Your Cart @ Power Equipment Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
< Back to Product

Basement Watchdog SPD-BW4000KIT Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$629.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$629.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$629.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
Basement Watchdog SPD-BW4000KIT Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 5
Pros
Features (8)
Easy To Use (6)
I'd Buy It Again (6)
Price (3)
Durable (2)
Cons
Expensive (3)
Unreliable (1)
Durability (1)
Low Quality (1)
Louder Than My Previous ... (1)
80% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
52 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Mark P.
Alameda, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/24/13
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
NOV.
14
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sumpin' Happenin' Here
We live on an island, so when the rainy season hits we have to deal with a rising water table as well as runoff. We just completed a remodel with lots of drainage and I'm confident the Basement Watchdog is up to the task.
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, High Quality
Mark Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Mark,
We thank you for your great video and your recommendations. We are extremely pleased with your enthusiasm for our Combination System and we can only hope for more customers like you.
more
Was this review helpful?
34
Niazahmed S.
Batavia, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/18/16
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
JUN.
20
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Sump Pump Replacement
I had a watchdog battery back pump with a RIGID primary pump. The Watchdog controller and pump went dead so I googled and purchased the primary/and watchdog system thru Sump Direct.The delivery was quick and prices right.
I had a professional plumber install it.

Here's where problem started. The System(Primary Pump) went on/off often and each time on/off three times? Sump Pump sold me a switch for about 40 that had a longer delay. I paid Plumber again to install it.It is now On/off twice... more
Niazahmed Does Not Recommend This Product
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Product Expert
Niazahmed,
Please accept my apologies for any issues that you experienced with your pump system. The latest correspondence that I see from Matt at Basement Watchdog on 5/12/16 was:

I spoke with him this afternoon as well as his contractor. There was nothing actually defective and the pump was short cycling because of the amount of water he was getting from all the rains. The situation has been resolved and they will be mounting the primary and backup floats higher up on the pipe to reduce the amount of time it cycles. He also wanted to upgrade the dual float controller to a DFC1.5 so it has the adjustable timer on it and hes going to set the run time to 45 seconds.

Im helping him out with the DFC1.5 switch keep him happy so everything should be good now.

If this is not the case and you are still having problems with the pump and/or switch, please let me know.

Sincerely,
Jim Owiecki

Sump Pumps Direct Product Expert
969 Veterans Pkwy Unit C
Bolingbrook, IL 60490
630-685-0025 Direct
james@pedstores.com
PowerEquipmentDirect.com
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Niazahmed,
We thank you for allowing us to assist you with this. As Jim mentioned our customer support supervisor was able to reach out to your contractor and find out what was going on. We are happy that you are now set up properly and were able to help with this misunderstanding.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Kelly W.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/24/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
24
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Primary Lasted Slightly Over 3 Years...
Purchased this setup after Sandy in Nov. 2012. Has been running like a champ.

Had the lowest float pickup on the primary pump's caged Float Switch stop working about a year ago. Adjusted the 2 float switches (Primary and Backup) and let it run off the float's top pickup.

After hearing the primary pump kicking on more frequent the usual during heavy rain. Checked and noticed there is a jet of water shooting out the side of the Primary Pump's upper shroud/case. Seems a crack about 3"... more
Kelly Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Kelly,
We thank you for your review and recommend that you give us a call so that we can provide you with some tips on how to preserve your pump in this kind of mineral situation for much longer.You can contact us M-F 9-5 CST AT 800.991.0466 Ext 3 for tech support.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Anh D.
Wichita, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/23/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Product
The price not bad and easy install and you never worry flooding in your basements.
Anh Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Anh,
We are happy that you are satisfied with our products. Thank you for your feed back. We sincerely appreciate your business
more
Anh's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Love it feeling sleeping well after I installed .before I'm away worries someday my basement is flooding because i don't know why where the water coming from keeping filling up in the sump pump hole all the time."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Clifford C.
Overland Park, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/3/13
Total Helpful Votes
14 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
24
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Finally Forced To Stop Procrastinating
We built our home 7.5 years ago and our electric sump pump has kept our basement dry all along. I kept thinking about putting in a backup pump, but never got around to it. After all our electricity had never been out more than 15 minutes until a few weeks ago. Then we had a storm that resulted in 3.5 inches of rain in 1 hour after 3 inches of rain the day before, and a power outage. After bailing the sump pit by hand for 2 hours, we gave up. Fortunately, the power came back on about 20... more
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Clifford Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Clifford,
Thank you for your recommendations of our Combination System. We really appreciate your review. We know that you will be feel secure with this system installed.
more
Was this review helpful?
140
Wayne B.
Lenexa, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/22/13
Total Helpful Votes
11 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
APR.
15
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Replacement/back-up Sump Pump Kit
I contacted Sump Pumps Direct, ordered the "complete entire kit", received it 2 days later via over the road carrier, with free shipping and NO taxes. The dual pump w/ a single pipe connection, battery & acid, and collar connector made it a complete package and saved me a bunch of time and dollars. The installation was as simple and easy as the instructions indicated, and my customer was very pleased and satisfied with the entire process.
Not only would I recommend the... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Wayne,
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We really appreciate your recommendation. We know that you and your customers will be satisfied for years to come. If you ever need to contact us, our customer support is unmatchable and easy to reach at 800-991-0466 Ext.3
more
Was this review helpful?
110
David
Shelby Township, MI
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
20 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
24
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Check Your Batteries
We had 7 out of the 24 units installed have their batteries fail. We use this system in all 3 of our complexes. I am not sure if its a battery issue or the system charger, but it needs to be looked into. All batteries were covered under warranty, no hassles there. This is the best back up system we have used and in our professional opinion the best on the market, by far. All the components are quality, and it is very easy to install for a professional .

There are just a few tricks of the... more
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Product Expert
David,
The 7 out of 24 batteries is unusual though but that would depend on the ages of the batteries. If the batteries are older, than that could be the problem, Watchdog batteries normally last from 4 to 7 years and yours should last that long since you seem to maintain the water levels in the batteries which, as you have said, is very important.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
David,
Thank you for your review. We are very appreciative of you using our products in for your tenants. If these batteries that you are referring to are Basement watchdog, like Jim says that is really rare. Before switching out the batteries we would recommend that you have them tested on load. The batteries may not have been bad at all but in need of maintenance. Please give us a call directly if you need further assistance at 800-991-0466 Ext. 3 for technical support.
more
Was this review helpful?
122
Ed
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/3/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
27
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wow What An Experience
First, let me say that Sump Pumps Direct (aka PED) is the most service oriented online company I have interacted with. Their Support people are fast to respond and very knowledgeable about the products they sell (as well as the background of the product industry. There are any number of online vendors that should take notes from these guys.)

As for the BW4000kit...

What an impressive product. I ended up having to re-plumb all my 30+ year old discharge pipe but installing the pump was... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Ed,
Thank you very much for your review. We would also like to thank you for reaching out to us directly and giving us a second chance, as we are always ready to help our customers. We know that you will be satisfied with the product and its performance.
more
Was this review helpful?
90
Tom Mclaughlin
Lovell, ME
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/20/12
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JAN.
14
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Didn't Fit The Hole As Claimed
I bought it for my second home in the city, an older house with an old sump pump. I installed a water alarm in the basement and it went off. I drove the fifty miles down there and water was filling up the basement to about 8 inches and rising because the float switch was stuck. Wading through the water, I jiggled it and it worked. it pumped out the basement and there was no damage to my boiler or anything else. The switch continued working for several days before weather conditions improved and... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Tom,
We apologize that you were not happy with the size of this product. It is advertised that the footprint of the combination pump is 11 1/2" it will fit in a five gallon bucket, but it will be snug as stated. We know that you will be satisfied with the performance of this product and ask you to contact us directly if you need further assistance at 800-991-0466 Ext.3
more
Was this review helpful?
123
Gary S.
Cicero, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/15/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
05
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Great Dual Pump
So far I love the pump. I have not experienced a power outage, so I can't brag about the battery backup feature. I have simulated a power failure by unplugging the main pumps power cord and the back up did come on and work. I hope I get the 7.5 hours of back up when I need it. I'm not crazy about the 10 second hold over when the cycle is done. The gurgling is annoying.

I have installed a few of these for some of my customers and they are very pleased. So, I give you a thumbs up on this... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Features, Light Weight
Gary Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Gary,
Trust us when we say that you will be continuously pleased with this combo when your first outage hits. If you do feel that your pump is sucking up air, even though the floats are pre-mounted on the system you can remount them a little higher so that they kick on a little later and evacuate more water if need be. Thank you for choosing to recommend us to your clients. We know that you will be satisfied not only with the product, but also with our customer support team. If you do need assistance you can reach us at 800-991-0466 Ext.3 for technical support.
more
Was this review helpful?
70
Chris S.
Erie, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/29/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
20
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Simple, Compact & Easy To Install
My finished basement flooded twice in the span of a few years due to a sticky float. I finally had to accept that I needed a redundant system with a backup. $650 was a little more than I wanted to pay but I must admit that the system is exactly what I was looking for. During wet periods my sump fills in about 15 mins, that's how much time I had to remove the old one and get the new one installed and running. I had to make sure all of the parts were laid out and ready to go. The instructions... more
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Louder Than My Previous Pump, The Battery Is Far To Expensive
Chris Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Chris,
We are happy that you are more than satisfied with the system and that you found the instructions complete and easy to follow for installation. We appreciate your recommendation of our product and our company. A big THANK YOU!
more
Chris Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Two of my co-workers purchased the same system after I shared my story with them and they both seem satisified as well"
 more
Was this review helpful?
92
Todd
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/17/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Peace Of Mind
After having my basement flood because I wasn't home to get the generator going I purchased this unit. Install was very easy...less than 20 minutes and that was just cutting a gluing new pipe. Hopefully the battery back-up will just have to sit and do nothing but at least now I don't have to worry if I'm not home. Thanks to SPD for the fast shipping a great customer service. I'll let you know how it works if/when it is needed.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Todd,
We appreciate you choosing the Basement Watchdog. We thank you for your review!
more
Was this review helpful?
60
Stewart M.
Winnetka, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/20/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
11
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Upgrade
I needed a backup and wanted an upgrade to my existing primary unit. This combo package was the perfect solution. Including battery, acid and separate check valves for each pump made this a very easy DIY install. Plug and Play. The primary is considerably quieter than my older unit. Very happy and sleeping more soundly during the heavy weather.
Pros: Features, Price, Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Install
Stewart Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Stewart,
Thank you for the great review. We are always happy to be able to make our customers happy. We know that you will be satisfied with the system for years on end.
more
Stewart Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"A call to the specialists helped me select the unit including answering many of my questions about possibly over sizing my need. All answers confirmed my concerns and helped me select the best combo unit for my needs. I would recommend a call if you have any questions as the specialists are very friendly and eager to help."
 more
Was this review helpful?
50
Todd O.
Millington, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/17/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
17
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Dead After Two Years
Installed this in February 2013. Alarm went off yesterday. Checked it out and had a main pump failure. For $600 plus I expected it to last a little longer.
Todd Does Not Recommend This Product
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Product Expert
Todd,
I'm sorry to hear of the issues you are experiencing with your Basement Watchdog pump. This pump carries a 3 year warranty through Basement Watchdog. Please call their tech support line at 800-991-0466 for further assistance. They are very receptive to handling customer issues weather it's in or out of warranty. If you have any problems, please let me know.
Sincerely,
Jim Owiecki
Sump Pumps Direct Product Expert
800-710-7499 X125
630-685-0025 - Direct
james@pedstores.com
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Todd,
We are sorry to hear about your concerns and would love to be of assistance to you. We also recommend you call us directly for further assistance.
more
Was this review helpful?
30
Randy P.
Saginaw, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/18/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
14
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
Installation was fairly easy. It took me about an hour. The directions were easy to follow.

So far, the primary works well (knock on wood). I tested the backup pump, and that's working as well.
Randy Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Randy,
Thank your for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback
more
Was this review helpful?
30
Donald A.
Wilmington, DE
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/19/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
02
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Pump Performance Good...paint Job Low Quality
Very satisfied with the ease of installation and performance of the combo system, but pump casing paint in constant contact with sump water experienced excessive pealing. Suggest vendor use higher quality epoxy-based paint on casing.
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Price, Quiet
Cons: Casing Paint Job Low Quality Excessive Peeling
Donald Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Donald,
Thank you for the review. We would like to reassure you in knowing that these pumps now come powder coated in order to protect pealing.
more
Was this review helpful?
30
Luther B.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/27/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
19
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Bud's Basement Watchdog Combination Kit
Everything went smoothly. The delivery by R & L and the installation were super.

I have a problem with the charger plugging to the controller. It apparently is not always making a positive contact (not tight enough), thus causing the power light to come on sometimes.

I spoke to Glen at Glentronics, Inc. and he is sending me a new controller with float switch and charger to correct this problem. Service and follow-up are important to me and I appreciate how Glen handled my issue.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Luther,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you contacting us directly and allowing us to help you. We are always ready to help our customers.
more
Was this review helpful?
30
Jan
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/1/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
16
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far, So Good!
The basement of our summer home floods with some regularity and the sump pump we purchased from a box store couldn't keep up with the amount of water coming in. An additional problem was that we were ofter not there to know when the power went out. The Basement Watchdog drained out about 2 feet of water in a matter of a few hours. And we hope to have peace of mind knowing that the backup pump will keep things dry if the power goes out.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Jan,
Thank you for your review and willingness to share with others why you are pleased with our products.
more
Was this review helpful?
30
Neale
Des Moines, IA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/1/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
11
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Finally A Dry Basement
This pump was installed last October along with drain tile in a basement garage that had been wet for years. This past winter and spring the garage has been dry. I have heard the pump run a few times. With the battery back up, we can also leave home and not worry about the electricity going out during a storm. The battery has been maintenance free to this point.
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Quiet
Cons: Expensive
Neale Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Neale,
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you can leave home feeling secure that the BW4000 will take care of you!
more
Neale's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The shipper called within a couple days offering to set up delivery. Because I was working nearby, I arranged to pick it up myself at their dock."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Robert S.
Grand Ledge, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/12/14
REVIEWED
MAY.
24
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Basement Watchdog Baby!!!
Easy to install, great peace of mind.
Pros: Features, I'd Buy It Again, Durable, Fast
Cons: Expensive
Robert Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Robert,
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you appreciate that it is pre-assembled to make things easier for you. We definitely had our customers in mind when we first thought about his product.
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Marcus M.
St. Cloud, MN
REVIEWED
APR.
20
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Junk
Bought this pump to replace a 12 year old Wayne and for the battery back up feature. The main pump failed in a matter of weeks. My sump fills often, pump runs a dozen times a day or more in Spring and often several times per day during summer

Went with a Wayne combo. Cheaper, better quality, reliable.
Pros: Features
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable, Durability, Expensive
Marcus Does Not Recommend This Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Marcus,
We are sorry that you had a bad experience with the BW4000. This occurrence is not at all common and we would love to assist you. Please call us directly at 800.991.0466 Ext 3 for technical support.
more
Was this review helpful?
31
Mark
REVIEWED
OCT.
12
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Seems Fine
New house with no sump pump. I plumbed for this model, it was easy to install. So far so good.

Although the basement is unfinished, having the battery backup still gives peace of mind as I already have some foundation damage and with winter coming I fear freezing water.

I know my pump will get rid of what it can, despite a potential power outage.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Mark,
Thank you so much for trusting our pump. Also it was a wise decision to install a pump even if the basement isn't finished to avoid the creation of mold and as you stated protection of your foundation.
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Carol
Columbus, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/28/11
REVIEWED
JUL.
21
2012
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Battery Failed After Only (7) Months
The battery alarm sounds indicating a bad battery yet the manufacturer states they wont replace without a load test.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Carol,
We are sorry that you are not happy with our warranty procedures. We do stand behind our product 100% and are never intending to make the replacement a difficult task for you. To clarify, we cannot replace a battery unless it is put under a load test so that we verify, through a professional, that the battery is actually defective. The reason we do this is that the controller can trigger the battery alarm for multiple reasons other than the battery being bad. Some of these reasons include loose connections, corroded terminals, low voltage etc. Please contact us directly for further assistance as we are always willing to help our customers at 800-991-0466 Ext.3
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Sherri
Mayflower, AR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/30/12
REVIEWED
FEB.
27
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Watchdog Installed Without A Hitch
I just installed my new sump pump this Sunday! I am a 49 year old woman who did this without any help. Your instructions were very complete and precise. I did not have a problem doing this job. Now, to see how it works. It has pumped twice and so far so good. Great product, great directions...
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Sherri,
Thank you for your feedback. We guarantee that you will not be disappointed.
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Rip
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/31/12
REVIEWED
FEB.
22
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Construction Superintendent
At this time all is working fine and it is a great set up as to an all in one thing. Easy to install and the cost is fair. The only thing I would suggest is to somehow make the filling of the battery with the acid a bit easier, lost a pair of pants due to the filler hose flipping acid back on me.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Rip,
Thank you for your review and feedback. We are sorry you had a bad experience with the filling of the battery. For future reference we have attached a link below that may help you when filling the battery. Please contact us at 800-991-0466 Ext.3 for further assistance. Installation Videos
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Tom
Pouliot, MN
REVIEWED
MAY.
09
2011
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Hard Time Keeping Up
Sump pump runs to often, this is because the float only travels about 2.5 inches. The pump runs fine but
has a hard time keeping up because check valves allow some water back into the basin when pump shuts off.
The actual amount of water needed to enter 18 inch basket to start sump running again is only about 1.5 inches. Poor design in my opinion.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Tom,
We are sorry that you are not pleased with this product. Please keep in mind that the float switch is adjustable and if you raise the height of the float it will allow the pump to kick on later and will aid in running your pump more efficiently. Also, the check valves should never allow enough water to come back that fills the pit again, if this is the case please contact us directly and we will be able to assist you at 800-991-0466 Ext.3
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Hans
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/23/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
20
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Working Good After 1 Year, Buzzing Noise Annoying
I bought this pump asm, installed at that time year ago. Pump has been fine and working well now that we passed out wet 'period over the last 4 months. Had 1 long power outage, 8+ hours with no problem with pump motors. Only concern that has popped up intermittently over the past 8 months has been a loud buzzing noise coming from the control box. Haven't found an external cause, connections, wiring or battery h02 level. Seemed to happen daily sometimes for 20/30mins but may stop for a day or so... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Reliable
Hans Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Hans,
Thank you for your review! We are glad that you are pleased with our product. Please check the control unit to verify what red light is on when it buzzes and give us a call if this occurs again, we would love to help you.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Steven
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/27/13
REVIEWED
APR.
17
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Outstanding Pump
Quick and easy install. Instructions were easy to follow and online video was especially helpful. Quiet operation and provides great peace of mind.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Steven,
Thank you for your review. We are happy that we are able to assist in your peace of mind by providing a great pump system that meets your needs.
more
Was this review helpful?
21
Paul
Perrysburg, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/14/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
07
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Installation
The installation of this pump was a snap. It took less than an hour for the removal of the old and installing the new one. The most difficult part of the whole job was filling the battery. Trying to position the acid box and preventing the fill hose from kinking was a chore. Other than that, the rest was simple. The included instructions were dead on. I would recommend one of these pumps to anyone. Great product. Good price for what is included. Keep up the good work.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Paul,
Thank you for your review. We do have a series of installation videos which we think that you would benefit from; One is of filling a battery. Please click on the link below if you would like to view this.
Installation Videos
more
Was this review helpful?
10
James Mcc.
Norwalk, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/31/12
REVIEWED
DEC.
13
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Working Superbly
We built our house in 1986 and have had a sump pump that was not a battery back up system.

Since we have had some power outages I decided to install the Basement Watchdog. The installation was quick and easy and the system is working superbly.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
James,
Thank you for taking the time to give us some kudos! We really appreciate it.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Jim
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/10/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
13
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy To Install
After getting several quotes for a new primary sump pump and battery backup and doing a little research on line, I decided to install them myself. I was able to review the installation instructions on line and ordered this quality system. I would gladly recommend this system to all.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Jim,
Thank you for your recommendations. We really appreciate your trust in our company and products.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Mike
Westchester, NY
REVIEWED
MAY.
10
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Basement Watchdog Combo - Good So Far, Easy Install
So I installed my new sump pump in a matter of minutes really. The most time was taken routing and gluing the pvc and filling the battery. I was able to move the floats on the pump up high enough so that it doesn't cycle as much as others have mentioned. I actually removed the float from its current location and moved it above the Y where the backup pump pipe comes in.

The electrical connections were simple and easy. having it as one unit made the PVC pipe connection very easy as well. I... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Mike,
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that your were pleased with this system. Please see the link below to view a easy battery installation video that may help in the future. Also, Please give us a call directly if you need further assistance at 800-991-0466 Ext.3.Installation Videos
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jim
Creston, IA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/29/11
REVIEWED
FEB.
08
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Story
I looked for a long time for the perfect set-up to replace our ten year old sump pump and this seems to be the perfect fit.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Jim,
We are happy that we were able to help meet your needs when looking for a combination sump pump system. We know that you will be satisfied for years on end.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Ron
Athens, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/11/12
REVIEWED
FEB.
01
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Well
It was a good complete package of equipment and part, and it works well.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Ron,
Thank you so much for your review.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert
Dover, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/12/11
REVIEWED
JAN.
18
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Pleased
Easy to install - Working fine so far - No Complaints - Nice complete package addressing all issues - Directions easy to understand - Very pleased
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Robert,
Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate your loyalty.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Daren
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/27/11
REVIEWED
JAN.
03
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Super Easy To Install And Great Piece Of Mind!!
After my basement flooded during Tropical Storm Lee, I decided enough was enough. My Basement Watchdog kit was a breeze to install and runs super quiet. So far so good...I will update in a few months.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Daren,
Thank you for your review. We are happy that we were able to help you during Tropical Storm Lee.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jay
Elkton, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/11/11
REVIEWED
NOV.
17
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy Install With Everything You Need
Bought this unit after loosing power during Hurricane Irene and coming within an inch of my basement flooding. This unit is very easy to install. The hardest part for me was getting all of the spiders out of my pit before I started the install. The instructions are easy to follow.

Filling the battery was a lot easier than I expected and I would just recommend eye protection and gloves in case there are any spills. While still waiting for the first big storm to fully test this unit,... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Jay,
Thank you for your recommendation of our pumps. As you state, we do recommend that protective gear be used when filling a battery. We appreciate your feedback.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Claude
Oradell, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/12/11
REVIEWED
NOV.
05
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Company Stands By Their Product
This company stands by their product 100%. I installed the combo big dog last month after Irene. Last week the primary never kicked in and the "pump" alarm was going off. Plugged the primary directly into the outlet and could hear the unit making a low level hum sound. Plugged it in and out a few times and it started working.

Did the same thing a couple of days later. That time it kicked in after tapping the pump with the handle of a screwdriver. I would have let it go on the... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Claude,
We thank you very much for your loyalty. We would also like to thank you for calling us directly and allowing us to help. As you stated, we do stand behind our products 100% and we thank you for understanding and working with us. We really appreciate your business.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Nelson
Linthicum, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/1/11
REVIEWED
OCT.
19
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Easy To Install
Just bought the combo package after Hurricane Irene when we lost power for 3 1/2 days. Basement flooded so we decided to take every measure to prevent it from happening again. It took about 45 minutes to un-hook old pump and drop in the Watchdog. Very Easy!
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Nelson,
Great! We are happy that we were able help keep your basement dry during Irene. We love to hear stories such as these.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Dan
Burke, VA
REVIEWED
OCT.
01
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Peace Of Mind
Everything was easy to install - tested perfect. Glad to have the peace of mind that our newly finished basement is protected at least at the sump pump. Now I just need to come up with something for a window well.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Dan,
Thank you for your feedback. We know that you will be satisfied with your pumps.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jerry
Churchville, PA
REVIEWED
SEP.
27
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump
After having my basement flood, due to a faulty pump, I decided to never have the same problem again. following a storm, no local box stores had what I was looking for, so I went online and found Sump Pumps direct. Service had been wonderful before and after purchase. Great phone support.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Jerry,
We are pleased that you were more than satisfied. We Really appreciate your review.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Bill
Fords, NJ
REVIEWED
SEP.
24
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Replacement!
Great replacement for my old sump pump system that failed during hurricane Irene. Great having a complete kit fully assembled and the battery acid. Installed in no time. The only disappointment I had is after looking at the pump and battery I found out they were both made in China. If I had to do it all over again I would have purchased a product made in the USA. My fault for not researching before I purchased.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Bill,
Thank you for your review. We will assure you that all products are assembled in the US to confirm quality. We do stand behind our product 100% and guarantee you will not find better customer service anywhere else. If you need further information you can reach us at 800-991-0466 Ext.3
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jack
Grandville, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/10/11
REVIEWED
SEP.
06
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Have The Security Of A Backup Sump Pump Now
The install went very well. I had a professional plumber do it, (but it looked like I could have done it (even with my 4 thumbs per hand :-)

So far I can't even tell when it's running - it's so much quieter than my old model - I think I can attribute that to the built in check valves??

It's really nice knowing now that I have the security of a "basement watchdog" even though the backup hasn't "kicked on" yet - but then, that's good!

My only suggestion would be to... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Jack,
Thank you so much for your consideration of our products. We appreciate your review. If you or anyone reading this review may need future guidance in filling a battery, we have included a link below to directly view an installation video that will help. Please contact us directly if you need further assistance at 800-991-0466 Ext.3 for technical support. Installation Videos
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Ric
Williamston, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/15/11
REVIEWED
AUG.
05
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Basement Watchdog Combo Pump
We could not be happier with the system. It took about an hour to install and works like a charm.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Ric,
We are happy that you are satisfied with your unit. We really appreciate your consideration of our products.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Brian
Indy, IN
REVIEWED
JUN.
17
2011
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Spd-bw4000kit
Overall I would have to say I am very satisfied at the moment. The shipment was received without any problems via freight carrier. Because we have water coming in pretty much 24/7 and this was the first time we ever attempted to replace a pump, we had to have a utility pump handy just in case. I would have to say the hardest part of the installation was the cutting of the discharge line to the appropriate length because of a 45 degree joint that was located about 2 inches from where the... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Brian,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your consideration of our products. We would like to mention that the backup locking up can be due to the first time use or debris blocking the pre-drilled air bleed hole into the elbow of the back up. This may have been the occurrence in your case. We are happy that you were satisfied with the product and know that you will be for many years. Please note that if you need assistance in the future we are wiling and ready to assist our customers. You can reach us at 800-991-0466 Ext.3
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Glen
Gowanda, NY
REVIEWED
MAY.
20
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Peace Of Mind!!
Simply, great idea, great product, easy to install, and great service. It's great to have some peace of mind when I travel!!
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Glen,
We are happy that we are able to assist you with your peace of mind. Thank you for your business and consideration of our products.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Martin
Pequannock, NJ
REVIEWED
MAY.
19
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Bw4000 Combo Pump
I just installed the bw4000 in my basement. I agree with Tom from Mn. The pump works fine but much too often because the pump float travels only a short distance before turning on. Can this float be adjusted in any way? Would it work any better if I raised the pump a bit in the sump by adding a brick or two?

Updated: I contacted Gelentronics via email to ask whether I could adjust the primary pump's float so that the pump didn't run so often. I received and immediate response. The... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Martin,
Thank you for your review of our products. Thank you for contacting us directly and allowing us to assist you immediately. We appreciate your willingness to reach out to us and your recommendation of our products.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Kirk
Brookville, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/28/11
REVIEWED
APR.
18
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
What A Great Pump!!!
Just got my sump pump delivered the other day and installed it in just a few minutes. Literally in a few minutes! All I had to do was measure up 18" from the bottom of my sump, put a mark on the existing PVC pipe and cut it off.

Everything else went together very smoothly. I think that the hardest part of the operation was putting the battery acid in the battery, which wasn't that hard at all. I am very pleased with it and now, I feel more secure about my basement.

I have had... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Kirk,
Thank you so much for your review. At the bottom we have included an link to view an easy battery installation video for future reference. If you need further assistance please call us directly at 800-991-0466 Ext.3 Installation Video
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Lyle
Portland, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/21/11
REVIEWED
APR.
12
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Satisfied
The installation took approx. 15 min. The hook up was simple as per instructions.

So far I am very satisfied with the watchdog.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Lyle,
Thank you for your review. We know that you won't de disappointed.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Raul
Newtown, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/1/10
REVIEWED
APR.
01
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Never Too Late
My wife has been after me to put in a back up sump pump or a new unit for 2 months.

I finally ordered the combined WatchDog system today after my neighbor's and my brother-in-law's basement flooded from our recent storms this month.

I didn't know that there were "combined" pumps out there. Our local big box stores only offered the traditional sump pumps or a back up unit.

I'm ready to install the new one when it arrives. Stay tuned and hope it isn't too late for me.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Raul,
Thank you for your consideration of our pumps. We know that you will not regret your decision.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Steve
Blue Bell, PA
REVIEWED
MAR.
22
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Sump Pump!
This sump pump is awesome!

Less than a week after I installed it, we had a big rain storm & lost power for 10 hours. The backup battery sump pump worked like a charm!!

We had peace of mind and best of all, NO water in the basement! I highly recommend this pump for anyone with water problems.

It's worth the price just for the fact that you know you can depend on it to do its job!! I have been telling all my neighbors who had water in their basements to purchase this pump. more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Steve,
Thank you so much for you recommendation of our company and products. We appreciate your trust in us.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Dennis
Chicago, IL
REVIEWED
MAR.
16
2009
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Watchdog Combo
I just installed a basement watchdog combo BW4000. It was very easy, its hard to screw it up. It comes with built in check valves, but I did call customer service to ask if I could still have the old check valve above the pump. They suggested removing my old check valve as it would make my new pump work harder and pump less. Pump works great.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Dennis,
Great! We are happy that you are satisfied with your system. We appreciate your feedback.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Basement Watchdog SPD-BW4000KIT reviews.Compare our Basement Watchdog SPD-BW4000KIT ratings. Find the Basement Watchdog SPD-BW4000KIT Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct