Your Cart @ Power Equipment Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
< Back to Product

Boss Industrial EC5T20 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$349.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$349.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$349.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
Boss Industrial EC5T20 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
5.0 out of 55.0 out of 55.0 out of 55.0 out of 55.0 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (5)
Price (3)
Easy To Store (2)
High Quality (2)
Exceeded Expectations (1)
Cons
Packaging (2)
Wheels Are Very Cheap An... (1)
Bad Instructions (1)
100% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
23 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Dale, the Log Splitter Expert
Power Equipment Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
36 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
913 Helpful Votes
Power Equipment Direct Recommended

This convenient electric model is strong enough to split logs the size most of us burn at home and light enough to easily be moved to different locations. At 110lbs this little splitter really packs a punch. Using 2,700 psi of hydraulic pressure you can split logs 10 in diameter and 20.5 long. Log diameter may vary based on wood type and how long ago the tree was cut down.

One hand lever operation with no additional button to push frees up your second hand to move previously split logs... more
Dale Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
5621
Paul Steinbrink
Kearney, NE
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/5/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JAN.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Not Your Normal Use
We needed a safe clean way to split our plants in a greenhouse to prepare plants for spring. This concept with a little additions worked way above our expectations.

The machine is so easy to use and very durable. Clean operation and safe for all levels of employees to use. Could not be happier.
Paul Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Paul,
I have to admit...this is the first time I have ever seen someone splitting potted plants! I am glad the machine suits your needs.
If you ever need anything else, please let us know.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Brad M.
Oxford, NE
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/24/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Splitter
Very nice splitter. Bought the stand to go with it. So glad I did. I really like the one hand control for the splitter. Helps when splitting logs that are not perfectly round. I use it in my garage to split starter wood. Would give a 5 star rating.
Brad Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Brad,
Thanks for the review. We appreciate each and every one. If you need us feel free to let us know.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Donald J.
Marysville, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/17/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
09
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Better Than Expected
Shipping was fast and easy, couldn't believe shipping was free !!! I was surprised at how quiet this unit is, I purchased this so I could split firewood at my leisure, I get firewood rounds from a local sawmill and have used their 20 ton splitter to split, only I could only use it on days they were closed which I understand of course but between cutting the rounds, splitting and loading into my truck, taking them home, unloading, stacking-- was getting to me.

Especially since I try to get... more
Donald Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Donald,
Thanks for the review. Nice to hear we are better than expected!
If you need anything, please feel free to let us know.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Donald's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Beyond my expectations"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Martin F.
Roseburg, OR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/30/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect For My Needs
I purchase madrone wood that has already been split once, but I need to reduce the logs to a smaller size which I use to feed my wood-fired pizza oven.

I built a sturdy table and set the splitter on the table so I can work at a comfortable height. It splits the madrone easily to any size, all the way down to kindling if I need it.

One-hand operation makes it easy to operate. Much safer and faster than splitting by hand. I should have purchased this years ago!
Martin Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Martin,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we appreciate it.

If you ever need anything feel free to let us know.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.

PS - Madrone...now that's a pizza I want to try!
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Steven B.
Fairhaven, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/10/16
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAY.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Product
I purchased this item, and it's lived up to its expectation and more. I would highly recommend this to a weekend warrior. I am very satisfied...
Steven Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Steven,
Thank you for the review. Glad that we are living up to your expectations. If you need anything, please feel free to give us a call.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Steven B.
Fairhaven, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/10/16
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAY.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Splitter
This splitter works like a charm it does an awesome job split an half of cord in record time better than an axe would recommend this item to all.
Steven Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Steven,
Thanks for the review and glad it is working well for you.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Steven's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"these people were the best i all aspect with my purchase"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
John M.
Dallas, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/4/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Splitter
Bought this splitter for small job at cabin. Everything is as advertised. Couldn't be happier with the easy operation.
John Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
John,
Thank you for the review. If you ever need anything, please feel free to let us know.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Arden W.
Hastings, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/1/16
REVIEWED
JAN.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Should Have Gotten One Of These Sooner.
Very functional, works perfectly for what I need. Never slows down - pops wood like hot butter.
Arden Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Arden,
Thanks for the review. We appreciate it.
If you ever need anything, please let us know.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Gary K.
West, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/28/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
20
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Big Surprise
Only after watching a couple of videos and reading numerous reviews did I even consider an electric log splitter. I noticed this one looked impressive in action so I eventually chose it. It cost 349.00 or 399.00.

I am VERY satisfied with this log splitter. As a matter of fact I am VERY impressed. Log splitters direct is worthy of praise as well. Be sure and use a number 12 extension. 14 is normal and most common generally. Local home improvement store had one for 25.00 dollars.
Gary Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Gary,
Thank you for the review. We are glad you were/are impressed! If you need anything please let us know.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Gary's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"It was so convenient. Things were as promised. I really do not know how this experience could have been any better. Thanks."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Kenneth & Mary Blair
Winchester, KY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/9/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love This Log Splitter!
Easy to use, works great! We bought one for us and our son also has one, great value for the price, good little machine.
Kenneth Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Kenneth,
Thank you for the review. We appreciate all of them. If you ever need anything feel free to let us know.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Kenneth's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great sales people, great FedEx service! Very happy with both, Sincerely, Mary Blair"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Chris M.
Prosperity, SC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/5/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
30
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
"the" 5 Ton Splitter
Awesome splitter. Very fast cycle time, auto return, one hand operation is a plus. Light, compact unit even my kids could use. Easily splits 10" Poplar that was only 1 month old.

When I received it, it was low on hydraulic oil, couldn't use it until I went to tractor supply to get some. Highly recommend this item.
Chris Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Chris,
Thank you for the review. We appreciate all of them. If you ever need anything feel free to let us know.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jack S.
Overland Park, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/22/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
06
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Value For Small Jobs
I wanted to purchase a medium duty electric splitter for two reasons. First, I usually purchase pre-split wood and sometimes want to further split the pieces to provide shorter burn time or a variety of sizes for my fires. I was tired of splitting by hand, so I looked for a lightweight electric model I could use in the basement. Secondly, my neighbor felled a tree and I got some of the limbs and wanted to split them.

After researching several sites and models, I ordered the Boss EC5T20... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, High Quality, 4 Way Splitter Accessory
Jack Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Jack,
Great review with lots of detail!
To address a couple of your cons: We are upgrading wheels and this should help with a bit of stability.

When checking the oil, we recommend unscrewing the handle so you do not rest the unit on the handle alone. Alternatively you can place a small block of wood under the machine to prevent the handle from taking the weight.

The third thing you listed as a con is actually our internal overload protection. If you place a log in the machine that takes more force than allowed, the machine stops pushing automatically so you don't blow a seal or o-ring by forcing the machine to hard. You have to cycle the power so that you realize what happened, and can adjust the log accordingly. Many times just rotating it or flipping it over will allow the splitter to do the job.

Thanks again for the review - it is very helpful to others considering our product.
Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Jack Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great customer service...they found an error in my order and contacted me to correct it before shipping. Shipping was fast and I was updated in email every step of the way."
 more
Was this review helpful?
390
Jim Carper
Merrifield, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/6/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
27
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Second Generation Splitter
This is my second electric log splitter. I used the first one for over 4 years before the nut came off the pull rod. This, of course, bent the cylinder shaft in a very smooth curve. So my word of advice is to watch you're nuts, on the pull rods. They will work loose, and that will kill your splitter.

My new Boss Wood Splitter works with one hand, has a much faster operating speed, has a longer operating distance, and is more powerful. That all makes splitting dry poplar and gnarly red... more
Jim Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Jim,
Thank you for your product review. We appreciate it, and it helps others make a good buying decision. I am pleased to read that you like your Boss Industrial splitter better than your last one! If you have any other questions or comments, you can direct them to our customer service team. We are always happy to help.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John Collier
Sales Manager
more
Jim's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I started slitting wood when I was 9 or 10 years old. I am now 70 and slowing down a little bit. I have split wood (3-10 cords a year) steady for the past 30 years. I have used about every thing made that will slit wood. Using the Boss Wood Splitter makes the job fun."
 more
Was this review helpful?
120
Renae S.
East Helena, MT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/10/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
02
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It!
This is absolutely the best investment I have ever made, when it comes to firewood! I can't believe I went so long without one! Definitely a must get.
Renae Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Renae,
That is quite the endorsement. I won't spoil it with a long response!

Thank you for buying a Boss,

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
111
Jeffrey M.
Harrisburg, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/2/14
REVIEWED
MAR.
05
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Buy For The Money
I just bought this unit and it is a very well built unit with no shipping damage and it looks like a brick shit house looking to do some damage to my logs this weekend. Thank you Boss Industrial thank you.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Reliable, Easy To Store
Jeffrey Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Jeffrey,
You are more than welcome! Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I hope we did enough damage to your logs to live up to your expectations.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Jeffrey's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Good Buy For The Money."
 more
Was this review helpful?
188
Chuck L.
Rapid City, SD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/22/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
30
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Relieved
Splitter arrived as instructed in my special delivery instructions. Box condition had me concerned as it was bulging and top was punched through. After opening I found that the wood on top and the Styrofoam packing had been damaged but I was relieved to find the Splitter didn't have a scratch on it. Read instructions.

Others' comments were more helpful as I too may have missed the part about the pressure release valve opening. Checked fluid level, (good to go) opened valve, plugged in, ... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Bad Instructions, Packaging
Chuck Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Chuck,
Thank you for your review. You should be able to crack those 12" logs without too much trouble. If you do run into any issues, try to rotate the log 90 degrees or flip it over to hit it from another direction. If all else fails, flatten out the sides and shape it like a stop sign until you can reach the center of the log with the wedge. Then it should have no problems.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Chuck's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Everything from viewing website, comparing options to paying, selecting shipping instructions was easy and excellent."
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Toni R.
Woodbury, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/14/15
REVIEWED
APR.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fantastic Product!
Best product out there for the price. Easy to operate. Ready to go right out of the box. Easy to use, sturdy and dependable.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again
Toni Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Toni,
Thank you for the review. We appreciate it. Glad to see you think it is fantastic - so do we.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
30
Roger T.
Longmont, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/4/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Splitter
Very happy with this product.
Roger Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Roger,
Short and sweet! Thank you for taking the time to add your review. We appreciate it.
Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
30
Howard W.
Bushkill, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/5/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works As Advertised
The splitter worked great and I noted that it came with an Allen Wrench to check the fluid level as one of the past reviews complained about the lack of. It did not need fluid added!
Howard Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Howard,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share. If you ever need anything feel free to contact us.

Thank you for buying a BOSS!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Karen S.
Chaparral, NM
REVIEWED
AUG.
31
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Logs
I ordered this log splitter and I'm completely satisfied with the product, ships fast, box was in excellent condition. There was enough hydraulic oil to start with and was able to split 1/4 of a cord before having to put more oil in. I wish I could have bought this a long time ago. Thank you.
Karen Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Karen,
Thanks for the review. Just to let you know - when you fill with additional oil, keep the oil level at the lower of the two lines. Otherwise when you open your vent plug, your machine will push oil drips out the vent plug, or if you move it around with the vent plug open.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Frank D.
Cloudcroft, NM
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/7/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Tough Well Built Splitter
Got the splitter opened box , found one wheel damaged bad during shipping. No questions asked sent me a new wheel. Set up and went to work it split everything I needed. It's well built and one hand operation is the way to go, can't see splitting all I had with a two hand operated one. It is a BEAST for the money. Looked at reviews on YouTube before I bought and they were right. A good splitter.
Frank Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Frank,
Thank you for the great review. I agree that one handed operation is much easier, and allows you to steady the logs until the ram gets it to the wedge! We encourage everyone to read the reviews, and Log Splitter Direct does a great job of allowing customers to post and read consumer feedback.

Your experience with our customer service and warranty department is what we strive to achieve with any customer issue. UPS has been known to bend a wheel rim or two on us, so we make sure we take care of it right away.

If you need anything else, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Michael S.
Armada, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/12/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
07
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Splitter
Received my boss splitter and immediately put it to work. This splitter is awesome. Went thru 8- 10 inches like butter. Moved to logs as large as 18 inches and again no problems. Read the grain or flip the log. It went thru them all. Well pleased with the quality and the operation of this equipment. Saved a lot of back breaking work and time. Quick operation is great. I highly recommend this splitter.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Fast, High Quality
Cons: Packaging, Wheels Are Very Cheap And Small
Michael Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Michael,
Thank you for the review!

Reading the grain, some common sense and a bit of patience can make the biggest logs crack with our 5 ton machine.

If you need anything, feel free to let us know.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Boss Industrial EC5T20 reviews.Compare our Boss Industrial EC5T20 ratings. Find the Boss Industrial EC5T20 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct