Search
< Back to Product

BelAire 216V Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Free Freight$1,059.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
Free Freight$1,059.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$1,134.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
BelAire 216V Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 5
Pros
Price (9)
High Quality (3)
I'd Buy It Again (3)
Features (2)
Easy To Use (2)
Cons
Bad Instructions (2)
Low Quality (2)
Vague Instructions (2)
Air Compressor Is Very L... (1)
A Little Noisy (1)
90% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
33 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Power Equipment Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
234 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
2855 Helpful Votes
Power Equipment Direct Recommended

If you need the extra CFM that a 2-stage air compressor delivers, this unit is a good place to start.

Its compact design is great for places where space is limited, and it has a sturdy cast iron pump with a 2 year full factory warranty for reliability.

For multiple users, or high demand tools like sanders and sprayers, this is a good, cost effective unit to make the step up from single stage air compressors.

We are fortunate that our 3 top picks are assembled in the USA; our Better and... more
Steve Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
424
Roy W.
Bethel, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/2/15
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
MAR.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Follow Up
I ordered a Bel Aire that came in with shipping damage bent copper pipe, damaged on/off switch and scuffed paint. Bel Aire got the pipe to me but dropped the ball on the switch and I rubbed out the scuff.

Compressors direct called me about the switch and contacted Bel Aire and the switch was here in a few days. Great Customer Service from Compressors Direct.

I would never have received this service from Northern tool or Tractor Supply or the local auto parts dealer. The compressor is... more
View Image
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Bad Instructions, Wish It Came With A Timer To Track Maintenance
Roy Recommends This BelAire Product
Was this review helpful?
51
Roy
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/2/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
08
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Issues!
First the compressor in the picture is not the configuration that you will get! Unit came in on time but did have shipping damage, two damage parts copper pipe around compressor was bent and on/off switch damaged, also paint scuffed up! Called Belaire they got the pipe to me with in a week as for the on/off switch, still not here. As for the unit it was overfilled on oil had to let some out to proper level. The instruction manual is JUNK and should be reserved for the bathroom, if your not sure... more
View Image
Roy Recommends This BelAire Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Roy,
We apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you. We will reach out to the manufacturer on your behalf to try to obtain more information on the on/off switch you require. If you have any other questions for us, please feel free to call 800-710-7499.
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Steven T.
Petaluma, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/11/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
04
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Not White As Pictured
Compressor arrived quickly, but it is not white as pictured. It is grey. The pressure gauge is broken. Unfortunately, did not see the damage until after the electrician pointed it out. So far, the unit is working well.
View Image
Steven Recommends This BelAire Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Steven,
We are sorry to hear about the broken gauge but glad that the compressor is otherwise OK. If you need a replacement gauge, please contact BelAire support @ (877) 861-2722.
more
Was this review helpful?
31
Steve H.
Mims, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/8/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
APR.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Up & Running
Just a follow up on the "Loud knock" compressor pump. Received the Italian replacement pump the following Tuesday. Installed it the next day and realized that there was no oil in it so drained the oil from the old pump. Looked to be pretty close to 40 or 50 weight. So ran down to TS and picked up some 30 weight as they recommend for these 2 stage pumps. Filled and fired it up.

Much quieter, but wouldn't say this compressor set up is quiet. Still pretty loud but at least it doesn't... more
Pros: Price, Features, Easy To Store
Cons: Loud, Vague Instructions
Steve Recommends This BelAire Product
Steve's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Super fast shipping. Great service."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Steve H.
Mims, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/8/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
APR.
01
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Loud Knock
Received this BelAire 216V compressor pronto. ACD called to let me know it shipped and the truck was there the next day at the gate. Talk about fast! Arrived with no shipping damage. And the truck driver helped me wrestle it in the back of my truck. Awesome.

Got it wired and plumbed up and flipped her on. Much to my disappointment there was a LOUD knock coming from the pump. It came up to pressure, but sounded like a rod was trying to escape out the side of the pump case. If I restricted... more
Pros: Price, Features, Doesn't Take Much Floor Space
Cons: Bad Pump, Vague Instructions
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Steve,
I am sorry you had issues with the pump- but that's exactly the kind of situation the Factory Warranty is meant to cover. I understand your disappointment, and I'm glad a new pump is already on the way.

Thank you for your business- and please accept our apologies for any inconvenience.
more
Steve's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Real fast shipping! Shame they charge 75 bucks extra for a lift now though. Kind of hard to muscle a 300lb beast with out one."
 more
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Steve,
We added the liftgate as an option because some customers have their compressors delivered to a loading dock and don't need it- so we can ship on a less expensive truck without a lift gate.
Was this review helpful?
00
Kevin K.
Giddings, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/24/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Compressor Mostly
Haven't really had the chance to use my compressor but it came in. The quality appears great only complaint is that I wired it up and found out the pressure switch was faulty. Kinda sucks being brand new coming with a faulty switch.

I needed my compressor that day so went to Tractor Supply bought a new one and now it works perfect. I will be contacting BelAire on Monday for a new pressure switch. I'm hoping they will just refund me what I paid for the new switch over sending me a new one,... more
Kevin Recommends This BelAire Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Kevin,
I am sorry the pressure switch didn't work properly from the get-go. This unit has a 2 year, consumer-use Factory Warranty from the folks at BelAire that covers defects in materials and workmanship situations like yours.

You can contact BeAire at (877) 861-2722. Please be sure to have the serial number of your compressor handy when you call them. I understand that you needed your compressor right away, but their warranty may not cover parts and service done outside of their Authorized Dealer network- it's going to be their call.

If they ask for a copy of your invoice just click on My Account in the upper right corner of our website and follow the prompts to print one out.

We appreciate your business, and apologize for any inconvenience.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael
St. Louis, MO
Total Helpful Votes
11 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
21
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Does The Trick
First off, the pros:
-Shipped quick & properly packed
-It's fairly quiet compared to our current shop compressor (not to say that you'll be making phone calls with it running)
-It compresses air just fine

Cons:
-I walked into a discount chain store a few weeks after receiving it and I'll be darned, they have a compressor with the exact same motor and pump on it mounted to the same tank for about 30% less.
-Pump was leaking air from both the pressure switch and the air outlet when I... more
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Michael,
If you have concerns about the performance of your compressor, please call the folks at BelAire, toll free, at (877) 861-2722. It is their commitment to stand behind their product that accounts for the price difference with no-name brands.
more
Was this review helpful?
111
Mark
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/29/13
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
SEP.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Compressor!
I did the research and made the selection after much deliberation. Being a retired GM master mechanic of many years I was looking for a powerful and durable 2 stage compressor for my shop.

I wanted the same or better equipment than what I was used to in the dealerships that I worked at. Nothing less. And I found it! It took a while to get it set up because of time constraints at the time, but it is up and running and I am extremely happy with my purchase.

It is VERY quiet. And plenty of... more
Pros: Quiet, Price, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Mark Recommends This BelAire Product
Was this review helpful?
101
Marvin H.
Glendale, AZ
REVIEWED
DEC.
10
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Not American-made
I ordered this product from ACD and it just arrived this morning. I have not hooked it up yet, but wanted to write about a few observations that I have made.

The "assembled in the USA" is misleading. The pump has "Made in EU" stamped on it and the motor has "Assembled in Mexico" stamped on it. The valves have "CHINA" stamped on them. The only thing American I can find on this product is the manual which reads "Printed in USA". I can't... more
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Marvin,
The compressor is assembled in the USA from globally sourced components. In order to display Made In The USA at least 85% of the components have to come from the US.

We sell compressors that qualify as Made In The USA, such as Quincy. They do, however, tend to be more expensive.
more
Was this review helpful?
81
John D.
Queenstown, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/21/15
REVIEWED
APR.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Nice Commpressor
Don't be in a hurry to get the compressor. It took three weeks.

The compressor was delivered and dropped off in front of my garage. I came home from work and had it hooked up and running in one hour. Easy to wire up 220 volts.

There were no leaks, and I filled the tank very quickly. It's very quiet and delivers enough air for two sanders. You can blow out of a blow gun and it gradually fill and shut off.

I am very pleased. I would recommend this compressor for any home shop. I took a... more
John Recommends This BelAire Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Dana R.
Scituate, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/31/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
13
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Almost Good Enough
I purchased the compressor thinking it would be a good value. I mounted the unit on a steel post off the ground to save space. Wired and turned on the unit only to hear a loud hum. They sent a new motor out but I had to change it out. Plumbed the air perfectly with a remote drain valve etc. and fired it up.

When unit shut down I noticed a very small air stream leak somewhere on the bottom of the tank. I figured I may need to tighten the flare fitting I installed but NO, lucky me, the large... more
Pros: Price
Cons: Low Quality, 1stmotor Was Junk, Leaks Motor Bad
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Dana,
Please keep in touch with the folks at BelAire (toll free (877) 861-2722) so they can continue to help with the Factory Warranty. Make sure that any work you do on the unit has their approval so you can keep the warranty in force.

We appreciate your business, and apologize for any inconvenience!
more
Was this review helpful?
61
Scott R.
Alexandria, AL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/13/10
REVIEWED
DEC.
16
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Rating On Air Compressor
I waited to comment so I could see if I had any problems. I have used this compressor for two years without a problem.

I run air grinders, sanders, air ratchets, paint guns etc. in my home shop without any problems or lack of pressure.

I would highly recommend this company and this compressor to anyone. It was delivered on time and with no damage. Thanks for your service and help.
Was this review helpful?
72
Mark
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/6/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
27
2012
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Leaks
I just hooked up my new compressor and it leaks air like a sieve. I needed to take all the wires back off and tighten the pressure switch. It does not have any pipe dope on the threads and they're not very tight.

Otherwise it works fine but very frustrating to have to go through all of that work for something that should have been done right at the factory.
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Mark,
We apologize for the inconvenience! We have addressed this issue with the folks at BelAire; they will be contacting you directly.
more
Was this review helpful?
50
Richard
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/12/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
07
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It
Great compressor, if you will be using tools like an air grinder get the 80gal model.

However this model keeps up with my tools and blast cabinet, you just have to be aware of the duty cycle. I will definitely buy another Belaire if I ever upgrade and use these guys to order it.

It was shipped very fast.
Was this review helpful?
40
Aaron M.
Jackson, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/4/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
25
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
So Far So Good
Just got our compressor up and running and everything is going smoothly. Very satisfied. So far so good!
Aaron Recommends This BelAire Product
Was this review helpful?
41
Randall V.
Warren, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/7/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Update On Previous Story
I would like to update my story, I received my new motor one day after talking to the service rep Johnny. I am very happy with the very fast service!!!! This means so much to me!! It is so easy for company's to give ya lip service but it is another thing when the company's come through, this company did come through as promised!!!!! and I really appreciate that!!!
I WOULD DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!
Randall Recommends This BelAire Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Brian W.
Los Angeles, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/16/15
REVIEWED
APR.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Air Compressor
This is an amazing air compressor!!! I would highly recommend it!!! Does the job very effectively and I have no complaints what so-ever. Very happy with this purchase.
Brian Recommends This BelAire Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Albert M.
San Juan Capistrano, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/23/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
22
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Just Ok
Most fittings were loose and were leaking. Changing the oil after break-in was a big mess. The drain plug is in a poor place. A glass of scotch really helps. The unit is pretty loud.

Once in it does the job.

Dealing with Air Compressors Direct was great and they graded this unit well.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use
Cons: Low Quality, Bad Instructions
Albert Recommends This BelAire Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Albert,
I'm sorry you had to tighten connections on your new air compressor- I will pass along your comments to our BelAire rep.

If you need to contact BelAire directly you can call them, toll free, at (877) 861-2722. Please be sure to have the serial number of your air compressor handy when you call them.
more
Albert's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Everything went perfect with service, delivery and such."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Jim K.
Mendota HTS., MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/12/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
25
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Louder Than My Old One
This is a replacement from my old 60gal 5 hp single stage air compressor. This air compressor is very loud, much louder than my old one. Cannot hold a conversation in my garage if it turns on.
Pros: Price
Cons: Air Compressor Is Very Loud Probably Would Not Have Bought This
Jim Recommends This BelAire Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Gary T.
Harrison, NE
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/30/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
22
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Working Perfectly
The compressor was shipped in good shape. It was easy to uncrate and hook up.

I was surprised how quiet it ran, and so far it is working perfectly.
Was this review helpful?
20
Paul S.
Alvin, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/27/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
08
2012
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Sprung A Crossover Leak
Works great, just sprung a leak. I had to fix it at the crossover on the pump.

The worst thing is that I could have bought the exact same compressor with a black paint job at a chain store for less. It had the same pump and motor on the exact tank.

All in all it is a great compressor; just would've been better if I didn't pay extra for it.
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Paul,
Even if the components are similar, all things may not be equal. This BelAire compressor comes with a 2 year Factory Warranty and BelAire's nation-wide service network.
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Fred
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/2/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
24
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Unit So Far
I did a lot of investigating and a lot of asking questions to a lot of people. I finally determined that this unit was the best quality for the amount of money it cost.

I have no complaints at all. Shipping time and shipper was very good. The ordering process was also fine.

The unit is a little different from the picture shown, but it is in my opinion better than in the picture. The pressure switch and gauge are on the top and not on the side.

Great Job.
Was this review helpful?
42
Erik H.
Columbus, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/12/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great For My Garage
A 60 gallon, 2-stage compressor is overkill for most, but it's better to have too much air than not enough. I've used it to paint (HVLP) and in my sandblasting cabinet and everything in between.

My old single stage was so loud i couldn't talk to anyone while it was running, this one is quiet enough to hold a conversion in the garage now while it runs. It took about 8 minutes to fill up completely.

As one review stated before, mine was overfilled with oil (only about 2-3 oz) and the... more
Erik Recommends This BelAire Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Randall V.
Warren, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/7/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
01
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Nice Looking
I received my air compressor in great condition ! The plastic wrap did not even have a tear ! However when I wired the compressor the new motor would NOT run !!! So this is where I am at now. I am waiting for a new motor to arrive !!! I called customer service and the first person I talked to had no clue!!!

The second person I talked to was great !! The mans name was Johnny, We talked a few minutes, I told him what I have and after about 5 minutes of conversation he had a new motor shipped... more
Randall Recommends This BelAire Product
Randall's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"As of now, I only rated the quality 2 stars. Apparently they never tested the air compressor after the compressor was put together. Maybe something came loose in the motor during shipment because the motor would NOT run when the compressor arrived. The compressor looks great! Believe it or not the plastic wrap around the compressor did not even have a small tear in the wrap !!! I know when I get packages from Fedex and UPS, it seems like someone in the shipping goes out of there was to damage the shipping container !! So at this time when I am writing this review I am waiting for the new motor to arrive."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Carla Easley
Florence, MS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/23/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
15
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Rudypoot
Made my order, air compressor was received in a timely manner. Got it mounted and running with no leaks or problems, thanks, would recommend this compressor and company to anyone.
Carla Recommends This BelAire Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Fred
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/2/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
24
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Same Great Product
This is our second BelAire 216V that we have purchased from Air Compressors Direct.
We purchased one last year for our Automotive repair shop, and now we purchased another for our Cabinet Shop.

Great unit
Was this review helpful?
21
Eddie
Newark, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/9/10
REVIEWED
SEP.
01
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Buy!
Fast Shipping, Lift Gate Service Brings It Straight Into the Garage, Great Unit!
Was this review helpful?
21
Ken
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/18/11
REVIEWED
JUL.
04
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Bought It To Support Blast Cabinet
Had a 2HP compressor that served me well but could not support a blast cabinet. I purchased this compressor because it seemed like it was the best I could get for the price and fit in the space in my crowded garage. Had it for 2 years works perfectly. It's a little loud but keeps up with my blast cabinet, no problem.
Pros: Price, High Quality, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: A Little Noisy
Ken Recommends This BelAire Product
Ken's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy transaction - used lift gate service."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Lee
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/2/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
24
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Outstanding Delivery Service
It arrived on time as stated by the dealer, delivery service was outstanding, and I would buy from the company again.
Was this review helpful?
11
Fred D.
Amity, AR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/2/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
04
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Experience
I did my shopping, and knew which compressor we wanted for our shop. I found Air Compressors Direct to be the best price by far.

I also spoke to their technical dept. prior to the purchase, and they also were very helpful for me. The delivery was good, with no damage and no problems at all.

After we started it up today, I felt comfortable enough to write this review. The only issue, which really is no issue at all, is that the pictures show the gauge and switch connection on the side,... more
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Fred,
We will ask BelAire for a new image today!
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Ricardo A.
Port St Lucie, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/22/12
REVIEWED
MAR.
15
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Made In The Us
I received my compressor as promised, I am very happy with the purchase, I Hope it will last for a long time.

I will buy again from DIRECT. I am very happy that it is made in the US, I'm tired of seen everything made in CHINA .

US will always make better products . Thanks Air COMPRESSORS Direct .
Was this review helpful?
22
Charles S.
Chandler, OK
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/9/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
25
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very, Very Professional!
Very pleased with compressor so far, but I really haven't put it to work yet.

Very pleased with Air Compressors Direct company. Very, very professional service, product delivery & communication!!
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Fast, High Quality
Charles Recommends This BelAire Product
Charles Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"VERY PLEASED WITH WEBSITE, SERVICE & SHIPPING!!!!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
23
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest BelAire 216V reviews.Compare our BelAire 216V ratings. Find the BelAire 216V Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct