Your Cart @ Power Equipment Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
< Back to Product

Blue Max 8902 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Free Shipping$189.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
Free Shipping$189.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$189.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$219.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$219.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Blue Max 8902 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
3.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 5
Pros
Price (10)
Easy To Use (5)
Light Weight (4)
Easy To Store (3)
Durable (3)
Cons
Low Quality (6)
Unreliable (5)
Durability (4)
Difficult To Use (2)
Heavy (1)
57% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
46 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Bernie B.
Mount Gilead, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/28/15
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
NOV.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Pleased!!
Bought my second blue max chain saw because my first one got stolen! I use to cut 2 -3 cords of wood per year. Very pleased with product. Both started 6-7 pulls out of the box. 2 or 3 there after.

Cuts much faster than a couple of other name brands I've owned and operated. I like the weight and balance of the saw. I think this saw is more than adequate for the average person who wants one and that the value is exceptional!

PS - video represents saw very well.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Light Weight, Reliable
Bernie Recommends This Blue Max Product
Bernie's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Ordered on Wednesday and had by Friday. Much faster than I expected."
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Thompson F.
Ravenna, OH
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
OCT.
11
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Plastic Case-not Worth Money
Quick starting, plenty of power, still not a quality saw. While cutting down my first 10 inch pine tree the chain brake jammed. When I disassembled the saw the plastic case has distorted from the heat causing the mechanism to jam.

The only way to use saw is to disable the brake by removing the large spring (now I will have to be careful using it.) I could not return because I got it as a gift over a year ago and never used it.
Pros: Price, Light Weight
Cons: Low Quality, Case Is Plastic And Distorts From Heat
Thompson Does Not Recommend This Product
Thompson's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"Wife bought product so I can't honestly rate."
 more
Was this review helpful?
41
Phil P.
Rutherfordton, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/9/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Deal
This saw delivers as promised. Doesn't vibrate like cheap saws and is reasonably priced unlike comparably performing name brand saws.
Phil Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Gary M.
North Brookfield, MA
REVIEWED
DEC.
31
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Happy
Got the Blue Max 2-in-1, two years ago for Christmas. Have yet to have any problems. I use premixed fuel 94 octain. Cut a lot of pine, some hard wood.

Keep it well maintained. It starts on two pulls - cold. I use a 20 inch chain most of the time. New England
Gary Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Teresa K.
Universal, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/23/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Blue Max Chainsaw
I bought this for my husband for Christmas. He put the bar and chain on but hasn't tried to use it yet. So far he is thrilled. Just wondering what engine it has and if it can be easily repaired if it had to be taken in to a shop. How easy is it to get parts for it?
Teresa Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Regina L.
Headrick, OK
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/7/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JUN.
13
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Didn't Recieve
I didn't get the 14 inch blade and the its never cranked up have tried everything was wondering if the premixed gas 50 to 1 ratio would start it but need some help pls
Regina Does Not Recommend This Product
Dale, the Chain Saw Expert
Product Expert
Regina,
I am sorry to hear of the issues you are having in starting up your Blue Max chain saw. I would recommend reaching out to Blue Max's technical support at 800-348-5004, as they will be able to troubleshoot the issue with you or determine if the unit will need to be taken to a local service center.

Thank you for contacting us and I hope you have a great day.
more
Regina's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"love the products I know this a easy fix just don't know what."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Gary G.
Lima, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/14/16
REVIEWED
APR.
05
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Disappointed
Very very very hard to start. Not at all happy with it so far. Will keep working on it.
Gary Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Roger
Martinsville, IN
Total Helpful Votes
25 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JAN.
25
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Stihl Killer
I cut firewood to sell. I've bought Stihl Chainsaws for thirty years or more, but someone always wants my saws more than I do. The service I got from the Stihl dealer was beyond compare and Stihl saws are great. I just got fed up with them getting stolen. One day I was at a Big Box Store and they had Blue Max 8902 sets on sale for $99.00. I bought two, with a two year warranty for $8.00 more. I thought I could get along with a cheap saw, and maybe no one would steal them. One saw was a... more
Was this review helpful?
254
Jimmy T.
Leoma, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/3/15
Total Helpful Votes
17 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
FEB.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Saw Cuts Like A Sack Full Of Beavers
At first I was a little hesitant about buying a chainsaw that I've never heard of but for $189 delivered, I thought I'd take a chance. When I got the saw and unpacked it I was missing the 14" bar so I emailed the company on Feb.9, 2015 and to this day (Feb. 24, 2015) I have not heard anything from. Anyway I put my saw together and went outside and found a large tree that I had cut down a few weeks back and cut 10 slabs from it and it cut quick and straight. If you want a good deal on a... more
Jimmy Recommends This Blue Max Product
Dale, the Chain Saw Expert
Product Expert
Jimmy,
We are sorry to hear you have not received your 14" bar. In many instances the 14" bar is actually in the protective case. It is hidden away on the bottom of the case inside a scabbard. Please take a look on the outside of the protective case and double check it is not there. This is a pretty common request and in just about every instance it is in the slot hiding from plain site. Please see the link and the picture will show you what I am speaking of.

BlueMax hidden 14" bar compartment

In any case if it is not there, please let us know and we will make sure a 14" bar is sent out immediately. You can reach us at 800-710-7499.
more
Was this review helpful?
171
Jameson
Total Helpful Votes
14 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JAN.
12
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Value
Have had this saw for two years, cut better than 12 cord just fine . Its no Stihl or Husqvarna XP but can easily pay it self off in a strong day cutting wood and was very surprised how well it does perform. Great saw for around the house or the "prosumer" wood cutter . Also I only cut hard wood Ash, Elm, Sugar Maple, Cherry, Oak, etc. never had a issue.
Pros: Price, Exceeded Expectations, Value
Cons: Durability, Finding Parts
Jameson Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
140
Kristy R.
Alexander, AR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/5/14
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
OCT.
27
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Saw-but
This is the second one I have owned..the first one I burned up..my fault..ran it hard with a dull chain.but it gave a good fight..so I bought this one when they run they run..Problem I ha d with this one I bought and this will be good for you to know if you have a problem getting it to run out of the box..

I had a hell of a time getting it started when I did it would start and just die..okay if this happens to you heck the fuel line..mine was way to long and therefore kinked not allowing... more
Kristy Recommends This Blue Max Product
Kristy's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Super fast shipping"
 more
Was this review helpful?
120
Theron
REVIEWED
SEP.
23
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Great Saw, But...
Saw runs great when I first run it, but once it gets hot do not expect to restart until it cools off. I called the manufacturer and they said this was a common problem and it needed a carburetor adjustment. No one could tell me what adjustment it needed and I would need to take it in, at my expense, for repair.
Theron Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
110
Richard M.
Moreno Valley, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/24/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
20
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Runs Good But Leaks
Used the saw for first time. It started easily and cut very well. Now when off it leaks bar oil profusely.
Richard Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
143
Bryan B.
Helotes, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/18/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
31
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Don't Waste Your Money - Great Idea But A Bad Product
After reading several of the reviews on Chainsawsdirect.com as well as Lowes.com I decided to give the saw a shot. Features looked great and the 14" and 20" options were nice. However, the fuel line is an absolute pain - have had it in the shop 3 times to repair at $40 a visit and it is out of warranty. I should have just bought a higher quality product from the get-go. It is currently in-op and collecting dust in the shop and I purchased a Stihl.
Pros: Price, Easy To Store
Cons: Unreliable, Low Quality, Durability
Bryan Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
122
Thomas A.
Heiskell, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/9/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
04
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Price, Excellent Quality
Finally got to use the new saw after 8 months in storage and it started right up. Good saw, great price.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price, Reliable
Thomas Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
111
Marty
Boonville, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/4/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
30
2012
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Disappointed
This Blue Max chainsaw leaks oil from the chain lube really bad. When you finally get it started, it dies when you give it gas or try to make a cut. I am very disappointed.

I am sending it to local service dealer to see if they can fix it while it is under warranty. But, I am disappointed that I have to get service for a brand new item.

CSD RESPONDS: We understand your disappointment, and apologize for the inconvenience. We're sure the local service folks will take very good care of... more
Was this review helpful?
101
Jackie
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/2/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
26
2012
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Hard To Start
Just bought one took a while to get started. Ran for 10 minutes, now it won't start at all.
Was this review helpful?
90
Rob W.
Eldon, MO
REVIEWED
NOV.
19
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Firewood
I bought this saw cause the price was right and I thought it would be a great backup for my husky.
One problem I've found with this saw is there's no guard on the exhaust, and it catches the bark on fire, which when you turn the log over to finish cutting, it sets the leaves on fire. Then I had one heck of a fire! Besides an water hose, got any other suggestions?
Rob Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
80
Trish M.
Fountain Inn, SC
REVIEWED
MAY.
06
2014
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Husband Disappointed
I bought this chain saw for my husband as a Christmas present hoping I was getting him something of value. After 2 uses, and they were short and easy, the thing will not start again. What a disappointment as he used it 2 times in a year and a half due to the need and now it is not usable. Can't get any help due to time factor but have shown them the sticker is still on the chain! Really thanks and Merry Christmas for a waste of money!
Pros: Price
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable, Difficult To Use
Trish Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
102
Florante A.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/2/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
08
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Chain Saw Direct Rewiew
The Chain Saw that I have purchase from your company works very good. My brother in New Jersey told me that it works very well. He used it to cut branches of trees that were destroyed due to Typhoon Sandy. It doesn't vibrate too much and very handy when it is used. Hope you can have a new model which can pass the CARB so I can order it for my personal use here in California.
Was this review helpful?
91
Cesare T.
West Haven, CT
REVIEWED
SEP.
23
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
You'd Be Better Off With A Beaver Cutting Your Wood
Bought this product, used twice have fun finding blades, bogs down, loss of power, absolute piece of junk. Spend the extra for a name brand that is reliable.
Pros: There Are None
Cons: Unreliable, Too Many To Mention This Product Sucks
Cesare Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
103
Craig Gregory
Beaver Island, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/9/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
29
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Blue Max Combo
Love the chain saw will buy another as back up from who depends on price, Chainsaws Direct raised their price since I bought the saw and can now purchase it for old price local.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Craig Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
70
Marty N.
Boonville, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/4/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
05
2012
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Not Impressed
My new chain saw leaks oil. It is very difficult to start and it wont stay running.
Was this review helpful?
70
Daniel S.
Pine Hill, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/13/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
06
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
How Long It Took To Process
It took longer to process my order than it did to get the saw.
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Light Weight, Reliable
Cons: Expensive, Cheaper At Sears Outlet
Daniel Recommends This Blue Max Product
Dale, the Chain Saw Expert
Product Expert
Daniel,
We apologize for the delay in processing. With some items from our site, they do drop ship directly from the manufacturer and it can sometimes take a little longer for or to receive information directly from the shipper. This is a sore subject for us and we are looking to remedy this process with new systems so this situation will happen less if at all. We do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
more
Was this review helpful?
60
Randy
REVIEWED
NOV.
03
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
14/20 Combo
I am impressed. Starts well, runs strong, great price. Replacement chains are hard to find locally. Storage case is cheap, but does the job.
Pros: Price, Durable, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy, No Primer
Randy Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
82
Charles B.
Cincinnati, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/16/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
27
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
No One To Talk To
Fuel line broke inside the fuel tank, left several emails and left several phone calls as to where to take chainsaw for the problem. Got no response. Had to drill in to tank because of bad design and fix myself.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Light Weight, Easy To Store
Cons: Low Quality, Durability, Fuel Line Bad Design L
Charles Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
71
Joshua A.
Ridgecrest, CA
REVIEWED
JUL.
26
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Don't Buy This Saw!!!!
I bought one of these saws. It was good at first, used it two times and the coil went out and its like pulling teeth to get spare parts, chains or any help what so ever from the factory. I called at least a dozen times and also emailed. After about 2 weeks I finally got a hold of some one and got a coil for my saw which was $22.00 plus shipping of $12.99 and after first start up and the saw warms up, you shut it down to move your log or anything and guess what the stupid thing is impossible to... more
Pros: Its A Cool Blue Color
Cons: Low Quality, Difficult To Use, Unreliable, Durability
Joshua Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
93
Charles J.
Borden, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/23/15
REVIEWED
APR.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Saw
The saw was well packaged. The saw went together very easily. I mixed some 40:1 and she started right up. Chain oils well. The kick back brake release is a little flimsy, but other than that is much like a Husqvarna I used to own.
Charles Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Roger S.
Port Ludlow, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/24/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
19
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Blue Max Chainsaw
I used the chainsaw recently. It was easy to start and ran smoothly. I will buy another one.
Roger Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Joe
Dry Ridge, KY
REVIEWED
DEC.
30
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Smooth Power
I got this bluemax when the earthqake hit. I had to buy a new saw becuse my old one did not work. Iwas in ahurry walked in the store to buy a saw. I am person who looks for abargone .I like trying new things that comes out.This saw was alsome.

I had a 100 year oak tree that cam down. If this saw was as good as the person in the store said it was this will be a good chance to find out. My buddy and i started on this tree.I did not relise how big it was till we started.I thought i bought... more
Was this review helpful?
50
Vicki K.
Necedah, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/19/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
10
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Runs Excellent, And Powerful!
One of the best saws we've used and runs and starts easy.
Vicki Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
51
Tom W.
Casco, ME
REVIEWED
JUL.
08
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Warranty Bull
Hello, well I had my Blue Max for less than a year, and cannot get it started. Called Blue Max-NATI and after 30 minutes on hold was disconnected due to call volume. Try email and no response all I want is a service center in my area. So the saw is 1 step from being landfill. Without parts or service the saw is junk.

P.S. This saw was for light work at home.
Pros: Price
Cons: Unreliable, Low Quality
Tom Does Not Recommend This Product
Dale, the Chain Saw Expert
Product Expert
Tom,
Tom,

Not positive what number you were trying to call with Blue Max, but you can either give this number a try or you can give us a call and we can put you in contact with someone at Blue Max. Below would be the number and again if you have tried this or don't get anywhere, we will offer some assistance.

800-348-5004 etx. 6691
more
Was this review helpful?
95
Dennis
Morganton, NC
REVIEWED
MAY.
09
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Frustrated
I bought this saw a month ago and would love to hear it run. I just can't get the chain brake to work on it. It will not stay off. I finally got a new brake, but it had the same problem as the one that came on the saw only worse. It did not have the chain tension screw with it.
Dale, the Chain Saw Expert
Product Expert
Dennis,
We apologize for the frustration you are having with the saw.

The reason why the chain brakes sometimes appear to engage prematurely is due to the fact that they are designed to be "fail safe".

Blue Max chainsaws feature an industry leading chain brake design that engages approximately 5 degrees less or much sooner than other brands. While this results in a safer saw during kick back occurrences etc, it usually requires a user adjustment period. It is also important to note that oversized or gloves produced from heavyweight materials will often cause the brake to engage even more prematurely. North American Tool Industries therefore recommends using a tighter fitting glove when operating all Blue Max branded saws.

This note comes way of North American Tool Industries.
more
Was this review helpful?
73
Robert
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/27/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
30
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Saw ... But
For the money itís not a bad chain saw. But shipping from the manufacture is another story, because of their bad packing. This is the worst packing job I have ever seen. The chain saw had to be bouncing around in the box with only two pieces of bubble wrap in the box.

The chain saw blade had pierced the box at one end, due to poor packing and not enough packing material to cushion the chain saw in it's case. Also, the carrying case to the chain saw was open due to the bouncing around.
more
Was this review helpful?
40
Shaun
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/5/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
17
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Buy
I went out on a limb buying this one knowing very little about the saw and the company behind it.

I could not be happier. I have already used it numerous times and it still cuts just as good as it did when it came out of the box.

All in all a great saw for the price.
Was this review helpful?
41
Junious F.
Hammonton, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/12/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
27
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Blue Max
I think this is the best chain saw I used . I need a light weight, powerful and easy to handle. Fired wood is my primary reason for needing saw.
Junious Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Christopher
REVIEWED
SEP.
08
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No Fuss, No Muss
This is the best saw that I have owned out of three other top brands, since the 1970's.

I've been using it for 6 months. It's great for light & heavy jobs and having two bars in one saw increases versatility and enables me to go from small branches to full sized timber with ease.

One saw fits all. It's light weight, starts on first pull, and doesn't bog down

With one chain I have been able to cut 8 cords of wood before replacing the chain; and the automatic chain oiler is... more
Was this review helpful?
31
Christopher M.
Croydon, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/29/12
REVIEWED
JUN.
07
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Saw
Ordered this saw on a Monday, i think, it was delivered by Thurs.

Put gas and chain oil in it and gave a few pulls and it started right up. I used this saw all day long and loved every minute of it!

Great saw for a great price! I highly recommend this saw if you are looking for a 20" / 14" combo!
Was this review helpful?
31
Courtney M.
Joliet, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/6/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Little Friend
It worked out perfectly for me. I got an extra desire for more..
Courtney Recommends This Blue Max Product
Was this review helpful?
32
Freddie
Morrow, AR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/5/12
REVIEWED
DEC.
26
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Blue Max To The Rescue!
My Blue Max arrived on time and in good shape. I have read where there were problems with the packaging of this brand of chainsaw. On arrival, no problems my blue Max was wrapped and boxed very well.

We have a new residence in the country with plenty of work to do. The first task was a huge forked standing dead tree. One fork leaning toward our shed. My Blue Max made quick work of the fork leaning away from our shed. I set a safety line up the tree and in line with my proposed... more
Was this review helpful?
32
Bob
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/12/12
REVIEWED
FEB.
03
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
One Great Chainsaw
I ordered two of these chainsaws...kept one and gave the other to a friend. I've used mine serveral times and had very few problems with it.

It usually starts within 4 pulls (that includes the initial one with the choke way out and then back in for the initial warmup period). I've only used the 20" and it has great cutting power. I now use it as my primary saw when I'm out in the forest.

Only dig out my Husqvana when I have something real big to cut. Two minor problems: 1)... more
Was this review helpful?
10
Bradley C.
Dawson, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/10/13
REVIEWED
FEB.
22
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Go Big Blue!!
I'm stoked with the two in one. It's heavy duty and does everything it says it does, no surprises is a good thing. Performs as well as my neighbors high dollar brand.
Was this review helpful?
22
Tyler Drake
Grand Valley, PA
REVIEWED
JAN.
20
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Dissapointed
I got this saw for a christmas gift and was very excited but, second time I went to start the saw to use it, the pull cord came all the way out and got stuck. It wont go back in. So I pulled the face cover off of it and little plastic pieces fell out. I didnt look any farther into it to see what broke exactly, but the cord is still stuck all the way out. I see it has a warranty, but dont know how to get a hold of anyone to get it fixed and looked all over online and cant find where to get any... more
Was this review helpful?
44
Peter
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/26/12
REVIEWED
DEC.
17
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Blue Max
Saw seems good and functions well although I haven't used it much yet..... The carry case has a crack in it and I don't even know how or when that could have happened. Might even have been there when I got it and didn't notice.

CSD RESPONDS: You may want to give the folks at Blue Max a call, toll free at 800-348-5004 x6691. The case may be covered by your warranty.
Was this review helpful?
00
Brian
Portland, OR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/10/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
22
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Saw
I bought this saw to use while hunting, it worked great.

I felled 6 trees and it never missed a beat. It blew the Ryobi 20" my buddy just got out of the water. I didn't have one single problem with it.
Was this review helpful?
22
Don R.
White Oak, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/13/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
15
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Blue Max To The Rescue
I finally wore out my old Craftsman 18 and settled on the Blue Max. It is quite a good saw... it handled two oaks felled by a storm with ease and rather quickly.

The only beef with with the saw itself was that it is a bit hard to start. The case is another issue. It is cheaply made, not balanced at the handle, and has no stable place to store any accessories. The little plastic closure is essentially useless, thus rendering the case pretty useless in itself. My old Craftsman case is still... more
Was this review helpful?
22
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Blue Max 8902 reviews.Compare our Blue Max 8902 ratings. Find the Blue Max 8902 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct