Search
< Back to Product

Black & Decker SPCM1936 Electric Push Lawn Mowers Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Sold Out
 
$526.61
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$415.99
No Sales Tax* (Except CA,GA)
Visit Site
 
$369.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$349.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Black & Decker SPCM1936 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (16)
I'd Buy It Again (9)
Quiet (9)
Features (5)
Durable (4)
Cons
Expensive (4)
Heavy (3)
Durability (2)
Low Quality (2)
Unreliable (2)
83% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
20 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Salvatore C.
Plainview, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/5/13
Total Helpful Votes
37 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
27
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Worthy Buy!!!
I previously had a push cordless mower by B & D but my back was killing me from pushing it. So I ventured on this self-propelled unit. Battery life is ok. When you use the self-propelled power, it does eat up the power faster. I have 8000 square feet, and the unit was fighting at the end. Can't really use without the self-propelled power, it weighs too much because of the battery. The self propelled motion does make the difference!
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Quiet, Fast
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Salvatore Recommends This Black & Decker Mower
Salvatore Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"You guys ship quickly and are amazing!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
370
Robert K.
Groveport, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/5/13
Total Helpful Votes
31 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
26
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Black & Decker 36 Volt Cordless Lawn Equipment
I have used this Black & Decker 36 volt cordless self propelled mower several times now and I must say that it is awesome!!! It has the power to bag my yard during this spring with the grass being thick and wet. I highly recommend this
mower.

I also bought the Black & Decker 36 volt cordless hedge trimmer, blower/sweeper,
and string trimmer. These 3 products are fabulous. They are lightweight,
durable, and also have a great amount of power. I highly recommend
these also.
Was this review helpful?
312
Douglas B.
Madison, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/31/13
Total Helpful Votes
28 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
27
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
I Like It
Bought this after doing some online research. We needed a new mower and I wanted to go cordless electric. Had some concerns as to whether the charge would hold for our relatively large yard, but it's been no issue (I do half at a time to be safe, but it recharges fully very fast), I've only had it for two mowings, but so far I love it. Starts easy and runs quiet the self-propelled motor has a whine that takes getting used to, but it's only audible when the blade is turned off.

No noise,... more
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Douglas Recommends This Black & Decker Mower
Douglas Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Friendly, fast, flexible and good price."
 more
Was this review helpful?
281
Dan Furci
Hummelstown, PA
Total Helpful Votes
27 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
26
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Mower I've Ever Owned
We've had battery powered B&D mowers since they first came out in the mid-90s. The early models had some interesting bugs, but we stuck with them. Our original mower finally "died" after 14 years. We didn't hesitate to purchase this model, as we noticed the vast improvements over the original. The drop-it-in-and-go battery was the biggest improvement. Putting the full kill-switch bar back on was great. The wheel assembly is greatly improved, too. I would highly recommend... more
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Reliable, High Quality
Cons: Expensive
Dan Recommends This Black & Decker Mower
Was this review helpful?
271
James S.
Clearwater, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/7/13
Total Helpful Votes
32 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
28
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect Mower
I drive an electric car, a Chevy Volt, so it was logical to shop for a battery powered electric mower. I have a smallish lawn, and always have 1/2 charge left when I finish mowing. The cut is good, and the self-propelled feature makes the job effortless. A good value if you have a smaller lawn.
Was this review helpful?
327
Donald P.
The Villages, FL
Total Helpful Votes
24 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
06
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Trying To Be As Green As Possible
I am disabled but have strong desire to work in yard, so I have a whole assortment of BD battery tools.
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, Price, Quiet, Love The Height Adjustment
Cons: Speed Control Difficult To Master, Durability Time Will Tell, When In Bagging Mode Sill Wants To Mulch
Donald Recommends This Black & Decker Mower
Was this review helpful?
243
Gordon H.
Annapolis, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/27/13
Total Helpful Votes
19 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
OCT.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy To Use
It took a few times getting use to the mower and to get familiar with all the features. The option I like the most is the front wheels turn when I am going up hills and I do not need power in the wheels on flat land.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Durable, Reliable
Cons: Heavy
Gordon Recommends This Black & Decker Mower
Gordon Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy to order online."
 more
Was this review helpful?
191
Anthony J.
Stroudsburg, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/13/13
Total Helpful Votes
17 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
SEP.
05
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Escaping The Tyranny Of A Gas Mower
After bringing my gas mower to a repair shop for repair and then having it fail after the second usage, I thought "enough is enough!". I decided to escape the tyranny of inept repair shops and the hassle of a gas-driven mower by switching to an electric-driven (battery) mower.

My decision was the correct one for me. There is more than enough power to mulch-cut my front, side and back grass areas in addition to the grass along the curbs of my corner situated Victorian house--- and... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, Features
Anthony Recommends This Black & Decker Mower
Anthony Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I was able to speak to Jose after I had a problem ordering the mower online. Jose took my information and processed the order for me."
 more
Was this review helpful?
171
Robert
Total Helpful Votes
20 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
16
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Real Customer!
Our neighbor has used this mower for years and we were impressed. We had "another brand" and it was an awful experience. This B&D seems to be performing well.
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable
Robert Recommends This Black & Decker Mower
Was this review helpful?
205
Eileen W.
Flagler Beach, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/10/13
Total Helpful Votes
18 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
13
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Battery Mower
The easiest mower l ever owned. So nice to start it up without a struggle pulling a rope. Very powerful and strong self-propel is marvelous.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Reliable, Price
Eileen Recommends This Black & Decker Mower
Was this review helpful?
183
Edward M.
Richardson, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/12/13
Total Helpful Votes
18 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
SEP.
04
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Beats The Ryobi 48v
The 36V Black & Decker SPCM1936 is a well engineered mower. I replaced a Ryobi 48V mower with which I've had for two years. The Ryobi in my estimate was not well thought out piece of equipment. It was a pricey experience for me..
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Cons: At This Point All I Could Recommend Is To Use Rubber Treads On Th
Edward Recommends This Black & Decker Mower
Was this review helpful?
183
Austin
Raleigh, NC
REVIEWED
MAY.
08
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Mower
The battery lasts for close to an hour and has enough power for my thick grass. It's a bit heavy but has self propelled thing so that's okay. Folding feature is nice.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Features
Cons: Heavy
Austin Recommends This Black & Decker Mower
Was this review helpful?
151
David T.
Montgomery, AL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/30/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
11
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Small Yard
I bought the mower because I didn't need a riding mower for my size yard. I didn't want to have to buy gas so I decided to go battery powered. It works great. I have cut my yard several times with it and it has had at least one light left on the charge after each use. I have Bermuda grass and it is thick when you let it grow for two weeks and it will power through it just like a gas mower. I am very happy with my purchase and I have told all my friends about it.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Durable, Fast
Cons: Expensive
David Recommends This Black & Decker Mower
David's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The mower shipped and was delivered on time."
 more
Was this review helpful?
120
David B.
Royal Oak, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/28/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
26
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Battery Vs Gas
Just have to get used to the rear wheel drive. This mower has a quicker pace then my gas self-propelled. I cannot use high speed on it, I can't keep up with it, slow speed is a good pace for me. I have a small yard and the battery only goes down half a charge for the whole yard.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Features, Light Weight
David Recommends This Black & Decker Mower
David's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Mower was sitting on my porch within a few days."
 more
Was this review helpful?
80
Mary H.
Hawley, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/11/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
22
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Exceeds Expectations
I LOVE this lawnmower. Our one-acre yard is mostly flat, but the mower does climb the few hills very well. It's quiet, a dream to start, and cuts very well. That's all I want in a mower.

I have a question if any of your techies are reading these reviews:

I recharge the mower in the garage, overnight, the mower is in the middle of the garage bay away from anything combustible, with the garage door down.

Is this a safe way to recharge the battery? Is there any off-gassing from the... more
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Easy To Store
Mary Recommends This Black & Decker Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Mary,
Mary,

This would be fine for recharging your battery. There should not be any dangerous gases being emitted from the battery or charger. If you have any more questions, please feel free to give us a call.
more
Was this review helpful?
71
John S.
Bluffton, SC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/28/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
18
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Happy With This Lawnmower!
I wanted an electric because it is quiet and clean, and this does the trick.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again
John Recommends This Black & Decker Mower
Was this review helpful?
84
Gabe
REVIEWED
MAY.
20
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Black And Decker Fails Again
I scooped this up from Home Depot online a week ago. Out of the box it died quickly. No big deal. I charged it for 40 hours, It did a 600 sq. ft. lawn pretty well. It missed some grass stripes. I stuck it back on the charger overnight+, then mowed another 500 sq. ft lawn. It did okay.

I throw it back on the charger for two days, try to mow my lawn, (about 800 sq. ft.) it mowed for 10 minutes then died. I charged it again for a day, it lasted three minutes before it died. All indicators... more
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable, Durability, Battery Life Sucks
Gabe Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
63
Alexander B.
Bloomington, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/30/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
12
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No Pull Start
I have two bad shoulders, and the ease of use of this product is the greatest, does a better job than my old gas mower, wife says it's a much neater cut and the lawn looks great. Plenty of power.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality
Alexander Recommends This Black & Decker Mower
Alexander's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Bought extra battery and blade within a week and wasn't happy about shipping charges....... : ("
 more
Was this review helpful?
41
Paul
REVIEWED
SEP.
15
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Mower And Battery Dead In Less Than Two Seasons
My mower and battery are highly deficient. The motor is burning up and battery won't hold a charge. I bought another battery at the beginning of this season and it, too, is failing.
Paul Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
12
Neal
REVIEWED
MAY.
16
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Great Concept, Bad Design
I'll sum it up quickly.

Liked it at first, very weak draw, debris left behind. Battery dies quickly, it seems it can only last for small yards. Bought another battery which was expensive. Blade hit a small tree root, mower died in 30 minutes of use. Got it fixed under warranty. Worked on neighbors yard, hit water pipe that I didn't see. Mower died in 30 minutes of use. Brought it in for repair. No parts available anywhere in the world. Had to wait several months (I think 5-7 months).... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, Easy To Store
Cons: Expensive, Low Quality, Unreliable, Durability
Neal Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
920
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Black & Decker SPCM1936 reviews.Compare our Black & Decker SPCM1936 ratings. Find the Black & Decker SPCM1936 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct