Search
< Back to Product

Basement Watchdog BW1050 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$129.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$129.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$129.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$149.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$146.56
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Basement Watchdog BW1050 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 5
Pros
I'd Buy It Again (4)
Price (4)
Easy To Use (3)
Quiet (3)
Reliable (3)
Cons
Expensive (2)
Fit (1)
Bad Instructions (1)
Heavy (1)
Noisier Than Old One (1)
87% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
44 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Power Equipment Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
30 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
1318 Helpful Votes
Power Equipment Direct Recommended

Who doesnít like to save money? Youíll end up saving money wit this energy efficient pump. The BW1050 only uses only 4.2 amps (compare to 10+ amps on other pumps) and earns our "Good" recommendation.

Combine that with dual float switches wrapped in a protective cage, it provides added redundancy and wonít get hung up like other switches often do.

Last, but not least this is an industrial strength pump that is rated for continuous duty, so you know itís built to last.
Jim Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
326
Robert J.
Tecumseh, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/1/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
NOV.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great!
The pump is rock solid, hooked up very easily, and pumps like mad! The float was a no-brained to hook up and adjust. The best part of the system is the dealer, Sump Pumps Direct. I'll be back when it's time to replace them!
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Robert Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Robert,
Thank you for purchasing our product and we are glad to hear you had a positive experience. If you ever need assistance with our products please call our service team at 800-991-0466 option 3 for technical assistance.
more
Robert's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great price, fast shipping, and OUTSTANDING customer service! I'll be back when it's time to replace my pumps!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Brett F.
Lakeport, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/24/15
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
DEC.
16
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
On Time
Arrived on time. Looks good in box. I sure hope its going to be what I need when the time comes!
Brett Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Brett,
Thank you for purchasing our 1/2 HP Pump. We know that you will be satisfied with its performance once the time comes. Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions or are in need of assistance at 800.991.0466 ext 3 for tech support. 9-5 CST M-F
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Thomas B.
Swartz Creek, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/12/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Product
This pump is very quiet. And the design of the on/off switch is great, allowing for perfect placement to regulate the water level in the sump pit.
Thomas Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Thomas,
Thank you for purchasing the Basement Watchdog Bw1050. If you ever need assistance with our products please call our service team at 800-991-0466 option 3 for technical assistance.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Bertina P.
Cedar Hill, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/10/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
03
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Does The Job!
Previous sump pump was approximately 3-4 years old, when it went out, we quickly ordered a replacement. It arrived within 3 days and was very simple to install replacement. Much quieter that previous model and certainly seems to DO THE JOB!
Bertina Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Bertina,
Glad to hear you are satisfied with your purchase! If you ever have any questions about the system please call our service team at 800-991-0466 option 3.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Charles R.
Jeffersonville, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/7/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
29
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Replaced My Old Pump Painlessly
I am pleased overall with my basement watchdog system. I am, however concerned that the original pump malfunctioned after less than 4 years use. I was able to retain the 12 volt backup pump and electronics. This appears to be a well designed system. I would have expected it to last more than 4 years though.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Charles,
We appreciate your continued business and feedback. Sorry to hear that original primary pump only lasted around 4 years. We might be able to help you out in some way with that. I would suggest calling our service team at 800-991-0466 option 3.
more
Charles's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Super fast response and shipping."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Joseph N.
Loveland, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/20/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product At The Right Price
I went online for about 30 minutes, checked reviews and this one had the best reviews for the money. It took me 3 minutes to order and it shipped to my door in 3 days for $129.00 +shipping. Super simple install - 15 minutes to pull old sump and put this in place, plugged in and operational! Easy order, easy install, great price - I Very Highly recommend this sump for the average home.
Joseph Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Joseph,
Thank you for purchasing our product and we are glad to hear you had a positive experience. If you ever need assistance with our products please call our service team at 800-991-0466 option 3 for technical assistance.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Richard L.
Stockbridge, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/25/16
REVIEWED
APR.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Sump Pupm & Good Price
I like this pump except the shutoff delay is only 20 seconds as opposed to 30 seconds on the old one. Shorter delay means the pump doesn't draw down as much as the old one and will cycle a little faster when the water level is up.
Richard Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Richard,
Thank you so much for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to review our products.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Paul D.
Yellville, AR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/11/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works As Advertised
I have installed the pump and tested it. It works exactly as advertised. My under house area is rock, dirt and sand. The hardest part of installing the pump was digging a pit to put it in. After installing it I tested it and it turned on and off as it was supposed to do. We have not had a heavy rain, 2 or more inches, since I installed the pump. So it is untested in heavy rain condition, but based on the test I ran I believe it will do the job.
Paul Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Paul,
Thank you for your review. We know that you will be satisfied with the reliability of this pump for many years to come.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Kurt L.
Camp Hill, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/17/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Bw1059
Found this pump at Sump Pumps Direct. Shipping was very fast. Great pump. Very happy.
Kurt Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Kurt,
We are happy that you are satisfied with our products. We thank you for your review and appreciate your business.
more
Kurt's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great customer service. Thanks"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Andrew I.
Covington, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/5/16
REVIEWED
JAN.
31
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
I bought this to replace our 16 year old sump pump which had been acting up. This pump is louder than the old one, however, it stays on less time per cycle and shoots the sump water about 5 feet away from the discharge pipe. I'm also impressed with the float switch design. So far, I'm very impressed.
Pros: Exceeded Expectations, Fast, High Quality, Large Diameter Discharge Pipe Really Moves The Water
Cons: Noisier Than Old One
Andrew Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Andrew,
We thank you for your review and know that this pump will provide you many years of satisfaction.
more
Andrew's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"So far, so good. It arrived quickly and undamaged. I ordered from SPD because the one I'd ordered from Lowes was damaged and missing parts. I also saved a few bucks."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Brian L.
Rossville, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/28/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
20
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump
Great Pump, easy install.
Brian Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Brian,
Thank you so much for your review. We are glad that you are happy with our products.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Terressa M.
Federal Way, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/27/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quick & Quiet
I replaced a comparable sized FloTec sump pump in my crawl space. The basement watchdog took only a few minutes to install. I am not a big DIY person, but the instructions were clear and I was able to find a YouTube installation video from the manufacturer.

I used to hear the hum of my old sump, but the Basement Watchdog is super quiet. Sump Pumps direct got this too me in 4 days as opposed to the two week turn around promised by my local big box home repair center.
Terressa Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Product Expert
Terressa,
You bring up a great point. For a DIY project, replacing a sump pump is something that most people can do with just simple hand tools. And it is also nice knowing how something is installed, when maintenance or service need to be performed.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Terressa,
Thank you so much for your review. We are happy that one of our videos was able to assist you in installing your pump. We appreciate the feedback.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
John
Joliet, IL
REVIEWED
FEB.
02
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Bad Casing
Only 2 years old. Water was up in the pit so I pulled pump to find 2-Inch hole in side of pump. Poked my finger through casing about the size of a silver dollar.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
John,
We apologize for any inconvenience that you have had and we really would like you to know that we do stand behind our product. If you contact us directly we can help you remediate this situation. You can call us at 800.991.0466 Ext. 3 for technical support. Also, please keep in mind in the surrounding soil has a high mineral content this may occur to any pump and for preventative maintenance we do recommend that you put 1/4 cup of CLR in the pit once a month.

As a side note please be sure to refer to the labeling of any preventative chemicals before using.
more
Was this review helpful?
133
John M.
Pine Brook, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/4/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
26
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Good Pump But Has Shortcomings
Purchased the BW1050 pump to replace a similar pump that came as part of the Big Combo battery back-up system. The original BW1050 pump failed catastrophically after only 3 years.

The outer shell of the pump is cast aluminum and corrodes badly in the caustic sump water. Expect that this pump will likely only last a similar period.

Would be nice if the pump were made entirely of cast iron rather than aluminum and iron. As a result, the pump must be considered as a wear item and replaced... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
John,
We are sorry that you are not happy with this product. We stand behind our product 100% and ask that you call us if your issue has not yet been resolved. We will be able to assist you. Please contact us at 800.991.0466 ext 3 for tech support.
more
Was this review helpful?
80
Chuck
Darien, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/10/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
31
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Peace Of Mind
I have two sump pump pits in a sub basement. The pit bottoms are 13' below grade. After the last few storms, April/May 2013 it was time to replace my ageing battery back ups. What I have done is use the same battery chargers with new batteries. I have added a 1500 watt power inverter to run these pumps in each pit. The current draw for these 1/2hp is only 4.2 amps. The inverter handles it with ease. These will pump 53GPM at a 10' lift. The adjustable 2 pole switch is a perfect match for these... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Chuck,
Thank you for your review. We would like to let you know that we do specialize in energy efficient pumps that do the job and we are happy that you love this feature.
more
Was this review helpful?
102
Tim S.
New Wilmington, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/18/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
21
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Performance Plus
I installed this pump with ease and it has worked great! The only complaint would be that the housing corroded after a little more than 1 year and the pump did not draw the water down to the limit depth. This was remedied very quickly with a phone call and a free replacement pump was on it's way.
I have the total watchdog system with battery backup and alarm.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Tim,
Thank you for your review and we thank you for calling us directly so that we were able to remediate the situation for your effectively and quickly. We would like to also mention that if you do have a high mineral content in your water this may happen with any pump; but we do recommend that your pour a 1/4 cup of CLR, Lime away, or any variation of these products once a month in order to prevent this in the future.
more
Was this review helpful?
91
Jerusalem P.
South Canaan, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/8/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Product!!
We were putting in pumps that we thought were the most reasonable, from hardware stores. They were actually more expensive than your product. They would only work a short time, and would always fail when they were needed the most (during a large rainfall).

My electric hot water heater was ruined twice, dehumidifier burned out from the water, all of my Christmas ornaments and supplies were ruined among so many other things. With a thousand dollar deductible, the homeowner insurance gave no... more
Jerusalem Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Jerusalem,
We are happy that your are satisfied with your product. We appreciate your business and know that you will not be disappointed.
more
Was this review helpful?
50
Michael
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/8/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
09
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good To Go
I woke up to 2Ē of water on my basement floor after the sump pump that I had quit working. I had to get two pumpís in my sump pump hole and Sump Pumps Direct had the two pumpís that would fit in the hole. And now I am good to go.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Reliable, Easy To Use, Features
Cons: Heavy, Bad Instructions, Expensive
Michael Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Michael,
Thank you for your review. We know that you will be happy with our BW1050.
more
Was this review helpful?
40
James E.
Spotswood, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/31/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
21
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Hard
I'm not sure why, but my sump pit is always full of water. I live in a town house. On some days the pump runs every five minutes. It does the job, has been reliable for many years. This is the second one I have purchased.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
James Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
James,
Thank you for recommending our products! We really appreciate your trust in our company and pumps.
more
James Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Good price, fast shipping."
 more
Was this review helpful?
51
Gary B.
St. Louis, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/21/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
12
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Well So Far.
I have had two other sump pumps in this house since moving in, in 1986. One had an interior float, and worked well until the float stuck and the pump burned up.

The other had an exterior float tethered by a cord, and kept getting tangled up, or would lie on top of the pump and not shut off. Longevity on both of these was good.

This new one pumps faster than either of the old ones if longevity is as good, I know I already prefer the float setup on this new one.
Pros: Quiet, Durable, Features, Fast
Cons: Expensive
Gary Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Gary,
Great! We are happy that we were able to provide you with a product that suits your needs! We appreciate your business and know that you won't be disappointed with many years of reliable pumping!
more
Gary's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Obviously, I can't predict reliability, as I've only had this unit for about three weeks. But so far, it has worked well."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Crystal H.
Covington, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/16/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Basement Watchdog
For the past few years I have been looking for a new sump pump for my basement. I could not find a pump to fix in the hole for a sump pump, so I went onto the internet and found a sump pump called Watchdog. I ordered this pump and for the past three weeks off and on we have been getting 1 to 2" of rain but this Watchdog Sump Pump is keeping my basement very dry. Thanks for putting my ad onto the internet, I am a very happy customer.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Crystal,
We thank you for your review and we are happy that we are able to help you keep your basement dry.
more
Was this review helpful?
52
Mike
Auburn Twp, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/22/11
REVIEWED
OCT.
14
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Bailin' Me Out!
Thanks for literally bailing me out! After 2 consecutive 100 year rain storms, my basement flooded 2 times in 3 weeks. We've lived in the house for 19 years and never had any bit of water. After the 2 huge storms, we got water in the basement twice. After some consultation with my original excavator, we determined it was a volume-capacity issue. Jim did a great job of discussing my application to narrow down which sump pump to get. I needed to get another 1-2 HP pump to fit in my 18" pit... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Mike,
Thank your for choosing the Basement Watchdog. We must agree that Jim is really knowledgeable and great at what he does. We know that you will be happy for years on end.
more
Was this review helpful?
30
James B.
Strongsville, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/9/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far, So Good
I like the vertical float switch. It makes it easy to adjust for when you want the pump to turn on. When it rains hard here my sump pit fills up quickly. The Watchdog empties the pit nicely. It doesn't take up much space at all. I have installed it with the Liberty water powered back up sump jet.
James Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
James,
We are happy that you are satisfied with our product and appreciate your business
more
James's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Shipping was fast and the price was right."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
John A.
Sterling, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/31/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
03
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Ordered Two Bw1050 Pumps, One Looks Used
I ordered two BW1050 pumps. The first looks fine. It had a 14 series number. The second looks like it's used (from the inside), outside is spotless. The black paint on the inside is also peeling/flaking off.

It had a 13 series number. The 14 series black paint was shiny, not dull, flaky, or pitted in appearance. I will returnexchange for another BW1050 pump.

Still love Watchdog - but needs better quality control for whatever is going on with this pump.
John Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
John,
We appreciate your feedback and apologize for this mishap. We can assure you that we thoroughly check every pump before it leaves this warehouse as everything is packaged and shipped out in house at our location. However there are always those rare instances where once product leaves the warehouse either an old pump gets switched into a box or a return happens to accidently wind up on the wrong shelf.

We are happy to help with any returns needed and we are always here to answer any questions. Thank you again for your feedback and for being a customer. Have a wonderful day!


Sincerely,
The Glentronics Family
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Gary J.
Rochester, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/5/15
REVIEWED
APR.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Like A Charm
I have a very small sump / crock of 8 1/2" and the pump and float need to be contained and work in that small space. This pump fits and the float attaching to the output pipe is crucial for my application. The pump runs quiet and empties the sump in seconds.

Great pump!!
Gary Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Gary,
Thank you for your review. We really appreciate the feedback.
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Fred S.
Hadley, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/30/15
REVIEWED
APR.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Like A "champ"
Has more than enough power, is extremely efficient, and quiet running. This is better than many other brands for less money. Would highly recommend it to anyone.
Fred Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Fred,
Thank you for your review. We really appreciate your feedback
more
Fred's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Extremely knowledgeable, helpful, and answered many related questions by phone. Purchase was a very positive experience. I was not transferred to another person after questions, order was placed with same person. Would not hesitate to purchase here again."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Ronald M.
Monroe, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/16/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
06
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Pump And Service, Tricky Fit Up
Pump delivered as expected. Not an exact fit for the existing plumbing. This pupm was a direct replacement for the original one, but had to jury rig the piping to get it to install. Seems there is a casting on the pump that causes it to be a bit off.

Other than working thru that, no complaints.
Pros: Quiet, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Fit
Ronald Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Ronald,
Thank you for your recommendations. We really appreciate it. Please let us know if you need any further assistance. You can contact us directly at 800-991-0466 Ext 3. for technical support.
more
Was this review helpful?
31
Maureen
Feeding Hills, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/9/11
REVIEWED
MAR.
18
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Company
What a pleasure ordering from this company. Before ordering the pump, my husband contacted a representative who was not only knowledgeable, but friendly, courteous and responsive.

After ordering the pump via internet, we received a telephone call from another rep who indicated that the pump was back ordered for a few days. He asked us if that was acceptable (which it was). Very unusual that a company will call to inform the buyer of the situation.

We have recommended this company to... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Maureen,
We thank you for choosing Basement Watchdog. We appreciate your trust in our company and products.
more
Was this review helpful?
31
Adam
Jersey City, NJ
REVIEWED
APR.
08
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sump Pumps Direct & Basement Watchdog
This is the first time ever for me to respond about a product & service I bought over the Internet.

The Basement Watchdog BW1050 Ĺ Hp. sump pump works as good, if not better than it looks. The ease of installation was much easier than I expected.

The performance of the Basement Watchdog is superb & super quiet. When I read all the tech specs and view the manual I judged this pump to outclass all the others that would have met my needs, if it works, only 2.7 amps.

I was not... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Adam,
We thank you for choosing the Basement Watchdog. We appreciate your Review and we know that you will not be disappointed.
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Greg H.
Bordentown, NJ
REVIEWED
AUG.
01
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Item
I have a dry basement but I bought this after storms Irene and Lee came in 2011 just as a precaution. Installation went well. The pump works fine. Quiet too. No problems.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Price, Reliable
Greg Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Greg,
Thank you for your review and recommendation of our product.
more
Greg Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great website and product reviews that made my purchase much easier."
 more
Was this review helpful?
21
Robert
Fairless Hills, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/1/11
REVIEWED
APR.
22
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Problem Solver
As soon as I saw the ad on your website, I felt sure that this pump would solve the problem I was having with other pumps. Other pumps I used would shift in the pit due to the starting & stopping torque.

The unique vertical float switch with its guarded float eliminated this problem completely. The pump was priced competitively, shipped quickly and was installed easily.

Thanks for the great quality & service.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Robert,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you business.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Sharon S.
Delano, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/20/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Sump Pump
Have used this pump with back up system for years. It works great and is dependable, keeps my basement dry.
Sharon Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Sharon,
We are happy that you can trust us! We thank you for your review. We Know that you will continue to be happy for years to come.
more
Sharon's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast, efficient and very helpful."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Linda P.
Des Moines, IA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/14/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ez Peeezy
I think I'm the "Tool Time Women" so I'm very glad that this was pretty easy to switch out old & install the Watchdog only thing I had to do was get adapter to go from PVC TO OUTLET HOSE since my outlet hose was too small to fit PVC, but no problem. Adapter was easy to purchase & icon next.
Linda Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Linda,
We are happy that you are satisfied with our products. We appreciate you taking the time to write up this review.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
John P.
Harrisburg, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/27/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Satisfied
I bought the same pump 3 years ago after a freak storm flooded my basement. I originally bought that one as a backup to my existing pump in the same sump. Liked the low amp feature.

Just replaced my old pump with the same 1/2 watchdog, so I know have 2 of the same 1/2 watchdog and peace of mind that they will be able to pump anything that mother nature can throw at them.
John Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
John,
Thank you for your review and loyalty to our products! We appreciate your business
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Milton G.
Bel Air, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/10/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
03
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Failed
The first heavy rain pump failed and basement flooded.
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Product Expert
Milton,
Please accept my apologies for the problem you experienced with your Basement Watchdog sump pump. While there can be many causes to the problem at hand, I do recommend that you contact Basement Watchdog tech support at 800-991-0466 for troubleshooting assistance. They are very good in assisting and will do everything necessary to resolve the issue with the pump. If you have any other questions or concerns, please don't hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
Jim Owiecki
Sump Pumps Direct Product Expert
800-710-7499 X125
630-685-0025 - Direct
james@pedstores.com
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Milton,
We apologize for your problem and recommend that if you haven't already, to call us immediately so that we may help to resolve your issue. We are always willing and available to help our customers. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to assisting you soon.
more
Was this review helpful?
11
John G.
Topsham, ME
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/23/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sump Pump
Got here quickly, works great, will be getting more for other property's.
John Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
John,
We appreciate your feedback. Thank you for your business
more
Was this review helpful?
11
Kip G.
Columbia City, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/14/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Pump
Works very well. Quiet and efficient.
Kip Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Kip,
Thank you for your review. We really appreciate your feedback.
more
Was this review helpful?
01
Joe
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/24/12
REVIEWED
FEB.
02
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Bw1050 Review
My Basement Watchdog BW1050 stopped working within 2 months. During those 2 months we only had rain 3 times.
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Product Expert
Joe,
It's unfortunate to hear that your pump has failed after only 2 months. Basement Watchdog stands behind their products with a 3-Year warranty on this pump. Please contact their technical support line @ (800) 991-0466 for Warranty Claims.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Joe,
We are very sorry for your inconvenience. As Jim states, we do stand behind are product and are always ready to assist our customers quickly. Please give us a call at 800-991-0466 Ext. 3 for technical support so that we may be able to assist you.
more
Was this review helpful?
01
Don
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/11/12
REVIEWED
DEC.
22
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Poduct
Works great.
Silent operation.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Don,
Thank you for your review!
more
Was this review helpful?
12
Robert Hobson
Fairless Hills, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/1/11
REVIEWED
DEC.
21
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Perfectly
This pump was purchased to be kept as an emergency backup to the pump I previously purchased.
The original pump has worked perfectly since installation, so I bought this one to keep in reserve.
Thanks,
Bob Hobson
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Robert,
Thank you for your feedback we know that you will be satisfied with the quality and performance of this pump.
more
Was this review helpful?
23
Erika
Cherry Hill, NJ
REVIEWED
FEB.
18
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Product
Prompt service delivery, excellent product, easy installaion. A+
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Erika,
Thank you for your feed back. We really appreciate it.
more
Was this review helpful?
01
Todd
REVIEWED
APR.
07
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Beware!!
This system was put in less than 2 years ago. Was out of town and when I came home heard pump running for a long time. Went down to check it and noticed bubbling out the top of pump, thank god we had installed second pump at higher level just for this reason.

Pulled pump out and it had a split all the way down the side and split in the top. Would've been a terrible Easter for my finished basement. If you read other reviews you will see that structural problems are a real issue with these... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Todd,
We are very sorry for what you have experienced. Please be assured that this is not at all a common occurrence with this pump and we would love to help you. According to your purchase time it sounds like the pump is within the warranty . Please contact our service department @800.991.0466 Ext 3 For tech support so that we can get this resolved for you. Thank you.
more
Was this review helpful?
02
Don
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/11/12
REVIEWED
DEC.
22
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
Works great.
It really pumps with quiet operation.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Don,
We appreciate your feed back!
more
Was this review helpful?
02
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Basement Watchdog BW1050 reviews.Compare our Basement Watchdog BW1050 ratings. Find the Basement Watchdog BW1050 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct