Search
< Back to Product

Ariens Max Zoom 60 Zero Turn Lawn Mower Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$4,999.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$4,999.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$4,999.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Ariens 991087 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 5
Pros
Price (7)
Easy To Use (6)
Durable (5)
High Quality (4)
I'd Buy It Again (2)
Cons
One (1)
None (1)
96% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
36 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Power Equipment Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
91 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
12615 Helpful Votes
Power Equipment Direct Recommended

The Ariens MaxZoom 60 is a high-performance zero-turn mower that provides excellent performance, value and durability. Tough enough for light-duty commercial use yet affordable enough for homeowners, the Ariens MaxZoom 60 is ideal for small business owners or residential users with large yards.

Powered by a 25HP Kohler V-Twin engine, the Ariens MaxZoom 60 has plenty of kick and moves along at a speedy 8 mph, which is pretty fast considering the large cutting deck. The 60-inch, 10-gauge... more
Jose Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
10726
manufacturers review image

Jeralyn B.
Product Manager
From The Manufacturer
Ariens Max Zoom® 60
The Ariens Max Zoom® 60 Zero-Turn mower provides commercial-grade power and performance to suit your needs. With well-crafted components, Hydro-Gear® transaxles and a nearly invincible 4-point deck, you can bring commercial performance home to cut your cutting time in half for years to come.

The Max Zoom 60 is powered by a 25HP Kohler® air-cooled V-twin 7000 Series™ engine which is known for its pro-grade features, easy starts, durable components and powerful consistent cut technology,... more
View Image
Was this review helpful?
03
Ed G.
Catskill, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/29/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JUL.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Don't Hesitate.... Buy This Mower!!!!
I never write reviews but since this was a pretty big purchase for me I figured I will share my opinion.

This mower KICKS ASS!!!!!!!

I only have about 9hrs. logged on it so far and I'm very satisfied with the ease of use and overall quality of the machine. Has a very rigid heavy duty feel. Took me about 5 or 10 min. to get used to the controls and steering. I have 3.5 acres that I used to do with a 48" john deere LA130. It used to take me a little over 3hrs toal to do front and... more
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations
Ed Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
30
David H.
Verona, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/28/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
JUL.
11
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Defective Pto Clutch Results In Out Of Pocket Money
Only 7 hours on this machine and now the blades do not engage. Because of the units size, I needed to have it picked up and delivered to dealer. While clutch is covered under warranty, the pickup and delivery is not included. So I have to pay 75 dollars out of pocket because of a warranty issue. Not happy!
Was this review helpful?
30
Michelle M.
Kirksville, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/3/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
15
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Careful On Hills
I've had the Ariens MaxZoom60 Zero Turn mower for about 2 months and have used it about 6-7 times. I was a complete novice but adapted well to mowing flat areas in no time. The 60 inch pass is fantastic and mower hasn't had any ignition, cutting blade, or other mechanical issues. All seems well.

That said, we have more hills than are really idea for this type of mower. I have to be very careful as I've slid down the hill on damp grass three times and had to creatively drive out of the jam.... more
Michelle Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
40
Mary A.
Amarillo, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/23/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
08
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
First Time On Zero Turn Mower
Got this for my husband, but love it so much he hasn't got to use it much. Takes a little while to get use to, but after a while, it's great! So far this seems like a great mower.
Mary Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Clifford S.
Hillsboro, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/14/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
29
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
I have about 8 acres requiring mowing weekly at this time of year. This mower does the job in 1/3rd the time it used to take.
I had never used a zero turn before, but I adjusted very quickly and easily and now my wife has fallen in love with it.
Clifford Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Roger L.
Rochester, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/15/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
26
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Cut Mowing Time In Half
Order tracking was sufficient. Shipper was easy to work with on delivery set up. The machine was secured well to pallet and I was able to remove from pallet with a jack and a few boards for ramps. Checked oil levels, connected battery cables and added gas and was able to follow start up procedures in manual.

Fast and Powerful mower. My 42" rider took 8 1/2 hours to mow 8 acres. This 60" did the job in 4 hours. at half throttle. My property is quite bumpy,(mole hills) which causes... more
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, High Quality, Fast
Roger Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
David H.
Verona, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/28/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JUN.
30
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Machine!
All the reviews here are spot on. This is an outstanding machine. Really heavy duty and so much fun to drive. Very happy with this purchase!

Add the service from Mowers Direct!. Simply unpack the machine from its crate and you are ready to cut.
David Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Jesse J.
Pontotoc, MS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/26/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far, So Good.
Runs like a top, little bit of a learning curve. It is a bit squeaky as I bounce over ruts which I still need to look into. It did bog down a bit but my grass hadn't been touched for over a month so hopefully after the rains I won't run into that again.
Jesse Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Jim N.
Sawyer, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/13/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Never Dreamed I Would Be This Satisfied!
I'm a handicapped senior, mid 70's, and needed a dependable mower for the 4 acres I need to mow at least once a week. I decided to get a zero turn because they were advertised to be faster to mow with and in general, built much better than the 48" riding mower I had been using.

Boy was this true! My Ariens MaxZoom60 has reduced my mowing time from around 4 hours down to about 2 1/2 hours and the finished cut is much more even and professional looking. I feel I made a very good decision... more
Jim Recommends This Ariens Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Jim,
Thank you for sharing your experience with the Ariens MaxZoom60. Your review will help others make an educated decision when shopping for the perfect mower for their needs. Enjoy the rest of summer.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Kerry S.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/24/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
20
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It's A Beast
Bought this mower to replace an old zero turn that was smaller. I mow 3 acres with several trees on the place. This mower went through tall thick grass with ease. This is the first summer with the machine, but so-far it works great.
Kerry Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Charles W.
Attapulgus, GA
REVIEWED
JUL.
13
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Best
I love my Ariens. It's very dependable, and cutting is a breeze. Believe me, it's worth the money. Thinking about buying another one.
Charles Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Thomas S.
Tyler, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/6/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
29
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Machine.
My only issues are the size of the rear tires and the constant rattle of the anti scalp rollers I have several places on my 9 acre property that I have to navigate, which I have already gotten stuck because the rear of the mower hangs up, hence, wheels in the air.
Thomas Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
David N.
Swansea, SC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/19/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ariens Maxzoom60 (60") 25hp Zero Turn Lawn Mower
Great Mower!
David Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Ray E.
Richmond Hill, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/18/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
27
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Not Perfect, But Hopefully Will Be Someday.
My MaxZoom60 arrived as expected by truck and was able to get it unloaded with the help of the driver, his lift gate and a tractor with fork loaders attached to the highlift.

Getting the crate apart was the hard part the staples they use are the best I have ever dealt with and they use LOTS of them.

There was no assembly. Just connect the battery, locate the key in the bag of paperwork, gas it up, check the oil and go.

Unfortunately, that is where things started going down-hill. After... more
Ray Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
11
Steve
Rougemont, NC
REVIEWED
JUN.
15
2011
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Time In The Saddle
I cut about 4-6 of 18 acres regularly. I choose the 60" wide deck knowing that some features in my yard would be tough to cut with a deck this wide, but that the wide open stuff would go more quickly. Up to this point I have used a garden tractor with a 46" deck and had no experience driving a zero turn mower.

The Ariens is surprisingly nimble for an 800 lb plus machine with a 330 lb plus 6' 3"operator, however I would be surprised if the mower really does go 8 mph. It... more
Was this review helpful?
857
John
REVIEWED
JAN.
22
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
50 Hours Later
The first Zero Mower I have owned. Again as others have stated, research for the best bang for the buck always comes back to this mower. I mow 3 acres of grass in 2 hours and it does very well. Would buy the same mower again, if I had to re-choose.

Pros:
very nimble for its size - have no problems mowing a tight radius (small trees)
heavier construction - especially the deck
comfortable seat
plenty of power - never bogged the motor down
not too bad on gas - can mow 6+ acres per fill.
more
Was this review helpful?
603
Rick M.
Harrison, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/14/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
02
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My First Choice
I was using a 54" lawn tractor to cut 2.5 acres of hilly uneven yard. I love to plant trees and already had many to navigate around. My grass grows fast and we had a lot of rain this year. Basically my yard was winning I was loosing. The 60" Ariens zero-turn stuck out right away as it was in my price range. I am glad I did not skimp on anything smaller. I can now cut my yard in 33% less time and eliminate trimming. This machine takes some getting use to, and you will tear up... more
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price, Reliable
Rick Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
523
Robert G.
Sandia, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/20/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
12
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy Owner
After countless hours of research, reading reviews on what seems like every zero turn mower out there, and stopping by every zero turn dealer in my area, I finally decided to go with the Ariens MaxZoom60. I must say that my decision was mostly because we recently bought one at my job site and everybody there that uses it, loves it. And, so far, I love mine too.

I was a little worried about ordering such an expensive item online, but the BBB rating, free shipping, and zero taxes helped... more
Was this review helpful?
524
Mike
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/8/12
REVIEWED
DEC.
11
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Performs Great
I received the mower on time and with no damage. It runs and performs great.

I mow a 5 acre site that was about 4 feet tall, and the mower went through it with no trouble.
Was this review helpful?
516
Craig B.
Sharptwn, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/12/11
REVIEWED
MAY.
03
2011
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Small Wheels
Rear wheels need to be larger. They spin because they are too small.
Was this review helpful?
458
Stefan
Hilo, HI
REVIEWED
DEC.
01
2011
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Way Too Slow
I bought my Ariens Max Zoom 2 days ago from Home Depot and mowed with it yesterday.

The frame is really sturdy and the mowing deck is doing a good job, however, the machine is moving way too slow and the small tires don't deliver the grip they would need in order to be a match for the weight of the mower.
A 60 inch mowing deck is nice but with not enough speed you mow way longer than with a 50 or 54 inch mower that has decent speed.
Was this review helpful?
399
Lloyd
Pineville, LA
REVIEWED
JUN.
07
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Christmas In June
I'm just like a kid at Christmas, I can't get enough of my Ariens. It handles well on all terrains, cuts with ease, and reduces the cutting time in half. Excellent purchase, and I am well pleased.
Was this review helpful?
294
Charles B.
Colorado Springs, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/16/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
24
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ariens 60 Inch Mower
This mower worked right out of the crate. Used it to mow about ten acres of bumpy cow pasture without any problems. Really like the maneuverability of the zero turn type mower. Expect to use this mower for many years to come.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Durable, I'd Buy It Again
Charles Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
285
Alvin B.
Grayson, LA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/15/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
23
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Battery Keeps Going Dead I Am Not Sure If The Alternator Is
The battery goes dead, maybe bad alternator.
Pros: Price, Durable
Alvin Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
195
John L.
Oxford, PA
REVIEWED
MAY.
22
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Buy
Very pleased with product, ease of ordering, and excellent delivery service.
Was this review helpful?
207
Wende
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/7/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far, So Good
Used my new max zoom 60 for the first time today. Mowed for a couple hours and it did a great job. Did some lawn, some roadside and some pasture..no complaints so far. Was very pleased with the ordering process and delivery time. Am looking forward to many years of trouble-free use.
Wende Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
142
Kim F.
Springfield, KY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/2/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
26
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love The New Mower
We own a nursery and have been very pleased with our Arien's mower. Check clearing, delivery and performance were as promised!
Kim Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
111
Matthew
Alvin, TX
REVIEWED
JUN.
30
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cutting Time
I have had my Max Zoom 60" for 2-1/2 years and I am very please with this lawn mower. I mow 5.5 acres and it nice that it only take 4-1/2 hours (taking my time.) The performance and evenly cut, this lawn mower is the best in my book.
Pros: Price, Durable, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality
Matthew Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
144
Gary M.
Sparta, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/3/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love My New Ariens Maxzoom60 Zero Turn Mower !
I have quite a large lawn. I was using a John Deere 54 inch, 4-wheel steer mower. A couple weeks ago, I purchased the Ariens MaxZoom60 zero-turn mower. I can mow my lawn in half the time!

It took me about 10 minutes to master the zero turn feature. I mow the straightaways at 8 mph. Mowing my lawn is now very FUN!!
Gary Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
90
John S.
Kanab, UT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/8/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Outstanding
Delivery was great both the mower and the bagger were created truck driver went the extra mile. Mower is easy to use and cut about an hour off my 2 acre lawn.
John Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
70
Dave L.
East Bernard, TX
REVIEWED
JAN.
22
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Thanks
I want to thank you for your quick response on replacing my front tire.
Dave Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
137
Harley R.
Willard, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/19/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
24
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Needs Larger Tires On Rear.
I have a lawn with many hills. If your lawn has hills, this mower is not for you. I gave it to my son who has a level lawn.
Harley Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
105
Ed V.
Marinette, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/27/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
26
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Happy
Very nice machine, fast, great cut, cut my time in more than half and do a better job. Now all's I have to do, is get the wife to like it too.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: None
Ed Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
42
Debrorah L.
East Bernard, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/17/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
08
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Flat Tire
One of the front tires will not hold air must have a small leak?
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Price, Easy To Store
Cons: One
Debrorah Recommends This Ariens Mower
Was this review helpful?
711
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Ariens 991087 reviews.Compare our Ariens 991087 ratings. Find the Ariens 991087 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct