Search
< Back to Product

Boss Industrial ED10T20 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$829.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$829.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$879.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$907.24
(as of 06:42 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
 
$907.24
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Boss Industrial ED10T20 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (17)
I'd Buy It Again (11)
Quiet (9)
Durable (9)
Exceeded Expectations (8)
Cons
Heavy (12)
Unreliable (2)
Low Quality (2)
Durability (2)
Faulty Side Rack That Ne... (1)
93% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
48 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Dale, the Log Splitter Expert
Power Equipment Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
36 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
966 Helpful Votes
Power Equipment Direct Recommended

Having the ability to split logs as the wedge travels in both directions really speeds up this necessary chore. That plus one handed operation lets you move through log piles much faster than with a standard one-direction splitter.

Stacking split wood is hard enough on your back. With this model you are working while standing rather than crouched over other splitters that sit on the ground. You will need access to a 20amp 120 volt circuit to power this splitter. Extension cords should... more
Dale Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
50
Patrick
Total Helpful Votes
21 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JUL.
20
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Boss Industrial 10-ton Horizontal Dual-action Electric Log Split
Works great. Watch the video to see what it can do.
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Durable, High Quality
Patrick Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Patrick,
Wow! A review and a video, that's fantastic! We have videos posted on our YouTube Channel as well for those that would like to see other models in action.

We really appreciate you taking the time to make a video and post it. If you ever need anything, please feel free to let us know.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
212
Joe L.
Staten Island, NY
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
OCT.
26
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Good Machione, But...
I have had it over two years. The first year, I had to send it back, and they had to replace the piston. The machine was losing power. Here it is a year later - same exact problems, so I have to say not happy at all with the splitter. I am losing a lot of money.
Cons: Heavy, Durability, Expensive
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Joe,
Sorry to hear that your log splitter is losing power. Sometimes when an o-ring gets damaged internally it causes the splitter not to have the correct pressure needed going in the right direction. Even when cutting the recommended size logs mother nature can pull a fast one sometimes and put several knots in there which makes the machine is work harder than it should. There is a certified repair shop just over the border into Connecticut which might be a better option than sending your machine all the way back to the factory. Give me a call at (800)780-2677 ext 306 so we can figure out what we need to do to get you back up and splitting asap.

Ron
Boss-Indstrial
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Richard O.
Armonk, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/24/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I'm Pretty Happy
On the whole, I’m really pleased with my 10 ton splitter: The unit arrived quickly, (only a few days after placing my order) and it arrived in perfect condition (almost guaranteed by it’s iron-framed shipping box).

The unit is quite heavy and requires some superficial assembly work, however this can easily be done by one person by improvising a hoist (in my case, a come-along hung from a bar run between two step ladders).

10 tons isn’t all the power in the world, but it will do a lot... more
Richard Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Richard,
Thanks for the review. Glad to know everything is working out with the 10 ton! A trick I use to measure the oil level is to take a clean paper towel and immediately lay the dipstick on it when I pull it our of the machine. Then you can tell where the oil level is, from where the oil has moistened the paper towel.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Douglas G.
Sunnyside, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/20/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
13
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Acceptable
Purchased this machine based on its characteristics. It is up on a stand, which makes working much easier. The dual action ram is clearly superior to single ram movement, you can split nearly twice the amount of wood in the same time frame. Heavy duty construction. More than adequate power for the average home owner. One wood cradle has a misaligned hole so the retaining screw won’t go fully into position. Can be easily remedied. Drawback: this machine is heavy. Thus difficult to move... more
Douglas Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Douglas,
Thanks for the review. You are correct about the weight of the machine. We had to make it heavy to withstand dropping logs on it everyday. We expect that weight is worth it as you continue to use your machine over the coming years. Sorry about the bolt hole, I assume you tried loosening the other 3 to see if there was enough play to get the fourth one in? If that doesn't work, give us a call, we will help square it away.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Sam D.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/30/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
10 Ton Electric Log Splitter
I love it. It has made my job splitting logs so much easier. I would recommend it to any one needing to split wood that has electricity available close by. The only thing that I would do to make it better is to make the wheels wider because it is a little top heavy when you try to move it around.
Sam Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Sam,
Thanks for the great review we are glad to hear it meet your expectations.

Thanks for buying a boss!

Ron
Boss Industrial
more
Sam's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very good experience and fast shipping."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Ronald K.
Ellison Bay, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/8/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great!!!
I waited a few months to write so I could better evaluate my 10T20. I split more than four cords of wood. I love it.

We live in a condo development so a quiet machine is appreciated by all the neighbors.

We have been so pleased with the unit that my wife has probably convinced two neighbors to get one themselves. Ron K.
Ronald Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Ronald,
Thanks for the review. We appreciate it. If you need anything please feel free to let us know.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Allen K.
Newaygo, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/18/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
11
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome
After my 7-ton electric log splitter was stolen, I needed another one, and didn't want a gas one. Was looking at the website for an electric log splitter, and seen the 10-ton dual action and I was amazed.

No more crouching over to split wood, no more watching the log fall off the splitter. With the dual action not having to wait for the wedge to retract.
Allen Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Allen,
Thanks for your review. Sorry the last one was stolen, but I am glad to know you are happy with your new 10 ton.

If you need anything, feel free to let us know.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Allen's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The dual action is great, I can split wood a lot faster now . I have already split up one tree I cut down, and it split everything without any hesitation. I like the one-handed lever, keeps your other hand free to keep the wood in place. The rails on the side are nice to move the wood around....Awesome splitter...wish I bought it sooner...."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael M.
Buda, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/15/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAR.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Splitter For Light Work
I bought this about a year ago, and have used it on several occasions, but not real frequently. The shipping container was outstanding, and including a steel frame to prevent damage in shipping (wish I could say that for more heavy items I've bought online). Some assembly required, but not much and holes lined up properly.

The weight might be a problem during assembly, but I had a floor crane so I did not have to deal with that. I wanted an electric splitter, because I knew there would... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Packaging
Cons: Hard To Move
Michael Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Michael,
Thanks for your review. I agree that it is a great electric splitter! It is also a little heavy to be pulling around too often. However the weight is what gives the machine its durability! It is built tough because we know hard our users work, and work our machines.

If you need anything, feel free to let us know.
Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Michael's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"In addition to the log splitter, I've bought a pressure washer through PED. My experience has been that the folks that handle their product inquiry calls are reasonably knowledgeable and quite helpful in sorting through the many alternatives. I've never gotten the sense they're trying to push a particular product. In my mind, that's THE thing that matters when someone selling something also provides advice."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Steven L.
Paris, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/19/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
10
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Love This Machine
Have only split a couple of cords but love the rate of split moving right to left and back again. Love the log catcher on each side to keep me splitting both directions.
Steven Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Steven,
Thanks for the review. If you have any questions or need anything - feel free to let us know.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael L.
Pampa, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/12/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
05
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Amazing Machine!!!
Got this unit for my dad who is a rancher and recently had a stroke. He lost the use of his right hand and 50% of his right leg. He could no longer pull gas powered ropes and tend to maintenance like before. The Boss has been a life saver!
Michael Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Michael,
Thank you for the review. We appreciate all of them. Glad we can help out with your dad. If you, or he, ever need anything feel free to let us know.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Kelly
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
55 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
27
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
First Impressions Nov 13
I am 57 and not easily impressed. I will write this review with the caveat, it’s a first impression. If the future allows I will come back and update or write a follow up review next year. I have a beautiful 30x40 workshop that is loaded with tools of every kind. I am a “Tim Allen” around the house.

I spent several weeks studying splitters. I read as many reviews as I could find. Interesting there are not many reviews on this machine. I chose this machine because the reviews on most... more
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Store
Kelly Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Kelly,
Wow, I need to put you on our marketing team. Thank you for writing such an in depth customer review of our 10 ton log splitter. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to research our company. If everyone would take the same care in their product selection process, I know we would sell more log splitters.

Your review has been found to be one of the most helpful for others making a buying decision. So I will also thank you on behalf of the entire customer base here at Log Splitters Direct.

If you need anything at all, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
417
Peter H.
Southbury, CT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/31/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
09
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Leaking Hydraulic Fluid
After only an hour of use the log splitter was leaking hydraulic fluid right onto the electric motor. I followed the directions to a t, opened the vent plug checked the fluid etc. Very disappointing I don't see how this is a recommended splitter.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet
Cons: Heavy, Low Quality, Unreliable
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Peter,
We are sorry you had some trouble with your machine. Now that we have the ability to respond to reviews, we can reply to you directly. All of our machines have a two year residential use warranty so I hope that you have already contacted our warranty department to get your machine squared away. 800-780-2677 is the number. If you haven't called, please do because your machine is still covered!
more
Was this review helpful?
346
Garwood J.
Buffalo, WY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/22/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
16
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
I bought the ED10T20 as a home log splitter. I burn 2 to 3 cords of wood, mostly Lodge Pole and Ponderosa Pine each winter. The machine makes short work of it. It was relatively easy to set up once it arrived but it is heavy - 200+ pounds. After about 1.5 hours of use it decided it would only run the ram in one direction. I called Boss Industrial and they immediately said they would send a new control valve. After talking with Boss I took the old valve off and discovered that a bolt holding an... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Fast, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy
Garwood Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Garwood,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad you found the bolt and it was an easy fix. I am not surprised that we sent out a whole new valve assembly though. We take customer service serious, and would much rather replace the valve than have you struggle trying to trouble shoot any potential problem. If you ever need anything else, you know we are here to help.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
210
Pete H.
Mckinney, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/31/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
06
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Very Disappointing
This is a follow-up from my review back in June 2013. It is leaking hydraulic fluid. I followed the instructions, opened the air valve, etc… None-the-less, it is leaking. Now to evaluate the cost of shipping it back for warranty or to find someone local that works on hydraulics.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Fast
Cons: Low Quality, Heavy, Unreliable, Durability
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Pete,
We are sorry you had trouble with a leak. Hydraulics can be touchy and a loose hose clamp or a roughly bumped fitting can cause a leak. One of the best reasons to buy our product is our industry leading two year warranty. Your machine is still under factory warranty.

Customers do not need to find a repair shop, we have a service network in place. Most concerns can be handled by our tech department over the phone, but if it is needed we will direct you to a local service repair facility. You should call 800-780-2677 with any warranty related claims, and we will be happy to assist you.

We appreciate this feedback as well as your initial 5 star review.
more
Was this review helpful?
309
Kirk
Dearborn, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/26/13
REVIEWED
APR.
15
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome
I bought the 10 ton electric splitter in March 2013. So far works great. I split over 3 cords. Oak, Maple and old solid dried pieces of Ash. Many logs weighing over 40 lbs. It handled logs with knots well also. I'm glad I went with the 10 ton instead of the 8 ton. I bought a 25 foot heavy duty extension cord from Home Depot to handle to the power. So far no issues. Took about 10 minutes to assemble. In my order they forgot 2 small parts/pieces I called and the company and within... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Kirk,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate when customers take the time to share their experience with our products. This really allows others to get a feel for what we do, and how we treat people. Sorry about the missing part, but glad we took care of it fast for you.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
244
Pete H.
Mckinney, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/31/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
21
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
1st Wood Splitter
The BOSS 10 ton wood splitter is a solid machine. Does the job very well. Only fault - Wheels are difficult to balance equally without one of the wheels rubbing on the leg and the wheels should be about 3 to 6" further apart for better stability.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy
Pete Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Pete,
Thank you for taking the time to review. We have added some spacers and washers to address the wheel spacing. It is customers like you who take the time to review our products that allow us to continue to improve.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
160
Kelly
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
55 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
28
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Update Review After 1st Season
June 2014 update. I used the splitter all winter long. I think I split about 3 cords of wood. I love this splitter. I split some huge logs. Most were 16" long, some with diameters as large as 24”. I continued to use the splitter in the shop all winter. It was more convenient to tow a wagon full of wood over to the shop. I could stay warm and dry. I carried it down to the neighbors and split a cord of wood right off the back of the pickup. Of course I had to remove the legs to do that I... more
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
Kelly Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Kelly,
Thank you for the review. If you call our tech support we may be able to help identify the seepage and provide a new o-ring or whatever is needed to shore it up.
Glad it is working so well for you. If you need us, we are here!

Thanks for buying a Boss!
John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
140
Ira H.
Yelm, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/20/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
11
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Overall Good Log Splitter
I like the log splitter the only problem I have had is the hydraulic fluid is leaking out. It is very fast and quiet, moderately heavy but does a great job of splitting logs.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Price, Fast
Ira Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Ira,
Thanks for your review. If you are still having any leaking issues, please call our warranty department at 800-780-2677. Your machine is still covered under our 2 year factory warranty.
more
Was this review helpful?
142
Todd B.
Middletown, CT
REVIEWED
MAY.
27
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Simply Fantastic
I was not sure this splitter could do the job but was quickly proven wrong. I have limited storage space and cannot stand gas powered equipment giving me a hassle when I need it to do a job. This is the best for your average homeowner. I split three cords in less than nine hours due to the dual cutting blade. Don't hesitate in purchasing this little tough guy splitter. Built very well and it out worked me.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Todd,
Thank you for your review. I am glad we proved you wrong! Many consumers prefer electric motors for the plug and play factor. Not having to worry about storing gas, and the opportunity to split wood in an enclosed area. Splitting a cord in 3 hours is doing some work! Might I recommend finding a neighborhood teenager to lend a hand? You can always let them do the lifting, so we don't out work you next time.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
175
Michael O.
Philadelphia, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/22/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
22
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Simply More Than I Expected
I'll make it short and sweet. Perfect! Great piece of equipment and also excellent to use and not disturb my neighbors since I live at the end of a row home.

Just typing this took longer than splitting one piece of wood!
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Heavy
Michael Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Michael,
Great review. We appreciate you taking the time to write about Boss Industrial and our Dual Action Electric 10 Ton. If you ever need anything, let us know.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
P.S. This response just took longer than splitting that piece of wood again in the other direction!
more
Michael Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"The delivery date was actually a day earlier than I expected."
 more
Was this review helpful?
90
Mike T.
Salem, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/4/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
31
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy Wood Burner
I never expected that I would be willing to write a review, but my new BOSS 10-Ton is such a great piece o' work that I must share my opinion with anyone who cares.

This machine in the hands of a Home Genius does not stop (except for the end of the piston length) even when you split crotch wood, weird grain, or knots. The weight of the machine is a bit heavy, but this adds to stability on firm ground.

The table is well built and holds rather large rounds that were thrown on it. The dual... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Quiet, Only One Motor That Always Starts Needs No Maintenance Or Gas
Cons: I Got Nothing To Complain About
Mike Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Mike,
Don't worry, we won't let anyone take it away. Thanks for the great review!
more
Was this review helpful?
70
Jim B.
Dahlonega, GA
REVIEWED
OCT.
22
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Well Built, No Cheap Parts On It.
I am a maintenance supervisor for a camp in North Georgia. We have 5 fire pits and have to split 5-8 loads a year. I took a chance on getting this machine, but am pleasantly surprised and how well it worked. I had some wet 18 inch cherry wood chunks that are as knarley and twisty as they come. This machine had no problem splitting them at all. I had some white oak that was 26 In. in diameter...no problem!

A couple of cons: 1. The machine dumped over as I was pulling it with the riding mower... more
Pros: Exceeded Expectations, Durable, Nothing Is Cheaply Made On This Splitter
Cons: A Couple Of Cons 1 The Machine Dumped Over As I Was Pulling It
Jim Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Jim,
Thanks for the review and the advice on the ram. We are always looking for ideas to improve our machines.

I would be careful pulling this with your lawn tractor as it was not designed to be pulled like a trailer. The front leg needs to be off the ground and pulling it by hand will give you more control when relocating the splitter.

Thank you for also noticing and commenting on our well built quality.

We appreciate the great feedback, and wish you well with the camp.
more
Was this review helpful?
60
Judy B.
Lake Nebagamon, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/6/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
19
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Old Man's Toy
I bought the splitter for my husband who has heart issues.

He absolutely loves this machine and wishes that he had bought one years ago.

Way to go guys!
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations, Durable
Cons: Heavy
Judy Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Judy,
Thank you for the review. We appreciate the encouragement! Hope you guys get to enjoy it for many, many years together.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
60
Ralph S.
Fryeburg, ME
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/3/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
25
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Questionable Quality Control
My new unit began dripping hydraulic fluid within the first 1/4 cord. Simple fix, the leaking connection was basically hand tightened only, but it makes you wonder about Boss Industrial's quality controls.
Ralph Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Ralph,
Thank you for the review. We know that from time to time, things rattle loose in shipping. Glad it was a quick easy fix, but know that if you ever have a problem with the machine, we are here to help. We stand behind our machines, and have the best warranty on the market! 2 Year bumper to bumper - including the hydraulics.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
50
Joseph O.
Crownsville, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/10/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It
I set it up in my garage, and it works perfectly. I can't say enough good things. It was low on hydraulic fluid, but that is a minor issue.

Thanks for a great product.
Joseph Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Joseph,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We appreciate your comments and are sorry you were a little low on oil. You also mentioned our steel crate design. We are trying to eliminate any major shipping damage by beefing up our packaging. Glad you approve.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Joseph's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Was packed so well. Never received an item so well packaged. Steel and thick wood. Great job."
 more
Was this review helpful?
50
Jeff H.
Milwaukee, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/25/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
21
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine.
I heat with almost all wood in S E WI. I have in past years used electric splitters (5 ton). They only last 2 seasons. This machine at 10 ton is doing more than double the work. It has done more in 2 weeks than what the other did in 5 weeks. My annual consumption is about 4-1/2 cords. It has made my splitting much easier.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Durable, High Quality
Cons: Heavy
Jeff Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Jeff,
Thanks for your review. This machine is heavy, but it is heavy duty too. Glad we are doubling your work rate and making it easier for you.

Thanks for buyiing a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
50
Jeff D.
Hayward, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/21/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
14
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Boss 10-ton
I was skeptical of an electrical log splitter, but watched a couple of videos and figured I would give it a try. The Boss does everything I need it to do and exceeded all my expectations. No problem with oak cut just a month before.

It took less than an hour to pull it out of the box and get it up and running. Heavy duty machine. The wheels could be a little bigger for moving around, but the rest of the machine is well designed and the double edged wedge saves a lot of time.
Jeff Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Jeff,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate each and every comment we read. Glad the machine handles the fresh cut Oak to your satisfaction!


Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
40
Henry
Hopkinton, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/11/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
02
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Works Well Once Assembled
I wanted a log splitter that had enough power to split the Ash and Wild Cherry logs that I have without requiring the maintenance required by a gas engine. So, I bought this electric log splitter hoping that it would do that. The splitter arrived quickly. The box was a bit beat up, but the splitter was fine. The splitter comes without the wheels or the front support attached or the log supports attached. Attaching the wheels turned out to be a bit of a project since I did it myself.

Once... more
Henry Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Henry,
Thanks for the review. Working with these splitters every day I can attest that the 10 Ton is not a light weight. It is heavy and I do recommend a second set of hands when assembling them. I also agree that while this machine is not a speed demon - it will bust apart just about anything you can load into it by hand!

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
30
Ronald P.
Jamestown, KY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/25/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect For Home Use!
This log splitter is great for home use. I have it in my garage for splitting larger logs in to smaller ones. My wife just loves it and with it being electric, she has no problems starting it. It is a bit top heavy, however it is very stable on a hard or concrete surface. Being waist high makes it very convenient to use.

It has plenty of splitting power and I have been splitting most oak. The dual splitting head saves you a lot of time when you can split in both directions. I feel certain... more
Ronald Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Ronald,
Thank you for your review! I appreciate the kinds words and quote about dealing with us. I hope everyone can say that regardless of which machine or company they choose. If you ever have any questions or need anything, please feel free to reach out to us. We are here to help.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Ronald's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"This is a good company to deal with!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Paul G.
Schenectady, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/21/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
20
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quit Using An Axe And Buy This Splitter
I bought the Boss Industrial 10-Ton Horizontal Dual-Action Electric Log Splitter to go inside my 12' x 20' wood shed. It works great and is well built. It's perfect for people who want to split wood inside a structure.
Paul Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Paul,
Thank you for the review. I don't think I could have said it any better myself.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
20
John A.
Berkeley Springs, WV
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/22/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A 10 Ton Workhorse!!
I have 3.8 acres of land in the wonderful state of West Virginia and lots of different varieties of trees, Oak, Maple, Hickory, couple of Locusts and my neighbor wanted to get rid of Cherry wood so I took it. You see, I have a wood stove in a mobile home and this is my main source of heat in the winter. I was looking for an electric log splitter so I don't have to deal with the gas and heavy maintenance that comes with gas splitters. Well, I picked a great 10 ton workhorse!!! This thing splits... more
John Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
John,
Thank you for the review.

I would be happy to help figure out your breather leak? Is the machine overfilled?
Perhaps we can discuss it - please call, email, or go to our website and use our contact us form. We are happy to help.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
800-780-2677
more
John's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"214 Pounds of power!! My" Red Baron" . I Love it!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
John S.
Goldendale, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/28/14
REVIEWED
APR.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Purchase
Bought this log splitter for my off grid location in Columbia River Gorge. I like to limit my number of engine's by purchasing electric tools where it makes sense.

In the gorge I have lots of pine, cedar and oak. Washington oak is extremely hard and the others softer woods. The 10-ton splits the oak without fail in two directions. I have split 5 cords of each type and rely on wood to heat Cabins etc. I would buy again!
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Quiet, Durable
John Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
John,
Thank you for the review. Nice to know we can hold our own off grid too! Washington Oak is a good test for any electric log splitter - thanks for mentioning it.

If you ever need anything, please feel free to let us know.


Thanks for buying a Boss,

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
21
Dan W.
Dodson, MT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/17/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Thing I Have Ever Bought
I have yet to find a block it will not split. I'm getting up in the years and losing a lot of things: mind, hair, teeth, etc. But most of all, I'm losing strength, so I did put a four inch caster wheel on the front leg and changed to 12 inch tires.

I can lead it around the shop with one finger. If the wheels were 6 to 10 inches further apart, it would make it a little more stable. The dual action is wonderful. The fan blowing off the motor blows on you and keeps you cool.

Log Splitters... more
Dan Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Dan,
That is quite an endorsement Dan. Thank you for taking the time to review our log splitter. Great idea with the caster up front as well. If you ever need anything - just give us a call.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
10
William C.
Newport, WA
REVIEWED
JAN.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Boss Is Right
Tough. Heavy duty. So hefty it is a bit difficult to move about. But can it ever split wood! Great tool.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations, Durable
Cons: Heavy
William Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
William,
Thank you for your review! I am glad you approve, and we appreciate the 5 Stars.
Let us know if we can ever be of service.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Bruce W.
Southhampton, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/29/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Electric Really Makes Things Easier
My son and I went together on this splitter. We always wanted a splitter and thought gas was the only good way to go. A relative bought a 5-ton electric splitter and told us how well it worked. We went with the Boss 10-ton because of the extra tonnage and the fact that it operates in both directions making the whole process move faster.

So far so good with splitting wood. Because there are end plates at both ends, you can only work with pieces of log that fit between the end pieces. We will... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, High Quality, Easy To Store
Cons: Heavy
Bruce Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Bruce,
Thank you for your review! We appreciate that you took the time to write. The end plates are needed to hold the log so the blade can push against them, and as for limbs, you just have to rotate the log a bit to get around any really tough spots. The 10 ton will usually split just about anything you can lift onto it by hand.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Bruce's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Very happy with product, performance to date, ease of use."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Russell I.
Alachua, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/12/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Heavy Duty Electric Splitter
Received Log Splitter promptly (within 1 week). Delivered to house and didn't need the optional lift gate. The truck driver took it off truck on a pallet and left it in my front yard. I needed some help to assemble (It is very heavy). Was easy to assemble and has so far met all expectations.

I have not used it much and will provide another review after a couple of months. The height of the splitter and the rails make splitting wood that much easier. No bending over. The machine is very... more
Russell Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Russell,
Thank you for your review. You're right - this machine is heavy and heavy duty! We appreciate your comment about the stability of the machine. In order for it to have the power and be able to split those 20" logs, it has to be heavy. So please be careful when you are moving it, especially on uneven terrain. Once you have it where you want it - it sure is a work horse. I look forward to reading your next review.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Jack O.
Lewisburg, WV
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/6/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It Is The Boss!
I purchased my splitter several months ago and was waiting until I had used it for a while before I composed my review. The unit arrived in less than a week in a cardboard box surrounded by a HEAVY DUTY metal frame. I ordered the lift-gate service and was able to slide the box from the delivery truck right into the back of my minivan.

Assembly went well, but you do need two people to do it safely. There was one issue of the axle hole on one of the legs not being drilled large enough so... more
Jack Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Jack,
Thank you for the review. We appreciate all of them, and we are glad we were able to walk you through the leak.

The wheelbase is being reviewed to see if there are changes that make sense.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Brenda C.
Blissfield, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/29/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
19
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love My New Toy!!!
I am a 61 year old woman and needed a splitter I could handle. I love this unit. The two way action cuts my time in half, and makes it so much more fun. The cutting wedge cuts like butter. Because of that the wood no longer dangerously shoots off the splitter like it did with my last splitter. One limitation is that it is difficult to move.

I have it in a garage with a cement floor and it takes a lot of effort to move it a few feet. I could never move it outdoors. But that is not a... more
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Durable, Fast
Cons: Heavy, Faulty Side Rack That Needs Replaced
Brenda Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Brenda,
Hi, and thanks for the review. You will be happy to know that a new log rack was already ordered for you and you should see it soon. If you need anything else, please feel free to let us know.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John Collier
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
John B.
Menlo Park, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/17/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Product. Heavy-duty....
I've been splitting firewood for personal use for many years, but sometimes the wood has been too tough to safely split by hand, so I decided to explore getting a powered splitter. I've been extremely happy with this purchase so far (3-4 full days of use spread out over a few weeks). I've split multiple types of wood, including logs that were over 25" in diameter and some incredibly knotty pieces. Sometimes it takes a little effort (really only on the oversize pieces or tough knots),... more
John Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
John,
Thanks for the great review. It is full of useful information for other consumers. If you ever have any questions or need us, we are here and happy to help.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
John's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Seemed to be very price competitive relative to other vendors with similar prices."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Crystal H.
Red Feather Lakes, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/12/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No Cupholder :(
We use about 5 cords of split wood through the winter, which usually we split by hand and takes us months of regularly picking away at it. We just finished those 5 cords in 3 days without ever breaking a sweat!!!!! My only complaint would be that there is no cup holder! This machine is amazing, it even split a 20" log with no problems, I can't tell you how much work, time, frustration and injuries this is saving us!
Crystal Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Crystal,
Thank you for the review! I will let the engineering team know they missed the cup holder for you!

Perhaps a new accessory is in order?

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert M.
Essex JCT., VT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/9/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
30
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Never Write Reviews For Anything But Had To Take The Time To
I spent a lot of time looking into the possibility of an electric log splitter, and was somewhat hesitant. So glad I found this website and the 10-ton splitter. This unit is great. I spent approximately 4 hrs. this past weekend splitting wood that I couldn't even dent with an ax and this splitter worked great. Very pleased w/ the splitter and the shipping company.Very glad I got the 10 ton vs. 8 ton.
Robert Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Robert,
Thank you for the review. The 10 ton is my favorite electric splitter as well!

If you ever need anything please feel free to let us know.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Scott V.
Machias, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/26/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
18
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Almost Perfect
Great splitter, works even better than expected. The only problem I had was the holes for the stand do not even come close to lining up. I ended up drilling new holes. Not sure how they could not have seen this on the manufacturing floor, but they missed it.
Scott Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Scott,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all of them.
I will never claim we are perfect so almost perfect is getting darn close!

Sorry for the mishap, the legs are not assembled in the factory on this one, but I have notified the factory manager to try and watch for this in the future. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

And...thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Gwynne P.
Santa Monica, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/14/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Now What?!!!!
It set up very quickly but does need an extra pair of hands and some kind of saw horse. Also make sure you have some AW30 hydraulic fluid on hand as well as a 12 ga extension cord.
I had been culling dead and down logs from the local forest for my mountain cabin. Two weeks later they are all split and I have my winter's quota. Normally this would have been an ongoing for four or five months. So now what?!!!!
Gwynne Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Gwynne,
Thank you for the review....
I wanted to point out that you should use AW32 hydraulic fluid if you are topping off, or changing the oil on one of our machines.

NOW WHAT? - How about sit back, relax, and enjoy the view from that mountain cabin front porch? Maybe grab a pair of binoculars and go bird watching, or hiking? I know - you could call all of your mountain cabin neighbors and tell them to bring their firewood over that needs to be split so you can be the best mountain cabin neighbor in CA!

If all else fails - you can keep splitting wood - I know it isn't as much work as it used to be, and probably not nearly the aerobic workout - but isn't that the point?

Enjoy your free time - and...
Thank you for buying a BOSS!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Gwynne P.
Santa Monica, CA
REVIEWED
JUL.
06
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Entertain Your Guests
There is something seductive about the power and tempo of a log splitter at work, like watching a fire, or waves crashing.
I really do like this splitter, it does everything I need and certainly an improvement over a sledge and wedge. It's very solid, didn't take long to assemble. Just make sure you have the hydraulic fluid and appropriate extension cord on hand before you start. Also you do need a second pair of hands to lift the body to put the legs on.
Gwynne Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Gwynne,
Thank you for your review. If you have any questions, please feel free to let us know.


Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert H.
Keystone Heights, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/22/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best In Class (electric 10-ton)
This Boss 10-Ton is really the most practical way to split all your fire wood. Standing up is the way to go. When you bring your logs in for splitting, they are probably elevated already on a cart or the back of your truck. Not much additional heavy lifting or bending needed to get your logs positioned for splitting.

I have not found a log that this unit couldn't split…. and right down close to kindling if need be!

Dual action, stand-up is the "cats meow."

I've had mine for... more
Robert Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Robert,
Thank you for the review. Happy to know that you have been sharing too! We appreciate the business and you spreading the word about Boss!

Thank you for buying 2 Bosses!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Randall J.
Platina, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/7/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
30
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Great Machine
Proved to be a very powerful machine. Splits gnarly, knotty, twisted grain, hard and soft woods with ease Haven't found anything I can't split. Have successfully split up to 24" rounds. Any bigger and I half them first. The dual action wedge doubles production and the side racks work great to keep wood from dropping off the tray so that you don't have to pick up pieces.

Machine sits about 3 feet high so splitting is easy on your back. The only difficulties I found are if you want... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Durable, Easy To Store
Cons: Heavy
Randall Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Randall,
Thank you for writing your review. We agree that a it can be a bit of a bear to move it great distances by yourself. It is built tough and heavy so that it will last. We do not suggest you try towing it, as it is not meant to be pulled around with any real speed. We would recommend a lower trailer or having a buddy or two help load it in the truck.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jonnie R.
Hayesville, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/17/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Boss 10 Ton Electric Log Splitter Is Unbelievably Great!
I took a risk picking out a log splitter. Would the big guy like it?a huge leap of faith to tread where no wife should go...picking out a major tool for a tool man. I didn't have a budget for a gas powered splitter. I took a risk and chose this unit because of the excellent reviews.

My husband was surprised to receive the splitter but very skeptical of a electric Log Splitter.

I am pleased to tell everyone that he is one happy guy! This splitter is unbelievably wonderful. I can even use... more
Jonnie Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Jonnie,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are glad that your husband likes the log splitter. Nice to see that you are using it as well. We have a lot of women clients that love how easy our machines are to use and maintain.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Jonnie's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very easy to order. Great service. I ordered it a few days before Christmas. Didn't arrive in time and I'd dint expect it to...but it came a couple days after. I was thrilled to get it in less than a week. I was surprise the package was so small. Very little to put together. It was up and running so fast. I am very please with all aspects of ordering and receiving the Boss Log Splitter"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Boss Industrial ED10T20 reviews.Compare our Boss Industrial ED10T20 ratings. Find the Boss Industrial ED10T20 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct