Search
< Back to Product

Basement Watchdog BWC1 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
$34.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
$34.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$34.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$34.97
(as of 06:07 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
 
$51.95
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Basement Watchdog BWC1 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (4)
Price (4)
Features (3)
Fast (1)
High Quality (1)
Cons
Durability (1)
Unreliable (1)
Low Quality (1)
None (1)
93% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
20 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Frank
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/24/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
MAY.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy Replacement
Great design for easy installation (less then 10 minutes). It's been working well for months now through the heavy Spring rains.
Frank Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Frank,
We are happy that you are satisfied with this product and thank you for taking the time to review.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Karl M.
Jackson, WY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/5/16
REVIEWED
APR.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Seems Like A Good Product
Looks foolproof and is working fine. It would be nice to have a loose cord to feed through the small hole in the lid of the sump tank that's made for the cord of the pump. Had to cut out a piece of the cover to fit the cord past the flange of the vent pipe.
Karl Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Karl,
We thank you for your review and appreciate your feedback. Please note that this wire may be cut and spliced back together in the further to avoid cutting your lid. If you have any further questions don't hesitate to call us directly at 800.991.0466 ext 3 for tech support.
more
Karl's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"First product came out of its packaging, and rolling around loose in the box. Parts were broken but I installed the device anyway and made it work. Complained about the shipping to customer service. I was sent, at no charge, a new in box product with no return required. Installed the replacement and it is working well. Thank you customer service."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Grant S.
Springfield, OR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/2/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
17
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Well
Can keep water level very low.
Grant Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Grant,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback on this product and are glad that the adjustable float feature is working well for you.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Ralph L.
Columbus, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/12/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
07
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Main Sump Float Fails....panic!!
I got a sump pump alarm at 4:30 AM on a Friday indicating the main pump had failed and the backup was operating. I discovered a defective main sump pump float. Ordered a replacement later that morning and received it the following Monday without having to pay additional freight. Installed it in about 10-15 minutes.
Ralph Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Ralph,
We apologize for your inconvenience and thank you for your feedback. Thank you for calling and allowing us to assist you with this. We appreciate when our customers reach out.
more
Ralph's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Good experience with delivery and install."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Glen M.
Green Brook, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/11/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
FEB.
03
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Product
Good, basic, working product as described.
Glen Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Glen,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feed back.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Charles R.
Longview, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/13/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Basement Watchdog Is A Super Product!
I bought a sump pump from a box store about a year ago. Installed it in my backyard in a catch basin fed by perforated drainage pipe.

Within a year the float switch had malfunctioned and I was told I'd have to buy a whole new pump!

Not so! To the rescue rode Sump Pumps Direct! They sold me a Basement Watchdog which is a quick fix.
Disabled my old float switch and installed the Basement Watchdog. Elapsed time, maybe 10 minutes.

Works like a charm. Jim, one of their Experts, was... more
Charles Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Charles,
We are happy that everything worked out for you. Thank you for your review and your consideration of our products
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Tim
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/19/12
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
NOV.
08
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quiet And Fast
I needed a replacement for my old pedestal sump system, and really liked the Zoeller models, but had seen a fair amount of negative feedback concerning the units with the built-in float switches.

After some research and great information from Jim at Sump Pumps Direct, I settled on the Zoeller N53 "switch-less" pump coupled with the Basement Watchdog BWC1 float switch and controller.

It's been three months now and I really don't think I could be happier. If the switch does fail,... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Tim,
Thank you so much for your recommendation of our Dual float and controller. We really appreciate it.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Bob T.
Crestwood, KY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/3/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
06
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Perfect - A Snap To Install
I like the unit running for an addtional few secounds after it pumps the well dry easy to install works great
Bob Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Bob,
We are happy to hear that you are satisfied with our dual float controller. We sincerely appreciate your feedback.
more
Bob's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great to work with Thanks"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Samuel U.
Springfield, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/16/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
07
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It Works
I've had several different switches, this works best. It took many height adjustments, but once set it does just fine..
Samuel Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Samuel,
Thank you for your business. We know that this product will bring you many years of reliability and assist in keeping your basement dry. Please contact us if you are ever in need of assistance at 800.991.0466 Ext 3
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Gerald S.
Aurora, IL
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
APR.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Problem Solved!
Wasn't too familiar with sump or ejector pumps, but had a problem with flooding in my basement. I purchased the Basement Watchdog Dual Vertical Float Switch & Controller and was able to install it in minutes. Works like a charm and saved me hundreds of dollars.
Gerald Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Gerald,
Thank you for your review.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Brett S.
Lyndhurst, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/9/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
31
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Float Switch I Needed....
I looked on line for days for a very specific switch. My basement was filling up with up to an inch of water. The chimney to the basements fire place was the problem.

On getting quotes upwards to $3500.00 to fix the problem. I decided to examine the situation myself...There was a small 4"x 4" cleanout opening which led to a small cavity in the bottom of the chimney...The cavity would fill with water during a big rain then proceed to flood the basement.

I took days worth of... more
Brett Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Brett,
We are happy that we were able to assist you with this. Thank you for your feedback.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Bradley S.
Iowa Park, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/24/14
REVIEWED
MAY.
06
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Basement Watchdog
I have an outside sump pump, an effluent pump. My property has quite a grade to it. When I bought the property, I thought it had a septic tank, but I found out different. The pump tank collapsed so I had to dig it out. Put a pump in the ground because I have to pump up to get to the sewer. I had a tethered float valve that quit working. Needed a more reliable switch control. Saw the Basement Watchdog and read the reviews, thought I would give it a try. I am very happy with it. Does an amazing... more
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Features, Reliable
Cons: None
Bradley Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Bradley,
Thank you for your review of our BWC1. Please keep in mind that we don't generally recommend this product for septic situations and the USC3 is a highly recommended product for future use. We are happy that you are satisfied with the product. Please call us directly if you have any further questions at 800.991.0466 ext3
more
Bradley's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Ordered on Monday, installed by the weekend. Its been working perfect ever since. Thank you Sump Pumps Direct. I know who I will trust for all my sump pump needs."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Larry C.
Pigeon, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/3/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
20
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Glad We Found You On The Net
We were looking for a good company with reasonable prices for the sump pumps and stumbled upon this site! Great prices and fast reliable shipping are important and we found them both here along with the quality we expect! Thank you!
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Features, I'd Buy It Again
Larry Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Larry,
Thank you for your review. We know that you will be satisfied with the BWC1. Please let us know if you have any questions or need further assistance. You can contact us at 800.991.0466 Ext. 3 for technical assistance.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Trenton H.
Centennial, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/6/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
27
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
This product is exactly as advertised! I would tell anyone looking for a float switch to use the watchdog.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price, High Quality
Trenton Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Trenton,
Thank you so much for recommending our Dual float and controller. We will assure you in knowing that it is made with great consideration and technology. This product is extremely reliable and easy to install.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Grady J.
Raleigh, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/8/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
30
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy Install
This unit is replacing an electronic wire sensor that after a year started given issues. This mechanical one works every time. Very easy to install and setup. I'm a very happy customer now.
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Price, Fast
Grady Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Grady,
We are happy that you are a happy customer. We thank you for your recommendation and assure you that you will be very satisfied for years to come.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Doug
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/26/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
17
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Basement Footings Are At River Bank Level
With a floodwall across the street I need reliable sump pumps.I am using a Zoeller M98 as my primary pump.

My secondary pump is another brand that had problems with the switch sticking due to a rusty float system. I zip tied the float in the on position and plugged it into a Basement Watchdog Dual Float Switch and Controller. Problem solved. Be aware that the switch box is quite large and could be a problem for cramped outlets.

USGS water alerts are GREAT!
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Doug,
Thank you for your review! We really appreciate your feedback.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Carlos
Lebanon, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/2/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
18
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Satisfied Customer
The pump works excellent and is very quiet. The switch is working great, too. I was amazed how quickly the package arrived it arrived two days after I ordered it. Rain was forecast for our area, so I was glad to get the pump quickly.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Carlos,
Thank you for your review. We know that the BWC1 will help you keep your basement dry for a very long time.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Richard
Hamilton, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/20/11
REVIEWED
MAY.
12
2011
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Piece Of Mind
Easy to install and have not had to us it, as it is a backup for the org. Hope I don't need to use it but it gives me peace of mind knowing it is there.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Richard,
Thank you for your review. We really appreciate your feedback and consideration of our products.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Curtis G.
Pleasant Hill, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/14/14
REVIEWED
MAY.
26
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Burnt Up
Device worked for about 24 hours on ground fault plug and then burnt up. Never again, wiring was too light a gauge for continuous duty.
Pros: None
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable, Durability
Curtis Does Not Recommend This Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Curtis,
We are very sorry that you are not happy with your BWC1. We would like to discuss your situation in more detail and suggest that you give us a call at 800-991-0466 Ext. 3 for technical support. We would also like to reassure you in that the this Dual float controller has been listed and UL rated for a 12amp continuous draw pump.
more
Was this review helpful?
01
J.c.
REVIEWED
AUG.
21
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Loud
I bought this to replace old Watchdog unit and this pump is at least twice as loud. it pumps great; and after some modification to replace the old unit including disconnecting the float switch to use the Watchdog switch, all works well.

Between the larger base and float bracket you may need to plan for extra space in the sump pit.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
J.c.,
Thank you for choosing the our Dual Float Controller.
more
Was this review helpful?
36
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Basement Watchdog BWC1 reviews.Compare our Basement Watchdog BWC1 ratings. Find the Basement Watchdog BWC1 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct