Search
< Back to Product

AR AR142-PLUS Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$139.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$139.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$139.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
AR AR142-PLUS Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 5
Pros
Price (8)
Easy To Use (8)
Light Weight (7)
Exceeded Expectations (4)
Easy To Store (3)
Cons
Bad Instructions (4)
Difficult To Use (2)
Leaked After 6 Months St... (1)
Heavy (1)
Unreliable (1)
87% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
23 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Dennis H.
Clinton, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/29/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
19
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Not Bad
The only thing that's kind of cheap are the accessories that holds the extra attachments, does not work very good. Stuff is falling off all the time. The electric cord holder is too small also. Beside that the unit works fine for a electric pump. Would recommend.
Dennis Recommends This AR Product
Was this review helpful?
1-353
Sharon B.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/30/13
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
14
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Look Out- I've Become A Power-washing Fiend!
No hassle order and delivery. Customer comments were very helpful in the decision making process. I used this machine for a total of about 30 hours.

It was easy to assemble, even though my husband discarded the directions so I was left to experiment. I've used every tool so far. With regard to the negative comments about throwing the round brush right away, I agreed....at first...then discovered it was a great tool for window cleaning with the bristles. Very satisfied after such short term... more
Was this review helpful?
121
Pamela U.
Williamstown, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/1/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
25
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Purchase
I put off buying a power washer for quite some time. A good friend recommended this one and I am so happy with the purchase.

It is quiet, reliable, and has good pressure to clean.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Light Weight, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Bad Instructions
Pamela Recommends This AR Product
Pamela Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I was very happy with the website and it was very user friendly."
 more
Was this review helpful?
80
Ripley
Tomkins Cove, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/3/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
28
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Exceeded Expectations
I was reluctant to purchase another pressure washer after my first one proved lame. I waited 8 years. I finally gave in after finding this wonderful site that really provides excellent info to make an informed decision.

I spent 12 hours pressure washing my stone deck and pool. It worked like a charm. It was so light to use, unlike the gas ones that I think are only for men, or women on steriods. This one met every challenge and then some.

This week I took it out again to clean my Brown... more
Was this review helpful?
80
Calvin B.
Sunnyvale, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/18/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Exceeds Expectations!
My former company had a professional unit (loved it) and I expected somewhat lower performance from this unit. I was delighted when I first used this to wash my house and concrete driveway. Powerful and light, an excellent buy! Yeah, the wand storage and cord hanger is somewhat flimsy, but what do you expect for this amount of money. I'd definitely buy it again!
Pros: Price, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable, Easy To Store
Calvin Recommends This AR Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Joe J.
Cresskill, NJ
REVIEWED
JUN.
23
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Where's The Power?
1600 PSI ? Instructions say you may need two hands to handle the force. There is no force. My garden hose is more powerful. Great marketing fluff but it ain't happening with this washer. I really want to return this as it is of no use to me.
Cons: Low Quality, Difficult To Use, Pow
Joe Does Not Recommend This Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Joe,
The normal garden hose is about 30 PSI, so you should certainly feel a difference between 30 PSI and 1600 PSI!

Please make sure the adjustable spray nozzle has been turned all the way to the Max position. You may also want to check that you are using a garden hose no longer than 30 feet so the pump gets enough water, and that the filter screen where the water enters is clear of debris.

If this doesn't get you more pressure, then please give the folks at AR a call, toll free at 866-235-5112. Be sure to have the serial number of your unit hand when you call; they will need it for their Factory Warranty paperwork.
more
Was this review helpful?
71
Mike M.
Riverside, IA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/21/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
12
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My New Power Washer
Ordered online, it got here fast. Took it right out of the box and right to work ... Super unit!
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Durable, Exceeded Expectations
Mike Recommends This AR Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Richard W.
Salinas, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/10/12
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
11 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
15
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ar142plus
i ordered the pressure washer from Pressure Washers Direct.com the first one was defective.. i called Pressure Washers Direct and they immediately sent me out another one which worked fine...

PRESSURE WASHERS DIRECT STOOD BEHIND THEIR PRODUCT 100 % . I AM VERY HAPPY WITH THEM AND WOULD BUY ANOTHER PRODUCT FROM THEM ANYTIME WITHOUT HESITATION.
Was this review helpful?
50
David
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/18/13
REVIEWED
APR.
30
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Pressure Washer
Overall, I like the performance of this pressure washer. For a small unit, it packs a punch.

However, this small unit does not allow for convenient cord & hose storage when not in use. I wish it had larger holders for both the cord & the hose.
Was this review helpful?
40
Mike
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/2/13
REVIEWED
APR.
08
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Lived Up To The Review
I don't usually leave comments, but the reviews on PED have been helpful in guiding my purchases. The review of the AR-142 was right on, a very good medium duty pressure washer.

I ordered it 5 days before I needed it and it arrived right on time. Once I unpacked it--and I am not a big do-it-yourselfer but can handle small projects--I found it was perfect for power washing our playset before we stained it and the rotating head was perfect for power washing our flagstone patio without... more
Was this review helpful?
51
David
REVIEWED
AUG.
04
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
This Little Electric Washer Packs Some Good Cleaning Power!
Just got this pressure washer a couple of weeks ago. Since then we have washed down our driveway, patio, outdoor furniture and a few small things.

I have been quite impressed with the cleaning power, especially using the turbo nozzle. The large surface cleaner that comes with it big round blue attachment is a piece of JUNK. We literally threw it in the trash after the first time we tried it.

Overall we are very pleased, especially for the price and the portability of the unit is... more
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
David,
The longer the hose, the more pressure is lost, even if it doesn't leak. There may not have been enough pressure left at the end of the second garden hose to let the pump operate properly.
more
Was this review helpful?
40
Hans
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/14/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
04
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect Little Machine
This lightweight pressure washer is easy to assemble and use.

I cleaned a large, very mossy aggregate concrete patio, driveway, and walks around the house in one day and I am most pleased with the result.

The nozzle is easily adjusted from direct to fan-spray.This is a very useful little machine at a great price.
Was this review helpful?
40
Paul K.
Orlando, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/14/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
27
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Value
The washer is light weight, yet provides all the power I need to clean the patio and the deck. I have only used it twice, and it's very easy to use. The wand attachment made cleaning the deck an easy job.

I believe that this washer is a great value.
Pros: Price, Features, Easy To Use, Light Weight
Cons: Bad Instructions
Paul Recommends This AR Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Ira K.
Dallas, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/25/14
REVIEWED
MAY.
07
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Way To Do Many Jobs
After struggling through some of the worst instructions I have ever received, I was finally able to get the power washer to work.

I had excellent results with car and window washing after purchasing soap products. The pressure and control are excellent and it is an excellent product at a reasonable cost.

I would improve the hose flexibility and brushes but I would recommend this power washer.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Light Weight, Features
Cons: Bad Instructions, Packaging, Brushes Are Not The Best And Soap Container Is Too Small, Hose Is A Problem And Already Has A Kink That May Split
Ira Recommends This AR Product
Was this review helpful?
20
James A.
Elkton, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/9/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
23
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Value
I went over the reviews of the AR pressure washer and although skeptical, I thought I would give it a try. I was surprised at the ease of use and how effectively it worked.

It definitely fills a gap between just using a hose and breaking out the gas pressure washer.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Light Weight, Exceeded Expectations
James Recommends This AR Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Duncan
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/17/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
15
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Pleased
Easy to use and very effective.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Light Weight, Fast
Duncan Recommends This AR Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Eric Willett
Hot Springs Village, AR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/4/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
26
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Washer, But...
Washer worked great after I replaced the plastic check valve which cracked/split then leaked the first time I used it.
Luckily, I had a spare one in my tool box from a previous pressure washer.
Cleaned concrete and painted siding with no problems.
Eric Recommends This AR Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Sharon Freeman
Vineland, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/11/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
02
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
More $, But Faster Delivery
It was about $40 more than than the box store price. However, it would have taken 7-10 days to deliver vs. 1-2 day delivery time for Pressure Washers Direct.

My first project was completed in no time. Had I ordered from the box store, the washer would have just arrived a day or so ago. I wanted to get done, so I bit the bullet and paid the extra. After I completed my project I also did a few things for my mother.

There were 2 CONS:
1. Power cord storage is lacking!

2. The quick... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Durable, I'd Buy It Again
Sharon Recommends This AR Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Sharon,
Please don't forget, you also didn't have to pay Sales Tax on your pressure washer when you bought it from us!

Other customers have had good results from putting the wand in the holder, then making loops of the power cord and put them over the handle. Putting the loops between the wand & the body of the pressure washer help hold them neatly in place.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Lisa Mcg.
Cumming, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/20/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
10
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No Regrets!
I have a screened back deck just off the kitchen on the second floor. We get a lot of pollen in the spring and spider webs and bugs in the summer. I was looking for something easy to carry - didn't want to haul one of those huge gas-powered things through the house - and convenient to use on a regular basis.

I was going to get the $99 one, but decided to go for this one because of the various attachments. Boy, am I glad I did! Using the detergent bottle, alone, made a huge difference... more
Lisa Recommends This AR Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Lisa,
For those reading this review, you should always use a detergent that is designed for pressure washing- it will say "pressure washer safe" on the bottle. Please be sure to follow any dilution instructions on the container, since some can be used right out of the bottle and some need to be added to water first.

Pressure washer-safe detergents and cleaning products won't harm the seals and o-rings, and won't corrode the metal components. Dish detergent, bleach, TSP, or regular car wash products shouldn't be used.

We also suggest using a Pump Saver product (any brand) at least once a year to keep the seals lubricated. It should also be left in the unit over the winter in climates where there's a danger of freezing.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Kathleen K.
Racine, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/17/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
07
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Love This Pressure Washer
I have used this pressure washer almost every day since I got it last week.

It was extremely easy to set up and very easy to use. I am a small, older female and love the light weight and compact features. Because of it's compact size, it is easy to store on a hook in my garage.

It is very powerful but not so much that the wand could get away from me.

Highly recommended!
Kathleen Recommends This AR Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Ina T.
Pratts, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/12/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
05
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Impressed!
I'm impressed with the power of it, once you read all the instructions several times and follow them, plus some practical common sense.

I haven't tried all the nozzles because it's hard to get the other one off once I got it on. It is cleaning my cement outdoor area very nicely, without detergent, but only one half inch strip at a time - so I just need to keep at it. But as a single lady, electric is the only way to go.

Overall, I am very pleased!
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Light Weight, Easy To Store
Cons: Bad Instructions, Only Narrow Strip At A Time For Heavy Cleaning
Ina Recommends This AR Product
Ina Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great website, great service. It came on time."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Dennis
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/28/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
20
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Low Pressure
If this washer produces 1600 psi then my garden hose must produce as much with spray nozzle attachment. I am disapointed with the pressure this machine makes and would not recommend it to anyone.
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Dennis,
You should certainly see a marked increase in pressure over your garden hose!

Please give the folks at AR Tech Support a call, toll free, at 866-235-5112 to help troubleshoot your unit. And, please be sure to have the serial number handy when you call.
more
Was this review helpful?
11
M.
REVIEWED
OCT.
07
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Ar 383 Poor Performer
After 6 months it started leaking at the connection to the gun, then started leaking at the hose connection. After a couple months it started cycling and I had to turn if off and on to get it to stop.

After a year I replaced several parts and could not get the hose to stay connected to the gun. AR customer support has no clue...
Pros: Easy To Store
Cons: Heavy, Difficult To Use, Unreliable, Leaked After 6 Months Stopped Working A Little After A Year
M. Does Not Recommend This Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
M.,
This unit has a 1 year Factory Warranty through AR, so calling them during the warranty period would have resolved any mechanical problems.

Teflon pipe tape and a new garden hose gasket is a good way to stop leaky threads- it's about $1 at grocery & hardware stores. We recommend using a quick connect set on the garden hose/intake connection to save wear & tear on the threads- it is a weak point.

There is also an AR Replacement Spray Kit available that will replace the worn parts.

Pump cycling is usually due to not enough water reaching the pump. Please check that your garden hose is at least 5/8" in diameter and less than 30 feet long.

If you are wearing out parts in a year, you may want to consider upgrading to a Prosumer grade unit with sturdier components.
more
Was this review helpful?
12
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest AR AR142-PLUS reviews.Compare our AR AR142-PLUS ratings. Find the AR AR142-PLUS Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct