful Votes
15 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
FEB.
27
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Better Than Expected
Split all my logs, easy to use. Never had a log splitter before, so I can't compare one to another. I did feel safe using it, my wife also split some logs with out any problems, we are both in our 60's. Tired of having to use gas all the time, mixing and adding stabilizer in fuel, more power than I need. Only had it a short time so I can't account for its durability, seems solid and well built.
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations
Ed Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Ed,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It seems many people find your review helpful as well. I look forward to you providing us with an update at some point when you feel the durability has met or exceeded your expectations.

Hope you and the Mrs. continue to enjoy your 8 Ton for many years to come.
Thank you for buying a Boss.


John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
150
Thomas F.
Cullowhee, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/30/13
Total Helpful Votes
15 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
SEP.
20
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Boss-8 Is Great! :))
Very Courteous folks when I ordered. Delivery truck driver very courteous as well. Helped me load onto my trailer. I put unit on porch deck on a wooden bench. Very easy to work with. Some what noisy (motor). Splits seasoned Locust rounds easily. Purchased a cover for it and it fits over the splitter and the wooden bench so rain will not get to it. The dual action feature is a dream to use. My neighbor came over and tried it out on Locust. He was amazed. He really liked the dual action...not... more
Pros: Easy To Use
Thomas Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Thomas,
Thank you for the review Tom. I hope your neighbor doesn't bother you too much when he comes over to borrow it, again and again. The cover is a great idea, and we should look into that for all of our machines as an option.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
150
Bill R.
Granbury, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/6/13
Total Helpful Votes
13 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JAN.
18
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Need A Log Spliter?
I was in need for a splitter my health isn't very good. I bought this splitter thinking this is gonna do the job. I was right ,it works great! The on switch stays on keeping the machine ready to work every time your ready to work. The right and left splitters saves time by not having to wait for the ram to reset. It's a little heavy, but I think that has to do with this splitter being capable to make short work of a large pile of logs. Yes this splitter is a winner!
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Heavy
Bill Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Bill,
Thank you for the great review. The 8 ton does have some weight to it, and that is for stability and power. We don't make throw away machines, we make machines to perform and last.
We think it's a winner too!

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
130
Leo M.
Erwinna, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/15/13
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
30
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy To Use By Myself, Wife, Granddad, & Granny!
We just got this boss double 8 and plugged it in to our A/C outlet , a 120v dedicated line, and it works like a champ. We all took turns operating it and filled our whole wood shed (3cords) in a weekend. Everyone thought it was easy and straightforward and fast due to double action wedges. I did have to tighten some of the screws after a bit of use, though. I dragged it up the hill to my house and lifted it onto a low table for use (half a side at a time). I love that it requires zero... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Fast, Reliable
Cons: Expensive
Leo Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Leo,
I hope you are not making Granddad and Granny split too much wood. I imagine they did their fair share the old fashion way. However, I am happy to see that you have turned your log splitter into a family bonding opportunity! I am not sure we have that listed as one of our product features or benefits yet.

3 cords in one weekend - sounds like you worked that machine pretty good! Glad everyone is happy with it.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Leo Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The shipped it fast and were in touch about its progress. Great job!!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
120
Doug
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/11/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
17
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Are You Kidding Me???
I've been splitting wood for heat by hand for 16 years. I finally decided that my rotator cuffs have had enough and it was time to modernize. I spent a lot of time comparing features and prices all over the web. I wanted a splitter that would be easy for the wife to use if I became incapacitated due to my clumsiness. That ruled out anything that ran on gas, had to sit outside, or God forbid had a pull start. This Boss unit seemed to fit the bill. Let me say that shipping from this site is... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Doug,
We love the review and your sense of humor. We hope your Boss (wife) enjoys many years of you and your Boss (the machine) splitting wood to keep everyone (your wife again) cozy by the fire.
more
Was this review helpful?
186
George L.
Whitsett, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/26/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
28
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Product, Poor Assembly
The 8 ton Boss log splitter works great, however, the instruction manual recommends the hydraulic fluid cap be vented when first used to expel any air in chamber. The cap will not loosen using the supplied Allen wrench, and the cap seal has a small leak.

I will be contacting the manufacturer today to address this problem so wish me luck.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price
George Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
George,
No luck is needed, just a phone call! I am sorry for the delay in responding online, but we have only recently been given access to respond to reviews. Feel free to give me a call if you have not already been fixed up.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
800-780-2677 ext. 301
more
Was this review helpful?
90
Charles J.
Augusta, ME
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/26/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
18
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Splitter, Not Really Portable
I use this splitter at an island house that is off the grid. I was able to strap the box to a dolly and take it for the boat ride with no problem. I bought the stand with it and that assembled smoothly. I have used it for a couple of hours and it works great. I especially like that I can control the size of the firewood. I split Maple and Birch for firewood and Spruce for kindling. It makes both well.
The splitter has wheels on the back but it is not easily moved around. If a third wheel... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy, Hard To Move
Charles Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Charles,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have looked at adding wheel options, but we don't want the machine to be able to move around much when you are splitting. I know the portability is a bit limited as this machine is no dainty piece of equipment, but it is made tough, or as we like to call it "Boss Industrial!"

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Charles Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The website is easy to use and it helps to have information about what units are purchased most."
 more
Was this review helpful?
90
George B.
Aliquippa, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/15/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
08
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
One Mean Machine
The first weekend I received splitter we put it to work, in three days we split over four cords of hardwoods.
Did not encounter a single log it could not rip thru.

I impressed a few friends who laughed at the smaller size. The support rails that act as a log stabilizer are much better than models I've seen before.

Only flaw was control handle loosened on second day, an easy fix with a 5mm and 6mm hex wrench that I now keep in slot of splitting wedge. I also constructed a support station... more
George Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
George,
Thank you for your review. Storing tools in back of the wedge is a new idea - I will pass it on to our techs and see if there is a way to make it part of the design? This is how our machines get better and better with every review!

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
80
Chuck A.
Port Orchard, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/6/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
31
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Xmas Surprise
I bought this for my wife as a Xmas present. She loves the exercise of splitting the logs, after I've cut them to length. But she injured her hip using her foot actuated splitter. So I surprised her on Xmas with the Boss 8 ton dual action electric splitter.

She LOVES it...when ever I can't find her in the house, I know where to look for her ..she's out on the back patio splitting logs!

This is the perfect splitter for the "over 60 crowd". Plug it in, push the... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Chuck Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Chuck,
We are glad she LOVES it. We think they make excellent Christmas gifts, and birthday gifts, and don't forget about Valentine's Day coming up. Nothing says "I love you!" like a nice new big red Boss Industrial Log Splitter for that special someone.

Let us know if you ever need anything - and Merry Christmas Chuck!

Thanks for buying her a Boss!
John
Boss Industrial
more
Chuck Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Five Stars all the way! Very professional, fair and honest prices, great product line...and you can't beat the shipping!! Happy New Year"
 more
Was this review helpful?
80
David S.
Winterville, ME
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/30/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
14
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Two 78-year-olds Mainers
We have a large vertical splitter which runs off the three point hitch on our John Deere. Used to buy tree lengths and take them all the way to 16" split, but recently, what with old bodies and aching joints, we needed to come up with something easier. We now buy our wood (7 cord/year) cut, split and delivered. A lot of the pieces are too large for our stove, so we "re-split" to fit. Our storage is in our cellar so we brought the new splitter in there and work in warmth and... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable, Durable, Can Be Used Indoors
Cons: Heavy
David Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
David,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. Looks like others do as well based on those that are finding it helpful. If you have any other feedback, feel free to let us know.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
David Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Delivery was super fast. Just put it in the bucket of the tractor and was off. Driver was very helpful."
 more
Was this review helpful?
80
William W.
Northfield, ME
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/12/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
03
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Rugged Fast Splitter
Nice rugged fast splitter. Splitter works really well, glad I bought it, but a bit hard to move around as it is rugged and heavy. I need to make a handle so that I can extend the placement of the existing handle.
Pros: Easy To Use, Fast, Durable, High Quality
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
William Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
William,
Thanks for the review. We appreciate you taking the time to write and for the 5 Stars too! We know it is a bit heavy - but if you want it to last...we have to make it heavy duty, or as we like to call it "Boss Industrial!"

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
70
Debrorah And Steven W.
Molalla, OR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/20/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
03
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Splitter!
The splitter arrived within a week and the tailgate delivery was very helpful. They came right to the door! You do have to check all of the nuts, bolts, and screws as they will be loose. The stand accessory is the best option for saving your back. The dual action is very convenient and a time saver. We split up to six cords a year and this splitter makes it fast and efficient. It has plenty of power. (This purchase was my wife's idea...and she was right!)
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Fast, High Quality
Debrorah Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Debrorah,
Thank you for being right! We appreciate you taking the time to write this review. If you ever need anything, please feel free to call or email us.

Thank you for the 5 Stars, and thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Debrorah Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Service over the phone was absolutely excellent!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
70
Steve K.
Knapp, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/27/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
19
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Just Tested It So Far.
Took one log to test it and split it into 4 pieces in no time. Seems it will be sufficient. Wheels are too small for its weight and one of the tires on the wheel was twisted during shipment. But I believe this will be a good product.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Quiet, Easy To Store
Cons: Heavy
Steve Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Steve,
Thanks for the initial test review. Sorry about the shipping damage, if you haven't already done so, please contact me or someone at the office and we can get you a replacement wheel under warranty! 800-780-2677 my extension is 301, and I will personally take care of it for you.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
60
Jerry
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/14/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
08
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Boss Log Splitter
I am very happy with my log splitter. The shipping was very fast, I ordered on a Sunday morning and was unpacking it the following Thursday night. The assembly is minimal, and went very quick. I used it the Saturday after ordering it and split half a cord in about 4 hours. I maxed out on the log diameters and the splitter held up fine. The one knock I have is the handle is small and pulling the splitter up a hill is difficult. I solved that by getting two trailer clips and put an 18 inch... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Jerry,
Thank you for your review. I agree pulling a 100 lbs. up hill is not my idea of a fun time. Glad you found a fix to make it easier. If you send us a photo I can get it to the techs, perhaps there is a way we can incorporate it going forward?

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
60
John F.
Scottsboro, AL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/31/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
21
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Old Man's Dream
Electric, I can't start gas due to heart issues--this is great.

Powerful, treats Oak and Hickory like butter. Dual splits really speeds it up--faster than my lovely wife, age 73 can stack it.

Please don't let my wife know I revealed her age. She is still as pretty as the day I married her...
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Fast, Easy To Store
Cons: Expensive, The Motor Is Too Dam Loud
John Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
John,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am glad it is working well for you, and your wife. I won't tell her you revealed her age, as long as you find a teenager to help her stack all the wood you are splitting.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
John's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"SEE ABOVE"
 more
Was this review helpful?
50
Arnold G.
San Bernardino, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/20/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
11
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Everyone Likes Wood
I finally received my splitter after going through some delivery issues with R&L Trucking. I really like my splitter. I have noticed that if you take the travel to it stops then you have to shut it off and restart it so you move the metal push bar back so you can start again.

The other thing I noticed was today when I pushed the start button it was necessary for me hold the button for a few seconds before it engaged.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Arnold,
Thank you for your review. I am sure that the problem of it needing to be turned off is due to the overload protection on our machine. It sounds as if you are holding the lever too long in one direction until the machine is trying to push against itself - which it can not split itself, so it reads an overload.

If you give us a call, perhaps you can send/text me a video of your machine in operation and our tech staff can get it squared away for you.

Thank you for buying a Boss.

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
50
John N.
Porter, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/12/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
04
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Work Indoors No Problem!
Great electric log splitter that does everything the makers say it can do and then more! I've split logs larger than 10 and half inches in diameter.

I like working in the garage during inclement weather and not having to worry about carbon monoxide poisoning or exhaust fumes.

The Boss Industrial 8-Ton log splitter is affordable log splitter for the home owner wanting to burn wood in fireplaces or wood stoves. I highly recommend it it for anyone wanting to save their backs!
John Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
John,
Thank you for taking the time to review our 8 ton. We appreciate it. If you ever need us, we are just a phone call or email away.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
40
William B.
Munster, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/18/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
10
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Boss 8-ton Dual-action
First, I was impressed with the weight (for stability). and structurally appears to handle the size of any log placed on it. The 2 issues I did have was

1. the hydraulic fluid had leaked out and there was not enough to read on the dip stick, so I had to go purchase a gallons worth ($18.00) to refill.

2. The plastic electrical box and cord connection was broken with the 3-wires exposed. I ended up buying a good 25-ft, 3/C#14 extension cord ($22.00, cutting off the receptacle end and... more
William Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
William,
Thank you for posting feedback. I know that many times things can get a little rattled in shipping. Due to the weight of the 8 Ton it has to ship via freight carrier. I have known of a few cord connections that have broken if a log falls on it, but it sounds like you put together a fix. If you would like to send us a photo, I can have one of our techs make sure it is "safe". Otherwise we can help get you a new box and our connectors to make sure there are no safety issues with it. Let me know if I can help.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
30
George S.
Mckinney, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/11/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
02
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It!
I use my log splitter for a few days a year, so I did not want to fool around with a gas model. The electric Boss 8 ton sets in my JD gater 4x4 along side a small (30AMP) generator . . . it is my mobile splitter solution. Has more than enough power for big jobs (12-20" logs). When I am done just put it on the shelf and it is ready to go in 6 months (not gas draining or hard starting).
George Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
George,
We love it too!

A lot of clients have a "mobile splitter station" set up on trailers and such. Glad to see you are happy with the 8 Ton. If you have any questions, please let us know.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
30
Gary G.
Allenton, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/8/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
I previously had used a 5 ton unit which was not a Boss and found that it would not split any of the Dogwood pieces I had cut. That unit failed because of my error of not opening the vent fitting . The Boss ED8T20 has done all my splitting with no problem and could not be more satisfied . It was easy to get set up and for me it will be much more convenient to use than a gas unit . I do recommend using hearing and eye protection for the sake of just being safe . The Boss is the boss !
Gary Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Gary,
Thank you for writing your review. Glad we measured up and were able to take care of your woodpile!

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Gary's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I ordered via the phone and was helped in a very professional way . I received all the order information in my e-mail and could track the progress of the shipment very easily . Thanks"
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Betty S.
Woodcliff Lake, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/26/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Investment
I did a lot of research before buying. Log Splitters Direct was a pleasure to do business with. I love the log splitter, it really does the job and has extended the life of my shoulder muscles. I particularly like the forward and back splitting feature. Great machine for my needs. Thanks LSD for the videos and abundant information on your website.
Betty Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Betty,
Thank you for providing feedback, and we have to agree. The people at Log Splitters Direct are great to do business with! They are very knowledgeable on not only our products, but our competitors as well. That is why it is great to see that they recommend our log splitters as top choices in multiple sizes and categories.

Thanks again for the review, and thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Todd W.
Hampton, IA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/5/14
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
NOV.
28
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Serious Splitter
I am a homeowner with a fireplace and use this log splitter just for this purpose. Will probably split wood 3 to 4 times a year. I talked to BOSS a couple times before I purchased so knew what I was getting into. Found some AW 32 hydraulic oil and filled it up to the lower section of the marks on the dipstick (per my conversations with BOSS).

Opened the vent plug just a bit and was on my way. All my circuit breakers are 20 amp, yet when I plugged into my garage outlet with no lights on in... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, High Quality, Quiet
Cons: Bad Instructions
Todd Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Todd,
OK - there is an internal overload protection that you are tripping by holding the lever too long in the direction that is making the machine stop pushing. That is why you have to cycle the power to make it start pushing again. Perhaps when the machine fell over you may have bent the guard that helps keep the handle from being pushed too hard to one side?

If you give me a call at the office perhaps you can send me a photo or video and we can trouble shoot it for you?

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
800-780-2677 ext 301
more
Todd's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Really like your products and the whole shopping experience. My only suggestion would be for you to sell the hydraulic oils, filters, recommended oils, etc. that go along with these products. Was very difficult for me to find AW32 hydraulic oil in my small town. For buyers like me who are not familiar with hydraulic oils, it was a little exasperating."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Gregory P.
Shaker Heights, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/11/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
16
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Solid Splitter.
Does exactly what it is supposed to do - just what is in its specs.
Gregory Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Gregory,
Thank you for the review. I was curious why we only got 4 out of 5 stars if you felt the product did exactly what it was supposed to do?

If there is an area you see we needed to improve I would love to hear about it. Great reviews are nice - good reviews are nice - critical reviews can be very helpful in product and company development. We welcome additional comments on how we can be a 5 star brand in your opinion.

Thank you for buying a Boss.

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Peter L.
Loveland, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/21/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great!
Was only able to use it for an hour, so far it works great. I split over 1/2 cord in that time.
Peter Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Peter,
Thanks for the review, we appreciate you taking time to do so. Now you just have to find another hobby to use up all the extra free time you used to spend splitting!
Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Peter's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Great"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Jeff L.
Kelseyville, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/5/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
27
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
This Splitter Works Great!
I offloaded this nifty splitter from the truck to the garage, took it out of the box, attached the handles, plugged it in, and started splitting wood. Took 15 minutes to get started. This splitter works great, Good power. A little noisy, but not as noisy as gas powered splitters I have used in the past. Plus, I can use it inside. So far, I am happy with it. We shall see how long it lasts!
Jeff Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Jeff,
Thank you for posting your comments. I would like to join you in your wait to see how long it lasts! I am guessing we will be waiting a while. Especially since you have a 2 year warranty. As a manufacturer, I am confident putting a 2 year warranty on my product because I know it will last much longer than that. Proper maintenance and storage habits will keep this log splitter up and running until long after I plan on retiring! (I still have about 15-20 years to go!)

Thanks for buying a Boss.

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Lawrence F.
St. Helena, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/4/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
26
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Splitter
The best feature about this log splitter is the reset switch that protects the motor in the event that it encounters a log thats too tuff!
All in all an excellent value!
Lawrence Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Lawrence,
Thanks for the review. We appreciate you taking the time to write and for the 5 Stars too!

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Glenn
Prospect, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/17/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
30
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Impressive For Its Size
Split everything I had (couple cords) with ease with the exception of a few knotted up, gnarly, pieces that I honestly didn't think it would (after all it's not a 20 ton unit). I even grabbed logs of different species that I didn't have from friends and it split them just fine.

I like the dual action and it seems to make splitting go faster.

I ran the ram in each direction and just before it came to a stop, I placed marks on the rail to coincide with the center slot on the ram so I could... more
Glenn Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Glenn,
Thanks for the review - we appreciate it.

Good call on the Teflon! If a thread got twisted by the plug or something - that is the perfect solution to take care of a minor leak.

Glad it took care of the wood you expected it too, as well as some you didn't. We also appreciate that you realize it is not a 20 ton machine. I get a lot of calls with people asking why they can't split the 36 inch tree trunk they are trying to balance on it. Sometimes I just have to smile.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Helen M.
Clearfield, UT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/6/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ehe Ed8t20 Is The Best On The Market
This is the best investment my wife and I have ever made. I'm nearly 70 and have burned wood for about 40 years. Collecting it, splitting it, and stacking it keeps me busy, health, and un-fat.

But, splitting wood over the years has taken it's toll on me. When we saw that we could split wood both directions. Well, doubling our production was a big selling point.

We sometimes overstress the machine and have to re-set it. But, after a while one learns to split effectively so the... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Store
Helen Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Helen,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate it. I am also glad that you feel this is your best investment...ever.

If you ever need anything, please feel free to contact us directly. Enjoy it, and thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert L.
Del Rio, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/20/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
15
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Under Powered
I read the reviews and thought I would give it a try. The machine was under powered at 8 tons. I have since bought a 20 ton splitter. Hopefully I can sell the 8 ton to somebody.
Robert Does Not Recommend This Product
Dale, the Log Splitter Expert
Product Expert
Robert,
I'm sorry the Boss log splitter didn't meet your needs. The hardness of different types of wood varies and the longer is sits after being cut the easier it is to split. Boss rates this splitter as being able to split logs with a maximum diameter of 10.5".
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Robert,
Thanks for giving the Boss machine a try. I would like to know what type and size of wood you were trying to split, if you feel it was under powered? Perhaps you needed a bigger machine from the start - we have them up to 34 tons. The smaller electric units are not made for large wood processing and tree trunks.

I usually don't have any issues with the 8 ton machine as long as people keep the logs within or at least close to the manual specifications.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael H.
Versailles, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/4/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Well Built And Lightweight
Well built and lightweight.
Michael Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Michael,
Short and to the point.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Mark J.
Fayetteville, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/1/15
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
I paid the extra $50 for delivery and it turned out great. The driver had a hand cart and placed it right where I wanted it. Only one part to put on it. Otherwise, it was ready right out of the box.

I split one cord of wood when it arrived. It worked great. Very easy to operate. I wish it had bigger wheels, but it's just a minor point.
Mark Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Mark,
Thank you for the review. We appreciate all of them, but really like when we get all 5 Stars! Assembly is really easy, so thank you for mentioning it. If you ever need us, feel free to contact us.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Gary S.
Cedar Point, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/5/15
REVIEWED
APR.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Real Workhorse
Very little assembly is required (only attach the handle) and you are ready to go. So far I have split oak, walnut, hackberry, red elm and ash and find the unit has good power. I especially like the design which splits in both directions eliminating the need to recycle the unit each time.

The only drawback is that the unit sets very low and requires either the kit to raise the unit or placing the unit in a trailer or raised platform. I cannot report on long range durability yet, but... more
Gary Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Dale, the Log Splitter Expert
Product Expert
Gary,
Thank you for the review. We appreciate your feedback. Feel free to stop back and post a follow-up review once you've had a chance to use it more. Thanks again, and have a great spring season!
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Gary,
Thank you for taking the time to post! We appreciate it. I also look forward to reading your follow up, as I am sure it will show others how durable our products really are!

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Dan R.
Fort Worth, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/27/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
This splitter split everything I put into it including a bunch of big red oak logs that would not split last year on the 8 year old splitter I had that finally died.

I am very impressed with this electric splitter and the price was was much lower than other sites.
Dan Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Dan,
Thanks for the review! We are happy to hear that we took care of all that Red Oak for you. Let us know if there is anything you need.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Norman D.
Oxford, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/7/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Aptly Named The Boss
Bought this one on the strength of the excellent reviews it was getting, they did not lie. I too am impressed with it's sturdy construction and efficient operation. I've had it about a week, probably plowed through 2 cords or better already I'd cut this winter, only about 4 or 5 more to go.

This machine makes it easy (works me hard though, age 69 and kickin). Love it, highly recommend it over the less expensive 5 ton electrics, worth the difference. Would buy again.
Norman Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Norman,
Thank you for the review. We are glad we are living up to our name! If you ever need anything, feel free to give us a call.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Norman's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Arrived from factory to nearest terminal in 2 days on a Wednesday, but I did not receive the unit until the following Monday. There was no shipping damage, well packaged and well handled, courteous driver. Thanks."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Kenneth T.
Olalla, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/9/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Solid Construction
I was searching to replace a Craftsman hydraulic splitter which wore out after fourteen years of use. Parts were no longer available for the Craftsman, and I wanted something I could use in my shop during the winter.

So far, the Boss has performed exactly as advertised, and I am impressed with its rugged construction and ease of operation. I solved the low profile situation by putting it in the utility trailer I use with my lawn tractor.
Kenneth Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Kenneth,
We appreciate your review. I am happy to mention that since we are the manufacturer, you will not run into your parts issue with us. Where a Craftsman product may be re-branded and eventually have parts shortages, we will always have the casts, cnc programs, and dies to make an extra part if it is ever needed. Just another reason buy a Boss!

Speaking of which: Thank you for buying a Boss!


John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Ted K.
Montrose, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/3/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ted
It is an excellent splitter, and I have sold 5 cords of wood that were split with it. Next summer, I will split a lot more wood with it.
Ted Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Ted,
Thank you for providing a review. I am happy to see you are making some profits, and can now expand as well. The dual action splitting will help save you some time. When trying to split wood to sell - time is money! If you have any questions or concerns, feel free to contact us.

We are here to help - and thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Theodore K.
Montrose, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/3/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ted Kissam
The log splitter that I bought from BOSS is an excellent piece of equipment except in one area. The screw that secured the control lever to the hydraulic valve continually loosened. It has finally stayed secure. I must say again that it is an excellent splitter.
Theodore Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Theodore,
Thank you for providing your feedback, we appreciate every review as they help us get better and better with every machine! If you have any trouble with that screw coming loose, give us a call and we will be happy to help find a solution for you.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Marcella T.
Maryville, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/4/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
11
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Satisfied
My review is comparable to ED lots of wood to split, in 60's. It is stable, not overwhelming, and does the job quick. Easy to move, easy to run. The wheel arrived damaged and immediately customer service resolved the issue. Very efficient staff.
Marcella Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Marcella,
Thank you for your review. We do try to take customer service serious. I am happy we were able to get your wheel out the same day. If you have any questions of any other issues, please do not hesitate to call us back. Thank you for your 5 Star review!

And thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Marcella's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Customer service efficient and friendly. A wheel arrived damaged contacted customer service, sent phone photo, and same day ship out of new wheel. Follow-up call from staff."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Rod S.
Clarkson, NE
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/19/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
25
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Really Surprised Me!
Used for three hours and seen all I need. This is a quality product. The dual action is a time saver that I would never be without now that I've used it.

Plenty of power. Easily handles logs over recommendations. Quiet! No fumes! Split wood in warmth of my shop.

Yes I have owned a gas 22 ton gas model. For me there is no comparison. Very very pleasantly surprised!!!
Rod Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Rod,
Thank you for the review and comparison to your 22 Ton machine. We like splitting wood indoors too!

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Boss Industrial ED8T20 reviews.Compare our Boss Industrial ED8T20 ratings. Find the Boss Industrial ED8T20 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct