Search
< Back to Product

Ariens 921040 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Sold Out
Ariens 921040 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 5
Pros
High Quality (8)
Reliable (5)
I'd Buy It Again (4)
Easy To Use (4)
Features (4)
Cons
Heavy (3)
Expensive (2)
Bad Instructions (2)
Packaging (1)
Steering Difficult Setup (1)
84% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
43 Reviews  Sort by 
 
James
Kansas City, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/17/14
Total Helpful Votes
40 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
OCT.
21
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Bring It On Frosty!!!
Finally upgraded from my tired old Craftsman 29". It was a good machine, but after 6 years of hard use, it was starting to knock a bit. Decision to go Ariens was a no-brainer, I've never heard an owner say a bad thing about them. Went with the Platnium mostly as I needed the handwarmers. I've had frostbite several times, so now my hands get cold easily. Assembly was easy, requires basic hand tools and the ability to follow directions (not easy for me). Did not have to make any... more
View Image
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Reliable, High Quality
James Recommends This Ariens Product
James's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Nothing bad to say. I ordered on-line and received a call from the shipper a few days later to set up delivery. Was thrilled with the speed with which the order processed and was delivered. The truck driver actually volunteered to wait so he could take the pallet once we got the box off it."
 more
Was this review helpful?
405
Peter S.
Ridgefield, CT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/26/16
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
FEB.
17
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Not Shifting Gears Already
Just bought a new Ariens and used it twice, it's already not shifting gears! It also seems weak throwing a bit of wet snow.
Peter Does Not Recommend This Product
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Peter,
I apologize for the issues you are experiencing with your new Ariens snow blower. The difficulty in shifting gears may be a simple adjustment that will need to be made on the unit itself however, if you have no done so already, I would suggest contacting Ariens technical support directly at 920-756-4688. In regards to the wet snow, unfortunately, the snow blowers will have a shorter throwing distance for this snow consistency compared to a lighter snow.

Once again I apologize for this inconvenience and appreciate your time in writing this review.
more
Was this review helpful?
11
Alex K.
Silver Bay, MN
REVIEWED
JAN.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Power
I bought the ariens platinum 30 from snow blowers direct Jan of 2014. It came with a dent in the top of the fuel tank which caused the paint to flake off. I didn't address this with the seller as it wasn't much of a concern as to how the machine would perform. I was able to assemble everything in about an hour, I'm very handy but it was my first time assembling a snow blower.

Reliability - I did not have to use the electric start for the first two years, I had some trouble starting it this... more
Alex Recommends This Ariens Product
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Alex,
Thank you for sharing your experience. It sounds like you really enjoy your big bad snowblower! Amen to that, and enjoy the power!
more
Was this review helpful?
41
Jeffry S.
Byfield, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/30/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
07
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wow! Can It Throw Snow!
Our first snow here in NE Massachusetts wasn't very deep, but it was a great test of the snowblower. About 3-1/2 inches of icy sleet followed by freezing rain and a sudden plunge in temp to about 20 degrees made for a tough, heavy and ice-covered mess. But the machine dug down and threw a stream of mostly crushed ice a huge distance. It throws left as easily as right, something my old snowblower couldn't do unless the snow was light and fluffy. And the hand warmers - YES!

My driveway is... more
Jeffry Recommends This Ariens Product
Jeffry's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Buying this was so easy. I looked around to see if the price was good. It was. The information on the site and the reviews were helpful. A couple of clicks, maybe 3 days and it's in my driveway. I paid the extra 50 bucks for the hydraulic lift gate delivery, a must for a 300-lb machine."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Paul W.
Hayden, ID
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/11/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
DEC.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far So Good
This is my first snowblower. Bought this one after reading numerous reviews and decided the bigger engine was my best choice. I also bought the snow chains.

I paid the $50 extra charge for delivery as I needed the lift gate. The driver arrived and stopped in front of my house. I have a 200' driveway. He told me he didn't have a lift gate and asked me what I had to get this heavy unit off the truck. I had my 70 yr old father in law to help, that's what I had. We had to slide the box... more
Paul Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Eugene V.
Wall, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/26/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Compairable To The Profesional 28"
same thing motor not Briggs& Stratton though but within 6cc of the pro model. have yet to try it easy to put together and PED is a good company to deal with. I had an Ariens that I replaced that was only 11 years old and is the reason I bought another one.

These r the best you can buy. I have been through blizzards with the old one that i sold to help replacement costs. So far new model is very quite and to maneuver with added features that i am looking forward to let it snow.
Pros: High Quality, Reliable, Features, Quiet
Cons: Expensive, As Compared To Other Brands
Eugene Recommends This Ariens Product
Eugene's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"They are nice to deal with. Product came as expected, great shipping company."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
John B.
Green Bay, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/20/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Buy!!
Anybody with a few tools can assemble this machine in an hour!
John Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Chuck C.
Baltimore, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/25/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JUL.
08
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Features & Function Are Superb (service)
The blower performs as advertised. The only feature that I found to be lacking was the auto turn. It did not seem to be very pronounced. However, the product arrived with a damaged deflector cable (abrasion down to bare metal) and the holes on the shovel to attach the glide plates were not drilled all the way (too small) and therefore only one bolt could be attached.

Called Snow Blowers Direct who punted me the manufacturer. Called Manufacturer who punted me to a local dealer. Called... more
Chuck Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Roger I.
Parkville, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/30/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Envy Of The Neighborhood Snow Canon Capabilities!
24 foot wide to 30 foot wide driveway 250 feet total length. Old 5 hp snowblower was not able to move the snow two times to widen driveway driving area. New snowblower shoots up in the air 20 feet high over my flagpole and 50 feet from driveway area total throwing distance 70 feet!

Unbelievable looks like a snow canon! Has terrific power even in a small snow 2 inches less clears easily. Wet snow storm has capabilities of clearing heavy slush easily where old snowblower would hardly... more
Roger Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Charles C.
Phoenix, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/25/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAR.
07
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Runs Great But Quality Control Is Lacking
Assembled according to picture instructions. Not too difficult but allow some time. Cable had abrasion down to metal. Had to tape with electrical tape. Holes to attach skids were misaligned so skids can't be attached until I disassemble.

Only used two times but runs like a champ. Not so sure about auto turn feature. Seems like it takes almost as much effort as my 20 year old blower.
Charles Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Bill B.
Arlington Heights, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/23/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
07
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ariens Platinum 30" Snow Blower
This machine has enough to throw the heavy, heavy snow the plows leave at the throat of my driveway.

I'm not sure it turns as easy as the ads say.
Bill Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Ronald R.
Salem, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/6/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
20
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Snow, No Problem
Purchased my Ariens Platinum SHO 30'' Snow Blower first week in January. Used it in two big snow storms, 13" and 11". The machine performed extremely well with no issues. No problem with the chute clogging with either storm. I would highly recommend this machine for wet or dry snow.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Powerful Motor Able To Handle Deep Snowblows Snow With Ease, Powerful Motor Blows Snow With Ease Handles Deep Snow
Ronald Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
John P.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/26/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Machine Is A Beast
I bought this from Snow Blowers Direct, no issues with shipping or customer service.

This is the second season for this machine, and I cannot say enough about it. It is extremily powerful and will clean snow like a dream.

I do parking lots and a lot of driveways. A customer of mine used to clear his lot with a tractor and a 48" blade. Took him three hours. I have the lot cleared in 1.5 hours
Pros: High Quality, Reliable, Easy To Use, Durable
John Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Arthur
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/27/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Bought 2 Years Ago Great!
Machine can handle 2 plus feet of heavy snow, this machine has real power. All the controls work as advertised . this beast is worth the dough, even has hand farmers( so-so) and a headlight VERY useful and SAFE....very happy , when it runs at full it burns fuel rather quickly!!! no engine issues etc....terrific value for as first class machine.
Arthur Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Terry S.
Apollo, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/20/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Finally Snowed
It has finally snowed and tried the blower out for the first time. For years I have plowed my driveway. I recently put a new concrete driveway in and did not want to damage the surface with a snow blade on the tractor. Using the non skid shoes on the blower protects the surface. I am extremely impressed and pleased with the machine.

Thanks, Terry
Terry Recommends This Ariens Product
Terry's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"GREAT!!!!!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Raymond H.
Alliance, NE
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/23/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
07
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Best Experience And Best Product Ever!
Looked at and compared many other brands of snow blowers over a three week period before making my final choice of the Ariens Platinum 30 SHO. I was shocked to find that our local dealer refused to order or even carry it in stock even though the product carried a high ranking of satisfaction from users. However I was able to find it through Snow Blowers Direct.

I ordered and received the unit from Snow Blowers Direct and Im very happy to say that the snow blower is everything that I... more
Raymond Recommends This Ariens Product
Raymond's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I was skeptical about ordering such a large item over the Internet and from a company that I had never done business with, so I choose to make my order via a land line to see how they would handle the order. The process was very simple and the customer service rep was very professional. So far so good, right? WRONG - Unfortunately, five days later I received the incorrect model. I took a few pictures to prove the fact, emailed them to customer service and followed up with a phone call. The call was answered by Chitra in a very professional and courteous manor and I could feel the frustration she must have been dealing with that day due to this error in shipping and I was pleasantly surprised when she stated that they would send a return order and ship the correct unit upon notice that the first order had been picked-up. Chitra followed up a few days later to make sure everything as okay. If I can say anything about this experience is a testimony to the fact that Snow Blowers Direct is a top-notch company to do business with and that they stand behind their product and service the customer from start to finish GREAT JOB everyone and you have earned my seal of approval!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Bill M.
Annandale, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/7/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
31
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Slam Dunk
Ordered this fantastic machine and Snow Blowers Direct delivered it expertly - packaged securely and there was zero damage.

Assembly instructions were easy and clear. Machine started right away and runs well.

Now, bring on the snow!!
Bill Recommends This Ariens Product
Bill's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Snow Blowers Direct is a no-brainer! The easiest and most expedient site for snow blowers on the net!."
 more
Was this review helpful?
01
Chester H.
Beaver Dam, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/30/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
25
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Let It Snow
I have not used it yet but shipping was fast and perfect. The blower seems of high quality and easy to assemble everything works, just waiting for snow.
Chester Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
02
Patrick B.
Liverpool, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/7/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
14
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Hard Starting
I'm not impressed with the starting both cold and warmed up. I have to pull the recoil at least 3 times for the machine to star. I now just use the electical start once the machine starts it runs great.
Patrick Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
02
James K.
Brant Lake, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/10/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Choice. A Robust Machine In Every Sense, @ An Attractive $
New house, tired old equipment that could not wait to be replaced before winter sets in. The el nino will not stop the snow, just the cold.
James Recommends This Ariens Product
James's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"A company can be judged on the way they handle problems, in my case a factory back order. The sales people were right on this with recommendations and upgrade along additional savings and warranty. So I would say they're commitment to excellence shined through, rare in today's world. Shipping could not have been better, on time with great new equipment."
 more
Was this review helpful?
13
Edward D.
Danvers, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/7/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
02
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Buy From Your Dealer
got the snowblower, shipping was fine..after unpackaging found the auger case was leaking, figured I would be okay since I have the 5 year warranty..called local ariens dealer and was told he fixes machines they sell first and would look at mine in a month or so... called another one and they said same thing.

If that type of service is okay with you go for it..but we aren't even in the snow season yet and they are pushing me back, what do you thinks going to happen when they get busy. I will... more
Edward Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
304
Ryan
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/3/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
26
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Only Works Once
I purchased this snow blower from PED and it arrived 2 weeks ago. I already am having problems with the carburetor or fuel flow as the motor turns off spontaneously.

Be wary about ordering a product online that is likely to have problems. They refer you to the manufacturer for help and are unable to properly assist you.
Ryan Does Not Recommend This Product
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Ryan,
We are sorry to hear of the issue you are having with your snow blower. Please feel free to contact one of our experts at 800-710-7499 and we can try to get to the bottom of the issue you are having.
more
Was this review helpful?
254
William C.
Belmont, NH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/14/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
05
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fricken Awesome
Hello,

I was skeptical a bit about ordering this through an online company. But after doing so my expectations were exceeded and then some.

The shipping was lightening fast and the snow blower came pre-packaged in absolutely mint condition and not a scratch. Packaging was easy to deal with, and the machine went together easy!

There is no doubt I will be ordering again, its not a matter of what I order but when! Hard to be disappointed with this entire experience! I will be highly... more
William Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
3312
Peter
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/3/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
24
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Powerful Beast, But Auto-turn Is Horrible
After a 6 week delay we got our Platinum 30 SHO. First problem: Unless you are mechanically inclined the assembly is NOT easy. I was unable to do it and another $100 to a local dealer was required. WARNING: There are *NO* online video tutorials for this model's assembly, especially the chute directional control cables. But it came back from the shop all working 2 days before 5.5" of heavy wet snow fell.

This beast is powerful. It handles wet snow like it wasn't even there, and the AX... more
Pros: High Quality, Durable, Quiet, Powerfu
Cons: Heavy, Difficult To Use, Bad Instructions, Auto-turn
Peter Does Not Recommend This Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Peter,
Thank you for your review. The Ariens Company is sorry to hear about the experience you have encountered with your Auto-Turn feature. There could be an adjustment needed with the housing to correct the erratic behavior of the feature. I am including a video which was produced last year to help consumers with the adjustment. If you are still having problems, please contact Ariens Technical Support at 920.756.4688 and we will be happy to walk you through the process or provide alternative troubleshooting steps. Again, we apologize for your inconvenience, but do appreciate your feedback.


Auto-Turn Adjustment
more
Was this review helpful?
140
Snow Valley
Breckenridge, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/13/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
22
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Snow Valley
I bought this after it was recommended by my neighbor, he has a slightly older version. We live just south of Breckenridge, CO. at 10,030' elevation and get about 60 inches of snow per month Nov - Apr. and some into May and June.

This machine is well built, no plastic bits to break, its huge - but easy to handle. I went with the larger engine since it has a higher auger speed and throws snow further. Sure it rides up in really deep stuff, such as snow banks, but make a couple of passes and... more
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Preferred It To Start On The First Pull
Snow Recommends This Ariens Product
Snow's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Easy, no sales tax."
 more
Was this review helpful?
121
Michael M.
Dracut, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/5/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
08
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Powerful And Perfect For My Needs
I need a blower that can really throw the snow, because I need to throw the snow north, into the wind (due to a retaining wall), and I need to be able to get through the end of my driveway where the plow often leaves a 4' high strip that's 3 cars wide.

I'm coming from a 12 year old 10hp 28" wide Yard Machines Gold Snowblower, which seemed big back then, and it did work much better than my much smaller 5hp blower the preceded it. This Arians is one big and powerful snowblower. I've... more
Pros: Features, Quiet, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy, Packaging
Michael Recommends This Ariens Product
Michael's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great experience buying from SBD. I will consider them for any future equipment needs. The only very SMALL issue I has was a deep scratch on the front of the blower caused during shipment. I simply bought some Arians Orange paint and took care of the scratch myself. Wasn't even worth reporting to SBD. Despite the scratch during shipping, the frieght company was awesome. They delivered on my schedule AND brought the GIANT box right into my garage for no additional cost."
 more
Was this review helpful?
132
Kevin J.
Monticello, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/10/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
01
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ariens 30" 414 Cc
I am pleased with the snow blower. Minor assembly required. I noted a lot of oil in the engine high on the dipstick. There is no way to tell what oil was put in the unit so I drained and refilled with appropriate oil for temperature per vendor manual. One pin and bushing had evidently fallen off in the shipping container. I found the spacer laying on floor of box but could not find the pin. Perhaps it was never installed. I used a small piece of electrical wire to get me by. The 2 day... more
Kevin Recommends This Ariens Product
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Kevin,
Kevin,

If you require the pin for your machine or anything else, please don't hesitate to call as we would be happy to have this item sent out to you.
more
Was this review helpful?
81
Peter
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/3/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
02
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Followup To Earlier Review
I first reviewed this machine in January 2015 and expressed grave reservations about the auto-steer feature. I need to follow this up with a resolution that will be of interest to anybody looking to buy this machine now.

With the stock metal skids, even with the auto-turn mechanism properly adjusted according to the video (and performed by a dealer), it will pull unexpectedly and randomly. The fix was to swap out the metal skids for composite. I won't say it's perfect but it's much better... more
Pros: Powerful Relatively-quiet For A 12hp Machine
Cons: Steering Difficult Setup
Peter Does Not Recommend This Product
Peter's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Machine was back-ordered forever and there wasn't a lot of communication as to when it would be available. It took 6 weeks before we got it, with three blown "expected by" dates. Not PED's fault if Ariens isn't shipping, but just beware of excessive lead times from Ariens."
 more
Was this review helpful?
71
Douglas T.
Grandville, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/2/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
04
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fantastic Snowblower
I'm writing for my husband. I haven't used it but he sure loves using it on our huge driveway. Throws snow like no tomorrow. So far no problems.
Douglas Recommends This Ariens Product
Douglas's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Thanks guys for a very positive experience our son also purchased a blower."
 more
Was this review helpful?
60
Alex
REVIEWED
JUN.
07
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Read
I use my Platinum 30 2014 for my snow removal business. Throws snow amazing. I use it on 15 driveways every time it snows more than 2 inches. Used it about 200 times since I got it. The first time I used it below 0 the choke froze and broke so now the motor revs. It becomes very tiresome after awhile because of the weight. Turning the chute becomes a chore after awhile also, I miss the ole crank. It does hog threw snow like mad. I have gone threw snow drifts by the snow plow with ease. ... more
Alex Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
94
John
Byram Township, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/13/14
REVIEWED
MAR.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Snow Launcher!
I was looking for a powerful snow thrower. I have a large driveway with limited places to put snow, so the snow needs to be thrown long distances. This machine handles the job. Even the wet & heavy snow can be launched 30 - 40 feet.

The quick turn discharge chute is an excellent feature as well. I have noticed oil leaking from the gear box out front by the impeller, but only if it is filled past the recommended minimum.
John Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
61
Tom M.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/14/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
05
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Missing And Broken Parts, Did Not Function Out Of Box
Finished installing the Blower this past friday for the 8 in we got in Jersey on Sat 1/24/15.

The shoot control blue bushing face was found cacked during installation. Called Ariens for a replacement and used the cracked one for the time being.

I put gas in the unit, started it , warmed it for 10min or so, and tried to blow some snow.

The auger would not turn. Something seemed to be binding.

After troubleshooting the problem for an hour, draining the fuel, removing the botttom... more
Tom Does Not Recommend This Product
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Tom,
We are sorry to hear that Ariens shipped your snow blower with some vital missing parts. We are glad to hear that they were able to send you the proper parts to get your snow blower running the way it should. Ariens does indeed manufacture a quality product and they offer good service as well. Please let us know if there is anything we can do further or if you experience any further issues we can help as well. Our contact number is 800-710-7499.
more
Was this review helpful?
51
Jeff V.
Newtown Square, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/30/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
30
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Only Runs Once - Ditto
Exact same problem as the "only runs once" review above. Brand new and 1st time using and Ran about 30 min and died. Then 15 and died. Seems like fuel flow issue. Will idle indefinitely, but under load, will die, just a matter of time. Took to Ariens dealer and they said "we can't find anything wrong, nothing else we can do". Like I told them, it runs fine on idle, but since no snow on ground, they couldn't run under load for any amount of time, which is what it takes... more
Jeff Does Not Recommend This Product
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Jeff,
We are sorry to hear you are having an issue with the Ariens snow blower you purchased. Please feel free to contact us 800-710-7499 and we can get one of our experts involved to see if we can help. If we need to get Ariens involved, we would be more than happy to do so. Clearly there is something wrong with the machine, so we would like to help in any way we can.
more
Was this review helpful?
30
Ed L.
Sioux Falls, SD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/30/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
14
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Second And Final Snowblower Purchase
I purchased an Ariens snow blower over 20 years ago and recently gave the snow blower to my daughter and son in law when they purchased their first home.

The old snow blower still works perfectly. I found snow blowers direct to be the less costly way to purchase a new 30 inch Ariens SHO snow blower. It was deliver quickly with no hassle. I will be too old to blow snow by the the time my new snow blower needs to be replaced.

I also gave away my mower so I will be back to order a... more
Ed Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Jose N
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/5/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
26
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Beast Ready For Winter
I spent a long time comparing models on here after the disaster of the past winter. My old 24" Troy-bilt 194 cc machine underwhelmed after the record snowfalls but after 7 years and so much heavy snow up here in the Northeast, I couldn't blame the machine for struggling.

That said, after a lot of back and forth between the Ariens Platinum and the Cub Cadet 3X, I took the plunge and went with the more trusted brand. I will have to review the machine once it has sunk its teeth into some... more
Pros: High Quality, Easy To Use, Features, Reliable
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Jose Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
32
Smitty
East Syracuse, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/28/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
19
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Can't Wait To Use This Machine
Sold my old Craftsman 1029 15yrs new. Good machine, but it was getting tired. Came across this Ariens 921040 I said I need this for upstate NY snow fall. Now all I need is the snow to come.

Easy to put together, only used directions twice and everything seems to work fine. This will be the last snowblower I'll ever have to buy in my lifetime, so I hope it surpasses my expectations and that of the 5-star reviews. Cannot rate performance until snowfall.
Smitty Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
21
David
Irvington, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/26/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Buy This Machine And Never Be Worried That It's Not Strong Enoug
Arrived on Friday, 4 days from the day I ordered it, Monday- perfect condition. R & L trucking company very pleasant and driver willingly helped bring unit into my garage, 200 feet from curb, with his pallet jack. Although he didn't look for it I gratefully gave him some 'coffee' money.

Assembly was straight forward and simple, 2-3 primes, 1 pull and it starts. I am a plumbing contractor going on 40 years and I have purchased everything from hand tools to excavation equipment and Ariens... more
Pros: High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, 1 Pull Start, All The Power You Need Or Want
David Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
32
David M.
Colorado Springs, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/17/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
19
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Outstanding Snow Blower
This is my first snow blower. We had a foot of blowing snow this week and this snow blower moved the snow flawlessly. It starts manually the first or second pull in 20 degree weather... it is so easy to start I don't bother with the extension cord/electric start.

My only complaint is the same as others... the chute won't stay on position which is really frustrating. Everything else is well thought out and functions as advertised. I am a big Ariens fan.
David Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Mike M.
Dracut, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/5/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
12
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Winter Of 2013 - 2014
Worse winter I can remember. This Blower saved me. This is my second post. My first post was last year after a single 5" wet snow storm. Now I have a full record breaking snowfall winter behind me, I can't imaging how hard it would have been with my old 10 HP thrower. The power of this blower is awesome, easily throwing snow 50+ feet away, preventing any buildup anywhere near the edges of my driveway.

My only complaints: 1) Too small of a gas tank. I don't mind that the blower sucks... more
Mike Recommends This Ariens Product
Mike's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great experience with this site and my blower."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Joe
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/29/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just Took Delivery
i Just got my new 30 inch Ariens snowblower September 4, 2015. This is my third and hopefully last one I buy. My first one is 24 inch is 24 years old gave to my son.

Now giving him my 28 inch which is only 5 years old. Wanted the auto-turn feature and 30 inch cut. I am 64 years old and do not want to fight with blower when I use it.

Have driveway 90 feet long and 18 feet wide plus 100 feet of side walk.I also help out My 89 year old neighbor with his driveway and walk also very large.... more
Pros: Reliable
Cons: Bad Instructions
Joe Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
44
Donald C.
Elyria, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/9/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
On-line Snowblower Purchase
It was a very easy purchase, straight forward and fast. Delivery was excellent, even the driver was extremely cordial. Totally good experience.
Donald Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
13
Steven M.
North Attleboro, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/16/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
08
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Nice Machine I Hope I Don't Have To Use It!
Assembly was okay although I am not a good picture person, I like directions with words so the little assembly I had to do was somewhat annoying but I got it done.

I need to order some accessories. For some reason I had them in the cart when I placed the order but they weren't there when the ordered came to completion. No, I was not charged but I still need to come back and order them
Steven Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
02
Kieran K.
Walden, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/6/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Well Designed And Built.
Replaced my old Troy Bilt workhorse with the Ariens platinum 30" with the 414cc.
Kieran Recommends This Ariens Product
Kieran's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"The blower came well packed with not a single mark on it. Setup took about 30 minutes by following very clear diagrams. This is a well designed blower with easy to reach and intuitive controls. I topped off the fluids, followed the startup instructions and the blower started on the first pull. I am impressed so far with the construction but as we have not had a snow fall so far I can not comment on the performance. Just on a side note, I opted to pay by check for the extra 5% discount. SBD held my check for 7 business days. I ordered Oct 6th, didn't get the blower till Oct 27th. Not a complaint, just fyi."
 more
Was this review helpful?
14
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Ariens 921040 reviews.Compare our Ariens 921040 ratings. Find the Ariens 921040 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct