Search
< Back to Product

Ariens 986103 Gas Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$419.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$419.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$419.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$419.99
(as of 06:37 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
 
$449.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Ariens 986103 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
5/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 5
Pros
Quiet (4)
Durable (3)
Price (3)
High Quality (2)
Easy To Use (2)
Cons
Difficult To Use (4)
Heavy (2)
Poor Curb Edging (1)
Adjustment Of Rear Wheel... (1)
Is Difficult (1)
74% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
44 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Louis R.
Woodbridge, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/26/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
APR.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Starts Easily!
I got tired of struggling with my old edger, which was always very difficult to start. This new edger is easy to start and had very high ratings in reviews.

It needs one more wheel up front to provide better support while using on unimproved surfaces, but is very safe and easy to operate. Mowers Direct's service, pricing, and shipping was excellent!
Louis Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
30
James C.
Hollywood, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/8/16
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
SEP.
08
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Poor Design
I've used the edger 8 times now and it starts and runs very well. It has plenty on power and doesn't bog down when cutting. Now the bad news, the staggered rear wheel design makes it hard to use. It doesn't turn well ( I have a circular driveway). When you have to turn , it twists the thin angle steel lower handle braces. The handle should have been tubular all the way to the base. ( it's tubular on the top half then bolts to the thin angle steel at the lower end).

It wouldn't be as much of... more
Pros: Engine Runs Well
Cons: Difficult To Use, Poor Design And Not User Friendly
James Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Wayne O.
Holly Springs, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/18/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
11
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Tool
I have had a couple edgers in the past but nothing with the power of this 136 cc Ariens edger. Arrived quickly, assembled the few pieces required and started on first pull.

Does an amazing job and with plenty of of power to complete my drive, sidewalks, flower gardens, and patio. Best unit for the price that I have used. Great product and exceptional value, I highly recommend this product.
Wayne Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Maria R.
Ringle, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/30/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
28
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Disappointed
We ordered the Ariens 136 cc 4 cycle lawn edger based on the stellar reviews we read on Mowers Direct. Right out of the box, the edger is extremely hard/impossible to start.

My husband is very familiar with all types of machinery, but he remains stumped and frustrated. He replaced the (brand new) spark plug and adjusted everything possible to finally get it started.

We have tried everything... it's still a struggle to get it started and keep it running. Very disappointed.
Maria Does Not Recommend This Product
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Maria,
Sorry to hear you are having issues with the edger. This does have a warranty, which is covered by local Ariens dealers. I would recommend having them look at it so they can inspect and fix it under warranty.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Guy H.
Rockwall, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/21/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
13
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Solidly Built, Unimpressive Cutoff
Edger appears to be sturdy and it works fine (approximately 1,000 feet edged so far). On/Off switch is in an awkward location at the front of the engine. I have to reach between 2 wires to get to the switch, which has the look and feel of what I would expect on a toy.

I will reroute the wiring soon and probably replace and relocate the switch at some point. It's a disappointment on what seems to be an otherwise good quality product.
Guy Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Patrick
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/26/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
17
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
First Power Edger Is A Hit!
This is my first purchase of a power edger and I don't think I made a mistake. I received the product earlier then expected. The delivery box was pretty flimsy, it look like the bottom would fall out any minute. The delivery guy didn't have any trouble but it could have come in a better box. That being said, it came out of the box just fine, easy to assemble and no missing parts.

After I read all the instructions put in gas in it and it started after the 3rd pull. I''m extremely pleased... more
Patrick Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Alessandro B.
St Petersburg, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/29/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
21
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Worse Customer Service Ever
Machine was shipped not working. After several contact with seller they said I need to call Ariel because they just sell.
Alessandro Does Not Recommend This Product
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Alessandro,
We are very sorry to hear of the issues with the lawn edger. Once the unit is gassed it needs to be taken to a local Ariens service dealer for warranty coverage.

Per our policy on engine powered equipment:

Engine powered equipment cannot be returned once it has been gassed or oiled due to federal shipping regulations. If the product has been gassed or oiled, it needs to be taken to an authorized service center for repair which may be covered under warranty.

Below is the local Ariens service center locator link.

Service Center Locator

Thank you
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Dennis R.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/6/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Gas Edger
It works great. Have to get used to all the different trimming angles. Once you do, it's great.
Dennis Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Mark W.
Palmyra, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/22/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Turned Out Good (so Far)
I researched and thought I ordered the Ariens Edger with the Subaru engine. I guess I screwed up or Mower's Direct screwed up, but I got the one with the LCT engine ($50 less). I was only charged for the one I received so I think it was my error. I got the order fairly quick. The box was torn and the edger scratched up on the guide, but that's not MD's fault.

I never called them to complain or ask about swapping out to the Subaru engine. I researched LCT and read very few (and... more
Mark Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
David O.
Orange Park, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/18/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
09
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quality Machine
It's really hard to find an adjustable angle push edger. I wasn't planning on spending so much for equipment, but it is truly amazing. It's worth the money for this solid, well-built machine.
David Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Don H.
Coucnil Bluffs, IA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/17/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
05
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
Great product very versitile and performs as advertised.
Don Recommends This Ariens Product
Don's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great service and fast delivery"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Chad B.
Janesville, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/9/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
31
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Ariens Edger
The blade is spaced so far from the wheel it rides the edge of the curb not the top so you have to fight to keep it on the curb seems like a major design flaw also the handle is flimsy and twists when pulling up on curb.

The rest of the machine is rock solid though, but that's how Ariens products are. Seems like they make stuff and never improve it. It could be a nice edger if the wheel was closer to the blade and the handle wasn't attached to the base with 90-degree angle iron??!!
more
Chad Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Martin F.
Bethpage, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/5/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
Purchased a 9-inch Ariens edger. Terrific machine. Lots of power, easy to start, and leaves a nice edge.
Martin Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Alvin S.
Olive Branch, MS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/1/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
04
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Not Happy
Not happy with the way this edger uses the blade to guide the edger along the sidewalk, driveway and curb. For the price you would expect better. Needs a guide below the guard to help maintain contact with the areas being edged. With only the blade to guide it, this edger's blade comes out of the trench and gets on top of the concrete being edged. This will eventually damage the edger over time so durability is an issue. My last edger, had it for over 20 years, had a guide and was much easier... more
Pros: Easy To Store
Cons: Difficult To Use, Durability, Expensive, No Guide Below The Guard To Guide Blade
Alvin Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
163
Christopher S.
Bettendorf, IA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/31/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
11
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Name, Great Product
First off, I received the edger damaged. It had bounced around in the box like a pogo stick and smashed the gas tank, ripped the handle bar grip, and bent the blade shield. I took pictures of the box unopened because the handle bar was sticking out the side and then opened the box and took more pictures of the edger, I emailed them to Jose who promptly responded and took care of the issue.

The edger is SO powerful. You can literally use it on half throttle through all but the wettest... more
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price, Quiet
Cons: Chinese Built Honda Knock Off Engine, Ariens Needs To Pack It Better For Ups Or Fedex Shipping
Christopher Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
130
Michael
Snohomish, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/11/12
REVIEWED
APR.
13
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Ariens Edger Review
Purchased in June of 2011. Ran OK at first, not great, it needed some adjustments otherwise it was sputtering a bit. By September of 2011 it had died and would not start. Spring now and I am trying to get it running. I've had troubles finding a local dealer that would support the product and handle the warranty claim.
Was this review helpful?
120
Michael S.
Rochester, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/15/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
07
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Edger
We have a corner lot with sidewalks and gutter drains. I have edged them in the past by hand. Last year it took me two days to complete this chore. My new Ariens Lawn Edger did the job in 30 mins. It cuts clean and straight. Great product!!
Michael Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
110
Robert W.
Virginia Beach, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/9/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
04
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Excellent Machine - Except On Curbs
I bought this unit based on the Ariens reputation of quality. Overall, this edger meets the bill with the exception of the curb functionality. The blade is too far from the front wheel and the wheel slips off the curb removing all support to the blade. As such, you have to basically do a controlled wheelie on the rear wheel when edging curbs - not cool at all for roughly $400.
Pros: Durable, Quiet, High Quality
Cons: Heavy, Difficult To Use
Robert Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
90
Ben G.
Onalaska, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/20/13
REVIEWED
APR.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Pleasant Surprise
The edger was received April 8. The box was entirely opened and I had great concerns the edger had been damaged or parts would be missing. To my surprise it was unscathed and all the parts were there. It was easy to finish the assembly and fill with oil. It started on the second pull and has run and started perfectly since. It edges as desired. It is impressive as it is constructed of heavy gauge steel and is so substantial. I expect many years of service from it.
Was this review helpful?
60
Steve
Tequesta, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/17/12
REVIEWED
DEC.
09
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
She Loves It
I have just used the edger twice and I'm very pleased. My wife is the main user and she loves it so far.

It was easy to assemble out of the box, and started on the first pull!!! She seems to be able to maneuver pretty well.

It's very sturdy and well built.
Was this review helpful?
60
Bob L.
Lafayette, LA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/26/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
14
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Anti-idiot Controls Are Comfortable
Very good machine. Goes through very tough edging with ease, and is easy to start. The anti-idiot controls are comfortable. The fuel lasts forever.

Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful?
60
Curt
Bloomsburg, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/2/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
03
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Starts First Pull, Angle Feature Great For Landscaped Beds
I have never owned a lawn edger- this is my first. I had a landscaping company remove the plastic edging I had used for years. The plastic edging was difficult to maintain, and always seemed to be too low after adding mulch for a few years. I used this edger to trim the beveled edge that the landscaping company dug.

I was not pleased with the delivery by FedEx. The box was damaged, the edger gasoline tank was dented, and the handlebars were bent slightly. It does not appear that this... more
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Curt,
You can always refuse delivery if an item's packaging is damaged, even if it's been dropped off and you're not home. Just call FedEx, tell them a package was delivered with damage, and have them come get it.

Be sure to note on driver's clipboard that it is damaged (taking pictures is a good idea); then give us a call so we can have another one shipped out.
more
Was this review helpful?
50
Bruce S.
Prairieville, LA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/1/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Edger
I was shocked to see that the edger came with a Subaru engine. Read good reviews about the Subaru engine. First crank it started and I could feel strength of the engine. Great features, I really like how you can adjust the wheels and the all metal frame.

I found an Airens dealer in the area just in case I need parts and service. Its a well made unit for the price. I'm very pleased with it. Thanks Mower Direct
Bruce Recommends This Ariens Product
Bruce's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I received the unit within a week and I'm very pleased with the packaging, service, and price of the unit. Thanks for the great service Mower Direct"
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Jennie S.
Stephenville, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/27/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
23
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Product
It works great as a replacement for my Craftsman.
Jennie Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Michael H.
Clive, IA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/15/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
26
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Product
Replaced electric edger and discovered how much faster and simpler it is to edge. I even have time to do my neighbors edging. A little difficult to edge along a narrow curb but works well on the rest of the yard. Love the ease of start up and it literally glides along the sidewalk. Worth the money for a quality edger.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Poor Curb Edging
Michael Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Bob Tolen
Massapequa Pk, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/26/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
22
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Value Overall
This replaced an edger I bought in 1985 made by a defunct company Ascap Industries. That's 30 years on a 3 hp Tecumsec. Looks like Ariens could not get Briggs engines any more so they shoehorned in a China Clone. I miss the pull cord on the handle. This one makes you bend down to pull the starter coming out of the engine. I also miss the handle mounted controls for throttle and choke. The engine runs well and starts easy.

The safety shutoff is on the handle is tied to the blade control... more
Pros: Reliable, High Quality, Easy To Store
Cons: Heavy
Bob Recommends This Ariens Product
Bob's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"This is the second item I have bought that arrived with a handle sticking out of the box. Both units survived with minor damage."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Jim
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/30/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Capable Edger With Nice Cutting Features
I checked out several different brands and models when trying to make a selection for my edging duty. The yard plants, grass, and weeds are really growing fast this year. This home's edging had been pretty much neglected so there was some "extra" to do in order to find a nice line at the concrete walk. I also have a high concrete curb at the road to deal with so I was looking forward to trying the drop down wheel feature.

With a single cylinder engine, this medium-sized edger... more
Pros: Quiet, Features, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Packaging
Jim Recommends This Ariens Product
Jim's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I ordered the product online without any issues and didn't need to call in. Processing and shipping my order was rapid and the unit was here as agreed and promised. The box itself suffered damages during the delivery, however. The manufacturer chose to staple the box together on top and bottom (no banding, no tape) and never reinforced the bottom center of the box itself. Basically, the edger was falling out of the middle as the staples weren't able to hold (moisture in the cardboard as well?). The box wasn't labeled as to which side was up so the delivery man took the safe route and placed the unit upside down to avoid further issue. This may have contributed to the slight alignment issue I had with the handles initially. The rest of the machine seem to take it all in stride and was ready to go. When I did call Support to let them know of my experience with delivery, Jose went above and beyond to make sure I was satisfied and helped me take care of a paint scratch. I was very pleased and glad I called."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Barry
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/26/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
18
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Happy
I owned a McLane edger for years and was very happy. But it died an old death. That was a couple of years ago. I tried some different units from the box stores but never was satisfied. I never wanted a "converted" weed eater to edge with. I don't like that. The box store units I tried didn't have the power to do what I needed. I stumbled onto this Ariens online and from the descriptions felt it might meet my needs. I couldn't be more happy.

I ordered one day and two days... more
Was this review helpful?
20
Jon F.
Noblesville, IN
REVIEWED
MAY.
07
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Owner Of A Lawn Care Business
This edger pays for itself. Charge your customers $40.00 per job, and it pays for itself
Was this review helpful?
21
Lynn
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/30/13
REVIEWED
APR.
29
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ariens Lawn Edger
I just received this edger and only tried it out once, but so far it is easy to start and does a great job. Will further test it out in a week or so when the weather cooperates. Gives a nice professional clean edge. It does take some getting used to, but no different than any machinery really. Love it so far!
Was this review helpful?
10
Larry R.
Newton, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/28/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
18
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Heavy Duty For The Price
It's a great machine. It was easy to assemble, I added oil, put on the handle with 2 cotter pins, and it started on the first pull.

It's very heavy duty for the price. Mowers Direct had the best price and it was delivered in 2 days- GREAT JOB Mowers Direct.
Was this review helpful?
10
Debra G.
Mansfield, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/5/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
17
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Powerful But Hard To Handle With The Three Wheels
Purchased this so my husband wouldn't have to dig around all my flower beds in the yard with a shovel to get that finished look to the edge. They day I received it, my son-in-law stopped by and put it together and showed me how to use it.

Well it took a bit to adjust it to get the right cut (look) to the edge of the flower bed, but our area has had absolutely NO Rain this summer and it was like a dust bowl when I was trying to use it (no fault of edger), but it was powerful enough to get... more
Was this review helpful?
10
David
Leander, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/23/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
15
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Solid Edger
The Ariens was easy to set up and almost always starts on the first pull.

It edges the lawn well on my 2.7 acre lot including a long driveway and several landscape beds. It is able to handle curves reasonably, although the depth lever has a tendency to pop up if it hits a rock and I need to push hard in tight curves around tree beds. Along driveway curves it will sometimes send up sparks but doesn't damage the blade or concrete.

One minor defect in my unit is the throttle lever wouldn't... more
Was this review helpful?
10
Guido
Philadelphia Suburbs, PA
REVIEWED
JUN.
13
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Product
This is a good edger. I don't really like the staggered curb wheel. It doesn't really work either.

The engine is a champ though and it does a really, really nice edging job.

More than adequate for a home owner.
Was this review helpful?
10
Dean C.
Vacaville, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/19/11
REVIEWED
MAY.
11
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Great Edger!!
Trying to put a clean straight edge on a lawn next to any concrete with a string weed eater doesn't work. The only tool that will leave a sharp straight edge is one of these machines. Fast shipping, not a scratch on it out of the box. This is a quality edger.

I was going to buy one of the brands that the "Super Hardware Stores" sell but reading the reviews of customers that bought those units we're not positive. Mostly the same issues with the unit. This unit was a little... more
Was this review helpful?
10
Charles D.
Hammonton, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/20/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
01
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Quality Some Difficulty In Rear Wheel Adjustment
When adjusting the rear wheel for curb edging, I had to keep the machine supported by my shoulder.
Pros: Price, Quiet
Cons: Difficult To Use, Adjustment Of Rear Wheel For Curb Edging, Is Difficult
Charles Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Jimmy
Dickinson, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/26/13
REVIEWED
APR.
19
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Has All You Will Ever Need
First time use, very pleased. Only thing I did not like was the guard at the angle adjustment. Got hung up on the grass (I mow very high) and on the ground cover. I will remove and go from there.
Was this review helpful?
00
David
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/18/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
09
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great And Good Value
We are very happy with this edger. It came almost fully assembled, requiring only that a few lynch pins be installed to connect the lever that controls the blade height.

It cuts a nice edge and seems well-built. It made quick work of several rather long edges on our corner lot, but was agile enough to handle shorter sections and a few curves. We did not have stability issues, even though this model has only three wheels.

Good quality, fast delivery, and a decent price. We are very... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Dave
REVIEWED
AUG.
27
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Yard Tool
Little assembly: fill with oil (supplied), fill with gas and you're ready to go.

Great edging tool.
Was this review helpful?
00
Don
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/15/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
20
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quality Gear!
After concrete edging over 700 ft I am absolutely satisfied. Surprisingly it does not have an "edge guide" to ensure the blade doesn't impact the concrete - but no other power wheeled edger seemingly has either. Total "industry failure".

On uneven ground the operator must concentrate or the edger will wander very quickly (don't ask!).

Quick assembly, easy to start (first pull!), appears very well made.

Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful?
00
Mike
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/3/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
16
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Powerful Edger, Easy Start Engine
I previously owned a Troy-Bilt 9" edger from a big box store. After 2.5 seasons and 1 service, it will not start. It always had trouble starting, it used a primer on a B&S engine. I read all the reviews and decided on the Ariens edger from Mowers Direct.com. The free shipping made it the best value. I ordered it on a Friday and received the edger from FEDex on Wednesday, on time.

Assembly was about 10 minutes, just unfolding the handle, attaching the lever arm for the depth... more
Was this review helpful?
00
John A.
Navarre, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/1/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
23
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Review
Aloha,

Awesome, cuts like butter thru 2 inch st augustine grass, starts easy, extra power if I need it. Light years away from competition of other edgers, I used a troy for 5 yrs and had to baby it on the cut route, plus, replace the fuel lines, the blade, and twice unscrew the starter pull (much labor to get to the prob). I will run the Ariens on mogas ( 100%) gas no ethanol, would rec this product to anyone.

Plus I have not even incorporated the many adjustments on this machine!

more
Was this review helpful?
00
Ted
Brunswick, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/21/12
REVIEWED
JUN.
04
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Edger
After reviewing the "Big Box" stores edgers I was disappointed to find that they all had bad reviews. I decided to invest a little more money and go with this Ariens. First, I was blown away that I received this a day after I ordered it. Great job MowersDirect!

My excitement was slightly dampened by the lack of an English user manual...I had received two Spanish manuals. I contacted Ariens and received a "stock" reply that I could purchase a manual. After my... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Guido
Philadelphia Suburbs, PA
REVIEWED
JUN.
13
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Product
This is a good edger. I don't really like the staggered curb wheel. It doesn't really work either.

The engine is a champ though and it does a really, really nice edging job.

More than adequate for a home owner.
Was this review helpful?
00
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Ariens 986103 reviews.Compare our Ariens 986103 ratings. Find the Ariens 986103 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct