Search
< Back to Product

Ariens 946152 Gas Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Sold Out
 
$601.06
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$529.99
No Sales Tax* (Except CA,GA)
Visit Site
Ariens 946152 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
3/5
Overall
3.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (5)
Durable (3)
Light Weight (3)
Exceeded Expectations (2)
Features (2)
Cons
Expensive (3)
Durability (1)
Packaging (1)
Arrived With A Broken Fl... (1)
Low Quality (1)
55% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
12 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Ted
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/4/12
Total Helpful Votes
104 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
26
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good For Weeds, But Not A Bush Hog
This is a well designed walk-behind string trimmer, and I am generally very satisfied with it. It was delivered to the front of my garage in a big box, which I cut away. It was all assembled, so I just needed to unfold and tighten the handles. After reading the manual, I added the motor oil that was enclosed, put some gas in it, and it started on the first pull. The Kohler engine runs smoothly and is relatively quiet.

For trimming around the lawn, it does a very fine job. It also works... more
Was this review helpful?
10411
Richard J.
East Thetford, VT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/30/13
Total Helpful Votes
20 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
22
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Arien's Trimmer
Arien's trimmer is all it said it would be. Great trimmer for the money. Put in the oil that came with it and some gas two pulls and it was off and running.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Light Weight, I'd Buy It Again
Richard Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
207
Alan W.
Derby, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/3/13
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
OCT.
22
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Minor Defect From Manufacturer Sours Purchase
My experience with the trimmer is contrary to the good ratings and high price of the trimmer.

The product had a minor product defect. It will be a warranty item with Ariens. I'm not too happy with the Ariens walk behind trimmer. A broken flange bushing is preventing use of the new trimmer.

I had problems with Ariens customer support and cannot use the trimmer until I get a part.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Light Weight
Cons: Low Quality, Arrived With A Broken Flange Bushing Prevented Head Rotation
Alan Does Not Recommend This Product
Alan Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"The purchase from PED was fine."
 more
Was this review helpful?
101
James W.
Shepherdstown, WV
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/5/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
26
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great In Heavy Brush.
I have a 6 foot right-of-way almost a quarter mile long complete with boulders, briars, heavy brush, and some debris. This machine plowed through it all with minimal fuss and without changing the string. The ability to swing the string head to left or right is a great feature.
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
James Recommends This Ariens Product
James's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Almost too easy. Mower even showed up early."
 more
Was this review helpful?
91
Joseph M.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/25/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
15
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Higher Priced But Disappointing.
My first trimmer arrived in a box that was so badly mangled and oil stained that I returned it to String trimmers Direct with no hesitation on their part.

My second trimmer arrived intact. While preparing it for use I noticed even before starting that the self tapping screws with washers used to fasten the thick rubber skirt that shields the discharge chute were already pulling through the rubber. I added larger washers to prevent the screws from pulling completely through.

I was... more
Cons: Packaging, Durability
Joseph Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Mick C.
Riverside, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/4/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
26
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Amazing Trimmer
I have a 2.5 acre place it got overgrown with weeds after the winter rain. I was looking at waist high weeds within a month.
I bought the Airens trimmer and this beast powered by a Kohler did the job really well .

Easy to start and change the strings. It was worth it. I considered cheaper brands, but quality is important to me. I'll need to use this trimmer every winter/ spring.
Mick Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Gary H.
Williamston, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/25/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
16
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Disappointed
Upon first as received string shredded flexible guard then broke. Poor performance in weeds. don't think i would buy again
Gary Does Not Recommend This Product
Marissa, the String Trimmer Expert
Product Expert
Gary,
We're sorry you had a bad experience with this walk-behind string trimmer. For more help, you can try contacting Ariens directly at 920-756-4688. They're available 7-5 CST.
more
Was this review helpful?
41
Wayne D.
Imperial, MO
REVIEWED
MAY.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Weed Whacker
I bought one of these 13 years ago when we lived in the country. It cut everything in its path. 7 years ago we moved to the city and the weed whacker went to storage.

Well today I pulled it out and the second pull it started and began cutting like the day it was new. Unbelievable! I really recommend it if you need a weed whacker that really eats tough weeds.
Pros: Features, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Expensive
Wayne Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Harold H.
Pueblo West, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/12/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
10
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Ariens Walk Benind Trimmer Won't Start
I bought the trimmer, got it home and it started one time. I took it to the local Ariens service center. They had it for a month, couldn't find anything wrong. It started after they set the timing, cleaned the carburetor (machine had less than 5 hours on it), and got it to start using the "auto choke" feature.

I got it home, tried to start it several days later, and it would not start using the controls on the handlebar. I resorted to my old standlby, taking the air cleaner... more
Harold Does Not Recommend This Product
Marissa, the String Trimmer Expert
Product Expert
Harold,
I apologize for you dissatisfaction with your purchase. I know that during the spring/summer seasons many of the service centers are backlogged due to the number of repairs needed on lawn and garden equipment. I have forwarded your review of the unit to the manufacturer as well so they are aware of the issue.

Unfortunately, due to this being purchased a year ago, I am not able to offer much assistance from this point and I am unsure as to why the service center was not able to determine an internal issue. We appreciate your feedback and I apologize once again.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Harold,
Thank you for your feedback. The Ariens Company is very sorry to hear about your experience with your trimmer. This is not a known issue. I also apologize that the dealer could not identify the root cause.

We would like to try and help you to get your machine working. Please contact our Tech Support team, M-F at 920.756.4688. Please use reference #150713-000295.

Thank you!
more
Was this review helpful?
21
Phillip N.
Rapid City, SD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/23/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
13
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Much Easier To Trim A Fence Line
I have many feet of woven wire fence to trim and this tool makes it much easier to trim the fence over a hand held string trimmer.
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Durable
Cons: Expensive
Phillip Recommends This Ariens Product
Phillip's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Easy to use but hard on strings."
 more
Was this review helpful?
21
Joe T.
Freeland, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/20/12
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
28
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Too Pricey
I purchased the unit for grass and weed trimming - it does 80% of the job but was disappointed in the total unit for the total cost. One major issued was the flange unit that holds the cutting threads in place "actually" wore through the metal flange and failed to function. I called Ariens and they sent me another replacement flange. They claim that I was pushing "down" to hard while I was using the trimmer. My outline areas of my property are NOT level and some of the... more
Joe Does Not Recommend This Product
Marissa, the String Trimmer Expert
Product Expert
Joe,
We are sorry to hear of the issue you are having with your Ariens trimmer. Due to the fact you have already contacted Ariens directly we would suggest to keep working with them on a resolution to your issue. They warranty and manufacture the product and can more than likely offer the best solution to your issue at this point.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Greg V.
Minot, ND
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/28/14
REVIEWED
MAY.
10
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Works Well, But Spendy.
I've only got a few hours on it so far but seems to work well. Expensive,though so I hope it holds up.
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, Quiet
Cons: Expensive
Greg Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
13
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Ariens 946152 reviews.Compare our Ariens 946152 ratings. Find the Ariens 946152 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct