Search
< Back to Product

Ariens SS21EC Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$599.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$599.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$599.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$599.99
No Sales Tax* (Except CA,GA)
Visit Site
 
$664.33
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Ariens 938033 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (4)
Exceeded Expectations (2)
Easy To Store (2)
Price (2)
Features (2)
Cons
Bad Solid Plasticrubber ... (1)
Heavy (1)
91% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
22 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Donna C.
Grand Rapids, MI
Total Helpful Votes
14 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
FEB.
14
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Small Snowblower Gets The Job Done!
We bought this snow blower for its compact size and electric start. There is a lidded compartment for all the self-servicing it needs, and there are start up instructions with pictures. It has easily handled the snow we have had so far, including the city plow deposits at the end of the driveway, with a few back and forth swipes. It zips along as if self-propelled on smooth surfaces, may take a little pushing on bumpy ice ruts, etc. I like the simple sturdy chute handle, as there is no need... more
Donna Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
140
Maura B.
South Haven, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/2/16
REVIEWED
JAN.
26
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Fair
As for the snow blower working, it is very GOOD. But the handle needs to be fixed. It comes out of the holes that secure the handle.
You need to put a better fastener to secure the handle. Maybe pins or something. It comes out too easily.

So every time you let go of the handle, it comes out of the holes. This is very poor way to secure the handles
Maura Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Brian W.
Aberdeen, SD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/1/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
03
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Features, Needs Better Qc
Received two days after ordering. You have to install a few of the parts, the chute and auger control on the handlebar. When installing the control lever one of the four bolts broke and I used little torque. It is not as simple to fix as using a different bolt. It is holding with three but it should not have broke with the small amount of torque used. Like another reviewer, my machine also seems to have flat spots on the tires.

I'm sure it will perform fine when we get snow, and the... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, Price, Easy To Store
Brian Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Peter C.
Farmingdale, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/6/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy Happy!
We received our snowblower but have not had the opportunity to use it yet. (Yeah, no snow!) We did set it up and are ready to go when necessary.

The item was very easy to set up and instructions were clear and concise. This snowblower seems like it will be much easier for us to handle than the one we used in the past. It's light and maneuvers easily.
Peter Recommends This Ariens Product
Peter's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Called for assistance when ordering my snowblower. The person that I spoke to was more than helpful, very pleasant, and in the end, saved me a lot of money because I was looking at a snowblower that was a much bigger model than I really needed. She didn't have to steer me away from the more expensive item but she did! So appreciative."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Richard J.
Loveland, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/2/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Looks Promising
My Ariens arrived a day earlier than expected. Assembly was uncomplicated, but I did lubricate the ring for the discharge chute so the lever would operate with less resistance and finding just the right tightness for adjusting the outflow deflector will take some experimentation. Engine fired up on first push of button.

I had left half my driveway from a previous storm, so still about 5 inches to remove. Excellent clearing, modest noise, much nicer to have the wider path than my smaller 2... more
Richard Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Calvin M.
Harrisburg, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/22/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Winter Storm Jonah 2016
Received about 3 feet of snow that was dumped in Central PA. This snowblower handled it with ease. Also had to deal with the 2.5 -3 feet in front of my driveway after the street was cleared. I am glad I got this last year. Saved my back
Calvin Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Brett N.
Idaho Falls, ID
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/25/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JAN.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Single Stage Blower
I lived in western Wyoming for many years. I had a two stage, track mounted blower. I moved to Idaho to retire. My old two stage was just too big and hard for me to use. I sold it and replaced it with this single stage.

It is light to maneuver. Stores in a small area. Does a great job on my three wide driveway. I was really surprised at the power it has. Cleans up in no time at all. Easy to start. I am very happy with my purchase. Great blower for the price.
Brett Recommends This Ariens Product
Brett's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I looked in all the local stores and didn't find anything that I wanted. I checked on Snow Blowers Direct and found just what I was looking for. And at a price much less than local stores want for smaller blowers. It was delivered in just a few days right to my garage door. It took no time at all to put the chute and controls together and put oil in the engine. Very happy with my purchase experience."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Thomas O.
Chicago, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/5/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
07
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Price And Delivery
Ordered around noon on Thursday by my front door around noon the next day. Not much snow so far this season but the snow thrower did a good job with the heavy slush did get.
Thomas Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert P.
Randolph, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/30/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Give It A "5 Out Of 5"
I woke up to find 3 inches of snow on my driveway which was turning to ice.

Pushing it with a shovel was going to be hard and heavy for me. I am 72 and doing it this way to me was not an option.
I remember the reviews where people said it could handle ice slush and snow.

After nine feet of snow in the Boston area last year, I changed to an ariens and I am glad I got a chance to try it out before the heavy stuff appears.
Robert Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Hank S.
Suffern, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/4/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
29
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Perhaps I Should Wait
Received machine promptly. Went together easily following manufacturers instructions. Machine did everything but start. I called Snow Blowers Direct hoping for troubleshooting advice, but was directed immediately to Ariens customer service. The best they could do was refer me to a local authorized repair center. It's there now, with my fingers crossed. Bottom line......... not thrilled.
Hank Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
02
Eric G.
Dover, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/20/14
Total Helpful Votes
21 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
27
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Unit
Used this snow blower for the first time in 4" of wet snow. Unit threw the snow a good 20'. Unit feels very sturdy, I like that it appears to be more easily serviceable than some of the others. Don't need to remove the shroud to gain access to spark plug.

Ordering from PED was quick and easy. Unit was delivered to my back door upon my request undamaged by Fed Ex. There were a few simple parts to assemble. Snow chute, chute control and add oil. Looking forward to the next snow and... more
Eric Recommends This Ariens Product
Eric's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very Satisfied with my purchase from PED. Had the unit in stock and quick undamaged delivery."
 more
Was this review helpful?
210
Ed S.
Arlington Heights, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/8/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Follow Up On Performance
I wanted to follow up my review after a real test. We just received the 5th largest snowstorm in Chicago area history---19". My new Ariens saved my back (and back side) by performing absolutely perfect.

It starts on the first pull every time and runs like a finely tuned machine. It muscled through the heavy, wet snow with no problem and never stalled once as my previous Toro did all the time.

I am so overwhelmingly impressed! This machine gets an A+ and was the best decision I... more
Ed Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
150
Mark K.
Darien, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/12/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Work Horse
We just finished up cleaning up after the fifth largest snow fall in Chicago. 18 inches with drifts. Yes we cleaned three times, but it never quit and really moved the snow.

I even went down my block clearing the walks for the neighbors who had not touched them. Great piece of equipment thanks Snow blower direct.
Mark Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
70
Donna G.
Garden City, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/22/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Donna Gorman
I do like the snow blower and it operates very well. When we got it out of the box delivered by FedEx was left in our driveway by our front steps, which is fine except they did not ring our doorbell to let us know it was there.

Upon opening the box we found the orange covering has a crack in it. Because we were expecting snow we kept it. But it operates so good. Very easy for myself. a senior to operate.

I am very satisfied with it. Very easy to push along our 85 ft driveway and across... more
Donna Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Ed S.
Arlington Heights, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/8/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
12
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Terrific Machine From Great Seller
I had a Toro for about four years that always ran rough and had trouble re-starting after stalling in heavy snows. I finally decided to make a change and found snowblowersdirect.com.

I found this to be a great site, full of helpful recommendations and information. I ordered the Ariens SS21EC and it literally arrived the next day.

After some quick and easy assembly I got to try the unit right out on about 4" of new snow. It started instantly and outperformed my old Toro very... more
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, High Quality, Easy To Store
Ed Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Kelly O.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/10/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
I am a building contractor who has had a single stage snow blower for whatever work was necessary on the job for over 15 years, and this machine still works and performs as it always has. I was concerned with the machine breaking down in the middle of when it was really needed, so after researching ratings, I bought the Ariens and New England has had a very severe winter so far in 2015.

I have been using the Ariens to keep the job open as well as allow me to get out of my own house to get... more
Kelly Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Barbara R.
Fort Wayne, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/26/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
08
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Unhappy
We used the blower 3 times with no problems BUT THE 4th time the engine stopped working which resulted in oil all over the garage floor!!!!!!! It is now being repaired and hopefully the warranty will cover all repairs since we only had it for a month. If this is taken care of in a professional manner I'd like to edit this rating.
Barbara Does Not Recommend This Product
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Barbara,
We are sorry to hear about the issue you are having with your Ariens snow blower. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to assist. Though we don't know all of the issues, we would not see why this unit would not be covered under warranty. Ariens and their dealer network stand behind their products and are always willing to help in any way they can.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Barbara,
The Ariens Company is sorry to hear about the experience with your new unit. For any manufacturing defect under warranty, we will certainly cover the cost of parts and labor for no cost to the consumer. If you have any direct questions, please feel free to contact the manufacturer at 920.756.4688.
more
Was this review helpful?
50
Ned
Zionsville, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/8/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Snowblower, Great Service From Snow Blowers Direct
Did a lot of research and decided on the Ariens PP-SS21EC. Went with commercial model as it is constructed a little stronger.

Have only had to use it once, but it was fantastic.. Worked faster than expected. Snow was dry, so I will be interested in how it works on the wet stuff.

Snow Blowers Direct had the best price, didn't charge for shipping, didn't charge sales tax, and I received it the day after I ordered it.
Ned Recommends This Ariens Product
Ned's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"SB Direct was great,,, best price, no shipping charge, no sales tax and I received it the day after I ordered it."
 more
Was this review helpful?
50
Darlene
Dearborn, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/4/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
16
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Easy, Quick Starting Machine
Filled the requirement to start easily. Only criticism is that it does not scrape the concrete as closely as previous machines.

A shovel is necessary to finish the job. Runs fast, time to plow is much less than last machine.
Pros: Easy To Use
Darlene Recommends This Ariens Product
Darlene's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The packaging was damaged during shipping. The machine was protected and it was OK when unpacked."
 more
Was this review helpful?
50
Sigmund C.
Troy, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/22/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
14
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fast Shipping!
First I have to say is I haven't put it to the test yet. Its still fall and no snow. First impression is this is definitely a midsize machine. It will take two people to lift safely on to your truck bed. Assembly was simple. Install chute with self tapping screws, but make sure cable is routed on top of folding handle, otherwise it will bind when folded for storage.

Follow starting instructions and it will fire on the first pull as it did with me. It comes with oil but make sure it's full... more
Sigmund Recommends This Ariens Product
Sigmund's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Would definitely buy from here again. A+++"
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Lacoure V.
Detroit, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/31/14
REVIEWED
MAY.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Job
For the winter of 2014/2015, this worked so well for me I took care of several of my neighbors homes and driveways.
Pros: Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Heavy
Lacoure Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Boller B.
Mokena, IL
REVIEWED
NOV.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Smaller Unit
We have a older ( 13 yrs ) Ariens we purchased when we built our house, 3 car drive app 100 ft long. The 8 hp dual stage is sometimes too big for a light snow , so we purchased a smaller path pro. Did a great job last winter , did our drive and a neighbors all season, problem is ....we were expecting snow yesterday 11-21-2015 and we got it, I brought out the Path Pro, fueled it checked the oil and as I pushed it to the garage door, I noticed the wheels had taken a set, they were flat on the... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Bad Solid Plasticrubber Wheels
Boller Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Ariens 938033 reviews.Compare our Ariens 938033 ratings. Find the Ariens 938033 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct