Search
< Back to Product

AR AR240 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings - Product Discontinued

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Discontinued
 
$124.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$127.93
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$119.99
No Sales Tax* (Except CA,GA)
Visit Site
 
$127.93
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
AR AR240 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 5
Pros
Price (3)
Easy To Store (3)
Light Weight (3)
I'd Buy It Again (2)
Easy To Use (2)
Cons
Lasted Less Than One Yea... (1)
Bad Instructions (1)
Expensive (1)
Durability (1)
Unreliable (1)
40% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
12 Reviews  Sort by 
 
J. Moore
Bracey, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/2/10
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
10
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Let's Review The Ar 240!!
I ordered this, without any prior reviews, based on PWD handling it.

I have a 4K gas model, but with declining health, I needed something more managable....and this AR 1750psi is just the right item.

I started it up this morning, cleaned one half the house before the killer heat started. I have had a yellow electric pressure washer before, but this far surpasses it.

I really like the idea then when you let off the trigger it goes quiet....not that constant humming like some... more
Was this review helpful?
120
Christopher B.
Hanover, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/11/13
Total Helpful Votes
11 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
02
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Little Workhorse
This is the Alpha Romeo of Italian-Designed pressure washers. Not as powerful as the gas-powered models, but a step above the similar ones from Karcher.

It comes with a generous hose and cord length, and works as advertised. The wide washer nozzle takes imbedded moss and algae from stepping stones in 3" wide swaths. The pump engine spools down when trigger handle is released, which is a nice feature.

Works so well, it makes me want to go clean stuff!
Was this review helpful?
110
John
Seattle, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/23/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
14
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good First Result
The AR 240 arrived as scheduled. The instruction booklet was a bit vague, but since I had previously owned another power washer, which died of old age and serious leakage problems, I was able to work around it.

Once set up the AR 240 worked exactly as expected. The first project was relatively light: a back porch which suffers over Seattle winters from evergreen droppings and stains, and railings which required cleaning and painting. It went without a hitch!

The AR420 is easy to... more
Was this review helpful?
90
Gideon
REVIEWED
FEB.
23
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Awesome For An Electric!
I had been using a gas pressure washer for a few years and decided to buy my own. I didnt want a gas powered because its a pain to worry about changing oil, cleaning the carb, and running out of gas mid job.

So, I bought this unit. I used it for over 3 hours the first time and it works awesome. Granted, its not as much pressure as the gas one, but the turbo lance took care of all of my siding and cement, no problem.

The convenience of use and ease of storage just outweighs the power of a... more
Was this review helpful?
90
Peter B.
South Paris, ME
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/19/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Does Just What I Wanted
There were several cleaning projects that I wanted the pressure washer to do.

First was clean my ATV- no problem. The second was clean the grit from my driveway- easy. The others I will find out next summer- clean my boat and dock.

So far so good.
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again
Peter Recommends This AR Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Bil K.
Cresskill, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/11/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
05
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Works For Me
Maybe because I have never used a home pressure washer before, but it did a better job than I was expecting on the patio steps and brick walk.

Great for cleaning all those tools that would be too much trouble to do by hand. I was not as pleased with the results on the siding but that may be my technique.

My only past experience was with a commercial unit which had heated water and really did a great job but nothing in my price range had that feature.
Pros: Price, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again
Bil Recommends This AR Product
Robert, the Power Equipment Expert
Product Expert
Bil,
You may want to check out How To Turn Your Siding From Drab To Fab from our How To Library for tips on cleaning your siding.
more
Was this review helpful?
40
Wayne
Asheboro, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/23/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
14
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Performs Well
I have used this washer 2 different times so far. It has performed very well each time.
Was this review helpful?
30
Colleen
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
REVIEWED
JUN.
12
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Buy
The AR240 is my first pressure washer. It has performed well on cement, blacktop, vinyl railings, outdoor rug, and grill without detergent. It did not do the job on no-maintenance decking, but I will try again using detergent.

So far I am very happy with my purchase.
Was this review helpful?
31
Beverley W.
Daniels, WV
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/21/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
11
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Ordered Wrong Model
I wanted AR 142-Plus and had a pic in front of me as we placed the order. Personal injuries will not let me bend over to roll the AR 240 that I received. I especially need an upright, push/pull, wheeled unit and so stated to the girl. Added bonus would have been the"Plus" part of the order.
Pros: Price
Cons: Heavy, Difficult To Use, Bend Over To Roll Unit, Not What I Ordered Girl Did Not Pay Attention
Beverley Does Not Recommend This Product
Robert, the Power Equipment Expert
Product Expert
Beverley,
I checked your account, and it shows I tried contacting you by both phone and email back on September 23rd when you submitted your first review on this unit. The records don't show that you ever responded.

Back in September the unit would have been eligible under our 30 Day Return Policy. Unfortunately that time has passed.

I confirmed that what you ordered is indeed what was delivered to you. At this point your best option might be to give the AR240 as a gift, and order the AR142-Plus for yourself.

I will once again try to contact you by telephone as well as email to follow up.
more
Was this review helpful?
32
Edward K.
Santa Rosa Beach, FL
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
26 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
07
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great, While It Lasted!
Lightweight, maneuverable and worked each time until one day I plugged it in, and it stopped working. This was about one year after I purchased it. Shameful too because I really liked this little machine. I could carry it from floor to floor effortlessly, but, if it does not last, why bother with it.
Pros: Easy To Store, Light Weight, Price, Easy To Use
Cons: Unreliable, Durability, Lasted Less Than One Year
Edward Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Ron J.
Pittsburgh, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/9/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
31
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Unit, Weak Turbo Wand
I had a Karcher before and this one is much better.

The only thing is the spiral wand does not have much power- not much more than my garden hose.
Robert, the Power Equipment Expert
Product Expert
Ron,
The Turbo wand should have a pencil-thin, very powerful stream of water that spins in a tight circle. It could have a piece of grit caught that is keeping the water from flowing properly, so try flushing the wand out from the nozzle end to see if that helps.

You could also use a thin piece of wire or a paper clip to make sure nothing has jammed the spinner in the nozzle end.

If neither of these suggestions help, please contact the folks at AR directly within 90 days at 866-235-5112 (toll free) so they can replace the wand under the Factory Warranty.
more
Was this review helpful?
35
Walter
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/18/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
23
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Worst Instructions
The instructions are sooo tiny to read you will need a magnifying glass. Have no idea where the hose and cord store. There is no picture of this.

The high pressure hose is so stiff it cannot be wound around the back and the tools could have a better storage design. The directions refer to a swivel part that that I can't find but I got it working and cleaned my deck.

This can not compare to my 12 year old Craftsman!
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Bad Instructions, Expensive
Walter Does Not Recommend This Product
Robert, the Power Equipment Expert
Product Expert
Walter,
You may be more comfortable using the PDF file we have for the Owner's Manual on our web site, since the print is easy to read, and can be enlarged. You can download it by going to the AR240 page on our web site, then click on the "Specs" tab and click the Owner's Manual link on the right side of the page.

That copy of the Owner's Manual doesn't mention a swivel- so the copy you received may cover several different models.

Once you have the wand and spray gun in their slot on the pressure washer, most folks will loop the hose and cord around the handle, using the space between the wand & the pressure washer's body to help hold it in place.

Other customers have used a velcro hose/extension cord wrap (usually under $2 anywhere they sell hoses & cords) to keep the hose and cord neat.
more
Walter Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Store is great. Wish the machine was as good !"
 more
Was this review helpful?
15
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest AR AR240 reviews.Compare our AR AR240 ratings. Find the AR AR240 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct