Search
< Back to Product

Billy Goat F601S Gas Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$759.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$759.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$809.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
Billy Goat F601S Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 5
Pros
High Quality (2)
Easy To Use (2)
I'd Buy It Again (2)
Light Weight (2)
Quiet (1)
Cons
Heavy (1)
94% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
18 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Marissa, the Leaf Blower Expert
Power Equipment Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
43 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
2597 Helpful Votes
Power Equipment Direct Recommended

Billy Goat's F601S takes our Best spot. Like its brother the F601V, the F601S is going to be identical except for the engine. What makes this unit a Best product within this category has to do with the price as well as the quality Subaru engine. Overall what you get for the price is honestly a great deal for the average homeowner all the way to the landscaping company.

The F601S is powered by a 169cc EX17 Subaru engine. These engines prove to be top of the line engines for a very... more
Marissa Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
359
Scott S.
Chappaqua, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/16/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
NOV.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great!
I was debating whether to go with the Billy Goat or the Little Wonder and am very happy with my decision. The Billy Goat works great, starts easily and lots of blowing power. It's also much lighter than the Little Wonder so easier to maneuver. The only problem is the assembly manual is terrible but fortunately not much to really do.
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Scott Recommends This Billy Goat Product
Was this review helpful?
00
David F.
Fairfield, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/21/16
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
OCT.
31
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Missing Handle!
Waited all week for the blower which I will say shipped the next day.Was happy with that and the unit arrived with no damage to the box. But after I opened the I was missing the handle assembly!

I have contacted Billy Goat website and their customer service is sending me a handle assembly.When I receive the handle I will update my review.
David Recommends This Billy Goat Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Thomas L.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/2/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Piece Of Machinery.
As a former executive in machinery engineering companies I know well-built machinery when I see it. This leaf blower is so very well constructed. I once had a Billy Goat brush hog which was likewise well constructed. This leaf blower is instrumental in cutting our leaf clearing time in half. Good show all the way around.
Pros: Durable, Fast, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy
Thomas Recommends This Billy Goat Product
Thomas's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"We had a problem with a damaged-in-shipment blower. The customer service support team solved the problem by almost immediately by sending out a replacement. We received the second blower in the morning at 9AM and were blowing leaves within 30 minutes. How is that for ease of assembly and operation!! Totally satisfied with Leaf Blowers Direct."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
David S.
Chico, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/28/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great, Blows The Leaves 12 Feet Or More.
Easy to use, my 4 year old grandson could even operate it (with my assistance).
David Recommends This Billy Goat Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Ronald E.
Smithtown, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/24/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
30
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
As Advertised
Recent purchase for fall here in New York suburb 2-acre property, mostly oak. This machine has performed well and saved time and money as the landscapers have recently been replaced.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Light Weight, High Quality
Ronald Recommends This Billy Goat Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Peter M.
Millbrook, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/16/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Billy Goat 169cc Subaru
Was initially worried about the smallish displacement Subaru engine.... but was pleasantly surprised to find the engine had more than enough power than I needed for thick skinned oak leaves! So much power that I only needed full throttle on occasions. Very happy with product, customer service, and price!
Peter Recommends This Billy Goat Product
Peter's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Have recommended this website to friends!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Joseph R.
Buxton, ME
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/8/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Leaf Blower
I have about 1 1/2 acres of lawn with all the oak and maple trees anyone could ever want surrounding the property. I found that the Billy Goat Force F601S did a fantastic job taking care of the leaves. I've used it several times.

It starts easily and has plenty of blowing power for my situation. The unit arrived in good condition. Although the box was damaged, the unit was not. A complete inspection was done by me and the truck driver, and all was good. A nice unit for the money.
Joseph Recommends This Billy Goat Product
Joseph's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Product was shipped on time and shipping was FREE! Best price I could find when doing my search for a leaf blower."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Matt P.
East Northport, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/14/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
07
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Solid Machine For Residential Application
Very happy with purchase, and this website was extremely helpful.
Matt Recommends This Billy Goat Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Henry R.
Southbury, CT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/9/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy Blowing
When looking for a walk behind leaf blower, I consulted the Power Equipment Direct website. I was a bit skeptical at their recommendation of the Billy Goat Blower with the Subaru engine over the more powerful B&S engine. After reading the reviews by satisfied users and reading the specs, I decided to buy the Subaru powered blower.

It was a good decision. After putting oil in the engine and gas in the tank, it started right up. I have three acres with lots of oak trees. The Billy Goat... more
Henry Recommends This Billy Goat Product
Henry's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Website is easy to use. Lots of useful information (e.g. specs and user reviews.) Ordering is easy. Delivery was fast."
 more
Was this review helpful?
01
Marty
Total Helpful Votes
13 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
06
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Oh, My
Have you ever wanted to do yard work? Neither did I until I bought this baby. It's amazing.

I did my whole yard (which used to take me hours and hours to rake and bag) in 1 hour. It's incredible how powerful this thing is. I can't believe I waited this long to buy one. Big mistake waiting that long.

If you're in doubt, don't be. It will be worth every penny. I live on an acre with 3 sides wild. Believe me when I tell you I have TONS of leaves every year. I no longer dread... more
Was this review helpful?
131
David Krall
West Lawn, PA
REVIEWED
SEP.
15
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Lightweight Powerhouse!
Bought the F601S almost 3 years ago! My Mom's lot is approx 175' x 125'. It took 5 hours for my wife, my 2 daughters, my mom and I to clean up her leaves! We used a wheel barrow to cart the leaves to the curb for borough pickup! We used rakes and a small gas blower! With the F601S it took me one hour to blow everything to the curb! We had to throttle down to blow leaves off street over to curb! The Subaru engine idles much better at low throttle settings than the Honda GXV 160 engine on... more
Was this review helpful?
113
David
REVIEWED
OCT.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nozzle Air Control Is Great! Lighweight
This Blower is Great. Amazingly good !! Lightweight enough that you can easily push it on slight hills for several hours and not become tired. Excellent wind flow for a 6 HP machine, engine well matched to the blower wheel. Nozzle control is very effective.

Overall we like this much more than the heavy 10 HP model. We do 2 properties, each 2 acres with tons of Oak leaves. Takes about 3 hours +/- for each property. AMAZING.
David Recommends This Billy Goat Product
Was this review helpful?
61
Richard B.
Blossvale, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/29/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Machine!
We've only had the Billy Goat for about 4 weeks but have used it several times already. We have a yard that is almost an acre with many, many trees that drop a large amount of leaves in on it every year. In the past, we've struggled to keep up by using an electric, hand-held leaf blower along with a rake and a tarp because the leaves would get so heavy that the hand-held blower couldn't handle them alone.

And, having to string multiple electric cords together to be able to reach the edge... more
Richard Recommends This Billy Goat Product
Was this review helpful?
62
Boone C.
Kingsport, TN
REVIEWED
SEP.
19
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Cheap Components
Bought brand new. Probably had 10 hours on it when the self propelled cable broke. Not covered under warranty so had to spend 30 bucks for new one. Obviously it was redesigned - mailed letter to company - no response.

Now has about 15 hours on it and throttle cable has broke. Have to replace myself. Had a Little Wonder for 20 years - never a problem - just wore it out. Should have bought another one :(
Marissa, the Leaf Blower Expert
Product Expert
Boone,
We're sorry to hear you had a bad experience with the Billy Goat Force. Consider taking it back to where you bought it from to see if they'll honor the warranty, if it's still under warranty.

If you want to get yourself a Little Wonder, we've got them here at Leaf Blowers Direct. Give us a call sometime.
more
Was this review helpful?
117
Colin S.
Culver, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/31/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
"transformation"
As I have aged, and after years of hand blowers which took me hours to complete blowing leaves off my lot, the Billy Goat has rescued me and has allowed me to approach my 80th year assured my sanity will remain intact.

A powerful walk-behind unit will complete your job thoroughly and in a hurry, small debris to heavy piles of leaves, leaving nothing to be desired. Yes, it cost me some big bucks...but after this fall, I don't know how I ever did without it.
Colin Recommends This Billy Goat Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Edward Wolfe
Doylestown, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/1/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
30
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Addition To My Leaf Management Tools
I had no problem to assemble the Billy Goat F601S and to do the first engine start to test it. The engine started with two pulls of the recoil starter.

The next day I began to tackle the thousands of maple, oak, and ash leaves that had fallen on my 20,000 sq.ft. of lawn and landscape features. The most time used was to clean out the edges of landscaping where leaves accumulated the most and to herd them to a central collection point before I moved them to another area where the leaves... more
Edward Recommends This Billy Goat Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Karl R.
Malta, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/14/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Choice
I borrowed a friend's Billy Goat last fall ,it was 25 years old and still ran like a champ.Since it was old and still going was a big deciding factor in my decision, It used to take me hours and hours to clean up my leaves , now less then 2. I made the right choice.
Karl Recommends This Billy Goat Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Billy Goat F601S reviews.Compare our Billy Goat F601S ratings. Find the Billy Goat F601S Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct