Search
< Back to Product

Agri-Fab 45-0288 Spreaders Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$229.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$229.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$229.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$229.00
(as of 06:42 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
 
$286.41
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Agri-Fab 45-0288 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.0 out of 54.0 out of 54.0 out of 54.0 out of 54.0 out of 5
Pros
High Quality (6)
Easy To Use (6)
Durable (6)
I'd Buy It Again (4)
Price (4)
Cons
Expensive (2)
The Leaver Is To Short F... (1)
Unreliable (1)
Heavy (1)
Packaging (1)
85% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
20 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Power Equipment Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
91 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
12608 Helpful Votes
Power Equipment Direct Recommended

The Agri-Fab 45-0288 tow behind drop spreader is a nice step up in quality from our other two recommended models. This spreader has a larger capacity and some better features - as you would expect from our "best in class" recommendation.

The Agri-Fab 45-0288 comes with a rust-proof poly hopper that can hold up to 175 pounds of material - enough for a full acre of property. Another benefit is you can control the settings from the seat, so you don't have to get off your tractor... more
Jose Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
388
David V.
Marion, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/31/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
APR.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Quality Spreader.
I wanted a good well built spreader. I got one. This company had one for the best price of anyone on the Internet. I was amazed that it was sent to me so fast, too. I would definitely recommend this company to doing business with.
Pros: High Quality, Durable, Easy To Use, Quiet
Cons: Expensive
David Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
David's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Absolutely a good product. Would buy another if I needed it. A good heavy duty, well-built rugged spreader."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Michael B.
Ebensburg, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/25/16
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
MAY.
20
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Decent Spreader
I cover about 3 acres of property and wanted a large pull-behind spreader. After searching online, I decided to try the Agri-Fab 175 LB drop spreader. The price was good, and it came in a few days. It seems to be built pretty well, but the assembly takes a little time to do it right. Especially getting the open / close mechanism adjusted properly.

The metal bar across the bottom that opens and closes has a very slight bend in it, and because it's so long, it's very hard to get it adjusted... more
Michael Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
00
John A.
Arundel, ME
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/8/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
03
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Drop Rate
Product is well built but don't believe the drop rate instructions. I dropped a 5000 sq ft bag in a 500 ft strip on a setting 2.
John Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Thomas O.
Roxbury, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/29/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
20
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Nice Device
Latch does not set strong enough, but a bungee cord helps.
Thomas Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Joseph D.
Conestoga, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/22/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
25
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Not As Good As I Thought It Would Be
hard to set drop rate . hard to turn on and off
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Joseph,
Sorry you are not pleased with your spreader. Give us a call and we will give you some suggestions on adjusting the spreader.

Thanks
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Joel D.
Mineral Point, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/27/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
19
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
On-off Handle Needs Help
The on-off handle needs to be articulated to make it operable while seated on the mower.
Joel Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Nancy C.
Geneva, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/15/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
07
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
I have been putting weed and feed on my lawn with the upright type spreader but it seemed to be top heavy and would tip over while putting it on my lawn.

When I found the drop spreader on mowers direct website I decided to order it. It is the greatest thing for putting on fertilizer and other lawn products. I found I didn't have to worry about it tipping over.

Easy to use it holds two big bags so don't have to stop and refill. I just set it on the number I needed to spread it on and... more
Nancy Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Dale S.
Geneva, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/26/13
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
16
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Time Saver
I used this spreader to drop 4 tons of Lime and 2 tons of fertilizer in one day on 2 separate food plots I have buried 1/4 mile back in the woods. It operated flawlessly on all 6,000 pounds of material once I got the hang of how far to open it for the flow. It spread the material evenly and consistently. Now if it works that good to spread my seed I'll be one happy camper. It cut my time by 1/3rd with the 175 pound hopper. So far a great product.
Pros: Durable, Features, Easy To Use, Light Weight, Reliable, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Dale Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Dale's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The buy process was simple and easy, shipping cost were fair and delivery was fast."
 more
Was this review helpful?
100
Gary
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/12/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
04
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Does The Job
Bought this to spread lime. It arrived on time and was easy to assemble. However one wheel was damaged but not totally destroyed. The lime went on at only half the rate I needed with the spreader full open. Actually this was a blessing as I made a second pass at a right angle to even out the application. It rained a day later to wash the lime in and the following day UPS delivered a replacement wheel for the damaged one.( I called customer service on the packing slip and they were great.)
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Durable, Price, Features, High Quality
Cons: Packaging
Gary Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
80
John T.
Wyoming, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/27/13
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JUL.
25
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Buying A Spreader
I looked at a lot of different lawn spreaders, till I came across this website. Price was right and it was delivered as fast as you could ask for in ground shipping. I loaded it up with weed and feed and went to work on my lawn. It followed nicely behind my riding lawn mower and it spread the weed and feed perfect. Really quiet and smooth operation. The settings are simple to set and after I got done working I followed the instructions and cleaned it up. I am ready to use it again soon. If you... more
Pros: Light Weight, Quiet, Price, I'd Buy It Again
John Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
John Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Mowesr Direct is where you find the things you need and great customer service."
 more
Was this review helpful?
60
Beverly T.
Bridgeport, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/6/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
08
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Drop Spreader
I needed a drop spreader to spread Humate onto my large yard. This spreader worked perfectly for the heavy weight of the soil additive. I used it behind my John Deere Gator for the large areas outside of the yard and my riding lawn mower in the yard.
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Heavy
Beverly Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Richard T.
Allentown, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/15/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
17
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Good But
Must put pulverised lime in a bag at a time and at the garden. Put in 2 50 Lb. bags and rode approx. 150 ft. Wheels wouldn't turn. Took some out and stirred it and then it worked.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Quiet, Price, Light Weight, Easy To Store
Cons: Packs Lime And Wheels Won't Turn
Richard Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Karen M.
Knoxville, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/18/15
REVIEWED
APR.
08
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Doesn't Work For Compost
The spreader arrived quickly and seems to be well made, but I got it for spreading compost and it does not work at all with compost. The holes are much too small to allow the compost to disperse. It completely locked up. So now I'm out $200 and ended up spreading two tons of compost by hand. Disappointed.
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Karen,
We are sorry to hear of your disappointment. You are correct that this spreader will not handle compost. It is meant to handle fertilizer or seed. Compost is too thick as you found out. We have experts available. You should have contacted us first and we could have let you know what the spreader is capable of.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Karen,
Karen,

Sorry you were disappointed in our Spreader. It is made strictly for fertilizer and grass seed.
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Eric
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/26/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
28
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
It's Ok
This was easy to assemble and works good enough for my needs. However, one side spreads slower than the other side.

I rechecked my assembly and still the same. Would give it a higher score but, for as much as one pays for this, I would have hoped for a way to adjust the flow independently so it would spread evenly.
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, High Quality, Quiet
Cons: Unreliable, Expensive
Eric Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Dennis T.
Brainerd, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/12/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Spreader
Works Great
Dennis Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Donald P.
Chester, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/23/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
02
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
It Sucked
Fell apart first day I used it, should have known, you get what you pay for.. tried to save myself the doubled priced gaynor version, now I still need to buy it... save your time and money...
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Donald,
I apologize this unit did not work properly within the first time of use. I do appreciate your honest review.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Donald,
The product does carry a full warranty. Call 800-448-9282 ext 1 for replacement parts.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Richard C.
Topeka, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/29/15
REVIEWED
APR.
19
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Drop Spreader
Have only used it once at this time, so a fair review is difficult. The only thing I noticed is that it did not drop evenly on both sides. This is showing up as zebra grass color.
Richard Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Brent H.
Richfield, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/29/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
19
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Built Nice
Shipped fast and direct through E-bay, was nice to assemble and seems well built.
Brent Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Dominick R.
Cream Ridge, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/25/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Drop Spreader
I'm very happy with this drop spreader. Take your time putting it together. Be careful setting up the rods that adjust the openings. This is the MOST IMPORTANT part of putting it together. You will love it, or hate it if you don't do this part correctly. It will take you about 1 hour to assemble it the right way.

Also, set your mower speed just like they tell you in the instructions and it will work great for you. The one feature that could be better is the lever to open and close. It is... more
Pros: High Quality, Durable, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: The Leaver Is To Short For Opening And Closing
Dominick Recommends This Agri-Fab Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Dominick,
Thanks for purchasing an Agri-Fab drop spreader and I am glad you are please with its performance.

Jake
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Agri-Fab 45-0288 reviews.Compare our Agri-Fab 45-0288 ratings. Find the Agri-Fab 45-0288 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct