Search
< Back to Product

Basement Watchdog DFK-961 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$297.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$297.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$297.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$327.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$346.73
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Basement Watchdog DFK-961 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 5
Pros
I'd Buy It Again (4)
Fast (3)
Easy To Use (3)
Quiet (3)
Durable (2)
Cons
Unreliable (2)
Durability (2)
Expensive (1)
78% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
17 Reviews  Sort by 
 
David H.
Port Townsend, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/7/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
MAR.
13
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Peace Of Mind
We live in the Pacific Northwest where the sump pump runs during the heavy rain season. That is also when we have frequent power failures from trees falling on the power lines. Sometimes the power goes out for days at a time, so this dual pump with battery back up is just what we needed. I bought the 1/2 hp model first, but it didn't fit in the small pit, the 1/3 hp version fit perfectly in a pit about the size of a 5 gallon bucket. The install took about an hour, easier than I expected. Thanks,
David Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
David,
Thank you so much for your review. We are happy that we are able to help you during these difficult times. We appreciate your feedback.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Robert K.
Livonia, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/13/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Basement Watchdog Dfk-961
Pump has performed as expected with no problems so far. I used a Duracell replacement battery which was less expensive than the branded battery. I did not realize, however, that the battery sensor needed to be placed in the 5th cell from the negative terminal. The online support was excellent and got me straightened out. The only issue I had was that the two required plugs would not fit in a duplex outlet as shown in the product literature. This is inconvenient.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Quiet, Features
Robert Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Robert,
Thank you for purchasing our product. We definitely would like to assist you. If you are using a non-watchdog battery with the DFK961 it is recommended to place the fluid sensor under the positive post. We can also assist you with plugging both plugs into the same duplex outlet. Please call our service team at 800-991-0466 option 3 for technical assistance.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Heath B.
Keyport, NJ
REVIEWED
APR.
30
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Seems Like A Great Product
Just finished my basement and wanted an added measure of protection in case we lost power. Pulled my one year old sump pump and replaced it with this unit. Took me maybe 15 minutes - tested unit and pumped very quietly. Have not hooked up battery yet as waiting for flooring to be done and cabinets installed adjacent to the pump to conceal the battery. Was impressed with the packaging and added features such as the battery monitor/duel pump controller/duel floats/etc. Also having both... more
Heath Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Heath,
We thank you for taking the time to review our product and know that you will be satisfied within its performance.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael I.
Valley Cottage, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/10/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
07
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Can't Beat The Value
This is my 2nd one. Not the best on the market but a great value. Works fine.....reliable, does the job without making you broke. I would buy it again.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Fast, Easy To Use, Price
Michael Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Michael,
Thank you for your review. We know that our system will provide you with many years of protection.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
David C.
Huntington, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/15/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Basement Watchdog Dfk-961
Very pleased with your service! Arrived on time and in great condition. Easy to install and it works great.
David Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
David,
Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate your consideration of our products
more
Was this review helpful?
41
Dan
Yorktown, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/1/11
REVIEWED
NOV.
22
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
About As Expected
I liked what I saw in the product description, and the pump arrived and matched expectations. So far, so good. I had originally intended to use a Marine battery, but after I read the instructions about the low electrolyte alarm I decided to get the Watchdog battery, and picked one up at a local Home Depot. I like that the package takes up little room in the sump, and all components seem solid. The float switches seem to be arranged to be relatively immune to the most common types of... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Dan,
Thank you for your review. Guarantee that you will be very satisfied with your combination.
more
Was this review helpful?
41
John
Norton, OH
REVIEWED
JUL.
29
2011
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
After A Year & A Half It's No Good
I thought this was a great pump till it couldn't keep up the other day. I find on hard rains the main pump overheats and shuts off leaving the battery backup to do it's work for a while. This happened the other day and we had a heavy downpour and the Main pump overheated and the backup could just not keep up. I would've understood had their been a power outage, but there wasn't and all my carpet got ruined. Also the trickle charger has decided to stop working so I had to hook a car charger up... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
John,
We are sorry that you are unhappy with this product. Please keep in mind that when the back up pump kicks in during a tough storm this doesn't necessarily mean that the primary is not working, but that enough water is coming in that it has reached the level of the backup float and has kicked in to help keep the water out. We feel that this is a smarter design than having your back up only kick in when power is not available. In your situation it sounds like you needed to go with the big Combo as it sounds like you may be getting more water coming in during tough rains than the rated GPH of the DFK961 Combination system. We do stand behind our product 100% and if there is ever any situation in which you would need our assistance we are always willing to do so. You can contact us at 800-991-0466 Ext.3 for technical support. For us it's not about getting a sale but keeping our customers happy.
more
Was this review helpful?
30
Howard
Warren, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/15/11
REVIEWED
APR.
06
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy Directions
I had a Zoeller sump pump with no battery backup for many years and always checked that it was working when it rained. I checked it when it rained Sunday morning but the pump failed sometime Sunday night and I ended up with 18 inches of water in the basement by Monday morning, ruined everything.

The basement Watchdog system is great so far. Took 30 minutes to set up. Easy directions and everything I needed was in the box, even a rubber coupling and ties for the wires. I love the control... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Howard,
Thank you for Choosing the Basement Watchdog. We know that you will be satisfied for years to come.
more
Was this review helpful?
30
Jim
Hermantown, MN
REVIEWED
APR.
03
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Beats Them All
I have gone though a couple different brands of pumps in my basement and this combo beats them all. I found it easy to install. The primary pump effortlessly and rather quietly empties almost my entire sump well in seconds and the back up pump works just as good.

I also purchased the battery and acid from Watchdog and found the back up battery to be an easy installation and hookup. I am overly sure that I have much more piece of mind and satisfaction than John has and hope this review... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Jim,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you loyalty as a customer and recommendation of our products.
more
Was this review helpful?
20
John
Duluth, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/8/10
REVIEWED
NOV.
30
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
New Sump Pump System
After losing power during the first snowfall of the year, our basement was flooded. The existing pump was old with no backup pump to boot.

I ordered from Sump Pumps Direct and in only 2 days, a Basement Watchdog combo system was at my door. Installation was fast and easy and works like a charm!

The piece of mind this combo system provides is worth every penny!
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
John,
Thank you for your consideration of our company and products. We appreciate your review.
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Ted
REVIEWED
AUG.
21
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Alloy Housing - Bad Idea
Loved everything about this pump when I bought it. The redundant float systems, controller and capacity of the back up pump are outstanding. BUT. The pump housing is made from some kind of alloy that must contain zinc. Our ground water contains a lot of dissolved metals and is a great electrolyte. What that means is the zinc in the housing is attracted to the dissolved ions in the water and eventually it simply dissolves. Mine had a fist sized hole in it before two years in service. Granted my... more
Pros: Quiet, Fast
Cons: Unreliable, Durability
Ted Does Not Recommend This Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Ted,
We are sorry that were not happy with your pump. We would like to clarify that we do not use zinc in the construction of our products since we do know that this would cause them to deteriorate much quicker. It is not common that this would happen to the primary pump unless your water conditions are harsher than the common. In your case this pump may not be what you need but we do have a pump that we believe would be the right fit for you. Please click on the link below in order to see the S3033. You can contact us directly at 800.991.0466 Ext. 3 for technical support

S3033
more
Ted's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"One of the best online retail websites. Easy to navigate. Great information - better than those from manufacturers of the products they sell. Fast service. Competitive pricing. Couldn't be happier with Sump Pumps Direct."
 more
Was this review helpful?
32
John W.
Carlisle, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/14/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
01
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Need A Sump Pump
My client was referred by her aunt, for whom I had recently installed a back-up sump pump. This client was getting water in her basement due to excessive amounts of rainfall in 2012. As there was no existing pit, we had to cut through the concrete floor at the predetermined location and set a plastic pit liner in the hole (approximately 21" in diameter and 24" in depth). Drainage piping was routed to the exterior and terminated on the downhill side of the house a sufficient... more
Pros: Durable, Reliable, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
John Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
John,
Great! We are happy that we were able to assist you in making your customers happy!
more
John's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I have received immediate shipping of the units I have ordered from Sump Pumps Direct. Their web site is easy to navigate and select the proper unit."
 more
Was this review helpful?
21
Raaandy
Purcellville, VA
REVIEWED
JAN.
26
2010
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Weak Backup Pump
I purchased this pump at Home Depot for $278. It installed pretty easy in spite of an absolute rats nest of wires. Nothing but plastic everywhere. The primary pump works well, moved a bunch of water fast. Pretty quiet as well. When I tested the back up pump, would not work. Float switch worked fine, pump ran, did not move any water. Took it apart, check valve was ok, pump alone would pump water, but as soon as it was under any kind of pressure, nothing. I called Basement Watchdog tech... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Raaandy,
We are sorry that you are not satisfied with this product. Please keep in consideration that the back up pump is designed to handle 10 feet of lift at which it will pump 1,000 GPH. If you are beyond this point it may not be the desired backup for your situation. Please call us for further assistance at 800-991-0466 Ext. 3.
more
Was this review helpful?
21
Tony N.
Aurora, IL
REVIEWED
JUN.
17
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
2 Strikes....
This is the second Basement Watchdog would have bought the first one in two years Looked it was rusted through as if it had been in the pit for 10 yrs...and now the second one is having issues. There won't be a 3 strike.
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Quiet
Cons: Unreliable, Durability, Expensive
Tony Does Not Recommend This Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Tony,
Sorry to hear your having a problem with our Combination system. It would be unusual to have problems with 2 separate pumps in such a short span of time. If you have a high iron or mineral content in your ground water, that can sometimes cause this to happen.

I would suggest calling our service department at 800-991-0466 option 3 and describe what's happening. We're here to help and should be able to figure out what's causing your problem.
more
Was this review helpful?
11
John W.
Carlisle, PA
REVIEWED
SEP.
04
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sump Pump Gift From Generous But Frugal Aunt
The client had experienced a water loss in a recently finished basement with no sump pump. Her aunt offered to provide one for her.

This unit was chosen because it offers a combination of the primary sump pump system with the battery back-up unit already assembled. The cost of the dual unit is considerably less than a separate add-on system, plus ease of assembly.

Once the pit had been dug and the preformed shell set in position, installation was much like installing a primary unit... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
John,
Thank you for your review. We Appreciate you continually recommending us to your clients. We assure you that even when the system is put to the it will pass.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
James
Berlin, WI
REVIEWED
SEP.
19
2010
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
In-between Right Now
Kinda in-between right now- I had a stand alone Wayne pump in before getting this one, and it seemed to pump water out faster. I'll have to wait for spring before I find out how it will be for sure. When the ground is saturated and the rains are heavy. Had some shipping difficulties. Hopefully resolved now, but had no response. Hope the pump lasts, it wasn't cheap.
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Product Expert
James,
Our records show the original unit was damaged during shipment. They also show that we called you on 9/8/10 and explained the process to you.

We have already had the damaged pump picked up, and the replacement pump has already been delivered. We're sorry, but we don't show any unanswered calls or emails from you in our logs.

We appreciate your business, so please feel free to email us at service@sumppumpsdirect.com, or call us (toll free) at (888) 455-4682 if we may be of further assistance.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
James,
We apologize for your inconvenience. We know that SPD is a great company and are grateful for their quick response to you situation. We promise that you will be satisfied with this product and you will not be disappointed with its features or our company.
more
Was this review helpful?
11
Ronald H.
St.George, UT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/7/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
28
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Water In Basement At Our Cabin
Excellent, we've only had it going for week, but great so far.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Fast, I'd Buy It Again
Ronald Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Ronald,
Thank you for choosing the Basement Watchdog. We are certain that you will not regret your decision.
more
Ronald Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great service."
 more
Was this review helpful?
01
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Basement Watchdog DFK-961 reviews.Compare our Basement Watchdog DFK-961 ratings. Find the Basement Watchdog DFK-961 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct