Search
< Back to Product

Ariens 921030 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$1,129.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$1,129.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$1,179.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$1,317.62
(as of 10:37 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
 
$1,299.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Ariens 921030 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 5
Pros
High Quality (12)
Easy To Use (11)
Durable (9)
Price (6)
Exceeded Expectations (5)
Cons
Bad Instructions (3)
Difficult To Use (2)
Expensive (2)
Performance (1)
None So Far (1)
71% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
31 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Ken B.
Islip, NY
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JAN.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Still A Beast
I bought my Ariens back in 1013 (my first review is posted below) from Snowblowersdirect.com

This is the third year I have it - over the past weekend we got a bit over 21" on Long Island.

Using the electric start the Ariens fired up within seconds and it did it's usual job of clearing my 2 car 40' driveway in record time!

One thing I do recommend buying is rubber wheels to replace the steel skids - they make it extremely easy to turn it and they don't harm your driveway.
Ken Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
61
Emily P.
Berwick, ME
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
JAN.
17
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
The Kill Switch Killed The Blower?
We bought a brand new Ariens blower in November and have used it successfully the first two small (maybe 5 inches each) storms of the season (meaning early January). Then the third storm of this season my husband made one pass (after doing all of the recommendations the company suggests within the manual- he is a small engine knowledgeable) stopped the engine with the kill switch to talk to me for a moment and the engine made a funny clunk sound.

He proceeded to turn it back on with the pull... more
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable, Durability
Emily Does Not Recommend This Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Emily,
We apologize for the frustration you have experienced. We in no way want anyone that chose to purchase one of our products to be unhappy with their decision.
Please contact your local authorized Ariens dealer who can get eyes on your machine and solve the issue for you. If you have questions please donít hesitate to reach out to our Technical Service department for help as well.
more
Was this review helpful?
51
Michael
REVIEWED
FEB.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Working Well: Second Season
I used this site, among others to great advantage before purchasing a snow blower. I finally decided on the Ariens Deluxe 28" two-stage blower. I felt obligated to come back and share my experience. I'm half way through my second winter using this machine no point posting a review until I've truly tested the machine.

I couldn't be more pleased with this blower. It never fails to start on the first pull. It makes easy work of my 1200 sf driveway, so much so that I typically plow... more
Michael Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Robert H.
Newington, CT
REVIEWED
FEB.
13
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Won't Go Straight
I've had a few snow blowers over the years and never had this problem before. The machine will not follow a straight course .A single pass on the sidewalk looks like it was done by a drunken sailor.

I wind up constantly having to attempt to straighten it out by putting my weight on the handles as a counter balance. After an hour or so, my back is killing me. Not what I expected from such a storied product.
Robert Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
34
Eugene D.
Randolph, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/10/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It's Really Big
I have received my snowblower. I really love it I just can't wait to tackle some real snow.
Eugene Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
14
Bert C.
Mohnton, PA
Total Helpful Votes
41 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worth Every Dollar!
My Ariens 921030 has been waiting patiently for our first significant snowfall. We received 3" two days ago, then another of 6" last night. Both snows were wet, and heavy to move by hand. Fueled the thrower, primed the carb, and started it for the first time, manually, on the third pull. Now starts on the first pull. The "auto-turn" feature works as advertised - you can operate forward/backward speed partially engage the lever which keeps the impellers moving then, use the... more
Pros: High Quality, Easy To Use, Price, Fast
Cons: No Separate Onoff Switch For Headlight
Bert Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
411
Cardo111
Total Helpful Votes
31 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
14
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Solid Build Quality But Underpowered
I recently purchased this snow blower and I am very happy with the build quality. The dash is steel along with the discharge chute. The controls are well designed and the headlight is unobstructed, bright and nicely integrated in the dash. The Carlisle X-Trac tires have substantial tread blocks and bite into the snow pretty well, however the 15 inch wheels are a little small for a machine of this size. The Ariens AX 254cc engine made by LCT is surprisingly well designed and built and also has... more
Pros: High Quality, Durable, Reliable
Cons: Underpowered, Tires Are On The Small Side
Cardo111 Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
311
Ken B.
Islip, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/21/13
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
30 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
12
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ariens Quality
This is my first gas blower - after the Blizzard of 2/13 I decided my faithful Toro electric would not able to handle another 28" snowfall.
After researching all the brands I bought the Ariens - this machine is extremely well built - and with the 254 cc engine I don't foresee any difficulties with a large snowfall.

The engine started right up first try - some say it is noisy but I find it no louder than a gas lawnmower. The turn sensing feature works really well and the choice of... more
Pros: Durable, Features, Easy To Use, New Turn Sensing Feature Works Great - Very Well Built
Ken Recommends This Ariens Product
Ken Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Ordered online - no hassle at all. I paid extra for the liftgate service - got a call when truck was within 15 minutes of my house - driver dropped the unit exactly where I wanted it. Unit was packed very securely in a wood framed box on a pallet which the driver was nice enough to take back with him. Would definitely order from Snow Blowers Direct again!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
301
Carl T.
Hamden, CT
Total Helpful Votes
31 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
14
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Well Built, Except The Engine.
Overall this snow blower works well, but the engine performance is below what I expected from Ariens.
It starts easy, and gets great traction, even on hills.

The one-hand operation is nice , allowing you to turn the chute while still moving. The easy turn mechanism works well, but if you catch a crack in the driveway, it thinks you are trying to turn, and it turns for you.

But the engine appears to be a cheap Chinese built thing, not an Ariens engine. It seems to run richer than it... more
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Poor Engine, Burns A Lot Of Gas
Carl Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
319
Dan Coffman
Battle Creek, MI
Total Helpful Votes
18 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
20
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Lemon
Purchased last year and ran good except sputtered some. This year it is hard to start and runs a few seconds. I have changed the gas, spark plug, and cleaned the carburetor...nothing seems to help. A lemon for sure!
Dan Does Not Recommend This Product
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Dan,
We are sorry to hear of the issues you ar having with your Ariens snow blower. It would be a good idea to contact Ariens directly due to the fact they manufacture and warranty the product. Ariens can be reached at 920-756-4688.

If you have any trouble getting through with them, give us a call and we'll help you out in any way we can.
more
Was this review helpful?
183
Jack H.
Appleton, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/15/14
Total Helpful Votes
14 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
27
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Satisfied!
I ordered my snowblower about three weeks ago. Arrived safe and sound. Took my time assembling it. Went together flawlessly. Fired up on the third pull after priming it. Love the auto-turn feature.

Fast forward three weeks. Mother Nature gave us our first snowfall of about three inches. I went into the garage, primed it and gave it ONE pull and away we went! It was so much of a positive experience that I went across the street to do our neighbor's driveway.

It ran very well and I... more
Pros: High Quality, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Auto-turn Feature
Jack Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
140
Mike D.
North Tonawanda, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/1/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
27
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Last Snowblower Purchase
At my age I won't wear it out. It came to me not all assembled. Nuts and bolts that hold augers to gear box in center were not there. The supports holding auger and gear assembly to the inner shroud were just hanging! Had to call the Ariens for parts. Its a beautiful machine! THANK YOU!!
Pros: Features, Exceeded Expectations, Fast, Easy To Store
Mike Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
163
George C.
Mt. Kisco, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/21/13
REVIEWED
FEB.
02
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
All As Promised
Better than I expected - I didn't realize how bad my old machine (1982) was - worth the money.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Features, Exceeded Expectations
George Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
142
Dennis B.
Springfield, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/15/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
10
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Better Than Expected
No problem throwing a few inches if light fluffy snow or deep heavy snow. The deeper the snow the more I was impressed with it.
Pros: High Quality, Easy To Use, Quiet, I'd Buy It Again
Dennis Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
142
Kenneth Z.
Mercer, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/1/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
23
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Second Airens
I've had my first Airens snow blower for almost 20 years. It's seen plenty of use up here in the Lake Superior snow belt, so when it was time for an upgrade it was a no brainer. HAPPY, HAPPY, HAPPY
Pros: Durable, Price, Reliable, High Quality
Kenneth Recommends This Ariens Product
Kenneth Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I've been researching & comparing prices for two years before buying. Snow Blowers Direct beats everyone. Best selection & prices."
 more
Was this review helpful?
187
Joe T.
Freeland, PA
REVIEWED
DEC.
28
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Short Of Engine Power
I purchased the unit last winter, assembly was easy, start up is a little tricky but unfortunately the engine lacks necessary power to cut into snow path at 28". The CC is suppose to be 254cc. I still have my old 24" Simiplicty Blower which is a 8 horse power engine by B&G which is a strong engine, a working machine. Ariens in the past always made a good machine. I definitely suggest Ariens seriously needs to push the CC's up to 300 cc engine for its 28" snow machine.
Joe Does Not Recommend This Product
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Joe,
We are sorry to hear of your concerns with the engine power of the Ariens snow blower you purchased. Your best option would be to contact Ariens directly with your concerns. Ariens can be reached at 920-756-4688.
more
Was this review helpful?
111
Joseph B.
Glenwood Springs, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/27/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
09
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ariens St28le
I just got the machine a couple of weeks ago and have used it twice and will again tomorrow. I am still getting used to the controls. They are simple but this is my first snow blower. I shoveled until I threw my back out doing it. The blower throws the Colorado snow and is powerful. The construction of the blower is quality. I have yet to use it on wet snow as in Colorado mountains the snow is dry until late March. I'll update the site then.
Pros: High Quality, Durable, Features, Reliable
Joseph Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
122
Stephen L.
Decatur, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/6/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
29
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ariens Deluxe St28le (28") 254cc Two-stage Snow Throw
Ready to throw the snow! Only down side was took 3 men to unload the snow thrower off the truck. Works like a gem!
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Easy To Use, Fast
Cons: Expensive
Stephen Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
166
Denny
REVIEWED
FEB.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Extremely Satisfied Customer
I bought my Ariens Deluxe 28" in September of 2013. I have now used it for 2 winters, and I could not be more satisfied. Snow Blowers Direct delivered the machine as they said with no shipping and no tax. It was delivered to my garage.

It arrived on time and in perfect condition. Assembly was easy, and it started immediately. This machine handles 12" of snow as if it is hungry for more. Plus it's easy to handle. I love the auto turn feature where the inside wheel quits pulling... more
Denny Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
71
Joe S.
Lakewood, CO
REVIEWED
FEB.
04
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Think Twice If Your High.
By high, I mean altitude. At 5000ft I'm under the height for a carb adjustment but high enough too loose 20% power. I'd loose the 20% even if the carb was adjusted perfectly. That coupled with using pump gas with ethanol which costs another 10% and the blower bogs down in deep snow in low gear. If you live at altitude I'd recommend two things. Get the biggest motor you can afford and run the blower on MOGAS. with no ethanol and no additives you can tell the difference in performance and fuel... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable, Price, Reliable
Cons: Performance
Joe Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
104
Bryan M.
Linn Grove, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/22/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
06
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ariens Deluxe St28le
Wow what a life saver. After selling my Jeep Wrangler with a western snow plow this last summer, this Ariens snow blower worked like butter in the seasons first 14.5 inch snow fall. I absolutely like the performance and features of the machine. Turns on a dime and blows snow at least 50 feet The only draw back might be its needs 1 slower gear for really heavy snow. A++ on the machine.
Pros: High Quality, Durable, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations
Bryan Recommends This Ariens Product
Bryan Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Glad I bought the machine. I just ordered another maintenance kit and some extra shear bolts. I ran into the edge of the step and sheared one. I don't want to be without extra ones. You guys are really good with communication and site reference tips. A++ P.S. my neighbor is really jealous after seeing the machine in action. I told him about your site and bragged on you guys."
 more
Was this review helpful?
126
Douglas B.
Imlay City, MI
REVIEWED
AUG.
25
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Piece Of Crap
I bought deluxe 30 last year first time I took it out Feb.,8 it started I let it warm up it blew snow for 7 feet clattered a little and stop running. Took it to service center 5 month's and Ariens make excuses why they haven't got to it. I took to a different service center, 30 days later I get a call it is done. I go to pick it up, pull start doesn't work they fixed electric start but it still doesn't start. I should put it in some parades, biggest lemon.
Douglas Does Not Recommend This Product
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Douglas,
I am sorry to hear this unit has caused so many issues during usage. I have forwarded this information to Ariens directly as it does not appear this unit was purchased through us directly. I would recommend contacting Ariens directly at 920-756-4688 regarding the issues your model has had, as well as, the inability for the service center to correct the issue as they will be able to offer further assistance. Once again I apologize for the dissatisfaction with this model but appreciate your honest review.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Douglas,
The Ariens Company is sorry to hear about your experience with your machine. Have you been in contact with out Tech Service team? If not, please give us a call at 920.756.4688. We are open M-F 7am-5pm CST. We would be happy to evaluate what work has been done, and speak to the necessary dealers.

Thank you!
more
Was this review helpful?
83
John
REVIEWED
JAN.
05
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Won't Go Straight.
I just purchased this blower and it constantly wants to turn randomly. It's a known Ariens issue that can be helped by buying different skids. Ariens should supply the upgraded skids but doesn't.
John Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
105
Dan Madison
Port Wing, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/16/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
06
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfecto
Excellent service from both the vendor and the transporter. Product exceeded all expectations.
Dan Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
43
Ken C.
Huntington Station, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/2/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
30
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
After Lots Of Research!
After 2 years of research , questioning salesmen, and waiting for the perfect snow blower, I couldn't be happier with my recent purchase of the Ariens Deluxe snow blower from the Snow Blowers Direct website.
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Ken Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
1616
Jerry D.
Arlington, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/10/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
03
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Snowblower But *might* Try Something Else.
After struggling with a single stage snow blower for three years, the time seemed right for a two-stage unit. I read the reviews and decided on this one.

It does a great job. It treats the compacted mess that the snow plows leave at the end of my driveway.like a hot knife cutting through butter.

The assembly instructions were NOT clear! The only way I was able to assemble the snow blower was by following a YouTube video. With the video, assembly was relatively straightforward.

What... more
Pros: Price
Cons: Difficult To Use, Bad Instructions, Controls
Jerry Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
1011
Theresa S.
Hopewell JCT., NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/21/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
03
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ariens The Best
The Best machine and service!!!
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: None So Far
Theresa Recommends This Ariens Product
Theresa Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"If there were 10 stars I would give them to Snow Blowers Direct and Bob. He and the company have the greatest customer service of any company I've dealt with 10 STARS BRAVO!!!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
2125
James Guild
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/4/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
14
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Over Sold Description
I followed the small font written instructions and even smaller illustrations in the manual and could not get the speed selector arm to shift. They don't tell you to remove the foam tape securing the traction and auger levers in the engaged position. I took a gamble and removed the tape which solved that problem.

A good deal of the instructions tell you to do something that has already been done at the factory (but how would you know that?). If you can read hieroglyphics, then you'll... more
Pros: Fast
Cons: Bad Instructions, Difficult To Use, Expensive
James Does Not Recommend This Product
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
James,
We are sorry to hear of the issues you are having with your Ariens snow blower. If you are having trouble with the operation of the machine our experts are here to help.

Please feel free to contact us at 800-710-7499 and we can address any questions you may have. If you have issues on how the snow blower was designed or built Ariens can be reached at 920-756-4688.
more
Was this review helpful?
49
Daniel L.
Washington, DC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/31/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
21
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
1st Time
Did the job.
Pros: High Quality, Easy To Use, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Bad Instructions
Daniel Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
28
Steve M.
Manchester, NH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/30/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
22
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Long Time Waiting
Needed new Ariens.
Pros: High Quality, Durable, Features, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Han, Handle To Chassis Connection Weak
Steve Recommends This Ariens Product
Steve's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"A VERY CONVIENENT AND LESS EXPENSIVE WAY TO PURCHASE AS LONG AS U KNOW WHAT YOU WANT."
 more
Was this review helpful?
210
Jeff
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/13/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
07
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Have Not Used It Yet, Thank God.
Even in Minnesota it has not snowed enough (Oct. 7) to get the snow blower out yet to use it.

The snow blower was pretty easy to put together, with instructions that were okay to read and understand.
Jeff Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
416
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Ariens 921030 reviews.Compare our Ariens 921030 ratings. Find the Ariens 921030 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct