Search
< Back to Product

AR AR390 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$199.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$199.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$199.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$204.32
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$209.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
AR AR390 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (17)
Easy To Store (13)
Price (12)
Quiet (9)
Light Weight (9)
Cons
Unreliable (5)
Difficult To Use (5)
Low Quality (5)
Durability (4)
Bad Instructions (4)
79% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
80 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Power Equipment Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
122 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
5398 Helpful Votes
Power Equipment Direct Recommended

AR produces some of the best electric pressure washers available in the market today, and this is definitely one model that I would recommend.

Unlike most electric pressure washers in this category, this model uses brass fittings- which is a huge plus over the more commonly used plastic fittings.

The reliable pump is paired with a heavy-duty motor and contained in an easy to transport, stable frame. Storage slots on the side keep the wand and nozzles from getting lost, and a pressurized... more
Brian Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
4051
Ronnie Y.
Millsboro, DE
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/29/11
Total Helpful Votes
22 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
21
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Used Twice. So Far, So Good.
Bought this in April 2011 and have used it twice. First time to clean mildew from a deck. Worked pretty well but I wish it had a bit more power.

Second time I cleaned screens, vinyl siding and small driveway all with great results. Only one minor complaint and that is with the user manual which is very sparse for information. I had to call AR North America to get clarification on how to get the detergent flow to operate. Customer service was very helpful in explaning the operation. more
View Image
Was this review helpful?
220
William Gregory
Matamoras, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/31/11
Total Reviews
4 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
43 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
SEP.
20
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Motor Burned Out After Several Uses
The unit stopped working completely (the motor burned out) after using a half a dozen times over a 3 month period! Don't buy this power washer...be wise and invest the extra dollars in a real washer (gas powered!)
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store
Cons: Unreliable, Low Quality, Durability
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
William,
Our records show you've had this unit for over 2 years. To get the longest service from your pressure washer, please be sure to store it where it won't freeze, and use a pump saver product over the winter (any brand will do).

To get the longest motor life, you also need to make sure you turn the motor completely off when you walk away from the unit. If you release the trigger to stop the water flow and leave it for more than 5 minutes, you also stop the flowing water from cooling the pump and motor and it will fail prematurely.
more
Was this review helpful?
363
Don
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/25/13
Total Helpful Votes
25 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
17
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Surprisingly Effective
I purchased this unit to replace an old, but very reliable, Karcher unit. Initially, I thought I'd buy another Karcher, since I had such good luck with them (more than 20 years of regular use). However, when I went through the reviews (on this site and Amazon.com), it became clear that there were many more issues/complaints for Karcher as a brand, than AR, so I bought the AR. While the jury is still out, and I doubt it's reasonable to hope for the same lifespan as my old Karcher, I'm... more
Pros: Features, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Plastic Hose Connectors
Don Recommends This AR Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Don,
It's not only the PSI that makes for effective cleaning; it's the volume of water, or gallons per minute (GPM) that the unit can push, and the size of the hole in the nozzle (the orifice) that concentrates the water.

Higher GPM or a smaller orifice size can make the spray seem more powerful on the same (or lower) rated PSI pump. Pumps are rated on a test bench, with nothing hooked up to them so the largest possible number can be posted- how the water is routed after the pump can also affect how much pressure comes out of the spray tip.

That's where the "Cleaning Units" rating can come in handy- it levels the PSI/GPM playing field so you can compare units based on performance.
more
Was this review helpful?
250
David H.
Newtown Square, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/31/13
Total Helpful Votes
23 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
SEP.
30
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Product For The Price
Just used power washer for the first time. No problems with assembly.

I didn't experience any leaking problems from hose connection that has been reported by other users. Instructions are still vague about how to get cleaner flowing from tank.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Quiet
Cons: Power Cord Storage Needs To Be Larger
David Recommends This AR Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
David,
You will need to turn the adjustable nozzle all the way to the wide setting, and then a little further until you feel a click. (For folks reading this, some nozzles will pull out for the soap mix instead of twisting.)

The click is the low pressure setting- it opens a valve in the tank so the rushing water can mix with the soap and be sprayed out the end of the wand. It won't work with the turbo nozzle.

Once you're done with the soap, twist the nozzle back towards the narrow setting until it clicks again, then spray for a minute to clear the soapy water out of the spray hose and you'll be ready to rinse.

It's a good idea to rinse the tank out when you're done- if soap dries in the tank it can clog up the feed tube.
more
Was this review helpful?
232
Mark B.
Waterloo, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/31/13
Total Helpful Votes
19 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
SEP.
21
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Disappointed
Not as good as they make it to be. Very light and tips over easily. Hose connection is made of plastic and cheap. It was made to look stronger than what it is at home.
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight
Cons: Durability, Low Quality
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Mark,
This is a light weight, consumer grade pressure washer. Several of the staff own and use this unit on a regular basis- the hose reel does make it a little top-heavy, but it stands up to regular household use.

Pressure washers do best when you pay out the hose, then move the unit. Trying to move the unit by pulling on the hose will not work as well.
more
Was this review helpful?
190
Mark P.
Jacksonville, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/21/14
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
17 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
14
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Better Than Gas
AR Blue 1800 PSI Pressure Washer is a solid product but I think the features they've added to it are not as good as the unit itself. But once it was operating, it was pretty powerful and the jet nozzle is great for covering a lot of ground quickly. Very good for household chores. Overall, I was pleased with it's performance when operating correctly.

There were three negatives however as some of the features I felt did not function as advertised. The new pressure switch which is... more
Mark Recommends This AR Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Mark,
The Start/Stop should function on its own since tying the trigger open can be a safety hazard. You can try pulling the trigger & letting the water run for a bit before starting the motor- this will drive out any air in the pump and prevent vapor lock. If this doesn't help, please contact the folks at AR Bue Clean Tech Support, toll free, at 866-235-5112. They will be able to help troubleshoot or offer warranty assistance. Please be sure to have the serial number of your pressure washer handy when you call them.

If you look at the product page for the AR Blue Clean Surface Cleaner you will see a line in the Features that says "Adapter Part # PW3082750 Needed To Be Compatible With AR390". You can click on this link to order that AR Blue Clean Adaptor for AR390.

Turbo nozzles have a small disc with a hole in it that spins very fast under the pressure of the water. If the water supply has dirt or grit in it, it can jam up the spinning disc. You may want to add an inexpensive water filter to your garden hose to prevent dirt from getting through.

Hopefully this will make your pressure washing easier and more productive!
more
Was this review helpful?
170
Wally O.
Mesa, AZ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/12/13
Total Helpful Votes
16 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JAN.
07
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Not Happy With Hose On New Pressure Washer
The manufacturers need to use better material on the pressure hose as it is very stiff and will kink if the operator is not careful the machine will tip over very easily- also so not so good.
Pros: Price, Easy To Store
Cons: Difficult To Use, Hose Is Very Stiff Gets Cat Tails In It Have To Keep Going Back A, Hose Is Stiif And Curls And Kinks A Real Pain
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Wally,
Brand new 1/4" hose has a mind of its own- you may want to try unspooling the hose and laying it out in the sun before you start setting up the rest of the unit. That will help it "relax" and not want to be so curly when it's time to start washing.

Once you've done this a few times it will be easier to handle.
more
Was this review helpful?
160
Greg
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/15/11
Total Helpful Votes
14 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
10
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Not A Good Product
I bought this product approx. 2 years ago. I've only used it (3) times and have had nothing but problems with it. It has recently stopped working and will not even turn on. It is too costly to repair.
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Greg,
We apologize for any inconvenience- this unit has a 1 year Factory Warranty, so that should have taken care of any problems in that time period.

The Owner's Manual stresses that it's important that the unit be stored where it will not freeze, and recommends the use of a pump saver product to drive out moisture and keep the seals lubricated when not in use.
more
Was this review helpful?
140
Joe
Friday Harbor, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/10/13
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
31
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy To Use
After hassling with a gas pressure washer for years, I finally got smart and bought an electric model. They're easy to use, clean just as well, quiet, and easy to store.

Best decision for my home/shop use.
Pros: Reliable, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Easy To Store
Joe Recommends This AR Product
Was this review helpful?
120
Marge
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/11/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
15
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Thumbs Up!
After being disappointed with several Karcher brand power washers, I decided to make one last attempt before hiring someone to clean a 10 by 12 foot concrete patio.

The AR Blue 1800 psi worked very well... I wouldn't use any less than 1800 psi. Had to add an adapter to the end of my hose (which I had) so it didn't leak and was very satisfied by the metal threaded connectors on the power washer.

Thumbs up!
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
Marge Recommends This AR Product
Was this review helpful?
90
Keith J.
Trinity, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/12/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
03
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Using Pressure Washer
We received it quickly. Assembled it and when it did not turn on, pressed reset as directions show. Did not look like reset light came on as it is so weak. Tried washer again and it worked.

The nozzle to pressure wash driveway is about the size of a pencil tip, so it took forever to do the driveway. It is a fine product for light use.
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Durable, Light Weight
Cons: It Works Ok But Is Way Too Slow To Do Driveway Walkways
Keith Recommends This AR Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Keith,
There is a better way to clean a large flat surface- using the AR Blue Clean 10" Patio Cleaner.

It has a spinning nozzle under the disk that allows you to clean 10 inch wide swaths in less time than a spray nozzle. It also doesn't leave the "zebra stripes" that a spray nozzle will.

You will also need to add theAR Blue Clean 390 Adaptor so it will attach properly to your AR390 pressure washer.
more
Keith Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Liked the information. Was easy to purchase, pay for and shipping was fast."
 more
Was this review helpful?
91
Mike C.
Eureka, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/20/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
13
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Went To Electric After Multiple Gasoline Failures
I am a light user (small deck, patio, garage, lawn furniture). I went through four gasoline power washers with Kawasaki or Honda engines. I never abuse equipment and they all failed.

I decided to try an electric and so far the unit has performed well especially when you factor in the price/value to results. O.K.,the electic has less power which equates to more time. The plus of having it start EVERY TIME outweighs the cord hassle. For $200 the combination is hard to beat.

Logical... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Easy To Store, Quiet
Cons: Bad Instructions
Mike Recommends This AR Product
Was this review helpful?
70
Wayne
Winnipeg, Canada, AK
REVIEWED
JUN.
19
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Either Not Smart Or Just Plain Dumb
I purchased one of the AR 390's and noticed that the connector for the hose is plastic and the machine carries a metal attachment. Of course, it will not take an engineer to know that you do not use a plastic connector to a metal connector as the metal will strip the plastic easily. So, after two uses the hose gets pushed off the connector due to the pressure and the unit is of no use. Wasted my money.
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Wayne,
This unit comes with a 1 year Factory Warranty- you may want to contact the folks at AR Blue Clean directly at 866-235-5112. Please be sure to have the serial number of your pressure washer handy when you call them.

We don't hear much about the connector failing from the threads stripping out. The AR units hold up well- the most common issue seems to be when the hose is pulled too hard and the unit falls over on the connector. It's not a warranty issue, but AR is usually pretty good about helping out.
more
Was this review helpful?
70
Marcelo C.
Cumming, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/4/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
26
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Not Perfect
I added the special soap in the special compartment, but it barely uses it. I've tried turning the switch dispenser to the opposite side but it's the same. The hose connection leaks a little bit.
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Marcelo,
You will need to turn the adjustable nozzle all the way to the wide setting, and then a little further until you feel a click. (For folks reading this, some nozzles will pull out for the soap mix instead of twisting.) The low pressure allows the unit to suction the soap from the dispenser. This will mix at approximately a 10:1 ratio. Unfortunately, to keep cost low on all brands of consumer electrics, they use plastic connections which can leak slightly. I would recommend getting a garden hose quick connect kit to cover the plastic threads and seal it with Teflon tape. This will allow the plastic threads to hold up for the long haul. However, since the unit is under warranty, you could contact AR directly to see what they have available to fix the issue. They can be reached at 866-235-5112
more
Was this review helpful?
60
Frank T.
Bellflower, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/9/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
23
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Easy To Use
Good product, easy to use, nice design- the hose reel is very convenient.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Easy To Store, Light Weight
Frank Recommends This AR Product
Was this review helpful?
71
Denis G.
Lithia, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
REVIEWED
JUN.
12
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sound Purchase, Good Value
I am very happy with the machine and its easy operation. I believe that it is right for my needs although I have only used it twice so far.

Two minor points I would like to make on the construction of the unit:

First the hose to machine coupling assembly is made of plastic. I believe it should be made of metal given the possible stress that could be placed here.

Secondly the instructions are not clear as to how to use the turbo wand and detergents.

Overall I am happy at this point.
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Denis,
We're not sure how often the folks at AR read our reviews, so you may want to contact them directly with your suggestions at http://www.arnorthamerica.com/contactus.html .

Your suggestions are good ones- and AR has been working on the English translations of their manuals (the parent company is Italian).

Your regular nozzle will twist and click off at the joint; your Turbo nozzle will twist and click on in the same place. The spray is very focused and powerful, and there is a disk inside the nozzle that makes the spray spin. This motion makes it very useful to clean nooks & crannies in sturdy surfaces like pavers & concrete- but please don't use it on anything delicate, like paint or stucco!

The pictures on page 7 of the Owner's Manual show a soap tank that clips into the back of the unit. Make sure it is seated securely, then fill with pressure washer safe detergent- any brand is fine. Pressure washer detergent won't damage the seals in your pump; and will dilute properly.

Use the regular wand to apply detergent (the Turbo won't work). Twist the nozzle end towards the Wide spray setting until you feel a click- now soap will be added to the water stream as you pull the spray gun trigger. Twist the nozzle the other way until you feel it click to go back to regular water to rinse.

Some nozzles need to be pulled out until they click in order to dispense soap- so you can try that if twisting doesn't work.
more
Was this review helpful?
60
Robert
Newbury, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/30/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
19
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Technical Stuff
The end of the hose is not a standard M22 22MM. I bought a M22 coupling and bored .040 from one end to fit the nonstandard hose outlet, I then can attach the standard hose from my old gas powered washer on the other end, and use my old gun and wands.

The detergent tank is injected upstream from the pump after the pump. The mixture knob, according to AR Blue tech rep, is 1:10 max clockwise and 1:20 counter clockwise. I doubt if its any where near that concentrated, but that's how you open... more
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Robert,
AR Blue Clean uses a proprietary fitting so that only their accessories fit their units. Any other modification or use of non-AR Blue Clean accessories will void your warranty.
more
Was this review helpful?
60
Kirk J.
Naples, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/18/11
REVIEWED
NOV.
29
2011
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
A Good Electric Unit For The Price.
I have been using the AR390 for several days now. As a retired engineer, I am usually disappointed with electric pressure washers, but the AR390 has left me somewhat impressed.

Prior to purchasing the 390 from PWD, I called AR and asked them about their units. The 390 is actually an updated AR383 with several worthwhile features. It features a much heaver duty and longer 30 foot wand hose, which is much less prone to kinking and neatly stores on the smooth operating hose reel.

The 390’s... more
Was this review helpful?
60
Barry S.
Edinburg, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/20/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
02
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Not Bad For An Electric Pw
Purchased two months ago and it arrived in good condition, well packed. Unit has brass fittings, a functional hose reel, and an onboard soap tank, features that are a cut above most electrics in this price range.

I've used several times and it's performed well for the tasks I've performed, which didn't exceed the modest cleaning power of the unit.

I've had only three issues: First, the low pressure setting used for soap application is REALLY low, hardly more than garden hose pressure.... more
Barry Recommends This AR Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Greg Fox
Oak Point, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/11/11
REVIEWED
AUG.
12
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Poor Performance And Quick Failure
Purchased this two years ago. When I first got it I noticed that it would spray well for a bit and then the pressure would drop. I thought maybe It was my water pressure but now I know that it was just not working properly.

I only used it occasionally and the problem got worse and worse and now I am lucky if it sprays well for 5 seconds. The spraying cycles off and on (not the pump) and is useless. I have a crisis now where I have to have a reliable machine to clean with, so I am going... more
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable, Durability
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Greg,
This unit comes with a 1 year Factory Warranty from the manufacturer, so contacting them in that first year would have been the best plan.

Even though it's out of warranty, you can still call the AR Tech Support line toll free at 866-235-5112 to see if they have any tips on how to get better performance from your unit.

You may also want to check the filter screen where the garden hose attaches to make sure debris isn't blocking it. You can also try back flushing the spray wand to clear it of any grit from your water supply; sometimes some careful poking with a paperclip can also clear a blockage.

Using a Pump Saver product will help prevent hard water scale from blocking the water flow.

Please be sure you are using a garden hose at least 5/8" in diameter, and no longer than 30 feet; and that you're not pulling water from a well- the pump needs the back pressure of city water to function properly.

These ideas will help no matter what brand of pressure washer you have.
more
Was this review helpful?
50
David
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/18/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
12
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect For My Needs
I hesitated getting an electric, but this really suits my needs and normal uses perfectly.

I will say that the instructions were less descriptive than I needed, but searched of the AR Blue website filled in the blanks for me.
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Quiet, Light Weight
Cons: Bad Instructions
David Recommends This AR Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Gertrude C.
Atlanta, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/12/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
28
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
The Detergent Dispenser Quit Working After 10 Minutes
The washer was easy to set up. It worked great for the first 10 minutes, but then the detergent quit dispensing. I used the detergent I purchased from this site so I believe it should not have clogged the machine. There is no troubleshooting in the manual.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Light Weight, Fast
Cons: Unreliable, Bad Instructions
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Gertrude,
Remember to turn the wand all the way to the low pressure/detergent setting each time you want to dispense soapy water.

The detergent should be fine, but there might have been some grit or debris in the water flow that's blocking the opening. You may want to try rinsing out the tank with fresh water and trying again.

If that doesn't fix it, please call the folks at AR, toll free, at 866-235-5112. The warranty will cover any repair or replacement needed. Be sure to have the serial number of your pressure washer handy when you call them- they will probably ask for it.
more
Was this review helpful?
40
Robert
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/20/13
REVIEWED
APR.
24
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Pretty Nice Unit
I bought my first unit and used it about 12 minutes, washed one truck and one 4 wheeler and it went up in smoke! The electric motor burned up. I called AR and they said they had a bad batch, and about 1 in 25 were bad. They were out of stock till the new batch came in 1-1/2 months. They said they would work with Pressure Washers Direct if they wanted to replace the unit. PWD did have another unit, and agreed to send me a new replacement no charge, not knowing if this one would also burn up, but... more
Was this review helpful?
40
Ron S.
San Clemente, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/26/13
REVIEWED
APR.
05
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy To Use Washer
I previously had a gasoline washer that was large and hard to fit in my garage. So I left it outdoors by the side of the house.
The unit slowly rusted away and it was always hard to to get it to start up.

It was also loud and if I placed it on the concrete driveway or sidewalk it would shake in place and leave rubber tire marks on the concrete surface. I just got tired of trying to use it.

This unit from AR runs instantly when the trigger is pulled, it stores away easily, and it is easy... more
Was this review helpful?
40
Michael S.
Bunnell, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/15/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
26
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Customer Service
Turbo nozzle didn't work properly. Called customer service and was sent new one very quickly. Great customer service.
Michael Recommends This AR Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Nick L.
Navarre, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/30/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
03
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Item Came To The House Earlier Than Expected
Bought this to replace a very old Karcher with some skepticism... the Karcher had proven itself and lasted 10 years of abuse so was a good unit.

This one is a more powerful machine and the reach of it is better. It will reach the the peak of my soffets (1 story home) with a good amount of pressure and cleaning ability. And if 'one reads the instructions ' the detergent option will work well, it is a little fussy but not a big problem.

All in all for the money and pressure/GPM, this... more
Pros: Price, Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, Features
Cons: Difficult To Use
Nick Recommends This AR Product
Nick Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"This site is likely the best I've encountered. Fast, informative and they back up what they state. That sums it up!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
41
Jerry D Wright
Colorado Springs, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/13/11
REVIEWED
JUL.
02
2011
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Not Impressed With Electric Prewashers
I did my research and read many reviews for this AR390 washer, thought I was getting a pretty good product. Well after 8 to 10 minutes AR390 started smoking and stop having any pressure. I thought cool the sensor was working perfectly to prevent the pump from overheating. But, after waiting for the pump to cool down, AR390 would not produce any pressure and it kept smoking from the unit. Now I waiting how the warranty works out, I will be back to finish my tale of the AR390. Hindsight, I... more
Was this review helpful?
30
Gregory T.
Seattle, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/11/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
22
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Satsfied
This pressure washer beats my old Karcher hands down in quality to the price. My only complaint is the rather flimsy plastic hose connector, but that is easy to upgrade.
Pros: Quiet, High Quality
Gregory Recommends This AR Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Lee N.
Grosse Pointe, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/19/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
04
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
I'd Never Recommend This Unit To Anyone
I'm going to go through what I don't like about this unit after using it one time.
The water inlet is a cast part and poorly designed to the point of not holding on the plastic water/hose attachment. Immediately, the connection was leaking. 2 sides of the casting are flat and allow the plastic connector become cock-eyed on the casting. Plus because the unit is top heavy, it tips over very easily and will inevitably break the water connection in no time at all.

Then there is the hose. ... more
Pros: Arrived Fast
Cons: Unreliable, Low Quality, Durability, Difficult To Use
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Lee,
I'm sorry you're having problems with your pressure washer; I think I can help.

If the Turbo Nozzle and/or the spray wand are not operating properly, you can give the folks at AR a call, toll free at 866-235-5112 within 90 days and they'll be happy to replace it. Backflushing the turbo nozzle might also help get out any grit that is interfering with the spinner in the nozzle tip.

Because of it's compact size and weight, you will need to brace the unit with your foot and keep a hand on the carry handle when you're rolling the hose out and in- this is true for any of the small electric pressure washers. None of them will allow the user to pull the hose from a distance.

The AR390 earned its recommendation since several of our team members own this unit and use it on a regular basis. I checked to see how they handle power cord and nozzle storage. The most common method is to store the nozzles, wind up the hose, then coil the power cord around the carry handle & tuck the GFI connector through the carry handle so it doesn't flop around; it also helps keep that 3rd nozzle in place. This is also pretty typical for most consumer-grade pressure washers.

You can use this link to view our Return Policy; it's also at the bottom of our website under Customer Service.
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Daniel D.
Wirtz, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/10/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
07
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Super Fast Shipping!
Incredibly fast shipping & reasonable price.

Impressed with how quickly it cleaned years of built up ugly on the concrete sidewalk and steps. Anxious to try it on other things soon.

Found hose to be a little stiff but expect it will relax more as it is used.

Overall, very pleased and would not hesitate to recommend to others.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Light Weight, I'd Buy It Again
Daniel Recommends This AR Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Daniel,
It also helps to lay the hose out straight in the sun for a bit; it will relax as it warms up.
more
Was this review helpful?
20
James B.
Ocala, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/1/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
08
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Surface Cleaner Is Much Faster Than Turbo Nozzle
I searched the Internet without finding any worthwhile reviews on this product. After a little thought, I decided to order the product based on AR's and Pressure Washers Direct.com's reputation.

I ordered the PW 40627 surface cleaner which is the recommended unit for my AR 390 pressure washer. When the unit came it had been changed or replaced by AR to PW40612- I ordered it from PWD but it came direct from the manufacturer.

I used this product yesterday and it works great. It is so much... more
Was this review helpful?
31
David S.
Salinas, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/7/12
REVIEWED
DEC.
07
2012
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Bad Connection
The pressure washer is OK but the connection to the hose with this plastic connector is ridiculous. It leaks water and does make a tight seal.

I asked about the connection before I purchased the product and was told there was no problem. Not true. AR should make that a metal part in the future.
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
David,
A few wrappings of teflon pipe tape (under a dollar at any hardware store) should help with the leak; many folks add a quick-connect set to save wear and tear.

The small electric pressure washer market is fiercely competitive, and every dime in a price point matters. In order to see metal connectors you would need to step up to a commercial electric unit like the Kranzle, or a gas-powered unit.
more
Was this review helpful?
31
John
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/29/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
20
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Bang For The Buck.
Well made machine. I have had 3 electric power washers and this by far tops the others I have had. From what I have been able to determine the materials used in this machine are superior to others in the same price range. When you pick up the gun and associated wands you can just feel the difference in the quality of the craftsmanship.

I have only used the machine twice at this point and it has performed flawlessly. The only thing which I feel should be improved is the quick connect... more
Was this review helpful?
20
Mary B.
Vinton, LA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/21/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Good Machine
I recently bought the AR Blue Clean 1800 psi pressure washer. I am an older person and found the assembly instructions easy to use. So far I have cleaned part of the siding on my mobile home, my covered wood deck the stairs leading up to the deck and an outdoor chair that had set under pine trees and was full of dark gunk. The machine is easy to use and did a great job on everything I have done so far. Everything looks like new. I have great plans for my new favorite toy so I better get back to... more
Mary Recommends This AR Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Tom S.
Park City, UT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/29/14
REVIEWED
MAR.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Value
I've been using my AR 1800 since July 2014 for all kinds of tasks around the house power wash my decks before re-sealing them (does a great job) clean my car's engine compartment (just be careful of the electronic boxes) clean my garage floor clean off the grandkid's high chair patio furniture garbage cans you name it. It works great, and I haven't found any house job it couldn't handle.

The one thing I would change is the pressure hose (obviously chosen as a cost... more
Tom Recommends This AR Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Dave W.
North Olmsted, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/27/13
REVIEWED
APR.
15
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ar 1800 Washer
After months of "polar vortex" I finally got to try my AR 1800 p.s.i. washer and the MTM Hydro foam cannon. Both worked great.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Quiet, Fast
Dave Recommends This AR Product
Dave's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Ordered my pressure washer and MTM foam cannon and received both in a week. Free shipping and no sales tax, life is good!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
21
Ron N.
Labarque Creek, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/19/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
11
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Arrived Pronto!
Unfortunately, I will have to wait until the return of warm weather to be able to use the pressure washer. I had hoped that with the quick delivery I would have had a chance to clean the siding but winter set in the following day and it's still too cold to work outside.

I'll text more in the Spring.
Ron Recommends This AR Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Arthur L.
Blountville, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/16/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
08
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Nice Lightweight Machine
I recommend this machine for small jobs around the house. It is not a commercial unit to be used for all day jobs, but will accomplish all small home cleaning projects very well.
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Reliable, Quiet
Arthur Recommends This AR Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Clarence R.
Selma, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/30/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
24
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
New Comer
Just received and learning how to use. Hose reel is nice to store pressure hose, but puts a curl in it that gets tangled in everything. I am going to lay out the hose in the sun before I use it the next time.

Plastic hose connection. I can see why people complained about it being fragile. Will need to be careful with this part.

Electric plug. Reviews I read said it was to large to plug into an outside outlet with cover. Not true. It fit all of my home's outlets with out a problem.
more
Pros: Price, Easy To Store, Light Weight, Just Learning How To Use
Cons: Difficult To Use
Clarence Recommends This AR Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Kris S.
Lino Lakes, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/6/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
22
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Gfic Problem But Easy Fix
I did quite a bit of research debating between electric and gas power washers, so you can say price wasn't a huge factor. I found this one to have favorable reviews, the features I wanted that not that many had in a single washer, and lastly, if there was a problem, their home office is close to where I live (in MN).

I set this up within two days of receipt and used it 90 minutes the first night. A couple times the corded Ground Fault Circuit Interrupter needed resetting, but I thought... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, Quiet
Cons: Unreliable
Kris Recommends This AR Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Kris,
We're glad the folks at AR took good care of you, and we apologize for the inconvenience.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Gordon
Salisbury, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/14/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
16
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pressure Washer
The AR390 meets my need for equipment cleanup. I had been using my large gasoline engine driven pressure washer to clean tractors, dump trailers, etc. but the higher volume of water at higher pressure ended up getting me rather dirty with the blowback.

The AR390 with the turbo nozzle gets the equipment clean and keeps me from getting covered in dirt. It was also useful in cleaning a 50-ft fire hose today. The AR390 is easier and quicker to set up than the gasoline engine driven unit... more
Was this review helpful?
10
Dayne N.
El Paso, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/23/12
REVIEWED
MAY.
24
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Absolutely Awful!! Save Your Money...
I was skeptical when this unit arrived based on the cheap appearing plastic parts. However, it seemed to function pretty well.

I used this unit three times last year and was fairly pleased, before the hose completely broke in half. PWD directed me to AR, who sent me a new hose of the same quality, and I used it once more to wash my car.

I took it out this fall to wash the patio, and it turned on for 30 seconds before quitting. Now I can't even get it to turn on. Of course, I am... more
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Dayne,
The Factory Warranty through AR is for one year from date of delivery, but you still may want to call their Technical Support number, toll free, at 866-235-5112. They may be able to help troubleshoot your problem and get you back to pressure washing.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Joe T.
Ft Lauderdale, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/4/13
REVIEWED
APR.
15
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Pressure Washer
The pressure washer works very good. I like being able to roll up the pressure hose easily.

The pressure washer cleans decks without damaging the wood. The electric cord storage need a little more volume.
Was this review helpful?
10
Greg F.
Longmont, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/14/13
REVIEWED
APR.
04
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Does The Job Well!
I bought this pressure washer to handle light duty power washing - mainly for my car and travel trailer. I haven't used it much so far but from what I've seen, I think it will do nicely.

I did wash my truck with it and it does a good job of getting most of the dirt off. You still need to go over the truck lightly with a rag to get the heavy dirt stains off but I had to do that even with a gas powered 3000 psi washer that I borrowed from a buddy last summer.

I tried the new washer out on... more
Was this review helpful?
10
Art E.
Fontana, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/5/13
REVIEWED
APR.
02
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
First Time Using A Ar Washer
After reading all the reviews across the internent and wanting to stay under $300 I decided on the AR390.

The washer is great and cleaned my wood patio furniture with ease. I like the hose reel feature and the ease of movement around the yard.
Was this review helpful?
10
Rob
REVIEWED
JAN.
23
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Minus Minor Improvements
The electrical cable storage needs improvement, it doesn't hold the cable. And, there is not enough storage slot space to store the attachment wands that come out of the box.

PWD: The electrical cable can be looped around the handle; the wand storage is set up based on leaving one wand attached to the spray gun.
Was this review helpful?
10
Ron
Debary, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/20/12
REVIEWED
JAN.
10
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Machine Ok- Owner's Manual- Worse Than Bad
All of the problems I encountered- detergent dispenser not working, turbo wand not working, and massive leak at the water inlet were all uncalled for because of terrible and missing information in the instruction manual. If you have a problem, don't bother calling Pressure Washers Direct- they are the middle man and don't know anything about the product.

However, they are polite and will direct you to the manufacturer- who told me that they are in the process of re -writing the... more
Was this review helpful?
10
Mary
Hialeah, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/4/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
27
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Pleased So Far
I have put this power washer to work a few times for several hours and have had no issues.

I was hesitant since my previous electric power washer broke after only two uses, but this one is pretty well made, has the right power, is quieter than expected and is doing the job that I need it to do.

The long electric cord and the long water hose saves a lot of time moving the machine around. I cannot comment on the attachments (I have only used the one nozzle) or the cleaner dispenser as... more
Was this review helpful?
10
Hank Mayberry
Cincinnati, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/5/11
REVIEWED
APR.
11
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ar 390 After 4 Hours Review
This is my first pressure washer so I can’t compare it to anything I’ve owned in the past. That said I have used the new model AR390 for about 4 hours so far. Enough time to give my thoughts. This is a new model similar to the AR383. I couldn’t find any reviews for the AR390 since it is so new so I took a chance and bought it.

Compared to the popular older existing AR383 model there are some improvements to the AR390. While they both have the same motor and pump the AR390 has a 30’ high... more
Was this review helpful?
10
Gene K.
Oreland, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/23/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
12
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
Replaced 11 year old electric pressure washer. Very impressed with this unit. No problems or complaints.
Gene Recommends This AR Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Barb S.
Denver, CO
REVIEWED
MAR.
31
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Adjustable Wand Issues
Would love this, but I have great difficulty with getting the adjustable wand to pull in and out for high turbo use. Now, the high setting will not push in at all. I hate to trash this system, but my concern is that a replacement wand will present me with the same issue. I am a small woman and I have difficulty with this, although I would say that now it is simply broken after less than a year's use as it will not push inward far enough. The motor churns on and off because of the wand. I have... more
Pros: Easy To Store, Light Weight
Cons: Low Quality, Difficult To Use, Bad Instructions
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Barb,
I am sorry to hear about the issue you are having with your AR390. Please know that our customer service team based in Minnesota is here to troubleshoot any issue you may have. If we cannot find a solution we will send you a replacement lance for your AR390 at no cost. The number is 1-866-235-5112. Please ask for the Customer Service Manager (thats me) and I will make sure you are a satisfied customer any way I can.



James Chanaka
Ecommerce & Customer Service Manager


________________________________________
A.R. North America, Inc.
140 81st Avenue North East
Fridley, MN 55432

Tel: 763-398-6082
Fax: 763-398-2009
mail: jamesc@arnorthamerica.com
website: www.arnorthamerica.com
website: www.arblueclean.com
________________________________________
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Warren W.
Stilwell, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/18/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
10
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Have Owned Many Other Washers, This Is Best One So Far
Customer service excellent. Volume of water to pressure a big deal.

Very reliable. Own three washers, are used heavily and all have held up very well. Much better value than other brands I have owned.
Warren Recommends This AR Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Lambert W.
Plymouth, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/22/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
04
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pressure Washer
It's an excellent machine for its price range and capabilities.
Lambert Recommends This AR Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Howard M.
Fort Myers, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/27/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
19
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Outstanding
Outstanding.
Pros: Price, Easy To Store, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations
Howard Recommends This AR Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Art L.
Bismarck, ND
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/20/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
14
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Quality And No Problems, Fast Delivery
The only negative thing I found is that the soap dispenser continues to dispense soap even when using the high pressure wash. It completely emptied the container and left soap residue on the vehicle.
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Price, Reliable
Cons: Soap Dispenser
Art Recommends This AR Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Art,
I am sorry for the inconvenience! Please give the folks at AR a call, toll free, at 866-235-5112. They will be able to help you under the pressure washer's warranty.

Please be sure to have the serial number of your unit handy when you call them. If you need a copy of your invoice, just click on My Account in the upper right corner of our website and follow the prompts to print one out.
more
Was this review helpful?
11
Gary B.
Gorham, NH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/23/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
15
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far So Good
I purchased this washer for my ATV, because the hose just wasn't cutting it. I've used only a few times but I like it.

I don't have to play around with gas or oil- just plug it in and it's ready. In the winter I'll just put it in the basement- no worrying about it freezing.

It's a nice little unit with good pressure. I'm glad I placed an order; it arrived quickly- what more can I say?
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert V.
Hatboro, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/24/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
05
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pressure Washer
I purchased the AR390 to replace an older unit which bit the dust. I chose this model after quite a bit of research and I'm glad I did.

The AR390 has a lot of good features vs. some of the other models. It seems to be well built and Pressure Washers Direct was extremely helpful.

The unit arrived within a few days after purchase, so the service was excellent.
Was this review helpful?
00
Duane
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/13/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
01
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pressure Washer
I have used the pressure washer many times already in the month since I have had it. Initially, it came with a few minor parts missing or broken, but once I called customer service about this, then I received replacement parts in two days.

It works exceptionally well and quickly. I have used it on brick, concrete, wood, vinyl siding, and metal. It's a great purchase for the price.
Was this review helpful?
00
Dayne N.
El Paso, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/23/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
18
2012
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Not Off To A Great Start...
The first time I used it the little plastic handle on the hose crank broke off. The second time, the hose burst in the middle, which presents an obvious problem. And, I could never get the detergent to work.

I just emailed AR today, and will update based on their response. The pressure was high enough for my needs- cleaning a patio/pool deck in a very dusty environment.
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Dayne,
We apologize for the inconvenience! Please give the folks at AR a call, toll free, at 866-235-511. This unit has a 1 year Factory Warranty and they'll be happy to help.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
John
Castle Pines, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/26/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
14
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Second Chance Made The Difference
I purchased the AR390 because it had a detergent dispenser and the approximate pressure that I wanted. The pressure part is fine. It does the household tasks that I wanted.

The detergent part was not so good. I could not get it to work and the tech support people could not provide me with a fix. I had to return the machine at a cost of about $50 for shipping one way and packing. I was not happy about that.

I received a replacement in less than 2 weeks and it works fine. If I experience... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Denis
Bernardston, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/15/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
27
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
So Far , So Good!
PED has good service, I received washer within week.

The first one ran about hour and a half and died. I contacted AR and they made a number of suggestions to try with no luck.

The next thing I know a new one is on the way, fantastic!

It works well and I would recommend it. They did what most would want done, and that is to make it right ...

I hope it last long time, I've got many uses for it in mind.
Was this review helpful?
00
Charles S.
Zephyrhills, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/4/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
26
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Good For The Price
Overall it is a very good pressure washer for the price.

I have a couple of very minor issues with the machine. The hose roll-up device is somewhat clumsy but once you disconnect the spray gun it is a little easier.

The variable spray nozzle does not always stay set where you want it so you need to readjust it from time to time.
Was this review helpful?
00
Bill
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/23/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
13
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Solid Performing Machine
Very satisfied with this purchase. This machine works effectively and reliably.

It's fun to use.
Was this review helpful?
00
Paul
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/25/12
REVIEWED
JUN.
18
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Results After Two Uses
very pleased with my purchase and thank you Pressure Washers Direct for your advise on which unit to buy.

I have used it to rid years of dirt and stains from steps on my front porch, which was the results of years of usage.

Removing also dirt from siding was a breeze along with spider web etc. from the porch over head. Same day was a quick car wash amazing how dried bugs on the front of the car disappear without scrubbing...

Very pleased so far with all the surprises occuring... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Phillip P.
Apex, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/24/12
REVIEWED
APR.
01
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Impressive Machine, Outclasses My Old Husky!
Just used this on my patio, furniture and grill and Im impressed.

This washer was ordered from PWD easily and was delivered quickly, kudos to PWD!

The unit is solid, quiet and powerful! Way outclasses a 1800 PSI Husky. The unit worked flawlessly right out of the box and the turbo wand was great for the furniture.

Im thinking about getting the floor accessory to speed up the time it takes to clean large areas.

So, five stars to my new favorite pressure washer!
Was this review helpful?
00
Ellen B
Issaquah, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/11/11
REVIEWED
OCT.
07
2011
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Disappointed !
Seeing all the 5 star reviews, I took a chance and ordered the AR390 despite the reports of a bluesmokeplasticburningsmell problem. I had confidence that since this was a known problem, AR North America would not continue to ship defective units.

Alas, I was wrong.

My unit started smoking within a couple of minutes. Presumably the motor was overheating. I waited for it to cool down and tried again in case the problem was transient. It immediately started smoking and smelling. Also it did... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Charles W.
Manchester, NH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/8/11
REVIEWED
SEP.
28
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
Hi Bought this model AR 390 because it was recommended by Bill. First ten minutes was fine, then started smoking like crazy. Called the Customer Service and they were Great !! They were such a big help and replaced it with a new one in three days.

My new one works fine so far taking the green moss off the siding. Takes a little while but still does the job. I highly recommend this unit and highly PRAISE the AR Company for taking care of me.

Thank You All.
Was this review helpful?
00
Darlene Mack
Lorain, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/5/11
REVIEWED
JUL.
06
2011
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Better Instructions
I like the pressure washer but was very frustrated with the lack of instructions supplied with this product. Several items needed to use this product, including assembly instructions as well as operating instructions, specifically how to dispense soap, were not provided.

I called customer service and was immediately told new instruction manual is in the works and they explained how the soap dispenser works. Would have been beneficial if had been included with product and I would not have... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Gary Kaiser
Bremerton, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/9/11
REVIEWED
JUN.
12
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Impressed
I have used the AR390 continually for the last week and have had no problems.

It performs as advertised and seems to clean anything that I wash. So far it is worth the money spent.

I was impressed with the speed of service and the packing.
Was this review helpful?
00
Joseph P.
Hopewell, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/6/11
REVIEWED
JUN.
06
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Quality Unit
This is the best one I have owned. I owned 2 other ones- a different brand; one lasted 2 years the other 13 months.

This AR is a good quality unit. I had a problem with the water quick connect leaking. I called, the AR company sent a replacement and it works fine.

The owners manual does not explain things well and the company customer service person agreed with me. The one other thing is the wand bracket does not hold wands they keep falling off. Looks like the dia. of wands is to big... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Rikki S.
Waterford, MI
REVIEWED
APR.
30
2011
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Not Bad, But Not Perfect
Assembly and operation manuals and inserts are horrid. Pictures impossible to decipher and print is TINY, plus there is no photo anywhere, even on box, of the BACK of the unit, coupled with no recommendations anywhere in the instructions for what to do with the *2nd* lance.

I finally saw a picture that appeared to show it lying loosely horizontally on top of the wrapped power cord. But that leads to my biggest complaint: there are carefully designed slots for the gun and *one* lance but... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Fred D.
Belmont, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/31/11
REVIEWED
APR.
22
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Powerful Cleaner
Used it once- very impressive power cleaner.

Was missing the four screws to mount the rack, wasted time looking for them and not in the box. Used some from my stock and we were good to go.

PWD RESPONDS: We apologize for any inconvenience! Please give the folks at AR a call, toll free, at 800-893-4235. They'll be happy to send the screws right out to you.
Was this review helpful?
00
Larry P.
Lorton, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/28/11
REVIEWED
APR.
21
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect For Home Use
After 5+ years owning a hard to start/ seldom start gas powered PW I felt it was time to simpler and go electric.

I shopped around and found this model the best option given its compact size, hose reel and pump type. After 3 days of hard use, starting with the twist of a knob, absolutely no complaints.

It took only seconds for my better half to learn how to start, trigger and clean. Easy and compact storage. Can't ask for any more.

A must-have model for around the house use.
Was this review helpful?
11
Dave S.
South Bend, ID
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/22/11
REVIEWED
APR.
12
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worth The Money
Excellent pressure washer, worth the money.

Plenty of cleaning power, pump on this unit is very nice.
Was this review helpful?
00
Larry Jones
Kansas City, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/24/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
17
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Plenty Of Power
This is a very nice medium-duty power washer. Works well for all types of home cleaning jobs.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Reliable, Easy To Store
Larry Recommends This AR Product
Was this review helpful?
12
Jerry F.
Wellington, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/16/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
11
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Ar Blue Clean 1800 Psi (electric-cold Water) Pressure Washer With Hose Reel & Turbo Nozzle Review
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Very Goodreliable Product For Price
Jerry Recommends This AR Product
Was this review helpful?
01
John Mcc.
Lake Villa, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/31/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
12
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Power Washer
Easy to attach the garden hose, washer line and wand accessory tray. Powerful spray and easily controlled. The motor is very quiet and doesn't seem to work very hard.
Was this review helpful?
01
Teresa W.
Whitestone,, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/18/12
REVIEWED
APR.
22
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy To Use
I ordered the pressure washer August of 2012 and never used it till now April 2013......it works GREAT! No chemicals ....I already own a commercial one that is gas driven, but it is so big and difficult to use.

This machine does the job and is so easy to use. I will be ordering another for my second home.
Was this review helpful?
01
Stephen Pratico
Swainton, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/15/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
07
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
No Decision Yet!
I really can't give any opinion at this time. Winter has come very early this year. I did get a chance to use the power washer one time.

It was a shaky beginning with burps and coughs and all kinds of noises. After a while it calmed down and ran OK, but I'll hold off giving an opinion until the spring,
Stephen Recommends This AR Product
Was this review helpful?
03
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest AR AR390 reviews.Compare our AR AR390 ratings. Find the AR AR390 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct